Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-8, 10-11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gyoda Shingo (JP 2000038989 A) hereinafter Gyoda.
Regarding Claims 1 Gyoda teaches a method of controlling a hydraulic power unit (10)of a dynamic testing system using at least one controller, the hydraulic power unit (10) including a plurality of hydraulic pumps (P1-P3) configured to produce a variable main flow of hydraulic fluid for driving hydraulic actuators (Par.0014) of at least one test station (12) during performance of at least one test, the method comprising: obtaining at least one test flow profile, each identifying a hydraulic fluid flow demand estimate over time corresponding to the performance of one of the at least one test (test profile is determined by setting target relief flow rate R see Fig 1, Par.0017); and producing the variable main flow of hydraulic fluid using a plurality of unique subsets of the hydraulic pumps (P1-P3) during the performance of the at least one test, each unique subset being selected based on the at least one test flow profile (the flow rate is provided by using chosen pumps (unique pumps) by using on/off pumps See Fig 1, Par.0019).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17 Gyoda teaches wherein the hydraulic power unit comprises: a reservoir (14) containing hydraulic fluid; a main output (16) through which the variable main flow of the hydraulic fluid is discharged (Fig 1); and the plurality of hydraulic pumps (P1-P3), which includes at least one active valve hydraulic pump (P1) having variable displacement and at least one passive valve (P2) hydraulic pump having variable displacement (See Par.0010).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18 Gyoda teaches wherein each subset includes one of the at least one active valve hydraulic pump (P1) (See Abstract).
Regarding Claims 10 Gyoda teaches wherein obtaining at least one test flow profile comprises measuring at least one flow of hydraulic fluid during a prior performance of the at least one test (par.0017).
Regarding Claims 11 Gyoda teaches a dynamic testing system comprising: at least one test station (12), each configured to apply a force and/or a displacement to a test subject using hydraulic actuators (Par.0014)during performance of a test (Fig 1, Par.0014); a hydraulic power unit (10) including a plurality of hydraulic pumps (P1-P3) configured to produce a variable main flow of hydraulic fluid that drives the hydraulic actuators (Par.0014) of the at least one test station (12) during the performance of at least one test; and at least one controller (Fig 1) configured to: obtain at least one test flow profile, each identifying a hydraulic fluid flow demand estimate over time corresponding to the performance of one of the at least one test (test profile is determined by setting target relief flow rate R see Fig 1, Par.0017); and produce the variable main flow of hydraulic fluid using a plurality of unique subsets of the plurality of hydraulic pumps (P1-P3) during the performance of the at least one test, each unique subset being selected based on the at least one test flow profile (the flow rate is provided by using chosen pumps (unique pumps) by using on/off pumps See Fig 1, Par.0019).
Allowable subject matter
Claims 2-6, 9, 12-16 would be allowable if rewritten to include all the limitations of the base claims and all the intervening claims. Claims 20-27 are allowed. Regarding claims 20-27 the prior art remains silent regarding a pressure setpoint that is selectable between: a range of inoperable pressure setpoints that are below an anticipated operating range of the main pressure, at which the variable displacement hydraulic pump does not contribute to the main flow; and an operable pressure setpoint that is within the anticipated operating range of the main pressure, in which the variable displacement hydraulic pump is driven to contribute to the main flow, the method comprising controlling one of the variable displacement hydraulic pumps comprising: operating the variable displacement hydraulic pump for a first predetermined period while the pressure setpoint is set to a first inoperable pressure setpoint within the range of inoperable pressure setpoints; and operating the variable displacement hydraulic pump while the pressure setpoint is set to the operable pressure setpoint.
Conclusion
/ABIY TEKA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745