DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 – 7, and 9 - 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Makinen (US 2022/0308356).
As per claim 1, Makinen discloses a light beam reproduction device configured to reproduce light beams virtually emitted from a stereoscopic image when displaying the stereoscopic image in a reproduction space, the light beam reproduction device comprising:
processing circuitry configured to display the stereoscopic image as at least one of a virtual image and a real image by light beams emitted from element cells included in an element cell set which includes the element cells formed two-dimensionally corresponding to a reproduction screen where the light beams emitted from a surface of the stereoscopic image reach (¶ 139),
wherein the stereoscopic image is displayed in a region at a depth distance corresponding to a social distance in the reproduction space (¶ 112, 113), and
a size of each of the element cells in the element cell set and a pitch of the element cells formed two-dimensionally are determined according to a degree to which the stereoscopic image displayed in the reproduction space is observed by an observer (¶ 139).
As per claim 2, Makinen discloses the light beam reproduction device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to display a set of the light beams emitted from a surface of the stereoscopic image according to positions on the reproduction screen, associate each of the divided light beams to each of the element cells of the element cell set, and calculate components of one or more light beams to be reproduced for each of the element cells of the element cell set (¶ 4, 115, and 116).
As per claim 3, Makinen discloses the light beam reproduction device according to claim 1, wherein, when displaying the stereoscopic image in the region at the depth distance corresponding to the social distance in the reproduction space (¶ 112, 113), the size of the element cells is determined according to a size of blur generated in the displayed stereoscopic image (¶ 164).
As per claim 5, Makinen discloses the light beam reproduction device according to claim 1, wherein the size of each of the element cells is determined to be smaller than the pitch of the element cells (¶ 154).
As per claim 6, Makinen discloses the light beam reproduction device according to claim 1, wherein the size of each of the element cells is 0.8 mm or more (¶ 154).
As per claim 7, Makinen discloses the light beam reproduction device according to claim 1, wherein the pitch of the element cells is 1.2 mm or less (¶ 154).
Regarding claim 9, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makinen in view of Silverstein et al (US 2021/0211618, hereafter Silverstein).
As per claim 4, Makinen discloses the light beam reproduction device according to claim 1.
However, Makinen does not explicitly teach wherein, when displaying the stereoscopic image in the region at the depth distance corresponding to the social distance in the reproduction space, the pitch of the element cells is determined according to a resolution of a retina of the observer observing the displayed stereoscopic image.
In the same field of endeavor, Silverstein teaches wherein, when displaying the stereoscopic image in the region at the depth distance corresponding to the social distance in the reproduction space, the pitch of the element cells is determined according to a resolution of a retina of the observer observing the displayed stereoscopic image (¶ 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Makinen in view of Silverstein. The advantage is reducing the amount of blurring.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makinen in view of Sinay et al (US 12,572,020, hereafter Sinay).
As per claim 8, Makinen discloses the light beam reproduction device according to claim 1.
However, Makinen does not explicitly teach wherein the element cells are holograms in which a wavefront from the stereoscopic image is recorded.
In the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the element cells are holograms in which a wavefront from the stereoscopic image is recorded (column 20 lines 3 – 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Makinen in view of Silverstein. The advantage is reducing the amount of blurring.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487