DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) PCT/CN2020/119828 submitted on October 6th, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on August 16th, 2024 and February 24th, 2025 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim(s) 1-20 of Zhang et al. (US 12,081,282 B2) hereinafter “Zhang”.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application merely broadens the scope of the issued Patent by introducing new elements and their functions to the claims.
Note that the applicant’s filing of the continuing or instant application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of a restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the continuing or instant application are drawn to the “same invention” as the issued Patent.
Regarding Claim(s) 1-20 although the conflicting claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim(s) 1-20 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of Claim(s) 1-20 of the issued Patent by introducing new elements and their functions to the claims as set forth below:
(Instant application: 18/807,858)
Zhang (US 12,081,282 B2)
Claim 1, limitation 1:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed, cause processing circuitry to:
Claim 1, limitation 1:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed, cause processing circuitry to:
Claim 1, limitation 2:
process configuration information to configure a beam report; and
Claim 1, limitation 2:
process configuration information to configure a beam report; and
Claim 1, limitation 3:
generate measurements based on one or more periodic downlink reference signals that include synchronization signal block signals or channel state information-reference signals; detect a trigger condition based on the measurements or configuration information;
Claim 1, limitation 3:
generate measurements based on one or more periodic downlink reference signals that include synchronization signal block signals or channel state information-reference signals; detect a trigger condition based on the measurements or configuration information;
Claim 1, limitation 4:
generate, based on the trigger condition, the beam report to include a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) or an uplink control information (UCI) with information associated with the measurements, the beam report to be transmitted to a base station.
Claim 1, limitation 4:
generate, based on the trigger condition, the beam report to include a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) with information associated with the measurements, the beam report to be transmitted to a base station.
Claim 12, limitation 1:
An apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
Claim 12, limitation 1:
An apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
Claim 12, limitation 2:
generate a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) or an uplink control information (UCI) to include beam report information based on a beam report configuration information and one or more reference signals that respectively correspond to one or more beams;
Claim 12, limitation 2:
generate a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) to include beam report information based on a beam report configuration information and one or more reference signals that respectively correspond to one or more beams;
Claim 12, limitation 3:
generate a beam report that includes the MAC CE or the UCI based on a detection of a trigger condition; acquire uplink resources, the beam report to be transmitted in the uplink resources; and
Claim 12, limitation 3:
generate a beam report that includes the MAC CE based on a detection of a trigger condition; acquire uplink resources, the beam report to be transmitted in the uplink resources; and
Claim 12, limitation 4:
memory interface circuitry coupled with the processing circuitry, to store the beam report configuration information in a memory.
Claim 12, limitation 4:
memory interface circuitry coupled with the processing circuitry, to store the beam report configuration information in a memory.
Claim 19, limitation 1:
A method comprising:
Claim 19, limitation 1:
A method comprising:
Claim 19, limitation 2:
generating one or more configuration messages to configure reporting of a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) or an uplink control information (UCI) with information corresponding to beamformed downlink reference signals; and
Claim 19, limitation 2:
generating one or more configuration messages to configure reporting of a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) with information corresponding to beamformed downlink reference signals; and
Claim 19, limitation 3:
transmitting the one or more configuration messages to a user equipment (UE).
Claim 19, limitation 3:
transmitting the one or more configuration messages to a user equipment (UE).
In view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim(s) 1-20 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of Claim(s) 1-20 of the issued Patent by introducing the above italicized portion(s) to the claim limitations.
It has been held that the omission an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art. Moreover, the doctrine of double patenting seeks to prevent the unjustified extension of Patent exclusivity beyond the term of a Patent.
Claim(s) 2-11, 13-18 and 20 are also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting for being dependent on a rejected base claim as set forth above.
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second(instant) application are drawn to the “same invention” as the first application or patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2019/0132066 A1) hereinafter “Park”.
Regarding Claim 19,
Park discloses a method [see fig. 25, pg. 23, ¶251 lines 1-8, a radio link failure (RLF) report procedure performed by a base station] comprising:
generating one or more configuration messages to configure reporting of a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) with information corresponding to beamformed downlink reference signals [see fig. 25, pg. 11, ¶143 lines 5-11; pg. 23, ¶251 lines 1-19, one or more elements of the beam information are recognized by the wireless device at least based on one or more synchronization signals (e.g. SS block) and/or one or more reference signals (e.g. CSI-RS, DM-RS)]; and
transmitting the one or more configuration messages to a user equipment (UE) [see fig. 25, pg. 11, ¶143 lines 5-11; pg. 23, ¶252 lines 1-6, at least based on one or more elements of the beam information, the wireless device receives one or more radio resource control messages via one or more first beams of the first cell, the one or more first beams associated with one or more elements of the beam information].
