In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Applicant’s Amendment filed March 6, 2026 is acknowledged.
- Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 12-14 is/are amended
- Claim(s) 8-11 is/are canceled
- Claim(s) 1-7, 12-14 is/are pending in the application.
This action is FINAL
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 9, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Application Notes
The term “stage” has been used throughout the original disclosure in a vague manner. It appears that at least one interpretation of “stage” corresponds to a time period of an image frame of the display area including all data refresh regions (see Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 20240412692 paragraphs 0024, 0037, 0050).
Examiner also notes that Applicant’s original disclosure paragraph 0012 indicates “ It is to be noted that, in this specification, relational terms such as first and second are only used to distinguish one entity or operation from another entity or operation, and do not require or imply any actual relationship or sequence between these entities or operations. “.
Specification
Examiner respectfully withdraws the objection to the specification. Applicant’s amendment to paragraph 0009 has rendered the objection moot.
Examiner acknowledges the amendment of paragraph 0029 as clarifying ambiguities associated with the use of the term “stage” within the original disclosure.
The amendment filed March 6, 2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: Applicant has deleted “ It is to be noted that, in this specification, relational terms such as first and second are only used to distinguish one entity or operation from another entity or operation, and do not require or imply any actual relationship or sequence between these entities or operations. “. from paragraph 0012 which alters the scope of the original disclosure and introduces new matter by virtue of the altered scope which Applicant’s further asserts in Remarks dated March 6, 2026 as “central to the claimed invention”. It does not appear to be possible that sequential transition process subject matter is central to the claimed invention because Applicant’s original disclosure clearly stated “relational terms such as first and second are only used to distinguish one entity or operation from another entity or operation, and do not require or imply any actual relationship or sequence between these entities or operations”.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Specifically, paragraph 0012 should be amended to include the original portion which has been deleted by the amendment dated March 6, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Preset
Figure 2, element 10 and paragraphs 0030-0046 of Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 202401412692
It does not appear that any specific structure has been disclosed corresponding to a “preset module”
Drive
Figure 3, element 100 and paragraph 0033-0036 of Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 202401412692 where “the pixel circuit is further described. Referring to FIG. 3, the pixel circuit includes a drive module 100, a data write module 200, a reset module 300, and a compensation module 400. The data write module 200 is connected to a first terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a data signal to the drive module 100. The reset module 300 is connected to a control terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a reset signal to the drive module 100. The compensation module 400 is connected between a second terminal of the drive module 100 and the control terminal of the drive module 100. The preset module 10 described above is any one of the data write module 200, the reset module 300, or the compensation module 400, which is not limited in the embodiments of the present application.
[0034] Further, the compensation module 400 may be configured to compensate for a threshold voltage of the drive module 100 so that the drive current generated by the drive module 100 is not affected by the threshold voltage of the drive module 100, thereby improving the display uniformity of the display panel.
[0035] According to the embodiments of the present application, the data signal input path is as follows in the working process of the pixel circuit: a data signal Vdata is input into the drive module 100 via the data write module 200, and then reaches the reset module 300 via the compensation module 400, to complete the display of regions with different data refresh frequencies in the display panel.
[0036] It is to be noted that the pixel circuit further includes a light-emitting element, and the light-emitting element is not shown in FIG. 3. The drive module and the light-emitting element are connected in series between a first power signal PVDD and a second power signal PVEE, and a potential difference exists between the first power signal PVDD and the second power signal PVEE so that a drive current that drives the light-emitting element to perform the light emission may be generated.”
It does not appear that any specific structure has been disclosed corresponding to a “drive module”
Data write
Figure 3, element 200 paragraphs 0033-0035 of Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 202401412692 where “In some embodiments of the present application, the pixel circuit is further described. Referring to FIG. 3, the pixel circuit includes a drive module 100, a data write module 200, a reset module 300, and a compensation module 400. The data write module 200 is connected to a first terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a data signal to the drive module 100. The reset module 300 is connected to a control terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a reset signal to the drive module 100. The compensation module 400 is connected between a second terminal of the drive module 100 and the control terminal of the drive module 100. The preset module 10 described above is any one of the data write module 200, the reset module 300, or the compensation module 400, which is not limited in the embodiments of the present application.
