DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to application filed on 8/16/24, in which Claims 1-20 are presented for examination of which Claims 1, 12 and 18 are in independent form.
Specification
Please include “autonomous” and “rover” into the title.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 recites, “the second vehicle disposed between the first vehicle and the second vehicle…” should it read “the second vehicle disposed between the first vehicle and the third vehicle…”
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No US 11626014 B2 and Claims 1-19 of US 12067874 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: broader claims in a later application constitute obvious double patenting of narrow claims in an issued patent. See In re Van Ornum and Stang, 214, USPQ 761, 766, and 767 (CCPA) (the court sustained an obvious double patenting rejection of generic claims in a continuation application over narrower species claims in an issued patent); In re Vogel, 164 USPQ 619, 622, and 623 (CCPA 1970) (generic application claim specifying "meat" is obvious double patenting of narrow patent claim specifying "pork").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beaulieu (US 20190019408).
Regarding Claim 1, Beaulieu discloses a moving work zone system (Abstract apparatus can travel with a moving or changing work zone, either by human remote control or autonomous “follow me” functionality; [0122] working location) comprising:
a moving work zone having a boundary and traveling along a path (Abstract apparatus can travel with a moving or changing work zone, either by human remote control or autonomous “follow me” functionality);
an at least one vehicle ([0039] worksite vehicle) configured to perform a task ([0066], Fig 7, [0098] road construction, maintenance), the at least one vehicle located within the boundary of the moving work zone (Fig 7, [0039] remote devices operable to transmit…incoming signals to the control module from remote distances…worksite vehicle-carried leader device, wherein said control module and said leader device are configured to detect movement of the…worksite vehicle-carried, and in response to said detected movement, autonomously drive the location system in a manner following said movement of said leader device, whereby the mobile platform and the traffic control indicator mounted thereon autonomously follow…worksite vehicle);
an at least one traffic rover (20 of Figs 3, 4 traffic control apparatus) having a locomotion system configured to move the at least one traffic rover autonomously (Abstract, [0109] wheels 23 or tracks or the like, which are capable of moving the platform 21 when powered or actuated), the at least one traffic rover configured to provide a traffic signal (traffic indicator 22, 26);
a control unit (29 of Figs 3, 4 control module) to execute instructions including a pathway for the at least one traffic rover to travel to be positioned adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone as the moving work zone travels along the path ([0131] using the wireless remote control, the operator of the remote control can communicate with the drive or locomotion system on the platform 21 and effect the movement of the platform 21 between working positions); but does NOT specify a location sensor in the first embodiment.
In a second embodiment, Beaulieu teaches generating, by a sensor ([0195] auxiliary module 154 may include a GPS (global positioning system) unit), configured to generate location data of the platform, and a control unit in communication with the sensor and the locomotion system, the control unit configured to receive the location data, determine if the platform is in the preselected position, and execute instructions including a pathway that the platform needs to travel to be positioned in the preselected position ([0197] a determination can be made of how far the leader/master unit has moved down-road, whereby the control module can autonomously drive the mobile platform down-road a matching distance in order to maintain the pre-set distance between the leader/master unit and the mobile traffic control platform along the roadway);
generating, by the sensor, the location data of the platform; sending, by the sensor, the location data to the control unit; receiving, by the control unit, the location data ([0196] GPS satellites to track its current location, and communicates this location data to a receiver in the control module 29 of the mobile platform. In such embodiments, the control module 29 is programmed to follow movement of the leader/master unit, for example at a pre-set, user-programmable, or user-selectable distance along the roadway);
determining, by the control unit, if the platform is in the preselected position by comparing the preselected position with the location data ([0197] and comparing this against stored roadmap data, a determination can be made of how far the leader/master unit has moved down-road, whereby the control module can autonomously drive the mobile platform down-road a matching distance in order to maintain the pre-set distance between the leader/master unit and the mobile traffic control platform); and executing, by the control unit, the instructions including the pathway that the platform needs to travel to be positioned in the preselected position ([0040] control module and leader device may be configured to maintain a predetermined distance between said mobile platform and said leader device; [0197]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beaulieu using a location sensor in order to maximize efficiency and safety, as suggested by Beaulieu ([0003]).
