CTNF 18/807,710 CTNF 75554 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/16/2024 was filed and considered by the examiner. Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shioda, US 2008/0219653 A1, in view of Applicant’s submitted prior art, Hirotaka, JP 2016-33594 . Regarding claim 1, Shioda discloses an imaging apparatus (figure 1) comprising: . a lens holder 9 having an opening and configured to hold a lens L4 . a filter holder 2 configured to hold a filter 1a, wherein at least one of the filter 1a or the filter holder 2 is at least partially arranged in the opening so as to overlap at least a portion of the lens holder 9 as viewed in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis direction of the lens L4. Shioda does not explicitly disclose the filter is insertable to and removable from an optical path of the lens, Hirotaka does disclose a filter 15/16 can be inserted and removed from a lens optical path (fig 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Shioda’s filter being insertable and removable, as shown by Hirotaka, to prevent deformation ([0030]). Re claim 2, wherein the filter holder 9 is at least partially arranged in the opening so that the filter 1a and the lens holder 9 at least partially overlap as viewed in the direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction of the lens (fig. 1). Re claim 3, wherein a diagonal length of the filter 1a is shorter than a diameter of the lens L4 (fig. 1). Re claim 4, the modification to Shioda would result the filter can be moved along a long-side direction of the filter (e.g., when insert or remove). Re claim 5, wherein a side surface of the lens holder 9 engages with a side surface of the filter holder 2 (e.g., 9a and 2a, fig. 1). Re claim 6, the modification to Shioda disclose the claimed invention as describe above except for the lens holder including a guide pin, and the guide pin engages with a guide hole provided in the filter holder. Hirotaka et al. does disclose a common pin 14b engages with a common pine hole over frame 14 (figs 3, 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a guide pin, guide hole over the Shioda’s lens holder, as shown by Hirotaka et al., to engage/connect components purposes. Re claim 7, the modification to Shioda does not disclose a second filter, a second filter holder that overlapping at least a portion of the second filter holder as viewed in the direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction of the lens. Hirotaka et al. further disclose a second filter (15 or 16) with a second filter holder (upper or lower of 17 corresponding to 15 or 16, respectively) and its arrangement in the optical system (figs. 3-6, [0037]-[0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a second filter, a second filter holder and its arrangement over the Shioda’s imaging apparatus, as shown by Hirotaka et al. to obtain a high strength lens barrel (Abstract). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DUNG T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-2297. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jennifer Carruth can be reached at 571-272-9791. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DUNG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/807,710 Page 2 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/807,710 Page 3 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/807,710 Page 4 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/807,710 Page 5 Art Unit: 2871