DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s cancelation of claims 1-23 and addition of claims 24-43 in the preliminary amendment filed by Applicant on 12/02/2024. Claims 24-43 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-25 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 3,721,076 to Behrens.
Regarding claim 24, Behrens discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle comprising:
a vehicle frame (Abstract; Fig. 1);
an implement (rotary mower unit 30) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-56) coupled to the vehicle frame (Abstract; Fig. 1), the implement (rotary mower unit 30) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-56) having a first implement end (See Annotated Fig. 1 of Behrens infra) and a second implement end (See Annotated Fig. 1 of Behrens infra); and
a first link (adjustable link 64) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, line 57 to col. 3, line 2) coupled to the first implement end (via arm 60) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 63 to col. 3, line 2) and the second implement end (via arm 62) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 63 to col. 3, line 2), wherein the first link (adjustable link 64) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, line 57 to col. 3, line 2) has an adjustable length (Col. 2, line 57 to col. 3, line 2),
wherein adjusting the length of the first link (adjustable link 64) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, line 57 to col. 3, line 2) changes the elevation of the first implement end (See Annotated Fig. 1 of Behrens infra) or the second implement end (See Annotated Fig. 1 of Behrens infra) relative to the other of the first implement end (See Annotated Fig. 1 of Behrens infra) or the second implement end (See Annotated Fig. 1 of Behrens infra).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cutting Chamber)][AltContent: textbox (Second Implement End)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Implement End)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 1 of Behrens.
Regarding claim 25, Behrens discloses the grounds maintenance vehicle of claim 24 (see above). Furthermore, Behrens discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle further comprising a height selection tool (control lever 66, handle 80, latch 82, cam surface 84 and/or transverse abutment 86) (Fig. 1; Col. 1, lines 25-48; col. 3, lines 3-43; col. 3, line 65 to col. 4, line 28) configured to select one vertical position of a plurality of selectable vertical positions (Fig. 1; Col. 1, lines 25-48; col. 3, lines 3-43; col. 3, line 65 to col. 4, line 28) of the implement (rotary mower unit 30) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-56).
Regarding claim 27, Behrens discloses the grounds maintenance vehicle of claim 24 (see above). Furthermore, Behrens discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle with the implement (rotary mower unit 30) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-56) comprising a plurality of cutting blades (pair of horizontal cutting blades 34) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-33).
Regarding claim 28, Behrens discloses the grounds maintenance vehicle of claim 27 (see above). Furthermore, Behrens discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle wherein the implement (rotary mower unit 30) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-56) further comprises a cutting deck (deck of rotary mower unit 30) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-56) having a housing (horizontal housing 32) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-56) defining a cutting chamber (See Annotated Fig. 1 of Behrens supra) wherein the plurality of cutting blades (pair of horizontal cutting blades 34) (Fig. 1; Col. 2, lines 25-33) are disposed in the cutting chamber (See Annotated Fig. 1 of Behrens supra).
Claim(s) 35-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0105938 to Fredenburg et al. (hereinafter Fredenburg).