Regarding Claim 2, Beaulieu discloses the task performed by the at least one vehicle is selected from a group consisting of placing a traffic cone, picking a traffic cone, performing a maintenance operation ([0098] road construction, maintenance, and other applications such as emergency services and the like requiring a moving work zone), performing a repair operation, sealing a crack, sweeping a surface, vacuuming a surface, blowing debris from a surface, painting a surface, filling a pothole, conveying a material, setting a post, setting a sign, obtaining a core sample, grinding a material, sawing a material, inserting a reflector, inspecting a surface, and inspecting a material.
Regarding Claim 3, Beaulieu discloses the boundary is defined by at least one reference point and at least one predefined distance from the at least one reference point (Figs 1A, 1B, 7, 34 and 35).
3>Regarding Claim 4, Beaulieu discloses the at least one reference point is associated with the at least one vehicle and the at least one reference point moves with the at least one vehicle as the at least one vehicle travels ([0098] a moving work zone. Where the work zone on a road surface would typically comprise a length of the road surface within which road work or emergency services were being conducted, the work zone could be static or moving. The work zone typically has a beginning and an end, [0101] the operation moved in the direction 8 shown, it would be necessary to move the work zone 2 along the road surface in this direction, such that the traffic control positions 6 would need to be moved during the course of the work period, Figs 1A, 1B, 7).
3>Regarding Claim 5, Beaulieu discloses the at least one predefined distance from the at least one reference point includes a forward distance defining a forward edge of the boundary (Figs 1A, 1B, 34).
3>Regarding Claim 6, Beaulieu discloses the at least one predefined distance from the at least one reference point includes a rearward distance defining a rear edge of the boundary (Fig 7).
3>Regarding Claim 7, Beaulieu discloses the at least one predefined distance from the at least one reference point includes a lateral distance defining a side edge of the boundary (Fig 35).
Regarding Claim 8, Beaulieu discloses the boundary dynamically changes to provide one of a larger area, a smaller area, and a differently shaped area of the moving work zone ([0101] the size of the work zone 2 might expand or contract, or might move as during traveling work such as paving).
Regarding Claim 9, Beaulieu discloses the at least one traffic rover includes a first traffic rover (20’ of Fig 34) and a second traffic rover (20’’ of Fig 34), the first traffic rover configured to travel autonomously adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone and the second traffic rover configured to travel autonomously at a preselected warning distance from the first traffic rover (2 of Fig 34), the preselected warning distance defined as a gap between the first traffic rover and the second traffic rover ([0216], Fig 34 Arrow W denotes a northbound travel direction of a moving work zone 2 having a southern boundary 3 and a northern boundary 4; [0219] boundaries are being moved in a common direction, Fig 34).
9>Regarding Claim 10, Beaulieu discloses the instructions include a warning pathway that the second traffic rover needs to travel to be positioned at the preselected warning distance ([0216], Fig 34 Arrow W denotes a northbound travel direction of a moving work zone 2 having a southern boundary 3 and a northern boundary 4).
