DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-14, and 16-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 01/11/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patents No. 9,927,600, No. 10,070,060, No. 11,640,047, No. 11,531,209, No. 12,108,151, No. 11,733,064, No. 12,184,980, No. 12,265,320 & No. 12,101,575 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldenberg et al. (herein after will be referred to as Goldenberg) (US 20180024329) in view of Cohen et al. (herein after will be referred to as Cohen) (US 20180184010) in view of Bates et al. (herein after will be referred to as Bates) (US 20110164108) and in further view of Shimizu et al. (herein after will be referred to as Shimizu) (US Patent no. 10,609,273).
Regarding claim 1, Goldenberg discloses a zoom camera, comprising:
a Wide camera with a Wide field of view (FOV.sub.W) and operative to output Wide images (WIs); [See Goldenberg [0011 and Fig. 3A] Wide camera.]
a folded Tele camera (FTC) including an optical path folding element (OPFE), the FTC having a native Tele FOV (n-FOV.sub.T) narrower than FOV.sub.W, [See Goldenberg [0011 and Fig. 3A] Folded tele camera.]
the FTC being operative to output folded Tele images (FTIs) and to perform optical image stabilization (OIS) by actuating the OPFE; and [See Goldenberg [0005] Folded tele. Also, see 0012-0013, OIS functionality for camera using OPFE.]
Goldenberg does not explicitly disclose
an OPFE actuator configured to adjust an orientation of the OPFE to scan the n-FOV.sub.T within the FOVW; and
a camera controller operatively coupled to the Wide camera and to the FTC and
configured to stream a video image stream that displays a continuous zoom-in action into, or a continuous zoom-out action out off a non-center area within FOV.sub.W,
wherein the video images are provided with a smooth transition when switching from displaying WIs to displaying FTIs or vice versa.
However, Cohen does disclose
a camera controller operatively coupled to the Wide camera and to the FTC and [See Cohen [0042] Sensor control module connected to wide and tele cameras.]
wherein the video images are provided with a smooth transition when switching from displaying WIs to displaying FTIs or vice versa. [See Cohen [0028 and 0047] Smooth transition between outputting wide/tele images.]
wherein, before switching from displaying the WIs to displaying the FTIs, the camera controller is configured to evaluate a non-switching criterion and when the non-switching criterion is met, not to switch from displaying the WIs to displaying the FTIs, and [See Cohen [0017] Evaluate a no-switching criterion determined by inputs from both wide/tele image data.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Goldenberg to add the teachings of Cohen, in order to improve upon optical zoom from commonly encountered problems and disadvantages [See Cohen [0011]].
Goldenberg (modified by Cohen) do not explicitly disclose
an OPFE actuator configured to adjust an orientation of the OPFE to scan the n-FOV.sub.T within the FOVW; and
configured to stream a video image stream that displays a continuous zoom-in action into, or a continuous zoom-out action out off a non-center area within FOV.sub.W,
wherein the non-switching criterion comprises any one of a check whether target coordinates are included in a scanning FOV of the FTC, a check whether the target coordinates are close to margins of the scanning FOV, or a check whether the target coordinates move faster than an expected maximum prism scanning velocity.
However, Bates does disclose
an OPFE actuator configured to adjust an orientation of the OPFE to scan the n-FOV.sub.T within the FOVW; and [See Bates [0022 and 0064] Actuated mirror with vertical/horizontal actuators. Also, see 0009, scanning the smaller field of view across a scene.]
configured to stream a video image stream that displays a continuous zoom-in action into, or a continuous zoom-out action out off a non-center area within FOV.sub.W, [See Bates [0071] Continuous zoom between two resolutions captured by two optical channels. Also, see Fig. 11.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Goldenberg (modified by Cohen) to add the teachings of Bates, in order to improve upon drawbacks associated when imaging a wide/panoramic image and a narrow high resolution image [See Bates [0010]].
