DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/12/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-18 and 20 remain pending in the application and claim 5, 13 and 19 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 12, 14-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizawa et al. US 20230064819, in view of Petrou US 8223024, in view of Smith et al. US 20190298166, and further in view of Kim et al. US 20160335871.
Regarding claim 1, Yoshizawa et al. teach A method of requesting detachment of a head-mounted display (HMD) device, comprising: detecting a sleep onset of a wearer wearing the HMD device; based on the sleep onset of the wearer being detected (Yoshizawa et al. US 20230064819 abstract; paragraphs [0008]; [0021]-[0029]; [0035]-[0042]; [0044]-[0051]; [0072]-[0074]; figures 1-10)
FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating the appearance and the wear of the HMD in this Example. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the HMD in this Example is a goggle type HMD, but is not an optical transmissive HMD including a window on the front surface, and is an image transmissive sound-insulating HMD that images an external world image with a camera and displays the external world image on a display unit in the HMD. (A) is a top view of a state in which the HMD 100 is mounted on a head portion of a user U1, (B) is a front view, and (C) is a side view (Yoshizawa et al. par. 27). As described above, in this Example, the internal camera checks the binocular state of a wearer (the user), and in a case where both eyes are closed for no longer than a predetermined period of time, it is determined that the wearer (the user) is awake, and in a case where both eyes are closed for a predetermined period of time or longer, it is determined that the wearer (the user) is asleep. Then, in a case where the wearer sleeps from awakening, the app image is switched to the sleep screen (the non-image screen), and then, in a case where the wearer wakes from sleep, the sleep screen is switched to a video through image (an external camera image). Accordingly, even in a case where the wearer falls asleep, and then, is awake while wearing the HMD, the wearer (the user) is capable of checking the own surrounding (real space) condition (Yoshizawa et al. par. 39).
Yoshizawa et al. do not explicitly teach and the wearer not being set as a care recipient, providing an alarm for the detachment of the HMD device; and based on the sleep onset of the wearer being detected and the wearer being set as the care recipient, sending a request to detach the HMD device to an agent device, and based on the HMD device not being detached from the wearer in response to the alarm, requesting the agent device to detach the HMD device to allow comfortable sleep of the wearer.
Petrou teaches and the wearer not being set as a care recipient, (Petrou US 8223024 abstract; col. 1 lines 27-58; col. 3 lines 17-41; col. 4 lines 5-18; col. 6 lines 19-64; col. 10 lines 22-63; col. 12 lines 7-37; col. 13 lines 4-33 figures 1-9;)
In another aspect, a computer-implemented method is provided. The method involves: (1) receiving movement data from at least one sensor of a head-mounted display (HMD), where the movement data corresponds to movement of the HMD; (2) determining that the movement data includes a data pattern characteristic of the HMD being worn by an unauthorized user, (3) in response to determining that the movement data includes the data pattern, initiating an action that corresponds to the HMD being worn by an unauthorized user, wherein the action secures the HMD (Petrou col. 1 lines 49-58). In an exemplary embodiment, a wearable computer that includes a head-mounted display (HMD) may implement a locking mechanism based on an unnatural movement and/or a movement characteristic of an unnatural position. In such an embodiment, the HMD could take the form of or include eyeglasses that may be worn by a person, and in particular, by an authorized user of the HMD. Since eyeglasses are typically designed to securely fit a user's face, the eyeglasses may closely follow the movements of the user. In some embodiments, the HMD may be configured to receive data regarding the user's movements and determine whether any movements are unnatural. To receive such data, the HMD may include or have access to movement sensors. The HMD may therefore analyze the movement data in order to determine when an unnatural movement occurs. For example, consider a scenario where a user is wearing the HMD when suddenly, the HMD is yanked off a user's head. The sensors within the HMD may therefore provide movement data that is indicative of the abrupt movement. In particular, the HMD may include accelerometers configured to detect the gravitational force associated with the acceleration of the yanking movement and determine the unnatural movement. Accordingly, the wearable computer may take actions to prevent use of the device, such as locking itself, setting off an alarm, and/or reporting a possible theft to the owner (Petrou col. 3 lines 17-41).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute an alarm of detect unauthorize wearer as taught by Petrou reference into the HMD device for detecting the user is asleep from Yoshizawa et al. reference and the result would be predictable of detecting unauthorized wearer.
The combination of Yoshizawa et al. and Petrou do not explicitly teach providing an alarm for the detachment of the HMD device; and based on the sleep onset of the wearer being detected and the wearer being set as the care recipient, sending a request to detach the HMD device to an agent device, and based on the HMD device not being detached from the wearer in response to the alarm, requesting the agent device to detach the HMD device to allow comfortable sleep of the wearer.
Smith et al. teach providing an alarm for the detachment of the HMD device; , and based on the HMD device not being detached from the wearer in response to the alarm, requesting the agent device to detach the HMD device to allow comfortable sleep of the wearer (Smith et al. US 20190298166 paragraphs [0034]-[0040]; [0050]-[0056]; [0068]-[0076]; [0080]-[0081]; figures 1-8;)
At 702, the user, such as a technician, can run the administrative engine 112 via the display unit 108. At 704, the user can begin the visual field exam by selecting an option displayed on the user interface 110 of the display unit 108. The user can enter in the patient's information, or search for, or otherwise retrieve the patient's information. The user can select using the user interface 110, the stimulus and/or the background color to be presented to the patient on the display screen 114A of the virtual reality headset 114 (Smith et al. par. 69). In some implementations, if the false positive and/or negative rate is too high, the virtual reality engine 116 and/or the administrative engine 112 can alert the user, who can administer a warning and/or restart the exam. In some implementations, at 720, the virtual reality engine 116 can transmit the results of the exam to the administrative engine 112 through means described herein. The results can be stored in the database 106. In some implementations, as described above, the virtual reality engine 116 can disable the virtual reality headset automatically after the results are transmitted to the display unit 108 and/or the results can be manually transmitted to the display unit 108 (Smith et al. par. 73). In some implementations, at 818, the virtual reality engine 116 can alert the user and/or the patient to remove the virtual reality headset 114. In some implementations, at 820, the virtual reality engine 116 can transmit the results of the exam and/or the stimulus and/or background color to the administrative engine 112 through means described herein. The results can be stored in the database 106. In some implementations, as described above, the virtual reality engine 116 can disable the virtual reality headset automatically after the results are transmitted to the display unit 108 and/or the results can be manually transmitted to the display unit 108. In some implementations, at 822, the user and/or the virtual reality engine 116 can (e.g., automatically) export the results to a report format, such as in a graph, chart, and/or the like. In some implementations, the results can be exported and/or otherwise transmitted to an electronic medical record provider (Smith et al. par. 81).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the user as the caregiver, medical staff or nurse to remove the VR 114 in response to the alert transmit to the display 108 (agent device). However, the reference do not explicitly teach about the wearer is not detach the VR 114 in response to the alarm but the reference clearly show the alert (alarm) issue to the patient (wearer) and the user (agent) to remove the VR 114. Therefore, it’s obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the patient is not response to the alarm, the user have to come and remove the VR 114. For example par. 77 and 83 of reference Pourmsiha US 20210403132 teach if the person do not response to the alarm after predetermine time and the alarm escalated to another person.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute an alarm of remove the VR (virtual reality) as taught by Smith et al. reference into the modify HMD device of Yoshizawa et al. and Petrou reference and the result would be predictable of remove the VR device.
The combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou and Smith et al. do not explicitly teach and based on the sleep onset of the wearer being detected and the wearer being set as the care recipient, sending a request to detach the HMD device to an agent device.
Kim et al. teach and based on the sleep onset of the wearer being detected and the wearer being set as the care recipient, sending a request to detach the HMD device to an agent device. (Kim et al. US 20160335871 abstract; paragraphs [0053]-[0057]; [0087]-[0088]; [0105]-[0116]; [0120]-[0130]; [0192]-[0195]; figures 1-26;)
Upon receiving the information from the wearable device 100, the electronic apparatus 1000 may obtain information related to the wearer based on the received information. For example, when the wearable device 100 includes an acceleration sensor, information transmitted from the wearable device 100 to the electronic apparatus 1000 may include information about physical movement of the wearable device 100. The electronic apparatus 1000 may determine a position (e.g., a sleep posture) of the wearer based on the information about physical movement of the wearable device 100 (Kim et al. par. 88). When it is determined that the obtained information is within the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit the obtained information to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130. Alternatively, when it is determined that the obtained information is outside the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit alarm information indicating that the state of the wearer is not normal to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130 (Kim et al. par. 116).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute an alarm sending to the remote mobile device associated with a parents as taught by Kim et al. reference into the modify HMD device of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou and Smith et al. reference and the result would be predictable of the parents would take a look on a kid when detect the abnormal sleep posture.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. disclose The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting the sleep onset of the wearer to predict a sleep onset posture of the wearer; based on the sleep onset posture not being in a normal posture for the sleep onset,
Upon receiving the information from the wearable device 100, the electronic apparatus 1000 may obtain information related to the wearer based on the received information. For example, when the wearable device 100 includes an acceleration sensor, information transmitted from the wearable device 100 to the electronic apparatus 1000 may include information about physical movement of the wearable device 100. The electronic apparatus 1000 may determine a position (e.g., a sleep posture) of the wearer based on the information about physical movement of the wearable device 100 (Kim et al. par. 88). When it is determined that the obtained information is within the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit the obtained information to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130. Alternatively, when it is determined that the obtained information is outside the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit alarm information indicating that the state of the wearer is not normal to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130 (Kim et al. par. 116).
providing the alarm for the detachment of the HMD device;
In some implementations, at 818, the virtual reality engine 116 can alert the user and/or the patient to remove the virtual reality headset 114. In some implementations, at 820, the virtual reality engine 116 can transmit the results of the exam and/or the stimulus and/or background color to the administrative engine 112 through means described herein. The results can be stored in the database 106. In some implementations, as described above, the virtual reality engine 116 can disable the virtual reality headset automatically after the results are transmitted to the display unit 108 and/or the results can be manually transmitted to the display unit 108. In some implementations, at 822, the user and/or the virtual reality engine 116 can (e.g., automatically) export the results to a report format, such as in a graph, chart, and/or the like. In some implementations, the results can be exported and/or otherwise transmitted to an electronic medical record provider (Smith et al. par. 81).
and based on the sleep onset posture being in the normal posture for the sleep onset, outputting a black screen through a display of the HMD device.
As described above, in this Example, the internal camera checks the binocular state of a wearer (the user), and in a case where both eyes are closed for no longer than a predetermined period of time, it is determined that the wearer (the user) is awake, and in a case where both eyes are closed for a predetermined period of time or longer, it is determined that the wearer (the user) is asleep. Then, in a case where the wearer sleeps from awakening, the app image is switched to the sleep screen (the non-image screen), and then, in a case where the wearer wakes from sleep, the sleep screen is switched to a video through image (an external camera image). Accordingly, even in a case where the wearer falls asleep, and then, is awake while wearing the HMD, the wearer (the user) is capable of checking the own surrounding (real space) condition (Yoshizawa et al. par. 39).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. disclose The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting the sleep onset of the wearer in a sleep time period to predict a sleep onset posture of the wearer; and based on the sleep onset posture not being in a normal posture for the sleep onset,
Upon receiving the information from the wearable device 100, the electronic apparatus 1000 may obtain information related to the wearer based on the received information. For example, when the wearable device 100 includes an acceleration sensor, information transmitted from the wearable device 100 to the electronic apparatus 1000 may include information about physical movement of the wearable device 100. The electronic apparatus 1000 may determine a position (e.g., a sleep posture) of the wearer based on the information about physical movement of the wearable device 100 (Kim et al. par. 88). When it is determined that the obtained information is within the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit the obtained information to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130. Alternatively, when it is determined that the obtained information is outside the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit alarm information indicating that the state of the wearer is not normal to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130 (Kim et al. par. 116).
providing the alarm for the detachment of the HMD device.
In some implementations, at 818, the virtual reality engine 116 can alert the user and/or the patient to remove the virtual reality headset 114. In some implementations, at 820, the virtual reality engine 116 can transmit the results of the exam and/or the stimulus and/or background color to the administrative engine 112 through means described herein. The results can be stored in the database 106. In some implementations, as described above, the virtual reality engine 116 can disable the virtual reality headset automatically after the results are transmitted to the display unit 108 and/or the results can be manually transmitted to the display unit 108. In some implementations, at 822, the user and/or the virtual reality engine 116 can (e.g., automatically) export the results to a report format, such as in a graph, chart, and/or the like. In some implementations, the results can be exported and/or otherwise transmitted to an electronic medical record provider (Smith et al. par. 81).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. disclose The method of claim 1, further comprising: providing the alarm based on the agent device approaching within a predetermined distance.
Referring to FIG. 19, the wearable device 100 may receive a short-distance wireless communication signal from a beacon 1810 broadcasting identification (ID) information via a short-distance wireless communication. The short-distance wireless communication signal may be a signal for performing communication within a short distance. For example, the short-distance wireless communication signal may be a wireless communication signal according to BLE standards, a wireless communication signal according to Wi-Fi standards, or a signal according to Zigbee standards, but is not limited thereto. The wearable device 100 may determine a relative location of the beacon 1810 based on the short-distance wireless communication signal. In other words, the wearable device 100 determines a distance between the beacon 1810 and the wearable device 100. For example, the wearable device 100 may determine the distance based on received signal strength indication (RSSI) from the beacon 1810. When the distance is less than or equal to a pre-set distance 1820 as a wearer 10 of the wearable device 100 moves, the wearable device 100 may transmit an alarm message to the electronic apparatus 1000 (Kim et al. par. 122).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. disclose The method of claim 1, wherein sending the request to detach the HMD device comprises transferring location information about the HMD device to the agent device.