Regarding Claim 11, Beaulieu discloses the at least one vehicle is autonomously operated (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 12, Beaulieu discloses a moving work zone system (Abstract apparatus can travel with a moving or changing work zone, either by human remote control or autonomous “follow me” functionality; [0122] working location) comprising:
a moving work zone having a boundary and traveling along a path (Abstract apparatus can travel with a moving or changing work zone, either by human remote control or autonomous “follow me” functionality);
an at least one vehicle ([0039] worksite vehicle) configured to perform a task ([0066], Fig 7, [0098] road construction, maintenance), the at least one vehicle located within the boundary of the moving work zone (Fig 7, [0039] remote devices operable to transmit…incoming signals to the control module from remote distances…worksite vehicle-carried leader device, wherein said control module and said leader device are configured to detect movement of the…worksite vehicle-carried, and in response to said detected movement, autonomously drive the location system in a manner following said movement of said leader device, whereby the mobile platform and the traffic control indicator mounted thereon autonomously follow…worksite vehicle)
an at least one traffic rover (20 of Figs 3, 4 traffic control apparatus) having a locomotion system configured to move the at least one traffic rover autonomously, the at least one traffic rover configured to provide a traffic signal (Abstract, [0109] wheels 23 or tracks or the like, which are capable of moving the platform 21 when powered or actuated), the at least one traffic rover configured to provide a traffic signal (traffic indicator 22, 26);
a control unit (29 of Figs 3, 4 control module) to execute instructions including a pathway for the at least one traffic rover to travel to be positioned adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone as the moving work zone travels along the path ([0131] using the wireless remote control, the operator of the remote control can communicate with the drive or locomotion system on the platform 21 and effect the movement of the platform 21 between working positions),
the boundary defined by at least one reference point associated with the at least one vehicle and at least one predefined distance from the at least one reference point (Figs 1A, 1B, 7, 34 and 35),
the at least one reference point moving with the at least one vehicle as the at least one vehicle travels ([0098], [0101], Figs 1A, 1B, 7), and
the at least one predefined distance including at least one of a forward distance defining a forward edge of the boundary (Figs 1A, 1B, 34), a rearward distance defining a rear edge of the boundary (Fig 7), and a lateral distance defining a side edge of the boundary (Fig 35), the moving work zone traveling along the path to facilitate a maintaining the at least one vehicle within the boundary of the moving work zone (Fig 1B, 7), but does NOT specify a location sensor in the first embodiment.
In a second embodiment, Beaulieu teaches generating, by a sensor ([0195] auxiliary module 154 may include a GPS (global positioning system) unit), configured to generate location data of the rover, with respect to the at least one vehicle ([0197] a determination can be made of how far the leader/master unit has moved down-road, whereby the control module can autonomously drive the mobile platform down-road a matching distance in order to maintain the pre-set distance between the leader/master unit and the mobile traffic control platform along the roadway);
the control unit (29 of Figs 3, 4 control module) in communication with the sensor to receive the location data from the sensor, the control unit configured to determine if the at least one traffic rover is adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone ([0196] GPS satellites to track its current location, and communicates this location data to a receiver in the control module 29 of the mobile platform. In such embodiments, the control module 29 is programmed to follow movement of the leader/master unit, for example at a pre-set, user-programmable, or user-selectable distance along the roadway; [0197] and comparing this against stored roadmap data, a determination can be made of how far the leader/master unit has moved down-road, whereby the control module can autonomously drive the mobile platform down-road a matching distance in order to maintain the pre-set distance between the leader/master unit and the mobile traffic control platform; [0040] control module and leader device may be configured to maintain a predetermined distance between said mobile platform and said leader device; [0197]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beaulieu using a location sensor in order to maximize efficiency and safety, as suggested by Beaulieu ([0003])
Regarding Claim 13, Beaulieu discloses the boundary is dynamically changing to provide one of a larger area, a smaller area, and a differently shaped area of the moving work zone as the moving work zone travels along the path ([0098], [0101]).
Regarding Claim 14, Beaulieu discloses the at least one traffic rover includes a first traffic rover and a second traffic rover, the first traffic rover configured to travel autonomously adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone and the second traffic rover configured to travel autonomously at a preselected warning distance from the first traffic rover, the preselected warning distance defined as a gap between the first traffic rover and the second traffic rover ([0216], Fig 34 Arrow W denotes a northbound travel direction of a moving work zone 2 having a southern boundary 3 and a northern boundary 4; [0219]).
