DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s argument filed on 02/02/2026 with respect claims 1, 2, 9-12, 19, and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant contends that the office action fails to teach or suggest the limitation of "determining a number of retransmissions corresponding to current audio to be transmitted, based on a current network packet loss rate and an audio packet anti-loss rate." As recited in claims 1, 11, and 20.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts the reference of Xing et al. (CN 114158089 A) in pages 2 and 5 teaches the such limitation. For example, the invention claims an audio transmission method, device electronic device and storage medium, so as to
solve the problem that it is difficult to efficiently recover the lost audio data in the condition of high packet loss rate in the related technology. According to a first aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided an audio transmission method, the audio transmission method comprises: the first terminal sends a plurality of audio packets to the second terminal, wherein each audio packet in the plurality of audio packets comprises an audio frame of the current time and a preset number of redundant audio frames before the current time; the first terminal receives the feedback of the audio packet received by the second terminal; the first terminal determines the audio packet received by the second terminal according to the feedback, and determines the audio packet to be retransmitted according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal; the first terminal sends the audio packet to be retransmitted to the second terminal. See page 2.
The technical solution provided by the embodiment of the present disclosure brings at least the following beneficial effects: The audio transmission method executed by the first terminal according to the embodiment of the present disclosure, because not only in each audio packet comprises the audio frame of the current time and the preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, and according to the feedback of the received audio packet by the second terminal determines the audio packet received by the second terminal, and determining the audio packet to be retransmitted according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal, therefore, compared with the traditional FEC scheme, under the condition of high packet loss rate, the audio transmission method of the disclosure can
further recover the lost audio data by active retransmission, compared with the traditional retransmission scheme, because of the selective retransmission, it can effectively save the code rate under the high packet loss rate. Therefore, the audio transmission method combining the FEC technology and retransmission technology of the present disclosure enables efficient loss of audio data recovery in the case of a high packet loss rate. The audio transmission method executed by the second terminal according to the embodiment of the present disclosure, because the audio frame received from the first terminal in addition to the current time of the audio frame further comprises a preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, and can receive the first terminal sent by the audio packet to be retransmitted (the audio packet to be retransmitted is the first terminal according to the feedback determining the audio packet received by the second terminal, and according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal determined), therefore, under the condition of high packet loss rate, can receive the selectively retransmitted audio packet, so as to effectively recover the lost audio data. See page 5.
Also, the applicant contends that the office action fails to teach or suggest the limitation of "determining a current allowed number of responses corresponding to a retransmission mode of a negative acknowledgement, based on a current network round-trip delay and a predetermined allowed delay." As recited in claims 1, 11, and 20.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts the reference of (US 6,405,337 B1) in see column 4, lines 55-65 and Fig. 6 teaches the such limitation. For example, still referring to FIG. 3, at Block 330, a message that is not acknowledged during the adjustable timeout that is based upon the measured round-trip delay is retransmitted. In detail, referring again to FIG. 4, a Communications Message is transmitted by the transmission section 220 of FIG. 2. If an acknowledgement message is not received by the transmitting device within the adjustable retransmission timeout that is based on at least one of the round-trip communications delays that are repeatedly measured, then the Communications Message is retransmitted from the transmitting device to the receiving device. See column 4, lines 55-65.