Regarding claim 35, Fredenburg discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle (Abstract) comprising:
a vehicle frame (vehicle frame 124) (Abstract; Paras. [0002], [0005], [0033], [0035]-[0042]) having a first side (first side 123) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0036], [0040]) and a second side (second side 125) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0036], [0040]);
a first shaft (first shaft 130) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0062], [0066]) pivotably coupled to the vehicle frame (vehicle frame 124) (Abstract; Paras. [0002], [0005], [0033], [0035]-[0042]) extending from the first side (first side 123) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0036], [0040]) to the second side (second side 125) (Fig. 4; Paras. [0036], [0040]);
a second shaft (second shaft 140) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0066]) pivotably coupled to the vehicle frame (vehicle frame 124) (Abstract; Paras. [0002], [0005], [0033], [0035]-[0042]);
an implement (implement 150) (Abstract; Figs. 4; Paras. [0001]-[0016], [0032]-[0042], [0045], [0048]-[0062], [0068]) having a first implement end (first implement end 151) (Fig. 4; Para. [0037]) and a second implement end (second implement end 153) (Fig. 4; Para. [0037]), wherein the first implement end (first implement end 151) (Fig. 4; Para. [0037]) is coupled to the first shaft (first shaft 130) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0062], [0066]) and the second implement end (second implement end 153) (Fig. 4; Para. [0037]) is coupled to the second shaft (second shaft 140) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0066]); and
an implement angle selection tool (implement angle selection tool 194) (Abstract; Fig. 4; Paras. [0058]-[0063]) configured to pivot one of the first shaft (first shaft 130) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0062], [0066]) or the second shaft (second shaft 140) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0066]) relative to the other of the first shaft (first shaft 130) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0062], [0066]) or the second shaft (second shaft 140) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 36, Fredenburg discloses the grounds maintenance vehicle of claim 35 (see above). Furthermore, Fredenburg discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle (Abstract) wherein the first shaft (first shaft 130) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0062], [0066]) and the second shaft (second shaft 140) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0066]) are configured to rotate in unison (Fig. 4; Paras. [0008], [0015], [0043], [0047]-[0048]) to change the vertical position of the implement (implement 150) (Abstract; Figs. 4; Paras. [0001]-[0016], [0032]-[0042], [0045], [0048]-[0062], [0068]).
Regarding claim 37, Fredenburg discloses the grounds maintenance vehicle of claim 35 (see above). Furthermore, Fredenburg discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle (Abstract) further comprising a height selection tool (height selection tool 160) (Abstract; Fig. 4; Paras. [0005]-[0006], [0008], [0010], [0015], [0042], [0048]-[0052], [0055]-[0056], [0061], [0077]) configured to retain the implement (implement 150) (Abstract; Figs. 4; Paras. [0001]-[0016], [0032]-[0042], [0045], [0048]-[0062], [0068]) in each of a plurality of vertical positions (Abstract; Paras. [0005]; Claim 1).
Regarding claim 38, Fredenburg discloses the grounds maintenance vehicle of claim 35 (see above). Furthermore, Fredenburg discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle (Abstract) wherein the implement comprises a cutting deck having a housing (cutting deck having a housing 152) (Fig. 4; Para. [0035]) defining a cutting chamber (cutting chamber 154) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0006], [0009], [0014], [0035]) and cutting blades (Para. [0006], [0009], [0014]) disposed in the cutting chamber (cutting chamber 154) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0006], [0009], [0014], [0035]).
Regarding claim 39, Fredenburg discloses the grounds maintenance vehicle of claim 35 (see above). Furthermore, Fredenburg discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle (Abstract) wherein the first shaft (first shaft 130) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0062], [0066]) comprises a first shaft body (first shaft body 132) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0012]-[0013], [0041], [0043]) and a first bell crank (first bell crank 134) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0012]-[0013], [0041], [0045], [0069]) having a first extension (first extension 133) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0011]-[0013], [0043], [0059], [0061]) extending radially outward from the first shaft body (first shaft body 132) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0012]-[0013], [0041], [0043]) and the second shaft (second shaft 140) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0066]) comprises a second shaft body (second shaft body 142) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0013], [0041], [0043]-[0044]) and a second bell crank (second bell crank 144) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0012]-[0013], [0041]) having a second extension (second extension 143) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0011]-[0014], [0043], [0059], [0061]) extending radially outward from the second shaft body (second shaft body 142) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0013], [0041], [0043]-[0044]), and the grounds maintenance vehicle (Abstract) further comprises a first link (first link 190) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0007], [0009]-[0012], [0014], [0015], [0043], [0045], [0047], [0049], [0052]-[0056]) coupling the first extension (first extension 133) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0011]-[0013], [0043], [0059], [0061]) and the second extension (second extension 143) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0011]-[0014], [0043], [0059], [0061]).
