In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Claim(s) 1-14 is/are pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on August 30, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202311103927.3 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Application Notes
The term “stage” has been used throughout the disclosure in a vague manner. It appears that at least one interpretation of “stage” corresponds to a time period of an image frame of the display area including all data refresh regions (see Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 20240412692 paragraphs 0024, 0037, 0050).
Examiner also notes that paragraph 0012 indicates “ It is to be noted that, in this specification, relational terms such as first and second are only used to distinguish one entity or operation from another entity or operation, and do not require or imply any actual relationship or sequence between these entities or operations. “.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph 0009, line 6 “should be fall within” should delete one of “be” or “fall” in order for the sentence to make sense.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Preset module (claim 2)
Figure 2, element 10 and paragraphs 0030-0046 of Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 202401412692
It does not appear that any specific structure has been disclosed corresponding to a “preset module”
Drive module (claim 3)
Figure 3, element 100 and paragraph 0033-0036 of Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 202401412692 where “the pixel circuit is further described. Referring to FIG. 3, the pixel circuit includes a drive module 100, a data write module 200, a reset module 300, and a compensation module 400. The data write module 200 is connected to a first terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a data signal to the drive module 100. The reset module 300 is connected to a control terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a reset signal to the drive module 100. The compensation module 400 is connected between a second terminal of the drive module 100 and the control terminal of the drive module 100. The preset module 10 described above is any one of the data write module 200, the reset module 300, or the compensation module 400, which is not limited in the embodiments of the present application.
[0034] Further, the compensation module 400 may be configured to compensate for a threshold voltage of the drive module 100 so that the drive current generated by the drive module 100 is not affected by the threshold voltage of the drive module 100, thereby improving the display uniformity of the display panel.
[0035] According to the embodiments of the present application, the data signal input path is as follows in the working process of the pixel circuit: a data signal Vdata is input into the drive module 100 via the data write module 200, and then reaches the reset module 300 via the compensation module 400, to complete the display of regions with different data refresh frequencies in the display panel.
[0036] It is to be noted that the pixel circuit further includes a light-emitting element, and the light-emitting element is not shown in FIG. 3. The drive module and the light-emitting element are connected in series between a first power signal PVDD and a second power signal PVEE, and a potential difference exists between the first power signal PVDD and the second power signal PVEE so that a drive current that drives the light-emitting element to perform the light emission may be generated.”
It does not appear that any specific structure has been disclosed corresponding to a “drive module”
Data write module (claim 3)
Figure 3, element 200 paragraphs 0033-0035 of Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 202401412692 where “In some embodiments of the present application, the pixel circuit is further described. Referring to FIG. 3, the pixel circuit includes a drive module 100, a data write module 200, a reset module 300, and a compensation module 400. The data write module 200 is connected to a first terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a data signal to the drive module 100. The reset module 300 is connected to a control terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a reset signal to the drive module 100. The compensation module 400 is connected between a second terminal of the drive module 100 and the control terminal of the drive module 100. The preset module 10 described above is any one of the data write module 200, the reset module 300, or the compensation module 400, which is not limited in the embodiments of the present application.
[0034] Further, the compensation module 400 may be configured to compensate for a threshold voltage of the drive module 100 so that the drive current generated by the drive module 100 is not affected by the threshold voltage of the drive module 100, thereby improving the display uniformity of the display panel.
[0035] According to the embodiments of the present application, the data signal input path is as follows in the working process of the pixel circuit: a data signal Vdata is input into the drive module 100 via the data write module 200, and then reaches the reset module 300 via the compensation module 400, to complete the display of regions with different data refresh frequencies in the display panel.”
It does not appear that any specific structure has been disclosed corresponding to a “data write module”
Reset module(claim 3)
Figure 3, element 300 and paragraphs 0033-0035 of Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 202401412692 where “In some embodiments of the present application, the pixel circuit is further described. Referring to FIG. 3, the pixel circuit includes a drive module 100, a data write module 200, a reset module 300, and a compensation module 400. The data write module 200 is connected to a first terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a data signal to the drive module 100. The reset module 300 is connected to a control terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a reset signal to the drive module 100. The compensation module 400 is connected between a second terminal of the drive module 100 and the control terminal of the drive module 100. The preset module 10 described above is any one of the data write module 200, the reset module 300, or the compensation module 400, which is not limited in the embodiments of the present application.
[0034] Further, the compensation module 400 may be configured to compensate for a threshold voltage of the drive module 100 so that the drive current generated by the drive module 100 is not affected by the threshold voltage of the drive module 100, thereby improving the display uniformity of the display panel.