Referring now to FIG. 6, detailed operations for retransmitting a message that is not acknowledged during an adjustable retransmission time based upon the measured round-trip delay (Block 330 of FIG. 3) now will be described. As shown in Block 605, a retransmission counter, denoted by RetrCntr, is initialized to the maximum number of allowable retransmissions denoted by MaxRetr. The value of MaxRetr may depend on the application. See column 6, lines 24-35. For the Applicant’s convenience, see Fig. 6 is reproduced below
Further, the applicant contends that the office action fails to teach or suggest the limitation of "determining a number of redundancies corresponding to a forward redundancy retransmission mode and a retransmission delay corresponding to the retransmission mode of the negative acknowledgment, based on the number of retransmissions, the current allowed number of responses, and an allowed number of redundancies corresponding to a forward redundancy retransmission mode." As recited in claims 1, 11, and 20.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts the reference of Xing et al. (CN 114158089 A) in pages 5 teaches the such limitation. For example, the technical solution provided by the embodiment of the present disclosure brings at least the following beneficial effects: The audio transmission method executed by the first terminal according to the embodiment of the present disclosure, because not only in each audio packet comprises the audio frame of the current time and the preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, and according to the feedback of the received audio packet by the second terminal determines the audio packet received by the second terminal, and determining the audio packet to be retransmitted according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal, therefore, compared with the traditional FEC scheme, under the condition of high packet loss rate, the audio transmission method of the disclosure can further recover the lost audio data by active retransmission, compared with the traditional retransmission scheme, because of the selective retransmission, it can effectively save the code rate under the high packet loss rate. Therefore, the audio transmission method combining the FEC technology and retransmission technology of the present disclosure enables efficient loss of audio data recovery in the case of a high packet loss rate. The audio transmission method executed by the second terminal according to the embodiment of the present disclosure, because the audio frame received from the first terminal in addition to the current time of the audio frame further comprises a preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, and can receive the first terminal sent by the audio packet to be retransmitted (the audio packet to be retransmitted is the first terminal according to the feedback determining the audio packet received by the second terminal, and according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal determined), therefore, under the condition of high packet loss rate, can receive the selectively retransmitted audio packet, so as to effectively recover the lost audio data.
Furthermore, the applicant contends that the office action fails to teach or suggest the limitation of "transmitting the audio based on the number of redundancies and the retransmission delay." As recited in claims 1, 11, and 20.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts the reference of Xing et al. (CN 114158089 A) in page 11 teaches the such limitation. For example, Referring to FIG. 5, in step S510, a plurality of audio packets are received from the first terminal. Each of the plurality of audio packets includes an audio frame at a current time and a predetermined number of redundant audio frames prior to the current time. because the audio packet comprises the preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, therefore, subsequent if packet loss occurs after the lost packet is received in the audio packet received by the receiving end of the audio frame corresponding to the audio frame in the lost packet; The second terminal can use these redundant audio frames to recover the audio frames corresponding to these redundant audio frames in the lost packets. In step S520, the feedback of the received audio packet is sent to the first terminal. For example, when receiving the audio packet, sending the confirmation feedback of the audio packet to the sending end. For example, the acknowledgement feedback may include a packet identifier of the received audio packet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 2, 9-12, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Xing et al. (CN 114158089 A) "herein after as Xing" in view of Grohn et al. (US 6,405,337 B1) "herein after as Grohn."
As per claim 1:
Xing substantially teaches or discloses a method for transmitting audio, comprising: (see abstract) determining a number of retransmissions corresponding to current audio to be transmitted, based on a current network packet loss rate and an audio packet anti-loss rate (see page 2, the first terminal receives the feedback of the audio packet received by the second terminal; the first terminal determines the audio packet received by the second terminal according to the feedback, and determines the audio packet to be retransmitted according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal; and page 5, herein The audio transmission method executed by the second terminal according to the embodiment of the present disclosure, because the audio frame received from the first terminal in addition to the current time of the audio frame further comprises a preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, and can receive the first terminal sent by the audio packet to be retransmitted (the audio packet to be retransmitted is the first terminal according to the feedback determining the audio packet received by the second terminal, and according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal determined), therefore, under the condition of high packet loss rate, can receive the selectively retransmitted audio packet, so as to effectively recover the lost audio data); determining a number of redundancies corresponding to a forward redundancy retransmission mode and a retransmission delay corresponding to the retransmission mode of the negative acknowledgment, based on the number of retransmissions [ ], the current allowed number of responses, and an allowed number of redundancies corresponding to a forward redundancy retransmission mode (see page 5, herein the audio frame received from the first terminal in addition to the current time of the audio frame further comprises a preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, and can receive the first terminal sent by the audio packet to be retransmitted (the audio packet to be retransmitted is the first terminal according to the feedback determining the audio packet received by the second terminal, and according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal determined), therefore, under the condition of high packet loss rate, can receive the selectively retransmitted audio packet, so as to effectively recover the lost audio data); and transmitting the audio based on the number of redundancies and the retransmission delay (see page 11, herein a plurality of audio packets are received from the first terminal. Each of the plurality of audio packets includes an audio frame at a current time and a predetermined number of redundant audio frames prior to the current time. because the audio packet comprises the preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, therefore, subsequent if packet loss occurs after the lost packet is received in the audio packet received by the receiving end of the audio frame corresponding to the audio frame in the lost packet; The second terminal can use these redundant audio frames to recover the audio frames corresponding to these redundant audio frames in the lost packets In step S520, the feedback of the received audio packet is sent to the first terminal. For example, when receiving the audio packet, sending the confirmation feedback of the audio packet to the sending end. For example, the acknowledgement feedback may include a packet identifier of the received audio packet).