Goldenberg (modified by Cohen and Bates) do not explicitly disclose
wherein the non-switching criterion comprises any one of a check whether target coordinates are included in a scanning FOV of the FTC, a check whether the target coordinates are close to margins of the scanning FOV, or a check whether the target coordinates move faster than an expected maximum prism scanning velocity.
However, Shimizu does disclose
wherein the non-switching criterion comprises any one of a check whether target coordinates are included in a scanning FOV of the FTC, a check whether the target coordinates are close to margins of the scanning FOV, or a check whether the target coordinates move faster than an expected maximum prism scanning velocity. [See Shimizu [Fig. 5B] Object is located outside of the tele camera FOV.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Goldenberg (modified by Cohen and Bates) to add the teachings of Shimizu, in order to check whether the ROI/object is located in the field of view of the tele camera before switching cameras.
Regarding claim 2, Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Goldenberg discloses
the Wide camera including a Wide camera lens, wherein the Wide camera is operative to perform OIS by actuating the Wide camera lens. [See Goldenberg [0008] OIS enabled cameras, the lens module is tilted to cancel camera shake. Also, see 0006. Also, see 0011 and fig. 3, wide camera.]
Regarding claim 6, Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Goldenberg does not explicitly disclose
wherein the smooth transition is achieved by performing a rotation correction of the FTIs.
However, Cohen does disclose
wherein the smooth transition is achieved by performing a rotation correction of the FTIs. [See Cohen [0054 #7] Rotation between the images.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Goldenberg does not explicitly disclose
wherein the smooth transition is achieved by executing registration between the WIs and the FTIs.
However, Cohen does disclose
wherein the smooth transition is achieved by executing registration between the WIs and the FTIs. [See Cohen [0051] Global registration for inputs of wide/tele.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Goldenberg does not explicitly disclose
wherein the smooth transition is achieved by executing a localization between the WIs and the FTIs for performing position matching.
However, Cohen does disclose
wherein the smooth transition is achieved by executing a localization between the WIs and the FTIs for performing position matching. [See Cohen [0054 #6] Localization between the images for feature matching.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Goldenberg does not explicitly disclose
wherein the smooth transition is achieved by blending the WIs and FTIs.
However, Cohen does disclose
wherein the smooth transition is achieved by blending the WIs and FTIs. [See Cohen [0006] Fusing wide/tele images.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Goldenberg does not explicitly disclose
wherein the switching from displaying WIs to displaying STIs is performed at an up-transfer ZF value (ZF.sub.UP), wherein the switching from displaying STIs to displaying WIs is performed at a down-transfer ZF value (ZF.sub.DOWN), and wherein ZF.sub.UP≥ZF.sub.DOWN.
However, Cohen does disclose
wherein the switching from displaying WIs to displaying STIs is performed at an up-transfer ZF value (ZF.sub.UP), wherein the switching from displaying STIs to displaying WIs is performed at a down-transfer ZF value (ZF.sub.DOWN), and wherein ZF.sub.UP≥ZF.sub.DOWN. [See Cohen [Fig. 4]]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Goldenberg discloses
wherein the Wide camera has an effective focal length of 2.5 mm-20 mm. [See Goldenberg [0011] Wide camera (i.e. non-folded camera) with 3-5mm focal length.]
Regarding claim 17, Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Goldenberg discloses
wherein the zoom camera is included in a smartphone. [See Goldenberg [0075] Smart phone.]
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldenberg (US 20180024329) in view of Cohen (US 20180184010) in view of Bates (US 20110164108) in view of Shimizu (US Patent no. 10,609,273) and in further view of Price et al. (herein after will be referred to as Price) (US 20140071309).
Regarding claim 3, Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Goldenberg does not explicitly disclose
wherein data from an inertial measurement unit (IMU) is used to calculate an expected pixel shift in the WIs and FTIs.
