Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacobson et al.(WO 2023122514 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Jacobson teaches a system for securing a pump, comprising: a lockbox configured to enclose and prevent access to at least a user interface of an infusion pump and a medication receptacle of the infusion pump (Abstract; Paragraphs 5, 40, 74)
A multi-function, modular pump system can have a portable infusion pump configured for ambulatory use. The portable infusion pump can have a battery, a portable user interface, and a docking module or controller/container. The docking module or controller/container can have a security feature configured to prevent removal or unauthorized access and a pump mount configured to engage and stabilize the pump within the container, allow pump to maintain infusion continuity when removed, and enable rapid disengagement when authorized. An external user interface can allow for control of the contained pump, review of pump run status, log event history, settings, and configurations. A machine interface can allow control signals to pass from external interface to a contained, engaged portable pump. A simplified extending patient control can be configured to provide a bolus dose. The portable pump can be configurable for use in two modes: portable mode, and secured mode.[Abstr]
For example, a multi-function, modular pump system can have a portable infusion pump. The pump can be independently operational and configured for ambulatory use, having: a battery (e.g., a rechargeable battery) and a power input structure connected thereto; a portable user interface; a pump controller; and a separate pump controller/ container configured for preventing diversion of controlled substances. Example controller/containers are also described herein as an “accessory” to a pump, and as a pump docking container. Such an accessory or container can be larger than the pump itself and therefore configured less for ambulatory use and more for use in a bedside (e.g., critical care) environment. The controller/ docking container can have: a security feature configured to prevent removal or unauthorized access to and/or removal of the portable pump and medication (e.g., pole-mounted lock box and/or additional features configured to prevent unauthorized removal of the controller/ docking container and pump from the IV pole stand); a pump mount configured to engage and stabilize the pump within the container, allowing a pump to maintain infusion continuity when removed, and enable rapid disengagement when authorized; an external user interface allowing for control of the contained pump (e.g., large touch screen) and review of pump run status, log event history (such as timing of patient boluses requested and delivered via patient bolus button and total medication amount delivered by hour), settings, configurations, etc.; a machine interface allowing control signals to pass from external interface to contained, engaged portable pump (e.g., docking station, NFC chip(s), transceiver(s), etc.); and a power module configured to provide power to both the contained portable infusion pump and the pump controller/docking container. The system can also have a simplified extending patient control configured to provide a bolus dose and/or provide infusion status to the patient. The portable pump in such a system can be configurable for use in two modes: (1) portable mode, where it operates independently of the pump controller/docking container; and (2) secured mode, wherein it fits within and cooperates with the pump controller/ docking container to provide infusion under restricted control and access (restricting control and access applies to patients, clinicians, family members, etc.). In secured mode the pump may also enjoy additional functionality that could be therefore left out of the self-contained portable pump such as Wi-Fi communications, cellular communications, interface/support for sensor or monitoring capabilities like SpO2, EtCO2, minute ventilation, patient vital signs, etc. to monitor for respiratory depression.[P-5]
However, as disclosed herein, an advanced lockbox can be integrated with an ambulatory infusion pump, supporting the competing needs of a small, simple ambulatory pump for alternate site care with the more advanced features helpful in an acute care personally controlled analgesic (“PCA”) parenteral delivery system. An advanced or smart lockbox can be used with a removable, portable pump. Offloading features to the smart lockbox can help minimize the pump size and minimize pump interface requirements to meet ambulatory needs, and can support all the complexity and security which may be required of a PCA pump. Locating functionality in a lockbox can allow the pump itself to be minimized in size and complexity. For example, a smart lock box can include a larger touchscreen (or other more sophisticated interface); more connectivity (e.g., wi-fi); AC power; more battery power; interfaces and support for patient sensors; and additional functionality.[P-40]
Variations of an advanced lockbox can include (in addition to or as an alternative to the above), one or more of the following. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the ambulatory pump itself. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the medication container. The term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth). Wired (direct connection) interfaces such as AC power, bolus cord, respiratory monitor, USB or other communication ports can remain directly connected to the ambulatory pump even if it is contained within the advanced lockbox (and therefore have access holes or recesses allowing cords to protrude, for example). Alternatively or additionally, these features can be connected to and extend from the advanced lockbox.[P-74]
Furthermore, Jacobson teaches a lockbox control interface associated with the lockbox configured to obtain authorization for access to the lockbox from a pump communication interface of the infusion pump and enclosed within the lockbox (Paragraphs 40, 74, 89)
However, as disclosed herein, an advanced lockbox can be integrated with an ambulatory infusion pump, supporting the competing needs of a small, simple ambulatory pump for alternate site care with the more advanced features helpful in an acute care personally controlled analgesic (“PCA”) parenteral delivery system. An advanced or smart lockbox can be used with a removable, portable pump. Offloading features to the smart lockbox can help minimize the pump size and minimize pump interface requirements to meet ambulatory needs, and can support all the complexity and security which may be required of a PCA pump. Locating functionality in a lockbox can allow the pump itself to be minimized in size and complexity. For example, a smart lock box can include a larger touchscreen (or other more sophisticated interface); more connectivity (e.g., wi-fi); AC power; more battery power; interfaces and support for patient sensors; and additional functionality.[P-40]
Variations of an advanced lockbox can include (in addition to or as an alternative to the above), one or more of the following. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the ambulatory pump itself. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the medication container. The term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth). Wired (direct connection) interfaces such as AC power, bolus cord, respiratory monitor, USB or other communication ports can remain directly connected to the ambulatory pump even if it is contained within the advanced lockbox (and therefore have access holes or recesses allowing cords to protrude, for example). Alternatively or additionally, these features can be connected to and extend from the advanced lockbox.[P-74]
In preferred embodiments, the locking box enables only authorized users to have medication access by unlocking the pump’s locking box by using a single or configurable combination of locking mechanisms, such as but not limited to the scanning the authorized clinician’s healthcare provider ID (e.g., barcode, RFID and etc.), entry of a healthcare provider defined passcode on the electronic supplemental screen/user interface of the accessory or a high security lock and key on the locking box. In addition, the pump or system advantageously can detect whenever the locking box is closed and locked. In some embodiments, the pump provides an audible and visual alarm if the locking box has been forcefully opened. The locking box may be illuminated using an illumination color that defines the infusion delivery route of the medication (e.g., yellow to represent epidural, etc.) or medication class (e.g., opioid, local anesthetic, etc.).[P-89]
The lockbox control interface comprising a processor configured to electronically couple the lockbox control interface with the pump communication interface; facilitate transmission of a wireless credential to the pump communication interface for authorization to the lockbox (Paragraphs 74, 89)
Variations of an advanced lockbox can include (in addition to or as an alternative to the above), one or more of the following. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the ambulatory pump itself. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the medication container. The term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth). Wired (direct connection) interfaces such as AC power, bolus cord, respiratory monitor, USB or other communication ports can remain directly connected to the ambulatory pump even if it is contained within the advanced lockbox (and therefore have access holes or recesses allowing cords to protrude, for example). Alternatively or additionally, these features can be connected to and extend from the advanced lockbox.[P-74]
In preferred embodiments, the locking box enables only authorized users to have medication access by unlocking the pump’s locking box by using a single or configurable combination of locking mechanisms, such as but not limited to the scanning the authorized clinician’s healthcare provider ID (e.g., barcode, RFID and etc.), entry of a healthcare provider defined passcode on the electronic supplemental screen/user interface of the accessory or a high security lock and key on the locking box. In addition, the pump or system advantageously can detect whenever the locking box is closed and locked. In some embodiments, the pump provides an audible and visual alarm if the locking box has been forcefully opened. The locking box may be illuminated using an illumination color that defines the infusion delivery route of the medication (e.g., yellow to represent epidural, etc.) or medication class (e.g., opioid, local anesthetic, etc.).[P-89]
Jacobson teaches receiving, from the pump communication interface, the authorization for access based on the wireless credential; and cause performance of an action according to the received authorization for access(Paragraphs 74, 89)
Variations of an advanced lockbox can include (in addition to or as an alternative to the above), one or more of the following. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the ambulatory pump itself. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the medication container. The term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth). Wired (direct connection) interfaces such as AC power, bolus cord, respiratory monitor, USB or other communication ports can remain directly connected to the ambulatory pump even if it is contained within the advanced lockbox (and therefore have access holes or recesses allowing cords to protrude, for example). Alternatively or additionally, these features can be connected to and extend from the advanced lockbox.[P-74]
In preferred embodiments, the locking box enables only authorized users to have medication access by unlocking the pump’s locking box by using a single or configurable combination of locking mechanisms, such as but not limited to the scanning the authorized clinician’s healthcare provider ID (e.g., barcode, RFID and etc.), entry of a healthcare provider defined passcode on the electronic supplemental screen/user interface of the accessory or a high security lock and key on the locking box. In addition, the pump or system advantageously can detect whenever the locking box is closed and locked. In some embodiments, the pump provides an audible and visual alarm if the locking box has been forcefully opened. The locking box may be illuminated using an illumination color that defines the infusion delivery route of the medication (e.g., yellow to represent epidural, etc.) or medication class (e.g., opioid, local anesthetic, etc.).[P-89]
Here we see Jacobson illustrates after receiving, from the pump communication interface, the authorization for access based on the wireless credential (by way of RFID or barcode scanning), and upon authorization, causing performance of an action according to the received authorization for access, such as enabling the access to control commands/operations of the pump by way of the lockbox GUI
In regards to claim 4, Jacobson teaches electronically coupling the lockbox control interface with the pump communication interface comprises wirelessly pairing the lockbox control interface with the pump communication interface (Paragraphs 74, 87, 88).