Regarding Claim 18, Beaulieu discloses a method of using a moving work zone system (Abstract apparatus can travel with a moving or changing work zone, either by human remote control or autonomous “follow me” functionality; [0122] working location) comprising:
defining a moving work zone having a boundary and traveling along a path (Fig 1B, 7, 34-35);
deploying an at least one vehicle ([0039] worksite vehicle) configured to perform a task ([0066], Fig 7, [0098] road construction, maintenance), the at least one vehicle located within the boundary of the moving work zone (Fig 7, [0039] remote devices operable to transmit…incoming signals to the control module from remote distances…worksite vehicle-carried leader device, wherein said control module and said leader device are configured to detect movement of the…worksite vehicle-carried, and in response to said detected movement, autonomously drive the location system in a manner following said movement of said leader device, whereby the mobile platform and the traffic control indicator mounted thereon autonomously follow…worksite vehicle);
deploying an at least one traffic rover (20 of Figs 3, 4 traffic control apparatus) having a locomotion system configured to move the at least one traffic rover autonomously adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone (Abstract, [0109] wheels 23 or tracks or the like, which are capable of moving the platform 21 when powered or actuated), the at least one traffic rover configured to provide a traffic signal (traffic indicator 22, 26);
providing a control unit (29 of Figs 3, 4 control module) ito execute instructions including a pathway for the at least one traffic rover to travel to be positioned adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone as the moving work zone travels along the path ([0131] using the wireless remote control, the operator of the remote control can communicate with the drive or locomotion system on the platform 21 and effect the movement of the platform 21 between working positions);
performing the task by the at least one vehicle ([0066], Fig 7, [0098] road construction, maintenance);
moving the at least one vehicle as it performs the task or to perform another task ([0101] the size of the work zone 2 might expand or contract, or might move as during traveling work such as paving);
and executing the instructions including the pathway for the at least one traffic rover to travel to maintain the at least one traffic rover adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone as the moving work zone travels along the path ([0098] road construction, maintenance, and other applications such as emergency services and the like requiring a moving work zone; [0101] the size of the work zone 2 might expand or contract, or might move as during traveling work such as paving), but does NOT specify a location sensor in the first embodiment.
In a second embodiment, Beaulieu teaches providing a sensor configured to generate location data of the at least one traffic rover with respect to the at least one vehicle ([0195] auxiliary module 154 may include a GPS (global positioning system) unit), utilizing the sensor to generate the location data of the at least one traffic rover as the at least one vehicle moves ([0197] a determination can be made of how far the leader/master unit has moved down-road, whereby the control module can autonomously drive the mobile platform down-road a matching distance in order to maintain the pre-set distance between the leader/master unit and the mobile traffic control platform along the roadway);
providing a control unit (29 of Figs 3, 4 control module) in communication with the sensor to receive the location data from the sensor, the control unit configured to determine if the at least one traffic rover is adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone ([0196] GPS satellites to track its current location, and communicates this location data to a receiver in the control module 29 of the mobile platform. In such embodiments, the control module 29 is programmed to follow movement of the leader/master unit, for example at a pre-set, user-programmable, or user-selectable distance along the roadway);
communicating the location data to the control unit ([0196]);
utilizing the control unit to update the boundary of the moving work zone based on the location data received from the sensor ([0197] and comparing this against stored roadmap data, a determination can be made of how far the leader/master unit has moved down-road, whereby the control module can autonomously drive the mobile platform down-road a matching distance in order to maintain the pre-set distance between the leader/master unit and the mobile traffic control platform); and executing, by the control unit, the instructions including the pathway that the platform needs to travel to be positioned in the preselected position ([0040] control module and leader device may be configured to maintain a predetermined distance between said mobile platform and said leader device; [0197]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beaulieu using a location sensor in order to maximize efficiency and safety, as suggested by Beaulieu ([0003])
Regarding Claim 19, Beaulieu discloses utilizing the control unit to control the traffic signal displayed by the at least one traffic rover; managing traffic flow around the moving work zone by displaying the traffic signal on the at least one traffic rover; and changing the traffic signal displayed on the at least one traffic rover utilizing the control unit in response to changing traffic or environmental conditions ([0119] on receipt of an indication change command, the mobile platform and its control hardware and traffic indicator would change the traffic control indication shown to oncoming traffic).
