DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 “wherein the center passage has a center passage outlet at the tip end” – which repeats limitations from claim 1 and does not appear further limiting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 9, 14, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rich (2952123). Rich teaches (1) An apparatus for an engine, comprising: a fuel nozzle [broadly, note that the overall nozzle assembly has fuel within] including a base end 1E1 66, a tip end 67 [outlet], a center passage and a plurality of fuel passages 23, 17, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis from the base end 1E1 66 to the tip end 67 [outlet]; the center passage extending axially through the fuel nozzle from the base end 1E1 66 to the tip end 67 [outlet], the center passage projecting uninterrupted radially out from the axis to an outer peripheral boundary of the center passage along an entire axial extent of the center passage the center passage has a center passage inlet at the base end 1E1 66 and a center passage outlet at the tip end 67 [outlet], and an axial section of the center passage diverges radially outwards away from the axis as the axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet; and the plurality of fuel passages 23, 17 arranged circumferentially around the axis, the plurality of fuel passages 23, 17 respectively extending within the fuel nozzle to a plurality of fuel passage outlets 17, each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets 17 disposed in a surface at the outer peripheral boundary of the center passage, and the surface axially between the base end 1E1 66 and the tip end 67 [outlet] and along the axial section [diverging nozzle section where fuel 17 is injected in Fig. 6] of the center passage; wherein the fuel nozzle is configured to direct air through the center passage from the center passage inlet to the center passage outlet without swirling around the axis. (3) wherein the fuel nozzle is configured without an air swirler in the center passage at least upstream of the plurality of fuel passage outlets 17. (4) wherein the axial section of the center passage is a second axial section [diverging, see Fig. 6]; and a first axial section 66 of the center passage converges radially inwards towards the axis as the first axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet. (6) wherein each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets 17 is disposed in the surface along the second axial section of the center passage. (9) wherein the center passage comprises a convergent-divergent passage 66, 67 [Fig. 4-6] with a throat [min. area] located axially between an axial convergent section and an axial divergent section, the axial convergent section including the axial section of the center passage; and each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets 17 is disposed along the center passage axially between the throat and the tip end 67 [outlet]. (14) wherein the center passage has a center passage outlet at the tip end 67 [outlet]; and the fuel nozzle is configured to direct a non-annular inner airflow and an outer fuel flow 17 axially out of the center passage through the center passage outlet with the outer fuel flow radially bordering the non-annular inner airflow. (16) a fuel system configured to deliver gaseous fuel [col. 3, line 11] to the plurality of fuel passages. (18) a compressor section [not shown]; a combustor section [downstream of 17] comprising the fuel nozzle; a turbine section 10; and a flowpath extending through the compressor section, the combustor section and the turbine section from an inlet into the flowpath to an exhaust from the flowpath [note this limitation only requires fluid connection via the flowpath and not necessarily the sequence of flow elements].
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 9, 14, 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chandran et al (9920926). Chandran et al teach (1) An apparatus for an engine [intended use], comprising: a fuel nozzle A including a base end 1E1, a tip end 2E1, 2A0, a center passage S1, S2 and a plurality of fuel passages 3A, 3B, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis from the base end 1E1 to the tip end 2E1, 2A0; the center passage S1, S2 extending axially through the fuel nozzle from the base end 1E1 to the tip end 2E1, 2A0, the center passage projecting uninterrupted radially out from the axis X1 to an outer peripheral boundary of the center passage along an entire axial extent of the center passage S1, S2, the center passage has a center passage inlet at the base end 1E1 and a center passage outlet at the tip end 2E1, 2A0, and an axial section S2 of the center passage diverges radially outwards away from the axis X1 as the axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet; and the plurality of fuel passages 3A, 3B arranged circumferentially around the axis, the plurality of fuel passages 3A, 3B respectively extending within the fuel nozzle to a plurality of fuel passage outlets 2A, 2B... 2G, each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets disposed in a surface at the outer peripheral boundary of the center passage S1, S2, and the surface axially between the base end 1E1 and the tip end 2E1, 2A0 and along the axial section of the center passage; wherein the fuel nozzle is configured to direct air [oxidant, note that air is most abundant and common oxidant used in combustion as well as in nature, and is thus covered by the broad disclosure of oxidant as there are no special oxidants listed or required and accordingly inherently covers “air”] through the center passage S1, S2 from the center passage inlet to the center passage outlet without swirling around the axis. (3) wherein the fuel nozzle is configured without an air swirler in the center passage at least upstream of the plurality of fuel passage outlets 2A, 2B... 2G. (4) wherein the axial section S2 of