DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 13 April 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15 are pending. Applicant's amendments have overcome each and every objection and rejection under 35 USC 112 previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 12 January 2026, except for any objection repeated below.
Drawings
Fig. 1 as amended 13 April 2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: Fig. 1 as amended 13 April 2026 adds the stop member “84” at a position spaced distally of a proximal end of the first frame “16” of the tool head “12” relative to Fig. 2 (the proximal end of the first frame “16” being an end adjoining the actuator assembly “14”; the first frame “16” is considered as including base “44”). That is, in Fig. 2 as originally filed, the stop member “84” is only illustrated in an exploded view positioned outside of the first frame “16” of the tool head “12”. It is consistent with Fig. 2 as originally filed for the stop member “84” to be positioned at the proximal end of the base “44” of the first frame “16”, such that the stop member “84” forms a portion of a junction between the tool head “12” and the actuator assembly “14”. Fig. 1 as amended 13 April 2026 illustrates the stop member “84” being received within the first frame “16” at a position spaced from the proximal end of the base “44” of the first frame “16”. There is no disclosure in the present application as originally filed of the stop member “84” being positioned entirely within the first frame “16” and spaced from the proximal end of the base “44” as illustrated in Fig. 1 as amended 13 April 2026. For example, paragraph 41 of the present application discloses, “the stop member 84 is coupled to the first frame 16”, but this passage fails to specify whether the stop member “84” is spaced from the proximal end of the first frame “16”. As another example, paragraph 39 discloses, “a stop member 84 that is disposed in the passage 82 of the first frame 16”, but paragraph 38 explains that the passage “82” extends through the base “44”. As such, paragraph 39 provides insufficient disclosure to determine where in the passage “82” the stop member “84” is positioned, such that paragraph 39 does not disclose the stop member “84” being spaced from the proximal end of the base “44” of the first frame “16”. There is no disclosure in the present application as originally filed of the specific position of the stop member “44” within the first frame “16” as illustrated in Fig. 1 as amended 13 April 2026, such that the amendment to Fig. 1 introduces new matter related to the specific position of the stop member “84”. Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
the trip lever moving from the open lever position (shown in Fig. 3) to the closed lever position (shown in Fig. 4) causing the second frame to move from the open frame position to the closed frame position as encompassed by claim 2 (the trip lever is only illustrated as causing the second frame to move from the open frame position to the closed frame position when the trip lever moved from the closed frame position to the open frame position);
“the stop member engaging the ram to inhibit distal movement of the ram after a predetermined stroke length has been reached” as recited in claim 11 (no engagement of the stop member and ram is illustrated, nor is any structure that allows for engagement between the stop member and the ram – instead, in the present drawings, as best as can be determined, the ram passes through the stop member without engaging the stop member); and
“wherein the ram passes through the stop member during a stroke but engages the stop member at an end of the stroke” as recited in claim 12 (no engagement of the stop member and the ram is illustrated, nor is any structure that allows for engagement between the stop member and the ram).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites, “the trip lever being in the open lever position and outside the cutting zone when the second frame is in the closed frame position, the trip lever being in the closed lever position and inside the cutting zone when the second frame is in the open frame position”. Fig. 4 of the present drawings shows the trip lever being in the closed position and inside the cutting zone, and Fig. 4 shows that the trip lever in the closed position is only partially inside the cutting zone. An upper portion of the trip lever relative to Fig. 4 is outside the cutting zone, even when the trip lever is in the closed position. Therefore, the trip lever being “inside the cutting zone” is interpreted as merely requiring that some portion of the trip lever is inside the cutting zone, even if some other portion of the trip lever is outside the cutting zone. This interpretation is necessary is order for the claim to be interpreted consistent with the present disclosure. Moreover, since the trip lever being “inside the cutting zone” is interpreted as being satisfied even when only a portion of the trip lever is inside the cutting zone, the recitation that the trip lever is “outside the cutting zone” when the trip lever is in the open position is likewise interpreted as merely requiring that the trip lever is at least partially outside the cutting zone. As such, the recitation in claim 1 that the trip lever is “outside the cutting zone” when the trip lever is in the open position permits some portion of the trip lever to be inside the cutting zone, so long as at least some portion of the trip lever is outside the cutting zone. The recitation that the trip lever is “outside the cutting zone” as recited in claim 1 is broader than a recitation such as the trip lever being “entirely outside the cutting zone”, in that the former permits some portion of the trip lever to be inside the cutting zone while the latter does not. Indeed, the Applicant appears to recognize this distinction in view of the Applicant having used the “entirely outside” requirement in related application 17/209,969.
