DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final office action in response to the communication filed on 08/18/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/18/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (CN 110456789 A, hereinafter Miao) in view of Schloss et al. (US 2018/0135325 A1, hereinafter Schloss)
Claim 1 Discloses:
“A method for cleaning a swimming pool, comprising:”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0002]) “This invention relates to a robot path planning method, specifically a full-coverage path planning method for a cleaning robot, belonging to the field of intelligent control technology.”
“controlling a swimming pool cleaning robot to move,”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0012], Lines 1-2) “The S3 cleaning robot moves forward to clean, constantly detecting whether there are obstacles or recorded grids ahead.”
“with respect to a grid map covering the swimming pool, in a work area defined in the swimming pool to establish a cleaning map comprising a plurality of cleaning blocks;”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0010]) “Construct a grid map of the area to be cleaned, and starting from any grid cell on the boundary of the grid map, clean the area according to the inner spiral trajectory, and record the cleaned grid cells.”
“and controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to traverse each of the cleaning blocks in the cleaning map to clean the swimming pool.”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0012]) “The S3 cleaning robot moves forward to clean, constantly detecting whether there are obstacles or recorded grids ahead. If there are, it proceeds to step S4; otherwise, it continues to move forward to clean and proceeds to step S2,” and that, (Paragraph [0020], Lines1-5) “This invention uses the Wildfire algorithm to find the nearest uncleaned grid cell to the cleaning robot, and then uses the A* algorithm to plan the optimal path between the cleaning robot and the nearest uncleaned grid cell. The robot then jumps out of the dead zone according to the planned path and continues to clean. This ensures that the cleaning robot completes full coverage cleaning.”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 2 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move, with respect to the grid map covering the swimming pool, in the work area defined in the swimming pool to establish the cleaning map comprising the plurality of cleaning blocks comprises: controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move, with respect to the grid map, in the work area defined in the swimming pool to determine the plurality of cleaning blocks in the grid map; and establishing the cleaning map according to the plurality of cleaning blocks determined in the grid map.”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0040], Lines 1-4) “S1 constructs a grid map of the cleaning robot's cleaning area. Starting from any grid cell on the boundary of the grid map, the cleaning robot cleans counterclockwise along a pre-defined inner spiral trajectory, recording the cleaned grid cells. Recorded grid cells are not repeated during cleaning,” and that, (Paragraph [0020]) “This invention uses the Wildfire algorithm to find the nearest uncleaned grid cell to the cleaning robot, and then uses the A* algorithm to plan the optimal path between the cleaning robot and the nearest uncleaned grid cell. The robot then jumps out of the dead zone according to the planned path and continues to clean. This ensures that the cleaning robot completes full coverage cleaning.”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 3 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 2, wherein the controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move, with respect to the grid map, in the work area defined in the swimming pool to determine the plurality of cleaning blocks in the grid map comprises: a moving step of controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move with respect to the grid map according to a predetermined map establishment movement algorithm;”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0020]) “This invention uses the Wildfire algorithm to find the nearest uncleaned grid cell to the cleaning robot, and then uses the A* algorithm to plan the optimal path between the cleaning robot and the nearest uncleaned grid cell. The robot then jumps out of the dead zone according to the planned path and continues to clean. This ensures that the cleaning robot completes full coverage cleaning.”
“a marking step of marking a grid block reachable by the swimming pool cleaning robot in the grid map as a cleaning block”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0051] and Paragraph [0059], Lines 1-2) “The method for planning the optimal path using the A* algorithm is as follows … S72 searches for the grids adjacent to the starting point A, adds the walkable grids to the open list.”
“and marking a grid block unreachable by the swimming pool cleaning robot in the grid map as a non-cleaning block, according to a movement result of the swimming pool cleaning robot with respect to the grid map;”
Miao teaches, “S6 uses the A* algorithm to plan the optimal path from the grid where the cleaning robot is currently located to the nearest grid to be cleaned. The cleaning robot follows this path to reach the nearest grid to be cleaned,” and that, (Paragraph [0051] and Paragraph [0059], Lines 1-2) “The method for planning the optimal path using the A* algorithm is as follows … S75 searches for grids adjacent to the current grid, ignoring grids already in the closed list and unwalkable grids.”
