DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 11, 14-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al. (US 2021/0076204, hereinafter “Goyal”) in view of Ben Shlush et al. (US 2014/0051398, hereinafter “Ben Shluch”).
For claim 1, Goyal discloses An electronic device (FIG. 11 illustrates in block diagram format an exemplary computing device 1100; see Goyal par. 0039) comprising:
one or more antennas (a primary device includes wireless circuitry, including one or more antennas; see Goyal par. 0038);
a subscriber identity module (SIM) that identifies a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN) (an indicator for the eSIM most recently selected by the first accessory device 110 and are available to transfer to the second accessory device 150 is presented, e.g., by indicating an MSISDN or other identifier by which a user can determine the eSIM to be transferred to the second accessory device 150. At action 7, the primary device 120 obtains an indication to transfer the most recently selected eSIM to the second accessory device 150. At action 8, the primary device 120 sends to the entitlement server 210 an eSIM transfer request that includes one or more identifiers for the first accessory device 110 and one or more identifiers for the second accessory device 150; see Goyal par. 0026, 0027);
a first radio communicatively coupled to the one or more antennas, the first radio being configured to convey peer-to-peer (P2P) signals with an additional electronic device that is configured to convey first radio-frequency signals with a cellular network using the MSISDN (Transfer of credentials for cellular service access between two accessory wireless devices can occur via the primary wireless device, e.g., where the accessory wireless devices can connect securely to the primary wireless device via a local connection, such as via a wireless personal area network (WPAN) connection, via a wireless local area network (WLAN) connection, via a peer-to-peer connection, or the like; see Goyal par. 0019); and
a second radio communicatively coupled to the one or more antennas, the second radio being configured to convey, using the MSISDN, second radio-frequency signals with the cellular network while the additional electronic device is deregistered from the cellular network (At action 12, the entitlement server 210 enables cellular service for the second accessory device 150 based on the second eSIM and disables cellular service for the first accessory device 110 based on the first eSIM; see Goyal par. 0024).
Goyal does not explicitly disclose a first radio communicatively coupled to the one or more antennas, a second radio communicatively coupled to the one or more antennas. Ben Shlush discloses a first radio communicatively coupled to the one or more antennas, a second radio communicatively coupled to the one or more antennas (The difference of using a multi SIM cellular device 181 instead of a standard one is the possibility to use one of its radio communication modules which are using separate mobile communication ports, referred to herein as radio communication modules A or B, to establish a cellular connection, and not a non cellular connection, with the remote network node 103 for acquiring a visiting subscriber information A multi SIM cellular device 181 has two or more communication modules radios and two or more respective SIM card slots that may be simultaneously connected to cellular network(s) to receive and/or establish calls. In FIG. 4C, radio communication modules A and Bare marked. The multi SIM cellular device 181 may be used one of its radios to register to a certain cellular network, such as a home cellular network 501, using a SIM card, such as a home SIM card; see Ben Shlush par. 0071-0073). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Ben Shlush's arrangement in Goyal's invention to allow, inter alia, a user, who travels to an area, which is not covered by his home cellular network to receive calls and/or messages which are designated to his cellular number. The solution allows these calls and/or messages to be received without using an international leg of a cellular service provider (see Ben Shlush par. 0074).
For claim 2, Goyal discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second radio is configured to register with the cellular network using the MSISDN after the first radio conveys the P2P signals and prior to the additional electronic device being deregistered from the cellular network (An accessory wireless device, in some embodiments, can include multiple eSIMs, of which one SIM may be in an enabled state, while the remaining eSIMs may be in a disabled state. In some embodiments, a user can select which of one or more eSIMs to transfer from the first accessory wireless device to the second accessory wireless device…. such as when the first accessory wireless device and the primary wireless device share a common cellular service account or a common MNO, the primary wireless device uses cellular service credentials for a SIM or eSIM of the primary wireless device to authenticate with a network-based server, e.g., an entitlement server, of the associated MNO to transfer the cellular service credentials; see Goyal par. 0020-0021).
For claim 3, Goyal discloses The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the second radio is configured to register with a call routing server using the MSISDN after registering with the cellular network using the MSISDN and prior to the additional electronic device being deregistered from the cellular network (An accessory wireless device, in some embodiments, can include multiple eSIMs, of which one SIM may be in an enabled state, while the remaining eSIMs may be in a disabled state. In some embodiments, a user can select which of one or more eSIMs to transfer from the first accessory wireless device to the second accessory wireless device. Information regarding the transferability of the cellular services for eSIMs of a first accessory wireless device can be obtained from cellular service information and/or associated MNO information stored in the first accessory wireless device, stored in an associated third-party network based service, stored in an associated primary wireless device, or stored in associated MNO servers; see Goyal par. 0020).