[0035] According to the embodiments of the present application, the data signal input path is as follows in the working process of the pixel circuit: a data signal Vdata is input into the drive module 100 via the data write module 200, and then reaches the reset module 300 via the compensation module 400, to complete the display of regions with different data refresh frequencies in the display panel.”
It does not appear that any specific structure has been disclosed corresponding to a “reset module”
Compensation module (claim 3)
Figure 3, element 400 and paragraphs 0033-0035 of Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 202401412692 where “In some embodiments of the present application, the pixel circuit is further described. Referring to FIG. 3, the pixel circuit includes a drive module 100, a data write module 200, a reset module 300, and a compensation module 400. The data write module 200 is connected to a first terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a data signal to the drive module 100. The reset module 300 is connected to a control terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a reset signal to the drive module 100. The compensation module 400 is connected between a second terminal of the drive module 100 and the control terminal of the drive module 100. The preset module 10 described above is any one of the data write module 200, the reset module 300, or the compensation module 400, which is not limited in the embodiments of the present application.
[0034] Further, the compensation module 400 may be configured to compensate for a threshold voltage of the drive module 100 so that the drive current generated by the drive module 100 is not affected by the threshold voltage of the drive module 100, thereby improving the display uniformity of the display panel.
[0035] According to the embodiments of the present application, the data signal input path is as follows in the working process of the pixel circuit: a data signal Vdata is input into the drive module 100 via the data write module 200, and then reaches the reset module 300 via the compensation module 400, to complete the display of regions with different data refresh frequencies in the display panel.”
It does not appear that any specific structure has been disclosed corresponding to a “compensation module”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As illustrated above, Applicant’s original specification does not appear to have disclosed any specific corresponding structure for “preset module”, “drive module”, “data write module”, “reset module” and “compensation module”.
In order to further prosecution, Examiner has construed drive module”, “data write module”, “reset module” and “compensation module” as corresponding to a transistor as is customary in the pixel art.
Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the respective parent.
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The metes and bounds for which protection is sought are not clear. Claim 2 recites “the pixel circuit comprises a preset module in a data signal input path, a control terminal of the preset module is configured to receive a preset control signal, and when the preset control signal controls the preset module to be turned on, a data refresh is performed on the pixel circuit; and the driver circuit comprises a preset driver circuit, and the preset driver circuit is configured to provide the preset control signal to the control terminal of the preset module”. However, it is not clear whether “the preset module” merely corresponds to a transistor for supplying a data signal to a pixel or whether “preset module” includes additional undisclosed structure. Particularly in view of claim 3 which recites “the preset module is one of the data write module, the reset module, or the compensation module”.
Applicant’s published application U.S. Patent Publication No. 20240412692, paragraph 0035 indicates “According to the embodiments of the present application, the data signal input path is as follows in the working process of the pixel circuit: a data signal Vdata is input into the drive module 100 via the data write module 200, and then reaches the reset module 300 via the compensation module 400, to complete the display of regions with different data refresh frequencies in the display panel”
However, it is not clear how “a preset module in a data signal input path “ can correspond to any other transistor than a data write transistor since this is the only transistor (module) that is in the data input path. Applicant’s figure 3 does not illustrate what structure corresponds to each module nor how such structure is connected. However based on Applicant’s published application paragraph 0035 “Referring to FIG. 3, the pixel circuit includes a drive module 100, a data write module 200, a reset module 300, and a compensation module 400. The data write module 200 is connected to a first terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a data signal to the drive module 100. The reset module 300 is connected to a control terminal of the drive module 100 to provide a reset signal to the drive module 100. The compensation module 400 is connected between a second terminal of the drive module 100 and the control terminal of the drive module 100. “ It is unclear how a control terminal of a drive transistor (module) would receive the input Vdata so as to facilitate a “reset module” or “compensation module” to be in the “data signal input path”.
Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the respective parent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maruyama et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110032231.
