DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 2/24/2026 have been accepted. Claims 1-18 are still pending. Claims 1, 12, and 18 are amended. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 103 rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 11/24/2025.
Double Patenting
Please note that MPEP § 804 states:
“A complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action (see MPEP § 1490 for a discussion of terminal disclaimers). Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional. As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. Replies with an omission should be treated as provided in MPEP § 714.03. “
In accordance with MPEP § 804 and §714.03 the examiner will hold any response/amendments to this office action as NON-COMPLIANT without any additional extensions of time that do not contain:
an approved terminal disclaimer, or
a complete and concise explanation of how the inventions are patentably distinct from one another.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 and 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,494,311 and 12,066,951 respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the independent claims of the instant application are broader versions of those presented in the patents and the dependent claims of the application are the same as those presented in Patent 12,066,951 and contain limitations presented in the independent claims of Patent 11,494,311 as well as some of the dependent claims.
Instant Application
Patent 11,494,311
Patent 12,066,951
1. (Currently Amended) A system comprising: a first memory device of a first memory type having a first latency; a second memory device of a second memory type having a second latency, wherein the second latency is different from the first latency; and at least one processing device configured to: monitor data usage by an application that is running on the processing device; and based on monitoring the data usage, transfer data for the application from a first address range associated with the first memory device to a second address range associated with the second memory device, wherein the data is transferred while the application is running.
3. The system of claim 1, further comprising a multiplexer within a memory module including the first and second memory devices, wherein the data for the application is transferred through the multiplexer.
14. A system comprising: a first memory device of a first memory type having a first latency; a second memory device of a second memory type having a second latency, wherein the second latency is less than the first latency; a page table storing page table entries that map virtual addresses to physical addresses in memory devices of different memory types, the memory devices including the first memory device and the second memory device; at least one processing device; metadata storing the first latency, the second latency, a first address range of the virtual addresses corresponding to the first memory type, and a second address range of the virtual addresses corresponding to the second memory type, the metadata being accessible by the at least one processing device; and memory containing instructions configured to instruct the at least one processing device to: monitor priorities of a first and a second application, wherein the priorities are based on data usage patterns by the first and the second application; access the metadata to obtain the first and the second address range and the first and the second latency; after determining that a priority of the first application is lower than a priority of the second application, assign the first application to use the first address range and the second application to use the second address range; and after determining that the priority of the first application has increased, transfer data for the first application from the first address range to the second address range through a multiplexer within a memory module including the first and second memory device.
1. A system comprising: a first memory device; a second memory device; and at least one processing device configured to: monitor data usage by an application; based on monitoring the data usage, transfer data for the application from a first address range associated with the first memory device to a second address range associated with the second memory device, wherein the data is transferred while the application is running; and a multiplexer within a memory module including the first and second memory devices, wherein the data for the application is transferred through the multiplexer.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the pattern of usage is a frequency of read or write access to data.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the data regarding the pattern of usage is at least one of a frequency of use or a time of last use.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the data usage comprises a pattern of usage by the application.
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the processing device is further configured to: receive a read or write command from a host; and in response to receiving the read or write command, send at least one signal to control the multiplexer for transferring the data.
14. …transfer data for the first application from the first address range to the second address range through a multiplexer within a memory module including the first and second memory device.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the processing device is further configured to: receive a read or write command from a host; and in response to receiving the read or write command, send at least one signal to control the multiplexer for transferring the data.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the processing device is further configured to manage virtual pages stored in the first memory device and the second memory device, and the transferred data includes one or more of the virtual pages.
14. … a page table storing page table entries that map virtual addresses to physical addresses in memory devices of different memory types…
18. …wherein the virtual page is transferred from the first memory device to the second memory device by the memory management unit based on the updated mapping data.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the processing device is further configured to manage virtual pages stored in the first memory device and the second memory device, and the transferred data includes one or more of the virtual pages.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the second memory type is dynamic random access memory, and the first memory type is non-volatile random access memory or flash memory.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the first memory type is dynamic random access memory, and the second memory type is non-volatile random access memory or flash memory.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the second memory device is dynamic random access memory, and the first memory device is non-volatile random access memory or flash memory.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the data for the application is transferred from the first address range to the second address range within a memory module containing the first and second address ranges.