Claim 15 also recites that the trip lever is moved “out of the cutting zone”. For the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1, this recitation is interpreted as requiring that the trip lever is moved at least partially out of the cutting zone and does not require that the entirety of the trip lever is out of the cutting zone.
Claim limitations identified below are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a biasing member” as recited in claim 5 (first, “member” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “to bias the latch”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “biasing” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the member).
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 at line 3 recites, “to disengage the second frame permits the second frame to move to”. This recitation should read – to disengage the second frame and permits the second frame to move to – or – to disengage the second frame permitting
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 is amended to recite, “wherein the trip lever moving between the closed lever position and the open lever position causes the second frame to move from the open frame position to the closed frame position”. [Previously, the claims was limited to movement of the trip lever to the open lever position] This recitation encompasses the trip lever moving from the open lever position (shown in Fig. 3 of the present drawings) to the closed lever position (shown in Fig. 4 of the present drawings) causing the second frame to move from the open frame position to the closed frame position. However, as disclosed in the present application, only movement of the trip lever from the closed lever position as shown in Fig. 4 to the open lever position as shown in Fig. 3 causes the second frame to move from the open frame position to the closed frame position. As such, amending claim 2 to recite that movement between the closed lever position and the open lever position, rather than reciting that movement from the closed lever position to the open lever position, causes claim 2 to fail to comply with the written description requirement – i.e., the Applicant has not demonstrated possession of the trip lever moving from the open lever position to the closed lever position causing movement of the second frame from the open frame position to the closed frame position. The examiner suggests amending claim 2 to recite, “wherein the trip lever moving from the closed lever position to the open lever position causes the second frame to move from the open frame position to the closed frame position” to avoid introducing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 01/62452 A1 to Algminas in view of US Pat. No. 4,342,216 to Gregory.
Regarding claim 1, Algminas discloses a tool head (see, in particular, the embodiment of the tool head in Fig. 9) comprising:
a first frame having a first arm and a second arm (see the annotated Fig. 9 below; note that the first frame also is interpreted as including the first blade, in the same manner as the present application considers the second frame as including the second blade);
a latch coupled to the second arm (see the annotated Fig. 9 below; the latch is coupled to the second arm at least when the second frame is in the closed frame position); and
a second frame hingedly coupled to the first arm (see the annotated Fig. 9 below; the second frame includes the second blade, in the same manner as the present application considers the second frame as including the second blade), the second frame moveable between an open frame position and a closed frame position (the closed frame position being illustrated in Fig. 9; the open frame position is when the latch does not retain the second frame to the second arm and when the second frame is pivoted clockwise relative to the position of the second frame illustrated in Fig. 9; see page 4, lines 10-12), the latch coupled to the second frame enclosing a cutting zone bounded by the first arm, the second arm, and the second frame in the closed frame position (see annotated Fig. 9 below indicating the cutting zone; the phrase ‘bounded by’ permits other structures, such as the first frame, as further bounding the cutting zone – i.e., ‘bounded by’ is not a closed recitation).
Regarding claim 2, Algminas discloses that in the closed frame position, the second frame engages the latch (see Fig. 9; the second frame always engages the latch, such that the second frame engages the latch in the closed frame position, even if the second frame also engages the latch in the open frame position) and a cutting operation is performed on a workpiece (when the first blade of the first frame is moved toward the second frame; see page 4, lines 2-22 and page 28, line 21 to page 29, line 13).
