Status of Claims
This action is in response to papers filed on October 28, 2024. Claims 1, 8-10, 12, 14-15, 17-19, 21-24, 28-34 and 52 are currently pending. It is noted that claims 1 and 52 are independent claims.
Therefore, claims 1, 8-10, 12, 14-15, 17-19, 21-24, 28-34 and 52 are under examination to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to US Provisional Application 63/533,574 filed on August 18, 2023.
Therefore, the earliest effective filing date for the instant application is August 18, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, it is indefinite in its recitation of the phrase “wherein the porcine cells comprise somatic cells”. It is unclear whether the somatic cells must be isolated from porcine, or if it refers to somatic cells isolated from any species. It is recommended to amend the claims to recite, “wherein the porcine cells comprise porcine somatic cells”.
Regarding claim 17, it is indefinite in its recitation of the phrase “the porcine somatic cells” as it lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 15 only recites “somatic cells”.
Regarding claim 21, it is indefinite in its recitation of the phrase “wherein the porcine cells comprise germ cells”. It is unclear whether the somatic cells must be isolated from porcine, or if it refers to somatic cells isolated from any species. It is recommended to amend the claims to recite, “wherein the porcine cells comprise porcine germ cells”.
Regarding claim 21, it is indefinite in its recitation of the phrase “wherein the porcine cells comprise germ cells, and wherein the germ cells are combined to produce an embryo”. It is unclear how the production of the embryo would equate to the production of porcine pluripotent stem cells, as embryos are a multicellular structure comprising various stem cell populations.
Claim 23 is indefinite is vague and indefinite because they recite the phrase "derived from" and the metes and bounds of how porcine cells can be “derived from" the claimed non-IVF derived embryos and still meet the intended limitation of the claims are not clear. Without a clear statement of the process by which the starting material is derivatized, it is not possible to know the metes and bounds of a "derivative" because any given starting material can have many divergent derivatives depending on the process of derivatization, especially since the claimed starting material encompasses embryos comprising diverse cell types such embryonic stem cells and blastocysts, for example. This rejection could be overcome by substituting "isolated" for "derived" in the claim.
Regarding claim 24, it is indefinite in its recitation of the phrase “further comprising selecting morphologically stem cell-like colonies from the porcine stem cell media” as it is unclear whether the stem cell-like colonies are formed during the process of step 1b) or if there is an undisclosed intermediary step that results in stem cell-like colonies in claim 1.
Regarding claim 31 and 32, it is indefinite in its recitation of the term “the gene-editing occurs at the one or more target loci simultaneously.” It is unclear how gene editing at “one” single target locus would be done “simultaneously”.
Regarding claim 33 and 34, it is indefinite in its recitation of the term “the gene-editing occurs at the one or more target loci in series.” It is unclear how gene editing at “one” single target locus would be done in series.
Regarding claim 52, it is indefinite in its recitation of the term “stem cell line” as it lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 1 recites “a method of making porcine pluripotent stem cells”. Further, there metes and bounds of the term “stem cell line” are unclear as it insinuates that after step 1a) of obtaining porcine cells, as 1b) for culturing them in a porcine stem cell media would result in the homogeneous culture of pluripotent stem cells.
Claims 18, 19, 22, 31, and 32 are indefinite insofar that they depend on claims 17 and 21 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a): Scope of Enablement
Claims 1, 8-10, 12, 14-15, 17-19, 21-24, 28-34 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for
obtaining porcine embryonic stem cells, and culturing the porcine embryonic stem cells in a porcine cell media comprising a basal medium, L-glutamine, growth supplements, beta-mercaptoethanol, FGF, human LIF, absrobic acid, Activin A, SP600125, and CHIR99021 to establish porcine pluripotent stem cells
does not reasonably provide enablement for deriving pluripotent stem cells from all types of porcine cells. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The criteria for enablement set out In re Wands, MPEP 2162.01(a) , considers the following factors:
Breadth of the Claims
The claims are broadly directed to a method for making porcine pluripotent stem cells, the method comprising: a) obtaining porcine cells; b) culturing the porcine cells with porcine stem cell media, wherein the porcine stem cell media comprises one or more reagents selected from the group consisting of: a basal media, an L-glutamine source, a cell growth supplement, an antibiotic, a media stabilizer, an FGF protein, a SMAD regulator, an inhibitor of Lek, an inhibitor of Src, an inhibitor of Sik, a Wnt activator, a STAT3 activator,an antioxidant, ascorbic acid, and an inhibitor of apoptosis, thereby generating the porcine pluripotent stem cells. The claims are broadly but reasonably interpreted as generating porcine pluripotent stem cells from ANY cell type from originating from pigs through culturing in a porcine stem cell media comprising one of the listed reagents (e.g. fibroblasts, pulp cells, hair follicle cells). Therefore, the claims are broad and only encompass a specific subset of porcine cells, and it is unclear if the ordinary artisan can derive such porcine pluripotent stem cells from porcine cell populations outside of their working examples in the Specification. As such, the breadth of the claims is great.