Referring to FIG. 19, the wearable device 100 may receive a short-distance wireless communication signal from a beacon 1810 broadcasting identification (ID) information via a short-distance wireless communication. The short-distance wireless communication signal may be a signal for performing communication within a short distance. For example, the short-distance wireless communication signal may be a wireless communication signal according to BLE standards, a wireless communication signal according to Wi-Fi standards, or a signal according to Zigbee standards, but is not limited thereto. The wearable device 100 may determine a relative location of the beacon 1810 based on the short-distance wireless communication signal. In other words, the wearable device 100 determines a distance between the beacon 1810 and the wearable device 100. For example, the wearable device 100 may determine the distance based on received signal strength indication (RSSI) from the beacon 1810. When the distance is less than or equal to a pre-set distance 1820 as a wearer 10 of the wearable device 100 moves, the wearable device 100 may transmit an alarm message to the electronic apparatus 1000 (Kim et al. par. 122).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. disclose The method of claim 1, wherein sending the request to detach the HMD device comprises transferring, to the agent device, authentication information to be used to obtain information about a schedule or a preset alarm of the wearer from a device managing the schedule or the preset alarm.
Also, according to an embodiment, the electronic apparatus 1000 may determine whether a state of the wearer wearing the wearable device 100 is normal based on information received from the wearable device 100. For example, the electronic apparatus 1000 may determine whether the pulse, the respiration rate per hour, and the oxygen saturation received from the wearable device 100 are within a pre-set range or within a range set by a user of the electronic apparatus 1000. In other words, the electronic apparatus 1000 may determine whether information obtained by using the wearable device 100 is within a normal range (Kim et al. par. 105). According to another embodiment, the electronic apparatus 1000 may determine whether the wearable device 100 is suitably worn on the body of the wearer based on the information received from the wearable device 100. For example, when sensor information received from the wearable device 100 is outside a pre-set range (e.g., lower than or equal to a first threshold value and equal to or higher than a second threshold value), the electronic apparatus 1000 may determine that the sensor information has an error or the wearable device 100 is unsuitably worn on the body of the wearer. In this case, the electronic apparatus 1000 may display alarm information guiding the wearer to adjust a wearing state of the wearable device 100 or to adjust a position of a sensor (Kim et al. par. 107).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshizawa et al. teach A head-mounted display (HMD) device, comprising: at least one sensor; a display; a communication interface configured communicate with another device; at least one processor comprising processing circuitry and operably connected to the at least one sensor, the display, or the communication interface; and memory comprising one or more storage media storing instructions individually or collectively executable by the at least one processor, wherein as the instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the HMD device is operated to: based on a sensing signal of the at least one sensor, detect a sleep onset of a wearer wearing the HMD device; (Yoshizawa et al. US 20230064819 abstract; paragraphs [0008]; [0021]-[0029]; [0035]-[0042]; [0044]-[0051]; [0072]-[0074]; figures 1-10)
FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a hardware configuration of a HMD 100 in this Example. In FIG. 1, 101 is a main control unit (a CPU/MCU or the like), 102 is a bus that is a transmission/reception route for a command or data, 103 is a RAM to be a work area when executing a basic operation program or other operation programs, and 110 is a storage unit that is a non-volatile storage medium such as a Flash ROM/EEPROM/SSD/HDD (Yoshizawa et al. par. 21). FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating the appearance and the wear of the HMD in this Example. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the HMD in this Example is a goggle type HMD, but is not an optical transmissive HMD including a window on the front surface, and is an image transmissive sound-insulating HMD that images an external world image with a camera and displays the external world image on a display unit in the HMD. (A) is a top view of a state in which the HMD 100 is mounted on a head portion of a user U1, (B) is a front view, and (C) is a side view (Yoshizawa et al. par. 27). As described above, in this Example, the internal camera checks the binocular state of a wearer (the user), and in a case where both eyes are closed for no longer than a predetermined period of time, it is determined that the wearer (the user) is awake, and in a case where both eyes are closed for a predetermined period of time or longer, it is determined that the wearer (the user) is asleep. Then, in a case where the wearer sleeps from awakening, the app image is switched to the sleep screen (the non-image screen), and then, in a case where the wearer wakes from sleep, the sleep screen is switched to a video through image (an external camera image). Accordingly, even in a case where the wearer falls asleep, and then, is awake while wearing the HMD, the wearer (the user) is capable of checking the own surrounding (real space) condition (Yoshizawa et al. par. 39).
According to the cite passages and figures, examiner interprets the internal camera as the sensor.
Yoshizawa et al. do not explicitly teach based on the wearer not being set as a care recipient, provide an alarm for detachment of the HMD device; and based on the wearer being set as the care recipient, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to an agent device, wherein as the instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the HMD device is operated to: based on the HMD device not being detached from the wearer in response to the alarm, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to the agent device to allow comfortable sleep of the wearer.
Petrou teaches based on the wearer not being set as a care recipient, (Petrou US 8223024 abstract; col. 1 lines 27-58; col. 3 lines 17-41; col. 4 lines 5-18; col. 6 lines 19-64; col. 10 lines 22-63; col. 12 lines 7-37; col. 13 lines 4-33 figures 1-9;)
In another aspect, a computer-implemented method is provided. The method involves: (1) receiving movement data from at least one sensor of a head-mounted display (HMD), where the movement data corresponds to movement of the HMD; (2) determining that the movement data includes a data pattern characteristic of the HMD being worn by an unauthorized user, (3) in response to determining that the movement data includes the data pattern, initiating an action that corresponds to the HMD being worn by an unauthorized user, wherein the action secures the HMD (Petrou col. 1 lines 49-58). In an exemplary embodiment, a wearable computer that includes a head-mounted display (HMD) may implement a locking mechanism based on an unnatural movement and/or a movement characteristic of an unnatural position. In such an embodiment, the HMD could take the form of or include eyeglasses that may be worn by a person, and in particular, by an authorized user of the HMD. Since eyeglasses are typically designed to securely fit a user's face, the eyeglasses may closely follow the movements of the user. In some embodiments, the HMD may be configured to receive data regarding the user's movements and determine whether any movements are unnatural. To receive such data, the HMD may include or have access to movement sensors. The HMD may therefore analyze the movement data in order to determine when an unnatural movement occurs. For example, consider a scenario where a user is wearing the HMD when suddenly, the HMD is yanked off a user's head. The sensors within the HMD may therefore provide movement data that is indicative of the abrupt movement. In particular, the HMD may include accelerometers configured to detect the gravitational force associated with the acceleration of the yanking movement and determine the unnatural movement. Accordingly, the wearable computer may take actions to prevent use of the device, such as locking itself, setting off an alarm, and/or reporting a possible theft to the owner (Petrou col. 3 lines 17-41).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute an alarm of detect unauthorize wearer as taught by Petrou reference into the HMD device for detecting the user is asleep from Yoshizawa et al. reference and the result would be predictable of detecting unauthorized wearer.