14. …assign the first application to use the first address range and the second application to use the second address range; and after determining that the priority of the first application has increased, transfer data for the first application from the first address range to the second address range through a multiplexer within a memory module including the first and second memory device.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the data for the application is transferred from the first address range to the second address range within a memory module containing the first and second address ranges.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the processing device is further configured to update a page table in response to a change in allocation of memory to the application.
18. The system of claim 14, further comprising a memory management unit and a translation lookaside buffer, wherein the instructions are further configured to instruct the at least one processing device to: update mapping data in the translation lookaside buffer based on a change in memory type associated with the virtual page from the first memory type to the second memory type; wherein the virtual page is transferred from the first memory device to the second memory device by the memory management unit based on the updated mapping data.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the processing device is further configured to update a page table in response to a change in allocation of memory to the application.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the page table includes page table entries each associated with a respective virtual address and usage data, and wherein the respective usage data relates to read or write access at the respective virtual address.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the page table includes page table entries each associated with a respective virtual address and usage data, and wherein the respective usage data relates to read or write access at the respective virtual address.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the processing device is further configured to update a page table entry for a virtual page in a page table based on monitoring the data usage, and transferring the data comprises transferring the virtual page from the first memory device to the second memory device.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the processing device is further configured to update a page table entry for a virtual page in a page table based on monitoring the data usage, and transferring the data comprises transferring the virtual page from the first memory device to the second memory device.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein: monitoring data usage generates usage data; the usage data includes data regarding read or write access to a virtual page; and a page table entry for the virtual page in a page table is updated by a memory management unit using the usage data.
12. The system of claim 1, wherein: monitoring data usage generates usage data; the usage data includes data regarding read or write access to a virtual page; and a page table entry for the virtual page in a page table is updated by a memory management unit using the usage data.
12. (Currently Amended) A system comprising: a first memory device of a first memory type; a second memory device of a second memory type; and at least one processing device configured to: assign a first application running on the system to use a first address range associated with the first memory device; monitor data usage of the first application while the first application is running; and based on monitoring the data usage, transfer data for the first application from the first address range to a second address range associated with the second memory device, wherein the first application continues running during and after the data transfer.
14. A system comprising: a first memory device of a first memory type having a first latency; a second memory device of a second memory type having a second latency, wherein the second latency is less than the first latency; a page table storing page table entries that map virtual addresses to physical addresses in memory devices of different memory types, the memory devices including the first memory device and the second memory device; at least one processing device; metadata storing the first latency, the second latency, a first address range of the virtual addresses corresponding to the first memory type, and a second address range of the virtual addresses corresponding to the second memory type, the metadata being accessible by the at least one processing device; and memory containing instructions configured to instruct the at least one processing device to: monitor priorities of a first and a second application, wherein the priorities are based on data usage patterns by the first and the second application; access the metadata to obtain the first and the second address range and the first and the second latency; after determining that a priority of the first application is lower than a priority of the second application, assign the first application to use the first address range and the second application to use the second address range; and after determining that the priority of the first application has increased, transfer data for the first application from the first address range to the second address range through a multiplexer within a memory module including the first and second memory device.
13. A system comprising: a first memory device of a first memory type; a second memory device of a second memory type; a multiplexer within a memory module including the first and second memory devices; and at least one processing device configured to: assign a first application running on the system to use a first address range associated with the first memory device; and transfer, through the multiplexer, data for the first application from the first address range to a second address range associated with the second memory device, wherein the first application continues running during and after the data transfer.
13. The system of claim 12, further comprising a page table storing page table entries that map virtual addresses to physical addresses in memory devices of different memory types, wherein a first page table entry corresponding to the transferred data is updated so that a virtual address maps to the second address range instead of the first address range.
14… page table storing page table entries that map virtual addresses to physical addresses in memory devices of different memory types, the memory devices including the first memory device and the second memory device…
14. The system of claim 13, further comprising a page table storing page table entries that map virtual addresses to physical addresses in memory devices of different memory types, wherein a first page table entry corresponding to the transferred data is updated so that a virtual address maps to the second address range instead of the first address range.
14. The system of claim 13, further comprising a memory management unit (MMU) configured to access the page table entries to determine physical addresses in memory accessed by the first application.