Consider claim 1, Maruyama teaches a display panel (see Maruyama figure 6, element 510 display panel), comprising:
a first data refresh region (see Maruyama paragraphs 0064-0066 where for example in the course of shift from the first display mode that operates at the first frame frequency to the second display mode that operates at the second frame frequency, the display device according to the first embodiment changes a frame frequency from the first frame frequency to the second frame frequency for each preset region within the display screen of the display panel 510 so that the frame frequencies of all the regions within the display screen (whole display screen) may eventually be changed to the second frame frequency.), wherein a data refresh frequency of the first data refresh region is F1 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0015, 0043 specifically for example paragraph 0043 where a display mode that operates at the first frame frequency (for example, 60 Hz) is referred to as a first display mode, a display mode that operates at the second frame frequency (for example, 120 Hz) is referred to as a second display mode, and a display mode in which one screen is constituted by mixing a first display area driven at the first frame frequency and a second display area driven at the second frame frequency is referred to as a third display mode.);
wherein a working process of the display panel comprises a first stage and a second stage (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode);
in the first stage, a width of the first data refresh region in a first direction is W1 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode);
in the second stage, the width of the first data refresh region in the first direction is W2 (see Maruyama figures 4-5, element 401 and paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode);
and W1 > W2 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where a whole screen operating in a first display mode corresponds to W1 and a portion of the screen operating in a first display mode corresponds to W2); and
wherein at least in the second stage (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode),
the display panel further comprises a second data refresh region (see Maruyama figure 4-5, element 402),
a data refresh frequency of the second data refresh region is F2, the first data refresh region and the second data refresh region are arranged in the first direction, and F1 ≠ F2 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0015, 0043 specifically for example paragraph 0043 where a display mode that operates at the first frame frequency (for example, 60 Hz) is referred to as a first display mode, a display mode that operates at the second frame frequency (for example, 120 Hz) is referred to as a second display mode, and a display mode in which one screen is constituted by mixing a first display area driven at the first frame frequency and a second display area driven at the second frame frequency is referred to as a third display mode.).
Consider claim 2, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein: the display panel comprises a pixel circuit (see Maruyama figure 6, element 511 and paragraph 0053) and a driver circuit (see Maruyama figure 6, elements 530, 520, 540, 580, 590, 570, 560);
the pixel circuit comprises a preset module in a data signal input path, a control terminal of the preset module is configured to receive a preset control signal, and when the preset control signal controls the preset module to be turned on, a data refresh is performed on the pixel circuit (see Maruyama paragraph 0053 where Each of the pixels 511 of the liquid crystal display panel 510 includes a thin film transistor (TFT), which is formed of a source electrode, a gate electrode, and a drain electrode, a pixel electrode connected to the source electrode of the TFT, and the TFT performs a switch operation when the gate electrode is applied with a scanning signal. While the TFT is in a closed state, a voltage of the data line connected to the drain electrode is written into the pixel electrode connected to the source electrode. Where TFT corresponds to preset module and scanning signal corresponds to preset control signal); and
the driver circuit comprises a preset driver circuit, and the preset driver circuit is configured to provide the preset control signal to the control terminal of the preset module (see Maruyama figure 6, element 530 scanning line driver circuit and paragraph 0053).
Consider claim 4, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein: the preset driver circuit comprises a first drive portion and a second drive portion (see Maruyama figure 6 and figure 4, reproduced below, where first drive portion corresponds to scanning line drive circuit portion which provides scan signals to scan lines corresponding to first display area and second drive portion corresponds to scanning line drive circuit portion which provides scan signals to scan lines corresponding to second display area);
the preset control signal comprises a first preset control signal and a second preset control signal (see Maruyama paragraph 0052 where scanning line drive circuit 530 generates scanning line selection signals (gate signals) 531 based on the scanning line drive circuit control signal group 543, and outputs the scanning line selection signals 531 to scanning lines of the display panel 510. Where each scan line receives a scan signal corresponding to a control signal and a scan signal provided to a first display area scan line corresponds to a first preset control signal and a scan signal provided to a second display area scan line corresponds to a second preset control signal);
the first drive portion is configured to provide the first preset control signal to the first data refresh region; and the second drive portion is configured to provide the second preset control signal to the second data refresh region (see Maruyama figures 4 and 6, reproduced above, where first drive portion corresponds to scanning line drive circuit portion which provides scan signals to scan lines corresponding to first display area and second drive portion corresponds to scanning line drive circuit portion which provides scan signals to scan lines corresponding to second display area).
Consider claim 5, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches wherein: in the first stage, a width of the first drive portion in the first direction is W11 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where a first stage corresponds to a whole screen operating in a first display mode therefore W11 would be all scan lines supplied a scanning signal); and in the second stage, a width of the first drive portion in the first direction is W22 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where a second stage corresponds to a portion of the screen operating in a first display mode therefore W22 would be only scan lines supplied a scanning signal corresponding to a first display mode as illustrated in figures 6 and 4 reproduced above), and W11 > W22 (where a portion of the scan driving circuit providing signals to all scan lines for a whole screen corresponding to W11 is larger than a portion of the scan driving circuit providing signals to a portion of a screen corresponding to W22).