Variations of an advanced lockbox can include (in addition to or as an alternative to the above), one or more of the following. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the ambulatory pump itself. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the medication container. The term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth). Wired (direct connection) interfaces such as AC power, bolus cord, respiratory monitor, USB or other communication ports can remain directly connected to the ambulatory pump even if it is contained within the advanced lockbox (and therefore have access holes or recesses allowing cords to protrude, for example). Alternatively or additionally, these features can be connected to and extend from the advanced lockbox.[P-74]
An accessory holds the pump and may do one or more of the following. It may support multiple channel operation via mounting and integration of multiple pumps. The pump screen and controls may or may not be fully or partially visible and/or accessible to the caregiver. For example, in some embodiments, a user may need to be able to see and access a stop button. The pump itself may or may not be seen when interfaced to the accessory. The pump may or may not be separated from the accessory during operation under certain therapies (without losing infusion continuity). The pump(s) may mount into or onto the accessory in a manner which makes the pump easy to disengage, but only when there is not a therapy underway. The pump(s) may mount into or onto the accessory in a manner which allows the pump to be disengaged only through use of a security device or procedure (e.g., code, key, etc.) to unlock the box, for example. The accessory can comprise a stationary docking station, which can have a large user interface, for example. (Stationary may refer to a larger device that is mounted on a wheeled pole or other holder but is nevertheless less portable than another related device). The accessory can hold or support or secure a smaller or modular and portable pump device. The pump device can be removed or disengaged from the accessory in a non-technical manner, such as without removing a housing, without tools and/or by a person without technical training. For example, in some embodiments and/or modes, rapid, non-technical disengagement can comprise a hospital user rapidly and conveniently detaching the pump manually (e.g., by unsnapping, gently lifting, unlatching, using a simple button or other actuator, opening a lid, etc.). Authorization for pump detachment or disengagement can be strictly enforced (through biometric or other locks, etc.), while still making the physical act of detachment relatively rapid and straightforward, once authorized (e.g., once a lock is released). [P-87]
The accessory may include any or all of the following features, in any combination: physical and electronic interfaces to enable mounting of the pump and transfer of the AC power, patient bolus cord, communication interface(s) electrical access and control functions from the pump connectors to the accessory or accessory connectors (for example, the bolus cord connector on the pump is now unavailable and/or disabled and a bolus cord connector in the accessory becomes the active port). The “connection” between the pump and accessory can be through electrical connectors on both or can be via remote communications between the two, such as Bluetooth. The accessory may include: wired interfaces such as USB ports; a locking box to secure and envelope the pump and infusion bag and element of the infusion set directly mating with the pump[P-88]
Here we see Jacobson disclosing the lockbox GUI being wirelessly paired (Bluetooth) with the control interface of the pump, thereby assuming control of the pump.
In regards to claim 5, Jacobson teaches performing the action comprises: unlocking the lockbox to allow user access to the user interface and the medication receptacle(Paragraph 89)
In preferred embodiments, the locking box enables only authorized users to have medication access by unlocking the pump’s locking box by using a single or configurable combination of locking mechanisms, such as but not limited to the scanning the authorized clinician’s healthcare provider ID (e.g., barcode, RFID and etc.), entry of a healthcare provider defined passcode on the electronic supplemental screen/user interface of the accessory or a high security lock and key on the locking box. In addition, the pump or system advantageously can detect whenever the locking box is closed and locked. In some embodiments, the pump provides an audible and visual alarm if the locking box has been forcefully opened. The locking box may be illuminated using an illumination color that defines the infusion delivery route of the medication (e.g., yellow to represent epidural, etc.) or medication class (e.g., opioid, local anesthetic, etc.).[P-89]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 10-17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson et al.(WO 2023122514 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Jacobson teaches the processor is further configured to receive a user credential via the lockbox control interface; and transmit, via the lockbox control interface, the received user credential to the pump communication interface (Paragraphs 60, 68, 74)
Inside of the housing 20 of the pump 10, various electrical systems can be provided to control and regulate the pumping of medical fluid by the pump 10 into the patient and/or to communicate with the user and/or one or more other entities. For example, the pump 10 can include a circuit board that includes a user interface controller (UIC) configured to control and interact with a user interface, such as a graphical user interface, that can be displayed on the user communicator or display / input device 200. The pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a pump motor controller (PMC) that controls one or more pump drivers 14. In some embodiments, the PMC is located on a separate circuit board from the UIC and/or the PMC is independent from and separately operable from the UIC, each of the PMC and UIC including different electronic processors capable of concurrent and independent operation. In some embodiments, there are at least two PMC’s provided, a separate and independent one for each pump driver 14, capable of concurrent and independent operation from each other. The pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a communications engine (CE) that controls electronic communications between the pump 10 and other entities (aside from the user), such as electronic, wired or wireless, communication with a separate or remote user, a server, a hospital electronic medical records system, a remote healthcare provider, a router, another pump, a mobile electronic device, a near field communication (NFC) device such as a radio-frequency identification (RFID) device, and/or a central computer controlling and/or monitoring multiple pumps 10, etc. The CE can include or can be in electronic communication with an electronic transmitter, receiver, and/or transceiver capable of transmitting and/or receiving electronic information by wire or wirelessly (e.g., by Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, cellular signal, etc.). In some embodiments, the CE is located on a separate circuit board from either or both of the UIC and/or the PMC(s), and/or the CE is independent from and separately operable from either or both of the UIC and/or the PMC(s), each of the PMC(s), UIC, and CE including different electronic processors capable of concurrent and independent operation. In some embodiments, any, some, or all of the UIC, CE, and PMC(s) are capable of operational isolation from any, some, or all of the others such that it or they can turn off, stop working, encounter an error or enter a failure mode, and/or reset, without operationally affecting and/or without detrimentally affecting the operation of any, some, or all of the others. In such an operationally isolated configuration, any, some, or all of the UIC, CE, and PMC(s) can still be in periodic or continuous data transfer or communication with any, some, or all of the others. The UIC, PMC(s), and/or CE can be configured within the housing 20 of the pump 10 to be in electronic communication with each other, transmitting data and/or instructions between or among each of them as needed[P-60]
The pump holder 412 can help align the pump for 14 with an electronic interface located at the back of the lock box system 402. Thus, a pump 414 can interface electronically with hardware contained within the lockbox system 402. Given such an interface, a display screen of a pump 414 can be synchronized and/or overridden by the display screen 416. The larger lock box system 402 can obtain information from the pump 414 that was stored while the pump 414 was being used in an ambulatory or portable mode. The lockbox system 402, and it's display 416, can assume control of the small portable pump 414 when it is plugged in and located in the holder 412. In this configuration, the pump 414 remains in contact with the infusion line 408 whether or not it is in captured/integrated or ambulatory mode. The present disclosure thus provides for dual mode and hybrid pump and container systems. The two modes can include a bedside mode and an ambulatory mode. The two modes can include a secured mode and a non-secured mode. The two modes can comprise portable mode and secured mode. The two modes can include a patient-control mode and a hospital control mode. The system can be a hybrid in the sense of fulfilling functionality of ambulatory and bedside pumps, with a single system. It can combine a stationary (e.g., primarily bedside) portion and a portable (e.g., ambulatory) portion, which can come together to function, and be readily separably for independent operation, in certain circumstances.[P-68]
Variations of an advanced lockbox can include (in addition to or as an alternative to the above), one or more of the following. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the ambulatory pump itself. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the medication container. The term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth). Wired (direct connection) interfaces such as AC power, bolus cord, respiratory monitor, USB or other communication ports can remain directly connected to the ambulatory pump even if it is contained within the advanced lockbox (and therefore have access holes or recesses allowing cords to protrude, for example). Alternatively or additionally, these features can be connected to and extend from the advanced lockbox.[P-74]
Outside of the physical control of the placement and removal of the pump system, Jacobson teaches the use of a user interface being able to control the pump’s configuration using wireless communication, such as RFID communication or Bluetooth pairing.
Though the step by step process of user credential via the lockbox control interface; and transmit, via the lockbox control interface, the received user credential to the pump communication interface is not verbatim mentioned. By Jacobson stating, the pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a communications engine (CE) that controls electronic communications between the pump 10 and other entities (aside from the user), such as electronic, wired or wireless, communication with a separate or remote user, a server, a hospital electronic medical records system, a remote healthcare provider, a router, another pump, a mobile electronic device, a near field communication (NFC) device such as a radio-frequency identification (RFID) device, and/or a central computer controlling and/or monitoring multiple pumps 10, etc. The CE can include or can be in electronic communication with an electronic transmitter, receiver, and/or transceiver capable of transmitting and/or receiving electronic information by wire or wirelessly (e.g., by Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, cellular signal, etc.)[P-60]. Thereafter specifically teach the term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth)[P-74]. It would be therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in art that the processor is further configured to receive a user credential via the lockbox control interface (RFID of Bluetooth verification), and transmitting, the received user credential (RFID or Bluetooth authentication) to the pump communication interface, and thereby pairing the control access of the pump configuration to the GUI interface of the lockbox.
Hence, Jacobson, enables the authorization for access is received by the lockbox control interface from the pump communication interface responsive to transmitting the user credential to the pump communication interface.
In regards to claim 3, Jacobson teaches the lockbox control interface comprises a scanner configured to receive the user credential wirelessly from a transmitting device associated with a user, the processor being further configured to receive the user credential from a badge scanned by the scanner (Paragraphs 70, 89).