The combination of Yoshizawa et al. and Petrou do not explicitly teach provide an alarm for detachment of the HMD device; and based on the wearer being set as the care recipient, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to an agent device, wherein as the instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the HMD device is operated to: based on the HMD device not being detached from the wearer in response to the alarm, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to the agent device to allow comfortable sleep of the wearer.
Smith et al. teach provide an alarm for detachment of the HMD device; wherein as the instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the HMD device is operated to: based on the HMD device not being detached from the wearer in response to the alarm, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to the agent device to allow comfortable sleep of the wearer. (Smith et al. US 20190298166 paragraphs [0034]-[0040]; [0050]-[0056]; [0068]-[0076]; [0080]-[0081]; figures 1-8;)
At 702, the user, such as a technician, can run the administrative engine 112 via the display unit 108. At 704, the user can begin the visual field exam by selecting an option displayed on the user interface 110 of the display unit 108. The user can enter in the patient's information, or search for, or otherwise retrieve the patient's information. The user can select using the user interface 110, the stimulus and/or the background color to be presented to the patient on the display screen 114A of the virtual reality headset 114 (Smith et al. par. 69). In some implementations, if the false positive and/or negative rate is too high, the virtual reality engine 116 and/or the administrative engine 112 can alert the user, who can administer a warning and/or restart the exam. In some implementations, at 720, the virtual reality engine 116 can transmit the results of the exam to the administrative engine 112 through means described herein. The results can be stored in the database 106. In some implementations, as described above, the virtual reality engine 116 can disable the virtual reality headset automatically after the results are transmitted to the display unit 108 and/or the results can be manually transmitted to the display unit 108 (Smith et al. par. 73). In some implementations, at 818, the virtual reality engine 116 can alert the user and/or the patient to remove the virtual reality headset 114. In some implementations, at 820, the virtual reality engine 116 can transmit the results of the exam and/or the stimulus and/or background color to the administrative engine 112 through means described herein. The results can be stored in the database 106. In some implementations, as described above, the virtual reality engine 116 can disable the virtual reality headset automatically after the results are transmitted to the display unit 108 and/or the results can be manually transmitted to the display unit 108. In some implementations, at 822, the user and/or the virtual reality engine 116 can (e.g., automatically) export the results to a report format, such as in a graph, chart, and/or the like. In some implementations, the results can be exported and/or otherwise transmitted to an electronic medical record provider (Smith et al. par. 81).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the user as the caregiver, medical staff or nurse to remove the VR 114 in response to the alert transmit to the display 108 (agent device). However, the reference do not explicitly teach about the wearer is not detach the VR 114 in response to the alarm but the reference clearly show the alert (alarm) issue to the patient (wearer) and the user (agent) to remove the VR 114. Therefore, it’s obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the patient is not response to the alarm, the user have to come and remove the VR 114. For example par. 77 and 83 of reference Pourmsiha US 20210403132 teach if the person do not response to the alarm after predetermine time and the alarm escalated to another person.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute an alarm of remove the VR (virtual reality) as taught by Smith et al. reference into the modify HMD device of Yoshizawa et al. and Petrou reference and the result would be predictable of remove the VR device.
The combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou and Smith et al. do not explicitly teach and based on the wearer being set as the care recipient, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to an agent device.
Kim et al. teach and based on the wearer being set as the care recipient, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to an agent device. (Kim et al. US 20160335871 abstract; paragraphs [0053]-[0057]; [0087]-[0088]; [0105]-[0116]; [0120]-[0130]; [0192]-[0195]; figures 1-26;)
Upon receiving the information from the wearable device 100, the electronic apparatus 1000 may obtain information related to the wearer based on the received information. For example, when the wearable device 100 includes an acceleration sensor, information transmitted from the wearable device 100 to the electronic apparatus 1000 may include information about physical movement of the wearable device 100. The electronic apparatus 1000 may determine a position (e.g., a sleep posture) of the wearer based on the information about physical movement of the wearable device 100 (Kim et al. par. 88). When it is determined that the obtained information is within the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit the obtained information to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130. Alternatively, when it is determined that the obtained information is outside the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit alarm information indicating that the state of the wearer is not normal to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130 (Kim et al. par. 116).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute an alarm sending to the remote mobile device associated with a parents as taught by Kim et al. reference into the modify HMD device of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou and Smith et al. reference and the result would be predictable of the parents would take a look on a kid when detect the abnormal sleep posture.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. disclose The HMD device of claim 9, wherein as the instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the HMD device is operated to: based on the sensing signal of the at least one sensor, detect the sleep onset of the wearer to predict a sleep onset posture of the wearer; based on the sleep onset posture not being in a normal posture for the sleep onset,
Upon receiving the information from the wearable device 100, the electronic apparatus 1000 may obtain information related to the wearer based on the received information. For example, when the wearable device 100 includes an acceleration sensor, information transmitted from the wearable device 100 to the electronic apparatus 1000 may include information about physical movement of the wearable device 100. The electronic apparatus 1000 may determine a position (e.g., a sleep posture) of the wearer based on the information about physical movement of the wearable device 100 (Kim et al. par. 88). When it is determined that the obtained information is within the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit the obtained information to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130. Alternatively, when it is determined that the obtained information is outside the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit alarm information indicating that the state of the wearer is not normal to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130 (Kim et al. par. 116).
provide the alarm for the detachment of the HMD device;
In some implementations, at 818, the virtual reality engine 116 can alert the user and/or the patient to remove the virtual reality headset 114. In some implementations, at 820, the virtual reality engine 116 can transmit the results of the exam and/or the stimulus and/or background color to the administrative engine 112 through means described herein. The results can be stored in the database 106. In some implementations, as described above, the virtual reality engine 116 can disable the virtual reality headset automatically after the results are transmitted to the display unit 108 and/or the results can be manually transmitted to the display unit 108. In some implementations, at 822, the user and/or the virtual reality engine 116 can (e.g., automatically) export the results to a report format, such as in a graph, chart, and/or the like. In some implementations, the results can be exported and/or otherwise transmitted to an electronic medical record provider (Smith et al. par. 81).
and based on the sleep onset posture being in the normal posture for the sleep onset, output a black screen through the display.