Xing does not explicitly teach determining a current allowed number of responses corresponding to a retransmission mode of a negative acknowledgement, based on a current network round-trip delay and a predetermined allowed delay.
However, Grohn in the same the field of endeavor teaches determining a current allowed number of responses corresponding to a retransmission mode of a negative acknowledgement, based on a current network round-trip delay and a predetermined allowed delay (see column 4, lines 5-57, herein at Block 330, a message that is not acknowledged during the adjustable timeout that is based upon the measured round-trip delay is retransmitted, and column 6, lines 5-13, herein the adjustable retransmission timeout may be set to this last measured round-trip communications delay. Alternatively, the adjustable time may be based on an average of a predetermined number of last round-trip delay measurements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Xing with the teachings of Grohn by determining a current allowed number of responses corresponding to a retransmission mode of a negative acknowledgement, based on a current network round-trip delay and a predetermined allowed delay.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the determining a current allowed number of responses corresponding to a retransmission mode of a negative acknowledgement, based on a current network round-trip delay and a predetermined allowed delay would have improved the communication system performance.
As per claim 2:
Grohn teaches that wherein the predetermined allowed delay comprises: a first allowed delay and a second allowed delay, and the second allowed delay is greater than the first allowed delay (see column 2, lines 37-42, herein the delay measurement is at least as long as a longest communication message between the two devices; and column 6, lines 14-23, herein It will be understood that the size (n bits) and the time resolution (r ms) of the counter may determine the minimum and maximum measurable delays as follows: DelayMin=r ms DelayMax=(2.sup.n -1).times.r ms Accordingly, if n=16 and r=1 ms, then DelayMax=(2.sup.16 -1).times.1 ms=65.535 s. It also will be understood that if link delay is less than 0, this generally means that the counter has rolled over, so that link delay is set to 2.sup.n +LinkDelay): determining the current allowed number of responses corresponding to the retransmission mode of the negative acknowledgement, based on the current network round-trip delay and the predetermined allowed delay comprises (see column 4, lines 5-57, herein at Block 330, a message that is not acknowledged during the adjustable timeout that is based upon the measured round-trip delay is retransmitted, and column 6, lines 5-13, herein The adjustable retransmission timeout may be set to this last measured round-trip communications delay. Alternatively, the adjustable time may be based on an average of a predetermined number of last round-trip delay measurements): determining a first allowed number of responses corresponding to the retransmission mode of the negative acknowledgement, based on the current network round-trip delay and the first allowed delay; and determining a second allowed number of responses corresponding to the retransmission mode of the negative acknowledgement, based on the current network round-trip delay and the second allowed delay (see column 2, lines 1-8, herein methods and computer program products for communicating between two devices that are connected by a communications network, by repeatedly measuring a round-trip communications delay between the two devices over the communications network, and adjusting an adjustable retransmission timeout based upon at least one of the round-trip communications delays that are repeatedly measured. A message that is not acknowledged during the adjustable retransmission timeout is retransmitted).