Regarding Claim 20,
Park discloses the method of claim 19 [see fig. 27, pg. 11, ¶143 lines 5-11; pg. 23, ¶251 lines 1-8, the radio link failure (RLF) report procedure performed by the base station], wherein the one or more configuration messages include a scheduling request identifier to configure a scheduling request dedicated to requesting uplink resources for the reporting of the MAC CE [see pg. 13, ¶164 lines 12-21, the cell information comprises one or more cell identifiers of one or more cells served by the first base station. The beam related information comprises a beam identifier, a synchronization signal scheduling information, ... etc. for one or more beams associated with one or more cells served by the first base station].
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 11-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over CHA et al. (US 2021/0376894 A1) hereinafter “Cha” in view of Park.
Regarding Claim 1,
Cha discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having instructions that [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, one or more memories “204” including program data], when executed [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, during implementation by one or more processors “202”], cause a processing cicuitry to [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, initiate a user equipment (UE) to]:
process configuration information to configure a beam report [see fig. 16: Step “1610”, pg. 21, ¶466 lines 1-6, receive configuration information from a base station (BS) including configuration information related to a reference signal, reporting setting information related to CSI for beam reporting, etc.];
generate measurements based on one or more periodic downlink reference signals that include synchronization signal block signals or channel state information-reference signals [see fig. 16: Step(s) “1620” & “1630”, pg. 21, ¶470 lines 1-3, receive the reference signal based on the configuration information and perform measurement based on the reference signal]; and
detect a trigger condition based on the measurements or configuration information [see fig. 16: Step “1640”, pg. 21, ¶471 lines 1-5, determine whether to request new beam setting, i.e., whether to perform new beam setting request/reporting, based on the information related to the threshold value and the measurement value].
Although Cha discloses detecting a trigger condition based on the measurements or configuration information, Cha does not explicitly teach “generate, based on the trigger condition, the beam report to include a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) with information associated with the measurements, the beam report to be transmitted to a base station”.
However Park discloses processing configuration information to configure a beam report [see pg. 23, ¶251 lines 1-6, the wireless device receives, from a first base station, beam information of a first cell served by the first base station ... via one or more physical layer signals, and/or the like.];
generate measurements based on one or more periodic downlink reference signals that include synchronization signal block signals or channel state information-reference signals [see pg. 23, ¶251 lines 1-6, one or more elements of the beam information is recognized by the wireless device at least based on one or more synchronization signals (e.g. SS block) and/or one or more reference signals (e.g. CSI-RS, DM-RS)];
detecting a trigger condition based on the measurements or configuration information [see pg. 23, ¶253 lines 1-10, the wireless device in the radio resource control connected state detects a radio link failure from the first cell, and determines the radio link failure at least based on one or more failure events of an out-of-sync detection of a physical layer, one or more random access failures, a plurality of retransmissions of a radio link control (RLC layer), one or more timer expirations, and/or the like]; and
generating [see pg. 23, ¶254 lines 1-4, selecting], based on the trigger condition [see pg. 23, ¶254 lines 1-4, in response to detecting the radio link failure], the beam report to include a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) with information associated with the measurements [see pg. 7, ¶106 lines 5-8; pg. 23, ¶254 lines 1-4, a second cell served by a second base station requesting a radio link failure report to the wireless device connected to the second base station via the second cell], the beam report to be transmitted to a base station [see pg. 23, ¶255 lines 1-6, the wireless device transmits, to the second base station, a first message comprising the radio link failure report (RLF report) e.g., through the second cell; the RLF report including one or more elements of the beam information received from the first base station via the first cell].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “generate, based on the trigger condition, the beam report to include a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) with information associated with the measurements, the beam report to be transmitted to a base station” as taught by Park in the system of Cha for increasing mobility performance of wireless devices when multiple beams are configured, and reducing call drop rate and packet transmission delay to improve communication reliability [see Park, pg. 19, ¶222 lines 20-26].
Regarding Claim 2,
The combined system of Cha and Park discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1 [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, one or more memories “204” including program data].