“and alternately performing the moving step and the marking step until the grid map satisfies a predetermined block marking stop condition.”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0062], Lines 1-3) “As shown in Figure 3, when the cleaning robot encounters area 1, dead zone 2, dead zone 3, dead zone 4, and dead zone 5, it jumps out of the dead zone according to the method in step S6 of this invention, thereby completing the full-coverage cleaning work.”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 4 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 3, wherein the moving step comprises: determining a grid block in the grid map where the swimming pool cleaning robot is currently located as a current block;”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0007], Lines 1-3) “the present invention provides a path planning method for a cleaning robot, which can search for the area to be cleaned closest to the dead zone and plan the shortest path from the current position of the cleaning robot.”
“determining at least one grid block that is adjacent to the current block and is not marked in the grid map as a candidate block on the basis of the current block;”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0055]) “S72 searches for the grids adjacent to the starting point A, adds the walkable grids to the open list, and sets the starting point A as the parent node of these grids,” and that, (Paragraph [0059]) “S75 searches for grids adjacent to the current grid, ignoring grids already in the closed list and unwalkable grids, adds newly found grids to the open list, and sets the current grid as the parent node of these newly added grids.”
“determining a target block in the candidate block on the basis of the predetermined map establishment movement algorithm; and controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move from the current block to the target block.”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0061]) “S77 Repeat steps S75 and S76 until the grid containing the target point is found, which is the grid to be cleaned that is closest to the cleaning robot. Move the target point along the parent node to the starting point A to obtain the optimal path,” wherein the robot precedes to follow the optimal path.
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 5 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 4, wherein the determining the target block in the candidate block on the basis of the predetermined map establishment movement algorithm comprises: determining, when there are a plurality of candidate blocks adjacent to the current block, a candidate block with a shortest movement path with respect to the swimming pool cleaning robot or a least time consumption for movement of the swimming pool cleaning robot in the plurality of candidate blocks as the target block on the basis of the predetermined map establishment movement algorithm;”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0007], Lines 1-4) “the present invention provides a path planning method for a cleaning robot, which can search for the area to be cleaned closest to the dead zone and plan the shortest path from the current position of the cleaning robot to the area to be cleaned,” and that, (Paragraph [0059]) “S75 searches for grids adjacent to the current grid, ignoring grids already in the closed list and unwalkable grids, adds newly found grids to the open list, and sets the current grid as the parent node of these newly added grids,” as well as Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0061]) “S77 Repeat steps S75 and S76 until the grid containing the target point is found, which is the grid to be cleaned that is closest to the cleaning robot. Move the target point along the parent node to the starting point A to obtain the optimal path.”
“and determining all the other candidate blocks other than the target block in the plurality of candidate blocks as to-be-marked blocks.”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0049], Lines 1-6) “When the cleaning robot gets stuck in a dead zone and can't move forward, the Wildfire algorithm is invoked in step S5. The principle is to gradually expand the search range outward in a wavy pattern from the cleaning robot as the center, and check whether the grids it spreads to are grids to be cleaned. This is used to search for grids to be cleaned around the cleaning robot. If there are multiple grids to be cleaned, the one closest to the cleaning robot is selected and the process proceeds to step S6. If there are no grids, the cleaning ends.”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 6 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 3, wherein the predetermined map establishment movement algorithm comprises: moving forward on the basis of a current orientation of the swimming pool cleaning robot; and in response to a failure to move forward on the basis of the current orientation of the swimming pool cleaning robot, moving forward after performing a steering operation on the basis of the current orientation of the swimming pool cleaning robot and a predetermined rotation angle, or moving backward on the basis of the current orientation of the swimming pool cleaning robot, wherein the predetermined rotation angle comprises a 90-degree clockwise rotation angle or a 90-degree counterclockwise rotation angle on the basis of the current orientation of the swimming pool cleaning robot.”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraphs [0012-0013]) “The S3 cleaning robot moves forward to clean, constantly detecting whether there are obstacles or recorded grids ahead. If there are, it proceeds to step S4; otherwise, it continues to move forward to clean and proceeds to step S2. The S4 cleaning robot turns 90° inward and continues to move forward to clean, while constantly detecting whether there are obstacles or recorded grids on its left side. If there are, it returns to step S3; otherwise, it proceeds to step S41.”