Regarding Claim 20, Beaulieu discloses defining a moving work zone having a boundary includes at least one of the following steps:
defining at least one reference point associated with the at least one vehicle (Figs 1A, 1B, 7, 34 and 35);
defining at least one predefined distance from the at least one reference point, the at least one reference point moving with the at least one vehicle as the at least one vehicle travels, and the at least one predefined distance (Figs 1A, 1B, 7, 34 and 35) including at least one of a forward distance defining a forward edge of the boundary (Figs 1A, 1B, 34), a rearward distance defining a rear edge of the boundary (Fig 7), and a lateral distance defining a side edge of the boundary (Fig 35);
storing the at least one reference point and the at least one predefined distance in a memory of the control unit ([0197] comparing a new GPS coordinate of the leader/master unit against a previous GPS coordinate thereof, and finding a difference therebetween denoting a physical movement of the leader/master unit, and comparing this against stored roadmap data); and
utilizing the at least one reference point and at least one predefined distance by the control unit to define the boundary of the moving work zone and determine the instructions including the pathway for the at least one traffic rover to travel to maintain the at least one traffic rover adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone as the moving work zone travels along the path (Fig 1B, 7).
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beaulieu in view of BOYLE (Boyle; US 20180326901 A1).
14>Regarding Claim 15, Beaulieu discloses a third traffic rover configured to provide a third traffic signal and to travel autonomously, the control unit configured to communicate with and coordinate a movement of the third traffic rover to facilitate a maintaining of the third traffic rover adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone.
In the same field of endeavor, Boyle discloses an unmanned roadside signage vehicle comprising an autonomous, semiautonomous and/or remotely controllable roadside signage vehicle for various roadside signage, emergency response and maintenance applications. In accordance with one aspect, the unmanned roadside signage vehicle comprises drive motors operably coupled to driven wheels; steering coupled to the driven wheels; a controller for controlling the drive motors and steering; at least one electronic signage board for displaying roadside signage; and a data interface for receiving at least remote control instructions, the data interface operably coupled to the controller and wherein the controller is configured for controlling the drive motors and steering in accordance with the remote control instructions.
Boyle discloses a third traffic rover configured to provide a third traffic signal and to travel autonomously, the control unit configured to communicate with and coordinate a movement of the third traffic rover to facilitate a maintaining of the third traffic rover adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone ([0121] Turning now to FIG. 2, there is shown an exemplary formation. Specifically, as alluded to above, the formation comprises the maintenance machine 10, a leader unmanned vehicle 19 and two follower unmanned vehicles 19; [0180] unmanned vehicles 19 may rely on light or laser guidance reflecting from the property located reflectors of the maintenance machinery 10 or adjacent unmanned vehicles 19 for further enhancing the accuracy of the formation; Figs 2-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beaulieu with Boyle using a third rover in order to provide additional safety measures surrounding a work zone granting time for passing motorist to slow down.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beaulieu and Boyle, further in view of Hung et al. (Hung; US 20200131725 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Boyle discloses the at least one vehicle includes: a first vehicle configured to facilitate maintenance adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone, the first vehicle located within the boundary of the moving work zone; a second vehicle configured to perform a task within the moving work zone, the second vehicle located within the boundary of the moving work zone; and a third vehicle configured to facilitate maintenance from adjacent the boundary of the moving work zone, the third vehicle located within the boundary of the moving work zone, the second vehicle disposed between the first vehicle and the second vehicle ([0121] Turning now to FIG. 2, there is shown an exemplary formation. Specifically, as alluded to above, the formation comprises the maintenance machine 10, a leader unmanned vehicle 19 and two follower unmanned vehicles 19; [0180] unmanned vehicles 19 may rely on light or laser guidance reflecting from the property located reflectors of the maintenance machinery 10 or adjacent unmanned vehicles 19 for further enhancing the accuracy of the formation; Figs 2-9), but does not teach placing and retrieving traffic cones.