State of Prior Art
The art demonstrates there is not a generic method for developing porcine pluripotent stem cells from all porcine stem cell types, and that different porcine cell populations require additional steps to establish pluripotent stem cells.
Esteban et al. (Published: 2009. Journal of Biological Chemistry. Volume 284, Issue 26, 26 June 2009, Pages 17634-17640) discloses a method of generating pluripotent stem cells from Tibetan miniature pigs (pp. 17634, col 1, Abstract). Estaban teaches generating induced pluripotent stem cells from porcine embryonic fibroblasts through the transfection fibroblasts with Yamanaka factors (i.e. SOX2, KLF4, OCT4, c-MYC) (pp. 17637, col 1 para 1), then culturing the embryonic fibroblasts in a stem cell medium using Dulbecco’s modified Eagle’s medium, high glucose with antibiotics, glutamine , pyruvate, nonessential amino acids (1%,Invitrogen), b-mercaptoethanol, basic fibroblast growth factor , and 10% defined fetal bovine serum (pp. 17635, col 1 para 1).
The art is silent on whether obtaining somatic cells then culturing the cells in a stem cell media alone would result in the establishment of pluripotent stem cells. Specifically, the art requires an additional step of transfecting somatic cells with Yamanaka factors (i.e. SOX2, KLF4, OCT4, c-MYC) prior to culturing the somatic cells in a porcine cell media to generate induced pluripotent stem cells. Therefore, the production of porcine pluripotent stem cells from any porcine cell population is highly unpredictable in the art.
Zhang et al. (Biology of Reproduction, Volume 107, Issue 1, July 2022, Pages 226–236) discusses current methods to establish pluripotent stem cells from pigs (pp. 227, col 1 para 4). Moreover, Zhang discusses that porcine pluripotent stem cells could be derived from blastocysts, through the seeding blastocysts on mouse embryonic fibroblasts in a suitable culture medium (pp. 227, col 2, para 1-2). Zhang also discloses that porcine somatic cells can be directly reprogrammed into induced pluripotent stem cells through the ectopic expression of reprogramming factors such as OCT4, SOX2, KLF4 and c-MYC, and that culturing these somatic cells in a porcine stem cell media comprising porcine leukemia inhibiting factor (pLIF) and forskolin could improve the pluripotent state of porcine induced pluripotent stem cells (pp. 227, col 1, para 1-5).
Therefore, the prior art demonstrates that porcine pluripotent stem cells from blastocysts involves additional steps such as culturing the blastocysts on supportive feeder cells under specific culture mediums and does not establish that this same culture method could be applicable on the broader range of porcine cells encompassed by claim 1. Rather, Zhang discloses that the derivation of induced pluripotent stem cells from somatic cells requires a step of introducing reprogramming factors to somatic cells prior to culturing the cells on a culture medium comprising reagents to enhance pluripotency.
Amount of Direction Provided by the Inventor
The Specification provides insufficient direction and guidance to enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to practice the full scope of the claimed invention. Although the claims broadly encompass the use of any porcine cell type, and the Specification provides embodiments wherein the porcine cell can be a fibroblast, somatic cell, or porcine embryo (para 0037), there only appears to be working examples and protocols for deriving porcine pluripotent stem cells from embryo (para 0095), and generating induced pluripotent stem cells porcine embryonic fibroblasts (para 0097). The Specification is silent on whether porcine induced pluripotent stem cells can be derived from other porcine cell populations, especially when considering the full scope of claim 1.
Presence or Absence of Working Examples
The Specification details working examples of establishing porcine pluripotent stem cells from only porcine embryonic stem cells and porcine embryonic fibroblasts but is silent on whether these methods detailed in the working examples are applicable towards other porcine cell types.