As per claim 9:
Xing-Grohn as combined teaches that wherein transmitting the audio based on the number of redundancies and the retransmission delay comprises (Xing, see page 11, herein Each of the plurality of audio packets includes an audio frame at a current time and a predetermined number of redundant audio frames prior to the current time. because the audio packet comprises the preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time): performing redundancy processing on an audio data packet of the audio based on the number of redundancies, and transmitting the audio data packet with redundancies (Xing, see page 9, herein each audio packet in addition to the audio frame of the current time, further comprising a redundant audio frame of 6 time before the current time, that is, each audio packet carries 6 redundant audio frames); and in response to a current transmission delay being less than or equal to the retransmission delay, retransmitting a lost audio data packet responsive to a received negative acknowledgement signal (Grohn, see column 7, lines 8-14, herein if the CurrentDelay is less than the retransmission timeout, then a test is made at Block 630 as to whether an acknowledgement has been received. If the acknowledgement has not been received, the CurrentDelay is recalculated until the acknowledgement is received or the CurrentDelay is longer than the delay period at Blocks 625 and 630).
As per claim 10:
Xing teaches that wherein retransmitting the lost audio data packet responsive to the received negative acknowledgement signal comprises: in response to a firstly received negative acknowledgement signal, performing redundancy processing on the lost audio data packet, based on the number of redundancies corresponding to the delay forward redundancy retransmission mode, and retransmitting the lost audio data packet with redundancies (see page 2, herein the first terminal receives the feedback of the audio packet received by the second terminal; the first terminal determines the audio packet received by the second terminal according to the feedback, and determines the audio packet to be retransmitted according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal; the first terminal sends the audio packet to be retransmitted to the second terminal); and in response to a subsequently received negative acknowledgement signal, retransmitting the lost audio data packet (see page 8, herein In step S230, the first terminal determines the audio packet received by the second terminal according to the feedback, and determines the audio packet to be retransmitted according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal).
As per claim 11:
Xing substantially teaches or discloses an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; a storage device storing one or more programs; the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, causing the one or more processors implement the acts comprising (see page 4, herein at least one processor; at least one memory storing computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform the audio transmission method): determining a number of retransmissions corresponding to current audio to be transmitted, based on a current network packet loss rate and an audio packet anti-loss rate (see page 2, the first terminal receives the feedback of the audio packet received by the second terminal; the first terminal determines the audio packet received by the second terminal according to the feedback, and determines the audio packet to be retransmitted according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal; and page 5, herein The audio transmission method executed by the second terminal according to the embodiment of the present disclosure, because the audio frame received from the first terminal in addition to the current time of the audio frame further comprises a preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, and can receive the first terminal sent by the audio packet to be retransmitted (the audio packet to be retransmitted is the first terminal according to the feedback determining the audio packet received by the second terminal, and according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal determined), therefore, under the condition of high packet loss rate, can receive the selectively retransmitted audio packet, so as to effectively recover the lost audio data); determining a number of redundancies corresponding to a forward redundancy retransmission mode and a retransmission delay corresponding to the retransmission mode of the negative acknowledgment, based on the number of retransmissions [ ], the current allowed number of responses, and an allowed number of redundancies corresponding to a forward redundancy retransmission mode (see page 5, herein he audio frame received from the first terminal in addition to the current time of the audio frame further comprises a preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, and can receive the first terminal sent by the audio packet to be retransmitted (the audio packet to be retransmitted is the first terminal according to the feedback determining the audio packet received by the second terminal, and according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal determined), therefore, under the condition of high packet loss rate, can receive the selectively retransmitted audio packet, so as to effectively recover the lost audio data); and transmitting the audio based on the number of redundancies and the retransmission delay (see page 11, herein a plurality of audio packets are received from the first terminal. Each of the plurality of audio packets includes an audio frame at a current time and a predetermined number of redundant audio frames prior to the current time. because the audio packet comprises the preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, therefore, subsequent if packet loss occurs after the lost packet is received in the audio packet received by the receiving end of the audio frame corresponding to the audio frame in the lost packet; The second terminal can use these redundant audio frames to recover the audio frames corresponding to these redundant audio frames in the lost packets. In step S520, the feedback of the received audio packet is sent to the first terminal. For example, when receiving the audio packet, sending the confirmation feedback of the audio packet to the sending end. For example, the acknowledgement feedback may include a packet identifier of the received audio packet).