Figure 5B shows the structure of figure 5A, only with this time with the door 503 closed to reveal a large touchscreen display 516 integrated into the door 503. The door lock 523 is still visible securing the door in place. The dial 507 associated with a locking pole clamp is also visible. As shown in this figure, the pump and infusate bag are not within sight of a typical user, and therefore positioned relatively securely for use. The lock is shown here as a traditional mechanical (physical key) lock, but a lock can alternatively be activated by keypad entry of a passcode, swiping of a clinician badge, etc. Advanced Lockbox Features[P-70]
In preferred embodiments, the locking box enables only authorized users to have medication access by unlocking the pump’s locking box by using a single or configurable combination of locking mechanisms, such as but not limited to the scanning the authorized clinician’s healthcare provider ID (e.g., barcode, RFID and etc.), entry of a healthcare provider defined passcode on the electronic supplemental screen/user interface of the accessory or a high security lock and key on the locking box. In addition, the pump or system advantageously can detect whenever the locking box is closed and locked. In some embodiments, the pump provides an audible and visual alarm if the locking box has been forcefully opened. The locking box may be illuminated using an illumination color that defines the infusion delivery route of the medication (e.g., yellow to represent epidural, etc.) or medication class (e.g., opioid, local anesthetic, etc.).[P-89]
In regards to claim 10, Jacobson teaches the lockbox control interface is configured to receive user input, wherein performing the action comprises activating the lockbox control interface to receive user input, and wherein the processor is further configured to(Paragraphs 60, 68, 74)
Inside of the housing 20 of the pump 10, various electrical systems can be provided to control and regulate the pumping of medical fluid by the pump 10 into the patient and/or to communicate with the user and/or one or more other entities. For example, the pump 10 can include a circuit board that includes a user interface controller (UIC) configured to control and interact with a user interface, such as a graphical user interface, that can be displayed on the user communicator or display / input device 200. The pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a pump motor controller (PMC) that controls one or more pump drivers 14. In some embodiments, the PMC is located on a separate circuit board from the UIC and/or the PMC is independent from and separately operable from the UIC, each of the PMC and UIC including different electronic processors capable of concurrent and independent operation. In some embodiments, there are at least two PMC’s provided, a separate and independent one for each pump driver 14, capable of concurrent and independent operation from each other. The pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a communications engine (CE) that controls electronic communications between the pump 10 and other entities (aside from the user), such as electronic, wired or wireless, communication with a separate or remote user, a server, a hospital electronic medical records system, a remote healthcare provider, a router, another pump, a mobile electronic device, a near field communication (NFC) device such as a radio-frequency identification (RFID) device, and/or a central computer controlling and/or monitoring multiple pumps 10, etc. The CE can include or can be in electronic communication with an electronic transmitter, receiver, and/or transceiver capable of transmitting and/or receiving electronic information by wire or wirelessly (e.g., by Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, cellular signal, etc.). In some embodiments, the CE is located on a separate circuit board from either or both of the UIC and/or the PMC(s), and/or the CE is independent from and separately operable from either or both of the UIC and/or the PMC(s), each of the PMC(s), UIC, and CE including different electronic processors capable of concurrent and independent operation. In some embodiments, any, some, or all of the UIC, CE, and PMC(s) are capable of operational isolation from any, some, or all of the others such that it or they can turn off, stop working, encounter an error or enter a failure mode, and/or reset, without operationally affecting and/or without detrimentally affecting the operation of any, some, or all of the others. In such an operationally isolated configuration, any, some, or all of the UIC, CE, and PMC(s) can still be in periodic or continuous data transfer or communication with any, some, or all of the others. The UIC, PMC(s), and/or CE can be configured within the housing 20 of the pump 10 to be in electronic communication with each other, transmitting data and/or instructions between or among each of them as needed[P-60]
The pump holder 412 can help align the pump for 14 with an electronic interface located at the back of the lock box system 402. Thus, a pump 414 can interface electronically with hardware contained within the lockbox system 402. Given such an interface, a display screen of a pump 414 can be synchronized and/or overridden by the display screen 416. The larger lock box system 402 can obtain information from the pump 414 that was stored while the pump 414 was being used in an ambulatory or portable mode. The lockbox system 402, and it's display 416, can assume control of the small portable pump 414 when it is plugged in and located in the holder 412. In this configuration, the pump 414 remains in contact with the infusion line 408 whether or not it is in captured/integrated or ambulatory mode. The present disclosure thus provides for dual mode and hybrid pump and container systems. The two modes can include a bedside mode and an ambulatory mode. The two modes can include a secured mode and a non-secured mode. The two modes can comprise portable mode and secured mode. The two modes can include a patient-control mode and a hospital control mode. The system can be a hybrid in the sense of fulfilling functionality of ambulatory and bedside pumps, with a single system. It can combine a stationary (e.g., primarily bedside) portion and a portable (e.g., ambulatory) portion, which can come together to function, and be readily separably for independent operation, in certain circumstances.[P-68]
Variations of an advanced lockbox can include (in addition to or as an alternative to the above), one or more of the following. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the ambulatory pump itself. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the medication container. The term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth). Wired (direct connection) interfaces such as AC power, bolus cord, respiratory monitor, USB or other communication ports can remain directly connected to the ambulatory pump even if it is contained within the advanced lockbox (and therefore have access holes or recesses allowing cords to protrude, for example). Alternatively or additionally, these features can be connected to and extend from the advanced lockbox.[P-74]
Jacobson teaches the use of a user interface being able to control the pump’s configuration using wireless communication, such as RFID communication or Bluetooth pairing.
Though the step by step process of user credential via the lockbox control interface; and transmit, via the lockbox control interface, the received user credential to the pump communication interface is not verbatim mentioned. By Jacobson stating, the pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a communications engine (CE) that controls electronic communications between the pump 10 and other entities (aside from the user), such as electronic, wired or wireless, communication with a separate or remote user, a server, a hospital electronic medical records system, a remote healthcare provider, a router, another pump, a mobile electronic device, a near field communication (NFC) device such as a radio-frequency identification (RFID) device, and/or a central computer controlling and/or monitoring multiple pumps 10, etc. The CE can include or can be in electronic communication with an electronic transmitter, receiver, and/or transceiver capable of transmitting and/or receiving electronic information by wire or wirelessly (e.g., by Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, cellular signal, etc.)[P-60]. Thereafter specifically teach the term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth)[P-74]. It would be therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in art that the processor is further configured to receive a user credential via the lockbox control interface (RFID of Bluetooth verification), and transmitting, the received user credential (RFID or Bluetooth authentication) to the pump communication interface, and thereby pairing the control access of the pump configuration to the GUI interface of the lockbox.
Hence, Jacobson, enables receiving the user input via the activated lockbox control interface; and transmit, after the authorization for access, the user input to the pump communication interface for operation of the infusion pump in accordance with the authorization for access.
In regards to claim 11, though Jacobson’s teaching does not specifically recite the pump communication interface comprises a scanner and is configured to receive the user credential wirelessly via the scanner from a transmitting device associated with a user, and to transmit the authorization for access based on the wireless credential to the lockbox control interface
However, by Jacobson reciting different scanning protocol for the purpose of authorization(Paragraphs 60, 70, 74, 89).
Inside of the housing 20 of the pump 10, various electrical systems can be provided to control and regulate the pumping of medical fluid by the pump 10 into the patient and/or to communicate with the user and/or one or more other entities. For example, the pump 10 can include a circuit board that includes a user interface controller (UIC) configured to control and interact with a user interface, such as a graphical user interface, that can be displayed on the user communicator or display / input device 200. The pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a pump motor controller (PMC) that controls one or more pump drivers 14. In some embodiments, the PMC is located on a separate circuit board from the UIC and/or the PMC is independent from and separately operable from the UIC, each of the PMC and UIC including different electronic processors capable of concurrent and independent operation. In some embodiments, there are at least two PMC’s provided, a separate and independent one for each pump driver 14, capable of concurrent and independent operation from each other. The pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a communications engine (CE) that controls electronic communications between the pump 10 and other entities (aside from the user), such as electronic, wired or wireless, communication with a separate or remote user, a server, a hospital electronic medical records system, a remote healthcare provider, a router, another pump, a mobile electronic device, a near field communication (NFC) device such as a radio-frequency identification (RFID) device, and/or a central computer controlling and/or monitoring multiple pumps 10, etc. The CE can include or can be in electronic communication with an electronic transmitter, receiver, and/or transceiver capable of transmitting and/or receiving electronic information by wire or wirelessly (e.g., by Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, cellular signal, etc.). In some embodiments, the CE is located on a separate circuit board from either or both of the UIC and/or the PMC(s), and/or the CE is independent from and separately operable from either or both of the UIC and/or the PMC(s), each of the PMC(s), UIC, and CE including different electronic processors capable of concurrent and independent operation. In some embodiments, any, some, or all of the UIC, CE, and PMC(s) are capable of operational isolation from any, some, or all of the others such that it or they can turn off, stop working, encounter an error or enter a failure mode, and/or reset, without operationally affecting and/or without detrimentally affecting the operation of any, some, or all of the others. In such an operationally isolated configuration, any, some, or all of the UIC, CE, and PMC(s) can still be in periodic or continuous data transfer or communication with any, some, or all of the others. The UIC, PMC(s), and/or CE can be configured within the housing 20 of the pump 10 to be in electronic communication with each other, transmitting data and/or instructions between or among each of them as needed[P-60]
Figure 5B shows the structure of figure 5A, only with this time with the door 503 closed to reveal a large touchscreen display 516 integrated into the door 503. The door lock 523 is still visible securing the door in place. The dial 507 associated with a locking pole clamp is also visible. As shown in this figure, the pump and infusate bag are not within sight of a typical user, and therefore positioned relatively securely for use. The lock is shown here as a traditional mechanical (physical key) lock, but a lock can alternatively be activated by keypad entry of a passcode, swiping of a clinician badge, etc. Advanced Lockbox Features[P-70]
Variations of an advanced lockbox can include (in addition to or as an alternative to the above), one or more of the following. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the ambulatory pump itself. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the medication container. The term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth). Wired (direct connection) interfaces such as AC power, bolus cord, respiratory monitor, USB or other communication ports can remain directly connected to the ambulatory pump even if it is contained within the advanced lockbox (and therefore have access holes or recesses allowing cords to protrude, for example). Alternatively or additionally, these features can be connected to and extend from the advanced lockbox.[P-74]
In preferred embodiments, the locking box enables only authorized users to have medication access by unlocking the pump’s locking box by using a single or configurable combination of locking mechanisms, such as but not limited to the scanning the authorized clinician’s healthcare provider ID (e.g., barcode, RFID and etc.), entry of a healthcare provider defined passcode on the electronic supplemental screen/user interface of the accessory or a high security lock and key on the locking box. In addition, the pump or system advantageously can detect whenever the locking box is closed and locked. In some embodiments, the pump provides an audible and visual alarm if the locking box has been forcefully opened. The locking box may be illuminated using an illumination color that defines the infusion delivery route of the medication (e.g., yellow to represent epidural, etc.) or medication class (e.g., opioid, local anesthetic, etc.).[P-89]
We see that Jacobson teaching authentication methods by way of wirelessly scanning of a user device (NFC, RFID protocol, Bluetooth). Jacobson then teaches being able to control the pump operations via the UI of the user device. Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that upon the pump communication interface scanning user credential wirelessly via the scanner from a transmitting device associated with a user, and to transmit the authorization for access based on the wireless credential to the lockbox control interface.