[0034] Further, the compensation module 400 may be configured to compensate for a threshold voltage of the drive module 100 so that the drive current generated by the drive module 100 is not affected by the threshold voltage of the drive module 100, thereby improving the display uniformity of the display panel.
[0035] According to the embodiments of the present application, the data signal input path is as follows in the working process of the pixel circuit: a data signal Vdata is input into the drive module 100 via the data write module 200, and then reaches the reset module 300 via the compensation module 400, to complete the display of regions with different data refresh frequencies in the display panel.”
It does not appear that any specific structure has been disclosed corresponding to a “data write module”
Reset
Figure 3, element 300 and paragraphs 0033-0035 of Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 202401412692 where “In some embodiments of the present application, the pixel circuit is further described. Referring to FIG. 3, the pixel circuit includes a drive module 100, a data write module 200, a reset module 300, and a compensation module 400. The data write module 200 is connected to a first terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a data signal to the drive module 100. The reset module 300 is connected to a control terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a reset signal to the drive module 100. The compensation module 400 is connected between a second terminal of the drive module 100 and the control terminal of the drive module 100. The preset module 10 described above is any one of the data write module 200, the reset module 300, or the compensation module 400, which is not limited in the embodiments of the present application.
[0034] Further, the compensation module 400 may be configured to compensate for a threshold voltage of the drive module 100 so that the drive current generated by the drive module 100 is not affected by the threshold voltage of the drive module 100, thereby improving the display uniformity of the display panel.
[0035] According to the embodiments of the present application, the data signal input path is as follows in the working process of the pixel circuit: a data signal Vdata is input into the drive module 100 via the data write module 200, and then reaches the reset module 300 via the compensation module 400, to complete the display of regions with different data refresh frequencies in the display panel.”
It does not appear that any specific structure has been disclosed corresponding to a “reset module”
Compensation
Figure 3, element 400 and paragraphs 0033-0035 of Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 202401412692 where “In some embodiments of the present application, the pixel circuit is further described. Referring to FIG. 3, the pixel circuit includes a drive module 100, a data write module 200, a reset module 300, and a compensation module 400. The data write module 200 is connected to a first terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a data signal to the drive module 100. The reset module 300 is connected to a control terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a reset signal to the drive module 100. The compensation module 400 is connected between a second terminal of the drive module 100 and the control terminal of the drive module 100. The preset module 10 described above is any one of the data write module 200, the reset module 300, or the compensation module 400, which is not limited in the embodiments of the present application.
[0034] Further, the compensation module 400 may be configured to compensate for a threshold voltage of the drive module 100 so that the drive current generated by the drive module 100 is not affected by the threshold voltage of the drive module 100, thereby improving the display uniformity of the display panel.
[0035] According to the embodiments of the present application, the data signal input path is as follows in the working process of the pixel circuit: a data signal Vdata is input into the drive module 100 via the data write module 200, and then reaches the reset module 300 via the compensation module 400, to complete the display of regions with different data refresh frequencies in the display panel.”
It does not appear that any specific structure has been disclosed corresponding to a “compensation module”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As illustrated above, Applicant’s original specification does not appear to have disclosed any specific corresponding structure for “preset
In order to further prosecution, Examiner has construed drive
Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the respective parent.
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The metes and bounds for which protection is sought are not clear. Claim 2 recites “the pixel circuit comprises a preset circuit in a data signal input path, a control terminal of the preset circuit is configured to receive a preset control signal, and when the preset control signal controls the preset circuit to be turned on, a data refresh is performed on the pixel circuit; and the driver circuit comprises a preset driver circuit, and the preset driver circuit is configured to provide the preset control signal to the control terminal of the preset circuit”. However, it is not clear whether “the preset the preset circuit is one of the data write circuit, the reset circuit, or the compensation circuit”.
Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 20240412692, paragraph 0035 indicates “According to the embodiments of the present application, the data signal input path is as follows in the working process of the pixel circuit: a data signal Vdata is input into the drive module 100 via the data write module 200, and then reaches the reset module 300 via the compensation module 400, to complete the display of regions with different data refresh frequencies in the display panel”
However, it is not clear how “a preset circuit in a data signal input path “ can correspond to any other transistor than a data write transistor since this is the only transistor (circuit) that is in the data input path. Applicant’s figure 3 does not illustrate what structure corresponds to each circuit nor how such structure is connected. However based on Applicant’s published application paragraph 0035 “Referring to FIG. 3, the pixel circuit includes a drive module 100, a data write module 200, a reset module 300, and a compensation module 400. The data write module 200 is connected to a first terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a data signal to the drive module 100. The reset module 300 is connected to a control terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a reset signal to the drive module 100. The compensation module 400 is connected between a second terminal of the drive module 100 and the control terminal of the drive module 100. “ It is unclear how a control terminal of a drive transistor (circuit) would receive the input Vdata so as to facilitate a “reset circuit” or “compensation circuit” to be in the “data signal input path”.
Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the respective parent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110032231.
Consider claim 1, Maruyama teaches a display panel (see Maruyama figure 6, element 510 display panel), comprising:
a first data refresh region (see Maruyama paragraphs 0064-0066 where for example in the course of shift from the first display mode that operates at the first frame frequency to the second display mode that operates at the second frame frequency, the display device according to the first embodiment changes a frame frequency from the first frame frequency to the second frame frequency for each preset region within the display screen of the display panel 510 so that the frame frequencies of all the regions within the display screen (whole display screen) may eventually be changed to the second frame frequency.), wherein a data refresh frequency of the first data refresh region is F1 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0015, 0043 specifically for example paragraph 0043 where a display mode that operates at the first frame frequency (for example, 60 Hz) is referred to as a first display mode, a display mode that operates at the second frame frequency (for example, 120 Hz) is referred to as a second display mode, and a display mode in which one screen is constituted by mixing a first display area driven at the first frame frequency and a second display area driven at the second frame frequency is referred to as a third display mode.);
wherein a working process of the display panel comprises a first stage and a second stage (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode);
in the first stage, a width of the first data refresh region in a first direction is W1 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode);
in the second stage, the width of the first data refresh region in the first direction is W2 (see Maruyama figures 4-5, element 401 and paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode);
and W1 > W2 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where a whole screen operating in a first display mode corresponds to W1 and a portion of the screen operating in a first display mode corresponds to W2); and
wherein at least in the second stage (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode),
the display panel further comprises a second data refresh region (see Maruyama figure 4-5, element 402),
a data refresh frequency of the second data refresh region is F2, the first data refresh region and the second data refresh region are arranged in the first direction, and F1 ≠ F2 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0015, 0043 specifically for example paragraph 0043 where a display mode that operates at the first frame frequency (for example, 60 Hz) is referred to as a first display mode, a display mode that operates at the second frame frequency (for example, 120 Hz) is referred to as a second display mode, and a display mode in which one screen is constituted by mixing a first display area driven at the first frame frequency and a second display area driven at the second frame frequency is referred to as a third display mode.),
wherein the working process of the display panel further comprises a third stage, in the third stage, a width of the first data refresh region in the first direction is W3, and W3 < W2 (see Maruyama figures 4-5 and paragraphs 0063-0067 specifically for example paragraph 0065 where in the course of the shift where the first display mode is switched to the second display mode, the third display mode is provided as illustrated in FIG. 4, in which the display screen is constituted by first display areas 401 driven in the first display mode and a second display area 402 driven in the second display mode. Further, in the third display mode, the size of the second display area 402 is gradually increased with time in the screen vertical direction, for example, starting from zero in a central area (zero area) in the screen vertical direction, so that the second display area 402 may constitute the whole screen eventually. In contrast, in the case where the second display mode is switched to the first display mode, in the third display mode, the size of the first display area 401 is gradually increased with time, starting from zero, so that the first display area 401 may constitute the whole screen eventually.)