As described above, in this Example, the internal camera checks the binocular state of a wearer (the user), and in a case where both eyes are closed for no longer than a predetermined period of time, it is determined that the wearer (the user) is awake, and in a case where both eyes are closed for a predetermined period of time or longer, it is determined that the wearer (the user) is asleep. Then, in a case where the wearer sleeps from awakening, the app image is switched to the sleep screen (the non-image screen), and then, in a case where the wearer wakes from sleep, the sleep screen is switched to a video through image (an external camera image). Accordingly, even in a case where the wearer falls asleep, and then, is awake while wearing the HMD, the wearer (the user) is capable of checking the own surrounding (real space) condition (Yoshizawa et al. par. 39).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. disclose The HMD device of claim 9, wherein as the instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the HMD device is operated to: based on detecting the sleep onset of the wearer in a sleep time range, predict a sleep onset posture of the wearer based on the sensing signal of the at least one sensor; based on the sleep onset posture not being in a normal posture for the sleep onset,
Upon receiving the information from the wearable device 100, the electronic apparatus 1000 may obtain information related to the wearer based on the received information. For example, when the wearable device 100 includes an acceleration sensor, information transmitted from the wearable device 100 to the electronic apparatus 1000 may include information about physical movement of the wearable device 100. The electronic apparatus 1000 may determine a position (e.g., a sleep posture) of the wearer based on the information about physical movement of the wearable device 100 (Kim et al. par. 88). When it is determined that the obtained information is within the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit the obtained information to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130. Alternatively, when it is determined that the obtained information is outside the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit alarm information indicating that the state of the wearer is not normal to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130 (Kim et al. par. 116).
provide the alarm for the detachment of the HMD device.
In some implementations, at 818, the virtual reality engine 116 can alert the user and/or the patient to remove the virtual reality headset 114. In some implementations, at 820, the virtual reality engine 116 can transmit the results of the exam and/or the stimulus and/or background color to the administrative engine 112 through means described herein. The results can be stored in the database 106. In some implementations, as described above, the virtual reality engine 116 can disable the virtual reality headset automatically after the results are transmitted to the display unit 108 and/or the results can be manually transmitted to the display unit 108. In some implementations, at 822, the user and/or the virtual reality engine 116 can (e.g., automatically) export the results to a report format, such as in a graph, chart, and/or the like. In some implementations, the results can be exported and/or otherwise transmitted to an electronic medical record provider (Smith et al. par. 81).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. disclose The HMD device of claim 9, wherein as the instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the HMD device is operated to: based on the sensing signal of the at least one sensor, provide the alarm by recognizing that the agent device approaches within a predetermined distance.
Referring to FIG. 19, the wearable device 100 may receive a short-distance wireless communication signal from a beacon 1810 broadcasting identification (ID) information via a short-distance wireless communication. The short-distance wireless communication signal may be a signal for performing communication within a short distance. For example, the short-distance wireless communication signal may be a wireless communication signal according to BLE standards, a wireless communication signal according to Wi-Fi standards, or a signal according to Zigbee standards, but is not limited thereto. The wearable device 100 may determine a relative location of the beacon 1810 based on the short-distance wireless communication signal. In other words, the wearable device 100 determines a distance between the beacon 1810 and the wearable device 100. For example, the wearable device 100 may determine the distance based on received signal strength indication (RSSI) from the beacon 1810. When the distance is less than or equal to a pre-set distance 1820 as a wearer 10 of the wearable device 100 moves, the wearable device 100 may transmit an alarm message to the electronic apparatus 1000 (Kim et al. par. 122).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. disclose The HMD device of claim 9, wherein as the instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the HMD device is operated to: transfer location information about the HMD device to the agent device through the communication interface or transfer authentication information to be used to obtain information about a schedule or a preset alarm of the wearer, from a device managing the schedule or the preset alarm, to the agent device through the communication interface.
Also, according to an embodiment, the electronic apparatus 1000 may determine whether a state of the wearer wearing the wearable device 100 is normal based on information received from the wearable device 100. For example, the electronic apparatus 1000 may determine whether the pulse, the respiration rate per hour, and the oxygen saturation received from the wearable device 100 are within a pre-set range or within a range set by a user of the electronic apparatus 1000. In other words, the electronic apparatus 1000 may determine whether information obtained by using the wearable device 100 is within a normal range (Kim et al. par. 105). According to another embodiment, the electronic apparatus 1000 may determine whether the wearable device 100 is suitably worn on the body of the wearer based on the information received from the wearable device 100. For example, when sensor information received from the wearable device 100 is outside a pre-set range (e.g., lower than or equal to a first threshold value and equal to or higher than a second threshold value), the electronic apparatus 1000 may determine that the sensor information has an error or the wearable device 100 is unsuitably worn on the body of the wearer. In this case, the electronic apparatus 1000 may display alarm information guiding the wearer to adjust a wearing state of the wearable device 100 or to adjust a position of a sensor (Kim et al. par. 107).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshizawa et al. teach A head-mounted display (HMD) device, comprising: a display; a communication interface; memory storing instructions; at least one processor operatively connected to the memory, the display, and the communication interface, the at least one processor being configured to execute the instructions to: detect a sleep onset of a wearer wearing the HMD device; (Yoshizawa et al. US 20230064819 abstract; paragraphs [0008]; [0021]-[0029]; [0035]-[0042]; [0044]-[0051]; [0072]-[0074]; figures 1-10)
FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a hardware configuration of a HMD 100 in this Example. In FIG. 1, 101 is a main control unit (a CPU/MCU or the like), 102 is a bus that is a transmission/reception route for a command or data, 103 is a RAM to be a work area when executing a basic operation program or other operation programs, and 110 is a storage unit that is a non-volatile storage medium such as a Flash ROM/EEPROM/SSD/HDD (Yoshizawa et al. par. 21). FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating the appearance and the wear of the HMD in this Example. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the HMD in this Example is a goggle type HMD, but is not an optical transmissive HMD including a window on the front surface, and is an image transmissive sound-insulating HMD that images an external world image with a camera and displays the external world image on a display unit in the HMD. (A) is a top view of a state in which the HMD 100 is mounted on a head portion of a user U1, (B) is a front view, and (C) is a side view (Yoshizawa et al. par. 27). As described above, in this Example, the internal camera checks the binocular state of a wearer (the user), and in a case where both eyes are closed for no longer than a predetermined period of time, it is determined that the wearer (the user) is awake, and in a case where both eyes are closed for a predetermined period of time or longer, it is determined that the wearer (the user) is asleep. Then, in a case where the wearer sleeps from awakening, the app image is switched to the sleep screen (the non-image screen), and then, in a case where the wearer wakes from sleep, the sleep screen is switched to a video through image (an external camera image). Accordingly, even in a case where the wearer falls asleep, and then, is awake while wearing the HMD, the wearer (the user) is capable of checking the own surrounding (real space) condition (Yoshizawa et al. par. 39).
Yoshizawa et al. do not explicitly teach determine that the wearer is set as a care recipient or is not set as the care recipient, based on information stored in the memory; based on the wearer not being set as the care recipient and the sleep onset being detected, provide an alarm alerting the wearer to detach the HMD device; and based on the wearer being set as the care recipient and the sleep onset being detected, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to an agent device not operated by the wearer, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: based on the HMD device not being detached from the wearer based on the alarm, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to the agent device to allow comfortable sleep of the wearer.