15. The system of claim 14, further comprising a memory management unit (MMU) configured to access the page table entries to determine physical addresses in memory accessed by the first application.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein each page table entry includes a memory type.
16. The system of claim 15, wherein each page table entry includes a memory type.
16. The system of claim 12, further comprising a memory management unit (MMU), wherein the transferred data includes at least one virtual page, and the data is transferred by the memory management unit based on an updated page table entry for the virtual page.
17. The system of claim 13, further comprising a memory management unit (MMU), wherein the transferred data includes at least one virtual page, and the data is transferred by the memory management unit based on an updated page table entry for the virtual page.
17. The system of claim 12, further comprising a memory management unit (MMU), wherein the data usage is a pattern of access to a virtual page of the first application managed by the MMU.
18. The system of claim 13, further comprising a memory management unit (MMU), wherein the first application accesses a virtual page managed by the MMU.
18. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: monitoring data usage by an application in a first memory device of a first memory type , wherein the application is running while the frequency of data usage is monitored; and based on monitoring frequency of the data usage, changing a main memory assignment of data for the application from a first address range associated with the first memory device to a second address range associated with a second memory device of a second memory type, wherein the main memory assignment is changed while the application is running.
1. A method comprising: associating, by at least one processing device, a virtual page with a first memory type having a first latency; generating a page table entry to map a virtual address of the virtual page to a physical address in a first memory device of the first memory type; storing, using the page table entry, the virtual page at the physical address in the first memory device; storing a first address range of the virtual page and the first latency in metadata; monitoring a priority of an application, wherein the priority is based on data usage patterns by the application; accessing the metadata to obtain the first address range and the first latency, and further to obtain a second address range and a corresponding second latency, the second latency being less than the first latency; assigning the application to use the first address range after determining that the first latency is appropriate for the application; and transferring data for the application from the first address range to the second address range through a multiplexer within a memory module containing the first and second address range after determining that the priority of the application has increased.
19. A method comprising: monitoring data usage by an application in a first memory device, wherein the application is running while the data usage is monitored; and based on monitoring the data usage, changing a main memory assignment of data for the application from a first address range associated with the first memory device to a second address range associated with a second memory device, wherein the main memory assignment is changed while the application is running, wherein the data for the application is transferred through a multiplexer within a memory module including the first and second memory devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US PGPub 2014/0025923) in view of Ramini et al. (US PGPub 2020/0210333, hereafter referred to as Ramini) in view of Kusbel et al. (US PGPub 2018/0217778, hereafter referred to as Kusbel).
Regarding claim 1, Klein teaches a system comprising: a first memory device of a first memory type having a first latency, a second memory device of a second memory type having a second latency (Fig. 1, 3, and 4 and Paragraphs [0026] and [0028], show the system contains multiple memories and that each virtual page (defined by their identified virtual address) is associated with type of memory as seen from the TYPE column 52 in the page tables (meaning there are multiple different types of memories). As latency is a characteristic of memories it means that each memory would have some kind of latency associated with it), and transfer data for the application from a first address range associated with the first memory device to a second address range associated with the second memory device (Paragraph [0035]-[0037], describe the method of performing a memory swap wherein an entry associated with one memory type can be changed to be associated with the other memory type. The data and entry are then swapped between the first and second memory type and the page table is updated to reflect the change. Paragraphs [0006] and [0019] shows that at least one of the memories in question can be main memory meaning the change can be a change in the main memory locations). Klein does not teach wherein the second latency is different from the first latency, and at least one processing device configured to: monitor data usage by an application that is running on the processing device, and based on monitoring the data usage, transfer data for the application, wherein the data is transferred while the application is running.
Ramini teaches at least one processing device configured to: monitor data usage by an application that is running on the processing device, and based on monitoring the data usage, transfer data for the application, wherein the data is transferred while the application is running (Paragraph [0029], states that the data usage pattern of an application can be determined while a user interacts with it meaning it would be running. These patterns are used to determine caching policies which govern data movement to and from the cache. Paragraph [0030], states the purpose of this is to result in faster application execution meaning the application is running during and after the data transfers). Since both Klein and Ramini teach transferring data from one memory to another it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art according to known methods by modifying the teachings of Klein to take into account applications’ usage patterns when determining where to store particular data as taught in Ramini to obtain the predictable result of having at least one processing device configured to: monitor data usage by an application that is running on the processing device, and based on monitoring the data usage, transfer data for the application, wherein the data is transferred while the application is running. Klein and Ramini do not teach wherein the second latency is different from the first latency.