Consider claim 6, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches wherein: in at least part of a time period during which the display panel operates, the first preset control signal is different from the second preset control signal (see Maruyama paragraphs 0131-0144 and figure 17(a) and 17(c); the scan signals applied to the first and second display areas in 17(c) for example will have at the very least differently timed pulses, which is seen to sufficiently disclose a difference in preset control signals. furthermore for example paragraph 0133 where as illustrated in FIG. 17(a), for example, input display data corresponding to even-numbered frames of the input display data to be input in a frame period (T period) corresponding to the frame frequency of 120 Hz is displayed as images in a period between times t0 and t6, which is a two-frame period (2T period), that is, in a frame cycle corresponding to the frame frequency of 60 Hz, by way of whole screen scanning from the upper portion toward the lower portion of the display panel as indicated by an arrow (vector) 1701. And paragraph 0136 where as illustrated in FIG. 17(c), the whole screen is scanned during the period between the times t0 and t1 indicated by the arrow 1701).
Consider claim 8, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein: the working process of the display panel further comprises a third stage, in the third stage, a width of the first data refresh region in the first direction is W3, and W3 < W2 (see Maruyama figures 4-5 and paragraphs 0063-0067 specifically for example paragraph 0065 where in the course of the shift where the first display mode is switched to the second display mode, the third display mode is provided as illustrated in FIG. 4, in which the display screen is constituted by first display areas 401 driven in the first display mode and a second display area 402 driven in the second display mode. Further, in the third display mode, the size of the second display area 402 is gradually increased with time in the screen vertical direction, for example, starting from zero in a central area (zero area) in the screen vertical direction, so that the second display area 402 may constitute the whole screen eventually. In contrast, in the case where the second display mode is switched to the first display mode, in the third display mode, the size of the first display area 401 is gradually increased with time, starting from zero, so that the first display area 401 may constitute the whole screen eventually.).
Consider claim 13, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 8 and further teaches wherein: the working process of the display panel comprises a transition stage (see Maruyama figure 8, display mode transition period and figure 15, third display mode and paragraph 0105 where third display mode period corresponds to transition period); and in the transition stage, at least two of the first stage, the second stage and the third stage are repeated units and are repeated at least once (see Maruyama figure 15, reproduced below, element repeated units and paragraph 0106 where second display area may be increased in a sawtooth pattern).
Consider claim 14, Maruyama teaches a display device (see Maruyama paragraph 0038 where FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating a schematic configuration of a display device), comprising a display panel (see Maruyama figure 6, element 510 display panel), wherein the display panel comprises:
a first data refresh region (see Maruyama paragraphs 0064-0066 where for example in the course of shift from the first display mode that operates at the first frame frequency to the second display mode that operates at the second frame frequency, the display device according to the first embodiment changes a frame frequency from the first frame frequency to the second frame frequency for each preset region within the display screen of the display panel 510 so that the frame frequencies of all the regions within the display screen (whole display screen) may eventually be changed to the second frame frequency.), wherein a data refresh frequency of the first data refresh region is F1 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0015, 0043 specifically for example paragraph 0043 where a display mode that operates at the first frame frequency (for example, 60 Hz) is referred to as a first display mode, a display mode that operates at the second frame frequency (for example, 120 Hz) is referred to as a second display mode, and a display mode in which one screen is constituted by mixing a first display area driven at the first frame frequency and a second display area driven at the second frame frequency is referred to as a third display mode.);
wherein a working process of the display panel comprises a first stage and a second stage (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode);
in the first stage, a width of the first data refresh region in a first direction is W1 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode);
in the second stage, the width of the first data refresh region in the first direction is W2 (see Maruyama figures 4-5, element 401 and paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode); and
W1 > W2 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where a whole screen operating in a first display mode corresponds to W1 and a portion of the screen operating in a first display mode corresponds to W2); and
wherein at least in the second stage (see Maruyama paragraphs 0043, 0064-0066 where for example a first stage may correspond to a whole screen operating at a first display mode and a second stage may correspond to a portion of a screen operating at a first display mode and another portion operating at a second display mode),
the display panel further comprises a second data refresh region (see Maruyama figure 4-5, element 402),
a data refresh frequency of the second data refresh region is F2, the first data refresh region and the second data refresh region are arranged in the first direction, and F1 ≠ F2 (see Maruyama paragraphs 0015, 0043 specifically for example paragraph 0043 where a display mode that operates at the first frame frequency (for example, 60 Hz) is referred to as a first display mode, a display mode that operates at the second frame frequency (for example, 120 Hz) is referred to as a second display mode, and a display mode in which one screen is constituted by mixing a first display area driven at the first frame frequency and a second display area driven at the second frame frequency is referred to as a third display mode.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110032231 in view of Seo et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210035489.