For claim 7, Goyal discloses The electronic device of claim 2, further comprising: a touch screen display, wherein the second radio is configured to register with the cellular network responsive to an input received by the touch screen display (the computing device 1100 can also include a user input device 1108 that allows a user of the computing device 1100 to interact with the computing device 1100. For example, in some embodiments, the user input device 1108 can take a variety of forms, such as a button, keypad, dial, touch screen, audio input interface, visual/image capture input interface, input in the form of sensor data, etc. In some embodiments, the computing device 1100 can include a display 1110 (screen display) that can be controlled by the processor 1102 to display information to the user; see Goyal par. 0039).
For claim 11, Goyal discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device comprises a wearable device (Accessory wireless devices can refer to wireless devices that are linked to a primary wireless device as an anchor point, and both the accessory wireless devices and the primary wireless device are capable of connecting with a cellular wireless network via a wireless cellular access network based on credentials stored therein. Exemplary accessory wireless devices include cellular capable wearable devices and Internet of Things (IoT) devices, where the accessory wireless devices include an eUICC to store eSIMs and exclude removable UICC cards (SIM cards); see Goyal par. 0019), the additional electronic device comprises a cellular telephone, and the P2P signals comprise Bluetooth signals or wireless local area network (WLAN) signals (an accessory wireless device can operate independently of an associated primary wireless device and may or may not share a common mobile network operator (MNO) or a common cellular services account. To simplify initial configuration or subsequent restoration of an accessory wireless device, a user can seek to transfer cellular services for one or more eSIMs from a first accessory wireless device, e.g., an "old" accessory wireless device that was already linked previously with the primary wireless device, to a second accessory wireless device, e.g., a "new" accessory wireless device to be paired with the primary wireless device. In some embodiments, the first accessory wireless device, the second accessory wireless device, and the primary wireless device are each associated with a common user account that is separate from a cellular service account, e.g., an account authenticated by an Apple ID. Transfer of credentials for cellular service access between two accessory wireless devices can occur via the primary wireless device, e.g., where the accessory wireless devices can connect securely to the primary wireless device via a local connection, such as via a wireless personal area network (WPAN) connection, via a wireless local area network (WLAN) connection, via a peer-to-peer connection, or the like; see Goyal par. 0019).
For claim 14, Goyal discloses A method of operating a first electronic device and a second electronic device to communicate with a cellular network (FIG. 1 illustrates a diagram 100 of an exemplary transfer of cellular service credentials from a first accessory device 110 to a second accessory device 150 assisted by a primary device 120; see Goyal par. 0023 and Fig. 1), the method comprising:
conveying, using a first radio on the first electronic device, first wireless data with the cellular network while the second electronic device is in proximity to the first electronic device, the first wireless data being conveyed using a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN) (At action 1, the first accessory device 110 pairs with the primary device 120. In some embodiments, during or associated with the pairing, the first accessory device 110 obtains or activates a first eSIM in an eUICC of the first accessory device 110 to allow access to cellular wireless services. In some embodiments, the first eSIM is identified by a unique first eICCID value but shares a common MSISDN value with a SIM/eSIM of the primary device 120; see Goyal par. 0027);
attaching, using a second radio on the second electronic device, to the cellular network using the MSISDN (At action 2, the primary device 110 registers the MSISDN of the first accessory device 110 with an identification server 510, which can be managed by a non-MNO third party and can associate a non-MNO user account with various devices, including the primary device 120 and the first accessory device 110; see Goyal par. 0027) responsive to a trigger condition associated with the second electronic device moving out of proximity to the first electronic device; and
conveying, using the second radio on the second electronic device, second wireless data while attached to the cellular network using the MSISDN (In some embodiments, the second accessory device 150 connects to the SM-DP+ server 220 via a cellular (or non-cellular) access connection established by the primary device 120, where the primary device 120 acts as a data conduit for the second accessory device 150; see Goyal par. 0027).
Goyal does not explicitly disclose a first radio on the first electronic device, a second radio on the second electronic device. Ben Shlush discloses a first radio on the first electronic device, a second radio on the second electronic device. (The difference of using a multi SIM cellular device 181 instead of a standard one is the possibility to use one of its radio communication modules which are using separate mobile communication ports, referred to herein as radio communication modules A or B, to establish a cellular connection, and not a non cellular connection, with the remote network node 103 for acquiring a visiting subscriber information A multi SIM cellular device 181 has two or more communication modules radios and two or more respective SIM card slots that may be simultaneously connected to cellular network(s) to receive and/or establish calls. In FIG. 4C, radio communication modules A and Bare marked. The multi SIM cellular device 181 may be used one of its radios to register to a certain cellular network, such as a home cellular network 501, using a SIM card, such as a home SIM card; see Ben Shlush par. 0071-0073). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Ben Shlush's arrangement in Goyal's invention to allow, inter alia, a user, who travels to an area, which is not covered by his home cellular network to receive calls and/or messages which are designated to his cellular number. The solution allows these calls and/or messages to be received without using an international leg of a cellular service provider (see Ben Shlush par. 0074).
