DETAILED ACTION
NOTICE OF PRE-AIA OR AIA STATUS
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This action is in response to the Applicant’s filing on 5/5/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined below.
CLAIM OBJECTIONS
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are objected to because of claim informalities. Namely, claim element “the fishtail” lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM REJECTIONS—35 U.S.C § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-10 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Porat et al. (US6299699B1; “Porat”).
As to independent claim 1, Porat discloses: a wall collision U-turning method for a swimming pool cleaning robot, comprising:
controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move toward a wall of a swimming pool based on a preset orientation until the swimming pool cleaning robot collides with the wall of the swimming pool (“A mechanical or electro-mechanical sensor in the form of a rod or shaft that projects beyond the leading edge of the advancing cleaner and that is caused to move is retracted by contact with the wall when the cleaner approaches a sidewall, which movement results in a signal being transmitted to the controller.” Col. 3, ll. 60-65. “The cleaner 12 is placed in the lower left hand corner of the pool as represented in the illustration of FIG. 3, and in accordance with the invention is programmed to traverse the pool in a straight line parallel to end wall 52 across bottom 51. When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped.” Col. 7, ll. 38-45 and FIG. 3.);
controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move backward relative to the wall of the swimming pool until a spacing distance between the swimming pool cleaning robot and the wall of the swimming pool is sufficient for the swimming pool cleaning robot to perform a U-turn motion (“When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped …. Traction motor 30B is activated to move traction means 14B in a direction opposite to that used to traverse the pool on the first leg and to thereby move the cleaner away from wall 54 …. In order to complete the 180.degree. turn with a shorter radius, traction motor 30A can move traction means 14A in a direction toward wall 54.” Col. 7, ll. 42-55.); and
controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to perform a U-turn relative to the wall of the swimming pool until a U-turn orientation of the swimming pool cleaning robot after completion of the U-turn is opposite to the preset orientation (“When the cleaner has completed its first U-turn against wall 54, a signal is generated by the one or more sensors 40 that is transmitted to the controller, which then deactivates or stops traction motor 30B and thereafter activates both traction motors to move the cleaner away from wall 54 in a straight line that is parallel to the first track and which moves the cleaner towards wall 54'.” Col. 8, ll. 1-7.).
As to independent claim 9, Porat discloses a swimming pool edge cleaning method, comprising:
controlling, based on a wall of a swimming pool corresponding to an edge position to be cleaned, a swimming pool cleaning robot to perform a wall collision U-turn motion for the wall of the swimming pool corresponding to the edge position to be cleaned (“The cleaner 12 is placed in the lower left hand corner of the pool as represented in the illustration of FIG. 3, and in accordance with the invention is programmed to traverse the pool in a straight line parallel to end wall 52 across bottom 51. When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped.” Col. 7, ll. 38-45 and FIG. 3.); and
cleaning the edge position to be cleaned during the performing of the wall collision U-turn motion (“A pool cleaner and method for its operation provides for the efficient and systematic cleaning of the bottom of a rectilinear pool or tank in a controlled geometric pattern of parallel paths transversed between a pair of opposing sidewalls by having the pool cleaner complete a 180.degree. U-turn at each wall.” Abstract.),
wherein the wall collision U-turn motion is performed using a wall collision U-turning method for the swimming pool cleaning robot, the wall collision U-turning method comprising:
controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move toward a wall of a swimming pool based on a preset orientation until the swimming pool cleaning robot collides with the wall of the swimming pool (“A mechanical or electro-mechanical sensor in the form of a rod or shaft that projects beyond the leading edge of the advancing cleaner and that is caused to move is retracted by contact with the wall when the cleaner approaches a sidewall, which movement results in a signal being transmitted to the controller.” Col. 3, ll. 60-65. “The cleaner 12 is placed in the lower left hand corner of the pool as represented in the illustration of FIG. 3, and in accordance with the invention is programmed to traverse the pool in a straight line parallel to end wall 52 across bottom 51. When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped.” Col. 7, ll. 38-45 and FIG. 3.);
controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move backward relative to the wall of the swimming pool until a spacing distance between the swimming pool cleaning robot and the wall of the swimming pool is sufficient for the swimming pool cleaning robot to perform a U-turn motion (“When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped …. Traction motor 30B is activated to move traction means 14B in a direction opposite to that used to traverse the pool on the first leg and to thereby move the cleaner away from wall 54 …. In order to complete the 180.degree. turn with a shorter radius, traction motor 30A can move traction means 14A in a direction toward wall 54.” Col. 7, ll. 42-55.); and
controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to perform a U-turn relative to the wall of the swimming pool until a U-turn orientation of the swimming pool cleaning robot after completion of the U-turn is opposite to the preset orientation (“When the cleaner has completed its first U-turn against wall 54, a signal is generated by the one or more sensors 40 that is transmitted to the controller, which then deactivates or stops traction motor 30B and thereafter activates both traction motors to move the cleaner away from wall 54 in a straight line that is parallel to the first track and which moves the cleaner towards wall 54'.” Col. 8, ll. 1-7.).