Consider claim 3, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Maruyama is silent regarding wherein the pixel circuit comprises a drive module, a data write module, a reset module and a compensation module, wherein the data write module is connected to a first terminal of the drive module and is configured to provide a data signal to the drive module; the reset module is connected to a control terminal of the drive module and is configured to provide a reset signal to the drive module; the compensation module is connected between a second terminal of the drive module and the control terminal of the drive module; and the preset module is one of the data write module, the reset module, or the compensation module.
Maruyama does disclose in paragraph 0038 that other display panels than liquid crystal display panels are applicable as long as a corresponding display device includes a scanning line drive circuit and a data line drive circuit, such as an organic electroluminescence (EL) panel, a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) display, a plasma display panel, a field emission display, and electronic paper.
In the same field of endeavor, displaying images in different modes including at least one mode with regions displayed having different frequencies (see Seo figure 1, element 100, PXL; figure 2, MODE1, MODE2, figure 3, PXL and paragraphs 0066-0082), Seo teaches a pixel circuit comprises a drive module (see Seo figure 3, element T1 and paragraph 0096 where first transistor T1 (drive transistor)), a data write module (see Seo figure 3, element T2 and paragraph 0097 where second transistor T2 may be connected between the data line DLj and the second node N2. A gate electrode of the second transistor T2 may be connected to the scan line SLi. The second transistor T2 may be turned on when the scan signal is supplied to the scan line SLi to electrically connect the first electrode of the first transistor T1 to the data line DLj), a reset module (see Seo figure 3, element T4 and paragraphs 0100 where fourth transistor T4 may be turned on to supply the initialization power supply voltage Vint to the third node N3) and a compensation module (see Seo figure 3, element T3 and paragraph 0098-0099 where when the third transistor T3 is turned on, the first transistor T1 may be connected in the form of a diode and storage capacitor Cst may store a voltage corresponding to the data signal and to a threshold voltage of the first transistor T1), wherein the data write module is connected to a first terminal of the drive module and is configured to provide a data signal to the drive module (see Seo figure 3, element T2 and paragraph 0097 where second transistor T2 may be connected between the data line DLj and the second node N2. A gate electrode of the second transistor T2 may be connected to the scan line SLi. The second transistor T2 may be turned on when the scan signal is supplied to the scan line SLi to electrically connect the first electrode of the first transistor T1 to the data line DLj); the reset module is connected to a control terminal of the drive module and is configured to provide a reset signal to the drive module (see Seo figure 3, element T4 and paragraphs 0100 where fourth transistor T4 may be turned on to supply the initialization power supply voltage Vint to the third node N3); the compensation module is connected between a second terminal of the drive module and the control terminal of the drive module (see Seo figure 3, element T3, T1, N3, N1); and the preset module is one of the data write module, the reset module, or the compensation module (see Seo figure 1, element 120 scan driver).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Maruyama with the teachings of Seo to have the recited pixel circuit so as to form a display having a light emitting element as suggested by Maruyama at paragraph 0038.
Claim(s) 7, 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110032231
Consider claim 7, Maruyama as modified by ordinary skill teaches all the limitations of claim 6 and further teaches wherein: F1 > F2, in the at least part of the time period during which the display panel operates, the first preset control signal controls the preset module in the first data refresh region to be turned on, and the second preset control signal controls the preset module in the second data refresh region to be turned off; or F1 < F2, in the at least part of the time period during which the display panel operates, the first preset control signal controls the preset module in the first data refresh region to be turned off, and the second preset control signal controls the preset module in the second data refresh region to be turned on (see Maruyama paragraphs 0015, 0043 specifically for example paragraph 0043 where a display mode that operates at the first frame frequency (for example, 60 Hz) is referred to as a first display mode, a display mode that operates at the second frame frequency (for example, 120 Hz) is referred to as a second display mode, and a display mode in which one screen is constituted by mixing a first display area driven at the first frame frequency and a second display area driven at the second frame frequency is referred to as a third display mode. And paragraphs 0066, 0097 where is applicable to a case where a display mode is switched from the second display mode (120 Hz) to the first display mode (60 Hz) as long as the transition is reversed).