Kusbel teaches wherein the second latency is different from the first latency (Paragraph [0002], states that multiple memories with varying latency can be looked at when deciding what memory to use). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Klein and Ramini to use the latency as taught in Kusbel so as to intelligently handle data in a data storage server to provide a balance between data transfer latency and cost of data storage (Kusbel, Paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 2, Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations of claim 1. Klein further teaches wherein the pattern of usage is a frequency of read or write access to data (Paragraph [0035]-[0037], discusses the swapping of pages in one memory type to that of another memory type which involves determining the frequency of use of pages). The combination of and reason for combining are the same as those given in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations of claim 1. Klein further teaches wherein the processing device is further configured to manage virtual pages stored in the first memory device and the second memory device, and the transferred data includes one or more of the virtual pages (Fig. 3 and 4 and Paragraphs [0026] and [0028], show that each virtual page (defined by their identified virtual address) is associated with type of memory as seen from the TYPE column 52 in the page tables meaning that the virtual pages are stored in the respective memory devices. Paragraph [0035]-[0037], as stated in the rejection to claim 1, describes the process of swapping data which includes the virtual pages). The combination of and reason for combining are the same as those given in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations of claim 1. Klein further teaches wherein the second memory type is dynamic random access memory, and the first memory type is non-volatile random access memory or flash memory (Paragraph [0019]-[0020], states one or more of the memories can be DRAM and one or more of the other memories can be flash memory). The combination of and reason for combining are the same as those given in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations of claim 1. Klein further teaches wherein the processing device is further configured to update a page table in response to a change in allocation of memory to the application (Paragraph [0035]-[0037], describe the method of performing a memory swap wherein an entry associated with one memory type can be changed to be associated with the other memory type. The data and entry are then swapped between the first and second memory type and the page table is updated to reflect the change). The combination of and reason for combining are the same as those given in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations of claim 8. Klein further teaches wherein the page table includes page table entries each associated with a respective virtual address and usage data, and wherein the respective usage data relates to read or write access at the respective virtual address (Fig. 3 and 4 and Paragraphs [0026] and [0028], show the columns of the entries in the page table associated with the data. This is also stored in the TLB which is an address table which stores the address of data pages in a metadata table along with information about those pages. Fig. 3 and 4 and Paragraph [0026]-[0027], show the LRU column which indicates which entries are used the least and most). The combination of and reason for combining are the same as those given in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations of claim 1. Klein further teaches wherein the processing device is further configured to update a page table entry for a virtual page in a page table based on monitoring the data usage, wherein the processing device is further configured to update a page table entry for a virtual page in a page table based on monitoring the data usage (Paragraph [0026]-[0027], show the LRU column which indicates which entries are used the least and most which also means that this information is updated based on the usage of the virtual pages). The combination of and reason for combining are the same as those given in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations of claim 1. Ramini further teaches wherein: monitoring data usage generates usage data (Paragraphs [0029]-[0030], as stated in the rejection to claim 1, since the usage patterns can be tracked and used for caching policies it means that usage data would be generated to be used for the caching policies). Klein further teaches the usage data includes data regarding read or write access to a virtual page and a page table entry for the virtual page in a page table is updated by a memory management unit using the usage data (Paragraph [0026]-[0027], as stated in the rejection to claim 10, the LRU data (usage data regarding read and write accesses) can be stored in a page table entry). The combination of and reason for combining are the same as those given in claim 1.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, claims 12 and 13 are the system claims associated with claims 1, 9, and 10. Since Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations to claims 1, 9, and 10 and Ramini further teaches assign a first application to use a first address range associated with the first memory device (Fig. 3 and 8 and Paragraphs [0096] and [0105]), they also teach all the limitations to claims 12 and 13; therefore the rejection to claims 1, 9, and 10 also apply to claims 12 and 13.