Xing does not explicitly teach determining a current allowed number of responses corresponding to a retransmission mode of a negative acknowledgement, based on a current network round-trip delay and a predetermined allowed delay.
However, Grohn in the same the field of endeavor teaches determining a current allowed number of responses corresponding to a retransmission mode of a negative acknowledgement, based on a current network round-trip delay and a predetermined allowed delay (see column 4, lines 5-57, herein at Block 330, a message that is not acknowledged during the adjustable timeout that is based upon the measured round-trip delay is retransmitted, and column 6, lines 5-13, herein The adjustable retransmission timeout may be set to this last measured round-trip communications delay. Alternatively, the adjustable time may be based on an average of a predetermined number of last round-trip delay measurements)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Xing with the teachings of Grohn by determining a current allowed number of responses corresponding to a retransmission mode of a negative acknowledgement, based on a current network round-trip delay and a predetermined allowed delay.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the determining a current allowed number of responses corresponding to a retransmission mode of a negative acknowledgement, based on a current network round-trip delay and a predetermined allowed delay would have improved the communication system performance.
As per claim 12:
Grohn teaches that wherein the predetermined allowed delay comprises: a first allowed delay and a second allowed delay, and the second allowed delay is greater than the first allowed delay (see column 2, lines 37-42, herein the delay measurement is at least as long as a longest communication message between the two devices; and column 6, lines 14-23, herein It will be understood that the size (n bits) and the time resolution (r ms) of the counter may determine the minimum and maximum measurable delays as follows: DelayMin=r ms DelayMax=(2.sup.n -1).times.r ms Accordingly, if n=16 and r=1 ms, then DelayMax=(2.sup.16 -1).times.1 ms=65.535 s. It also will be understood that if link delay is less than 0, this generally means that the counter has rolled over, so that link delay is set to 2.sup.n +LinkDelay)); determining the current allowed number of responses corresponding to the retransmission mode of the negative acknowledgement, based on the current network round-trip delay and the predetermined allowed delay comprises (see column 4, lines 5-57, herein at Block 330, a message that is not acknowledged during the adjustable timeout that is based upon the measured round-trip delay is retransmitted, and column 6, lines 5-13, herein The adjustable retransmission timeout may be set to this last measured round-trip communications delay. Alternatively, the adjustable time may be based on an average of a predetermined number of last round-trip delay measurements): determining a first allowed number of responses corresponding to the retransmission mode of the negative acknowledgement, based on the current network round-trip delay and the first allowed delay; and determining a second allowed number of responses corresponding to the retransmission mode of the negative acknowledgement, based on the current network round-trip delay and the second allowed delay (see column 2, lines 1-8, herein methods and computer program products for communicating between two devices that are connected by a communications network, by repeatedly measuring a round-trip communications delay between the two devices over the communications network, and adjusting an adjustable retransmission timeout based upon at least one of the round-trip communications delays that are repeatedly measured. A message that is not acknowledged during the adjustable retransmission timeout is retransmitted).
As per claim 19:
Xing-Grohn as combined teaches wherein transmitting the audio based on the number of redundancies and the retransmission delay comprises (Xing, see page 11, herein Each of the plurality of audio packets includes an audio frame at a current time and a predetermined number of redundant audio frames prior to the current time. because the audio packet comprises the preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time): performing redundancy processing on an audio data packet of the audio based on the number of redundancies, and transmitting the audio data packet with redundancies (Xing, see page 9, herein each audio packet in addition to the audio frame of the current time, further comprising a redundant audio frame of 6 time before the current time, that is, each audio packet carries 6 redundant audio frames); and in response to a current transmission delay being less than or equal to the retransmission delay; retransmitting a lost audio data packet responsive to a received negative acknowledgement signal (Grohn, see column 7, lines 8-14, herein if the CurrentDelay is less than the retransmission timeout, then a test is made at Block 630 as to whether an acknowledgement has been received. If the acknowledgement has not been received, the CurrentDelay is recalculated until the acknowledgement is received or the CurrentDelay is longer than the delay period at Blocks 625 and 630).
