DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of invention I (claims 1-13), species 1c (Figure 3), and species 2e (implant is activated by moving the patient’s jaw) in the reply filed on 08/20/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 14-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/20/26.
Further, claims 7, 9-10, and 12 are withdrawn for being drawn to non-elected species within group 2.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
-[0043] states the piston 371, rod 372, and reservoir 373 can be used as the activation 370, but it is not coupled to the rod and it is unclear how this words, compresses fluid/air, and how it exerts a force
-[0043] states that the piston exerts a force along the longitudinal axis of the post 312 but figure 3 does not show the two elements connected, making this unclear
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 is objected to for claiming the articulating arm “applies a…force on the mandible bone of the patient”, but it appears as if this might be positively claiming the “mandible bone of the patient”. If this were being positively claimed, the claim would be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for positively claiming a part of the body, which is not allowed. It is also possible, that similar to claim 1 this is intended to indicate that the arm is configured to provide a force on the mandible bone of the patient, but this is not what is claimed. Clarification is required.
Claim 6 is objected to for claiming “wherein the articulating arm, in the active position, the articulating arm applies…”. It appears “the articulating arm” is listed twice within the claim when it should only be listed once.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
-the specification [0029] refers to the apparatus 100a including an activation mechanism 170, but the item 170 in the figures 1a-b simply appear to be pointing to the spacer 100a itself.
-items 156, 206b, 708a are in the figures but not the specification.
-items 200, 201, 202, 204, 270, 225, 256, 259, 375, 508, 550, 608, 708, 875, 814 are in the specification but not the figures.
-item 270a,b are described as being “activation mechanisms” but they appear to simply be pointing towards spring 216.
-specification [0038] states the activation mechanism 370 is coupled to the post 312 but figure 3 does not show the activation mechanism 370 coupled to the post 312.
-item 601 is used to both represent the patient and the skull
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is indefinite for claiming the first biasing force is in a “generally” horizontal direction but it is unclear what a “generally” horizontal direction is, compared to, for example, a horizontal direction or a non-horizontal direction. Without understanding the boundaries of the term, the Examiner cannot determine the boundaries of the claim.
The claim is further unclear for claiming the arm applies a first biasing force AND/or a zero-biasing force, when the disclosure appears to indicate EITHER the arm applies a first biasing force OR a zero-biasing force (see for example, the specification as filed, [0035], [0038], [0056], [0059].). The disclosure does not provide any discussion of there being a first AND zero biasing force in the inactive position, and the Examiner is unclear on how this would occur based on the Examiner’s understanding of the invention.
Claim 6 is indefinite for the same reasons as claim 5, with regards to the “generally” vertical direction.
The claim is further unclear for claiming the arm applies a second biasing force “greater than the first biasing force”, but claim 5, from which this depends, does not actually require there to be a “first biasing force”, making it unclear on what claim requirements must be met if there is a zero-biasing force instead of a first biasing force in the inactive position.
Remaining claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “activation mechanism” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case, the “activation mechanism” is understood to be: changing angles of the patient’s head, a user applying pressure with fingers, a magnetic/electromagnetic element, the user moving their job, or a piston/rod/pump/reservoir.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103a being unpatentable over Touleimat et al. (US 20130331944 A1) hereinafter known as Touleimat in view of Giger et al. (US 20120004692 A1) hereinafter known as Giger.
Regarding claim 1 Touleimat discloses an implant (Figures 1a-b) comprising:
an articulating arm (Figures 1a-b items 120/130/140) including a first end (Figure 1a-b item 128) configured to engage with a pivot point at a mastoid/temporal bone of a patient (Figures 1a and 10 show how the first end 128 engages at the upper part of the jaw of the patient; see also [0059] and [0061]) and a second end (Figure 1a-b item 133) configured to engage with a connector at a mandible bone of the patient (Figures 1a and 9c show how the second end 133 engages at a mandible bone of the patient; see also [0061] where the connection to the lower jaw via screws is discussed),
wherein the arm is configured to be in an active position (Figure 1b) and an inactive position (Figure 1a),
and a method of activation coupled to the articulating arm configured to extend the arm when in the active position ([0063] adjustment screws; see the extension of the arm shown in Figure 1b as compared to Figure 1a),
but is silent with regards to the activation mechanism comprising changing angles of the patient’s head, a user applying pressure with fingers, a magnetic/electromagnetic element, the user moving their jaw, or a piston/rod/pump/reservoir as is required by 35 U.S.C. 112f.