Regarding claim 10, Algminas discloses that a passage extends through a base of the first frame (see Figs. 2 and 9; the passage defines the space through which ram 246 extends).
Regarding claim 11, Algminas discloses that a stop member 228 is positioned in the passage (see Figs. 2 and 9, with Fig. 2 including the reference character ‘228’ and Fig. 9 illustrating the same structure shown in Fig. 2), the stop member 228 engaging a ram 246 to inhibit distal movement of the ram 246 after a predetermined stroke length has been reached (see Fig. 2 and page 21, lines 1-7; the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘engaging’ encompasses the stop member 228 indirectly acting on the ram 236 via the spring 230, particularly in view of claim 14 requiring that the stop member retains an end of a return spring, which is what is disclosed by Algminas; since the stop member 228 of Algminas acts on the spring 230, which in turn urges the ram 230 rightward relative to Fig. 2 (oriented with the reference characters upright), the stop member 228 inhibits distal movement of the ram 246 after a sufficient stroke length to produce compression of the spring 230; again, in view of the present application, Algminas discloses the same structure as disclosed in the present application, as best as can be determined in view of the present specification as originally filed failing to illustrate the features of claim 11).
Regarding claim 12, Algminas discloses that the stop member 228 is ring-shaped (see Figs. 2 and 6; the member 228 is ‘ring-shaped’ because the member is annular due to extending around the ram 246 and defining an opening for the ram 246 to pass through), and wherein the ram 246 passes through the stop member 228 during a stroke (see Figs. 2 and 6; the stop member 228 defines an opening through which the ram 246 passes) but engages the stop member 228 at an end of the stroke (this feature is satisfied due to the action of the return spring 230; that is, the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘engages’ does not require direct contact between the stop member and the ram, since such an interpretation does not appear consistent with the present application, which also contemplates a return spring between the stop member and ram – the spring 230 of Algminas acts on the stop member 228, such that the lack of movement of the stop member 228 is what causes the stop member to engage the ram 246 via the spring 230 at the end of the stroke).
Algminas fails to disclose that the tool head comprises a trip lever hingedly coupled to the first arm to rotate between an open lever position and a closed lever position, the trip lever being in the open lever position and outside the cutting zone when the second frame is in the closed frame position, the trip lever being in the closed lever position and inside the cutting zone when the second frame is in the open frame position as required by claim 1. Algminas further fails to that the trip lever moving between the closed lever position and the open lever position causes the second frame to move from the open frame position to the closed frame position as required by claim 2.
Gregory teaches a tool head (see Fig. 1) having a trip lever 24 hingedly coupled to an arm of a first frame 30 (see Fig. 1, where the arm is an L-shape, and where Fig. 1 illustrates two positions of the trip lever 24 in solid and phantom to disclose the ‘hingedly’ feature; the trip lever 24 is coupled to the arm of the first frame by pivot pin 28; note that ‘coupled to’ permits an indirect coupling between the trip lever 24 and the arm) to rotate between an open lever position (shown in solid in Fig. 1) and a closed lever position (shown in phantom in Fig. 1), the trip lever 24 being in the open lever position and outside the cutting zone when a second frame 26 is in a closed frame position (see the solid position of the trip lever 24 shown in Fig. 1; in this position, the trip lever 24 is ‘outside the cutting zone’ because the cutting zone is limited to an open space available to receive an object to be cut with the trip lever 24 and the second frame 26 in the solid position – the trip lever 24 is not within this space when the trip lever 24 is in the open lever position; further, the trip lever is ‘outside the cutting zone’ at all locations where the trip lever 24 overlaps with the first frame 30 – as discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above, the requirement that the trip lever is ‘outside the cutting zone’ is satisfied so long as some portion of the trip lever is outside the cutting zone, and a comparison of the solid and phantom positions of the trip lever 24 of Gregory makes clear that various portions of the trip lever 24 are outside the cutting zone when the trip lever is in the open lever position, even if the cutting zone extends to a left side of the vertical portion of the first frame arm 30 relative to Fig. 1 of Gregory), and the trip lever 24 being