DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14, it is unclear what applicant means by “non-annular inner airflow.”
Claim Interpretation
The limitations “wherein the fuel nozzle is configured without an air swirler in the center passage at least upstream of the first fuel passage outlet and the second fuel passage outlet” is understood from the specification [¶ 0045] to be the how “the fuel nozzle is configured to direct air through the center passage from the center passage inlet to the center passage outlet without swirling around the axis”:
[0045] The nozzle center passage 84 may be uninterrupted along an (e.g., entire) axial extent of the nozzle center passage 84 within the fuel nozzle 72; e.g., from the nozzle base end 78 to the nozzle tip end 76. The nozzle center passage 84 and its center passage sections 102, 104 and 106 of FIG. 3, for example, may project radially uninterrupted out from the nozzle axis 74 to the center passage outer peripheral boundary 98. The nozzle center passage 84 and its center passage sections 102, 104 and 106 of FIG. 3 may also extend circumferentially uninterrupted around the nozzle axis 74. The fuel nozzle 72 may thereby be configured without any flow impediments, flow controls, flow influencing devices such as, but not limited to, an air swirler within the nozzle center passage 84. The nozzle center passage 84 may also not be (e.g., directly) fluidly coupled to another volume with an air swirler, at least at the center passage inlet 96. The fuel nozzle 72 may thereby be configured to direct a flow of fluid through the nozzle center passage 84 from the center passage inlet 96 to the center passage outlet 94 (e.g., substantially or completely) without swirling that flow of fluid around the nozzle axis 74.”
In other words, the absence of an air swirler in the nozzle is sufficient such that “direct air through the center passage from the center passage inlet to the center passage outlet without swirling around the axis.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al “Experimental study on propagation mode of H2/Air continuously rotating detonation wave.”
Lin et al teach [see annotations of Fig. 3] teaches (1) An apparatus for an engine [see page 1], comprising: a fuel nozzle including a base end [top], a tip end [bottom], a center passage [oxidizer] and a plurality of fuel passages, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis [vertical] from the base end to the tip end [vertical]; the center passage extending axially through the fuel nozzle from the base end to the tip end, and the center passage projecting uninterrupted radially out from the axis to an outer peripheral boundary of the center passage along an entire axial extent of the center passage; and the plurality of fuel passages [see annotations, and multiple holes from the manifold for the fuel injection] arranged circumferentially around the axis, the plurality of fuel passages respectively extending within the fuel nozzle to a plurality of fuel passage outlets, and each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets disposed in a surface at the outer peripheral boundary of the center passage axially between the base end and the tip end, wherein the center passage has a center passage inlet at the base end and a center passage outlet at the tip end; and the fuel nozzle is configured to direct air / oxidizer [see abstract] through the center passage from the center passage inlet to the center passage outlet without swirling around the axis. (3) wherein the fuel nozzle is configured without an air swirler in the center passage at least upstream of the plurality of fuel passage outlets. (4) wherein the center passage has a center passage inlet at the base end and a center passage outlet at the tip end; and a first axial section of the center passage converges radially inwards towards the axis as the first axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet. (5) wherein a second axial section of the center passage diverges radially outwards away from the axis as the second axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet. (6) wherein each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets is disposed in the surface along the second axial section of the center passage. (7) wherein the center passage has a center passage inlet at the base end and a center passage outlet at the tip end; and an axial section of the center passage diverges radially outwards away from the axis as the axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet. (8) wherein each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets is disposed in the surface along the axial section of the center passage. (9) wherein the center passage comprises a convergent-divergent passage with a throat [narrowest region] located axially between an axial convergent section and an axial divergent section; and each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets is disposed along the center passage axially between the throat and the tip end. (12) wherein the fuel nozzle further includes a fuel plenum [fuel manifold] extending within the fuel nozzle circumferentially about the axis; and the plurality of fuel passages respectively extend within the fuel nozzle from the fuel plenum to the plurality of fuel passage outlets. (13) wherein the fuel plenum is disposed radially outboard of and axially overlaps the center passage. (14) wherein the center passage has a center passage outlet at the tip end; and the fuel nozzle is configured to direct an axially extending inner airflow and an outer fuel flow axially out of the center passage through the center passage outlet with the outer fuel flow radially bordering the axially extending