As to independent claim 17, Porat discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a processor (“microprocessor” – Abstract; see also col. 6, ll. 52-59 and FIG. 2.); and
a memory storing a program (“The speed and/or direction of motors 30 is controlled by a microprocessor or programmable electronic controller 34 …. Controller 34 is programmed to respond to signals received from one or more signal-generating sensors 40 via conductors 42.” Col. 6, ll. 52-59 and FIG. 2. Note: A programmable controller necessarily requires a memory to function in order to access a stored program.),
wherein the program comprises instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform a swimming pool edge cleaning method, the swimming pool edge cleaning method comprising:
controlling, based on a wall of a swimming pool corresponding to an edge position to be cleaned, a swimming pool cleaning robot to perform a wall collision U-turn motion for the wall of the swimming pool corresponding to the edge position to be cleaned (“The cleaner 12 is placed in the lower left hand corner of the pool as represented in the illustration of FIG. 3, and in accordance with the invention is programmed to traverse the pool in a straight line parallel to end wall 52 across bottom 51. When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped.” Col. 7, ll. 38-45 and FIG. 3.); and
cleaning the edge position to be cleaned during the performing of the wall collision U-turn motion (“A pool cleaner and method for its operation provides for the efficient and systematic cleaning of the bottom of a rectilinear pool or tank in a controlled geometric pattern of parallel paths transversed between a pair of opposing sidewalls by having the pool cleaner complete a 180.degree. U-turn at each wall.” Abstract.),
wherein the wall collision U-turn motion is performed using a wall collision U-turning method for the swimming pool cleaning robot, the wall collision U-turning method comprising:
controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move toward a wall of a swimming pool based on a preset orientation until the swimming pool cleaning robot collides with the wall of the swimming pool (“A mechanical or electro-mechanical sensor in the form of a rod or shaft that projects beyond the leading edge of the advancing cleaner and that is caused to move is retracted by contact with the wall when the cleaner approaches a sidewall, which movement results in a signal being transmitted to the controller.” Col. 3, ll. 60-65. “The cleaner 12 is placed in the lower left hand corner of the pool as represented in the illustration of FIG. 3, and in accordance with the invention is programmed to traverse the pool in a straight line parallel to end wall 52 across bottom 51. When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped.” Col. 7, ll. 38-45 and FIG. 3.);
controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move backward relative to the wall of the swimming pool until a spacing distance between the swimming pool cleaning robot and the wall of the swimming pool is sufficient for the swimming pool cleaning robot to perform a U-turn motion (“When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped …. Traction motor 30B is activated to move traction means 14B in a direction opposite to that used to traverse the pool on the first leg and to thereby move the cleaner away from wall 54 …. In order to complete the 180.degree. turn with a shorter radius, traction motor 30A can move traction means 14A in a direction toward wall 54.” Col. 7, ll. 42-55.); and
controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to perform a U-turn relative to the wall of the swimming pool until a U-turn orientation of the swimming pool cleaning robot after completion of the U-turn is opposite to the preset orientation (“When the cleaner has completed its first U-turn against wall 54, a signal is generated by the one or more sensors 40 that is transmitted to the controller, which then deactivates or stops traction motor 30B and thereafter activates both traction motors to move the cleaner away from wall 54 in a straight line that is parallel to the first track and which moves the cleaner towards wall 54'.” Col. 8, ll. 1-7.).