For claim 15, Goyal discloses The method of claim 14, further comprising: detaching, using the first radio on the first electronic device, from the cellular network using the MSISDN after the second radio has attached to the second cellular network using the MSISDN and prior to the second radio conveying the second wireless data (At action 14, the entitlement server 210 enables cellular service for the second accessory device 150 based on the second eSIM installed and activated in the second accessory device 150 and disables cellular service associated with the first eSIM for the first accessory device 110; see Goyal par. 0025).
For claim 16, Goyal discloses The method of claim 15, wherein detaching from the cellular network comprises: receiving, using the first radio on the first electronic device, a signal from the cellular network indicative of the second electronic device having attached to the cellular network using the MSISDN (The primary device 120 can use cellular service credentials associated with a SIM or eSIM installed in the primary device 120 to authenticate and communicate with an entitlement server 210 of the MNO. At action 5, the entitlement server 210 can send to the primary device 120, responsive to receipt of the request for eSIM status, an eSIM status response that includes cellular service plan status information for one or more eSIMs of associated accessory wireless devices, which includes the first accessory device 110. Status of an eSIM of the first accessory device 110 can be provided in the eSIM status response, and the eSIM of the first accessory device 110 can be identified uniquely based on an eICCID) included in the eSIM status response; see Goyal par. 0026).
For claim 19, Goyal discloses A method of operating a call routing server, the method comprising:
forwarding, at a first time, first wireless data between one or more hosts and a first user equipment device that is attached to a cellular network using a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN) (the primary device 120 and the first accessory device 110 use an identical mobile station international subscriber directory number (MSISDN). In some embodiments, the primary device 120 and the first accessory device 110 use distinct MSISDNs. At action 2, the second accessory device 150 pairs with the primary device 120 to establish a local, secure connection between the second accessory device 150 and the primary device 120. The primary device 120 may be used to configure the second accessory device 150, e.g., as part of an initial configuration or as part of a restore process. At action 3, the primary device 120 requests status for one or more eSIMs of accessory devices, e.g., for the first accessory device 110, that are linked with the primary device 120. The primary device 120 can use cellular service credentials associated with a SIM or eSIM installed in the primary device 120 to authenticate and communicate with an entitlement server 210 of the MNO. At action 4, the entitlement server 210 can send to the primary device 120, responsive to receipt of the request for eSIM status, an eSIM status response that includes cellular service plan status information for one or more eSIMs of associated accessory wireless devices, which includes the first accessory device 110; see Goyal par. 0024 and Fig. 2);
registering, at a second time after the first time, a second user equipment device that is attached to the cellular network using the MSISDN (At action 1, the existing device 910 registers an MSISDN associated with cellular wireless service for the existing device 910 with a third party network-based cloud server 710; see Goyal par. 0031);
deregistering the first user equipment device from the MSISDN after registering the second user equipment device (the first MNO server, after receipt of the confirmation, enables cellular service associated with the second eSIM for the second accessory device 150 and disables cellular service associated with the first eSIM for the first accessory device 110.. the primary device provides to the first MNO server user authentication for a registered user of the first accessory device 1; see Goyal par. 0033); and
forwarding, at a third time after the second time, second wireless data between the one or more hosts and the second user equipment device while the second user equipment device attached to the cellular network using the MSISDN and while the first user equipment device is deregistered from the MSISDN (the SIM or eSIM of the primary device 120 and the first eSIM of the first accessory device 110 share a common MSISDN. In some embodiments, the SIM or eSIM of the primary device 120 and the first eSIM of the first accessory device 110 have distinct MSISDNs. In some embodiments the request to transfer the cellular service credentials for the first eSIM includes (i) a first eSIM identifier and a first hardware identifier of the first accessory device 110, and (ii) at least one hardware identifier of the second accessory device 150. In some embodiments, the at least one hardware identifier of the second accessory device includes an eUICC identifier (EID) and an IMEI of the second accessory device 150. In some embodiments, the primary device provides to the first MNO server user authentication for a registered user of the first accessory device 110; see Goyal par. 0033).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal and Ben Shlush, and further in view of Vashi et al. (US 2017/0346858, hereinafter “Vashi”).