the center passage is a second axial section S2; and a first axial section S1 of the center passage converges radially inwards towards the axis as the first axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet. (6) wherein each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets 2A, 2B... 2G is disposed in the surface along the second axial section S2 of the center passage. (9) wherein the center passage S1, S2 comprises a convergent-divergent passage with a throat [between S1, S2] located axially between an axial convergent section S1 and an axial divergent section S2, the axial convergent section including the axial section of the center passage; and each of the plurality of fuel passage outlets 2A, 2B... 2G is disposed along the center passage axially between the throat and the tip end 2E1, 2A0. (14) wherein the center passage has a center passage outlet at the tip end 2E1, 2A0; and the fuel nozzle is configured to direct a non-annular inner airflow and an outer fuel flow 2A, 2B, … 2G axially out of the center passage through the center passage outlet with the outer fuel flow radially bordering the non-annular inner airflow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 9-17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandran et al (9920926) in view of Zuo et al (2011/0197587) and for claim 20 further in view of either Knoepfel (8057224) or Kasuga et al (2024/0183537) and for claim 15 optionally in view of Kasuga et al (2024/0183537). Chandran et al teach an oxidant, and inherently covers air, as the most typical and commonly used oxidant used for combustion purposes. Alternately, as air is the most abundant oxidant and of little to no cost, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the oxidant air, as air is the most abundant oxidant and of little to no cost. Chandran et al further teach (19) An apparatus for an engine [intended use], comprising: a fuel nozzle A including a base end 1E1, a tip end 2E1, 2A0, a center passage S1, S2 and a plurality of fuel passages 3A, 3B, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis X1 from the base end 1E1 to the tip end 2E1, 2A0; the center passage S1, S2 extending axially within the fuel nozzle to a center passage outlet at the tip end 2E1, 2A0, the center passage including an axial convergent section, an axial divergent section and a throat [between S1, S2] located axially between the axial convergent section and the axial divergent section; the plurality of fuel passages 3A, 3B arranged circumferentially around the axis X1, and the plurality of fuel passages 3A, 3B comprising a first fuel passage 3A and a second fuel passage 3B; the first fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a first fuel passage outlet 2A, the first fuel passage outlet 2A disposed along and fluidly coupled to the axial divergent section axially between the throat [between S1, S2] and the center passage outlet, and a trajectory of the first fuel passage at the first fuel passage outlet 2A angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle; and the second fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a second fuel passage outlet 2B, and the second fuel passage outlet 2B disposed along and fluidly coupled to the axial divergent section axially between the throat [between S1, S2] and the center passage outlet; wherein the fuel nozzle is configured to direct air [oxidant, see analysis of claim 1] through the center passage from the base end 1E1 to the tip end 2E1, 2A0 without swirling around the axis X1. (20) An apparatus for an engine [intended use], comprising: a fuel nozzle A including a base end 1E1, a tip end 2E1, 2A0, a center passage S1, S2 and a plurality of fuel passages 3A, 3B, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis X1 from the base end 1E1 to the tip end 2E1, 2A0; the center passage S1, S2 extending axially through the fuel nozzle from a center passage inlet at the base end 1E1 to a center passage outlet at the tip end 2E1, 2A0, and the center passage projecting radially out from the axis X1 to an outer peripheral boundary of the center passage; the plurality of fuel passages 3A, 3B arranged circumferentially around the axis X1, and the plurality of fuel passages 3A, 3B comprising a first fuel passage and a second fuel passage; the first fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a first fuel passage outlet 2A, the first fuel outlet disposed along an axial section of the center passage S1, S2 where the outer peripheral boundary has a sectional geometry diverging radially outwards away from the axis as the axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet when viewed in a reference plane parallel with the axis, and a trajectory of the first fuel passage at the first fuel passage outlet 2A angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle equal ; and the second fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a second fuel passage outlet 2B, and the second fuel passage outlet 2B disposed along the axial section of the center passage; wherein the fuel nozzle is configured without an air swirler in the center passage at least upstream of the first fuel passage outlet and the second fuel passage outlet.
The prior art teach an offset angle / inclined angle for the fuel outlet(s) but do not teach it is equal to or less than forty-five degrees, or less than 30 degrees for claims 10, 11, 19, 20. Zuo et al teach the claimed range, i.e. fuel passage outlet is angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle equal to or less than forty-five degrees [¶ 0023]; wherein the offset angle is equal to or less than thirty degrees [as low as 20 degrees ¶ 0023] is well known in the art for the converging-diverging type nozzle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the claimed offset angle equal to or less than forty-five degrees, or less than 30 degrees, as typical range utilized in the art for facilitating fuel mixing with air in the nozzle art.