In regards to claim 12, Jacobson teaches a method for securing a pump, comprising: securing at least a portion of an infusion pump within a lockbox, the lockbox configured to enclose and prevent access to at least a user interface of the infusion pump and a medication receptacle of the infusion pump(Abstract; Paragraphs 5, 40, 74)
A multi-function, modular pump system can have a portable infusion pump configured for ambulatory use. The portable infusion pump can have a battery, a portable user interface, and a docking module or controller/container. The docking module or controller/container can have a security feature configured to prevent removal or unauthorized access and a pump mount configured to engage and stabilize the pump within the container, allow pump to maintain infusion continuity when removed, and enable rapid disengagement when authorized. An external user interface can allow for control of the contained pump, review of pump run status, log event history, settings, and configurations. A machine interface can allow control signals to pass from external interface to a contained, engaged portable pump. A simplified extending patient control can be configured to provide a bolus dose. The portable pump can be configurable for use in two modes: portable mode, and secured mode.[Abstr]
For example, a multi-function, modular pump system can have a portable infusion pump. The pump can be independently operational and configured for ambulatory use, having: a battery (e.g., a rechargeable battery) and a power input structure connected thereto; a portable user interface; a pump controller; and a separate pump controller/ container configured for preventing diversion of controlled substances. Example controller/containers are also described herein as an “accessory” to a pump, and as a pump docking container. Such an accessory or container can be larger than the pump itself and therefore configured less for ambulatory use and more for use in a bedside (e.g., critical care) environment. The controller/ docking container can have: a security feature configured to prevent removal or unauthorized access to and/or removal of the portable pump and medication (e.g., pole-mounted lock box and/or additional features configured to prevent unauthorized removal of the controller/ docking container and pump from the IV pole stand); a pump mount configured to engage and stabilize the pump within the container, allowing a pump to maintain infusion continuity when removed, and enable rapid disengagement when authorized; an external user interface allowing for control of the contained pump (e.g., large touch screen) and review of pump run status, log event history (such as timing of patient boluses requested and delivered via patient bolus button and total medication amount delivered by hour), settings, configurations, etc.; a machine interface allowing control signals to pass from external interface to contained, engaged portable pump (e.g., docking station, NFC chip(s), transceiver(s), etc.); and a power module configured to provide power to both the contained portable infusion pump and the pump controller/docking container. The system can also have a simplified extending patient control configured to provide a bolus dose and/or provide infusion status to the patient. The portable pump in such a system can be configurable for use in two modes: (1) portable mode, where it operates independently of the pump controller/docking container; and (2) secured mode, wherein it fits within and cooperates with the pump controller/ docking container to provide infusion under restricted control and access (restricting control and access applies to patients, clinicians, family members, etc.). In secured mode the pump may also enjoy additional functionality that could be therefore left out of the self-contained portable pump such as Wi-Fi communications, cellular communications, interface/support for sensor or monitoring capabilities like SpO2, EtCO2, minute ventilation, patient vital signs, etc. to monitor for respiratory depression.[P-5]
However, as disclosed herein, an advanced lockbox can be integrated with an ambulatory infusion pump, supporting the competing needs of a small, simple ambulatory pump for alternate site care with the more advanced features helpful in an acute care personally controlled analgesic (“PCA”) parenteral delivery system. An advanced or smart lockbox can be used with a removable, portable pump. Offloading features to the smart lockbox can help minimize the pump size and minimize pump interface requirements to meet ambulatory needs, and can support all the complexity and security which may be required of a PCA pump. Locating functionality in a lockbox can allow the pump itself to be minimized in size and complexity. For example, a smart lock box can include a larger touchscreen (or other more sophisticated interface); more connectivity (e.g., wi-fi); AC power; more battery power; interfaces and support for patient sensors; and additional functionality.[P-40]
Variations of an advanced lockbox can include (in addition to or as an alternative to the above), one or more of the following. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the ambulatory pump itself. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the medication container. The term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth). Wired (direct connection) interfaces such as AC power, bolus cord, respiratory monitor, USB or other communication ports can remain directly connected to the ambulatory pump even if it is contained within the advanced lockbox (and therefore have access holes or recesses allowing cords to protrude, for example). Alternatively or additionally, these features can be connected to and extend from the advanced lockbox.[P-74]
Jacobson then teaches the lockbox comprising a lockbox control interface configured to obtain authorization for access to the lockbox from a pump communication interface of the infusion pump and enclosed within the lockbox, electronically coupling the lockbox control interface with the pump communication interface (Paragraphs 40, 74, 89)
However, as disclosed herein, an advanced lockbox can be integrated with an ambulatory infusion pump, supporting the competing needs of a small, simple ambulatory pump for alternate site care with the more advanced features helpful in an acute care personally controlled analgesic (“PCA”) parenteral delivery system. An advanced or smart lockbox can be used with a removable, portable pump. Offloading features to the smart lockbox can help minimize the pump size and minimize pump interface requirements to meet ambulatory needs, and can support all the complexity and security which may be required of a PCA pump. Locating functionality in a lockbox can allow the pump itself to be minimized in size and complexity. For example, a smart lock box can include a larger touchscreen (or other more sophisticated interface); more connectivity (e.g., wi-fi); AC power; more battery power; interfaces and support for patient sensors; and additional functionality.[P-40]
Variations of an advanced lockbox can include (in addition to or as an alternative to the above), one or more of the following. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the ambulatory pump itself. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the medication container. The term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth). Wired (direct connection) interfaces such as AC power, bolus cord, respiratory monitor, USB or other communication ports can remain directly connected to the ambulatory pump even if it is contained within the advanced lockbox (and therefore have access holes or recesses allowing cords to protrude, for example). Alternatively or additionally, these features can be connected to and extend from the advanced lockbox.[P-74]
In preferred embodiments, the locking box enables only authorized users to have medication access by unlocking the pump’s locking box by using a single or configurable combination of locking mechanisms, such as but not limited to the scanning the authorized clinician’s healthcare provider ID (e.g., barcode, RFID and etc.), entry of a healthcare provider defined passcode on the electronic supplemental screen/user interface of the accessory or a high security lock and key on the locking box. In addition, the pump or system advantageously can detect whenever the locking box is closed and locked. In some embodiments, the pump provides an audible and visual alarm if the locking box has been forcefully opened. The locking box may be illuminated using an illumination color that defines the infusion delivery route of the medication (e.g., yellow to represent epidural, etc.) or medication class (e.g., opioid, local anesthetic, etc.).[P-89]
By Jacobson stating, the pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a communications engine (CE) that controls electronic communications between the pump 10 and other entities (aside from the user), such as electronic, wired or wireless, communication with a separate or remote user, a server, a hospital electronic medical records system, a remote healthcare provider, a router, another pump, a mobile electronic device, a near field communication (NFC) device such as a radio-frequency identification (RFID) device, and/or a central computer controlling and/or monitoring multiple pumps 10, etc. The CE can include or can be in electronic communication with an electronic transmitter, receiver, and/or transceiver capable of transmitting and/or receiving electronic information by wire or wirelessly (e.g., by Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, cellular signal, etc.)[P-60]. Thereafter specifically teach the term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth)[P-74]. It would be therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in art that the processor is further configured to receive a user credential via the lockbox control interface (RFID of Bluetooth verification), and transmitting, the received user credential (RFID or Bluetooth authentication) to the pump communication interface, and thereby pairing the control access of the pump configuration to the GUI interface of the lockbox.
Furthermore, based on the discussed disclosure above, Jacobson’s teaching enables facilitating transmission of a wireless credential to the pump communication interface for authorization to the lockbox; receiving, by the lockbox control interface from the pump communication interface, the authorization for access based on the wireless credential; and performing, by the lockbox control interface, an action according to the received authorization for access.