inner airflow [see Fig. 1]. (15) wherein the fuel nozzle further comprises one or more air passages; and the fuel nozzle is further configured to direct a second airflow out of the one or more air passages to impinge against the annular fuel flow outside of the fuel nozzle. (16) a fuel system configured to deliver gaseous fuel to the plurality of fuel passages. (17) a fuel system configured to deliver fuel to the plurality of fuel passages, and the fuel comprising hydrogen (H2) fuel. (19) An apparatus for an engine, comprising: a fuel nozzle including a base end, a tip end, a center passage and a plurality of fuel passages, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis from the base end to the tip end; the center passage extending axially within the fuel nozzle to a center passage outlet at the tip end, the center passage including an axial convergent section, an axial divergent section and a throat located axially between the axial convergent section and the axial divergent section; the plurality of fuel passages arranged circumferentially around the axis, and the plurality of fuel passages comprising a first fuel passage and a second fuel passage [multiple shown]; the first fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a first fuel passage outlet disposed along and fluidly coupled to the axial divergent section axially between the axial convergent section and the center passage outlet, and a trajectory of the first fuel passage at the first fuel passage outlet angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle; and the second fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a second fuel passage outlet disposed along and fluidly coupled to the axial divergent section axially between the axial convergent section and the center passage outlet; wherein the fuel nozzle is configured to direct air through the center passage from the base end to the tip end without swirling around the axis. (20) An apparatus for an engine, comprising: a fuel nozzle including a base end, a tip end, a center passage and a plurality of fuel passages, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis from the base end to the tip end; the center passage extending axially through the fuel nozzle from a center passage inlet at the base end to a center passage outlet at the tip end, and the center passage projecting radially out from the axis to an outer peripheral boundary of the center passage; the plurality of fuel passages arranged circumferentially around the axis, and the plurality of fuel passages comprising a first fuel passage and a second fuel passage; the first fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a first fuel passage outlet disposed along an axial section of the center passage where the outer peripheral boundary has a curved sectional geometry when viewed in a reference plane parallel with the axis, and a trajectory of the first fuel passage at the first fuel passage outlet angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle; and the second fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a second fuel passage outlet disposed along the axial section of the center passage, wherein the fuel nozzle is configured without an air swirler in the center passage at least upstream of the first fuel passage outlet and the second fuel passage outlet.
Claim(s) 1, 3-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zuo et al (2011/0197587). Zuo et al teach (1) An apparatus for an engine, comprising: a fuel nozzle including a base end 402, a tip end 404, a center passage 302 and a plurality of fuel passages 406, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis 407 from the base end to the tip end; the center passage extending axially through the fuel nozzle from the base end to the tip end, and the center passage projecting uninterrupted radially out from the axis to an outer peripheral boundary of the center passage along an entire axial extent of the center passage; and the plurality of fuel passages arranged circumferentially around the axis, the plurality of fuel passages respectively extending within the fuel nozzle to a plurality of fuel passage outlets, and each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets disposed in a surface at the outer peripheral boundary of the center passage axially between the base end and the tip end, wherein the center passage has a center passage inlet 402 at the base end and a center passage outlet 404 at the tip end; and the fuel nozzle is configured to direct air through the center passage from the center passage inlet to the center passage outlet without swirling around the axis 407. (3) wherein the fuel nozzle is configured without an air swirler in the center passage at least upstream of the plurality of fuel passage outlets. (4) wherein the center passage has a center passage inlet at the base end and a center passage outlet at the tip end; and a first axial section of the center passage converges radially inwards towards the axis as the first axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet. (5) wherein a second axial section of the center passage diverges radially outwards away from the axis as the second axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet. (6) wherein each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets is disposed in the surface along the second axial section of the center passage. (7) wherein the center passage has a center passage inlet 402 at the base end and a center passage outlet at the tip end; and an axial section of the center passage diverges radially outwards away from the axis as the axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet. (8) wherein each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets 406 is disposed in the surface along the axial section of the center passage. (9) wherein the center passage comprises a convergent-divergent passage with a throat located axially between an axial convergent section and an axial divergent section; and each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets is disposed along the center passage axially between the throat [throat starts to the left of the fuel outlets 406] and the tip end 404. (10) wherein the plurality of fuel passages comprises a first fuel passage, and the plurality of fuel passage outlets comprises a first fuel passage outlet for the first fuel passage; and a trajectory of the first fuel passage at the first fuel passage outlet is angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle equal to or less than forty-five degrees [¶ 0023]. (11) wherein the offset angle is equal to or less than thirty degrees [as low as 20 degrees ¶ 0023]. (12) wherein the fuel nozzle further includes a fuel plenum 408 extending within the fuel nozzle circumferentially about the axis; and the plurality of fuel passages respectively extend within the fuel nozzle from the fuel plenum to the plurality of fuel passage outlets. (13) wherein the fuel plenum 408 is disposed radially outboard of and axially overlaps the center passage. (14) wherein the center passage has a center passage outlet at the tip end; and the fuel nozzle is configured to direct an axially extending inner airflow and an outer fuel flow axially out of the center passage through the center passage outlet with the outer fuel flow radially bordering the axially extending inner airflow. (15) wherein the fuel nozzle further comprises one or more air passages [to the applied fuel nozzles’ 302; alternately air 505 in Fig. 5, ¶ 0024]; and the fuel nozzle is further configured to direct a second airflow out of the one or more air passages to impinge against the annular fuel flow [from 408] outside of the fuel nozzle [e.g. air from 505 is delivered to 304 for injection]. (16) a fuel system 503 configured to deliver gaseous fuel to the plurality of fuel passages. (17) a fuel system configured to deliver fuel to the plurality of fuel passages, and the fuel comprising hydrogen (H2) fuel [¶ 0018]. (18) [gas turbine engines are taught in paragraph 0003, 0017] a compressor section [not shown, inherent, also note compressed air is taught for the combustor, ¶ 0020]; a combustor section comprising the fuel nozzle; a turbine section [gas turbine]; and a flowpath extending through the compressor section, the combustor section and the turbine section from an inlet into the flowpath to an exhaust from the flowpath. (19) An apparatus for an engine, comprising: a fuel nozzle including a base end, a tip end, a center passage and a plurality of fuel passages 406, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis from the base end to the tip end; the center passage 302 extending axially within the fuel nozzle to a center passage outlet at the tip end, the center passage including an axial convergent section, an axial divergent section and a throat located axially between the axial convergent section and the axial divergent section; the plurality of fuel passages 406 arranged circumferentially around the axis, and the plurality of fuel passages comprising a first fuel passage and a second fuel passage; the first fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a first fuel passage outlet disposed along and fluidly coupled [broadly construed, fuel is injected and reaches the divergent section and is thus fluidly coupled] to the axial divergent section axially between the axial convergent section and the center passage outlet 404, and a trajectory of the first fuel passage at the first fuel passage outlet angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle equal to or less than forty-five degrees [¶ 0023]; and the second fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a second fuel passage outlet disposed along and fluidly coupled to the axial divergent section axially between the axial convergent section and the center passage outlet; wherein the fuel nozzle is configured to direct air through the center passage from the base end to the tip end without swirling around the axis. (20) An apparatus for an engine, comprising: a fuel nozzle including a base end, a tip end, a center passage and a plurality of fuel passages, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis from the base end to the tip end; the center passage 302 extending axially through the fuel nozzle from a center passage inlet at the base end to a center passage outlet at the tip end, and the center passage projecting radially out from the axis to an outer peripheral boundary of the center passage; the plurality of fuel passages 406 arranged circumferentially around the axis, and the plurality of fuel passages comprising a first fuel passage and a second fuel passage; the first fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a first fuel passage outlet disposed along an axial section of the center passage where the outer peripheral boundary has a curved sectional geometry when viewed in a reference plane parallel with the axis, and a trajectory of the first fuel passage at the first fuel passage outlet 406 angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle equal to or less than forty-five degrees [¶ 0023]; and the second fuel passage 406 extending within the fuel nozzle to a second fuel passage outlet disposed along the axial section of the center passage, wherein the fuel nozzle is configured without an air swirler in the center passage at least upstream of the first fuel passage outlet and the second fuel passage outlet.