Specifically, Example 1 details a method for deriving embryonic stem cells from day 6-7 embryos, placing the porcine embryos into with feeders containing porcine stem cell culture comprising a basal medium, L-glutamine, beta-mercaptoethanol, FGF, human LIF, absrobic acid, Activin A, SP600125, and CHIR99021, to obtain a single embryo derived cell line (para 0156; para 0177 details porcine stem cell media composition).
Example 2 describes obtaining porcine embryonic fibroblasts, then transfecting the porcine embryonic fibroblasts using episomes that comprise reprogramming factors (i.e. pCXLE-hOCT3/4 (OCT3/4), pCXLE-hSK (SOX2 & KLF4), and pCXLE-hMLN (C-MYC, LIN28 & NANOG)). The transfected cells are then cultured in porcine stem cell media comprising a basal medium, L-glutamine, beta-mercaptoethanol, FGF, human LIF, absrobic acid, Activin A, SP600125, and CHIR99021, to establish a pluripotent stem cell line (para 0177 describes porcine stem cell composition; para 0158 discusses method using porcine embryonic fibroblasts).
The Specification demonstrates that different porcine cell types require different protocols to achieve pluripotency. As described in para (0156), porcine embryos are used to establish an embryonic stem cell line through embryo culture with feeders in porcine stem cell media, whereas porcine embryonic fibroblasts require an additional reprogramming step using OKSM factors prior to culturing the fibroblasts in a porcine stem cell media and obtain a pluripotent stem cell line. The examples recited in the Specification therefore are not representative of the full scope of the claims.
Quantity of Experimentation Necessary
A person with ordinary skill in the art would not have reasonably expected that the claimed method is capable of successfully generating pluripotent stem cells from every porcine cell type without determining if the cells require additional reprogramming steps and appropriate culture conditions for each cell type without undue experimentation.
Conclusion
In light of the unpredictability surrounding the claimed subject matter and the lack of adequate guidance, one wishing to practice the presently claimed invention would be unable to do so without engaging in undue experimentation. It is especially noted that applicants provide no data, examples, figures, etc. demonstrating that the porcine stem cell media alone can reasonably establish of porcine pluripotent stem cells from all donor porcine populations and if this can be applied to the full scope of the claims. In the absence of such information, a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably require an undue quantity of experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature without significantly more. The claims recite the nature-based product drawn to an stem cell line obtained by the method of claim 1, which involves obtaining porcine cells and placing them in culture. MPEP 2106 sets forth the multistep process for determining subject matter eligibility.
In accordance with the MPEP § 2016, claimed found to recite a statutory subject matter (e.g., compositions of matter) (Step 1: YES) are the analyzed to determine if the claims recite any steps that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon. Claims 52 is drawn to a stem cell line obtained by the method of claim 1, wherein porcine cells are obtained and then placed into culture (claim 1). The claims recite naturally occurring cell populations as taught by Xue et al. (Published: 2016. PLOS ONE, 11(3), e0151737). Xue discloses the establishment of pluripotent cell lines by obtaining porcine blastocysts and seeding them on feeders in three different chemically defined medias (pp. 3, para 4) to obtain a porcine pluripotent stem cell lines (pp. 4 para 1). Therefore, a blastocyst-derived porcine pluripotent stem cell does not exhibit markedly different characteristics from their naturally occurring counterparts, and instead retain the same pluripotent properties present within the embryo.
MPEP 2106.04(c) states that if a claim includes a nature-based product that does not exhibit markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, then the claim recites a “product of nature” exception, and requires further analysis in Step 2A Prong Two to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into practical application (Step 2A, Prong One: YES)
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because they do not recite any elements in addition to the recited judicial exception. MPEP 2106.04(d), subsection III states that a judicial exception alone is not eligible subject matter; therefore, if there are no additional claim elements besides the judicial, or if the additional claim elements merely recite another judicial exception, that is insufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As such, claim 52 is directed to a natural product with no additional elements to demonstrate the claims integrate the exception into practical application. (Step 2A, Prong 2: NO).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.05, subsection I states that additional elements in the claims must be evaluated to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept, which requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Any additional steps, such as isolating the porcine cell populations from porcine embryo, are no more than routine in the art and do not transform the nature of the claim to be something distinct from their naturally occurring counterpart. Hence claim 52 does not contain additional elements to demonstrate the claims as a whole integrate the exception into a practical application, the claim simultaneously does not recite significantly more than the exception itself. Since there is no meaningful limitation in the claim that transforms the exception into a patent- eligible application, such that the claim does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. Therefore, claims 52 directed to a judicial exception without significantly more and does not have an eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101 (Step 2B: NO).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-10, 12, 23 and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (Published: 2021. US Application: US 20210102163 A1) .