in the closed lever position and inside the cutting zone when the second frame 26 is in the open frame position (see the phantom position shown in Fig. 1; in this position, the trip lever 24 extends into the cutting zone, with the cutting zone defined as the area available to receive an object to be cut when the second frame 26 is closed as explained above). [Claim 1] Gregory feature teaches that the trip lever 24 moving between the closed lever position (shown in phantom in Fig. 1) and the open lever position (shown in solid in Fig. 1) causes the second frame 26 to move from the open frame position (shown in phantom in Fig. 1) to the closed frame position (shown in solid in Fig. 1) – in particular, Gregory teaches that the trip lever 24 moving from the closed lever position shown in phantom in Fig. 1 to the open lever position shown in solid in Fig. 1 causes the second frame 26 to move from the open frame position to the closed frame position. [Claim 2] Gregory teaches that providing the trip lever is advantageous because forces produced by the tool head on the object being processed within the cutting zone are transmitted to the trip lever, which in turn causes the second frame to be urged into the closed frame position (see col. 2, lines 19-34). As such, the trip lever improves safety because the trip lever aids in maintaining the second frame in a closed position during processing of the object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to hingedly couple a trip lever having the features discussed in the preceding paragraph as taught by Gregory to the first arm of Algminas in order to improve safety because the trip lever converts forces acting on the object during processing into closing forces to ensure that the second frame remains in the closed frame position during processing of the object. Safety is a known concern for cutting tools, such as the tool head of Algminas, and thus this modification enhances safety by providing a second mechanism for ensuring that the second frame remains closed during processing of the object. For example, if a user of the tool head of Algminas mistakenly believes that the latch is engaged, when the latch is in fact disengaged, there is a risk prior to this modification that the second frame could move during processing of the object and result in a dangerous condition such as the object being processing becoming dislodged from the tool head. However, following this modification, the second frame of Algminas, as modified, is retained closed even if the latch is inadvertently left unlatched. The coupling of the trip to the first arm of Algminas is obvious in view of the combined teachings of Algminas and Gregory. Algminas discloses the second frame being hingedly coupled to the first arm, and Gregory discloses the trip lever being coupled to the same arm as that to which the second frame is hingedly coupled.
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Algminas as modified by Gregory as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Pat. No. 9,209,585 B2 to Houser et al.
Regarding claim 3, Algminas, as modified, discloses the latch includes a proximally sloped top surface (a portion of the latch engaging element 403 as can be seen in Fig. 9 of Algminas; the top surface is a ‘proximally sloped’ surface because the surface slopes moving along the proximal direction) and the second arm includes a distally sloped bottom surface (a bottom surface of element 403; the bottom surface is a ‘distally sloped’ surface because the surface slopes moving along the distal direction), the distally sloped bottom surface engaging the proximally sloped top surface in the closed frame position (see Fig. 9 of Algminas).
Regarding claim 4, Algminas, as modified, discloses a release lever 398 coupled to the second frame and the latch (see Fig. 9 of Algminas; the release lever 398 beginning immediately to the left of the spring 396), wherein engaging the release lever 398 causes the latch to disengage from the second arm (see Fig. 9; urging the release lever 398 clockwise against the biasing of the spring 396 disengages the latch) permits the second frame to move to the open frame position (Algminas, as modified, discloses this feature because disengaging the latch permits the second frame to move to the open frame position, given that the second frame is no longer constrained to the second arm).
Regarding claim 5, Algminas discloses a biasing member 396 to bias the latch toward a closed latch position (see Fig. 9; the spring 396 exerts a downward force on the release lever 398, biasing the latch in a counter-clockwise direction relative to Fig. 9, which is toward a closed latch position).
Regarding claim 6, Algminas discloses that the biasing member 396 includes a spring 396 extending between a bottom surface of the second frame and a top surface of the latch (see Fig. 9; the release lever can be considered as beginning immediately to the left of the spring 396).