In regards to claim 13, Jacobson teaches receiving a user credential via the lockbox control interface; and transmitting, by the lockbox control interface, the received user credential to the pump communication interface, wherein the authorization for access is received by the lockbox control interface from the pump communication interface responsive to transmitting the user credential to the pump communication interface(Paragraphs 60, 68, 74)
Inside of the housing 20 of the pump 10, various electrical systems can be provided to control and regulate the pumping of medical fluid by the pump 10 into the patient and/or to communicate with the user and/or one or more other entities. For example, the pump 10 can include a circuit board that includes a user interface controller (UIC) configured to control and interact with a user interface, such as a graphical user interface, that can be displayed on the user communicator or display / input device 200. The pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a pump motor controller (PMC) that controls one or more pump drivers 14. In some embodiments, the PMC is located on a separate circuit board from the UIC and/or the PMC is independent from and separately operable from the UIC, each of the PMC and UIC including different electronic processors capable of concurrent and independent operation. In some embodiments, there are at least two PMC’s provided, a separate and independent one for each pump driver 14, capable of concurrent and independent operation from each other. The pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a communications engine (CE) that controls electronic communications between the pump 10 and other entities (aside from the user), such as electronic, wired or wireless, communication with a separate or remote user, a server, a hospital electronic medical records system, a remote healthcare provider, a router, another pump, a mobile electronic device, a near field communication (NFC) device such as a radio-frequency identification (RFID) device, and/or a central computer controlling and/or monitoring multiple pumps 10, etc. The CE can include or can be in electronic communication with an electronic transmitter, receiver, and/or transceiver capable of transmitting and/or receiving electronic information by wire or wirelessly (e.g., by Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, cellular signal, etc.). In some embodiments, the CE is located on a separate circuit board from either or both of the UIC and/or the PMC(s), and/or the CE is independent from and separately operable from either or both of the UIC and/or the PMC(s), each of the PMC(s), UIC, and CE including different electronic processors capable of concurrent and independent operation. In some embodiments, any, some, or all of the UIC, CE, and PMC(s) are capable of operational isolation from any, some, or all of the others such that it or they can turn off, stop working, encounter an error or enter a failure mode, and/or reset, without operationally affecting and/or without detrimentally affecting the operation of any, some, or all of the others. In such an operationally isolated configuration, any, some, or all of the UIC, CE, and PMC(s) can still be in periodic or continuous data transfer or communication with any, some, or all of the others. The UIC, PMC(s), and/or CE can be configured within the housing 20 of the pump 10 to be in electronic communication with each other, transmitting data and/or instructions between or among each of them as needed[P-60]
The pump holder 412 can help align the pump for 14 with an electronic interface located at the back of the lock box system 402. Thus, a pump 414 can interface electronically with hardware contained within the lockbox system 402. Given such an interface, a display screen of a pump 414 can be synchronized and/or overridden by the display screen 416. The larger lock box system 402 can obtain information from the pump 414 that was stored while the pump 414 was being used in an ambulatory or portable mode. The lockbox system 402, and it's display 416, can assume control of the small portable pump 414 when it is plugged in and located in the holder 412. In this configuration, the pump 414 remains in contact with the infusion line 408 whether or not it is in captured/integrated or ambulatory mode. The present disclosure thus provides for dual mode and hybrid pump and container systems. The two modes can include a bedside mode and an ambulatory mode. The two modes can include a secured mode and a non-secured mode. The two modes can comprise portable mode and secured mode. The two modes can include a patient-control mode and a hospital control mode. The system can be a hybrid in the sense of fulfilling functionality of ambulatory and bedside pumps, with a single system. It can combine a stationary (e.g., primarily bedside) portion and a portable (e.g., ambulatory) portion, which can come together to function, and be readily separably for independent operation, in certain circumstances.[P-68]
Variations of an advanced lockbox can include (in addition to or as an alternative to the above), one or more of the following. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the ambulatory pump itself. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the medication container. The term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth). Wired (direct connection) interfaces such as AC power, bolus cord, respiratory monitor, USB or other communication ports can remain directly connected to the ambulatory pump even if it is contained within the advanced lockbox (and therefore have access holes or recesses allowing cords to protrude, for example). Alternatively or additionally, these features can be connected to and extend from the advanced lockbox.[P-74]
Outside of the physical control of the placement and removal of the pump system, Jacobson teaches the use of a user interface being able to control the pump’s configuration using wireless communication, such as RFID communication or Bluetooth pairing.
Though the step by step process of user credential via the lockbox control interface; and transmit, via the lockbox control interface, the received user credential to the pump communication interface is not verbatim mentioned. By Jacobson stating, the pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a communications engine (CE) that controls electronic communications between the pump 10 and other entities (aside from the user), such as electronic, wired or wireless, communication with a separate or remote user, a server, a hospital electronic medical records system, a remote healthcare provider, a router, another pump, a mobile electronic device, a near field communication (NFC) device such as a radio-frequency identification (RFID) device, and/or a central computer controlling and/or monitoring multiple pumps 10, etc. The CE can include or can be in electronic communication with an electronic transmitter, receiver, and/or transceiver capable of transmitting and/or receiving electronic information by wire or wirelessly (e.g., by Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, cellular signal, etc.)[P-60]. Thereafter specifically teach the term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth)[P-74]. It would be therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in art that the processor is further configured to receive a user credential via the lockbox control interface (RFID of Bluetooth verification), and transmitting, the received user credential (RFID or Bluetooth authentication) to the pump communication interface, and thereby pairing the control access of the pump configuration to the GUI interface of the lockbox.
Hence, Jacobson, enables the authorization for access is received by the lockbox control interface from the pump communication interface responsive to transmitting the user credential to the pump communication interface.
In regards to claim 14, Jacobson teaches the pump communication interface comprises a scanner configured to receive the user credential through the lockbox wirelessly from a transmitting device associated with a user outside the lockbox, wherein the authorization for access is received by the lockbox control interface from the pump communication interface responsive to the user credential being scanned at the pump communication interface(Paragraphs 70, 89).
Figure 5B shows the structure of figure 5A, only with this time with the door 503 closed to reveal a large touchscreen display 516 integrated into the door 503. The door lock 523 is still visible securing the door in place. The dial 507 associated with a locking pole clamp is also visible. As shown in this figure, the pump and infusate bag are not within sight of a typical user, and therefore positioned relatively securely for use. The lock is shown here as a traditional mechanical (physical key) lock, but a lock can alternatively be activated by keypad entry of a passcode, swiping of a clinician badge, etc. Advanced Lockbox Features[P-70]
In preferred embodiments, the locking box enables only authorized users to have medication access by unlocking the pump’s locking box by using a single or configurable combination of locking mechanisms, such as but not limited to the scanning the authorized clinician’s healthcare provider ID (e.g., barcode, RFID and etc.), entry of a healthcare provider defined passcode on the electronic supplemental screen/user interface of the accessory or a high security lock and key on the locking box. In addition, the pump or system advantageously can detect whenever the locking box is closed and locked. In some embodiments, the pump provides an audible and visual alarm if the locking box has been forcefully opened. The locking box may be illuminated using an illumination color that defines the infusion delivery route of the medication (e.g., yellow to represent epidural, etc.) or medication class (e.g., opioid, local anesthetic, etc.).[P-89]
In regards to claim 15, Jacobson teaches electronically coupling the lockbox control interface with the pump communication interface comprises: wirelessly pairing the lockbox control interface with the pump communication interface(Paragraphs 74, 87, 88).
Variations of an advanced lockbox can include (in addition to or as an alternative to the above), one or more of the following. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the ambulatory pump itself. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the medication container. The term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth). Wired (direct connection) interfaces such as AC power, bolus cord, respiratory monitor, USB or other communication ports can remain directly connected to the ambulatory pump even if it is contained within the advanced lockbox (and therefore have access holes or recesses allowing cords to protrude, for example). Alternatively or additionally, these features can be connected to and extend from the advanced lockbox.[P-74]
An accessory holds the pump and may do one or more of the following. It may support multiple channel operation via mounting and integration of multiple pumps. The pump screen and controls may or may not be fully or partially visible and/or accessible to the caregiver. For example, in some embodiments, a user may need to be able to see and access a stop button. The pump itself may or may not be seen when interfaced to the accessory. The pump may or may not be separated from the accessory during operation under certain therapies (without losing infusion continuity). The pump(s) may mount into or onto the accessory in a manner which makes the pump easy to disengage, but only when there is not a therapy underway. The pump(s) may mount into or onto the accessory in a manner which allows the pump to be disengaged only through use of a security device or procedure (e.g., code, key, etc.) to unlock the box, for example. The accessory can comprise a stationary docking station, which can have a large user interface, for example. (Stationary may refer to a larger device that is mounted on a wheeled pole or other holder but is nevertheless less portable than another related device). The accessory can hold or support or secure a smaller or modular and portable pump device. The pump device can be removed or disengaged from the accessory in a non-technical manner, such as without removing a housing, without tools and/or by a person without technical training. For example, in some embodiments and/or modes, rapid, non-technical disengagement can comprise a hospital user rapidly and conveniently detaching the pump manually (e.g., by unsnapping, gently lifting, unlatching, using a simple button or other actuator, opening a lid, etc.). Authorization for pump detachment or disengagement can be strictly enforced (through biometric or other locks, etc.), while still making the physical act of detachment relatively rapid and straightforward, once authorized (e.g., once a lock is released). [P-87]
The accessory may include any or all of the following features, in any combination: physical and electronic interfaces to enable mounting of the pump and transfer of the AC power, patient bolus cord, communication interface(s) electrical access and control functions from the pump connectors to the accessory or accessory connectors (for example, the bolus cord connector on the pump is now unavailable and/or disabled and a bolus cord connector in the accessory becomes the active port). The “connection” between the pump and accessory can be through electrical connectors on both or can be via remote communications between the two, such as Bluetooth. The accessory may include: wired interfaces such as USB ports; a locking box to secure and envelope the pump and infusion bag and element of the infusion set directly mating with the pump[P-88]
Here we see Jacobson disclosing the lockbox GUI being wirelessly paired (Bluetooth) with the control interface of the pump, thereby assuming control of the pump.
