DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed October 31, 2024. As directed by the preliminary amendment: Claims 3-6, 8-11, 13, and 14 have been amended. Claims 1-14 are presently pending in this application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in European Patent on August 17, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the EP 23306386.6 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1 and 12, the phrase “means of a localization device” uses the word “means”. It appears from applicant’s disclosure that the localization device comprises a 3D imaging sensor (¶43) and/or a depth camera (¶12).
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bozung et al. (WO 2023/141265 A2), herein referred to as Bozung.
Regarding claim 1, Bozung discloses a device (60) (figure 9) for computer guided orthopedic surgery of a target bone (figure 45) of a patient based on actions planned in a virtual environment with respect to a virtual coordinate system (¶109, ¶110, target trajectory TTRAJ, ¶343 e.g. planned bone entry point), so as to guide a physical action of a user, to be performed with a drilling surgical tool (14), the device (60) (figure 9) comprising at least one input (36) configured to (i.e. capable of) receive: surgical planning information comprising the planned actions with respect to a 3D target model (e.g. virtual object 4, ¶124, ¶249) of at least one portion of the target bone (¶109), each planned action comprising at least one planned spatial position and at least one planned drilling axis (¶20, target trajectory TTRAJ, ¶262) of the drilling surgical tool (14) and/or at least one planned bone entry point on the 3D target model (¶264), current target localization information (¶120) representative of a spatial position and/or orientation at a current time t of the at least one portion of the target bone (e.g. patient tracker 54, 56), the current localization information having been acquired by means of a localization device (44), a rigid transformation between a localization coordinate system of the localization device and a coordinate system of the drilling surgical tool (¶204, ¶205, figure 45), at least one processor (¶113, ¶129, figure 9) configured to (i.e. capable of) calculate a transformation between the localization coordinate system and a target coordinate system of the target bone by registration of the 3D target model with the current target localization information (¶124, ¶202, figure 45), apply the transformation to the surgical planning information (¶215), apply the rigid transformation between the localization coordinate system and the coordinate system of the drilling surgical tool so as to know the position and spatial orientation of the drilling surgical tool (14) in the localization coordinate system (¶206), using the position and spatial orientation of the drilling surgical tool (14) and the position and orientation of the target bone in the localization coordinate system, calculate the current spatial position and current drilling axis of the drilling surgical tool (14) and/or the current bone entry point with respect to the target bone (e.g. current pose, poses can be combined, with respect to a desired coordinate system, ¶238), compare, in the localization coordinate system, the surgical planning information with the current spatial position and current drilling axis and/or the current bone entry point in the target bone (¶239), at least one output (¶343, ¶345) configured to (i.e. capable of) provide guiding data resulting from the comparison (¶343, ¶345).
Regarding claim 3, Bozung discloses herein the rigid transformation is defined by design or by calibration (¶204).
Regarding claim 4, Bozung discloses wherein the portion of interest of the target bone is a glenoid (¶240).
Regarding claim 5, Bozung discloses wherein the target bone is a vertebra or a bone of the shoulder (¶240).
Regarding claim 6, Bozung discloses wherein the drilling surgical tool (14) is a handheld surgical power tool used to screw a pin (e.g. pedicle screw, ¶262) into the portion of interest (¶262), the pin having a tip (¶262).
Regarding claim 7, Bozung discloses wherein the guiding data (¶343, ¶345) comprises a distance between the tip of the pin (¶262) and the planned bone entry point (¶343) and an angle between a current pin direction (¶262) and the planned drilling axis (¶262).
Regarding claim 8, Bozung discloses wherein the guiding data (¶343, ¶345) comprises information indicating whether the current drilling axis (¶343) approaches or moves away from the planned drilling axis (¶262).
Regarding claim 9, Bozung discloses wherein the guiding data (¶343, ¶345) comprises a vector (figure 45) representing a translation to be performed to overlap the current and planned bone entry point (¶238).
Regarding claim 10, Bozung discloses wherein the at least one output (¶343) is provided via a screen (¶235) embedded in the drilling surgical tool (14).
Regarding claim 12, Bozung discloses a computer-implemented method (¶353) for computer guided orthopedic surgery of a target bone (figure 45) of a patient based on actions planned in a virtual environment with respect to a virtual coordinate system (¶109, ¶110, target trajectory TTRAJ, ¶343 e.g. planned bone entry point), so as to guide a physical action of a user, to be performed with a drilling surgical tool (14), the method comprising receiving surgical planning information comprising the planned actions with respect to a 3D target model (e.g. virtual object 4, ¶124, ¶249) of at least one portion of the target bone (¶109), each planned action comprising at least one planned spatial position and at least one planned drilling axis (¶20, target trajectory TTRAJ, ¶262) of the drilling surgical tool (14) and/or at least one planned bone entry point on the 3D target model (¶264), current target localization information (¶120) representative of a spatial position and/or orientation at a current time t of the at least one portion of the target bone (e.g. patient tracker 54, 56), the current localization information having been acquired by means of a localization device (44), a rigid transformation between a localization coordinate system of the localization device and a coordinate system of the drilling surgical tool (¶204, ¶205, figure 45), calculating a transformation between the localization coordinate system and a target coordinate system of the target bone by registration of the 3D target model with the current target localization information (¶124, ¶202, figure 45), applying the transformation to the surgical planning information (¶215), applying the rigid transformation between the localization coordinate system and the coordinate system of the drilling surgical tool so as to know the position and spatial orientation of the drilling surgical tool (14) in the localization coordinate system (¶206), using the position and spatial orientation of the drilling surgical tool (14) and the position and orientation of the target bone in the localization coordinate system, calculating the current spatial position and current drilling axis of the drilling surgical tool (14) and/or the current bone entry point with respect to the target bone (e.g. current pose, poses can be combined, with respect to a desired coordinate system, ¶238), comparing, in the localization coordinate system, the surgical planning information with the current spatial position and current drilling axis and/or the current bone entry point in the target bone (¶239), outputting guiding data resulting from the comparison (¶343, ¶345).
Regarding claim 13, Bozung discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium (¶352) comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer (¶352), cause the computer to carry out the steps of the method for computer guided orthopedic surgery according to claim 12 (see claim 12 above).
Regarding claim 14, Bozung discloses a computer program product (¶354) comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer (¶354), cause the computer to carry out the steps of the method for computer guided orthopedic surgery of claim 12 (see claim 12 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozung (WO 2023/141265 A2) in view of Simoes et al. (US 2022/0211507), herein referred to as Simoes.
Regarding claim 2, Bozung’s device discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks a detailed description on wherein the localization device comprises a depth camera and wherein the current localization information comprises at least one 3D image.
However, Simoes teaches a localization device comprises a depth camera (532) (¶86) and wherein the current localization information comprises at least one 3D image (¶86).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bozung’s localization device with wherein the localization device comprises a depth camera and wherein the current localization information comprises at least one 3D image as taught by Simoes, since such a modification would provide the user with depth data (¶86).
Regarding claim 11, Bozung’s device discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks wherein the at least one output is provided via a virtual reality headset or augmented reality device.
However, Simoes teaches at least one output is provided via a virtual reality headset or augmented reality device (¶186 and figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Bozung’s output with a virtual reality headset or augmented reality device as taught by Simoes, since such a modification would display virtual guidance to the user for performing work on a portion of a patient’s anatomy (¶186).
Conclusion
/SI MING KU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775