Chandran et al do not teach the outer peripheral boundary has a curved sectional geometry (claim 20). Knoepfel teaches a curved sectional geometry 4 diverging radially outwards away from the axis A as the axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet. Knoepfel teaches the curved sectional geometry 4 acts as a diffuser downstream of a throat [col. 5, lines 55-58] for flow contouring. Kasuga teaches a curved sectional geometry 2e diverging radially outwards away from the axis as the axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet 2d. Kasuga teaches that the curve allows for slowing the air/fuel mixture in section 2e and smoothly expanding the flow for more uniform fuel dispersal [Fig. 4C ¶ 0013]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a curved sectional geometry vs one using straight lines, as taught by either Knoepfel or Kasuga, as a typical diverging geometry typically used in the art for diverging sections in which smooth area changes / expansion / and uniform fuel dispersal or for flow contouring.
Chandran et al do not teach (12) wherein the fuel nozzle further includes a fuel plenum extending within the fuel nozzle circumferentially about the axis; and the plurality of fuel passages respectively extend within the fuel nozzle from the fuel plenum to the plurality of fuel passage outlets; (13) wherein the fuel plenum is disposed radially outboard of and axially overlaps the center passage. Zuo et al teach (12) wherein the fuel nozzle further includes a fuel plenum 408 extending within the fuel nozzle circumferentially about the axis; and the plurality of fuel passages respectively extend within the fuel nozzle from the fuel plenum to the plurality of fuel passage outlets; (13) wherein the fuel plenum 408 is disposed radially outboard of and axially overlaps the center passage. Zuo et al teach the fuel plenum facilitates supplying fuel to the fuel passages. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (12) wherein the fuel nozzle further includes a fuel plenum extending within the fuel nozzle circumferentially about the axis; and the plurality of fuel passages respectively extend within the fuel nozzle from the fuel plenum to the plurality of fuel passage outlets; (13) wherein the fuel plenum is disposed radially outboard of and axially overlaps the center passage, as taught by Zuo et al, in order to facilitate fuel delivery to the fuel passages/outlets. Chandran et al does not teach (15) wherein the fuel nozzle further comprises one or more air passages; and the fuel nozzle is further configured to direct a second airflow out of the one or more air passages to impinge against the annular fuel flow outside of the fuel nozzle. Zuo et al teach (15) wherein the fuel nozzle further comprises one or more air passages [to the applied fuel nozzles’ 302; alternately air 505 in Fig. 5, ¶ 0024]; and the fuel nozzle is further configured to direct a second airflow out of the one or more air passages to impinge against the annular fuel flow [from 408] outside of the fuel nozzle [e.g. air from 505 is delivered to 304 for injection]. Zuo et al teach the air facilitates at least cooling of the nozzle assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (15) wherein the fuel nozzle further comprises one or more air passages; and the fuel nozzle is further configured to direct a second airflow out of the one or more air passages to impinge against the annular fuel flow outside of the fuel nozzle, as taught by Zuo et al, to facilitate at least cooling of the nozzle assembly to facilitate even more uniform mixing. Alternately, Kasuga et al teach (15) wherein the fuel nozzle further comprises one or more air passages 6a [Fig. 9]; and the fuel nozzle 2 is further configured to direct a second airflow out of the one or more air passages 6a to impinge against the annular fuel flow outside of the fuel nozzle. Kasuga teach this configuration of adding the additional impinging air is an addition to the base embodiment of the preceding embodiments and facilitates even more uniform mixing [¶ 0061]. It would have been alternately been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (15) wherein the fuel nozzle further comprises one or more air passages; and the fuel nozzle is further configured to direct a second airflow out of the one or more air passages to impinge against the annular fuel flow outside of the fuel nozzle, as taught by Kasuga et al to facilitate even more uniform mixing. Chandran et al do not teach (16) a fuel system configured to deliver gaseous fuel to the plurality of fuel passages; (17) a fuel system configured to deliver fuel to the plurality of fuel passages, and the fuel comprising hydrogen (H2) fuel. Zuo et al teach (16) a fuel system 503 configured to deliver gaseous fuel to the plurality of fuel passages; (17) a fuel system configured to deliver fuel to the plurality of fuel passages, and the fuel comprising hydrogen (H2) fuel [¶ 0018] which facilitates using low emissions fuel (combustion of hydrogen produces only steam). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ gaseous fuel, including hydrogen, as taught by Zuo et al, in order to utilize typical fuels utilized in the pulse combustor art and which have the benefit of low emissions.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandran et al (9920926) alone or in combination, as applied above, and further in view of Li et al (2022/0275943). Chandran et al teach a combustor section comprising the fuel nozzle but do not teach (18) a compressor section; a turbine section; and a flowpath extending through the compressor section, the combustor section and the turbine section from an inlet into the flowpath to an exhaust from the flowpath and further treat for an engine as intended use [preamble of independent claims]. Li et al teach a (18) a compressor section; a combustor section comprising the fuel nozzle; a turbine section; and a flowpath extending through the compressor section, the combustor section and the turbine section from an inlet into the flowpath to an exhaust from the flowpath [see ¶ 0004, 0031] used with an analogous combustor in an engine. Li et al teach that by using a compressor and turbine, that power can be generated from the combustor and is used for an engine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (18) a compressor section; a combustor section comprising the fuel nozzle; a turbine section; and a flowpath extending through the compressor section, the combustor section and the turbine section from an inlet into the flowpath to an exhaust from the flowpath, i.e. use the combustor of Chandran et al for an engine, as taught by Li et al, in order to generate power from the combustor of Chandran et al.
