Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Heffelbower (US 2013/0341817).
Regarding claim 1, Heffelbower discloses a method for producing a decorative element for a motor vehicle having a functional opening, the method comprising:
providing a decorative cut-out, the decorative cut-out including a through hole (substrate 15 with line or hole 16);
providing a functional layer (skin 13);
producing a composite including the decorative cut-out and the functional layer by fixing the decorative cut-out to the functional layer using an attachment side of the decorative cut-out (shown in Fig. 4); and
filling the through hole of the decorative cut-out with a filling material to form the functional opening (foam material 35 is injected through line 16 between substrate 15 and skin 13).
Regarding claim 2, Heffelbower shows a gap between substrate 15 and skin 13 – see Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claim 3, Heffelbower discloses injecting 35 foam material through line or hole 16 through substrate 15 to fill the gap between substrate 15 and skin 13. It is the examiner’s position that the hole 16 inherently must be cut into substrate 15.
Regarding claim 6, Heffelbower functionally glues substrate 15 and skin 13 together by injecting foam material 35 therebetween.
Regarding claim 15, Heffelbower discloses wall 26 which functions as a spacing device.
Regarding claim 17, Heffelbower discloses making an automotive trim panel (i.e. decorative element).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 7-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heffelbower (US 2013/0341817) as described above in view of Diehl et al (US Patent 11,787,161).
Diehl discloses an automotive trim panel with decorative layers (decorative layers 6 and 10) and light-transmissive layers (cover layer 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to employ light-transmissive layers, as taught by Diehl, in the method of Heffelbower in order to provide the predictable result of imparting desirable visual and protective features to the trim component. In addition, it is the examiner’s position that the specific materials (functional layers, electronic assembly as well as the through holes and holding element) are well known and conventional in the art and would have been obvious to employ in the method of Heffelbower based on the desirable physical properties of the trim panels being manufactured.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/807,516 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of applicant’s claims 1-17 are contained within or made obvious by claims 1-11 and 20 of 18/807,516.
In particular, 18/807,516 recites:
A method for producing a decorative element with a functional body for a motor vehicle, the method comprising:
providing the functional body and a decorative cut, the functional body including a visible side and a back side, the decorative cut including a visible side, an adhesive side, and an insertion opening corresponding to the functional body;
providing a filling tool including a sealing unit that corresponds to the insertion opening of the decorative cut;
inserting the decorative cut into the filling tool and inserting the functional body into the insertion opening so that an assembly formed from the decorative cut and the functional body is supported via the sealing unit;
forming a non-destructively detachable and fluidically tight fixation between the sealing unit and the assembly on the visible side of the decorative cut and the visible side of the functional body; and
filling the insertion opening of the decorative cut with a filling material.
18/807,516 also recites a decorative element for a motor vehicle, the decorative element produced via the method described above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
JAMES D. SELLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/JAMES D SELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745