Cha further discloses wherein instructions [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, the program data], when executed [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, during implementation by one or more processors “202”], further cause the processing circuitry to [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, initiate the user equipment (UE) to]:
generate a scheduling request to request an uplink resource [see pg. 25, ¶511 lines 1-10, the UE requests to change the transmission beam set for a specific RX panel of the UE]; and
process a scheduling grant to identify the uplink resource [see pg. 25, ¶511 lines 1-10, even though there is no configuration/indication of the BS, the UE requests to change the transmission beam set of the TP/BS for the periodically transmitted CSI-RS resource(s) or CSI-RS resource set(s) with a grant-free scheme], the beam report to be transmitted in the uplink resource [see pg. 25, ¶511 lines 1-10, the UE reports, to the BS, an RX panel ID of the UE together during the new beam setting reporting/request].
Regarding Claim 3,
The combined system of Cha and Park discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1 [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, one or more memories “204” including program data].
Cha further discloses wherein the configuration information is to indicate a periodic timer value or a prohibit timer value [see pg. 14, ¶297 lines 1-3, an indication of the beam failure instance to higher layer is periodic, and an indication interval is determined by the shortest periodicity of BFD RS set], and the instructions [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, the program data], when executed [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, during implementation by one or more processors “202”], further cause the processing circuitry to [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, initiate the user equipment (UE) to]:
set a timer with the periodic timer value or the prohibit timer value [see pg. 14, ¶308 lines 1-2, the UE starts to monitor the response after 4 slots of PRACH transmission]; and
detect the trigger condition based on an expiration of the timer [see pg. 14, ¶310 lines 1-3, if the timer expires or when the number of PRACH transmission reaches the maximum number, the UE stops the BFR procedure].
Regarding Claim 6,
The combined system of Cha and Park discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1 [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, one or more memories “204” including program data].
Cha further discloses wherein the configuration information is to indicate a prohibit timer value and a threshold value [see pg. 13, ¶271 lines 1-3, the parameter beamFailureRecoveryTimer is a parameter indicative of a timer for beam failure recovery, and a value of the parameter is set to ms], the measurements include a reference signal receive power (RSRP) measurement [see pg. 13, table “9”, rsrp-ThresholdSSB, RSRP-Range, etc.], and the instructions [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, the program data], when executed [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, during implementation by one or more processors “202”], further cause the processing circuitry to [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, initiate the user equipment (UE) to]:
determine the RSRP measurement minus a power management - maximum power reduction (P-MPR) is larger than each of one or more active beam measurements plus the threshold value [see pgs. 13-14, ¶279 lines 1-4; ¶280 lines 1-3, if a threshold Qout_LR corresponds to the default value of higher layer parameter rlmInSyncOutOfSyncThreshold and to the value provided by higher layer parameter rsrp-ThresholdSSB, the physical layer of the UE evaluates the radio link quality according to the set q0 of resource configurations against the threshold Qout_LR].
Regarding Claim 7,
The combined system of Cha and Park discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1 [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, one or more memories “204” including program data].
Cha further discloses wherein the instructions [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, the program data], when executed [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, during implementation by one or more processors “202”], further cause the processing circuitry to [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, initiate the user equipment (UE) to]:
detect the trigger condition based on a determination that padding is to be added to a MAC protocol data unit [see fig. 16: Step “1640”, pg. 21, ¶471 lines 1-5, determine whether to request new beam setting, i.e., whether to perform new beam setting request/reporting, based on the information related to the threshold value and the measurement value].
Regarding Claim 8,
The combined system of Cha and Park discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1 [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, one or more memories “204” including program data].
Cha further discloses wherein the configuration information is to indicate a threshold value [see fig. 16: Step “1640”, pg. 21, ¶471 lines 1-5, the information related to the threshold value and the measurement value].
Cha does not explicitly teach the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to: “detect the trigger condition based on a determination that an off duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) pattern is larger than the threshold value”.
However Park discloses detecting the trigger condition based on a determination that an off duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) pattern is larger than the threshold [see pg. 8, ¶116 lines 25-29, in the case of a SCG addition and a SCG SCell addition, the master base station provides the latest measurement results for the SCG cell(s); both a master base station and a secondary base station know the SFN and subframe offset of each other by OAM, (e.g., for the purpose of DRX alignment and identification of a measurement gap)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “detect the trigger condition based on a determination that an off duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) pattern is larger than the threshold” as taught by Park in the system of Cha for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9,
The combined system of Cha and Park discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1 [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, one or more memories “204” including program data].