Petrou teaches determine that the wearer is set as a care recipient or is not set as the care recipient, based on information stored in the memory; based on the wearer not being set as the care recipient and the sleep onset being detected, (Petrou US 8223024 abstract; col. 1 lines 27-58; col. 3 lines 17-41; col. 4 lines 5-18; col. 6 lines 19-64; col. 10 lines 22-63; col. 12 lines 7-37; col. 13 lines 4-33 figures 1-9;)
In another aspect, a computer-implemented method is provided. The method involves: (1) receiving movement data from at least one sensor of a head-mounted display (HMD), where the movement data corresponds to movement of the HMD; (2) determining that the movement data includes a data pattern characteristic of the HMD being worn by an unauthorized user, (3) in response to determining that the movement data includes the data pattern, initiating an action that corresponds to the HMD being worn by an unauthorized user, wherein the action secures the HMD (Petrou col. 1 lines 49-58). In an exemplary embodiment, a wearable computer that includes a head-mounted display (HMD) may implement a locking mechanism based on an unnatural movement and/or a movement characteristic of an unnatural position. In such an embodiment, the HMD could take the form of or include eyeglasses that may be worn by a person, and in particular, by an authorized user of the HMD. Since eyeglasses are typically designed to securely fit a user's face, the eyeglasses may closely follow the movements of the user. In some embodiments, the HMD may be configured to receive data regarding the user's movements and determine whether any movements are unnatural. To receive such data, the HMD may include or have access to movement sensors. The HMD may therefore analyze the movement data in order to determine when an unnatural movement occurs. For example, consider a scenario where a user is wearing the HMD when suddenly, the HMD is yanked off a user's head. The sensors within the HMD may therefore provide movement data that is indicative of the abrupt movement. In particular, the HMD may include accelerometers configured to detect the gravitational force associated with the acceleration of the yanking movement and determine the unnatural movement. Accordingly, the wearable computer may take actions to prevent use of the device, such as locking itself, setting off an alarm, and/or reporting a possible theft to the owner (Petrou col. 3 lines 17-41).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute an alarm of detect unauthorize wearer as taught by Petrou reference into the HMD device for detecting the user is asleep from Yoshizawa et al. reference and the result would be predictable of detecting unauthorized wearer.
The combination of Yoshizawa et al. and Petrou do not explicitly teach provide an alarm alerting the wearer to detach the HMD device; and based on the wearer being set as the care recipient and the sleep onset being detected, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to an agent device not operated by the wearer, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: based on the HMD device not being detached from the wearer based on the alarm, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to the agent device to allow comfortable sleep of the wearer.
Smith et al. teach provide an alarm alerting the wearer to detach the HMD device; wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: based on the HMD device not being detached from the wearer based on the alarm, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to the agent device to allow comfortable sleep of the wearer (Smith et al. US 20190298166 paragraphs [0034]-[0040]; [0050]-[0056]; [0068]-[0076]; [0080]-[0081]; figures 1-8;)
At 702, the user, such as a technician, can run the administrative engine 112 via the display unit 108. At 704, the user can begin the visual field exam by selecting an option displayed on the user interface 110 of the display unit 108. The user can enter in the patient's information, or search for, or otherwise retrieve the patient's information. The user can select using the user interface 110, the stimulus and/or the background color to be presented to the patient on the display screen 114A of the virtual reality headset 114 (Smith et al. par. 69). In some implementations, if the false positive and/or negative rate is too high, the virtual reality engine 116 and/or the administrative engine 112 can alert the user, who can administer a warning and/or restart the exam. In some implementations, at 720, the virtual reality engine 116 can transmit the results of the exam to the administrative engine 112 through means described herein. The results can be stored in the database 106. In some implementations, as described above, the virtual reality engine 116 can disable the virtual reality headset automatically after the results are transmitted to the display unit 108 and/or the results can be manually transmitted to the display unit 108 (Smith et al. par. 73). In some implementations, at 818, the virtual reality engine 116 can alert the user and/or the patient to remove the virtual reality headset 114. In some implementations, at 820, the virtual reality engine 116 can transmit the results of the exam and/or the stimulus and/or background color to the administrative engine 112 through means described herein. The results can be stored in the database 106. In some implementations, as described above, the virtual reality engine 116 can disable the virtual reality headset automatically after the results are transmitted to the display unit 108 and/or the results can be manually transmitted to the display unit 108. In some implementations, at 822, the user and/or the virtual reality engine 116 can (e.g., automatically) export the results to a report format, such as in a graph, chart, and/or the like. In some implementations, the results can be exported and/or otherwise transmitted to an electronic medical record provider (Smith et al. par. 81).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the user as the caregiver, medical staff or nurse to remove the VR 114 in response to the alert transmit to the display 108 (agent device). However, the reference do not explicitly teach about the wearer is not detach the VR 114 in response to the alarm but the reference clearly show the alert (alarm) issue to the patient (wearer) and the user (agent) to remove the VR 114. Therefore, it’s obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the patient is not response to the alarm, the user have to come and remove the VR 114. For example par. 77 and 83 of reference Pourmsiha US 20210403132 teach if the person do not response to the alarm after predetermine time and the alarm escalated to another person.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute an alarm of remove the VR (virtual reality) as taught by Smith et al. reference into the modify HMD device of Yoshizawa et al. and Petrou reference and the result would be predictable of remove the VR device.
The combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou and Smith et al. do not explicitly teach and based on the wearer being set as the care recipient and the sleep onset being detected, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to an agent device not operated by the wearer.
Kim et al. teach and based on the wearer being set as the care recipient and the sleep onset being detected, control the communication interface to send a request to detach the HMD device to an agent device not operated by the wearer. (Kim et al. US 20160335871 abstract; paragraphs [0053]-[0057]; [0087]-[0088]; [0105]-[0116]; [0120]-[0130]; [0192]-[0195]; figures 1-26;)
Upon receiving the information from the wearable device 100, the electronic apparatus 1000 may obtain information related to the wearer based on the received information. For example, when the wearable device 100 includes an acceleration sensor, information transmitted from the wearable device 100 to the electronic apparatus 1000 may include information about physical movement of the wearable device 100. The electronic apparatus 1000 may determine a position (e.g., a sleep posture) of the wearer based on the information about physical movement of the wearable device 100 (Kim et al. par. 88). When it is determined that the obtained information is within the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit the obtained information to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130. Alternatively, when it is determined that the obtained information is outside the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit alarm information indicating that the state of the wearer is not normal to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130 (Kim et al. par. 116).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute an alarm sending to the remote mobile device associated with a parents as taught by Kim et al. reference into the modify HMD device of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou and Smith et al. reference and the result would be predictable of the parents would take a look on a kid when detect the abnormal sleep posture.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. disclose The HMD device of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: determine whether a posture of the wearer is a normal sleep onset posture; based on the posture not being the normal sleep onset posture,
Upon receiving the information from the wearable device 100, the electronic apparatus 1000 may obtain information related to the wearer based on the received information. For example, when the wearable device 100 includes an acceleration sensor, information transmitted from the wearable device 100 to the electronic apparatus 1000 may include information about physical movement of the wearable device 100. The electronic apparatus 1000 may determine a position (e.g., a sleep posture) of the wearer based on the information about physical movement of the wearable device 100 (Kim et al. par. 88). When it is determined that the obtained information is within the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit the obtained information to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130. Alternatively, when it is determined that the obtained information is outside the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit alarm information indicating that the state of the wearer is not normal to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130 (Kim et al. par. 116).
provide the alarm for the detachment of the HMD device;
In some implementations, at 818, the virtual reality engine 116 can alert the user and/or the patient to remove the virtual reality headset 114. In some implementations, at 820, the virtual reality engine 116 can transmit the results of the exam and/or the stimulus and/or background color to the administrative engine 112 through means described herein. The results can be stored in the database 106. In some implementations, as described above, the virtual reality engine 116 can disable the virtual reality headset automatically after the results are transmitted to the display unit 108 and/or the results can be manually transmitted to the display unit 108. In some implementations, at 822, the user and/or the virtual reality engine 116 can (e.g., automatically) export the results to a report format, such as in a graph, chart, and/or the like. In some implementations, the results can be exported and/or otherwise transmitted to an electronic medical record provider (Smith et al. par. 81).
and based on the posture being the normal sleep onset posture, output a black screen through the display.