Claim(s) 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bunker (2008/0110173). Bunker teaches (19) An apparatus for an engine, comprising: a fuel nozzle including a base end 72, a tip end 89, a center passage 74 and a plurality of fuel passages, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis from the base end to the tip end; the center passage extending axially within the fuel nozzle to a center passage outlet at the tip end, the center passage including an axial convergent section [from 72], an axial divergent section 84 and a throat located axially between the axial convergent section and the axial divergent section; the plurality of fuel passages 94, 98 arranged circumferentially around the axis, and the plurality of fuel passages comprising a first fuel passage and a second fuel passage; the first fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a first fuel passage outlet 94 disposed along and fluidly coupled to the axial divergent section 84 axially between the axial convergent section [from 72] and the center passage outlet, and a trajectory of the first fuel passage at the first fuel passage outlet 94 angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle equal to or less than forty-five degrees [see Fig. 4]; and the second fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a second fuel passage outlet disposed along and fluidly coupled to the axial divergent section axially between the axial convergent section and the center passage outlet; wherein the fuel nozzle is configured to direct air through the center passage from the base end to the tip end without swirling around the axis [note that Bunker teaches that the swirler is present “in another embodiment”. In other words, in the base embodiment, the swirler is not required, see ¶ 0033]. (20) An apparatus for an engine, comprising: a fuel nozzle including a base end, a tip end, a center passage and a plurality of fuel passages, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis from the base end to the tip end; the center passage extending axially through the fuel nozzle from a center passage inlet at the base end to a center passage outlet at the tip end, and the center passage projecting radially out from the axis to an outer peripheral boundary of the center passage; the plurality of fuel passages 94, 98 arranged circumferentially around the axis, and the plurality of fuel passages comprising a first fuel passage 99 and a second fuel passage 99; the first fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a first fuel passage outlet disposed along an axial section of the center passage where the outer peripheral boundary has a curved sectional geometry when viewed in a reference plane parallel with the axis, and a trajectory of the first fuel passage at the first fuel passage outlet 94 angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle equal to or less than forty-five degrees [Fig. 4]; and the second fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a second fuel passage outlet disposed along the axial section of the center passage, wherein the fuel nozzle is configured without an air swirler in the center passage at least upstream of the first fuel passage outlet and the second fuel passage outlet [note that Bunker teaches that the swirler is present “in another embodiment”. In other words, in the base embodiment, the swirler is not required, see ¶ 0033].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al, as applied above, and further in view of Zuo et al (2011/0197587). The prior art teach an offset angle / inclined angle for the fuel outlet(s) but do not teach it is equal to or less than forty-five degrees, or less than 30 degrees. Zuo et al teach the claimed range, i.e. fuel passage outlet is angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle equal to or less than forty-five degrees [¶ 0023]; wherein the offset angle is equal to or less than thirty degrees [as low as 20 degrees ¶ 0023] is well known in the art for the converging-diverging type nozzle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the claimed offset angle equal to or less than forty-five degrees, or less than 30 degrees, as typical range utilized in the art for facilitating fuel mixing with air in the nozzle art. Zuo et al teach (12) wherein the fuel nozzle further includes a fuel plenum 408 extending within the fuel nozzle circumferentially about the axis; and the plurality of fuel passages respectively extend within the fuel nozzle from the fuel plenum to the plurality of fuel passage outlets; (13) wherein the fuel plenum 408 is disposed radially outboard of and axially overlaps the center passage. Zuo et al teach the fuel plenum facilitates supplying fuel to the fuel passages. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (12) wherein the fuel nozzle further includes a fuel plenum extending within the fuel nozzle circumferentially about the axis; and the plurality of fuel passages respectively extend within the fuel nozzle from the fuel plenum to the plurality of fuel passage outlets; (13) wherein the fuel plenum is disposed radially outboard of and axially overlaps the center passage, as taught by Zuo et al, in order to facilitate fuel delivery to the fuel passages/outlets.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the prior art applied above, and further in view of Bunker (2008/0110173). The applied prior art are each applicable to gas turbine engines but do not necessarily illustrate it. As for in combination with Lin et al, the Examiner takes official notice that the rotating detonation combustors / engines are well known for use with gas turbine engines, including patents to both General Electric and United Technologies. Bunker teaches the gas turbine engine comprising (18) a compressor section 14; a combustor section 12 comprising the fuel nozzle; a turbine section 16; and a flowpath extending through the compressor section, the combustor section and the turbine section from an inlet into the flowpath to an exhaust from the flowpath. To the extent not already inherent, it would have been obvious to make the gas turbine with (18) a compressor section; a combustor section comprising the fuel nozzle; a turbine section; and a flowpath extending through the compressor section, the combustor section and the turbine section from an inlet into the flowpath to an exhaust from the flowpath, as the extremely conventional components of the gas turbine engine utilized in the art.