In regards to claim 16, Jacobson teaches performing the action comprises: unlocking the lockbox to allow user access to the user interface and the medication receptacle Jacobson teaches performing the action comprises: unlocking the lockbox to allow user access to the user interface and the medication receptacle(Paragraph 89)
In preferred embodiments, the locking box enables only authorized users to have medication access by unlocking the pump’s locking box by using a single or configurable combination of locking mechanisms, such as but not limited to the scanning the authorized clinician’s healthcare provider ID (e.g., barcode, RFID and etc.), entry of a healthcare provider defined passcode on the electronic supplemental screen/user interface of the accessory or a high security lock and key on the locking box. In addition, the pump or system advantageously can detect whenever the locking box is closed and locked. In some embodiments, the pump provides an audible and visual alarm if the locking box has been forcefully opened. The locking box may be illuminated using an illumination color that defines the infusion delivery route of the medication (e.g., yellow to represent epidural, etc.) or medication class (e.g., opioid, local anesthetic, etc.).[P-89]
In regards to claim 21, Jacobson teaches the lockbox control interface is configured to receive user input, wherein performing the action comprises activating the lockbox control interface to receive user input, and wherein the processor is further configured to(Paragraphs 60, 68, 74)
Inside of the housing 20 of the pump 10, various electrical systems can be provided to control and regulate the pumping of medical fluid by the pump 10 into the patient and/or to communicate with the user and/or one or more other entities. For example, the pump 10 can include a circuit board that includes a user interface controller (UIC) configured to control and interact with a user interface, such as a graphical user interface, that can be displayed on the user communicator or display / input device 200. The pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a pump motor controller (PMC) that controls one or more pump drivers 14. In some embodiments, the PMC is located on a separate circuit board from the UIC and/or the PMC is independent from and separately operable from the UIC, each of the PMC and UIC including different electronic processors capable of concurrent and independent operation. In some embodiments, there are at least two PMC’s provided, a separate and independent one for each pump driver 14, capable of concurrent and independent operation from each other. The pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a communications engine (CE) that controls electronic communications between the pump 10 and other entities (aside from the user), such as electronic, wired or wireless, communication with a separate or remote user, a server, a hospital electronic medical records system, a remote healthcare provider, a router, another pump, a mobile electronic device, a near field communication (NFC) device such as a radio-frequency identification (RFID) device, and/or a central computer controlling and/or monitoring multiple pumps 10, etc. The CE can include or can be in electronic communication with an electronic transmitter, receiver, and/or transceiver capable of transmitting and/or receiving electronic information by wire or wirelessly (e.g., by Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, cellular signal, etc.). In some embodiments, the CE is located on a separate circuit board from either or both of the UIC and/or the PMC(s), and/or the CE is independent from and separately operable from either or both of the UIC and/or the PMC(s), each of the PMC(s), UIC, and CE including different electronic processors capable of concurrent and independent operation. In some embodiments, any, some, or all of the UIC, CE, and PMC(s) are capable of operational isolation from any, some, or all of the others such that it or they can turn off, stop working, encounter an error or enter a failure mode, and/or reset, without operationally affecting and/or without detrimentally affecting the operation of any, some, or all of the others. In such an operationally isolated configuration, any, some, or all of the UIC, CE, and PMC(s) can still be in periodic or continuous data transfer or communication with any, some, or all of the others. The UIC, PMC(s), and/or CE can be configured within the housing 20 of the pump 10 to be in electronic communication with each other, transmitting data and/or instructions between or among each of them as needed[P-60]
The pump holder 412 can help align the pump for 14 with an electronic interface located at the back of the lock box system 402. Thus, a pump 414 can interface electronically with hardware contained within the lockbox system 402. Given such an interface, a display screen of a pump 414 can be synchronized and/or overridden by the display screen 416. The larger lock box system 402 can obtain information from the pump 414 that was stored while the pump 414 was being used in an ambulatory or portable mode. The lockbox system 402, and it's display 416, can assume control of the small portable pump 414 when it is plugged in and located in the holder 412. In this configuration, the pump 414 remains in contact with the infusion line 408 whether or not it is in captured/integrated or ambulatory mode. The present disclosure thus provides for dual mode and hybrid pump and container systems. The two modes can include a bedside mode and an ambulatory mode. The two modes can include a secured mode and a non-secured mode. The two modes can comprise portable mode and secured mode. The two modes can include a patient-control mode and a hospital control mode. The system can be a hybrid in the sense of fulfilling functionality of ambulatory and bedside pumps, with a single system. It can combine a stationary (e.g., primarily bedside) portion and a portable (e.g., ambulatory) portion, which can come together to function, and be readily separably for independent operation, in certain circumstances.[P-68]
Variations of an advanced lockbox can include (in addition to or as an alternative to the above), one or more of the following. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the ambulatory pump itself. The advanced lockbox front can expose all, some or none of the medication container. The term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth). Wired (direct connection) interfaces such as AC power, bolus cord, respiratory monitor, USB or other communication ports can remain directly connected to the ambulatory pump even if it is contained within the advanced lockbox (and therefore have access holes or recesses allowing cords to protrude, for example). Alternatively or additionally, these features can be connected to and extend from the advanced lockbox.[P-74]
Jacobson teaches the use of a user interface being able to control the pump’s configuration using wireless communication, such as RFID communication or Bluetooth pairing.
Though the step by step process of user credential via the lockbox control interface; and transmit, via the lockbox control interface, the received user credential to the pump communication interface is not verbatim mentioned. By Jacobson stating, the pump 10 can include a printed circuit board that includes a communications engine (CE) that controls electronic communications between the pump 10 and other entities (aside from the user), such as electronic, wired or wireless, communication with a separate or remote user, a server, a hospital electronic medical records system, a remote healthcare provider, a router, another pump, a mobile electronic device, a near field communication (NFC) device such as a radio-frequency identification (RFID) device, and/or a central computer controlling and/or monitoring multiple pumps 10, etc. The CE can include or can be in electronic communication with an electronic transmitter, receiver, and/or transceiver capable of transmitting and/or receiving electronic information by wire or wirelessly (e.g., by Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, cellular signal, etc.)[P-60]. Thereafter specifically teach the term “medication container” can include a container for a medication reservoir, for example. The advanced lockbox GUI can assume control of the pump, with pump GUI off or complementing the lockbox GUI. The communication between the pump and advanced lockbox can be wired, or wireless (such as Bluetooth)[P-74]. It would be therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in art that the processor is further configured to receive a user credential via the lockbox control interface (RFID of Bluetooth verification), and transmitting, the received user credential (RFID or Bluetooth authentication) to the pump communication interface, and thereby pairing the control access of the pump configuration to the GUI interface of the lockbox.
Hence, Jacobson, enables receiving the user input via the activated lockbox control interface; and transmit, after the authorization for access, the user input to the pump communication interface for operation of the infusion pump in accordance with the authorization for access.
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson et al.(WO 2023122514 A1) in view of Tao (CN 111846639 A)
In regards to claim 6, Jacobson teaches the lockbox comprises at least one access door, the action further comprising: automatically opening, responsive to unlocking the lockbox, the at least one access door to expose the user interface or the medication receptacle (Paragraphs 70, 74, 78)
Figure 5B shows the structure of figure 5A, only with this time with the door 503 closed to reveal a large touchscreen display 516 integrated into the door 503. The door lock 523 is still visible securing the door in place. The dial 507 associated with a locking pole clamp is also visible. As shown in this figure, the pump and infusate bag are not within sight of a typical user, and therefore positioned relatively securely for use. The lock is shown here as a traditional mechanical (physical key) lock, but a lock can alternatively be activated by keypad entry of a passcode, swiping of a clinician badge, etc. Advanced Lockbox Features[P-70]
An advanced lockbox can comprise an “accessory” to a pump (as described below). An advanced lockbox can comprise a pump docking module. An advanced lockbox can form a stationary docking station. Stationary may refer to a larger device that is mounted on a wheeled pole or other holder but is nevertheless less portable than another related device. The advanced lockbox can hold or support or secure a smaller or modular and portable pump device. The pump device can be removed or disengaged from the lockbox in a non-technical manner, such as without removing a housing or panel or other component thereof, without tools, and/or by a person without technical training. For example, in some embodiments and/or modes, rapid, non-technical disengagement can comprise a hospital user rapidly and conveniently detaching the pump manually (e.g., by unsnapping, gently lifting, unlatching, using a simple button or other actuator, opening a lid, etc.). Rapid disengagement can occur in normal use in less than or equal to about 20 seconds. Non-technical disengagement can include steps such as opening a door or opening a hinged enclosure to access and remove the pump device before disconnection of the pump device from the docking station. In some embodiments, rapid, non-technical disengagement can be accomplished in a single disconnection action or motion, without requiring separate steps for detaching the housing of the pump device and also separately detaching one or more wires, connectors, leads, fluid tubes, etc. in a different action or motion. Authorization for pump detachment or disengagement can be strictly enforced (e.g., through biometric or other locks, etc.), while still making the physical act of detachment relatively rapid and straightforward, once authorized (e.g., once a lock is released).[P-74]
Figure 6 shows another example of an integrated system 602 for combining security, infusion, and control benefits. An infusion bag may be visible, while a pump may or may not be visible. The system 602 can be positioned on an IV pole 606 using a locking pole clamp controlled by a dial 607. A touch screen display 616 can be incorporated into the top comer of a door 603, which can have a transparent or translucent portion 624. Inside the door, a small pump 614 can be secured. If the door is at least partially transparent, the pump can be seen through the door 603. A door lock 623 can secure the door 603 in place and can help provide security for a medication bag 610 as well as the pump 614. An infusion line 608 can pass through a gap in an outer cover of the system 602 such as the door 603, allowing a pumping apparatus or structure in the pump 614 to interact with the tube or a volume connected therewith to urge fluid to flow from the medication bag 610 toward a patient or other fluid destination. This configuration can advantageously present a user with information regarding the contents of the system 602. For example, the current fill status of a medication bag 610 can be readily viewed, but not too easily accessed. If a pump 614 has an interface screen, it can convey information to a user despite being securely contained within the system 602 behind or within the door 603. In some embodiments, a layer over the pump can allow pump access (e.g., through a secure but pliable or heat-transmissible membrane or other layer). In this and other embodiments, the pump 614 can interact with the touch screen display 616. In this and other embodiments, the illustrated touch screen can be replaced or enhanced with a combination screen and soft/hard buttons. For example, the pump 614 can be a portable or ambulatory pump that concedes control of its pumping structures to the larger system 602 when it is plugged in or locked into the system 602. Electronic leads can facilitate this assumption of control, or wireless protocols can be employed, such as near field communication (NFC), Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, etc. If a touch screen display 616 is larger than a display of a pump 614, as shown here, or if a processor contained within a system 602 has greater capacity or speed than a processor contained within a pump 614, this can facilitate additional functions in the system 602 that may not be available in the pump 614 when it is being used in ambulatory or portable mode.[P-78]
Jacobson fails to teach automatically switching, responsive to opening the at least one access door, the user interface of the infusion pump from an off state to an activated state.