As described above, in this Example, the internal camera checks the binocular state of a wearer (the user), and in a case where both eyes are closed for no longer than a predetermined period of time, it is determined that the wearer (the user) is awake, and in a case where both eyes are closed for a predetermined period of time or longer, it is determined that the wearer (the user) is asleep. Then, in a case where the wearer sleeps from awakening, the app image is switched to the sleep screen (the non-image screen), and then, in a case where the wearer wakes from sleep, the sleep screen is switched to a video through image (an external camera image). Accordingly, even in a case where the wearer falls asleep, and then, is awake while wearing the HMD, the wearer (the user) is capable of checking the own surrounding (real space) condition (Yoshizawa et al. par. 39).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. disclose The HMD device of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: transfer location information about the HMD device to the agent device through the communication interface.
Referring to FIG. 19, the wearable device 100 may receive a short-distance wireless communication signal from a beacon 1810 broadcasting identification (ID) information via a short-distance wireless communication. The short-distance wireless communication signal may be a signal for performing communication within a short distance. For example, the short-distance wireless communication signal may be a wireless communication signal according to BLE standards, a wireless communication signal according to Wi-Fi standards, or a signal according to Zigbee standards, but is not limited thereto. The wearable device 100 may determine a relative location of the beacon 1810 based on the short-distance wireless communication signal. In other words, the wearable device 100 determines a distance between the beacon 1810 and the wearable device 100. For example, the wearable device 100 may determine the distance based on received signal strength indication (RSSI) from the beacon 1810. When the distance is less than or equal to a pre-set distance 1820 as a wearer 10 of the wearable device 100 moves, the wearable device 100 may transmit an alarm message to the electronic apparatus 1000 (Kim et al. par. 122).
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizawa et al. US 20230064819, in view of Petrou US 8223024, in view of Smith et al. US 20190298166, in view of Kim et al. US 20160335871 and further in view of De Zambotti et al. US 20140316192.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. teach The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting the sleep onset of the wearer to predict a sleep onset posture of the wearer; and based on the sleep onset posture being in a normal posture for the sleep onset,
Upon receiving the information from the wearable device 100, the electronic apparatus 1000 may obtain information related to the wearer based on the received information. For example, when the wearable device 100 includes an acceleration sensor, information transmitted from the wearable device 100 to the electronic apparatus 1000 may include information about physical movement of the wearable device 100. The electronic apparatus 1000 may determine a position (e.g., a sleep posture) of the wearer based on the information about physical movement of the wearable device 100 (Kim et al. par. 88). When it is determined that the obtained information is within the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit the obtained information to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130. Alternatively, when it is determined that the obtained information is outside the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit alarm information indicating that the state of the wearer is not normal to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130 (Kim et al. par. 116).
The combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. do not explicitly teach controlling an external device to restrict or switch a function of the external device.
De Zambotti et al. teach controlling an external device to restrict or switch a function of the external device. (De Zambotti et al. US 20140316192 abstract; paragraphs [0013]-[0015]; [0024]; [0028]-[0029]; [0055]-[0056];; figures 1-9;)
In yet another embodiment, the physiological feedback data may be used to detect a state of full sleep, or a state sufficiently close to full sleep, and turn off the sleep assistant 218 after certain physiological conditions have been met. As an example, the system 100 can detect, based on the physiological signals, whether a person has fallen asleep or wishes to discontinue using the system 100 as follows. When the person begins using the system 100, they begin by consciously slowing their breathing rate, and the system 100 detects a low breathing rate. However, when people fall asleep, they lose the voluntary control of their own breathing. Therefore, once the person falls asleep, their breathing rate returns to "normal," and the system 100 detects an increase in the breathing rate relative to the previously-slowed breathing rate (e.g., the breathing rate voluntarily slowed by the user performing a relaxation technique while conscious). The system 100 can thus turn off the sleep assistant application 218 when the system 100 detects a normal breathing rate for a certain period of time (e.g. when the person falls asleep) after having previously detected a low breathing rate for a certain period of time. A return to a normal breathing rate could also mean that the user has discontinued the voluntary slow breathing the person does not want use the device anymore. In this case as well, the system 100 can turn off the sleep assistant application 218 in response to the return to a normal breathing rate. In this way, the sleep assistant 218 is configured to guide individuals toward sleep, starting from a conscious level (which typically occurs at the beginning of the night, when the person is still awake), through intermediate stages in which users use the VR biofeedback system, up to the point at which when they fall sleep (unconsciousness). During the intermediate stages, the system 100 automatically adjusts the immersive virtual environment (by increasing the sense of presence or degree of immersiveness) so that the user progressively feels that the (unreal) virtual environment is actually their real (physical) environment. As the user's sense of presence in the virtual environment increases, the user's mind is distracted from aspects of their real environment that normally disrupt sleep (such as physical features of the room, emotional connections with the physical environment, and thoughts of worry and rumination) (De Zambotti et al. par. 56).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a function of turning off the sleep assistance application as taught by De Zambotti et al. reference into the modify HMD device of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. reference and the result would be predictable of turning off the device when it is not needed.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al., Kim et al. and De Zambotti et al. disclose The HMD device of claim 9, wherein as the instructions are executed by the at least one processor, the HMD device is operated to: based on the sensing signal of the at least one sensor, detect the sleep onset of the wearer to predict a sleep onset posture of the wearer; and based on the sleep onset posture being in a normal posture for the sleep onset,
Upon receiving the information from the wearable device 100, the electronic apparatus 1000 may obtain information related to the wearer based on the received information. For example, when the wearable device 100 includes an acceleration sensor, information transmitted from the wearable device 100 to the electronic apparatus 1000 may include information about physical movement of the wearable device 100. The electronic apparatus 1000 may determine a position (e.g., a sleep posture) of the wearer based on the information about physical movement of the wearable device 100 (Kim et al. par. 88). When it is determined that the obtained information is within the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit the obtained information to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130. Alternatively, when it is determined that the obtained information is outside the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit alarm information indicating that the state of the wearer is not normal to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130 (Kim et al. par. 116).
control, through the communication interface, an external device to restrict or switch a function of the external device.