However, Price does disclose
wherein data from an inertial measurement unit (IMU) is used to calculate an expected pixel shift in the WIs and FTIs. [See Price [0014] Gyroscope and accelerometer information are used to identify an amount of pixel shift.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) to add the teachings of Price, in order to utilize obvious electronic devices for assisting the image processing. This will improve upon the image processing.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldenberg (US 20180024329) in view of Cohen (US 20180184010) in view of Bates (US 20110164108) in view of Shimizu (US Patent no. 10,609,273) and in further view of Baldwin (US Patent No. 9,232,138).
Regarding claim 4, Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Goldenberg does not explicitly disclose
wherein the zoom camera in addition is configured to perform electronic image stabilization (EIS).
However, Baldwin does disclose
wherein the zoom camera in addition is configured to perform electronic image stabilization (EIS). [See Baldwin [Fig. 1] Camera with EIS or OIS.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) to add the teachings of Baldwin, in order to apply EIS and OIS across their respective ranges of effectiveness [See Baldwin [Col. 2 lines 5-6]]. EIS and OIS each have their own respective advantages and disadvantages.
Regarding claim 13, Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Goldenberg does not explicitly disclose
wherein the FTC is operative to maintain a selected scene within a particular position within n-FOV.sub.T, and wherein the actuation for OIS is performed at high frequencies of 50 Hz or higher, and wherein an actuation for maintaining the selected scene within the particular position within n-FOV.sub.T is performed at low frequencies of 20 Hz or lower.
However, Baldwin does disclose
wherein the FTC is operative to maintain a selected scene within a particular position within n-FOV.sub.T, and wherein the actuation for OIS is performed at high frequencies of 50 Hz or higher, and wherein an actuation for maintaining the selected scene within the particular position within n-FOV.sub.T is performed at low frequencies of 20 Hz or lower. [See Baldwin [Col. 4 1st para.] OIS frequency range between 0 and 10 Hz, where as EIS operates at higher frequencies which depend on frame rate of the camera. Example of 30fps equates 30Hz for EIS. Therefore, when running at 60fps or higher, the EIS frequency will be at 60Hz or higher.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 4.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldenberg (US 20180024329) in view of Cohen (US 20180184010) in view of Bates (US 20110164108) in view of Shimizu (US Patent no. 10,609,273) and in further view of Roulet et al. (herein after will be referred to as Roulet) (US 20190213710).
Regarding claim 9, Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Goldenberg does not explicitly disclose
wherein the smooth transition is achieved by applying blurring on the WIs and/or the FTIs.
However, Roulet does disclose
wherein the smooth transition is achieved by applying blurring on the WIs and/or the FTIs. [See Roulet [0032-0033] Apply image blur for continuous zoom optical system.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) to add the teachings of Roulet, in order provide an alternative way of providing the smooth transition in Cohen to maintain a high quality of image information [See Roulet [0006]].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldenberg (US 20180024329) in view of Cohen (US 20180184010) in view of Bates (US 20110164108) in view of Shimizu (US Patent no. 10,609,273) and in further view of Varekamp (US 20220139023).
Regarding claim 14, Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Goldenberg does not explicitly disclose
wherein for providing the smooth transition, the zoom camera performs one or more calculation steps, and
wherein in at least one of the one or more calculation steps hardware acceleration is used.
However, Cohen does disclose
wherein for providing the smooth transition, the zoom camera performs one or more calculation steps, and [See Cohen [0047]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Goldenberg to add the teachings of Cohen, in order to improve upon optical zoom from commonly encountered problems and disadvantages [See Cohen [0011]].
Goldenberg (modified by Cohen, Bates and Shimizu) do not explicitly disclose
wherein in at least one of the one or more calculation steps hardware acceleration is used.
However, Varekamp does disclose
wherein in at least one of the one or more calculation steps hardware acceleration is used. [See Varekamp [0135] Blending two images together via hardware acceleration.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Goldenberg (modified by Cohen and Bates) to add the teachings of Varekamp, in order to speed up the calculation/processing time for image processing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Applicant has incorporated previously objected to claim 12 into its own independent claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210185198
WO 2018/167581
US 20190155002
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486