However, Algminas, as modified, teaches that the latch is directly pivotally coupled to the second frame rather than the second arm. Put another way, Algminas, as modified, discloses that the latch is reversed relative to the claimed latch.
Turning to claimed features, Algminas, as modified, fails to disclose: that the second frame is the structure that includes the distally sloped bottom surface as required by claim 3; that the release lever is coupled to the second arm and that the latch disengages from the second frame as required by claim 4; and that the spring extends between the bottom surface of the second arm as required by claim 6.
Houser, though, teaches a tool head 12 having a latch 62 with a reverse configuration compared to the latch of Algminas (see Figs. 2-3 of Houser; the configuration of the latch of Houser is reversed relative to the latch of Algminas because the latch 62 of Houser is pivotally joined to a first arm 64 of the tool head 12, such that the latch 62 of Houser selectively engages a second frame 66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reverse the latch of Algminas, as modified, in view of the teachings of Houser by making the latch of Algminas, as modified, pivotally joined to the second arm rather than to the second frame and by providing the distally sloped bottom surface that is engaged by the latch on the second frame rather than on the second arm. This modification is obvious because it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167), and since Houser provides evidence that reversing a latch of a tool head achieves a same result as desired by Algminas of holding a tool head in a closed frame position. Thus, Algminas, as thus modified with the latch reversed, discloses that the second frame is the structure that includes the distally sloped bottom surface since the distally sloped bottom surface is reversed from being provided on the second arm to being provided on the second frame [claim 3]; that the release lever is coupled to the second arm and that the latch disengages from the second frame since the release lever and latch are moved to be pivotally joined to the second arm so that the latch disengages the second frame [claim 4]; and that the spring extends between the bottom surface of the second arm and the top surface of the latch since the entire latch is reversed [claim 6].
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Algminas as modified by Gregory as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gregory and US Pat. No. 4,689,859 to Hauser, as evidenced by US Pat. No. 9,209,585 B2 to Houser et al.
Algminas, as modified, fails to disclose that the trip lever includes a first retention structure including a ball, and the first frame includes a second retention structure including a first detent and a third retention structure including a second detent, the ball engaging the first detent in the open lever position and the ball engaging the second detent in the closed lever position as recited in claim 8, and wherein moving the trip lever from the open lever position to the closed lever position overcomes engagement between the ball and the first detent and moves the ball into engagement with the second detent as recited in claim 9.
First, Gregory teaches that the trip lever 24 includes a first retention structure (the first retention structure being the structure engaged by the second detent 40; see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 24-27) and the first frame 30 includes a third retention structure including a second detent 40 (see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 24-27), the first retention structure engaging the second detent 40 in the closed lever position (see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 24-27). [Claim 8] Gregory further teaches that moving the trip lever 24 into the closed lever position moves the first retention structure into engagement with the second detent 40 (see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 24-27). [Claim 9] Gregory teaches that providing the trip lever with the first retention structure and providing the first frame with the second detent is advantageous to initially retain the second frame in the closed position (see col. 2, lines 24-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Algminas, as previously modified, by providing the trip lever with a first retention structure and by providing the first frame with a second detent in view of Gregory in order to provide an initial retention force holding the second frame in the closed frame position. For example, if the latch of Algminas does not properly engage, then the first retention structure and the second detent prove a structure that regardless exerts some retention force to hold the second frame in the closed position, thus providing a back-up mechanism in the event that the latch does not properly function. This modification is further obvious under KSR Rationale A – combining prior art element according to known methods to achieve predictable results because Algminas, as modified, and Gregory together disclose each claimed element. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (i.e., the methods of Gregory noted above) and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately (i.e., no function of Algminas is changed, whereas the first retention structure and second detent of Gregory continue to provide a retention force on the second frame to hold the second frame in the closed position). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of this combination were predictable because Gregory teaches the suitability of providing a detent structure to retain a second frame in a closed position, even though Gregory also contemplates an additional structure (i.e., the trip lever) for holding the second frame in the closed frame position.