Miao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0031], Lines 1-3) “During the cleaning process, S2 detects in real time whether there are any grids to be cleaned on the outer side (if the cleaning robot moves clockwise, the outer side is "left"; if it moves counterclockwise, the outer side is "right").”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 7 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 5, further comprising: acquiring, when there is no candidate block adjacent to the current block, each of the to-be-marked blocks in the grid map; determining a to-be-marked block with a shortest movement distance with respect to the current block as the target block on the basis of a predetermined path-finding algorithm; and controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move from the current block to the target block on the basis of the predetermined path-finding algorithm.”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraphs [0036-0038]) “If the cleaning robot gets stuck in a dead zone and cannot move forward during the execution of steps S2 to S42, it will proceed to step S5. S5 calls the Wildfire algorithm to gradually expand the search range around the cleaning robot, searching for the nearest grid to be cleaned. If there is one, proceed to step S6; otherwise, end the cleaning process. S6 uses the A* algorithm to plan the shortest path from the grid where the cleaning robot is currently located to the nearest grid to be cleaned. The cleaning robot reaches the nearest grid to be cleaned according to the path, so that the cleaning robot can jump out of the dead zone and return to step S2.”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 8 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 3, wherein the alternately performing the moving step and the marking step until the grid map satisfies the predetermined block marking stop condition comprises: repeatedly performing the moving step and the marking step until all the grid blocks adjacent to each of the cleaning blocks in the grid map are marked.”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0061]) “S77 Repeat steps S75 and S76 until the grid containing the target point is found, which is the grid to be cleaned that is closest to the cleaning robot. Move the target point along the parent node to the starting point A to obtain the optimal path,” and that, (Paragraph [0017]) “S5 calls the Wildfire algorithm to gradually expand the search range around the cleaning robot, searching for the nearest grid to be cleaned. If there is one, proceed to step S6; otherwise, end the cleaning process.”
Claim 9 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, further comprising: acquiring a plurality of cleaning regions in the cleaning map according to each of the cleaning blocks in the cleaning map, wherein the controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to traverse each of the cleaning blocks in the cleaning map to clean the swimming pool comprises: an inter-region moving step of controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move in different cleaning regions on the basis of a predetermined path-finding algorithm; an intra-region moving step of controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move in each of the cleaning regions on the basis of a predetermined cleaning movement algorithm; and alternately performing the inter-region moving step and the intra-region moving step until the swimming pool cleaning robot traverses each of the cleaning regions in the cleaning map.”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0059]) “S75 searches for grids adjacent to the current grid, ignoring grids already in the closed list and unwalkable grids, adds newly found grids to the open list, and sets the current grid as the parent node of these newly added grids.”
Miao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0061]) “S77 Repeat steps S75 and S76 until the grid containing the target point is found, which is the grid to be cleaned that is closest to the cleaning robot. Move the target point along the parent node to the starting point A to obtain the optimal path,” and that, (Paragraph [0017]) “S5 calls the Wildfire algorithm to gradually expand the search range around the cleaning robot, searching for the nearest grid to be cleaned. If there is one, proceed to step S6; otherwise, end the cleaning process.”
Miao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0050]) “S6 uses the A* algorithm to plan the optimal path from the grid where the cleaning robot is currently located to the nearest grid to be cleaned. The cleaning robot follows this path to reach the nearest grid to be cleaned, thus escaping the dead zone and returning to step S2,” and that, (Paragraph [0052], Line 1) “S71 divides the search area into multiple grids, which are already constructed raster maps.”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 10 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 9, wherein the acquiring the plurality of cleaning regions in the cleaning map according to each of the cleaning blocks in the cleaning map comprises: identifying a non-contiguous single cleaning block in the cleaning map, and acquiring a cleaning region comprising the single cleaning block; or identifying a plurality of cleaning blocks that are in a same row or column and contiguous in the cleaning map, and acquiring a cleaning region comprising the plurality of cleaning blocks.”
Miao teaches, (Paragraphs [0036-0038]) “If the cleaning robot gets stuck in a dead zone and cannot move forward during the execution of steps S2 to S42, it will proceed to step S5. S5 calls the Wildfire algorithm to gradually expand the search range around the cleaning robot, searching for the nearest grid to be cleaned. If there is one, proceed to step S6; otherwise, end the cleaning process. S6 uses the A* algorithm to plan the shortest path from the grid where the cleaning robot is currently located to the nearest grid to be cleaned. The cleaning robot reaches the nearest grid to be cleaned according to the path, so that the cleaning robot can jump out of the dead zone and return to step S2.”