wherein W1 - W2 > W2 - W3, or W1 - W2 < W2 - W3 (see Maruyama figures 4-5 and paragraphs 0063-0067 specifically for example paragraph 0065 where in the course of the shift where the first display mode is switched to the second display mode, the third display mode is provided as illustrated in FIG. 4, in which the display screen is constituted by first display areas 401 driven in the first display mode and a second display area 402 driven in the second display mode. Further, in the third display mode, the size of the second display area 402 is gradually increased with time in the screen vertical direction, for example, starting from zero in a central area (zero area) in the screen vertical direction, so that the second display area 402 may constitute the whole screen eventually. In contrast, in the case where the second display mode is switched to the first display mode, in the third display mode, the size of the first display area 401 is gradually increased with time, starting from zero, so that the first display area 401 may constitute the whole screen eventually.).
Maruyama does not explicitly disclose W1 - W2 > W2 - W3, or W1 - W2 < W2 - W3. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have W1 - W2 > W2 - W3, or W1 - W2 < W2 - W3 so as to transition between a starting display mode to an ending display mode using width options which gradually transition. Further since such a configuration, absent any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), is generally achievable through routine optimization/experimentation, and since discovering the optimum or workable configuration, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, involves only routine skill in the art. Moreover, in the absence of any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), the configuration set forth above would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Consider claim 2, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein: the display panel comprises a pixel circuit (see Maruyama figure 6, element 511 and paragraph 0053) and a driver circuit (see Maruyama figure 6, elements 530, 520, 540, 580, 590, 570, 560);
the pixel circuit comprises a preset operation when the gate electrode is applied with a scanning signal. While the TFT is in a closed state, a voltage of the data line connected to the drain electrode is written into the pixel electrode connected to the source electrode. Where TFT corresponds to preset module and scanning signal corresponds to preset control signal); and
the driver circuit comprises a preset driver circuit, and the preset driver circuit is configured to provide the preset control signal to the control terminal of the preset
Consider claim 4, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein: the preset driver circuit comprises a first drive portion and a second drive portion (see Maruyama figure 6 and figure 4, reproduced below, where first drive portion corresponds to scanning line drive circuit portion which provides scan signals to scan lines corresponding to first display area and second drive portion corresponds to scanning line drive circuit portion which provides scan signals to scan lines corresponding to second display area);
the preset control signal comprises a first preset control signal and a second preset control signal (see Maruyama paragraph 0052 where scanning line drive circuit 530 generates scanning line selection signals (gate signals) 531 based on the scanning line drive circuit control signal group 543, and outputs the scanning line selection signals 531 to scanning lines of the display panel 510. Where each scan line receives a scan signal corresponding to a control signal and a scan signal provided to a first display area scan line corresponds to a first preset control signal and a scan signal provided to a second display area scan line corresponds to a second preset control signal);
the first drive portion is configured to provide the first preset control signal to the first data refresh region; and the second drive portion is configured to provide the second preset control signal to the second data refresh region (see Maruyama figures 4 and 6, reproduced above, where first drive portion corresponds to scanning line drive circuit portion which provides scan signals to scan lines corresponding to first display area and second drive portion corresponds to scanning line drive circuit portion which provides scan signals to scan lines corresponding to second display area).
Consider claim 5, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches wherein: in the first stage, a width of the first drive portion in the first direction is W11 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where a first stage corresponds to a whole screen operating in a first display mode therefore W11 would be all scan lines supplied a scanning signal); and in the second stage, a width of the first drive portion in the first direction is W22 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where a second stage corresponds to a portion of the screen operating in a first display mode therefore W22 would be only scan lines supplied a scanning signal corresponding to a first display mode as illustrated in figures 6 and 4 reproduced above), and W11 > W22 (where a portion of the scan driving circuit providing signals to all scan lines for a whole screen corresponding to W11 is larger than a portion of the scan driving circuit providing signals to a portion of a screen corresponding to W22).