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a method for making porcine pluripotent stem cells (para 0029, para 0036) Moreover, Lee teaches obtaining and culturing porcine pluripotent stem cells in a medium composition comprising Activin A, CHIR99021 (Wnt activator), and bFGF (FGF protein) (para 0035-0036, and Claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches that the SMAD regulator comprises Activin A (para 0035-0036).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches that the Wnt activator comprises CHIR99021 (para 0035-0036)
Regarding claims 10 and 12, they are anticipated by Lee. Claim 1 requires only one or more of the listed media reagents, and Lee satisfies claim 1 by teaching activin A and CHIR99021. Claims 10 and 12 merely identify listed reagents and do not positively require each reagent to be present. Therefore, the claims do not further distinguish over Lee.
Regarding claim 22, Lee teaches that IVF-derived embryos were transferred to a PZM-3 culture to obtain blastocysts after 7 days, then cultured with serum and PZM-3 to hatch blastocysts (para 0049). Further, Lee teaches that the blastocysts were then placed into maintenance culture solution (para 0053) to establish porcine embryonic stem cell lines.
Regarding claim 23, Lee teaches that the establishment of the embryonic stem cell line involved blastocysts from parthenogenetic embryos (para [0052]).
Regarding claim 52, Lee teaches that the blastocysts were placed into maintenance culture solution to establish porcine embryonic stem cell lines (para 0053).
Therefore, by teaching all the limitations of the claims as written, Lee et al anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This application is currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1, 8-10, 12, 14-15, 17, 19, 21, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (Published: 2021. US Application: US 20210102163 A1) in view of Chen et al. (Published: 2021. Cellular Reprogramming, 23(3), 158–167.).
Lee teaches a medium composition for the establishment of porcine pluripotent stem cells and methods for maintaining, culturing and preserving pluripotent stem cells (para 0033). Lee teaches a chemically defined porcine stem cell media comprising bFGF (basic fibroblast growth factor), activin A, CHIR99021 and IWR-1 (para 0012; para 0035-0036). Lee also teaches that of the embryonic stem cell line involved blastocysts from parthenogenetic embryos (para 0052). Further, Lee teaches deriving embryonic cell line from blastocysts, which were obtained through both in vitro fertilization and parthenogenetic embryos (para 0044-0049). Further, Lee teaches that the blastocysts were then placed into maintenance culture solution (para 0053) to establish porcine embryonic stem cell lines. Further, in regards to claim 21, Lee teaches that the porcine cells comprise germ cells, and wherein the germ cells are combined via IVF to produce an embryo (para [0044-0049]).
However, Lee fails to teach the porcine stem cell media comprises a STAT3 activator, human leukemia inhibitor factor (LIF) and SP600125. Moreover, Lee fails to teach that the porcine pluripotent stem cells can maintain pluripotency after 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 55, 60, 65, 70, 75, 80, 85, 90,95, or 100 or more passages, or that the porcine cells comprise somatic cells. Lee also fails to teach that the porcine cells are transfected with one or more reprogramming factors selected from the group consisting of: OCT3/4, SOX2, KLF4, C-MYC,LIN28, and NANOG. Further, Lee fails to teach selecting morphologically stem cell- like colonies from the porcine stem cell media.