In the same field of endeavor, Hung discloses a traffic cones and traffic cone lanterns placement and collection system. The system comprises: a vehicle body, on which a loading bay and a storage bay are disposed; an on-vehicle first robot arm, which is used for moving a traffic cone of the loading bay and a traffic cone lantern thereon off the vehicle body, or collect them from outside of the vehicle to the loading bay; and enables both traffic cones and traffic cone lanterns automatic placement work or automatic collection work.
Hung discloses ([0045] vehicle 110 can be an autonomous vehicle) placing and retrieving traffic cones. ([0043] system of placing and collecting traffic cones).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beaulieu and Boyle with Hung using an autonomous vehicle to place and retrieve traffic cones in order to improve road work automation and replace manpower, reduce errors and shorten working hours, thereby reducing operating costs and improving work efficiency, and increase the safety of road and roadside workers.as suggested by Hung ([0130]).
16>Regarding Claim 17, Boyle discloses at least one of the first vehicle, the second vehicle, and the third vehicle is autonomously operated and in communication the control unit to facilitate maintaining the first vehicle, the second vehicle, and the third vehicle within the boundary of the moving work zone as the moving work zone travels along the path ([0121] Turning now to FIG. 2, there is shown an exemplary formation. Specifically, as alluded to above, the formation comprises the maintenance machine 10, a leader unmanned vehicle 19 and two follower unmanned vehicles 19; [0180] unmanned vehicles 19 may rely on light or laser guidance reflecting from the property located reflectors of the maintenance machinery 10 or adjacent unmanned vehicles 19 for further enhancing the accuracy of the formation; Figs 2-9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Yingst et al. (US 20080198038) discloses a method a center-of-intersection portable traffic light for emergency use. The portable traffic light features a cart with wheels, a telescoping light standard and one or more light assemblies. A preemption signal detector and traffic detector detect emergency vehicles and traffic, respectively. A control system controls the operation of the portable traffic light. A radio transceiver allows the portable traffic light to communicate with the other portable traffic lights. One of the portable traffic lights in a group acts as a master and controls operation of slave portable traffic lights. Any of the portable traffic lights in a group may act as master and any may act as slave.
b. Christiansen et al. (US 20160122956) discloses a movable robotic-like assembly which includes an upper body portion, a base portion and a wheel assembly for supporting the base portion and for moving the movable assembly. Signage is provided in the upper body portion, featuring instructions in a first portion for vehicles, including a stop indication, and signage in a second portion approximately 90° from the previous portion for pedestrians waiting to cross the street in which vehicles are traveling. A motor assembly drives the wheel assembly. A controller separate from the moving assembly remotely controls the movement and the operation of the movable assembly.
c. Morrison (US 6118388) discloses a portable traffic light assembly includes a substantially rectangular base component having planar upper and lower surfaces and four side walls therebetween. A plurality of wheels are disposed on the lower surface for rolling the device from one location to another. Extending from the top surface of the base component is a telescoping support leg operable with a hydraulic pump to selectively move the leg between an extended and a retracted position. Secured to the upper distal end of the support leg is a traffic light unit having four side walls with a green, yellow and red light on each side wall thereof. The hydraulic lift pump and signal lights may be selectively operated with a remote control means allowing a user to temporarily direct traffic from a location safely distanced from oncoming traffic.
/MARK S RUSHING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689