Consider claim 9. The display panel of claim 8, wherein W1 - W2=W2 - W3 (see Maruyama figures 4-5 and paragraphs 0063-0067 specifically for example paragraph 0065 where in the course of the shift where the first display mode is switched to the second display mode, the third display mode is provided as illustrated in FIG. 4, in which the display screen is constituted by first display areas 401 driven in the first display mode and a second display area 402 driven in the second display mode. Further, in the third display mode, the size of the second display area 402 is gradually increased with time in the screen vertical direction, for example, starting from zero in a central area (zero area) in the screen vertical direction, so that the second display area 402 may constitute the whole screen eventually. In contrast, in the case where the second display mode is switched to the first display mode, in the third display mode, the size of the first display area 401 is gradually increased with time, starting from zero, so that the first display area 401 may constitute the whole screen eventually.).
Maruyama does not explicitly disclose W1 - W2=W2 - W3. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have W1 - W2=W2 - W3 so as to transition between a starting display mode to an ending display mode using width options which gradually transition. Further since such a configuration, absent any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), is generally achievable through routine optimization/experimentation, and since discovering the optimum or workable configuration, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, involves only routine skill in the art. Moreover, in the absence of any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), the configuration set forth above would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Consider claim 10, Maruyama as modified by ordinary skill teaches all the limitations of claim 8 and further teaches wherein W1 - W2 ≠ W2 - W3 (see Maruyama figures 4-5 and paragraphs 0063-0067 specifically for example paragraph 0065 where in the course of the shift where the first display mode is switched to the second display mode, the third display mode is provided as illustrated in FIG. 4, in which the display screen is constituted by first display areas 401 driven in the first display mode and a second display area 402 driven in the second display mode. Further, in the third display mode, the size of the second display area 402 is gradually increased with time in the screen vertical direction, for example, starting from zero in a central area (zero area) in the screen vertical direction, so that the second display area 402 may constitute the whole screen eventually. In contrast, in the case where the second display mode is switched to the first display mode, in the third display mode, the size of the first display area 401 is gradually increased with time, starting from zero, so that the first display area 401 may constitute the whole screen eventually.).
Maruyama does not explicitly disclose W1 - W2 ≠ W2 - W3. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have W1 - W2 ≠ W2 - W3 so as to transition between a starting display mode to an ending display mode using width options which gradually transition. Further since such a configuration, absent any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), is generally achievable through routine optimization/experimentation, and since discovering the optimum or workable configuration, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, involves only routine skill in the art. Moreover, in the absence of any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), the configuration set forth above would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Consider claim 11, Maruyama as modified by ordinary skill teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and further teaches wherein W1 - W2 > W2 - W3, or W1 - W2 < W2 - W3 (see Maruyama figures 4-5 and paragraphs 0063-0067 specifically for example paragraph 0065 where in the course of the shift where the first display mode is switched to the second display mode, the third display mode is provided as illustrated in FIG. 4, in which the display screen is constituted by first display areas 401 driven in the first display mode and a second display area 402 driven in the second display mode. Further, in the third display mode, the size of the second display area 402 is gradually increased with time in the screen vertical direction, for example, starting from zero in a central area (zero area) in the screen vertical direction, so that the second display area 402 may constitute the whole screen eventually. In contrast, in the case where the second display mode is switched to the first display mode, in the third display mode, the size of the first display area 401 is gradually increased with time, starting from zero, so that the first display area 401 may constitute the whole screen eventually.).
Maruyama does not explicitly disclose W1 - W2 > W2 - W3, or W1 - W2 < W2 - W3. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have W1 - W2 > W2 - W3, or W1 - W2 < W2 - W3 so as to transition between a starting display mode to an ending display mode using width options which gradually transition. Further since such a configuration, absent any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), is generally achievable through routine optimization/experimentation, and since discovering the optimum or workable configuration, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, involves only routine skill in the art. Moreover, in the absence of any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), the configuration set forth above would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Consider claim 12, Maruyama teaches all the limitations of claim 8, wherein at least one of the following is satisfied: a duration of the first stage is longer than a duration of the second stage; or a duration of the third stage is longer than a duration of the second stage (see Maruyama figures 12-17 and paragraphs 0097-0106, specifically for example paragraphs 0105-0106 where how the second display area is increased