Claim 11 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 9, wherein each of the cleaning regions comprises two region endpoints, the region endpoints are determined by the cleaning blocks at two ends of the cleaning region, and the inter-region moving step comprises: determining a region endpoint having a shortest movement distance from the swimming pool cleaning robot as a target endpoint on the basis of the predetermined path-finding algorithm according to region endpoints of a cleaning region where the swimming pool cleaning robot is currently located, and two region endpoints of each of cleaning regions that are not cleaned in the cleaning map; determining a cleaning region comprising the target endpoint as a cleaning region to be cleaned by the swimming pool cleaning robot; controlling, on the basis of the predetermined path-finding algorithm, the swimming pool cleaning robot to move towards the target endpoint to move from the cleaning region where the swimming pool cleaning robot is currently located to the cleaning region to be cleaned; and continuing to perform the intra-region moving step in response to updating the cleaning region to be cleaned as the cleaning region where the swimming pool cleaning robot is currently located.”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0059]) “S75 searches for grids adjacent to the current grid, ignoring grids already in the closed list and unwalkable grids, adds newly found grids to the open list, and sets the current grid as the parent node of these newly added grids.”
Miao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0061]) “S77 Repeat steps S75 and S76 until the grid containing the target point is found, which is the grid to be cleaned that is closest to the cleaning robot. Move the target point along the parent node to the starting point A to obtain the optimal path,” and that, (Paragraph [0017]) “S5 calls the Wildfire algorithm to gradually expand the search range around the cleaning robot, searching for the nearest grid to be cleaned. If there is one, proceed to step S6; otherwise, end the cleaning process.”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 12 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 11, wherein the intra-region moving step comprises: determining one region endpoint matching the target endpoint in the two region endpoints of the cleaning region where the swimming pool cleaning robot is currently located as a starting endpoint; determining the other region endpoint in the two region endpoints as an ending endpoint; controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move from the starting endpoint to the ending endpoint to traverse each of the cleaning blocks in the cleaning regions; and continuing to perform the inter-region moving step.”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0059]) “S75 searches for grids adjacent to the current grid, ignoring grids already in the closed list and unwalkable grids, adds newly found grids to the open list, and sets the current grid as the parent node of these newly added grids.”
Miao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0061]) “S77 Repeat steps S75 and S76 until the grid containing the target point is found, which is the grid to be cleaned that is closest to the cleaning robot. Move the target point along the parent node to the starting point A to obtain the optimal path,” and that, (Paragraph [0017]) “S5 calls the Wildfire algorithm to gradually expand the search range around the cleaning robot, searching for the nearest grid to be cleaned. If there is one, proceed to step S6; otherwise, end the cleaning process.”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 13 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 9, further comprising: determining a region endpoint that has a shortest movement distance from the swimming pool cleaning robot and located at an edge position of the cleaning map as a target endpoint on the basis of the predetermined path-finding algorithm according to a cleaning block in the cleaning map where the swimming pool cleaning robot is currently located, and two region endpoints of each of cleaning regions that are not cleaned in the cleaning map; determining a cleaning region comprising the target endpoint as a cleaning region to be cleaned by the swimming pool cleaning robot; controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move towards the target endpoint on the basis of the predetermined path-finding algorithm, updating the cleaning region to be cleaned as the cleaning region where the swimming pool cleaning robot is currently located in response to reaching the target endpoint; and continuing to perform the intra-region moving step.”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0041], Lines 1-3) “The S11-controlled cleaning robot starts from a point on the wall of the room and cleans the room in a counterclockwise or clockwise spiral motion. During the first cycle along the wall, it learns along the edge.”
Miao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0059]) “S75 searches for grids adjacent to the current grid, ignoring grids already in the closed list and unwalkable grids, adds newly found grids to the open list, and sets the current grid as the parent node of these newly added grids.”
Miao additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0061]) “S77 Repeat steps S75 and S76 until the grid containing the target point is found, which is the grid to be cleaned that is closest to the cleaning robot. Move the target point along the parent node to the starting point A to obtain the optimal path,” and that, (Paragraph [0017]) “S5 calls the Wildfire algorithm to gradually expand the search range around the cleaning robot, searching for the nearest grid to be cleaned. If there is one, proceed to step S6; otherwise, end the cleaning process.”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 15 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 7, wherein the predetermined path-finding algorithm comprises an A-STAR algorithm.”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0020], Lines1-5) “This invention uses the Wildfire algorithm to find the nearest uncleaned grid cell to the cleaning robot, and then uses the A* algorithm to plan the optimal path between the cleaning robot and the nearest uncleaned grid cell. The robot then jumps out of the dead zone according to the planned path and continues to clean. This ensures that the cleaning robot completes full coverage cleaning.”
