DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed December 2, 2025 has been received, Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-12 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuerst (US 2018/0249787) in view of Krengel (US 2016/0270482).
Regarding Claim 1, Fuerst discloses an article of footwear (100) comprising: a sole structure (102); and an upper (106) fixedly attached to the sole structure (para.34), the upper configured to transition between at least one tightening configuration and at least one loosening configuration (para.77), and the upper comprising: a vamp (108 between toe end and 124b/124f & 110b,c,e,f in forefoot & midfoot) disposed at a forefoot region and a mid-foot region of the article of footwear (as seen in Fig.1); an ankle opening (136) operative to allow a wearer to extend a foot into an interior volume of the upper (para.49); a throat (108 between 136 and 124b/124f & 110a,d) extending from the ankle opening toward the vamp (as seen in Fig.1); and a closure mechanism (120,210,216) configured to adjust a maximum size of the ankle opening and tightness of the upper (para.77), the closure mechanism comprising: an adjustable lace (210) having a first end (210 at 136) disposed adjacent the ankle opening and a second end (210 at 218) disposed adjacent the vamp and opposite the first end (as seen in Fig.1), wherein the adjustable lace operatively connects a lateral portion of the article of footwear and a medial portion of the article of footwear along the throat (as seen in Fig.1); a first toggle (120) coupled to the adjustable lace at the first end (para.76); a tightening portion (216) coupled to the first end of the adjustable lace, the tightening portion configured to transition the upper to a tightening position via pulling the tightening portion in a second pulling direction (i.e. vertical pulling). Fuerst does not disclose a second toggle coupled to the adjustable lace at the second end and a loosening portion coupled to the second end of the adjustable lace, the loosening portion configured to transition the upper to a loosening position via pulling the loosening portion in a first pulling direction to loosen the adjustable lace at the first end of the adjustable lace adjacent to the ankle opening, wherein the loosening position is configured for insertion and removal of a foot. However, Krengel teaches an upper having a first fastener (120a,120b) at a first end of an adjustable lace (100); and a second toggle (324; para.191) coupled to the adjustable lace at a second end and a loosening portion (ends of 102,104) coupled to the second end of the adjustable lace, the loosening portion configured to transition the upper to a loosening position via pulling the loosening portion in a first pulling direction (i.e. horizontal pulling) to loosen the adjustable lace at the first end of the adjustable lace adjacent to the ankle opening (i.e. pulling 102,104 when 120a & 120b are released would “loosen” the lace, inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant), wherein the loosening position is configured for insertion and removal of a foot (i.e. horizontal pulling) (para.191; as seen in Fig.3C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adjustable lace of Fuerst to have a second toggle and loosening portion, as taught by Krengel, in order to provide a footwear with dual adjustability to customize the fit for a wide, medium, or narrow foot, as needed by an individual user.
Regarding Claim 2, Fuerst discloses an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the closure mechanism further includes: a plurality of lace guides (202, 204, 206, 302, 304, 306), wherein the plurality of lace guides are disposed on each of the medial portion of the article of footwear and the lateral portion of the article of footwear, wherein the adjustable lace is routed through the plurality of lace guides (as seen in Fig.1).
Regarding Claim 3, Fuerst discloses an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the first toggle (120) is disposed adjacent the ankle opening (136) and fixedly attached to the upper (i.e. as 120 is permanently attached to the footwear, it is fixedly attached to the upper, inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 4, When in combination, Fuerst and Krengel teach an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the second toggle (of Krengel) is disposed adjacent the vamp (of Fuerst; Fig.1).
Regarding Claim 5, Fuerst discloses an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the loosening portion (216) is a pull tab (para.106).
Regarding Claim 6, When in combination, Fuerst and Krengel teach an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the tightening portion (Krengel: ends of 102,104) is a pull tab (i.e. the end portions of 102,104 are a pull tab, inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant in that they are capable of being pulled).
Regarding Claim 7, When in combination, Fuerst and Krengel teach an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the tightening portion (of Fuerst) is configured to transition the upper to the tightening position via pulling the tightening portion (of Fuerst l) in the second pulling direction (i.e. vertical pulling). It is noted that “the tightening portion is configured to transition the upper to the tightening position” is functional and does not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead requires an ability to so perform and/or function. Fuerst and Krengel disclose the structure as claimed and therefore would have a reasonable expectation of performing such function.