Cha further discloses wherein the configuration information is to indicate a prohibit timer value [see pg. 13, ¶267 lines 1-5, value n1 corresponds to 1 beam failure instance, and value n2 corresponds to 2 beam failure instances] and the instructions [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, the program data], when executed [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, during implementation], further cause the processing circuitry to [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, initiate the user equipment (UE) to]:
detect the trigger condition based further on a switching of an antenna panel from downlink to uplink [see pg. 13, ¶267 lines 1-5, if a network reconfigures a corresponding fields], from uplink to downlink [see pg. 13, ¶267 lines 1-5, the UE resets a counter related to on-goingbeamFailureDetectionTimer], from off to on [see pg. 13, ¶267 lines 1-5, and beamFailureInstanceMaxCount].
Regarding Claim 11,
The combined system of Cha and Park discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1 [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, the one or more memories “204” including program data].
Cha further discloses wherein the one or more periodic downlink reference signals include a synchronization signal block (SSB) signal and a channel state information - reference signal (CSI-RS) [see fig. 7, pg. 8, ¶162 lines 1-11, an synchronization signal block (SSB) beam and a channel state information - reference signal (CSI-RS) beam is used for ... coarse beam management and fine beam management].
Regarding Claim 12,
Cha discloses an apparatus [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, a user equipment (UE)] comprising:
processing circuitry configured to [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, one or more processors “202” controlling one or more transceivers “206” and/or one or more memories “204” to]:
generate a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) to include beam report information based on a beam report configuration information and one or more reference signals that respectively correspond to one or more beams [see fig. 21: Step(s) “2120” & “2130”, pg. 27, ¶534 lines 1-5; ¶536 lines 1-2; ¶539 lines 6-14, the UE receives a reference signal (RS) from the BS based on the configuration information, and performs measurement based on the reference signal];
generate a beam report that includes the MAC CE based on a detection of a trigger condition [see fig. 21: Step “2140”, pg. 27, ¶537 lines 1-3; ¶539 lines 6-14, the UE determines whether to request a beam change based on the measurement value and the threshold value, and transmits, to the BS, the information related to the beam change request];
acquire uplink resources [see pg. 28, ¶543 lines 1-5, the measurement information is information acquired based on reception power of the UE], to transmit the beam report [see fig. 21: Step “2150”, pg. 28, ¶543 lines 1-5, the UE transmits, to the BS, measurement information corresponding to a CSI for beam reporting]; and
memory interface circuitry coupled with the processing circuitry [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, one or more memories “204”], to store the beam report configuration information in a memory [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, storing program data].
Although Cha discloses transmitting the beam report, Cha does not explicitly teach the beam report to be transmitted “in the uplink resources”.
However Park discloses generating a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) to include beam report information based on a beam report configuration information and one or more reference signals that respectively correspond to one or more beams [see pg. 7, ¶106 lines 5-8; pg. 23, ¶253 lines 1-10, the wireless device in the radio resource control connected state detects a radio link failure from the first cell and determines the radio link failure at least based on one or more failure events ... occurring in the first cell and/or one or more of the one or more first beams];
generating a beam report that includes the MAC CE based on a detection of a trigger condition [see pg. 23, ¶254 lines 1-15, in response to detecting the radio link failure, the wireless device selects a second cell served by a second base station requesting a radio link failure report to the wireless device connected to the second base station via the second cell];
acquiring uplink resources [see pg. 23, ¶252 lines 1-6, at least based on one or more elements of the beam information, the wireless device receives one or more radio resource control messages via one or more first beams of the first cell, the one or more first beams associated with one or more elements of the beam information], the beam report to be transmitted in the uplink resources [see pg. 23, ¶255 lines 1-6, the wireless device transmits, to the second base station, a first message comprising the radio link failure report (RLF report) e.g., through the second cell; the RLF report including one or more elements of the beam information received from the first base station via the first cell].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the beam report to be transmitted “in the uplink resources” as taught by Park in the system of Cha for increasing mobility performance of wireless devices when multiple beams are configured, and reducing call drop rate and packet transmission delay to improve communication reliability [see Park, pg. 19, ¶222 lines 20-26].
Regarding Claim 13,
The combined system of Cha and Park discloses the apparatus of claim 12 [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, the user equipment (UE)].