As to claims 2, 10 and 18, Porat discloses wherein the controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move toward the wall of the swimming pool based on the preset orientation until the swimming pool cleaning robot collides with the wall of the swimming pool comprises:
controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move toward a direction of approaching the wall of the swimming pool relative to a bottom of the swimming pool based on the preset orientation until the swimming pool cleaning robot collides with the wall of the swimming pool (“A mechanical or electro-mechanical sensor in the form of a rod or shaft that projects beyond the leading edge of the advancing cleaner and that is caused to move is retracted by contact with the wall when the cleaner approaches a sidewall, which movement results in a signal being transmitted to the controller.” Col. 3, ll. 60-65. “The cleaner 12 is placed in the lower left hand corner of the pool as represented in the illustration of FIG. 3, and in accordance with the invention is programmed to traverse the pool in a straight line parallel to end wall 52 across bottom 51. When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped.” Col. 7, ll. 38-45 and FIG. 3.).
As to claims 5 and 13, Porat discloses: wherein the controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move backward relative to the wall of the swimming pool until the spacing distance between the swimming pool cleaning robot and the wall of the swimming pool is sufficient for the swimming pool cleaning robot to perform the U-turn motion comprises:
controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move backward straight relative to the wall of the swimming pool based on a posture of the swimming pool cleaning robot after colliding with the wall of the swimming pool (“A mechanical or electro-mechanical sensor in the form of a rod or shaft that projects beyond the leading edge of the advancing cleaner and that is caused to move is retracted by contact with the wall when the cleaner approaches a sidewall, which movement results in a signal being transmitted to the controller.” Col. 3, ll. 60-65. “When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped …. Traction motor 30B is activated to move traction means 14B in a direction opposite to that used to traverse the pool on the first leg and to thereby move the cleaner away from wall 54 …. In order to complete the 180.degree. turn with a shorter radius, traction motor 30A can move traction means 14A in a direction toward wall 54.” Col. 7, ll. 42-55.).
As to claims 6 and 14, Porat discloses: wherein the controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to perform the U-turn relative to the wall of the swimming pool until the U-turn orientation of the swimming pool cleaning robot after the completion of the U-turn is opposite to the preset orientation comprises:
controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to perform a differential motion based on a posture after moving backward, to perform the U-turn relative to the wall of the swimming pool until the U-turn orientation of the swimming pool cleaning robot is opposite to the preset orientation (“When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped …. Traction motor 30B is activated to move traction means 14B in a direction opposite to that used to traverse the pool on the first leg and to thereby move the cleaner away from wall 54 …. In order to complete the 180.degree. turn with a shorter radius, traction motor 30A can move traction means 14A in a direction toward wall 54.” Col. 7, ll. 42-55. “When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped …. Traction motor 30B is activated to move traction means 14B in a direction opposite to that used to traverse the pool on the first leg and to thereby move the cleaner away from wall 54 …. In order to complete the 180.degree. turn with a shorter radius, traction motor 30A can move traction means 14A in a direction toward wall 54.” Col. 7, ll. 42-55. Note: The foregoing constitutes a differential motion because the u-turn is performed through differential (successive) steps – such aligns with Applicant’s description in at least PGPUB ¶¶ 62-63 and FIGS. 3A-3F.).