Consider claim 6, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches wherein: in at least part of a time period during which the display panel operates, the first preset control signal is different from the second preset control signal (see Maruyama paragraphs 0131-0144 and figure 17(a) and 17(c) specifically for example paragraph 0133 where as illustrated in FIG. 17(a), for example, input display data corresponding to even-numbered frames of the input display data to be input in a frame period (T period) corresponding to the frame frequency of 120 Hz is displayed as images in a period between times t0 and t6, which is a two-frame period (2T period), that is, in a frame cycle corresponding to the frame frequency of 60 Hz, by way of whole screen scanning from the upper portion toward the lower portion of the display panel as indicated by an arrow (vector) 1701. And paragraph 0136 where as illustrated in FIG. 17(c), the whole screen is scanned during the period between the times t0 and t1 indicated by the arrow 1701).
Maruyama does not explicitly discuss differences between scanning signals for an image frame where a whole screen is at a same frame frequency and an image frame where a portion of a screen is at a different frequency. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize based on Maruyama’s disclosure that it is implicit that at least part of a time to display a whole screen at a same frame frequency will be different from an image frame where a portion of a screen is at a different frequency. Therefore, the recited features would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill.
Consider claim 7, Maruyama as modified by ordinary skill teaches all the limitations of claim 6 and further teaches wherein: F1 > F2, in the at least part of the time period during which the display panel operates, the first preset control signal controls the preset turned on, and the second preset control signal controls the preset or F1 < F2, in the at least part of the time period during which the display panel operates, the first preset control signal controls the preset first frame frequency (for example, 60 Hz) is referred to as a first display mode, a display mode that operates at the second frame frequency (for example, 120 Hz) is referred to as a second display mode, and a display mode in which one screen is constituted by mixing a first display area driven at the first frame frequency and a second display area driven at the second frame frequency is referred to as a third display mode. And paragraphs 0066, 0097 where is applicable to a case where a display mode is switched from the second display mode (120 Hz) to the first display mode (60 Hz) as long as the transition is reversed).
Claims 8-11 canceled
Consider claim 12, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 1, wherein at least one of the following is satisfied: a duration of the first stage is longer than a duration of the second stage; or a duration of the third stage is longer than a duration of the second stage (see Maruyama figures 12-17 and paragraphs 0097-0106, specifically for example paragraphs 0105-0106 where how the second display area is increased in the third display mode period between the times t1 and t2 is not limited to the above. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 14, the ratio of the second display area may be increased gradually in a ramp waveform pattern. Alternatively, as illustrated in FIG. 15, the second display area may be increased in a sawtooth pattern, that is, the ratio of the second display area may be varied to be increased eventually. How the second display area is increased in the third display mode period is appropriately set taking into account the calculation amount of the control parameters, the amount of holding parameters, and the suppression of image quality degradation. How the second display area is increased in the third display mode period is not limited to the above, and other increase patterns may be employed).
Maruyama does not explicitly discuss length of time each display mode. However, one of ordinary skill would have found it an obvious matter of design depending on what type of images are to be displayed and how long each type of image is to be displayed that at least one configuration would correspond to having at least one of the following is satisfied: a duration of the first stage is longer than a duration of the second stage; or a duration of the third stage is longer than a duration of the second stage.
Consider claim 13, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein: the working process of the display panel comprises a transition stage (see Maruyama figure 8, display mode transition period and figure 15, third display mode and paragraph 0105 where third display mode period corresponds to transition period); and in the transition stage, at least two of the first stage, the second stage and the third stage are repeated units and are repeated at least once (see Maruyama figure 15, reproduced below, element repeated units and paragraph 0106 where second display area may be increased in a sawtooth pattern).