Cha further discloses wherein the beam report information comprises one or more resource indicators respectively corresponding to the one or more beams [see fig. 7, pg. 8, ¶158 lines 1-4, The DL BM procedure includes (1) transmission of beamformed DL reference signals (RSs) (e.g., CIS-RS or SS Block (SSB)) of the eNB and (2) beam reporting of the UE], the one or more resource indicators to include one or more synchronization signal block (SSB) indicators or channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicators [see pg. 8, ¶160 lines 1-2, the DL RS ID is an SSB Resource Indicator (SSBRI) or a CSI-RS Resource Indicator (CRI)].
Regarding Claim 14,
The combined system of Cha and Park discloses the apparatus of claim 12 [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, the user equipment (UE)].
Cha further discloses wherein the memory is to store a plurality of measurement values that respectively correspond to a plurality of resource indicators [see pg. 19, ¶438 lines 1-5, the BS configures/indicates, to the UE, measurement execution such as L1/L3-RSRP/RSRQ/SINR for a reference signal(s) (e.g., CSI-RS/SRS/SSB) in which a time-domain behavior is configured to be “periodic” or “semi-persistent”] and the beam report information comprises indications of [see pg. 19, ¶438 lines 1-5, when the BS indicates to report M transmission TX beam(s) information to the UE, the CSI reporting criteria is of]:
a largest measurement value of the plurality of measurement values and differential measurement values corresponding to the plurality of measurement values other than the largest measurement value [see pg. 19, ¶438 lines 1-5, the UE is indicated/configured to report M RS resources (e.g., CSI-RS resource, SRS resource, SSB resource, etc.) having a largest measurement value (e.g., RSRP/RSRQ/SINR) indexes among all RS resource(s) or resource set(s) configured to the UE], wherein the differential measurement values provide a difference between a respective one of the plurality of measurement values and the largest measurement value [see pg. 19, ¶438 lines 1-5, the UE is configured/indicated to report RX index(es) corresponding to multiple beams which exceed a specific RSRP threshold value].
Regarding Claim 16,
The combined system of Cha and Park discloses the apparatus of claim 12 [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, the user equipment (UE)].
Cha further discloses wherein the memory is to store information for one or more synchronization signal block (SSB) or channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicators [see pg. 15, ¶319 lines 1-11, the CSI resource configuration related information defines a group including at least one of a non zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource set, a CSI-IM resource set, or a CSI-SSB resource set] and the beam report information [see pg. 27, ¶530 lines 1-6, the beam reporting] comprises:
an indication of one power headroom (PHR) value for the one or more SSB or CSI-RS resource indicators [see pg. 15, ¶319 lines 1-11, the CSI resource configuration related information includes a CSI-RS resource set list and the CSI-RS resource set list includes at least one of a NZP CSI-RS resource set list, etc.].
Regarding Claim 17,
The combined system of Cha and Park discloses the apparatus of claim 12 [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, the user equipment (UE)].
Cha further discloses wherein the beam report information [see fig. 21: Step “2150”, pg. 28, ¶543 lines 1-5, the measurement information corresponding to the CSI for beam reporting] includes:
a serving cell index to identify a serving cell of a reference signal of the one or more reference signals; or a bandwidth part index to identify a bandwidth part of a reference signal of the one or more reference signals [see pg. 13, ¶277 lines 1-6, the UE is provided, for a serving cell, with a set q0 of periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes by higher layer parameter failureDetectionResources, and a set q1 of periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes and/or SS/PBCH block indexes by candidateBeamRSList for measuring a radio link quality on the serving cell].
Regarding Claim 18,
The combined system of Cha and Park discloses the apparatus of claim 12 [see fig. 25, pg. 27, ¶535 lines 1-9, the user equipment (UE)].
Cha further discloses wherein the memory is to store information for one or more synchronization signal block (SSB) or channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicators [see pg. 15, ¶319 lines 1-11, the CSI resource configuration related information defines a group including at least one of a non zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource set, a CSI-IM resource set, or a CSI-SSB resource set] and the beam report information [see pg. 27, ¶530 lines 1-6, the beam reporting] comprises:
an indication of one identifier to imply an uplink or downlink antenna panel corresponding to the one or more SSB or CSI-RS resource indicators [see pg. 15, ¶319 lines 1-11, the CSI-RS resource set is identified by a CSI-RS resource set ID and one resource set includes at least one CSI-RS resource. Each CSI-RS resource is identified by a CSI-RS resource ID].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 10 and 15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Onggosanusi et al. (US 2020/0145866 A1); see fig. 6, pg. 14, ¶171-¶172.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469