Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koirala et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2026/0040345 A1) in view of Bhamri et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2025/0350996 A1).
1, Koirala teaches a reader device for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory [par 0433, A processor in association with software may be used to implement a radio frequency transceiver for use in a WTRU, WTRU, terminal, base station, RNC, or any host computer];
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the reader device to: transmit, to an Internet of Things (IoT) device [par 0004, A UE may be configured to perform the functions of a reader or an intermediate UE. The UE may send an AIoT paging message an AIoT device to request information, such as during an inventory procedure],
a first message that comprises a proximity request; receive, from the IoT device, a second message that comprises a proximity response [par 0004, To respond to the request, the AIoT device may perform an access procedure. To enable AIoT devices to respond to requests and/or initiate communication with the UE, the access procedure may be defined];
and determine the proximity of the reader device to the IoT device based on the second message [par 0177, The first assistance information may comprise other reader's information. The other readers information may include the number of other readers in proximity of the UE, the reader IDs (e.g., UE IDs) of the readers in proximity, or the reader's locations].
Koirala fail to show a first message that comprises a proximity request. In an analogous art Bhamri show a first message that comprises a proximity request [par 0034, a determination of proximity of the ambient IoT device relative to transmit reader may be based on an “end-to-end” trip time. For example, a time of flight (e.g., the trip time) may be defined as a R2D trip time from the transmit reader to the ambient IoT device plus a processing delay margin at the ambient IoT device plus a D2R trip time from the ambient IoT device to the receive reader. The total time of flight may be used to determine the proximity for at least the transmit reader by comparing it against a threshold total flight time].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Koirala and Bhamri because it is beneficial to clarify that a proximity determination may be used to determine whether the ambient IoT device is close (e.g., “near”) to the reader (e.g., base station or intermediate UE).
2, Koirala and Bhamri disclose the reader device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the reader device to: receive a third message from a core network node that comprises one or more criteria to determine the proximity of the reader device to the IoT device [Koirala par 0181, The UE may receive an indication from the network to transmit its capability];
and transmit a fourth message that indicates the determined proximity to the core network node [par 0181-0190, 0204, The UE may reply with a capability indication 902. Optionally, the UE may transmit the capability unsolicited. The UE may determine to initiate the first procedure based on receiving an indication from the network for initiating the random-access procedure (e.g., resource ID, assistance information ID, access window IDs, etc., via DCI, MAC-CE) 903. In one example, the device may receive a set of reader IDs and associated information (e.g., reader location, parameters for random access procedure, time windows). In one example, the set of reader IDs may be associated with the same resource IDs].
3, Koirala and Bhamri illustrate the reader device of claim 2, wherein the one or more criteria comprises a distance threshold value between the reader device and the IoT device [Koirala par 0272, The UE may be configured to report an overload event when the number of readers in the vicinity or proximity (e.g., within a (pre) configured distance from the UE location) is above a (pre) configured threshold].
4, Koirala and Bhamri convey the reader device of claim 1, wherein the first message comprises identity information for the IoT device [Koirala, par 0196, 0197, The device may receive at least one of the following configuration information and/or assistance information from the UE: Reader ID (e.g., UE ID), resource IDs, relationship between the resource IDs, order or resource IDs, time resources, frequency resources, access time window configuration (e.g., access window ID, start time, stop time, etc.), modulation and/or encoding for R2D and D2R messages, number of time occasions (e.g., Q-value), number of frequency occasions, time slot indication (e.g., indicated by the UE, determined by the device), R2D and/or D2R transmission timings, transmission power, transmission beam. Upon access initiation, the UE may send the resource ID configurations to the devices. This may be included in the paging message itself, or may be sent previously. The device may receive the configuration from one or more readers].
5, Koirala and Bhamri demonstrate the reader device of claim 1, wherein, to determine the proximity of the reader device to the IoT device, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the reader device to: measure a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) associated with the second message [par 0244, The UE may be configured to perform measurements (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal to noise interference ratio (SINR), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) etc.) during the occasions];
and determine a distance between the reader device and the IoT device based on the measured RSSI [par 0177, 0293, The second assistance information may include reader IDs, and associated information (e.g., reader location): The UE may receive one or more reader IDs (e.g., UE IDs, TRP IDs) from the network].
6, Koirala and Bhamri reveals the reader device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the reader device to determine that the proximity of the reader device satisfies one or more criteria [Koirala, par 0340, The UE may determine to transmit with a certain transmission power based on the reader location (e.g., the distance between the UE and other readers, the UE zone ID, geographical location, etc.)].
7, Koirala and Bhamri define the reader device of claim 6, Koirala fail to show wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the reader device to: transmit a message that indicates the determined proximity to a network entity in response to the one or more criteria being satisfied.