As to claims 7 and 15, Porat discloses wherein the controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to perform the differential motion based on the posture after moving backward, to perform the U-turn relative to the wall of the swimming pool until the U-turn orientation of the swimming pool cleaning robot is opposite to the preset orientation comprises:
controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to perform a differential forward motion based on the posture after moving backward, to perform the U-turn relative to the wall of the swimming pool (“When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped …. Traction motor 30B is activated to move traction means 14B in a direction opposite to that used to traverse the pool on the first leg and to thereby move the cleaner away from wall 54 …. In order to complete the 180.degree. turn with a shorter radius, traction motor 30A can move traction means 14A in a direction toward wall 54.” Col. 7, ll. 42-55. “When the cleaner reaches wall 54 a sensor 40 generates a signal that is transmitted to controller 34 which causes both traction motors 30 to be deactivated or stopped …. Traction motor 30B is activated to move traction means 14B in a direction opposite to that used to traverse the pool on the first leg and to thereby move the cleaner away from wall 54 …. In order to complete the 180.degree. turn with a shorter radius, traction motor 30A can move traction means 14A in a direction toward wall 54.” Col. 7, ll. 42-55. Note: The foregoing constitutes a differential motion because the u-turn is performed through differential (successive) steps – such aligns with Applicant’s description in at least PGPUB ¶¶ 62-63 and FIGS. 3A-3F.).
As to claims 8 and 16, Porat discloses:
updating the U-turn orientation of the swimming pool cleaning robot as the preset orientation (“The cleaner 12 is placed in the lower left hand corner of the pool as represented in the illustration of FIG. 3, and in accordance with the invention is programmed to traverse the pool in a straight line parallel to end wall 52 across bottom 51.” Col. 7, ll. 38-45 and FIG. 3. “When the cleaner has completed its first U-turn against wall 54, a signal is generated by the one or more sensors 40 that is transmitted to the controller, which then deactivates or stops traction motor 30B and thereafter activates both traction motors to move the cleaner away from wall 54 in a straight line that is parallel to the first track and which moves the cleaner towards wall 54'.” Col. 8, ll. 1-7.); and
returning to and continuing with the step of controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move toward the wall of the swimming pool based on the preset orientation until the swimming pool cleaning robot collides with the wall of the swimming pool (“The cleaner 12 is placed in the lower left hand corner of the pool as represented in the illustration of FIG. 3, and in accordance with the invention is programmed to traverse the pool in a straight line parallel to end wall 52 across bottom 51.” Col. 7, ll. 38-45 and FIG. 3. “When the cleaner has completed its first U-turn against wall 54, a signal is generated by the one or more sensors 40 that is transmitted to the controller, which then deactivates or stops traction motor 30B and thereafter activates both traction motors to move the cleaner away from wall 54 in a straight line that is parallel to the first track and which moves the cleaner towards wall 54'.” Col. 8, ll. 1-7.).
CLAIM REJECTIONS—35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 11-12 and 19-20 is/are rejected under § 103 as being unpatentable over Porat in view of Garti (US20090045110A1; “Garti”).
As to claims 3, 11 and 19, Porat discloses wherein after the step of controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to collide with the wall of the swimming pool, the method further comprises:
detecting a position of the swimming pool cleaning robot relative to the wall of the swimming pool (“A mechanical or electro-mechanical sensor in the form of a rod or shaft that projects beyond the leading edge of the advancing cleaner and that is caused to move is retracted by contact with the wall when the cleaner approaches a sidewall, which movement results in a signal being transmitted to the controller.” Col. 3, ll. 60-65.).
Porat fails to explicitly disclose: when the position of the swimming pool cleaning robot relative to the wall of the swimming pool does not satisfy a preset condition, controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to fishtail relative to the wall of the swimming pool until the position of the swimming pool cleaning robot relative to the wall of the swimming pool satisfies the preset condition.