Chen compares reprogramming efficiencies of different porcine donor cells with different culture environments (pp. 158, Abstract). Chen does this by transfecting Dox-inducible lentiviral vectors comprising OKSM factors into porcine bone-marrow mesenchymal stem cells (PBMSCs), porcine adipose-derived stem cells (PASCs), and porcine fetal fibroblasts (PFFs) to compare piPSC induction efficiency of different donor cells (pp. 159, col 2 para 2). Chen also compares different culture conditions to determine the role of SP600125 and SP203580 in establishing porcine pluripotent stem cells (pp. 159, col 2, para 4). Moreover, Chen discusses that that after lentiviral infections, PFFs successfully formed iPSCs (pp. 161, col 1 para 2). Further, Chen reveals that the addition of SB203580 and SP600125 combined with 2i+Lif+bFGF medium successfully forms piPSC colonies and that the colonies could be expanded for more than 15 passages (pp. 162, col 2, para 2; pp. 166, col 1, para 2). Chen also emphasizes that the synergistic addition of bFGF with 2i+Lif within a culture medium further promotes the proliferation and expression of pluripotent genes in piPSCs, and sustain more than 20 passages in vitro (pp. 165, col 2, para 3).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches that porcine bone-marrow mesenchymal stem cells (PBMSCs), porcine adipose-derived stem cells (PASCs), and porcine fetal fibroblasts (PFFs),were transfected with reprogramming factors and then placed into a culture comprising CHIR99021+PD0325901(2i)+Lif+bFGF (pp. 159, col 2, para 2; pp. 162 col 1 para 2).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches that that the addition of SB203580 and SP600125 combined with 2i+Lif+bFGF medium successfully forms piPSC colonies and that the colonies could be expanded for more than 15 passages (pp. 162, col 2, para 2; pp. 166, col 1, para 2).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches that porcine bone-marrow stem cells (PBMSCs) have a higher efficiency in porcine induced pluripotent stem cell (piPSC) induction, and the when also cultured in a medium consisting of CHIR99021+PD0325901(2i)+Lif+bFGF, it further promoted the subculturing of piPSCs (pp. 158, Abstract). Further, Chen reveals that the addition of SB203580 and SP600125 combined with 2i+Lif+bFGF medium successfully forms piPSC colonies and that the colonies could be expanded for more than 15 passages (pp. 162, col 2, para 2; pp. 166, col 1, para 2).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches that the porcine cells are somatic cells such as porcine fetal fibroblasts (PFFs) to determine the effect of different donor cells and different porcine stem cell culture mediums on piPSC induction (pp. 158, Abstract; pp. 162, col 1 , para 3).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches that the porcine cells are transfected with reprogramming factors (pp. 159 col 2, para 3).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches that the reprogramming factors are OCT4, SOX2, KLF-4 and C-MYC (pp. 159 col 2, para 2).
Regarding claim 24, Chen teaches selecting morphologically stem cell- like colonies from the porcine stem cell media (pp. 162, col 1, para 1-2).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the culture medium containing bFGF, activin A, CHIR99021 and IWR-1 taught by Lee, to further comprise a porcine stem cell culture comprising CHIR99021+PD0325901(2i)+Lif+bFGF, as both porcine stem cell mediums comprise CHIR999021 and bFGF, and Chen discloses that under the condition of 2i+Lif+bFGF, there has been successful induction of iPSC colonies in different donor cells with high efficiency. Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to further culture transfect PFFs (somatic cells) with reprogramming factors using a Dox-inducible lentiviral vector and culture under these conditions, as Chen discloses that specific somatic cells (PFFs) are capable of forming iPSC colonies (pp. 159, col 1, para 4). Therefore, a person with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that porcine fetal fibroblasts could also be reprogrammed to form iPSC colonies.
***
Claims 1, 28-30, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (Published: 2021. US Application: US 20210102163 A1) view of Chen et al. (Published: 2021. Cellular Reprogramming, 23(3), 158–167.) as applied to claim 1, 8-10, 12, 14-15, 17, 19, 21, 23 and 24 above, and in further view of Zhi et al. (Published: 2022. Cell Research volume 32, pages 383–400).
Lee teaches a medium composition for the establishment of porcine pluripotent stem cells and methods for maintaining, culturing and preserving pluripotent stem cells (para 0033). Lee teaches a chemically defined porcine stem cell media comprising bFGF (basic fibroblast growth factor), activin A, CHIR99021 and IWR-1 (para 0012; para 0035-0036). Lee also teaches that of the embryonic stem cell line involved blastocysts from parthenogenetic embryos (para 0052). Further, Lee teaches deriving embryonic cell line from blastocysts, which were obtained through both in vitro fertilization and parthenogenetic embryos (para 0044-0049). Further, Lee teaches that the blastocysts were then placed into maintenance culture solution (para 0053) to establish porcine embryonic stem cell lines. Lee teaches that the porcine cells are germ cells, and wherein the germ cells are combined via IVF to produce an embryo (para [0044-0049]).