Still, Algminas, as modified above, fails to disclose that the first retention structure includes a ball, and that the first frame includes a second retention structure including a first detent, where the first retention structure engaging the first detent in the open lever position as required by claim 8, and wherein moving the trip lever from the open lever position to the closed lever position overcomes engagement between the ball and the first detent as recited in claim 9.
Regardless, Hauser is pertinent to the problem of retaining a gate in an open or closed position, where the gate is a structure that allows or inhibits access to an enclosed area. Hauser is thus pertinent to the problem of retaining the second frame, which acts as a gate, in the open or closed position as faced by the present inventor. Hauser teaches providing first and second detents 44 and 45, where the first detent 44 holds the gate 30 in the closed position (see Fig. 5) and the second detent 45 holds the gate 30 in the open position (see Fig. 2). [Claim 8] Hauser teaches that moving the gate 30 from a closed gate position to an open gate position overcomes engagement of the first detent (compare Figs. 2 and 5; as is evident from comparing Fig. 4 and Fig. 2, movement of the gate 30 from the closed gate position in Fig. 2 urges the ball 40 out of engagement with the first detent 44). [Claim 9] Thus, Hauser teaches that multiple detents can be provided so that a gate can be retained not only in the closed position (as is the case with Algminas as modified above) but also in the open position. Moreover, it is known in the to provide multiple detents on a second frame of a tool head (see Houser at col. 10, lines 10-12, explaining that second frame 162 may include multiple detents to control the position of the second frame 162).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first frame of Algminas with a second retention structure including a first detent, where the first retention structure engages the first detent in the open lever position and where moving the trip lever from the open lever position to the closed lever position overcomes engagement of the first detent in view of the teachings of Hauser. This modification is advantageous because it provides the first detent to engage with the first retention structure when the second frame is in the open position, thus holding the second gate open to ease insertion of an object into the cutting zone. That is, prior to this modification, a user would have to manually hold the second frame open, whereas post modification Algminas, as thus modified, reduces the burden on the operator by automatically retaining the second frame in the open frame position. Houser provides further evidence of the obviousness of this modification, since Houser already contemplates providing multiple detents to control the position of a second frame.
Finally, Algminas, as modified above, fails to disclose that the first retention structure includes a ball as required by claim 8.
Hauser teaches a first retention structure 40 that includes a ball (see Fig. 4). Hauser teaches that a ball is a suitable structure for engaging with a detent 44 or 45 to hold a gate 30 in a desired open or closed position (see Figs. 2 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first retention structure of Algminas, as modified, as a ball in view of the teachings of Hauser. This modification is obviousness because it is merely the selection of some particular retention structure (i.e., the ball of Hauser) for the generically disclosed first detent structure of Algminas, as modified. A ball is known to be a suitable first retention structure for retaining a gate in an open and closed position, and therefore the ball is Hauser is suitable in place of the generically disclosed first retention structure of Algminas, as modified. (Moreover, to the extent that the spring biased detent 40 of Gregory as provided to Algminas, as modified above, corresponds to a ball, this modification is merely a reversal of parts where the ball is provided on the trip lever instead of on the first frame, and likewise ball-receiving detents are provided on the first frame instead of on the trip lever.)
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Algminas as modified by Gregory as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Pub. No. 2010/0236315 A1 to Robinson et al. and US Pat. No. 5,722,170 to Smith.
Algminas, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose that the stop member and the first frame are made of different materials as required by claim 13.
First, Robinson teaches constructing a frame 56 of a tool head from metal (see paragraph 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to construct the first frame of Algminas, as modified, from metal, in view of the teachings of Robinson. This modification is advantageous because metal is a strong material, and the frame of Algminas, as modified, undergoes substantial forces, such that material is a strong material for withstanding the forces producing by the tool head of Algminas, as modified. Moreover, this modification is obvious because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416), and Robinson demonstrates the suitability of metal for a tool head frame.