In yet another embodiment, the physiological feedback data may be used to detect a state of full sleep, or a state sufficiently close to full sleep, and turn off the sleep assistant 218 after certain physiological conditions have been met. As an example, the system 100 can detect, based on the physiological signals, whether a person has fallen asleep or wishes to discontinue using the system 100 as follows. When the person begins using the system 100, they begin by consciously slowing their breathing rate, and the system 100 detects a low breathing rate. However, when people fall asleep, they lose the voluntary control of their own breathing. Therefore, once the person falls asleep, their breathing rate returns to "normal," and the system 100 detects an increase in the breathing rate relative to the previously-slowed breathing rate (e.g., the breathing rate voluntarily slowed by the user performing a relaxation technique while conscious). The system 100 can thus turn off the sleep assistant application 218 when the system 100 detects a normal breathing rate for a certain period of time (e.g. when the person falls asleep) after having previously detected a low breathing rate for a certain period of time. A return to a normal breathing rate could also mean that the user has discontinued the voluntary slow breathing the person does not want use the device anymore. In this case as well, the system 100 can turn off the sleep assistant application 218 in response to the return to a normal breathing rate. In this way, the sleep assistant 218 is configured to guide individuals toward sleep, starting from a conscious level (which typically occurs at the beginning of the night, when the person is still awake), through intermediate stages in which users use the VR biofeedback system, up to the point at which when they fall sleep (unconsciousness). During the intermediate stages, the system 100 automatically adjusts the immersive virtual environment (by increasing the sense of presence or degree of immersiveness) so that the user progressively feels that the (unreal) virtual environment is actually their real (physical) environment. As the user's sense of presence in the virtual environment increases, the user's mind is distracted from aspects of their real environment that normally disrupt sleep (such as physical features of the room, emotional connections with the physical environment, and thoughts of worry and rumination) (De Zambotti et al. par. 56).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizawa et al. US 20230064819, in view of Petrou US 8223024, in view of Smith et al. US 20190298166, in view of Kim et al. US 20160335871 and further in view of Yoon et al. US 20180136363.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. teach The HMD device of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: determine whether a posture of the wearer is a normal sleep onset posture; and based on the posture being the normal sleep onset posture,
Upon receiving the information from the wearable device 100, the electronic apparatus 1000 may obtain information related to the wearer based on the received information. For example, when the wearable device 100 includes an acceleration sensor, information transmitted from the wearable device 100 to the electronic apparatus 1000 may include information about physical movement of the wearable device 100. The electronic apparatus 1000 may determine a position (e.g., a sleep posture) of the wearer based on the information about physical movement of the wearable device 100 (Kim et al. par. 88). When it is determined that the obtained information is within the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit the obtained information to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130. Alternatively, when it is determined that the obtained information is outside the normal range, the wearable device 100 may transmit alarm information indicating that the state of the wearer is not normal to the electronic apparatus 1000 through the communicator 130 (Kim et al. par. 116).
The combination of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. do not explicitly teach deactivate a smart device in a vicinity of the wearer.
Yoon et al. teach deactivate a smart device in a vicinity of the wearer. (Yoon et al. US 20180136363 abstract; paragraph [0003];)
Proximity sensors generally sense the location of an object when the object approaches, and are mounted in various electronic devices such as smart phones and tablets. Proximity-related signals outputted from a proximity sensor may be used for various functions of the electronic device. For example, a smart phone may deactivate a screen when the proximity of a user is identified through a proximity sensor during a call (Yoon et al. par. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute deactivate a smart phone screen when the proximity of a user is identified as taught by Yoon et al. reference into the modify HMD device of Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. reference and the result would be predictable of turn off smart phone screen.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remark applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argument: Applicant argues that Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. failed to teach or suggest the amendment as cited in the independent claims 1, 9 and 13 as “based on the HMD device not being detached from the wearer in response to the alarm, requesting the agent device to detach the HMD device to allow comfortable sleep of the wearer”.
Examiner response: Examiner respectfully submit that Yoshizawa et al., Petrou, Smith et al. and Kim et al. do teach or suggest the amendment as cited in the independent claims 1, 9 and 13 as “based on the HMD device not being detached from the wearer in response to the alarm, requesting the agent device to detach the HMD device to allow comfortable sleep of the wearer”. (Smith et al. US 20190298166 paragraphs [0034]-[0040]; [0050]-[0056]; [0068]-[0076]; [0080]-[0081]; figures 1-8;)
At 702, the user, such as a technician, can run the administrative engine 112 via the display unit 108. At 704, the user can begin the visual field exam by selecting an option displayed on the user interface 110 of the display unit 108. The user can enter in the patient's information, or search for, or otherwise retrieve the patient's information. The user can select using the user interface 110, the stimulus and/or the background color to be presented to the patient on the display screen 114A of the virtual reality headset 114 (Smith et al. par. 69). In some implementations, if the false positive and/or negative rate is too high, the virtual reality engine 116 and/or the administrative engine 112 can alert the user, who can administer a warning and/or restart the exam. In some implementations, at 720, the virtual reality engine 116 can transmit the results of the exam to the administrative engine 112 through means described herein. The results can be stored in the database 106. In some implementations, as described above, the virtual reality engine 116 can disable the virtual reality headset automatically after the results are transmitted to the display unit 108 and/or the results can be manually transmitted to the display unit 108 (Smith et al. par. 73). In some implementations, at 818, the virtual reality engine 116 can alert the user and/or the patient to remove the virtual reality headset 114. In some implementations, at 820, the virtual reality engine 116 can transmit the results of the exam and/or the stimulus and/or background color to the administrative engine 112 through means described herein. The results can be stored in the database 106. In some implementations, as described above, the virtual reality engine 116 can disable the virtual reality headset automatically after the results are transmitted to the display unit 108 and/or the results can be manually transmitted to the display unit 108. In some implementations, at 822, the user and/or the virtual reality engine 116 can (e.g., automatically) export the results to a report format, such as in a graph, chart, and/or the like. In some implementations, the results can be exported and/or otherwise transmitted to an electronic medical record provider (Smith et al. par. 81).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the user as the caregiver, medical staff or nurse to remove the VR 114 in response to the alert transmit to the display 108 (agent device). However, the reference do not explicitly teach about the wearer is not detach the VR 114 in response to the alarm but the reference clearly show the alert (alarm) issue to the patient (wearer) and the user (agent) to remove the VR 114. Therefore, it’s obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the patient is not response to the alarm, the user have to come and remove the VR 114. Since Smith et al. reference teach removing the VR 114, therefore it will be provide comfortable to the patient (wearer). Pourmsiha US 20210403132 reference support the obviously statement that the person do not response to the alarm and it’s escalated to another person. For example par. 77 and 83 of Pourmsiha US 20210403132 reference teach if the person do not response to the alarm after predetermine time and the alarm escalated to another person.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686