Chen compares reprogramming efficiencies of different porcine donor cells with different culture environments (pp. 158, Abstract). Chen does this by transfecting Dox-inducible lentiviral vectors comprising OKSM factors into porcine bone-marrow mesenchymal stem cells (PBMSCs), porcine adipose-derived stem cells (PASCs), and porcine fetal fibroblasts (PFFs) to compare piPSC induction efficiency of different donor cells. Chen also compares different culture conditions to determine the role of SP600125 and SP203580 in producing iPSCs (pp. 159, col 2, para 4). Moreover, Chen reveals that porcine bone-marrow stem cells (PBMSCs) have a higher efficiency (pp. 162, col 2, para 2) in porcine induced pluripotent stem cell (piPSC) induction, and the when also cultured in a medium consisting of CHIR99021+PD0325901(2i)+Lif+bFGF, it further promoted the subculturing of piPSCs (pp. 158, Abstract). Further, Chen reveals that the addition of SB203580 and SP600125 combined with 2i+Lif+bFGF medium successfully forms piPSC colonies and that the colonies could be expanded for more than 15 passages (pp. 162, col 2, para 2; pp. 166, col 1, para 2). Chen also emphasizes that the synergistic addition of bFGF with 2i+Lif within a culture medium further promotes the proliferation and expression of pluripotent genes in piPSCs, and sustain more than 20 passages in vitro (pp. 165, col 2, para 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to modify the culture medium containing bFGF, activin A, CHIR99021 and IWR-1 taught by Lee, to further comprise a porcine stem cell culture comprising CHIR99021+PD0325901(2i)+Lif+bFGF with a reasonable expectation of succss as both porcine stem cell mediums promote the establishment of porcine pluripotent stem cell lines, and Chen discloses that under the condition of 2i+Lif+bFGF, there has been successful induction of iPSC colonies in different donor cells with high efficiency.
However, Chen and Lee fail to teach that the porcine pluripotent stem cells are gene edited, through a CRISPR/Cas9 mediated knock-in at one or more target loci simultaneously or in series.
Zhi et al. teaches a method of deriving pluripotent stem cells from epiblasts (pgEpiSCs) (pp. 383, Abstract) using an in vitro culture medium for establishing and maintaining stable pluripotent stem cell lines. (pp. 383, Abstract; pp. 384, col 1, para 3). Zhi reveals that when cultured under a culture medium consisting of CHIR99021, IWR-1-endo, WH-4-023, LIF, Activin A, and FGF2 (termed “3i/LAF”), they displayed pluripotency markers and maintain stability over 240 passages (pp. 384, col 1, para 3).
Regarding claim 28, Zhi discloses that large animal models are important for biomedical research, however one of the main limitations with pig somatic cell nuclear transfer is that somatic donor cells can typically only undergo a single round of genome editing (pp. 392, col 2, para 3). Therefore, Zhi subjected these established pgEpiESCs to determine that the pgEpiESCs could sustain three rounds of successive gene editing (pp. 392, col 2 para 3 and Figure 7). Further, Zhi discloses that large animal models with polygenetic modifications are important in biological research (pp. 392, col 2 para 3). Zhi also discloses stable porcine pluripotent stem cells that can sustain multiple rounds of gene editing would contribute to regenerative biomedical research, and promote the development of complex model pigs with polygenic diseases (pp. 395., col 2, para 1).
Regarding claim 29, Zhi discloses that the gene editing was done through transfecting cells with a GFP-NLS reporter cassette, and then a CRISPR/Cas9 mediated knock-in of the tdTomato reporter cassette into the NANOG locus. For the third genome modification, Zhi et al. performed a C-to-T conversion at TYR loci, a mutation known to cause albinism (pp. 392, col 2 para 3).
Regarding claim 30, 33, and 34 Zhi discloses that the gene editing was done at two loci in series, which was at the NANOG loci and TYR loci (pp. 392, col 2, para 3).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to genetically edit the porcine pluripotent stem cells obtained by Lee, as they can be used in combination with somatic cell nuclear transfer to create porcine models to create complex model pigs with polygenetic diseases with a reasonable expectation of success.
***
Claims 1, 28-30, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (Published: 2021. US Application: US 20210102163 A1) view of Chen et al. (Published: 2021. Cellular Reprogramming, 23(3), 158–167.) as applied to claim 1, 8-10, 12, 14-15, 17, 19, 21, 23 and 24 above, and in further view of Zhi et al. (Published: 2022. Cell Research volume 32, pages 383–400) as applied to claim 28-30, and 33-34, and in further view of McCarty et al. (Published: 2020. Multiplexed CRISPR technologies for gene editing and transcriptional regulation. Nat Commun 11, 1281).