Claim 16 Discloses:
“… controlling a swimming pool cleaning robot to move,”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0012], Lines 1-2) “The S3 cleaning robot moves forward to clean, constantly detecting whether there are obstacles or recorded grids ahead.”
“with respect to a grid map covering the swimming pool, in a work area defined in the swimming pool to establish a cleaning map comprising a plurality of cleaning blocks;”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0010]) “Construct a grid map of the area to be cleaned, and starting from any grid cell on the boundary of the grid map, clean the area according to the inner spiral trajectory, and record the cleaned grid cells.”
“and controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to traverse each of the cleaning blocks in the cleaning map to clean the swimming pool.”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0012]) “The S3 cleaning robot moves forward to clean, constantly detecting whether there are obstacles or recorded grids ahead. If there are, it proceeds to step S4; otherwise, it continues to move forward to clean and proceeds to step S2,” and that, (Paragraph [0020], Lines1-5) “This invention uses the Wildfire algorithm to find the nearest uncleaned grid cell to the cleaning robot, and then uses the A* algorithm to plan the optimal path between the cleaning robot and the nearest uncleaned grid cell. The robot then jumps out of the dead zone according to the planned path and continues to clean. This ensures that the cleaning robot completes full coverage cleaning.”
“An electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a program, wherein the program comprises one or more instructions, and the processor, when executing the one or more instructions, is caused to perform operations of:”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors,” and that, (Paragraph [0016]) “a non-transitory computer readable medium for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner, having stored thereon instructions that when executed on a processor of will cause the processor to … transmit the command via a communication channel to a controller of the robotic pool cleaner, for execution by the robotic pool cleaner.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning being executed by the processor of a pool cleaning robot as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 17 Discloses:
“The electronic device according to claim 16, wherein the controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move, with respect to the grid map covering the swimming pool, in the work area defined in the swimming pool to establish the cleaning map comprising the plurality of cleaning blocks comprises: controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move, with respect to the grid map, in the work area defined in the swimming pool to determine the plurality of cleaning blocks in the grid map; and establishing the cleaning map according to the plurality of cleaning blocks determined in the grid map.”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0040], Lines 1-4) “S1 constructs a grid map of the cleaning robot's cleaning area. Starting from any grid cell on the boundary of the grid map, the cleaning robot cleans counterclockwise along a pre-defined inner spiral trajectory, recording the cleaned grid cells. Recorded grid cells are not repeated during cleaning,” and that, (Paragraph [0020]) “This invention uses the Wildfire algorithm to find the nearest uncleaned grid cell to the cleaning robot, and then uses the A* algorithm to plan the optimal path between the cleaning robot and the nearest uncleaned grid cell. The robot then jumps out of the dead zone according to the planned path and continues to clean. This ensures that the cleaning robot completes full coverage cleaning.”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors,” and that, (Paragraph [0016]) “a non-transitory computer readable medium for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner, having stored thereon instructions that when executed on a processor of will cause the processor to … transmit the command via a communication channel to a controller of the robotic pool cleaner, for execution by the robotic pool cleaner.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning being executed by the processor of a pool cleaning robot as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 18 Discloses:
“The electronic device according to claim 17, wherein the controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move, with respect to the grid map, in the work area defined in the swimming pool to determine the plurality of cleaning blocks in the grid map comprises: a moving step of controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move with respect to the grid map according to a predetermined map establishment movement algorithm;”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0020]) “This invention uses the Wildfire algorithm to find the nearest uncleaned grid cell to the cleaning robot, and then uses the A* algorithm to plan the optimal path between the cleaning robot and the nearest uncleaned grid cell. The robot then jumps out of the dead zone according to the planned path and continues to clean. This ensures that the cleaning robot completes full coverage cleaning.”
“a marking step of marking a grid block reachable by the swimming pool cleaning robot in the grid map as a cleaning block”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0051] and Paragraph [0059], Lines 1-2) “The method for planning the optimal path using the A* algorithm is as follows … S72 searches for the grids adjacent to the starting point A, adds the walkable grids to the open list.”
