DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “an intermediate feature selection module to pass,” “a video tubelet generation module to cluster,” “a video concept discovery module to cluster,” and “a video concept importance module to calculate,” in claim 17 and a sensor module to track in claim 20.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Specifically, these limitations are interpreted to be computer-implemented means-plus-function limitations. See MPEP §2181(II)(B).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 and 17 and therefore all claims depending therefrom are objected to because of the following informalities: all of claims 1, 9 and 17 recite “to select an intermediate video feature of each of the set of videos” but should instead recite “to select intermediate video feature of each video of the set of videos,” and also all of claims 1, 9 and 17 recite “clustering the intermediate video feature of each of the set of videos” but should instead recite “clustering the intermediate video feature of the each video of the set of videos.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–4, 9–12 and 17–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gritsenko et al., US Patent Application Publication No. US 2024/0346824 A1 (herein “Gritsenko”) in view of Luo et al., "Trajectories as Topics: Multi-Object Tracking by Topic Discovery," in IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, vol. 28, no. 1, pp. 240-252, Jan. 2019, doi: 10.1109/TIP.2018.2866955 (herein “Luo”).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, with substantive differences between the claims noted in curly brackets, deficiencies of Gritsenko noted in square brackets, and claim 1 as exemplary, Gritsenko teaches {a method – claim 1 / A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon – claim 9 / A system – claim 17 } for discovering human-interpretable concepts from video-based transformer models, {the program code being executed by a processor and – claim 9 / the system – claim 17} comprising (Gritsenko Abstract, method system and computer programs encoded on computer storage media for performing action localization on an input video, and specifying an action that is being performed in the video (human-interpretable concepts) and where ¶56 teaches processing including a video vision transformer):
{program code to – claim 9 / an intermediate feature selection module to – claim 17} passing a set of videos through a video-based transformer model (Gritsenko fig. 1, input video (where a set can be comprised of one member video) is input to an video encoder neural network, and where ¶56 teaches that a species to the generic disclosed video encoder neural network is a Video Vision Transformer (ViVit) encoder) to select an intermediate video feature of each of the set of videos (Gritsenko fig. 1, ¶¶ 34 and 56, video transformer encoder generates (to select) a feature representation of the input video, where the feature representation 132 is further processed by being input to the decoder so it is an intermediate video feature);
{program code to – claim 9 / a video tubelet generation module to – claim 17} clustering the intermediate video feature of each of the set of videos to obtain corresponding tubelets to the selected intermediate video features of each of the set of videos (Gritsenko fig. 3, ¶¶35, 57, 62–66, 82, features representation are input to a decoder and localization attention head and bounding boxes are output, the bounding boxes being grouped (clustering) according to whether they are for a background action, or for an agent action, and a single tubelet is generated for a group of bounding boxes and actions generated for a given spatial index);
{program code to – claim 9 / a video concept discovery module to – claim 17} [clustering] an entire dataset of tubelets to form concepts of the set of videos (Gritsenko ¶82, classification head generates actions (concepts) for each tubelet (entire dataset)); and
{program code to – claim 9 / a video concept importance module to – claim 17} calculating an importance of each of the concepts of the set of videos to an output of the video-based transformer model (Gritsenko fig. 3, ¶82, a set of scores respective to each potential action classified by the classification head is output, such as shown in fig. 3, the last tublet has a series of scores indicating the correspondence (importance) of the walk action (concept) as 0.8, the sit action (concept) as 0.3 and the watch action (concept) as 0.8).
Gritsenko does not explicitly teach where Luo teaches clustering (Luo Abstract, page 240, introduction, and page 243, left column, frame by frame detections of a video are clustered to determine multi-objects as topics, where tracklets are spatiotemporal representations of an object in a video, and where the trackets are input to a dynamic clustering procedure grouping tracklets belonging to a specific object as a cluster, the clusters corresponding to topics of the video).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Gritsenko and Luo together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (herein “PHOSITA”) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the action label prediction for tubelets disclosed in Gritsenko to include the clustering specifically cited to above in Luo at least because doing so would provide more consistent tracking of objects in a video, leading to greater accuracy in video processing. See Luo page 247 right column, Part 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, with differences between the claims noted in curly brackets, Gritsenko teaches {program code – claim 10} determining training protocols that produce models with desired concepts to provide downstream applications (Gritsenko ¶¶36, 95–97, and 111, fig. 5, training of the vision encoder neural network and decoder by a training system under any of a variety of labelling (supervised training) paradigms (training protocols), including labels from the AVA dataset (thus the training being specific to labels in the AVA dataset which are actions (desired concepts) for downstream applications such as detecting actions in video).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, with differences between the claims noted in curly brackets, Gritsenko teaches {program code – claim 11} in which the training protocols comprise model pruning for improved performance and efficient action recognition, and model debugging (Gritsenko ¶108, for dense annotations in the training data, the training process (protocol) performs tubelet matching and selection of the one that minimizes the sum of the frame losses (thus is a type of pruning), with the resultant minimized frame loss being improved performance, also ¶109 teaching using an optimizer during the training (model debugging)).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 18, with differences between the claims noted in curly brackets, while Grisenko teaches to obtain the corresponding tubelets to the selected intermediate video features of each of the set of videos (Gritsenko fig. 3, ¶¶35, 57, 62–66, 82, features representation are input to a decoder and localization attention head and bounding boxes are output, the bounding boxes being grouped (clustering) according to whether they are for a background action, or for an agent action, and a single tubelet is generated for a group of bounding boxes and actions generated for a given spatial index), Grisenko does not explicitly teach where Luo teaches in which {the program code to – claim 12 } clustering the intermediate video feature of each of the set of videos comprises {program code – claim 12/ the video tubelet generation module is further to} applying simple linear iterative clustering (SLIC) to the intermediate video feature of each of the set of videos (Luo pages 243–244, section IV(A), fig. 2, input video is processed to determine bounding boxes segmented into superpixels using SLIC, each superpixel being a 5-dimensional vector (intermediate video feature) and clustered using K-means).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Gritsenko and Luo together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video processing disclosed in Gritsenko to include the SLIC processing and clustering specifically cited to above in Luo at least because doing so would provide more consistent tracking of objects in a video, leading to greater accuracy in video processing. See Luo page 247 right column, Part 1.