Regarding claim 40, Fredenburg discloses the grounds maintenance vehicle of claim 39 (see above). Furthermore, Fredenburg discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle (Abstract) wherein the first bell crank (first bell crank 134) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0012]-[0013], [0041], [0045], [0069]) has a first arm (first arm 135) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0041]-[0043]) extending radially outward from the first shaft body (first shaft body 132) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0012]-[0013], [0041], [0043]) in a different radial direction from the first extension (first extension 133) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0011]-[0013], [0043], [0059], [0061]) and the second bell crank (second bell crank 144) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0012]-[0013], [0041]) has a second arm (second arm 145) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0041]-[0043]) extending radially outward and in a different radial direction from the second extension (second extension 143) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0011]-[0014], [0043], [0059], [0061]), and the implement (implement 150) (Abstract; Figs. 4; Paras. [0001]-[0016], [0032]-[0042], [0045], [0048]-[0062], [0068]) hangs from the first arm (first arm 135) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0041]-[0043]) and second arm (second arm 145) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0041]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 41, Fredenburg discloses the grounds maintenance vehicle of claim 39 (see above). Furthermore, Fredenburg discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle (Abstract) wherein the first link (first link 190) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0007], [0009]-[0012], [0014], [0015], [0043], [0045], [0047], [0049], [0052]-[0056]) is configured to have a plurality of linear lengths between the first shaft (first shaft 130) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0062], [0066]) and the second shaft (second shaft 140) (Fig. 4; Para. [0040]-[0048], [0052]-[0055], [0058]-[0066]), and the implement angle selection tool (implement angle selection tool 194) (Abstract; Fig. 4; Paras. [0058]-[0063]) is configured to select each of the plurality of linear lengths (Paras. [0011], [0062]) of the first link (first link 190) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0007], [0009]-[0012], [0014], [0015], [0043], [0045], [0047], [0049], [0052]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 42, Fredenburg discloses the grounds maintenance vehicle of claim 41 (see above). Furthermore, Fredenburg discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle (Abstract) wherein the first link (first link 190) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0007], [0009]-[0012], [0014], [0015], [0043], [0045], [0047], [0049], [0052]-[0056]) comprises a first segment (first segment 195) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0011], [0014]-[0015], [0061]-[0068]) coupled to the first extension (first extension 133) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0011]-[0013], [0043], [0059], [0061]) and a second segment (second segment 196) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0011], [0014]-[0015], [0061]-[0069]) coupled to the second extension (second extension 143) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0011]-[0014], [0043], [0059], [0061]), wherein the implement angle selection tool (implement angle selection tool 194) (Abstract; Fig. 4; Paras. [0058]-[0063]) is configured to secure the first segment (first segment 195) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0011], [0014]-[0015], [0061]-[0068]) to the second segment to define each of the plurality of linear lengths of the first link (first link 190) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0007], [0009]-[0012], [0014], [0015], [0043], [0045], [0047], [0049], [0052]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 43, Fredenburg discloses the grounds maintenance vehicle of claim 42 (see above). Furthermore, Fredenburg discloses a grounds maintenance vehicle (Abstract) wherein the first link (first link 190) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0007], [0009]-[0012], [0014], [0015], [0043], [0045], [0047], [0049], [0052]-[0056]) defines a linear translation pathway between the first segment (first extension 133) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0009], [0011]-[0013], [0043], [0059], [0061]) and the second segment (second segment 196) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0011], [0014]-[0015], [0061]-[0069]), and the implement angle selection tool (implement angle selection tool 194) (Abstract; Fig. 4; Paras. [0058]-[0063]) selectively secures the first segment (first segment 195) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0011], [0014]-[0015], [0061]-[0068]) relative to the second segment (second segment 196) (Fig. 2; Paras. [0011], [0014]-[0015], [0061]-[0069]) at a plurality of locations along the linear translation pathway (Paras. [0012], [0069]).
Allowable Subject Matter & Examiner's Reasons For Allowance
Claims 26 and 29-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. Nos. 11,071,248 to Funk et al.; 4,102,114 to Estes et al.; 4,106,269 to Knudson; and U.S. Pat. Pub. Nos. 2012/0000173 to Papke et al. and 2022/0201933 to Fredenburg et al. relate to grounds maintenance vehicles with adjustable height and/or angle cutting decks.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671