Consider claim 14, Maruyama teaches a display device (see Maruyama paragraph 0038 where FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating a schematic configuration of a display device), comprising a display panel (see Maruyama figure 6, element 510 display panel), wherein the display panel comprises:
a first data refresh region (see Maruyama paragraphs 0064-0066 where for example in the course of shift from the first display mode that operates at the first frame frequency to the second display mode that operates at the second frame frequency, the display device according to the first embodiment changes a frame frequency from the first frame frequency to the second frame frequency for each preset region within the display screen of the display panel 510 so that the frame frequencies of all the regions within the display screen (whole display screen) may eventually be changed to the second frame frequency.), wherein a data refresh frequency of the first data refresh region is F1 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0015, 0043 specifically for example paragraph 0043 where a display mode that operates at the first frame frequency (for example, 60 Hz) is referred to as a first display mode, a display mode that operates at the second frame frequency (for example, 120 Hz) is referred to as a second display mode, and a display mode in which one screen is constituted by mixing a first display area driven at the first frame frequency and a second display area driven at the second frame frequency is referred to as a third display mode.);
wherein a working process of the display panel comprises a first stage and a second stage (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode);
in the first stage, a width of the first data refresh region in a first direction is W1 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode);
in the second stage, the width of the first data refresh region in the first direction is W2 (see Maruyama figures 4-5, element 401 and paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode); and
W1 > W2 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where a whole screen operating in a first display mode corresponds to W1 and a portion of the screen operating in a first display mode corresponds to W2); and
wherein at least in the second stage (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode),
the display panel further comprises a second data refresh region (see Maruyama figure 4-5, element 402),
a data refresh frequency of the second data refresh region is F2, the first data refresh region and the second data refresh region are arranged in the first direction, and F1 ≠ F2 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0015, 0043 specifically for example paragraph 0043 where a display mode that operates at the first frame frequency (for example, 60 Hz) is referred to as a first display mode, a display mode that operates at the second frame frequency (for example, 120 Hz) is referred to as a second display mode, and a display mode in which one screen is constituted by mixing a first display area driven at the first frame frequency and a second display area driven at the second frame frequency is referred to as a third display mode.),
wherein: the working process of the display panel further comprises a third stage, in the third stage, a width of the first data refresh region in the first direction is W3, and W3 < W2 (see Maruyama figures 4-5 and paragraphs 0063-0067 specifically for example paragraph 0065 where in the course of the shift where the first display mode is switched to the second display mode, the third display mode is provided as illustrated in FIG. 4, in which the display screen is constituted by first display areas 401 driven in the first display mode and a second display area 402 driven in the second display mode. Further, in the third display mode, the size of the second display area 402 is gradually increased with time in the screen vertical direction, for example, starting from zero in a central area (zero area) in the screen vertical direction, so that the second display area 402 may constitute the whole screen eventually. In contrast, in the case where the second display mode is switched to the first display mode, in the third display mode, the size of the first display area 401 is gradually increased with time, starting from zero, so that the first display area 401 may constitute the whole screen eventually.)
wherein W1 - W2 > W2 - W3, or W1 - W2 < W2 - W3 (see Maruyama figures 4-5 and paragraphs 0063-0067 specifically for example paragraph 0065 where in the course of the shift where the first display mode is switched to the second display mode, the third display mode is provided as illustrated in FIG. 4, in which the display screen is constituted by first display areas 401 driven in the first display mode and a second display area 402 driven in the second display mode. Further, in the third display mode, the size of the second display area 402 is gradually increased with time in the screen vertical direction, for example, starting from zero in a central area (zero area) in the screen vertical direction, so that the second display area 402 may constitute the whole screen eventually. In contrast, in the case where the second display mode is switched to the first display mode, in the third display mode, the size of the first display area 401 is gradually increased with time, starting from zero, so that the first display area 401 may constitute the whole screen eventually.).
