DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a supply unit for outputting a fluid according to a pulsed control signal specifying a preset pressure and a preset flow rate” and a “fluid receiving device is configured to receive, through the switching unit, the fluid output by the supply unit” in claims 1 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorfler et alia (US Patent Application Publication US 2020/0368092 A1), hereinafter “Dorfler” in view of Skendzel (US Patent Number 9,248,073).
Re claim 1, Dorfler discloses a pulsed pressure control system, comprising: a supply unit (upper left pump in Fig. 1) for outputting a fluid according to a pulsed control signal specifying a preset pressure and a preset flow rate; a switching unit (any of valves 14) in a form of a switch; a first path (shown in Fig. 1 between pump and valve 14) connected between the supply unit and the switching unit; a second path (16) having an end connected to the switching unit; a fluid receiving device (6) connected to an opposite end of the second path, the switching unit being located between the first path and the second path (see Fig. 1), wherein the fluid receiving device is configured to receive, through the switching unit, the fluid output by the supply unit (see para [0021]); and a return path (that starts in the supply and return valve 14 with the return shown as the diagonal path in valve 14); wherein after the switching unit is used to cut off communication between the first path and the second path, turning on the supply unit allows the fluid to be supplied to the first path, increases a volume of the fluid on the first path, and eventually pressurizes the fluid on the first path; when the switching unit is subsequently switched on to allow the communication between the first path and the second path, the pressurized fluid is instantaneously released to the fluid receiving device through the second path such that an interior volume of the fluid receiving device is changed (see Fig. 1 and para [0021]).
Dorfler is silent as to where the return path goes to when the fluid receiving device is releasing pressure when the valves (14) are in the position shown in Fig. 1.
Skendzel discloses a similar pulsed pneumatic pressure control device (see Figs. 1 and 4). Fig. 1 shows the pump (102). The first path is 108 (or 410 in Fig. 4). The second path is 114 (or leading from 424 in Fig. 4) leading to the pressurized device that receives the air. Fig. 4 discloses a return path that starts at port 418 leading to line 412 (110 in Fig. 1) which leads back to the pump 102.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the return line (110 or 412) of Skendzel in the pulsed pressure control system of Dorfler in order to have a closed system for the air as opposed to venting the air to atmosphere. Such a combination discloses a return path connecting the switching unit to the supply unit and when the switching unit is subsequently used to allow communication between the second path and the return path, the fluid receiving device releases a pressure therein by allowing the fluid in the fluid receiving device to flow to the supply unit through the second path, the switching unit, and the return path.
Re claim 2, the modified Dorfler discloses the pulsed pressure control system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the supply unit is a pump, and the fluid receiving device (6 in Dorfler) is an air bag or an air pocket.
Re claim 3, the modified Dorfler discloses the pulsed pressure control system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the switching unit is a solenoid valve, an electromagnet, a motor-controlled distribution valve, or a piezoelectric valve (Skendzel explicitly discloses the valve as a solenoid valve, see Figs. 1 and 4).
Re claim 9, the modified Dorfler discloses the pulsed pressure control system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the supply unit has an output end and an input end, the output end is connected to the first path (see Dorfler, Fig. 1 or Skendzel, Figs. 1 and 4), and the input end is connected to a gas supply (i.e. the air in the return line in the modification as set forth with respect to claim 1).
Re claim 10, the modified Dorfler discloses the pulsed pressure control system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first path, the second path, and the return path are defined by tube-based communication devices (the air lines shown in both references are considered tube-based as air flow through them). Alternatively, or additionally, the examiner takes official notice that fluid lines being tube-based is old and well in the art and one would use tube-based communication devices in order to pass air through the system.
Re claim 11, the modified Dorfler discloses the pulsed pressure control system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first path has a tube pressure greater than a tube pressure of the second path during a pressurization stage (before the valve is open in the supply mode, the pressure from the pump has the first path at a greater pressure than the second path), and the tube pressure of the second path is greater than a tube pressure of the return path during a pressure release stage (until the valve is moved to the return position, the pressure in the second path is greater than the pressure in the return path).
Re claim 12, the modified Dorfler discloses a pulsed pressure control method, applied to a pulsed pressure control system comprising: a supply unit for outputting a fluid according to a pulsed control signal specifying a preset pressure and a preset flow rate; a switching unit; a first path connected between the supply unit and the switching unit; a second path having an end connected to the switching unit; a fluid receiving device connected to an opposite end of the second path, the switching unit being located between the first path and the second path, wherein the fluid receiving device is configured to receive, through the switching unit, the fluid output by the supply unit; and a return path connecting the switching unit to the supply unit; the pulsed pressure control method comprising the steps of: cutting off communication between the first path and the second path, by the switching unit; turning on the supply unit in order for the fluid to be supplied to the first path, thereby increasing a volume of the fluid on the first path and eventually pressurizing the fluid on the first path; switching on the switching unit to allow the communication between the first path and the second path, in order for the pressurized fluid to be instantaneously released to the fluid receiving device through the second path to change an interior volume of the fluid receiving device; and allowing communication between the second path and the return path, by the switching unit; and releasing a pressure in the fluid receiving device by allowing the fluid in the fluid receiving device to flow to the supply unit through the second path, the switching unit, and the return path. Note that the method is the use of the apparatus as set forth in claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kern, Fox, and Kishi disclose similar pulsed pressure control system where pumped air is pulsed to air bags with a switch valve controlling the flow.
/ERIC KEASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753