In an analogous art Bhamri show wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the reader device to: transmit a message that indicates the determined proximity to a network entity in response to the one or more criteria being satisfied [par 0040, By way of example embodiments, a first example (Example 1) is a method at a first device, the first device is determined to be “end-to-end near” to a second device if the first device transmits to the second device and is able to satisfy a “first receive condition” for the corresponding response from the second device, or “R2D near” to a second device if the first device transmits to the second device and is able to satisfy a “second first receive condition” for the corresponding response from the second device].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Koirala and Bhamri because it is beneficial to clarify that a proximity determination may be used to determine whether the ambient IoT device is close (e.g., “near”) to the reader (e.g., base station or intermediate UE). [Bhamri par 0028]
8, Koirala and Bhamri display the reader device of claim 1, wherein the reader device is a user equipment (UE) [Koirala, par 0003, The reader may be a UE. The tag may optionally communicate with an intermediate node, which may be a UE].
9, Koirala and Bhamri reveal the reader device of claim 1, Koirala fail to show wherein the reader device is a network entity.
In an analogous art Bhamri to show wherein the reader device is a network entity [par 0026, 0028, As illustrated in FIG. 1A, a scenario for Topology 1 (DIT1-A1), may include a first reader and/or CW node 102, a device 104 and a second reader 112 (the CW node may be included this scenario). The first reader and/or CW node 102 may forward information to/communicate with the device 104 via carrier wave-to-device (CW2D) communication or via reader-to-device (R2D) communication. Further, it may be beneficial to clarify that a proximity determination may be used to determine whether the ambient IoT device is close (e.g., “near”) to the reader (e.g., base station or intermediate UE)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Koirala and Bhamri because it is beneficial to clarify that a proximity determination may be used to determine whether the ambient IoT device is close (e.g., “near”) to the reader (e.g., base station or intermediate UE). [Bhamri par 0028]
10, Koirala and Bhamri demonstrate the reader device of claim 1, wherein the IoT device is an ultra-low complexity device with ultra-low power consumption [Koirala, par 0005, Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) systems are Internet of Things (IoT) systems comprising two types of AIoT devices, referred to as “tags” and “readers” or “interrogators”. RFID devices have at least one antenna that is used by the AIoT device to communicate with each other using signals].
17, Koirala creates a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the processor[par 0433, A processor in association with software may be used to implement a radio frequency transceiver for use in a WTRU, WTRU, terminal, base station, RNC, or any host computer];
to: transmit, to an Internet of Things (IoT) device, request[par 0004, A UE may be configured to perform the functions of a reader or an intermediate UE. The UE may send an AIoT paging message an AIoT device to request information, such as during an inventory procedure];
receive, from the IoT device, a second message that comprises a proximity
response[par 0004, To respond to the request, the AIoT device may perform an access procedure. To enable AIoT devices to respond to requests and/or initiate communication with the UE, the access procedure may be defined];
and determine the proximity of the processor to the loT device based on the
second message [par 0177, The first assistance information may comprise other reader's information. The other readers information may include the number of other readers in proximity of the UE, the reader IDs (e.g., UE IDs) of the readers in proximity, or the reader's locations].
Koirala fail to show a first message that comprises a proximity request. In an analogous art Bhamri show a first message that comprises a proximity request [par 0034, a determination of proximity of the ambient IoT device relative to transmit reader may be based on an “end-to-end” trip time. For example, a time of flight (e.g., the trip time) may be defined as a R2D trip time from the transmit reader to the ambient IoT device plus a processing delay margin at the ambient IoT device plus a D2R trip time from the ambient IoT device to the receive reader. The total time of flight may be used to determine the proximity for at least the transmit reader by comparing it against a threshold total flight time].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Koirala and Bhamri because it is beneficial to clarify that a proximity determination may be used to determine whether the ambient IoT device is close (e.g., “near”) to the reader (e.g., base station or intermediate UE).
18, Koirala and Bhamri disclose the processor of claim 17, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to cause the processor to: receive a third message from a core network node that comprises one or more criteria to determine the proximity of the processor to the IoT device [Koirala par 0181, The UE may receive an indication from the network to transmit its capability];
and transmit a fourth message that indicates the determined proximity to the core network node [par 0181-0190, 0204, The UE may reply with a capability indication 902. Optionally, the UE may transmit the capability unsolicited. The UE may determine to initiate the first procedure based on receiving an indication from the network for initiating the random-access procedure (e.g., resource ID, assistance information ID, access window IDs, etc., via DCI, MAC-CE) 903. In one example, the device may receive a set of reader IDs and associated information (e.g., reader location, parameters for random access procedure, time windows). In one example, the set of reader IDs may be associated with the same resource IDs].
