DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 26, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
-Applicant argues on page 6 of the remarks that amendments made to claim 1 overcome the double patenting rejections of claims 1-7 and 11.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because the amendment to claim 1 changes “low frequency sound system” to “subwoofer”. The Applicant’s specification at paragraph 0024 discloses the low frequency sound system may be a subwoofer. US Patent No. 12,158,113 also claims the “low frequency sound system” which the Applicant’s specification admits is equivalent to a subwoofer. Therefore, the amendments made to claim 1 does not overcome the double patent rejections of claims 1-7 and 11.
-Applicant argues on page 6 of the remarks that amendments made to claims 1 and 10 and cancelled claim 9 overcome the 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1-11.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because the only amendment made to the claims were to change “low frequency sound system” to “subwoofer” which is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hector (US 2020/0191109), in view of Murphy (US 6,176,899) and Kirchoff (US 2012/0058405). Hector teaches a low frequency sounds system and Kirchoff explicitly teaches a subwoofer disclosing, “such acoustic means include, but is not limited to…speakers.” Therefore, the amendments made to claims 1 and 10 and cancelled claim 9 do not overcome the 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1-11.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
“vacuum-generation rotor” of claim 6
No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
Reference character “15B” has been used to designate both “aerator device” and “square face portion”
Reference character “15C” has been used to designate both “air injection valve” and “triangle portions”
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,133. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim a submerged hydroelectric generator system, comprising: a peg stock comprising a first end and a second end; an intake valve disposed on the first end of the peg stock; at least one generator disposed within the peg stock; an outlet valve disposed on the second end of the peg stock; wherein the outlet valve is configured to release water from the peg stock; wherein the peg stock is in a vertical configuration; wherein the outlet valve comprises a subwoofer; wherein the outlet valve comprises a plurality of aerator devices; and wherein the outlet valve comprises an air vent.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,133. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim wherein the intake valve comprises a filter.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,133. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim wherein the intake valve comprises a valve regulator.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,133. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim wherein the valve regulator comprises a time valve system.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,133. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim wherein the at least one generator comprises a spindle generator.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,133. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim wherein the outlet valve comprises a vacuum-generation rotor that flushes water out of the peg stock.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,133. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim wherein the outlet valve comprises a turbofan engine that flushes water out of the peg stock.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,133. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim wherein the generator is disposed on the first end of the peg stock.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12, “through sound displacement.” ends with a period and should be replaced with a semicolon (;).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hector (US 2020/0191109), in view of Murphy (US 6,176,899) and Kirchoff (US 2012/0058405).
Regarding claim 1, Hector discloses a submerged hydroelectric generator system, comprising:
a peg stock (99 of Figures 6, 7; 150 of Figure 12) comprising a first end and a second end;
an intake valve (98 of Figures 6-7; Para. 0092) receiving the first end of the peg stock;
at least one generator (102 of Figures 6-7; 154, 156 of Figure 12) disposed within the peg stock;
an outlet valve (100 of Figures 6-7) disposed at the second end of the peg stock;
wherein the outlet valve is configured to release water from the peg stock;
wherein the peg stock is in a vertical configuration (see Figures 6, 7, 12); and
wherein the outlet valve comprises an air vent (209 of Figures).
Hector does not disclose includes a subwoofer; and
wherein the outlet valve includes a plurality of aerator devices.
Kirchoff discloses includes a subwoofer (Para. 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to include a subwoofer in the system of Hector, as taught by Kirchoff, for cavitation purposes that can be used to generate energy or enhance the energy harvesting process.
Murphy discloses wherein the outlet valve includes a plurality of aerator devices (32 of Figures; Col. 3:15-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the outlet valve of Hector include an aerator device, as taught by Murphy, to effect removal of dissolved gas in the volume of supersaturated liquid at the top of the volume [Murphy: Col. 2:30-32].
Regarding claim 5, Hector discloses wherein the generator comprises a spindle generator (102 of Figures; 154, 156 of Figures).
Regarding claim 6, Hector discloses wherein the outlet valve comprises a vacuum-generation rotor (154, 156 of Figures) that flushes water out of the peg stock (99 of Figures 6, 7; 150 of Figure 12).
Regarding claim 8, Hector discloses wherein the outlet valve comprises an air injection valve (96 of Figures; Para. 0066, 0070).
Regarding claim 10, Hector discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the subwoofer produces sound that falls within the range of 20 Hz to 200 Hz.
Kirchoff discloses wherein the subwoofer (Para. 0076) produces sound that falls within the range of 20 Hz to 200 Hz (Para. 0055, 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the subwoofer produce sounds that falls within the range of 20 Hz to 200 Hz, as taught by Kirchoff, for cavitation purposes that can be used to generate energy or enhance the energy harvesting process.
Regarding claim 11, Hector discloses wherein the generator (102 of Figures; 154, 156 of Figures) is disposed at the first end of the peg stock (99 of Figures; 150 of Figures).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hector (US 2020/0191109), in view of Murphy (US 6,176,899) and Kirchoff (US 2012/0058405) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ullman (US 2009/0302613).
Regarding claim 2, Hector discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the intake valve (98 of Figures; Para. 0092) comprises a filter.
Ullman discloses wherein the intake valve comprises a filter (Para. 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to provide a filter for the intake valve of Hector, as taught by Ullman, to filter out indigenous aquatic material and inhibit it from being ingested into the unit [Ullman: Para. 0022].
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hector (US 2020/0191109), in view of Murphy (US 6,176,899) and Kirchoff (US 2012/0058405) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Katta (US 2017/0122148).
Regarding claims 3, 4, Hector discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the intake valve (98 of Figures; Para. 0092) comprises a valve regulator (claim 3);
wherein the valve regulator comprises a time valve system (claim 4).
Katta discloses wherein the intake valve comprises a valve regulator (Para. 0004-0006) (claim 3);
wherein the valve regulator comprises a time valve system (Para. 0004-0006) (claim 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use a time valve system with the intake valve of Hector, as taught by Katta, to control an amount of cushioning fluid for the valves to affect the rate at which the intake valve opens or closes [Katta: abstract].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hector (US 2020/0191109), in view of Murphy (US 6,176,899) and Kirchoff (US 2012/0058405) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahn (KR 20110003846 A).
Regarding claim 7, Hector discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the outlet valve comprises a turbofan engine that flushes water out of the peg stock.
Ahn discloses wherein the outlet valve comprises a turbofan engine that flushes water out of the peg stock (see disclosure under section of background art).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use a turbofan engine to flush the water out of the peg stock in Hector, as taught by Ahn, to apply the principle of turbofan engine of aircraft installed on a drain to make the speed of the water flow quicken [Ahn: abstract; background art].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-17, and 20 are allowed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 12 and claims dependent thereon, the prior art of record when considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious a submerged hydroelectric generator system as recited by independent claim 12, comprising:
a plurality of peg stocks each comprising a first end and a second end;
an intake valve disposed on the first end of each of the peg stocks;
at least one generator disposed within each of the peg stocks;
an outlet valve disposed on the second end of each of the peg stocks;
wherein the outlet valve is configured to release water from each of the peg stocks;
wherein the outlet valve has a cuboctahedron shape;
wherein the cuboctahedron shape includes a plurality of square face portions and a plurality of triangle portions;
wherein the triangle portions of the cuboctahedron-shaped outlet valve comprise a subwoofer, such that water is displaced from the outlet valve through sound displacement;
wherein the peg stocks are connected to the square face portions of the cuboctahedron-shaped outlet valve; and
wherein the peg stocks are in a vertical configuration.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charles Reid Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834