Prior Art
It is noted that additional prior art such as the Matt patent could have been applied but have not for conciseness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not generally persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amendments added by amendment to the independent claims, i.e.
(claim 1) “wherein the center passage has a center passage inlet at the base end and a center passage outlet at the tip end: and wherein the fuel nozzle is configured to direct air through the center passage from the center passage inlet to the center passage outlet without swirling around the axis”
(claim 19) “wherein the fuel nozzle is configured to direct air through the center passage from the base end to the tip end without swirling around the axis” (claim 20) “wherein the fuel nozzle is configured without an air swirler in the center passage at least upstream of the first fuel passage outlet and the second fuel passage outlet”
First for each of Lin, Zuo, Bunker applicant argues that
“Lin is silent regarding whether or not the H2/air entering the combustion chamber is swirling about a centerline axis of the combustion chamber.”
This line of argumentation is clearly flawed. First, the claim does not involve the centerline axis 26 of the combustion chamber, but rather the axis 74 of the fuel nozzle 74. See e.g. from earlier in claim 1
“the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis from the base end to the tip end; the center passage extending axially through the fuel nozzle from the base end to the tip end, and the center passage projecting uninterrupted radially out from the axis to an outer peripheral boundary of the center passage along an entire axial extent of the center passage; and the plurality of fuel passages arranged circumferentially around the axis”
Accordingly, applicant is not even arguing the correct axis.
Secondly, applicant argues that since Lin is silent on the lack of swirl, it must be taken as not present. On the contrary, “swirl” means to “to move with an eddying or whirling motion” according to https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/swirl and in this case the swirl is about the nozzle axis. Applicant’s specifically disclosed that the swirl, in the nozzle was a result of a deliberately included air swirler – see the claim interpretation section above. Consequently, the absence of an included air swirler is sufficient evidence of a lack of swirling airflow around the nozzle axis, as it is commensurate with the disclosed invention. Note that the “swirl” does not typically occur in nature, unless there is structure that causes it to occur and applicant did not identify any structure in the Lin, Zuo references which would cause the swirl to occur.
Regarding Bunker, applicant argues that since he discloses an swirler may be present, this obviates the rejection.
“[0033] In the illustrated embodiment, the incoming air is introduced in the premixing device 70 via the air inlet 72. In certain embodiments, the flow of air may be introduced through a plurality of air inlets that are disposed upstream or downstream of the circumferential slot 78 to facilitate mixing of the air and fuel within the mixing chamber 74. Similarly, the fuel may be injected at multiple locations through a plurality of slots along the length of the premixing device 70. In another embodiment, the premixing device 70 may include a swirler (not shown) disposed upstream of the device 70 for providing a swirl movement in the air introduced in the mixing chamber 74. In another embodiment, a swirler (not shown) is disposed at the fuel inlet gap for introducing swirling movement to the fuel flow across the pre-determined wall profile 80. In yet another embodiment, the air swirler may be placed at the same axial level and co-axial with the premixing device 70, at the outlet plane from the premixing device 70.”
Note that Bunker teaches that the swirler may be present “in another embodiment”. In other words, in the base embodiment, the swirler is not required, see ¶ 0033].
The Knoepfel reference has been withdrawn in light of the amended claims.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
March 3, 2026