Claim(s) 10, 11, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rich (2952123), as applied above, and further in view of Marcel et al (2812636). Rich teaches (19) An apparatus for an engine, comprising: a fuel nozzle including a base end 1E1 66, a tip end 67 [outlet], a center passage and a plurality of fuel passages 23, 17, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis from the base end 1E1 66 to the tip end; the center passage extending axially within the fuel nozzle to a center passage outlet at the tip end 67 [outlet], the center passage including an axial convergent section 66, an axial divergent section 67 and a throat [min. area] located axially between the axial convergent section and the axial divergent section; the plurality of fuel passages 23, 17 arranged circumferentially around the axis, and the plurality of fuel passages 23, 17 comprising a first fuel passage and a second fuel passage; the first fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a first fuel passage outlet 17, the first fuel passage outlet 17 disposed along and fluidly coupled to the axial divergent section axially between the throat [min. area] and the center passage outlet, and a trajectory of the first fuel passage at the first fuel passage outlet 17 angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle ; and the second fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a second fuel passage outlet 17, and the second fuel passage outlet 17 disposed along and fluidly coupled to the axial divergent section axially between the throat [min. area] and the center passage outlet; wherein the fuel nozzle is configured to direct air through the center passage from the base end 1E1 66 to the tip end 67 [outlet] without swirling around the axis. (20) An apparatus for an engine, comprising: a fuel nozzle including a base end 1E1 66, a tip end 67 [outlet], a center passage and a plurality of fuel passages 23, 17, the fuel nozzle extending axially along an axis from the base end 1E1 66 to the tip end 67 [outlet]; the center passage extending axially through the fuel nozzle from a center passage inlet at the base end 1E1 66 to a center passage outlet at the tip end 67 [outlet], and the center passage projecting radially out from the axis to an outer peripheral boundary of the center passage; the plurality of fuel passages 23, 17 arranged circumferentially around the axis, and the plurality of fuel passages 23, 17 comprising a first fuel passage and a second fuel passage; the first fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a first fuel passage outlet 17, the first fuel outlet 17 disposed along an axial section of the center passage where the outer peripheral boundary has a sectional geometry 67 diverging radially outwards away from the axis as the axial section extends axially towards the center passage outlet when viewed in a reference plane parallel with the axis, and a trajectory of the first fuel passage at the first fuel passage outlet 17 angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle ; and the second fuel passage extending within the fuel nozzle to a second fuel passage outlet 17, and the second fuel passage outlet 17 disposed along the axial section of the center passage; wherein the fuel nozzle is configured without an air swirler in the center passage at least upstream of the first fuel passage outlet and the second fuel passage outlet.
Rich also teaches (10) wherein the plurality of fuel passages 23, 17 comprises a first fuel passage, and the plurality of fuel passage outlets 17 comprises a first fuel passage outlet for the first fuel passage; and a trajectory of the first fuel passage at the first fuel passage outlet is angularly offset from the axis by an offset angle.
Rich does not teach offset angle is equal to or less than forty-five degrees; (11) wherein the offset angle is equal to or less than thirty degrees. Marcel et al teach [Fig. 1] teaches that the plurality of passages 2 with passage outlets 1 a trajectory of the first fuel passage 2 at the first fuel passage outlet angularly offset 1 from the axis by an offset angle equal to or less than forty-five degrees and wherein the offset angle is equal to or less than thirty degrees, as illustrated in Fig. 1. Marcel et al is analogous to Rich in that the passages are in the diverging axial section and also used to deflect the exhaust gas by the pressurized fluid and it is noted that the fuel of Rich also constitutes a pressurized fluid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ an offset angle is equal to or less than forty-five degrees, and e.g. equal to or less than thirty degrees, as taught by Marcel et al, as a typical range used in the art for deflecting the exhaust gas. Rich also does not teach the outer peripheral boundary has a curved sectional geometry (claim 20). Marcel et al teach (20) the outer peripheral boundary has a curved sectional geometry [see e.g. between B to C in Fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a curved sectional geometry, as typically used in the art for the nozzle, for aerodynamic purposes or streamlining of the nozzle as typically done in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s)have been considered but are generally moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. For example, Applicant’s arguments concerning Zuo are from the standpoint of anticipation; however, Zuo is no longer applied as a 102 rejection but only as a teaching reference. The base Chandran et al reference already teaches the fuel injection in the diverging section
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
August 6, 2026