As per claim 20:
Xing substantially teaches or discloses a non-transitory storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a computer processor, perform a method comprising (see page 4, herein the present disclosure, there is provided a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, wherein when the instructions are run by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform the audio transmission method): determining a number of retransmissions corresponding to current audio to be transmitted, based on a current network packet loss rate and an audio packet anti-loss rate (see page 2, the first terminal receives the feedback of the audio packet received by the second terminal; the first terminal determines the audio packet received by the second terminal according to the feedback, and determines the audio packet to be retransmitted according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal; and page 5, herein The audio transmission method executed by the second terminal according to the embodiment of the present disclosure, because the audio frame received from the first terminal in addition to the current time of the audio frame further comprises a preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, and can receive the first terminal sent by the audio packet to be retransmitted (the audio packet to be retransmitted is the first terminal according to the feedback determining the audio packet received by the second terminal, and according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal determined), therefore, under the condition of high packet loss rate, can receive the selectively retransmitted audio packet, so as to effectively recover the lost audio data); determining a number of redundancies corresponding to a forward redundancy retransmission mode and a retransmission delay corresponding to the retransmission mode of the negative acknowledgment, based on the number of retransmissions, [ ], the current allowed number of responses, and an allowed number of redundancies corresponding to a forward redundancy retransmission mode (see page 5, herein he audio frame received from the first terminal in addition to the current time of the audio frame further comprises a preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, and can receive the first terminal sent by the audio packet to be retransmitted (the audio packet to be retransmitted is the first terminal according to the feedback determining the audio packet received by the second terminal, and according to the redundant audio frame in the audio packet received by the second terminal determined), therefore, under the condition of high packet loss rate, can receive the selectively retransmitted audio packet, so as to effectively recover the lost audio data); and transmitting the audio based on the number of redundancies and the retransmission delay (see page 11, herein a plurality of audio packets are received from the first terminal. Each of the plurality of audio packets includes an audio frame at a current time and a predetermined number of redundant audio frames prior to the current time. because the audio packet comprises the preset number of redundant audio frame before the current time, therefore, subsequent if packet loss occurs after the lost packet is received in the audio packet received by the receiving end of the audio frame corresponding to the audio frame in the lost packet; The second terminal can use these redundant audio frames to recover the audio frames corresponding to these redundant audio frames in the lost packets. In step S520, the feedback of the received audio packet is sent to the first terminal. For example, when receiving the audio packet, sending the confirmation feedback of the audio packet to the sending end. For example, the acknowledgement feedback may include a packet identifier of the received audio packet).
Xing does not explicitly teach determining a current allowed number of responses corresponding to a retransmission mode of a negative acknowledgement, based on a current network round-trip delay and a predetermined allowed delay.
However, Grohn in the same the field of endeavor teaches determining a current allowed number of responses corresponding to a retransmission mode of a negative acknowledgement, based on a current network round-trip delay and a predetermined allowed delay (see column 4, lines 5-57, herein at Block 330, a message that is not acknowledged during the adjustable timeout that is based upon the measured round-trip delay is retransmitted, and column 6, lines 5-13, herein The adjustable retransmission timeout may be set to this last measured round-trip communications delay. Alternatively, the adjustable time may be based on an average of a predetermined number of last round-trip delay measurements)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Xing with the teachings of Grohn by determining a current allowed number of responses corresponding to a retransmission mode of a negative acknowledgement, based on a current network round-trip delay and a predetermined allowed delay.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the determining a current allowed number of responses corresponding to a retransmission mode of a negative acknowledgement, based on a current network round-trip delay and a predetermined allowed delay would have improved the communication system performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 3 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Dependent claims 4-8 and 14-18 depend from claims 3 and 13 respectively and inherently include limitations therein and therefore are allowed as well.
Examiner Notes
6. When amending the claims, applicants are respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Prior Art
7. The prior art of record, considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, is listed in the attached PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL; Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached on MON-FRI 8:30 AM-5:00 PM EST, also please fax interview request to (571) 273- 2069.
/OSMAN ALSHACK/
Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ALBERT DECADY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112