Regarding Claim 8, When in combination, Fuerst and Krengel teach an article of footwear of claim 7, wherein the loosening portion (of Krengel) is configured to transition the upper to the loosening position via pulling the tightening portion in the first pulling direction (i.e. horizontal pulling). It is noted that “the loosening portion is configured to transition the upper to the loosening position” is functional and does not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead requires an ability to so perform and/or function. Fuerst and Krengel disclose the structure as claimed and therefore would have a reasonable expectation of performing such function.
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Fuerst discloses an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the first pulling direction (i.e. horizontal pulling) is substantially parallel to an axis (i.e. longitudinal axis from the toe to the heel) extending from a posterior end of the article of footwear to an anterior end of the article of footwear (as seen in Fig.2).
Regarding Claim 10, Fuerst discloses an article of footwear of claim 9, wherein the second pulling direction (i.e. vertical pulling) is substantially perpendicular to the axis (i.e. longitudinal axis extending from the heel to the toe; as evidenced by Fig.2).
Regarding Claim 11, When in combination, Fuerst and Krengel teach an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the first toggle (Fuerst: 120) includes one or more apertures (Fuerst: as seen in Fig.1 & 4), wherein the second toggle includes one or more apertures (as seen in Fig.3C of Krengel, there are two apertures, one on either side of 324 to receive 104 & 102), and wherein the adjustable lace (Fuerst: 210) is routed through the one or more apertures of the first toggle and the one or more apertures of the second toggle (Fuerst: Fig.1 & Krengel: Fig.3C).
Regarding Claim 12, When in combination, Fuerst and Krengel teach an article of footwear of claim 11, wherein the one of more apertures of the first toggle (Fuerst: 120) includes at least two apertures ( Fuerst:as seen in Fig.1 & 4), the first end of the adjustable lace (Fuerst: 210) routed through the at least two apertures of the first toggle forming a loop (Fuerst: as seen in Fig.1), and wherein the one or more apertures of the second toggle includes at least two apertures (as seen in Fig.3C of Krengel, there are two apertures, one on either side of 324 to receive 104 & 102), the second end of the adjustable lace routed through the at least two apertures of the second toggle forming a second loop (Fuerst: Fig.1 & Krengel: Fig.3C).
Regarding Claim 19, Fuerst discloses a closure mechanism comprising: an adjustable lace (210) extending from a first end (i.e. at 136) and a second end (i.e. at 218) opposite the first end, the adjustable lace forming a closed loop between the first end and the second (as seen in Fig.1); a first toggle (120) coupled to the adjustable lace at the first end; and a tightening portion (216) coupled to the first end of the adjustable lace, the tightening portion configured to pull the adjustable lace in a second pulling direction to tighten the entirety of the adjustable lace (para.77). Fuerst does not disclose a second toggle coupled to the adjustable lace at the second end; and a loosening portion coupled to the second end of the adjustable lace, the loosening portion configured to pull the adjustable lace in a first pulling direction to loosen an entirety of the adjustable lace. However, Krengel teaches closure mechanism having a first fastener (120a,120b) at a first end of an adjustable lace (100); and a second toggle (324; para.191) coupled to the adjustable lace at a second end and a loosening portion (ends of 102,104) coupled to the second end of the adjustable lace, the loosening portion configured to pull the adjustable lace in a first pulling direction (i.e. horizontal pulling) to loosen an entirety of the adjustable lace (para.191; as seen in Fig.3C; i.e. pulling 102,104 when 120a & 120b are released would “loosen” the lace, inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adjustable lace of Fuerst to have a second toggle and tightening portion, as taught by Krengel, in order to provide a closure mechanism with dual adjustability to customize the fit for a wide, medium, or narrow foot, as needed by an individual user.
Regarding Claim 20, Fuerst discloses an article of footwear including the closure mechanism of claim 19 (Abstract; as seen in Fig.1-2).
2. Claim(s) 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuerst (US 2018/0249787) and Krengel (US 2016/0270482), in view of Yun (US 2022/0015509).