Regarding claim 14, Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations to claim 13. Klein further teaches a memory management unit (MMU) configured to access the page table entries to determine physical addresses in memory accessed by the first application (Fig. 2 and Paragraph [0018] and [0022], describes the memory management system (memory management unit) that stores and uses page tables to translate virtual addresses to physical addresses). The combination of and reason for combining are the same as those given in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations to claim 14. Klein further teaches wherein each page table entry includes a memory type (Fig. 3 and 4 and Paragraphs [0026] and [0028], show that each virtual page (defined by their identified virtual address) is associated with type of memory as seen from the TYPE column 52 in the page tables). The combination of and reason for combining are the same as those given in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations to claim 12. Klein further teaches a memory management unit (MMU) (Fig. 2 and Paragraph [0018] and [0022], as stated in the rejection to claim 14), wherein the transferred data includes at least one virtual page, and the data is transferred by the memory management unit based on an updated page table entry for the virtual page (Fig. 3 and 4 and Paragraphs [0026] and [0028], show that each virtual page (defined by their identified virtual address) is associated with type of memory as seen from the TYPE column 52 in the page tables meaning that the virtual pages are stored in the respective memory devices. Paragraph [0035]-[0037], as stated in the rejection to claim 1, describes the process of swapping data which includes the virtual pages). The combination of and reason for combining are the same as those given in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations to claim 12. Klein further teaches a memory management unit (MMU) (Fig. 2 and Paragraph [0018] and [0022], as stated in the rejection to claim 14), wherein the data usage is a pattern of access to a virtual page of the first application managed by the MMU (Paragraph [0026]-[0027], as stated in the rejection to claim 10, the LRU data (usage data regarding read and write accesses) can be stored in a page table entry which is managed by the memory management system). The combination of and reason for combining are the same as those given in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is the method claim associated with claim 12. Since Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations to claim 12 and Klein further teaches main memory assignment (Paragraphs [0006], [0019], and [0021], states the memory management system does not distinguish between memory types including main memory, meaning that the data transfers can be to and from main memory), they also teach all the limitations of claim 18; therefore the rejection to claim 12 also applies to claim 18.
Claims 3, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pax et al. (US PGPub 2017/0206036, hereafter referred to as Pax).
Regarding claim 3, Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations to claim 1. Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel do not teach a multiplexer within a memory module including the first and second memory devices, wherein the data for the application is transferred through the multiplexer.
Pax teaches a multiplexer within a memory module including the first and second memory devices, wherein the data for the application is transferred through the multiplexer (Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0010] and [0013], show the memory module which includes a non-volatile memory and several DRAMs as well as several data multiplexers and a control and address multiplexer which are used to facilitate data transfer to and from the host and memory devices). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel to utilize the memory architecture of Pax so to extend chip kill functionality such that the host system can identify failed non-volatile memory devices, restore corrupted data resulting from the non-volatile memory device failure, and in certain examples, continue to operate the system until the non-volatile memory device can be replaced (Pax, Paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 4, Klein, Ramini, Kusbel, and Pax teach all the limitations to claim 3. Pax further teaches wherein the processing device is further configured to: receive a read or write command from a host, and in response to receiving the read or write command, send at least one signal to control the multiplexer for transferring the data (Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0010] and [0013], as stated in the rejection to claim 3, the multiplexers facilitate the data transfer between the memories and the host meaning signals would need to be sent to them for them to operate. Paragraph [0022] states the host can send memory requests (read and write commands) to the memory devices). The combination of and reason for combining are the same as those given in claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel teach all the limitations to claim 1. Klein further teaches wherein the data for the application is transferred from the first address range to the second address range (Paragraph [0035]-[0037], as stated in the rejection to claim 1). Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel do not teach a memory module containing the first and second address ranges.
Pax teaches a memory module containing the first and second address ranges (Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0010] and [0013], shows the memory module which contains multiple different memories which have address ranges as indicated by the address busses and control information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Klein, Ramini, and Kusbel to utilize the memory architecture of Pax so to extend chip kill functionality such that the host system can identify failed non-volatile memory devices, restore corrupted data resulting from the non-volatile memory device failure, and in certain examples, continue to operate the system until the non-volatile memory device can be replaced (Pax, Paragraph [0009]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the applicant amended the claims with the limitation “…wherein the data is transferred while the application is running” to overcome the prior rejections set forth in the Final Rejection mailed 11/24/2025. To address this, new reference Ramini has been incorporated into the rejection to address the amended limitations.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A. PAPERNO/Examiner, Art Unit 2132