Lee teaches a medium composition for the establishment of porcine pluripotent stem cells and methods for maintaining, culturing and preserving pluripotent stem cells (para 0033). Lee teaches a chemically defined porcine stem cell media comprising bFGF (basic fibroblast growth factor), activin A, CHIR99021 and IWR-1 (para 0012; para 0035-0036). Lee also teaches that of the embryonic stem cell line involved blastocysts from parthenogenetic embryos (para 0052). Further, Lee teaches deriving embryonic cell line from blastocysts, which were obtained through both in vitro fertilization and parthenogenetic embryos (para 0044-0049). Further, Lee teaches that the blastocysts were then placed into maintenance culture solution (para 0053) to establish porcine embryonic stem cell lines. Lee teaches that the porcine cells are germ cells, and wherein the germ cells are combined via IVF to produce an embryo (para [0044-0049]).
Chen compares reprogramming efficiencies of different porcine donor cells with different culture environments (pp. 158, Abstract). Chen does this by transfecting Dox-inducible lentiviral vectors comprising OKSM factors into porcine bone-marrow mesenchymal stem cells (PBMSCs), porcine adipose-derived stem cells (PASCs), and porcine fetal fibroblasts (PFFs) to compare piPSC induction efficiency of different donor cells. Chen also compares different culture conditions, specifically within PBMSC-derived iPSCs to determine the role of SP600125 and SP203580 in producing iPSCs (pp. 159, col 2, para 4). Further, Chen reveals that the addition of SB203580 and SP600125 combined with 2i+Lif+bFGF medium successfully forms piPSC colonies and that the colonies could be expanded for more than 15 passages (pp. 162, col 2, para 2; pp. 166, col 1, para 2). Chen also emphasizes that the synergistic addition of bFGF with 2i+Lif within a culture medium further promotes the proliferation and expression of pluripotent genes in piPSCs, and sustain more than 20 passages in vitro (pp. 165, col 2, para 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to modify the culture medium of Lee to further comprise a porcine stem cell culture comprising CHIR99021+PD0325901(2i)+Lif+bFGF, as both porcine stem cell mediums promote the establishment of porcine pluripotent stem cell lines, and Chen discloses that under the condition of 2i+Lif+bFGF, there has been successful induction of iPSC colonies in different donor cells with high efficiency.
However, Lee and Chen fail to teach that the porcine pluripotent stem cells are gene edited.
Zhi et al. similarly teaches a method of deriving pluripotent stem cells from epiblasts (pgEpiSCs) (pp. 383, Abstract) using an in vitro culture medium for establishing and maintaining stable pluripotent stem cell lines. (pp. 383, Abstract; pp. 384, col 1, para 3). Zhi reveals that when cultured under a culture medium consisting of CHIR99021, IWR-1-endo, WH-4-023, LIF, Activin A, and FGF2 (termed “3i/LAF”), they displayed pluripotency markers and maintain stability over 240 passages (pp. 384, col 1, para 3). Moreover, Zhi discloses that large animal models are important for biomedical research, however one of the main limitations with pig somatic cell nuclear transfer is that somatic donor cells can typically only undergo a single round of genome editing (pp. 392, col 2, para 3). Therefore, Zhi subjected these established pgEpiESCs to determine that the pgEpiESCs could sustain three rounds of successive gene editing (pp. 392, col 2 para 3 and Figure 7), then created genetically modified piglets. Zhi also discloses stable porcine pluripotent stem cells that can sustain multiple rounds of gene editing would contribute to regenerative biomedical research, and promote the development of complex model pigs with polygenic diseases (pp. 395., col 2, para 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to genetically modify the porcine pluripotent stem cells obtained by Lee and Chen, as they can be used in combination with somatic cell nuclear transfer to develop porcine animal models with polygenic diseases.
However, the combined teachings fail to disclose that the gene editing occurs at one or more target loci simultaneously, as required by claims 31 and 32.
McCarty teaches another form of CRISPR known as multiplex CRISPR, which allows the utilization of multiple Cas9 enzymes or gRNAs simultaneously to edit numerous genetic loci in parallel and addresses the limitations of using traditional CRISPR technologies that employ one guide RNA (pp. 1 par 2). Moreover, McCarty teaches that multiplexed gene editing enhances efficiency of editing or transcriptional regulation (pp. 4, col 2 para 3).