“and marking a grid block unreachable by the swimming pool cleaning robot in the grid map as a non-cleaning block, according to a movement result of the swimming pool cleaning robot with respect to the grid map;”
Miao teaches, “S6 uses the A* algorithm to plan the optimal path from the grid where the cleaning robot is currently located to the nearest grid to be cleaned. The cleaning robot follows this path to reach the nearest grid to be cleaned,” and that, (Paragraph [0051] and Paragraph [0059], Lines 1-2) “The method for planning the optimal path using the A* algorithm is as follows … S75 searches for grids adjacent to the current grid, ignoring grids already in the closed list and unwalkable grids.”
“and alternately performing the moving step and the marking step until the grid map satisfies a predetermined block marking stop condition.”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0062], Lines 1-3) “As shown in Figure 3, when the cleaning robot encounters area 1, dead zone 2, dead zone 3, dead zone 4, and dead zone 5, it jumps out of the dead zone according to the method in step S6 of this invention, thereby completing the full-coverage cleaning work.”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 19 Discloses:
“The electronic device according to claim 18, wherein the moving step comprises: determining a grid block in the grid map where the swimming pool cleaning robot is currently located as a current block;”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0007], Lines 1-3) “the present invention provides a path planning method for a cleaning robot, which can search for the area to be cleaned closest to the dead zone and plan the shortest path from the current position of the cleaning robot.”
“determining at least one grid block that is adjacent to the current block and is not marked in the grid map as a candidate block on the basis of the current block;”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0055]) “S72 searches for the grids adjacent to the starting point A, adds the walkable grids to the open list, and sets the starting point A as the parent node of these grids,” and that, (Paragraph [0059]) “S75 searches for grids adjacent to the current grid, ignoring grids already in the closed list and unwalkable grids, adds newly found grids to the open list, and sets the current grid as the parent node of these newly added grids.”
“determining a target block in the candidate block on the basis of the predetermined map establishment movement algorithm; and controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to move from the current block to the target block.”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0061]) “S77 Repeat steps S75 and S76 until the grid containing the target point is found, which is the grid to be cleaned that is closest to the cleaning robot. Move the target point along the parent node to the starting point A to obtain the optimal path,” wherein the robot precedes to follow the optimal path.
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 20 Discloses:
“… controlling a swimming pool cleaning robot to move,”
Primary reference Miao teaches a robotic cleaning algorithm, but is not explicitly directed towards cleaning a swimming pool with a pool cleaning robot.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0012], Lines 1-2) “The S3 cleaning robot moves forward to clean, constantly detecting whether there are obstacles or recorded grids ahead.”
“with respect to a grid map covering the swimming pool, in a work area defined in the swimming pool to establish a cleaning map comprising a plurality of cleaning blocks;”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0010]) “Construct a grid map of the area to be cleaned, and starting from any grid cell on the boundary of the grid map, clean the area according to the inner spiral trajectory, and record the cleaned grid cells.”
“and controlling the swimming pool cleaning robot to traverse each of the cleaning blocks in the cleaning map to clean the swimming pool.”
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0012]) “The S3 cleaning robot moves forward to clean, constantly detecting whether there are obstacles or recorded grids ahead. If there are, it proceeds to step S4; otherwise, it continues to move forward to clean and proceeds to step S2,” and that, (Paragraph [0020], Lines1-5) “This invention uses the Wildfire algorithm to find the nearest uncleaned grid cell to the cleaning robot, and then uses the A* algorithm to plan the optimal path between the cleaning robot and the nearest uncleaned grid cell. The robot then jumps out of the dead zone according to the planned path and continues to clean. This ensures that the cleaning robot completes full coverage cleaning.”
