DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 08/16/2024.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 11, 12, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by HUANG et al. (US 2022/0116938).
As of claim 1, HUANG discloses a method comprising: receiving information for a first resource on a first cell and for a second resource on a second cell (para [0079] discloses the receiver of a UE receives, from a base station, a repetition configuration indicating a number of repetitions of a PUCCH transmission that includes at least a first repetition and a second repetition. para [0088] [0046] discloses receiving a slot index from the base station, wherein the first repetition of the PUCCH transmission is transmitted in the first slot (=first resource) on the first component carrier (=first cell) and a slot index (second resource) for the second component carrier (=second cell) wherein second repetition of the PUCCH transmission is transmitted in the first candidate slot (=second resource) on the second component carrier (=second cell));
determining a number of more than one repetitions for transmission of a channel (para [0087] discloses receiving, from a base station, a repetition configuration indicating a number of repetitions of a PUCCH (channel) transmission including at least a first repetition and a second repetition which corresponds to UE determine a number of more than one repetitions for transmission of a channel); and
transmitting: a first repetition of the channel using the first resource on the first cell (para [0087] discloses transmitting, to the base station, the first repetition of the PUCCH transmission in a first slot (=first resource) on a first component carrier (=first cell)), and a second repetition of the channel using the second resource on the second cell (para [0087] transmitting, the second repetition of the PUCCH transmission on a second component carrier (=second cell) having an earliest slot (=second resource), after the first slot, that is available to carry the second repetition.
As of claim 8, HUANG discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver ([Fig.2] shows the UE 120 comprises a transceiver 258 and 264)
configured to receive information for a first resource on a first cell and for a second resource on a second cell (para [0079] discloses the receiver of a UE receives, from a base station, a repetition configuration indicating a number of repetitions of a PUCCH transmission that includes at least a first repetition and a second repetition, para [0088] [0046] discloses receiving a slot index from the base station, wherein the first repetition of the PUCCH transmission is transmitted in the first slot (=first resource) on the first component carrier (=first cell) and a slot index (second resource) for the second component carrier (=second cell) wherein second repetition of the PUCCH transmission is transmitted in the first candidate slot (=second resource) on the second component carrier (=second cell)); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (see [Fig. 2] controller /processor 280 is coupled to the transceiver 258 and 264), the processor configured to determine a number of more than one repetitions for transmission of a channel (para [0087] discloses receiving, from a base station, a repetition configuration indicating a number of repetitions of a PUCCH (channel) transmission including at least a first repetition and a second repetition which corresponds to the processor of a UE determines a number of more than one repetitions for transmission of a channel),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit: a first repetition of the channel using the first resource on the first cell (para [0087] discloses transmitting, to the base station, the first repetition of the PUCCH transmission in a first slot (=first resource) on a first component carrier (=first cell)), and a second repetition of the channel using the second resource on the second cell (para [0087] transmitting, the second repetition of the PUCCH transmission on a second component carrier (=second cell) having an earliest slot (=second resource), after the first slot, that is available to carry the second repetition).
As of claim 15, HUANG discloses a base station comprising: a transceiver ([Fig.2] shows the base station 110 includes a transmit and receive processors 220 and 238 (= transceiver) configured to transmit information for a first resource on a first cell and for a second resource on a second cell (para [0079] discloses from a base station transmit to the receiver of a UE, a repetition configuration indicating a number of repetitions of a PUCCH transmission that includes at least a first repetition and a second repetition, para [0088][0046] discloses the base station transmits a slot index , wherein the first repetition of the PUCCH transmission is transmitted in the first slot (=first resource) on the first component carrier (=first cell) and a slot index (second resource) for the second component carrier (=second cell) wherein second repetition of the PUCCH transmission is transmitted in the first candidate slot (=second resource) on the second component carrier (=second cell)); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (See [Fig. 2] controller /processor 240 is coupled to the transceiver 220 and 238), the processor configured to determine a number of more than one repetitions for reception of a channel, (para [0087] discloses a base station transmit to the UE, a repetition configuration indicating a number of repetitions of a PUCCH (channel) transmission including at least a first repetition and a second repetition which corresponds to a processor of a base station determines a number of more than one repetitions for transmission of a channel),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive: a first repetition of the channel using the first resource on the first cell (para [0087] discloses the base station receives, the first repetition of the PUCCH transmission in a first slot (=first resource) on a first component carrier (=first cell),and a second repetition of the channel using the second resource on the second cell (para [0087] discloses base station receive the second repetition of the PUCCH transmission on a second component carrier (=second cell) having an earliest slot (=second resource), after the first slot, that is available to carry the second repetition).
As of claims 4 and 11, rejection of claims 1 and 8 cited above incorporated herein, in addition HUANG discloses: receiving information for first power control parameters and for second power control parameters; determining: a first power based on the first power control parameters, and a second power based on the second power control parameters; and transmitting: the first repetition of the channel using the first power, and the second repetition of the channel using the second power (para [0052][0075] discloses the receiver receive one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs) and a channel processor determine reference signal received power (RSRP), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel quality indicator (CQI), para [0098] discloses receiving, from the base station based on the number of repetitions satisfying a repetition criterion, a component carrier parameter indicating a component carrier, an RRC parameter that configures a PUCCH carrier switch, a repetition configuration indicating a number of repetitions of a PUCCH transmission including at least a first repetition and a second repetition).
As of claims 5, 12 and 18, rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition HUANG discloses the channel is a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (para [0086] disclose a number of repetitions of a PUCCH (=channel), and the first resource and the second resource have a same index (para [0088] receiving a slot index from the base station (=same index) and it’s a design choice that first resource and the second resource have a same index).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG et al. (US 2022/0116938) in view of YUAN et al. (US 2026/0155881).
As of claims 6, 13 and 19, rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 cited above incorporated herein, in addition HUANG does not explicitly disclose but YUAN teaches the channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (YUAN, para [0069] disclose channel repetition comprises at least one of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetition or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition), and the first resource and the second resource have a same number of resource blocks in frequency and a same number of symbols in time (YUAN, para [0078] discloses the resource index be an index of resource blocks or resource elements, the PUCCH repetitions be transmitted over a number of slots corresponds to number of symbols and it’s a design choice that a first resource and the second resource have a same number of resource blocks in frequency and a same number of symbols in time).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of HUANG with the teaching of YUAN in order to improve transmission reliability by using a channel repetition.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-3, 7, 9-10,14, 16-17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the Applicant rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 2, 9 and 16, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “the number of slots is equal to a size of the bitmap, the mapping repeats periodically over the number of slots, and a value of a bit from the bitmap indicates that a repetition of the channel in a slot from the number of slots is on either the first cell or the second cell; determining the value of a first bit in the bitmap that maps to a first slot; and transmitting a third repetition of the channel on either the first cell or the second cell during the first slot based on the value of the first bit” with the claimed invention as a whole.
Accordingly claims 3, 10 and 17 are also objected as being dependent upon claims 2, 9 and 16 respectively.
As to claims 7, 14 and 20, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “the first resource and the second resource have a same number of resource elements excluding resource elements used for demodulation reference signal” with the claimed invention as a whole.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471