Nevertheless, Garti teaches: when a position of a swimming pool cleaning robot relative to a wall of a swimming pool does not satisfy a preset condition, controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to fishtail relative to the wall of the swimming pool until the position of the swimming pool cleaning robot relative to the wall of the swimming pool satisfies a preset condition (“During operation, the robot 10, which is designed for moving essentially parallel to its side panels, with one of the brushwheels 18 a constituting its front end, may approach a sidewall of a swimming pool with its side panels oriented perpendicular to the sidewall or with its side panels oriented at an angle to the side wall, e.g. along a direction indicated by arrow 130 in FIG. 10A. In the latter case, the first part of the robot to impact the sidewall is a corner thereof, e.g. corner 160 between brushwheel 18a and the side panel 14 a and it is desirable to make sure that the robot will pivot around this corner, in a clockwise direction indicated by arrow 145, so as to bring the brushwheel 18a in a position parallel to the sidewall, as shown in FIG. 10B.” Emphasis added; ¶ 77 and FIGS. 10A-10B. Note: The foregoing constitutes performing a fishtail as the robot is aligning its front side to be parallel to the wall by pivoting along a front contact corner — such aligns with Applicant’s description in at least PGPUB ¶ 55.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Porat to include the feature of: when a position of a swimming pool cleaning robot relative to a wall of a swimming pool does not satisfy a preset condition, controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to fishtail relative to the wall of the swimming pool until the position of the swimming pool cleaning robot relative to the wall of the swimming pool satisfies a preset condition, as taught by Garti, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful to bring a robot’s front face parallel to a wall of a swimming pool. (See Garti, ¶ 77.) Indeed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found this feature useful for Porat as Porat performs u-turns under the assumption that a robot’s front face is parallel to a wall. (See above-cited portions of Porat.) Hence, incorporating Garti would enhance Porat’s invention by enabling a robot to account for angled walls, thereby ensuring that Porat’s u-turn processing could be completed to success in such a scenario.
As to claims 4, 12 and 20, Porat fails to explicitly disclose wherein the position of the swimming pool cleaning robot relative to the wall of the swimming pool satisfying the preset condition comprises:
a front side of the swimming pool cleaning robot being parallel or substantially parallel to a tangent line of the wall of the swimming pool, wherein the front side of the swimming pool cleaning robot is a side in the front of the swimming pool cleaning robot in a forward direction of the swimming pool cleaning robot.
Nevertheless, Garti teaches: wherein the position of the swimming pool cleaning robot relative to the wall of the swimming pool satisfying the preset condition comprises a front side of the swimming pool cleaning robot being parallel or substantially parallel to a tangent line of the wall of the swimming pool, wherein the front side of the swimming pool cleaning robot is a side in the front of the swimming pool cleaning robot in a forward direction of the swimming pool cleaning robot (“During operation, the robot 10, which is designed for moving essentially parallel to its side panels, with one of the brushwheels 18 a constituting its front end, may approach a sidewall of a swimming pool with its side panels oriented perpendicular to the sidewall or with its side panels oriented at an angle to the side wall, e.g. along a direction indicated by arrow 130 in FIG. 10A. In the latter case, the first part of the robot to impact the sidewall is a corner thereof, e.g. corner 160 between brushwheel 18a and the side panel 14 a and it is desirable to make sure that the robot will pivot around this corner, in a clockwise direction indicated by arrow 145, so as to bring the brushwheel 18a in a position parallel to the sidewall, as shown in FIG. 10B.” Emphasis added; ¶ 77 and FIGS. 10A-10B. Note: The foregoing constitutes performing a fishtail as the robot is aligning its front side to be parallel to the wall by pivoting along a front contact corner — such aligns with Applicant’s description in at least PGPUB ¶ 55.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Porat to include the feature of: wherein the position of the swimming pool cleaning robot relative to the wall of the swimming pool satisfying the preset condition comprises a front side of the swimming pool cleaning robot being parallel or substantially parallel to a tangent line of the wall of the swimming pool, wherein the front side of the swimming pool cleaning robot is a side in the front of the swimming pool cleaning robot in a forward direction of the swimming pool cleaning robot, as taught by Garti, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful to bring a robot’s front face parallel to a wall of a swimming pool. (See Garti, ¶ 77.) Indeed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found this feature useful for Porat as Porat performs u-turns under the assumption that a robot’s front face is parallel to a wall. (See above-cited portions of Porat.) Hence, incorporating Garti would enhance Porat’s invention by enabling a robot to account for angled walls, thereby ensuring that Porat’s u-turn processing could be completed to success in such a scenario.
CONCLUSION
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fadey S. Jabr, can be reached on (571) 272-1516. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MARIO C GONZALEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3668