Maruyama does not explicitly disclose W1 - W2 > W2 - W3, or W1 - W2 < W2 - W3. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have W1 - W2 > W2 - W3, or W1 - W2 < W2 - W3 so as to transition between a starting display mode to an ending display mode using width options which gradually transition. Further since such a configuration, absent any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), is generally achievable through routine optimization/experimentation, and since discovering the optimum or workable configuration, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, involves only routine skill in the art. Moreover, in the absence of any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), the configuration set forth above would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110032231 in view of Seo et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210035489.
Consider claim 3, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Maruyama is silent regarding wherein the pixel circuit comprises a drive
Maruyama does disclose in paragraph 0038 that other display panels than liquid crystal display panels are applicable as long as a corresponding display device includes a scanning line drive circuit and a data line drive circuit, such as an organic electroluminescence (EL) panel, a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) display, a plasma display panel, a field emission display, and electronic paper.
In the same field of endeavor, displaying images in different modes including at least one mode with regions displayed having different frequencies (see Seo figure 1, element 100, PXL; figure 2, MODE1, MODE2, figure 3, PXL and paragraphs 0066-0082), Seo teaches a pixel circuit comprises a drive module (see Seo figure 3, element T1 and paragraph 0096 where first transistor T1 (drive transistor)), a data write module (see Seo figure 3, element T2 and paragraph 0097 where second transistor T2 may be connected between the data line DLj and the second node N2. A gate electrode of the second transistor T2 may be connected to the scan line SLi. The second transistor T2 may be turned on when the scan signal is supplied to the scan line SLi to electrically connect the first electrode of the first transistor T1 to the data line DLj), a reset module (see Seo figure 3, element T4 and paragraphs 0100 where fourth transistor T4 may be turned on to supply the initialization power supply voltage Vint to the third node N3) and a compensation module (see Seo figure 3, element T3 and paragraph 0098-0099 where when the third transistor T3 is turned on, the first transistor T1 may be connected in the form of a diode and storage capacitor Cst may store a voltage corresponding to the data signal and to a threshold voltage of the first transistor T1), wherein the data write module is connected to a first terminal of the drive module and is configured to provide a data signal to the drive module (see Seo figure 3, element T2 and paragraph 0097 where second transistor T2 may be connected between the data line DLj and the second node N2. A gate electrode of the second transistor T2 may be connected to the scan line SLi. The second transistor T2 may be turned on when the scan signal is supplied to the scan line SLi to electrically connect the first electrode of the first transistor T1 to the data line DLj); the reset module is connected to a control terminal of the drive module and is configured to provide a reset signal to the drive module (see Seo figure 3, element T4 and paragraphs 0100 where fourth transistor T4 may be turned on to supply the initialization power supply voltage Vint to the third node N3); the compensation module is connected between a second terminal of the drive module and the control terminal of the drive module (see Seo figure 3, element T3, T1, N3, N1); and the preset module is one of the data write module, the reset module, or the compensation module (see Seo figure 1, element 120 scan driver).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Maruyama with the teachings of Seo to have the recited pixel circuit so as to form a display having a light emitting element as suggested by Maruyama at paragraph 0038.
Claim(s) 6-7, 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110032231.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the claim interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) Examiner respectfully disagrees. For a term to be considered a substitute for "means," and lack sufficient structure for performing the function, it must serve as a generic placeholder and thus not limit the scope of the claim to any specific manner or structure for performing the claimed function. It is important to remember that there are no absolutes in the determination of terms used as a substitute for "means" that serve as generic placeholders. The examiner must carefully consider the term in light of the specification and the commonly accepted meaning in the technological art. Every application will turn on its own facts. The USPTO must apply 35 U.S.C. 112(f) in appropriate cases, and give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), in light of and consistent with the written description of the invention in the application. In determining the BRI, examiners should establish the meaning of each claim term consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art, including identifying and construing functional claim limitations. If a claim limitation recites a term and associated functional language, the examiner should determine whether the claim limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is driven by the claim language, not by applicant’s intent or mere statements to the contrary included in the specification or made during prosecution. To determine whether a word, term, or phrase coupled with a function denotes structure, examiners may check whether: (1) the specification provides a description sufficient to inform one of ordinary skill in the art that the term denotes structure; (2) general and subject matter specific dictionaries provide evidence that the term has achieved recognition as a noun denoting structure; and/or (3) the prior art provides evidence that the term is an art-recognized structure to perform the claimed function. Ex parte Rodriguez, 92 USPQ2d 1395, 1404 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2009) (precedential). Note that there is no fixed list of generic placeholders that always result in 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation, and likewise there is no fixed list of words that always avoid 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation. Every case will turn on its own unique set of facts. MPEP 2181.