Tao on the other hand teaches automatically switching, responsive to opening the at least one access door, the user interface from an off state to an activated state (Page 4, Paragraph 6)
the pressure sensing switch 10 for sensing the switch of the cigarette cover; when the cigarette box is opened, the pressure sensing switch is pressed to trigger the automatic bright screen function; when the cover is opened, the pressure sensing switch is released; automatically triggering the off-screen[Pg 4, P-6]
Here we see Tao teaching the opening of a lockbox/security container for a cigarette interface, automatically switch the interface screen from an off state to an on state. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Tao’s mechanism of activating the interface of the container once the door/opening is opened with Jacobson’s teaching of opening a door of lockbox in relation to the pump interface, such that a more energy efficient way to conserve the power/energy usage of the pump.
In regards to claim 17, Jacobson teaches the lockbox comprises at least one access door, the action further comprising: automatically opening, responsive to unlocking the lockbox, the at least one access door to expose the user interface or the medication receptacle (Paragraphs 70, 74, 78)
Figure 5B shows the structure of figure 5A, only with this time with the door 503 closed to reveal a large touchscreen display 516 integrated into the door 503. The door lock 523 is still visible securing the door in place. The dial 507 associated with a locking pole clamp is also visible. As shown in this figure, the pump and infusate bag are not within sight of a typical user, and therefore positioned relatively securely for use. The lock is shown here as a traditional mechanical (physical key) lock, but a lock can alternatively be activated by keypad entry of a passcode, swiping of a clinician badge, etc. Advanced Lockbox Features[P-70]
An advanced lockbox can comprise an “accessory” to a pump (as described below). An advanced lockbox can comprise a pump docking module. An advanced lockbox can form a stationary docking station. Stationary may refer to a larger device that is mounted on a wheeled pole or other holder but is nevertheless less portable than another related device. The advanced lockbox can hold or support or secure a smaller or modular and portable pump device. The pump device can be removed or disengaged from the lockbox in a non-technical manner, such as without removing a housing or panel or other component thereof, without tools, and/or by a person without technical training. For example, in some embodiments and/or modes, rapid, non-technical disengagement can comprise a hospital user rapidly and conveniently detaching the pump manually (e.g., by unsnapping, gently lifting, unlatching, using a simple button or other actuator, opening a lid, etc.). Rapid disengagement can occur in normal use in less than or equal to about 20 seconds. Non-technical disengagement can include steps such as opening a door or opening a hinged enclosure to access and remove the pump device before disconnection of the pump device from the docking station. In some embodiments, rapid, non-technical disengagement can be accomplished in a single disconnection action or motion, without requiring separate steps for detaching the housing of the pump device and also separately detaching one or more wires, connectors, leads, fluid tubes, etc. in a different action or motion. Authorization for pump detachment or disengagement can be strictly enforced (e.g., through biometric or other locks, etc.), while still making the physical act of detachment relatively rapid and straightforward, once authorized (e.g., once a lock is released).[P-74]
Figure 6 shows another example of an integrated system 602 for combining security, infusion, and control benefits. An infusion bag may be visible, while a pump may or may not be visible. The system 602 can be positioned on an IV pole 606 using a locking pole clamp controlled by a dial 607. A touch screen display 616 can be incorporated into the top comer of a door 603, which can have a transparent or translucent portion 624. Inside the door, a small pump 614 can be secured. If the door is at least partially transparent, the pump can be seen through the door 603. A door lock 623 can secure the door 603 in place and can help provide security for a medication bag 610 as well as the pump 614. An infusion line 608 can pass through a gap in an outer cover of the system 602 such as the door 603, allowing a pumping apparatus or structure in the pump 614 to interact with the tube or a volume connected therewith to urge fluid to flow from the medication bag 610 toward a patient or other fluid destination. This configuration can advantageously present a user with information regarding the contents of the system 602. For example, the current fill status of a medication bag 610 can be readily viewed, but not too easily accessed. If a pump 614 has an interface screen, it can convey information to a user despite being securely contained within the system 602 behind or within the door 603. In some embodiments, a layer over the pump can allow pump access (e.g., through a secure but pliable or heat-transmissible membrane or other layer). In this and other embodiments, the pump 614 can interact with the touch screen display 616. In this and other embodiments, the illustrated touch screen can be replaced or enhanced with a combination screen and soft/hard buttons. For example, the pump 614 can be a portable or ambulatory pump that concedes control of its pumping structures to the larger system 602 when it is plugged in or locked into the system 602. Electronic leads can facilitate this assumption of control, or wireless protocols can be employed, such as near field communication (NFC), Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, etc. If a touch screen display 616 is larger than a display of a pump 614, as shown here, or if a processor contained within a system 602 has greater capacity or speed than a processor contained within a pump 614, this can facilitate additional functions in the system 602 that may not be available in the pump 614 when it is being used in ambulatory or portable mode.[P-78]
Jacobson fails to teach automatically switching, responsive to opening the at least one access door, the user interface of the infusion pump from an off state to an activated state.
Tao on the other hand teaches automatically switching, responsive to opening the at least one access door, the user interface from an off state to an activated state (Page 4, Paragraph 6)
the pressure sensing switch 10 for sensing the switch of the cigarette cover; when the cigarette box is opened, the pressure sensing switch is pressed to trigger the automatic bright screen function; when the cover is opened, the pressure sensing switch is released; automatically triggering the off-screen[Pg 4, P-6]
Here we see Tao teaching the opening of a lockbox/security container for a cigarette interface, automatically switch the interface screen from an off state to an on state. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Tao’s mechanism of activating the interface of the container once the door/opening is opened with Jacobson’s teaching of opening a door of lockbox in relation to the pump interface, such that a more energy efficient way to conserve the power/energy usage of the pump
Claim(s) 7-9, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson et al.(WO 2023122514 A1) in view of Tao (CN 111846639 A) as applied to claim 6 and 17 above, and further in view of Shen (CN 112102579 A).
In regards to claim 7, Jacobson modified fails to teach the lockbox comprises a housing enclosing the infusion pump and comprises a retractable multi-folding door on each side of a front face of the housing that, when closed, form a front face of the housing, the action further comprising: automatically retracting, responsive to unlocking the lockbox, the retracting multi-folding doors to expose at least a portion of a front face of the infusion pump.