For claim 5, the combination of Goyal and Ben Shlush does not explicitly disclose The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the second radio is configured to register with the cellular network responsive to wireless performance metric data associated with the P2P signals dropping below a threshold level. Vashi discloses The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the second radio is configured to register with the cellular network responsive to wireless performance metric data associated with the P2P signals dropping below a threshold level (communication capability for a secondary wireless device, e.g., without and/or not configured for WWAN communication, can be extended using a local WPAN (or WLAN) connection to a primary wireless device that provides a WWAN connection. Alternatively, the secondary wireless device can also include wireless circuitry for a WLAN connection and can originate and/or terminate connections via a WLAN connection. Whether to use a direct connection or a relayed connection can depend on performance characteristics of one or more links of an active communication session between the secondary wireless device and a remote device. Fewer links (or hops) can provide for lower latency, and thus a direct connection can be preferred; however, unlike a legacy circuit-switched connection that provides a dedicated link, the direct connection via a WLAN can share bandwidth with other wireless devices on the same WLAN and/or with the backhaul connection from the access point that manages the WLAN. When performance on the local WLAN connection link and/or on the backhaul connection degrades, a relayed connection via a primary wireless device can be preferred. By monitoring performance of an active communication session and availability and capabilities of associated wireless devices (such as proximity to a primary wireless device), a secondary wireless device can request transfer of an active communication session between a direction connection and a relayed connection or vice versa; see Vashi par. 0028). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Vashi's arrangement in Goyal's invention to dynamically enable or disable wireless cellular connection capabilities for the secondary wireless device rather than requiring user intervention (see Vashi par. 0022).
For claim 6, the combination of Goyal and Ben Shlush does not explicitly disclose The electronic device of claim 5, further comprising: a display configured to display a confirmation request responsive to the wireless performance metric data associated with the P2P signals dropping below the threshold level. Vashi discloses The electronic device of claim 5, further comprising: a display configured to display a confirmation request responsive to the wireless performance metric data associated with the P2P signals dropping below the threshold level (Each of the secondary wireless devices 220A, 220B, 220C illustrated in FIG. 2 can provide output display capabilities as well as input response capabilities to allow a user of the primary wireless device 210 to interact with various services or otherwise relay connections or communications, such as through one or both of a WLAN connection 206 or WPAN connection 204. For example, any of secondary wireless devices 220A, 220B, 220C can provide call relay functionality for an incoming audio/video/interactive messaging connection or other applicable connection in conjunction with the primary wireless device 210, such that the user can accept an incoming connection or originate an outgoing connection at any of the secondary wireless devices 220A, 220B, or 220C; see Vashi par. 0035). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Vashi's arrangement in Goyal's invention to dynamically enable or disable wireless cellular connection capabilities for the secondary wireless device rather than requiring user intervention (see Vashi par. 0022).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal and Ben Shlush, and further in view of Hoover et al. (US 2012/0322480, hereinafter “Hoover”).
For claim 12, the combination of Goyal and Ben Shlush does not explicitly disclose The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first radio is configured to transmit, in the P2P signals, wireless data that is transmitted by the additional electronic device to the cellular network in the first radio-frequency signals. Hoover discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first radio is configured to transmit, in the P2P signals, wireless data that is transmitted by the additional electronic device to the cellular network in the first radio-frequency signals (FIG. 6 shows NI server 140 determining 635 if sender 100 and recipient 120 are served by the same base station, cell antenna and/or antenna sector. If both sender 100 and recipient 120 are not currently served by the same base station, cell antenna and/or antenna sector (NO-block 535), then NI server 140 may signal sender 100 to transfer the data to recipient 120 using cellular network 130 (block 540). As shown in FIG. 6, NI server 140 may determine 645 that sender 100 and recipient 120 are not served by the same base station, cell antenna and/or antenna sector, and may then signal 640 sender 100 to transfer the data via the cellular network. In a circumstance where a data transfer is already in progress via cellular network 130, then no signaling from NI server 140 may be necessary, and the data transfer via cellular network 130 may be permitted to continue. In a further circumstance where the data transfer is already in progress via the local wireless connectivity, then NI server 140 may signal sender 100 to continue the data transfer via cellular network 130. If both sender 100 and recipient 120 are currently served by the same base station, cell antenna and/or antenna sector (YES-block 535), then NI server 140 may determine if sender 100 and recipient 120 are geographically collocated (e.g., located within a predetermined distance of each other) (block 545). NI server 140 may determine whether sender 100 and recipient 120 are geographically collocated using Global Positioning System (GPS) location information from sender 100 and recipient 120, using cellular network triangulation data associated with the location of sender 100 and recipient 120, or a user prompt to either sender 100 or recipient 120 inquiring as to their physical proximity (e.g., "Is recipient currently with you or close to you?"); see Hoover par. 0029-0031). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Hoover's arrangement in Goyal's invention to selectively offload the transfer of data from a cellular network to local wireless connectivity at a mobile communication device (see Hoover par. 0024).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal and Ben Shlush, and further in view of Pollack et al. (US 2017/0006441, hereinafter “Pollack”).