Next, Smith teaches constructing a stop member 31 a material designed to dissipate kinetic energy, in particular from a polyurethane material (see col. 3, lines 61-64). Smith teaches that constructing the stop member from a material such as polyurethane material is advantageous to be able to dissipate kinetic energy over a short distance and stop the cutting stroke (see col. 3, lines 61-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to construct the stop member of Algminas, as modified, from a material such as polyurethane in view of the teachings of Smith in order to aid in dissipating kinetic energy over a short distance and stop the cutting stroke.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 01/62452 A1 to Algminas in view of US Pat. No. 4,342,216 to Gregory and US Pat. No. 9,209,585 B2 to Houser et al.
Regarding claim 15, Algminas discloses a method of operating a tool head (in particular, the tool head of the embodiment of Fig. 9) to perform an operation on a workpiece (see page 28 lines 22-24 and page 29, lines 9-13), the tool head including a first frame with a first arm, a second arm, and a first blade, a second frame coupled to the first arm, the second frame including a second blade (see the annotated Fig. below and page 28, lines 22-24), a latch coupled to the second arm (see the annotated Fig. 9 below; the latch being coupled to the second arm in the closed frame position; see also the modification in view of Houser below), and a release lever 398 coupled to the latch and the second frame (see the annotated Fig. 9 below), the method comprising:
actuating the release lever 398 to disengage the latch from the second arm to move the second frame to an open frame position (see Fig. 9 – the second frame is moved to the open position by pivoting about the pivot at the upper end of the second frame (relative to the figure being oriented with the reference characters upright) in order to insert a workpiece into the tool head; see also page 4, lines 10-12);
a cutting zone bounded between the first arm, the second arm, and the second frame (see the annotated Fig. 9 below; the second frame included the second blade as required by claim 15);
moving the second frame to a closed frame position in which the second frame is coupled to the latch (see the annotated Fig. 9 below showing the closed frame position); and
in the closed frame position, moving the first blade in the first frame toward the second blade in the second frame to perform a cutting operation on the workpiece (see page 29, lines 9-13; the cutting operation is disclosed at page 28, lines 22-24 and page 29, lines 3-5).
Algminas fails to disclose a trip lever coupled to the first arm; that the release lever is coupled to the second arm; that the latch is disengaged from the second frame; causing the trip lever to move from an open lever position to a closed lever position blocking the cutting zone; and engaging the trip lever with the workpiece to move the trip lever out of the cutting zone, the trip lever causing the second frame to move from the open frame position to a closed frame position as required by claim 15.
Regarding the trip lever, Gregory teaches a tool head (see Fig. 1) having a trip lever 24 hingedly coupled to an arm of a first frame 30 (see Fig. 1, where the arm is an L-shape, and where Fig. 1 illustrates two positions of the trip lever 24 in solid and phantom to disclose the ‘hingedly’ feature; the trip lever 24 is coupled to the arm of the first frame by pivot pin 28; note that ‘coupled to’ permits an indirect coupling between the trip lever 24 and the arm), causing the trip lever 24 to move from an open lever position (shown in solid in Fig. 1) to a closed lever position blocking a cutting zone between the first frame 30 and a second frame 26 (shown in phantom in Fig. 1); and engaging the trip lever 24 with a workpiece 22 to move the trip lever 24 out of the cutting zone (see Fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 19-34; at least some portion of the trip lever 24 is moved out of the cutting zone because the trip lever is moved to a position overlapping with the first frame 30), the trip lever 24 causing the second frame 26 to move from the open frame position (shown in phantom in Fig. 1) to a closed frame position (shown in solid in Fig. 1). [Claim 15] Gregory teaches that providing the trip lever is advantageous because forces produced by the tool head on the object being processed within the cutting zone are transmitted to the trip lever, which in turn causes the second frame to be urged into the closed frame position (see col. 2, lines 19-34). As such, the trip lever improves safety because the trip lever aids in maintaining the second frame in a closed position during processing of the object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to hingedly couple a trip lever having the features discussed in the preceding paragraph as taught by Gregory to the first arm of Algminas in order to improve safety because the trip lever converts forces acting on the object during processing into closing forces to ensure that the second frame remains in the closed frame position during processing of the object. Safety is a known concern for cutting tools, such as the tool head of Algminas, and thus this modification enhances safety by providing a second mechanism for ensuring that the second frame remains closed during processing of the object. For example, if a user of the tool head of Algminas mistakenly believes that the latch is engaged, when the latch is in fact disengaged, there is a risk prior to this modification that the second frame could move during processing of the object and result in a dangerous condition such as the object being processing becoming dislodged from the tool head. However, following this modification, the second frame of Algminas, as modified, is retained closed even if the latch is inadvertently left unlatched. The coupling of the trip to the first arm of Algminas is obvious in view of the combined teachings of Algminas and Gregory. Algminas discloses the second frame being hingedly coupled to the first arm, and Gregory discloses the trip lever being coupled to the same arm as that to which the second frame is hingedly coupled.