19, Koirala and Bhamri describes the processor of claim 17, wherein, to determine the proximity of the reader device to the IoT device, the at least one controller is further configured to cause the processor to: measure a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) associated with the first message[par 0244, The UE may be configured to perform measurements (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal to noise interference ratio (SINR), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) etc.) during the occasions];
and determine a distance between the processor and the IoT device based on the measured RSSI [par 0177, 0293, The second assistance information may include reader IDs, and associated information (e.g., reader location): The UE may receive one or more reader IDs (e.g., UE IDs, TRP IDs) from the network].
20, Koirala convey a method performed by a communication device, the method comprising: transmitting, to an Internet of Things (IoT) device[par 0004, A UE may be configured to perform the functions of a reader or an intermediate UE. The UE may send an AIoT paging message an AIoT device to request information, such as during an inventory procedure],
receiving, from the IoT device, a second message that comprises a proximity response[par 0004, To respond to the request, the AIoT device may perform an access procedure. To enable AIoT devices to respond to requests and/or initiate communication with the UE, the access procedure may be defined];
and determining the proximity of the communication device to the IoT device based on the second message [par 0177, The first assistance information may comprise other reader's information. The other readers information may include the number of other readers in proximity of the UE, the reader IDs (e.g., UE IDs) of the readers in proximity, or the reader's locations].
Koirala fail to show a first message that comprises a proximity request. In an analogous art Bhamri show a first message that comprises a proximity request [par 0034, a determination of proximity of the ambient IoT device relative to transmit reader may be based on an “end-to-end” trip time. For example, a time of flight (e.g., the trip time) may be defined as a R2D trip time from the transmit reader to the ambient IoT device plus a processing delay margin at the ambient IoT device plus a D2R trip time from the ambient IoT device to the receive reader. The total time of flight may be used to determine the proximity for at least the transmit reader by comparing it against a threshold total flight time].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Koirala and Bhamri because it is beneficial to clarify that a proximity determination may be used to determine whether the ambient IoT device is close (e.g., “near”) to the reader (e.g., base station or intermediate UE).
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koirala et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2026/0040345 A1) in view of BUTT et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0406275 A1).
14, Koirala reveals the core network node of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the core network node to: receive, from an IoT server[par 0108, 0112, In topology 1, the AIoT device 401 may communicate with a base station (e.g., gNB, eNB) 402. The communication between the base station and the AIoT device may include data and/or signaling over the AIoT interface 403. In one example, the communication may be bidirectional, with one base station supporting the bidirectional communication. In the downlink assistance model, the AIoT 601 device may transmit data and/or signaling to the base station 604, and receive data and/or signaling from the assisting node 602. In another example, the assistance may be an uplink assistance 605. In the uplink assistance model, the AIoT device 601 may receive data and/or signaling from a base station 604 and transmit data and/or signaling to the base station and to the assisting node 602],
Koirala fail to show a request message that comprises positioning service requirements for IoT devices; and configure a distance threshold value as a criterion of the one or more criteria based on the positioning service requirements.
In an analogous art BUTT show a request message that comprises positioning service requirements for IoT devices [par 0016, The instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, may further cause the network device at least to: transmit, to at least one further UE among the one or more backup UEs, a request for an indication of availability to provide the backscattering service for at least a reminder of the service period of time T; and receive, from the at least one further UE, a response to the request for an indication of availability, the response including an indication of availability to provide the backscattering service],
and configure a distance threshold value as a criterion of the one or more criteria based on the positioning service requirements [par 0111, The stored position could be the position when the serving UE first started to provide backscattering service. The serving UE may determine a movement distance between the current location and the stored previous location and determine that the movement distance exceeds a threshold value. The serving UE may, based on the movement distance exceeding the threshold value].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Koirala and BUTT because this would provide identifying UEs that are in the vicinity of ambient IoT devices and that may provide backscattering service to such ambient IoT devices [Butt, par 0057]
15. Koirala and BUTT disclose the core network node of claim 11, Koirala fail to show wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the core network node to: select the reader device to perform a positioning procedure with the IoT device.
In an analogous art BUTT show wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the core network node to: select the reader device to perform a positioning procedure with the IoT device [par 0105, the network device selects a user equipment apparatus (e.g., a serving UE) to provide backscattering service to ambient IoT devices. As ambient IoT devices are large in number, it is expected that smartphones acting as exciters and/or readers can meet the requirements in “best effort mode” but without guaranteeing a quality of service (QOS)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Koirala and BUTT because this would provide identifying UEs that are in the vicinity of ambient IoT devices and that may provide backscattering service to such ambient IoT devices [Butt, par 0057]
16, Koirala teaches the core network node of claim 11, wherein the reader device is a user equipment (UE) [Koirala, par 0003, The reader may be a UE. The tag may optionally communicate with an intermediate node, which may be a UE],
Koirala fail to show the at least one processor is further configured to cause the core network node to: transmit, to a network entity that serves the reader device, a request message that comprises a request for IoT device reader functionality and positioning capability information for the reader device; receive, from the network entity, a response message that comprises the requested IoT device reader functionality and positioning capability information; and select the reader device to perform a positioning procedure with the loT device based on the IoT device reader functionality and positioning capability information.