However, regarding claim 1 Giger teaches a lengthening implant (Abstract) which includes an activation mechanism comprising changing angles of the patient’s head, a user applying pressure with fingers, a magnetic/electromagnetic element, the user moving their jaw, or a piston/rod/pump/reservoir (Abstract). Touleimat and Giger are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely adjustable length implants. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the implant of Touleimat by having an activation mechanism such as is taught by Giger in order to allow the adjustment to occur without surgical means, thus resulting in an implant which is easier and safer for the patient to use as it reduces inherent risks that exist within a surgical operation.
Regarding claim 2 the Touleimat Giger Combination teaches the implant of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Touleimat further discloses the arm in the active position positions the second end in an anterior direction relative to the first (Figure 1a-b, Figure 9c shows how the second end 133 is pushed anterior to ball end 128).
Regarding claim 3 the Touleimat Giger Combination teaches the implant of claim 2 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Touleimat further discloses the [method of activation] (activation mechanism) causes the arm to extend along a longitudinal axis when in the active position (Figures 1a-ab show the arm extending along a longitudinal axis of the upper part 120 along shaft 126 and along the lower part 130 along shaft 136).
Regarding claim 4 the Touleimat Giger Combination teaches the implant of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Touleimat further discloses the inactive position enables posterior displacement of the second end relative to the first (Figure 1a-b shows how the second end 133 is displaced relatively posteriorly compared to the first end 128 as it transitions from inactive to active).
Regarding claim 5 the Touleimat Giger Combination teaches the implant of claim 4 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Touleimat further discloses the arm, in the inactive position (Figure 1a), applies a first biasing force in a horizontal direction OR a zero-biasing force on the mandible bone of the patient (this appears to depend upon the method of implantation as opposed to materially changing the structure of the implant itself).
Regarding claim 6 the Touleimat Giger Combination teaches the implant of claim 5 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Touleimat further discloses the articulating arm, in the active position (Figure 1b), applies a second biasing force greater than the first biasing force and along a vertical direction (it is considered inherent that when implanted, the excess length of the articulating arm would cause greater force in the vertical direction as compared to the shortened position).
Regarding claim 8 the Touleimat Giger Combination teaches the implant of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Touleimat further discloses the arm comprises multiple concentric tubes (Figures 1a-b items 120, 130, 140; also references Figures 2, 3c, 4a-b, 5a-d, 6b-c, 8a-d which show all the concentric tubes) that are configured to modify an overall length of the arm ([0014], [0016], [0018], [0019], [0063]),
wherein the arm comprises a collapsed length in the inactive position (Figure 1a), and an extended length in the active position (Figure 1b).
Regarding claim 11 the Touleimat Giger Combination teaches the implant of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Touleimat further discloses the connector at the mandible bone is a pivot connector (this does not appear to materially alter the claimed implant, since the “connector” of claim 1 is not positively claimed.).
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Touleimet and Giger as is applied above, further in view of Johnston (US 20160220331 A1).
Regarding claim 13 the Touleimat Giger Combination teaches the implant of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to the transition between active and inactive positions being engaged by wide opening of the mandible.
However, regarding claim 13 Johnston teaches a mandible appliance that transitions between a shorter and longer position, wherein the transition is engaged by wide opening of the mandible ([0031]). Touleimat and Johnston are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely length-changing appliances for the jaw. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the implant of the Touleimat Giger Combination so that the transition between the active and inactive positions of the implant are engaged by wide opening of the mouth as is taught by Johnston since the courts have held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success results in a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2143 (I)(E). In this case, the person of ordinary skill would find it obvious to choose from any known solution for lengthening a telescoping oral appliance and apply it with reasonable expectation to succeed in lengthening the implant of the Combination.
Conclusion
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774