Shen on the other hand teaches the lockbox comprises a housing enclosing the infusion pump and comprises a retractable multi-folding door on each side of a front face of the housing that, when closed, form a front face of the housing (Page 3, Paragraph 2; Page 5, Paragraph 2)
the fire-fighting water spraying assembly comprises an infusion pump installed in the rectangular box; the input end of the infusion pump extends to the lower part of the rectangular box; the infusion pump is electrically connected with the controller; the input end of the infusion pump is provided with a water hose; the output end of the infusion pump is sleeved with a water hose.[Pg 3, P-2]
In one embodiment, the emergency door assembly 5 comprises an electric push rod 51 and is set on the inner wall of the rectangular box 1 of the hinge seat 52, the tail of the electric push rod 51 is hinged with the hinge seat 52; the back of the right door 32 is provided with a connecting lug 53; the electric push rod 51 is expansion end with the connecting ear 53 through the hinge shaft 54; the electric push rod 51 is electrically connected with the controller; the controller sends the electric signal to the electric push rod 51, the electric push rod 51 works to make the connecting ear 53 to move, the connecting ear 53 drives the right door 32 to move, so that the right door 32 and the left door 31 is folded state, convenient for worker to take out the water nozzle 44.[Pg 5, P-2]
The action further comprising: automatically retracting, responsive to unlocking the lockbox, the retracting multi-folding doors to expose at least a portion of a front face of the infusion pump. (Page 5, Paragraph 2)
In one embodiment, the emergency door assembly 5 comprises an electric push rod 51 and is set on the inner wall of the rectangular box 1 of the hinge seat 52, the tail of the electric push rod 51 is hinged with the hinge seat 52; the back of the right door 32 is provided with a connecting lug 53; the electric push rod 51 is expansion end with the connecting ear 53 through the hinge shaft 54; the electric push rod 51 is electrically connected with the controller; the controller sends the electric signal to the electric push rod 51, the electric push rod 51 works to make the connecting ear 53 to move, the connecting ear 53 drives the right door 32 to move, so that the right door 32 and the left door 31 is folded state, convenient for worker to take out the water nozzle 44.[Pg 5, P-2]
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Shen’s teaching with Jacobson modified’s teaching in order to enable a more secure, effective automated way to access and secure the pump
In regards to claim 8, Jacobson modified via Shen teaches the lockbox further comprises a retractable top that, when closed, is integrally coupled to the front face, the action further comprising: automatically opening, responsive to unlocking the lockbox, the retractable top, thereby providing user access to at least a portion of a top surface of the infusion pump (Page 5, Paragraph 2; Page 4, Last Paragraph-Page 5, Paragraph 1)
In one embodiment, the emergency door assembly 5 comprises an electric push rod 51 and is set on the inner wall of the rectangular box 1 of the hinge seat 52, the tail of the electric push rod 51 is hinged with the hinge seat 52; the back of the right door 32 is provided with a connecting lug 53; the electric push rod 51 is expansion end with the connecting ear 53 through the hinge shaft 54; the electric push rod 51 is electrically connected with the controller; the controller sends the electric signal to the electric push rod 51, the electric push rod 51 works to make the connecting ear 53 to move, the connecting ear 53 drives the right door 32 to move, so that the right door 32 and the left door 31 is folded state, convenient for worker to take out the water nozzle 44.[Pg 5, P-2]
In one specific embodiment, the firefighting system comprises a controller, a fire light sensor, a smoke level analysis module, a buzzer and a smoke sensor 6, the fire light sensor, smoke level analysis module, a buzzer and a smoke sensor 6 are electrically connected with the controller; the smoke sensor 6 is set on the left side of the rectangular box 1; the buzzer and the fire light sensor are set on the right side of the rectangular box 1; the fire light sensor is used for detecting the fire source generated in the fire field; the smoke sensor 6 detects the generated smoke, and sends the electric signal to the controller; the controller transmits the electric signal to the smoke level analysis module; the smoke level analysis module can analyze the fire level; when the detected smoke concentration is less than the preset concentration and the detected fire light degree is less than the preset light degree, the controller only the corresponding rectangular box 1 of the closed door 3 automatically open and the rectangular box 1 in the infusion pump 41 working, and the rectangular box 1 on the buzzer sends sound reminding staff; does not need the rectangular box of all the building 1 to work to interfere the work of the employee; when the detected smoke concentration is greater than the set preset concentration or the detected light degree is greater than the preset light degree, the controller sends signal to the alarm centre through the internet of things wireless transmission module; the alarm centre receives the signal to the controller of all rectangular box 1 sends signal, to make all rectangular box 1 of the closed door 3 automatically open and all rectangular box 1 in the infusion pump 41 working, and all rectangular box 1 of the buzzer sends out sound reminding staff, to make the whole building in emergency state to fire .[Pg 4, Last Pgh-Pg 5, P-1]
In regards to claim 9, Jacobson modified via Shen teaches respective left and right sides configured to move in a direction away from the front face of the housing when the lockbox is unlocked, the action further comprising: automatically moving, responsive to unlocking the lockbox, the respective left and right sides, thereby providing user access to at least a portion of a left and right side of the infusion pump (Page 5, Paragraph 2)
In one embodiment, the emergency door assembly 5 comprises an electric push rod 51 and is set on the inner wall of the rectangular box 1 of the hinge seat 52, the tail of the electric push rod 51 is hinged with the hinge seat 52; the back of the right door 32 is provided with a connecting lug 53; the electric push rod 51 is expansion end with the connecting ear 53 through the hinge shaft 54; the electric push rod 51 is electrically connected with the controller; the controller sends the electric signal to the electric push rod 51, the electric push rod 51 works to make the connecting ear 53 to move, the connecting ear 53 drives the right door 32 to move, so that the right door 32 and the left door 31 is folded state, convenient for worker to take out the water nozzle 44.[Pg 5, P-2]
Here in Shen, we see the controller automatically moving, responsive to unlocking the lockbox, the respective left and right sides, thereby providing user access to at least a portion of a left and right side of the infusion pump after folding the doors.
In regards to claim 18, Jacobson modified fails to teach the lockbox comprises a housing enclosing the infusion pump and comprises a retractable multi-folding door on each side of a front face of the housing that, when closed, form a front face of the housing, the action further comprising: automatically retracting, responsive to unlocking the lockbox, the retracting multi-folding doors to expose at least a portion of a front face of the infusion pump.
Shen on the other hand teaches the lockbox comprises a housing enclosing the infusion pump and comprises a retractable multi-folding door on each side of a front face of the housing that, when closed, form a front face of the housing (Page 3, Paragraph 2; Page 5, Paragraph 2)
the fire-fighting water spraying assembly comprises an infusion pump installed in the rectangular box; the input end of the infusion pump extends to the lower part of the rectangular box; the infusion pump is electrically connected with the controller; the input end of the infusion pump is provided with a water hose; the output end of the infusion pump is sleeved with a water hose.[Pg 3, P-2]
In one embodiment, the emergency door assembly 5 comprises an electric push rod 51 and is set on the inner wall of the rectangular box 1 of the hinge seat 52, the tail of the electric push rod 51 is hinged with the hinge seat 52; the back of the right door 32 is provided with a connecting lug 53; the electric push rod 51 is expansion end with the connecting ear 53 through the hinge shaft 54; the electric push rod 51 is electrically connected with the controller; the controller sends the electric signal to the electric push rod 51, the electric push rod 51 works to make the connecting ear 53 to move, the connecting ear 53 drives the right door 32 to move, so that the right door 32 and the left door 31 is folded state, convenient for worker to take out the water nozzle 44.[Pg 5, P-2]
The action further comprising: automatically retracting, responsive to unlocking the lockbox, the retracting multi-folding doors to expose at least a portion of a front face of the infusion pump. (Page 5, Paragraph 2)
In one embodiment, the emergency door assembly 5 comprises an electric push rod 51 and is set on the inner wall of the rectangular box 1 of the hinge seat 52, the tail of the electric push rod 51 is hinged with the hinge seat 52; the back of the right door 32 is provided with a connecting lug 53; the electric push rod 51 is expansion end with the connecting ear 53 through the hinge shaft 54; the electric push rod 51 is electrically connected with the controller; the controller sends the electric signal to the electric push rod 51, the electric push rod 51 works to make the connecting ear 53 to move, the connecting ear 53 drives the right door 32 to move, so that the right door 32 and the left door 31 is folded state, convenient for worker to take out the water nozzle 44.
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Shen’s teaching with Jacobson modified’s teaching in order to enable a more secure, effective automated way to access and secure the pump
In regards to claim 19, Jacobson modified via Shen teaches the lockbox further comprises a retractable top that, when closed, is integrally coupled to the front face, the action further comprising: automatically opening, responsive to unlocking the lockbox, the retractable top, thereby providing user access to at least a portion of a top surface of the infusion pump (Page 5, Paragraph 2; Page 4, Last Paragraph-Page 5, Paragraph 1)
In one embodiment, the emergency door assembly 5 comprises an electric push rod 51 and is set on the inner wall of the rectangular box 1 of the hinge seat 52, the tail of the electric push rod 51 is hinged with the hinge seat 52; the back of the right door 32 is provided with a connecting lug 53; the electric push rod 51 is expansion end with the connecting ear 53 through the hinge shaft 54; the electric push rod 51 is electrically connected with the controller; the controller sends the electric signal to the electric push rod 51, the electric push rod 51 works to make the connecting ear 53 to move, the connecting ear 53 drives the right door 32 to move, so that the right door 32 and the left door 31 is folded state, convenient for worker to take out the water nozzle 44.[Pg 5, P-2]
In one specific embodiment, the firefighting system comprises a controller, a fire light sensor, a smoke level analysis module, a buzzer and a smoke sensor 6, the fire light sensor, smoke level analysis module, a buzzer and a smoke sensor 6 are electrically connected with the controller; the smoke sensor 6 is set on the left side of the rectangular box 1; the buzzer and the fire light sensor are set on the right side of the rectangular box 1; the fire light sensor is used for detecting the fire source generated in the fire field; the smoke sensor 6 detects the generated smoke, and sends the electric signal to the controller; the controller transmits the electric signal to the smoke level analysis module; the smoke level analysis module can analyze the fire level; when the detected smoke concentration is less than the preset concentration and the detected fire light degree is less than the preset light degree, the controller only the corresponding rectangular box 1 of the closed door 3 automatically open and the rectangular box 1 in the infusion pump 41 working, and the rectangular box 1 on the buzzer sends sound reminding staff; does not need the rectangular box of all the building 1 to work to interfere the work of the employee; when the detected smoke concentration is greater than the set preset concentration or the detected light degree is greater than the preset light degree, the controller sends signal to the alarm centre through the internet of things wireless transmission module; the alarm centre receives the signal to the controller of all rectangular box 1 sends signal, to make all rectangular box 1 of the closed door 3 automatically open and all rectangular box 1 in the infusion pump 41 working, and all rectangular box 1 of the buzzer sends out sound reminding staff, to make the whole building in emergency state to fire .[Pg 4, Last Pgh-Pg 5, P-1]
In regards to claim 20, Jacobson modified via Shen teaches respective left and right sides configured to move in a direction away from the front face of the housing when the lockbox is unlocked, the action further comprising: automatically moving, responsive to unlocking the lockbox, the respective left and right sides, thereby providing user access to at least a portion of a left and right side of the infusion pump (Page 5, Paragraph 2)
In one embodiment, the emergency door assembly 5 comprises an electric push rod 51 and is set on the inner wall of the rectangular box 1 of the hinge seat 52, the tail of the electric push rod 51 is hinged with the hinge seat 52; the back of the right door 32 is provided with a connecting lug 53; the electric push rod 51 is expansion end with the connecting ear 53 through the hinge shaft 54; the electric push rod 51 is electrically connected with the controller; the controller sends the electric signal to the electric push rod 51, the electric push rod 51 works to make the connecting ear 53 to move, the connecting ear 53 drives the right door 32 to move, so that the right door 32 and the left door 31 is folded state, convenient for worker to take out the water nozzle 44.[Pg 5, P-2]
Here in Shen, we see the controller automatically moving, responsive to unlocking the lockbox, the respective left and right sides, thereby providing user access to at least a portion of a left and right side of the infusion pump after folding the doors.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686