Regarding the latch position, Houser teaches a tool head 12 having a latch 62 with a reverse configuration compared to the latch of Algminas (see Figs. 2-3 of Houser; the configuration of the latch of Houser is reversed relative to the latch of Algminas because the latch 62 of Houser is pivotally joined to a first arm 64 of the tool head 12, such that the latch 62 of Houser selectively engages a second frame 66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reverse the latch of Algminas in view of the teachings of Houser by making the latch of Algminas pivotally joined to the second arm rather than to the second frame and by providing the distally sloped bottom surface that is engaged by the latch on the second frame rather than on the second arm, such that in an unlatch position the latch is disengaged from the second frame (rather than from the second arm). This modification is obvious because it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167), and since Houser provides evidence that reversing a latch of a tool head achieves a same result as desired by Algminas of holding a tool head in a closed frame position.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Initially, the Applicant argues under the ‘Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)’ header that ‘biasing member’ should not be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). The Applicant argues “biasing member” is understood by persons or ordinary skill in the art to have a sufficiently definite meaning as the name for structure, although the Applicant has provided no evidence to support this position (relying instead on attorney argumentation).
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. First, the Federal Circuit has held that generic terms (such as ‘member’ in the present case) typically do not connote sufficiently definite structure to avoid means-plus-function treatment. See Welker Bearing Company v. PHD, Inc., 550 F.3d 1090, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2008). Second, the Applicant has provided no evidence, such as dictionary definitions, to show that a ‘biasing member’ is a sufficiently definite meaning as the name for structure. Third, a ‘biasing member’ is not a sufficiently definite meaning as the name for structure, and instead ‘spring’ is the name of the structure at issue. Since the structure at issue has a name known by those of ordinary skill in the art, and since the Applicant has provided no evidence that ‘biasing member’ is understood by persons of ordinary skill in the art as the name for some structure, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. The examiner would agree that an alternative recitation, such as a spring, is a sufficiently definite meaning as the name for structure, and a recitation of a spring would not invoke 35 USC 112(f). As such, “biasing member” is properly interpreted as invoking 35 USC 112(f), and the interpretation is maintained.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103, the Applicant argues under the ‘Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103’ header that Gregory’s trip lever ‘24’ is always positioned within the cutting zone. This argument is not persuasive because it is premised on an overly narrow interpretation of ‘outside the cutting zone’. As explained in the Claim Interpretation section below, ‘outside the cutting zone’ differs in scope from a recitation such as ‘entirely outside the cutting zone’ as employed in related application number 17/209,969, in that ‘outside the cutting zone’ merely require some portion of the trip lever to be outside the cutting zone. Since the trip lever of Gregory is at least partially outside the cutting zone in the open lever position, the rejection is proper.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 15 rely on the same ‘outside the cutting zone’ issue as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As such, Applicant’s arguments related to claim 15 are likewise not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action (in particular, claim 2 being newly rejected under 35 USC 112(a) is necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to claim 2). Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVAN H MACFARLANE/Examiner, Art Unit 3724