One of the limitations in question recites, “preset circuit”. The MPEP states in 2181 that the presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) applies is overcome when the limitation further includes the structure, material or acts necessary to perform the recited function. The term “circuit” is not the structure as “circuit” is a generic term of reference for a group of components in an electronic circuit that is composed of items such as resistors, transistors, capacitors, inductors and diodes etc. connected by wires or traces that allow or prevent the flow of current. In fact, the Cambridge dictionary defines circuit as “a closed system of wires or pipes through which electricity or liquid can flow”. Clearly this claim limitation is attempting to describe a singular part of a closed system and not the system itself. This particular limitation, nor the application, limits how one defines “circuit”. "Sufficient structure exists when the claim language specifies the exact structure that performs the function in question without need to resort to other portions of the specification or extrinsic evidence for an adequate understanding of the structure." See TriMed, Inc. v. Stryker Corp., 514 F.3d 1256, 1259-60, 85 USPQ2d 1787, 1789 (Fed. Cir. 2008) The term “circuit” is being used here as a generic placeholder for the term “means” and would not be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, in this context, as being sufficiently definite structure for performing the claimed function without having to resort to looking to the specification for an understanding for how that function is performed. In the case of Mass. Inst. of Tech., 462 F.3d at 1355-1356, 80 USPQ2d at 1332, the court found that the recitation of "aesthetic correction circuitry" was sufficient to avoid pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, paragraph 6 because the term “circuit”, combined with a description of the function of the circuit, connoted sufficient structure to one of ordinary skill in the art. In the instant application, as noted above, the claim limitations lack sufficient description the circuit that performs the function of controlling the first node. The addition of the word “circuit” to a claim limitation, in this instance, will not avoid a 112(f) interpretation unless sufficient structure or acts for performing the function are additionally recited.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that one of ordinary skill would not have found the teachings of Maruyama to fairly teach or suggest W1-W2>W2-W3, Examiner respectfully directs Applicant’s attention to figures 4-5 and paragraphs 0063-0067 specifically for example paragraph 0065 where “in the course of the shift where the first display mode is switched to the second display mode, the third display mode is provided as illustrated in FIG. 4, in which the display screen is constituted by first display areas 401 driven in the first display mode and a second display area 402 driven in the second display mode. Further, in the third display mode, the size of the second display area 402 is gradually increased with time in the screen vertical direction, for example, starting from zero in a central area (zero area) in the screen vertical direction, so that the second display area 402 may constitute the whole screen eventually. In contrast, in the case where the second display mode is switched to the first display mode, in the third display mode, the size of the first display area 401 is gradually increased with time, starting from zero, so that the first display area 401 may constitute the whole screen eventually”. Therefore, while Maruyama does not specifically articulate W1-W2>W2-W3, one of ordinary skill would have arrived at the recited feature by virtue of following the teachings of Maruyama.
The fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakano et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20040051706 (display apparatus), Jang et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140085276 (display apparatus), Yamazaki et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140292741 (display device), Kim et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20150358018 (display device), Park et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210027707 (display device), Park et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210027720 (display device), Lee et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210110771 (display device), Jung, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220189363 (display device), Kim et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220351660 (display device).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625