As discussed in Zhi, a person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to gene edit the pluripotent stem cells as they can be used in downstream experiments involving genetically modified porcine models and regenerative medicine. Furthermore, a person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize multiplex CRISPR technologies, as McCarthy discloses that loci edited in parallel through multiplex CRISPR have enhanced gene editing efficiency in comparison to editing in series (pp. 4, col 2, para 3). Moreover, McCarthy’s multiplex method presents an obvious variant of editing various loci within cells that a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably employ with a level of success.
***
Claims 1, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (Published: 2021. US Application: US 20210102163 A1) view of Chen et al. (Published: 2021. Cellular Reprogramming, 23(3), 158–167.) as applied to claim 1, 8-10, 12, 14-15, 17, 19, 21, 23 and 24 above, and in further view of Wang et al. (Published: 2019. Cell Transplant. 2019 Dec;28(1_suppl):112S-131S. doi: 10.1177/0963689719886534.).
Lee teaches a medium composition for the establishment of porcine pluripotent stem cells and methods for maintaining, culturing and preserving pluripotent stem cells (para 0033). Lee teaches a chemically defined porcine stem cell media comprising bFGF (basic fibroblast growth factor), activin A, CHIR99021 and IWR-1 (para 0012; para 0035-0036). Lee also teaches that of the embryonic stem cell line involved blastocysts from parthenogenetic embryos (para 0052). Further, Lee teaches deriving embryonic cell line from blastocysts, which were obtained through both in vitro fertilization and parthenogenetic embryos (para 0044-0049). Further, Lee teaches that the blastocysts were then placed into maintenance culture solution (para 0053) to establish porcine embryonic stem cell lines. Lee teaches that the porcine cells are germ cells, and wherein the germ cells are combined via IVF to produce an embryo (para [0044-0049]).
However, Lee fails to teach that the porcine cells are transfected with reprogramming factors.
Chen compares reprogramming efficiencies of different porcine donor cells with different culture environments (pp. 158, Abstract). Chen does this by transfecting Dox-inducible lentiviral vectors comprising OKSM factors into porcine bone-marrow mesenchymal stem cells (PBMSCs), porcine adipose-derived stem cells (PASCs), and porcine fetal fibroblasts (PFFs) to compare piPSC induction efficiency of different donor cells (pp. 159, col 2 para 2). Chen also compares different culture conditions to determine the role of SP600125 and SP203580 in establishing porcine pluripotent stem cells (pp. 159, col 2, para 4). Moreover, Chen discusses that that after lentiviral infections, PFFs successfully formed iPSCs (pp. 161, col 1 para 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to transfect PFFs (somatic cells) with reprogramming factors using a Dox-inducible lentiviral vector and culture under these conditions, as Chen discloses that somatic cells (PFFs) are capable of forming iPSC colonies could be reprogrammed with high efficiency (pp. 159, col 1, para 4). Therefore, a person with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that porcine fetal fibroblasts could also be reprogrammed to form iPSC colonies.
However, Lee and Chen do not disclose the reprogramming factors are to be encoded by episomes.
Wang teaches advancements of episomal induced pluripotent stem cells (EiPSCs), which essentially are somatic cells reprogrammed into induced pluripotent stem cells using non-integrative episomal vector methods (pp. 112S, Abstract, .). Moreover, Wang teaches that integrative viral transduction may cause disruption to the host cell’s genome (pp. 113S, col 1, para 2)and that episomal plasmid delivery presents a safer alternative to the delivery of pluripotent factors (pp. 113S, col 1, para 2). Further, Wang teaches that non-integrative methods of introducing OSK transcription factors eliminate the risk of transgene integration (pp. 113S, col 2, para 1). Wang also teaches that this method of producing iPSCs through episomal plasmids would be safer for clinical applications (pp. 113S, col 2, para 2).
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Lee, to comprise the step of encoding the reprograming factors with episomes as episomal plasmids are a safer method of inserting transcription factors into host cells without residual episomal plasmid DNA. Such non-integrative methods would further allow the use of porcine pluripotent stem cells for clinical applications. There would have been reasonable expectations of success in combining these teachings as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize to combine known elements in the art to give predictable results.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/KATRIEL BARCELLANO KASAYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1634
Dr. A.M.S. Wehbé
/ANNE MARIE S WEHBE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634