For claim 13, the combination of Goyal and Ben Shlush does not explicitly disclose The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first radio is configured to convey the P2P signals with the additional electronic device concurrent with the additional electronic device conveying the first radio-frequency signals with the cellular network. Pollack discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first radio is configured to convey the P2P signals with the additional electronic device concurrent with the additional electronic device conveying the first radio-frequency signals with the cellular network (Establishing communications links 422 and 424 can include connecting to a wireless access point using examples previously described. In some examples, step 456 can be performed before step 452. In some examples, steps 456 can be performed at the same time as step 452. In some examples, communications links 422 and 424 can be established at different times. In some examples, device 402 can be coupled to device 404 through local communications link 428 and can also be coupled to network 420 through communications link 422 at the same time. Similarly, device 404 can be coupled to device 402 through local communications link 428 and can also be coupled to network 420 through communications link 424 at the same time; see Pollack par. 0106). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Pollack's arrangement in Goyal's invention to send messages through a local communications link, such as but not limited to at least one of a Bluetooth connection and a peer-to-peer WiFi connection, which can lead to faster transmission times and reduced server load (see Pollack par. 0005).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal and Ben Shlush, and further in view of Cheung et al. (US 2015/0281946, hereinafter “Cheung”).
For claim 17, the combination of Goyal and Ben Shlush does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 15, wherein detaching from the cellular network comprises: receiving, using the first radio on the first electronic device, a signal from a call routing server, the signal being indicative of the second electronic device having attached to the cellular network using the MSISDN. Cheung discloses The method of claim 15, wherein detaching from the cellular network comprises: receiving, using the first radio on the first electronic device, a signal from a call routing server, the signal being indicative of the second electronic device having attached to the cellular network using the MSISDN (The specific number of the first mobile device with the authorization code is entered by the second mobile device, after the authorization from the first mobile device. Herein, after checking and verifying the first identification message and the MSISDN, the server will send out the authorization message for confirming according to the first identification message and the MSISDN to the first mobile device. The first mobile device receives the authorization message, and then an authorization popup dialog appears for the first mobile device to confirm and authorize the server to bind the specific number to the JID of the second mobile device. The second mobile device may log in the server according to the specific number. Once the first mobile device has confirmed the authorization message, the second mobile device may log in the server by the specific number alone without the MSISDN; see Cheung par. 0044). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Cheung's arrangement in Goyal's invention to enable users to register the phone number to generate a specific number, and use the specific number optionally (see Cheung par. 0028).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal and Ben Shlush, and further in view of Veikkolainen et al. (US 2017/0064752, hereinafter “Veikkolainen”).
For claim 18, the combination of Goyal and Ben Shlush does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 14, further comprising: detaching, using the second radio on the second electronic device, from the cellular network using the MSISDN in response to an additional trigger condition associated with the second electronic device moving back into proximity to the first electronic device. Veikkolainen discloses The method of claim 14, further comprising: detaching, using the second radio on the second electronic device, from the cellular network using the MSISDN in response to an additional trigger condition associated with the second electronic device moving back into proximity to the first electronic device (the detection of a nearby mobile (primary) device is used as a trigger to initiate a detachment or disconnection procedure in the companion device from the cellular network, and connect to the mobile device as a Bluetooth hands-free accessory. Further, the detection of a link loss of the short-range radio link between the companion device and the primary device may be used as a trigger to initiate an attachment procedure to the cellular network in the companion device, by, for example, using SIM credentials in the companion device; see Veikkolainen par. 0030, 0036). It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Veikkolainen's arrangement in Goyal's invention to avoid the case in which two devices are accessing to the cellular network and thereby the battery life of the companion device could be extended (see Veikkolainen par. 0035).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8-10 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: claims 4, 8-10 and 20 would be allowable because the closest prior arts listed above either alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious, the claimed invention of “wherein the second radio is configured to deregister from the call routing server and the cellular network responsive to receipt, from the cellular network or the call routing server, of a signal identifying that the additional electronic device has taken over use of the MSISDN for communicating with the cellular network”, in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) above as defined by applicant
Conclusion
/CHAE S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415