Regarding Claim 13, Fuerst discloses an article of footwear (100) comprising: an upper (106) configured to transition between at least one tightened configuration and at least one loosened configuration (para.77), and the upper comprising: a vamp (108 between toe end and 124b/124f & 110b,c,e,f in forefoot & midfoot) disposed at a forefoot region and a mid-foot region of the article of footwear (as seen in Fig.1); an ankle opening (136) operative to allow a wearer to extend a foot into an interior volume of the upper (para.49); a tongue (108 between 136 and 124b/124f & 110a,d & 154 is a tongue portion, inasmuch as has been claimed and disclosed by Applicant, which shows an integral tongue portion) extending from the vamp to the ankle opening (as seen in Fig.1); and a closure mechanism (120,210,216) configured to transition the upper between a tightening position and a loosening position (para.77), the closure mechanism comprising: an adjustable lace (210) having a first end (210 at 136) disposed adjacent the ankle opening and a second end (210 at 218) disposed adjacent the vamp and opposite the first end (as seen in Fig.1), wherein the adjustable lace operatively connects a lateral portion of the article of footwear and a medial portion of the article of footwear (as seen in Fig.1); a plurality of lace guides (202, 204, 206, 302, 304, 306) including an anchor end (i.e. end at 102) and a loop end (i.e. loop containing 210), the adjustable lace routed through the loop end of the plurality of lace guides (as seen in Fig.1); a first toggle (120) coupled to the adjustable lace at the first end, wherein the first toggle includes a locking mechanism (para.76; i.e. button on 120, as seen in Fig.3 & 4); a tightening portion (216) disposed at the first end of the adjustable lace (as seen in Fig.1). Fuerst does not disclose a second toggle coupled to the adjustable lace at the second end; and a loosening portion disposed at the second end of the adjustable lace. However, Krengel teaches an upper having a first fastener (120a,120b) at a first end of an adjustable lace (100); and a second toggle (324; para.191) coupled to the adjustable lace at a second end and a loosening portion (ends of 102,104) disposed at the second end of the adjustable lace (para.191; as seen in Fig.3C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adjustable lace of Fuerst to have a second toggle and tightening portion, as taught by Krengel, in order to provide a footwear with dual adjustability to customize the fit for a wide, medium, or narrow foot, as needed by an individual user.
Fuerst and Krengel disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Fuerst and Krengel do not disclose wherein the second toggle omits a locking mechanism. However, Yun teaches a shoe upper with an adjustable lace having a toggle (44) omitting a locking mechanism (para.41; as seen in Fig.4 & 6B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the toggle of modified Krengel for the toggle omitting a locking mechanism of Yun, as a simple substitution of one well known type of toggle for another, in order to yield the predictable result of providing a securing mechanism for the lace. Further, it is noted that Applicant has no criticality for the use of a toggle with or without a locking mechanism, as stated in para.39-41 of the instant Specification.
Regarding Claim 14, Krengel further teaches an article of footwear of claim 13, wherein the tightening portion (ends of 102,104) is configured to transition the upper to the tightening position via pulling the tightening portion in a first pulling direction (i.e. horizontal pulling), the first pulling direction being any direction away from the upper (para.191; as seen in Fig.3C). It is noted that “the tightening portion is configured to transition the upper to the tightening position” is functional and does not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead requires an ability to so perform and/or function. Fuerst and Krengel disclose the structure as claimed and therefore would have a reasonable expectation of performing such function.
Regarding Claim 15, Fuerst discloses an article of footwear of claim 13, wherein the loosening portion (216) is a loop formed by the second end of the adjustable lace (as seen in Fig.1, 216 forms a loop of 210).
Regarding Claim 16, Fuerst discloses an article of footwear of claim 15, wherein the tightening portion (216) is configured to transition the upper to the tightening position via pulling the tightening portion in a second pulling direction (i.e. vertical pulling), the second pulling direction being any direction away from the upper (as seen in Fig.1-3). It is noted that “the loosening portion is configured to transition the upper to the loosening position” is functional and does not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead requires an ability to so perform and/or function. Fuerst and Krengel disclose the structure as claimed and therefore would have a reasonable expectation of performing such function.
Regarding Claim 17, Fuerst discloses an article of footwear of claim 13, wherein the plurality of lace guides (202, 204, 206, 302, 304, 306) are disposed on each of a lateral side of the article of footwear and a medial side of the article of footwear (as seen in Fig.1).
Regarding Claim 18, Fuerst discloses an article of footwear of claim 17, wherein the plurality of lace guides on the lateral side of the article of footwear includes three lace guides (202,204,206) extending along the tongue, and wherein the plurality of lace guides on the medial side of the article of footwear includes three lace guides (302,304,306) extending along the tongue (as seen in Fig.1).
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, newly modified grounds of rejection, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but, as they are drawn solely to the newly amended limitations, are moot in view of the newly modified grounds of rejection and the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732