Claims 6–7 and 14–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gritsenko in view of Luo as set forth above regarding the independent claims, and further in view of Dravid et al., “Rosetta Neurons: Mining the Common Units in a Model Zoo,” arXiv:2306.09346v2, June 16, 2023, [cs.CV], https://doi.org/10.48550/arXiv.2306.09346 (herein “Dravid”).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, with differences between the claims noted in curly brackets {}, Gritsenko teaches in which {the program code to – claim 14} calculating the importance comprises: {program code to – claim 14} a set of the concepts from features of the video-based transformer model (Gritsenko ¶82, classification head that is part of the video transformer model generates actions (concepts) for each tubelet and a corresponding score (importance)) and {the program code to – claim 14}from a baseline performance of the video-based transformer model (Gritsenko ¶¶99–101, training loss is calculated (baseline performance) for the video transformer model), but does not teach the remainder of the limitations where Dravid teaches simultaneously removing a set of the concepts from features and calculating a performance degradation ((Dravid section 4.2, Fine-grained Rosetta Neurons edit section, concepts are removed from “rosetta neurons” which correspond to image features, and apply a re-optimization using an Adam optimizer (involving optimizing around a loss (performance degradation)).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Gritsenko modified by Luo above and Dravid together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video processing disclosed in Gritsenko to include the rosetta neuron editing and re-optimization specifically cited to above in Dravid at least because doing so would allow for cross-class alignments, shifting, zooming and more without the need for specialized training. See Dravid Abstract.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, with differences between the claims noted in curly brackets {}, Gritsenko teaches {program code to – claim 15} as human-interpretable concepts of the video-based transformer model (Gritsenko fig. 3, predicted labels from the video transformer model corresponding with tubelets including human-interpretable concepts of walk, sit and watch). Gritsenko does not explicitly teach where Dravid teaches displaying the set of the concepts associated with an increase of the performance degradation (Dravid fig. 2, a display of the set of all concepts emerging from the image processing model (thus including those associated with increased performance degradation as well)).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Gritsenko modified by Luo above and Dravid together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video processing disclosed in Gritsenko to include the displaying of concepts specifically cited to above in Dravid at least because doing so would allow for cross-class alignments, shifting, zooming and more without the need for specialized training. See Dravid Abstract.
Claims 8, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gritsenko in view of Luo as set forth above regarding the independent claims, and further in view of Van Hoorick et al., “Tracking through Containers and Occluders in the Wild,” arXiv:2305.03052v1 [cs.CV], May 4, 2023, https://doi.org/10.48550/arXiv.2305.03052 (herein “Hoorick”).
Regarding claims 8, 16 and 20, with differences between the claims noted in curly brackets {}, Gritsenko teaches {program code to – claim 16} / a sensor module to – claim 20} tracking objects in the set of videos based on the importance of each of the concepts of the set of videos (Gritsenko fig. 3, ¶82, bounding boxes corresponding to one or more agent (tracked objects) are evaluated to determine a score (based on ) for each action (each concept) in the set of actions). Gritsenko as modified by Luo above does not, but Hoorick teaches tracking occluded objects (Hoorick page 1, introduction, tracking target objects as it becomes occluded or contained by other dynamic objects in a scene).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Gritsenko modified by Luo above and Hoorick together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video processing disclosed in Gritsenko to include tracking occluded objects specifically cited to above in Hoorick at least because doing so would allow for a road agent to understand traffic situations more richly. See Hoorick page 1, Introduction section, left column.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 5, 13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Specifically, while the combination cited and applied to the independent claims 1, 9 and 17 of Gritsenko and Luo at least teaches claims noted in curly brackets {}, Gritsenko as modified by Luo in the rationale above for the independent claims teaches clustering the entire dataset of tubelets comprises clustering the entire dataset of tubelets to form the concepts of the set of videos, and cited but not applied reference Fel et al., “A Holistic Approach to Unifying Automatic Concept Extraction and Concept Importance Estimation,” arXiv:2306.07304v2, October 29, 2023, [cs.LG], https://doi.org/10.48550/arXiv.2306.07304 (herein “Fel”) teaches through non-negative matrix factorization (Fel page 3, section 2, page 5, first full paragraph, convex NMF (non-negative matrix factorization) used to extract meaningful concepts from high-dimensional image data), none of Gritsenko, Luo, Fel or any of the other cited art of record in any combination obvious to a PHOSITA teaches or suggests convex NMF as claimed. Therefore claims 5, 13 and 19 are allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rawat et al., US Patent Application Publication No. US 2025/0029410 A1, directed towards an active sparse labeling system for video.
Rawat et al., US Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0222940 A1, directed towards categorizing actions in video by evaluating spatio-temporal action tubelets.
Yu et al., US Patent No. US 10,068,138 B2, directed towards video-event classification by extracting frame-level sets of visual features from video.
MICHELLE M. KOETH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2671
/MICHELLE M KOETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2671