“A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more computer instructions, wherein the one or more computer instructions, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform operations of:”
Secondary reference Schloss teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-2) “A method for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner may include providing a robotic pool cleaner,” wherein, (Paragraph [0046], Lines 8-10) “An algorithm may take into account a shape of the pool (e.g., variations in a motion pattern as appropriate for a particular shape), or other factors,” and that, (Paragraph [0016]) “a non-transitory computer readable medium for remotely operating a robotic pool cleaner, having stored thereon instructions that when executed on a processor of will cause the processor to … transmit the command via a communication channel to a controller of the robotic pool cleaner, for execution by the robotic pool cleaner.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine and/or apply the grid cleaning methodology of Miao for cleaning robots, in the well-known context of pool cleaning being executed by instructions from a non-transitory medium of a pool cleaning robot as evidenced by Schloss, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of applying a grid identification/cleaning algorithm to an example of a well-known confined area such as a swimming pool. As Miao describes, (Paragraph [0004], Line 8) “planning allows the robot to move along the boundary of the wall,” which is applicable to the structure of Schloss wherein a, (Paragraph [0047], lines 1-4) “Determination of a pool characteristic may enable selection of a travel path for the robotic pool cleaner on the basis of the shape or contour of the wall.”
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao in view of Schloss, further in view of Mori. (JP 6762919 B2)
Claim 14 Discloses:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein a size of each of the grid blocks in the grid map is determined on the basis of a predetermined stepping distance of the swimming pool cleaning robot.”
Miao and Schloss do not teach the preceding limitations. However, Miao does teach understanding the effective diameter distance between grids.
Miao teaches, (Paragraph [0057]) “G is the cost of moving from the starting point A to the current grid. The value of G is obtained by adding the Euclidean distance between the starting point A and the current grid (i.e., the diameter distance between the two grids) to the turning cost.”
Applicant’s disclosure describes a non-limiting embodiment which reads, (Paragraph [0057]) “In this embodiment, the predetermined stepping distance of the swimming pool cleaning robot may be generated on the basis of dimensions (for example, a length and a width of the swimming pool cleaning robot) of the swimming pool cleaning robot.”
Therefore, tertiary reference Mori does teach the preceding limitation.
Mori teaches, (Paragraph [0007], Lines 1-2) “an example of the appearance of a cleaning robot, which is an example of a moving object according to an embodiment,” wherein, (Paragraph [0028], Lines 7-10) “the shape and size (horizontal size, vertical size) of the grid may be determined automatically depending on the shape and size of the travel area, the size of the robot 10 (horizontal size, vertical size, radius of rotation), the precision of position control of the robot 10, etc., or may be set by the user.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the grid separation methodology of Miao, with the explicit pool cleaning robot structure of Schloss, and the explicit sizing of grids depending on the size (steeping distance) of a mobile robot as taught by Mori, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of allowing a robot to enter grids either in corners of an environment or spaces next to obstacles of environment by sizing spaces to incorporate the size of a robot and/or its turning radius. As Mori describes,” (Paragraph [0055], Lines 27-33) “travel path planning device according to any one of (1) to (3), wherein the maximum width adjustment size is half the size of the moving body at the rotation center in a direction perpendicular to the traveling direction of the moving body. (5) In the travel path planning device described in any one of (1) to (4), the planar shape of the moving body is rectangular, and the radius of rotation is the maximum value of the distance between the center of rotation of the moving body and four corners of the moving body or the distance between the center of rotation of the moving body and four corners of the moving body,” and that, (Paragraph [0012], Lines 1-7) “if the turning radius is larger than the width of the robot, there will be a narrow passage (hereinafter also referred to as a narrow path) that the robot can enter but cannot turn inside. If the robot enters such a narrow passage, it is conceivable that the user will manually pull the robot out of the passage. If the robot is configured to be able to move backward, it can also move backward autonomously to exit a narrow passage. However, some robots can only move forward and cannot move backward.”
RELEVANT, BUT NOT CITED PRIOR ART
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Liu et al. (US 2020/0192399 A1) teaches, (Abstract) “A method for traversing a subarea, a method for cleaning, and a cleaning robot thereof are provided. The method for traversing a subarea includes: gridding position information within the subarea to form a corresponding subarea grid map; searching for an edge grid in the subarea grid map, wherein the edge grid is a grid in close proximity to an edge of the subarea; searching for all continuous line segments in the subarea along a preset search direction, wherein the continuous line segment is a line segment that continuously extends from one edge grid along the search direction to another edge grid; matching the adjacent continuous line segments in sequence to form at least one connected region.”
Li (US 2022/0129002 A1) teaches, “A method for controlling cleaning of a robot, a chip and a robot cleaner. In the method for controlling cleaning of a robot, when the robot is located at a position of a charging base, the robot is controlled to clean a preset region around the charging base first, and then a cleaning restricted zone is formed, such that the robot will not enter the restricted zone in the subsequent cleaning process.”
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER V GENTILE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664