In an analogous art BUTT show the at least one processor is further configured to cause the core network node to: transmit, to a network entity that serves the reader device, a request message that comprises a request for IoT device reader functionality and positioning capability information for the reader device [par 0094, An example criterion could be to select only UEs with T>T1, wherein T1 is a minimum availability time set by the network device. Alternatively, T1 can be part of the query sent from the network device to UE and only UEs with T>T1 may be configured to respond to the query],
receive, from the network entity, a response message that comprises the requested IoT device reader functionality and positioning capability information [par 0096, 0097, the UE transmits an acknowledgment to the network device and transmits excitation (energy) signal and token B to ambient IoT devices, which authenticate the UE. If the ambient IoT device is successful in obtaining the desired result from this processing, the ambient IoT device authenticates the serving UE, and backscatters its own information]
and select the reader device to perform a positioning procedure with the loT device based on the IoT device reader functionality and positioning capability information[par 0205-0210; The device may select a reader ID (e.g., from the indicated set) based on the reader with distance to the device being below a (pre) configured];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Koirala and BUTT because this would provide identifying UEs that are in the vicinity of ambient IoT devices and that may provide backscattering service to such ambient IoT devices [Butt, par 0057]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koirala et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2026/0040345 A1).
11, Koirala define a core network node for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory[par 0433, A processor in association with software may be used to implement a radio frequency transceiver for use in a WTRU, WTRU, terminal, base station, RNC, or any host computer];
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the core network node to: transmit, to a reader device, a first message that comprises one or more criteria for determining a proximity of the reader device to an Internet of Things (IoT) device response [Koirala par 0003, 0181, In an AIoT (AIoT) system, an AIoT device, such as a tag, communicates with a reader. The reader may be a UE. The UE may receive an indication from the network to transmit its capability];
and receive, from the reader device, a second message that identifies the proximity of the reader device to the IoT device [par 0181-0190, 0204, The UE may reply with a capability indication 902. Optionally, the UE may transmit the capability unsolicited. The UE may determine to initiate the first procedure based on receiving an indication from the network for initiating the random-access procedure (e.g., resource ID, assistance information ID, access window IDs, etc., via DCI, MAC-CE) 903. In one example, the device may receive a set of reader IDs and associated information (e.g., reader location, parameters for random access procedure, time windows). In one example, the set of reader IDs may be associated with the same resource IDs].
12, Koirala describe the core network node of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from an IoT server, a request message that comprises an identifier for the IoT device and the one or more criteria for determining the proximity of the reader device to the IoT device[par 0108, 0112, In topology 1, the AIoT device 401 may communicate with a base station (e.g., gNB, eNB) 402. The communication between the base station and the AIoT device may include data and/or signaling over the AIoT interface 403. In one example, the communication may be bidirectional, with one base station supporting the bidirectional communication. In the downlink assistance model, the AIoT 601 device may transmit data and/or signaling to the base station 604, and receive data and/or signaling from the assisting node 602. In another example, the assistance may be an uplink assistance 605. In the uplink assistance model, the AIoT device 601 may receive data and/or signaling from a base station 604 and transmit data and/or signaling to the base station and to the assisting node 602]
and determine a set of candidate reader devices that includes the reader device based on the request message [par 0177, The first assistance information may comprise other reader's information. The other readers information may include the number of other readers in proximity of the UE, the reader IDs (e.g., UE IDs) of the readers in proximity, or the reader's locations].
13, Koirala describe the core network node of claim 12, wherein the second message comprises an identifier for the reader device and information that indicates a distance between the IoT device and the reader device [par 0177, The first assistance information may comprise other reader's information. The other readers information may include the number of other readers in proximity of the UE, the reader IDs (e.g., UE IDs) of the readers in proximity, or the reader's locations]
and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the core network node to: select the reader device based on the information that indicates the distance between the IoT device and the reader device [par 0205-0210; The device may select a reader ID (e.g., from the indicated set) based on the reader with distance to the device being below a (pre) configured];
and store information associated with the selected reader device to a unified data repository that relates the IoT device to reader devices selected for the IoT device [par 0185, he UE capability information may include its capability to receive, access and inventory the device IDs, e.g., supported number of device IDs the UE can inventory and store, or supported time duration (e.g., in terms of number of symbols, slots, frames, subframes, milliseconds) for which it can store the acquired device IDs].
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468