DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments received on 13 August 2026. Claims 1-20 are cancelled; claims 21-40 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDS have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is requested to point out any particular references in the IDS which they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Since the amendments pertain to the amendments to the claims, they will be addressed below in the prior art rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-25, 30-35 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Connor (U.S. 2017/0164878). Connor discloses (Figures 1-3) a wearable device (par. 0115) comprising: an optical sensing unit comprising: a processor (par. 0123); a plurality of first light emitters configured to emit light of a first wavelength (par. 0419); a plurality of second light emitters configured to emit light of a second wavelength different than the first wavelength, the plurality of second light emitters comprising a first emitter and a second emitter (“different emitters in this array can emit light at different wavelengths”); a plurality of light detectors (par. 0408); and a plurality of optical components positioned over the plurality of second light emitters (“a light emitter and light receiver can be paired together. In an example, a light emitter and light receiver together can be referred to as a spectroscopic sensor.”); and a strap (101, 201, 301) attached to the wearable device and configured to attach the wearable device to a user, wherein: the plurality of optical components is configured to direct a first light emitted by the first emitter toward the strap and to direct a second light emitted by the second emitter to a first side of the strap (see Figures 1-3, with arrows pointing from 104-108, 204-204 to the underside of the strap); the processor determines, using a first signal corresponding to return light from the first emitter and a second signal corresponding to return light from the second emitter, a sub-state of the wearable device from a plurality of sub-states of the wearable device when in an off-wrist state (par. 0258).
Regarding claim 22, Connor discloses (par. 0426) the optical sensing unit comprises a window (“lens”).
Regarding claim 23, Connor discloses (par. 0446) a corresponding center ray of the first light has a normal angle of incidence on the window; and a corresponding center ray of the second light has a non-normal angle of incidence on the window (“different sets of light emitters and receivers can have different angles at which they reflect light from a body surface. In an example, a first set comprising a light emitter and a light receiver can reflect light from a body surface at a first angle and a second set comprising a light emitter and a light receiver can reflect light from a body surface at a second angle. In an example, an array of sets can optimally measure light reflected from a body surface at different angles. In an example, at least one of these sets can optimally measure light reflected from a body surface at an angle which is substantially perpendicular to the body surface”).
Regarding claim 24, Connor discloses (par. 0418) the plurality of optical components comprises: a first Fresnel lens positioned between the first emitter and the window; and a second Fresnel lens positioned between the second emitter and the window.
Regarding claim 25, Connor discloses (par. 0418) the first Fresnel lens is positioned between the plurality of first emitters and the window.
Regarding claim 30, Connor discloses (par. 0436) the optical sensing unit comprises an optical isolation positioned between the plurality of detectors and the plurality of first emitters.
Regarding claim 31, Connor discloses (Figures 1-3) a wearable device (par. 0115) comprising: a processor (par. 0123); an optical sensing unit comprising: a plurality of light emitters comprising a first emitter and a second emitter (par. 0419) ; a plurality of light detectors (par. 0408); and a plurality of optical components comprising a first optical component and a second optical component (“a light emitter and light receiver can be paired together. In an example, a light emitter and light receiver together can be referred to as a spectroscopic sensor.”); and a strap (101, 201, 301) attached to the wearable device and configured to attach the wearable device to a user, wherein: the first optical component is configured to direct a first light emitted by the first emitter toward the strap; the second optical component is configured to direct a second light emitted by the second emitter to a first side of the strap (see Figures 1-3, with arrows pointing from 104-108, 204-204 to the underside of the strap); and the processor determines, using a first signal corresponding to return light from the first emitter and a second signal corresponding to return light from the second emitter, a sub-state of the wearable device from a plurality of sub-states of the wearable device when in an off-wrist state (par. 0258).
Regarding claim 32, Connor discloses (par. 0426) the optical sensing unit comprises a window (“lens”).
Regarding claim 33, Connor discloses (par. 0446) a corresponding center ray of the first light has a normal angle of incidence on the window; and a corresponding center ray of the second light has a non-normal angle of incidence on the window (“different sets of light emitters and receivers can have different angles at which they reflect light from a body surface. In an example, a first set comprising a light emitter and a light receiver can reflect light from a body surface at a first angle and a second set comprising a light emitter and a light receiver can reflect light from a body surface at a second angle. In an example, an array of sets can optimally measure light reflected from a body surface at different angles. In an example, at least one of these sets can optimally measure light reflected from a body surface at an angle which is substantially perpendicular to the body surface”).
Regarding claim 34, Connor discloses (par. 0418) the first optical component is a Fresnel lens.
Regarding claim 35, Connor discloses (par. 0418) the Fresnel lens is a first Fresnel lens; and the second optical component is a second Fresnel lens.
Regarding claim 38, Connor discloses (Figure 4) the plurality of light emitters comprises a third emitter (404); the plurality of optical components comprises a third optical component that is configured to direct a third light emitted by the third emitter to a second side of the strap (see arrows, where light is directed over a top surface of the strap).
Regarding claim 39, Connor discloses (par. 0444) the first light, the second light, and third light are directed to intersect (“a beam of light can: be emitted by the light emitter along a first vector; pass through the first (transmissive) side of an angled one-way mirror; hit body tissue; reflect back from the body tissue; reflect off the second (reflective) side of the angled one-way mirror; and enter the light receiver along a second vector which is perpendicular to the first vector.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-29, 36-37 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connor (U.S. 2017/0164878) in view of Block et al (U.S. 11,266,320). Regarding claims 26 and 36, Connor discloses the claimed invention except for an optical film positioned between the second emitter and the window. Block, however, discloses (col. 6, line 62-col. 7, line 52) components for optical collection that include an optical film (240) and Fresnel lens (242). Block and Connor both disclose systems for emitting and sensing light. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to restrict light from passing through a peripheral region of the light detectors (col. 18, lines 62-64 of Block).
Regarding claim 27, Block discloses (Fig. 2B) the plurality of second light emitters comprises a third emitter; the plurality of optical components comprises an additional optical film positioned between the third emitter and the window and is configured to direct a third light emitted by the third emitter to a second side of the strap (see two optical films on either side of center region 209).
Regarding claim 28, Connor discloses (par. 0444) the first light, the second light, and third light are directed to intersect (“a beam of light can: be emitted by the light emitter along a first vector; pass through the first (transmissive) side of an angled one-way mirror; hit body tissue; reflect back from the body tissue; reflect off the second (reflective) side of the angled one-way mirror; and enter the light receiver along a second vector which is perpendicular to the first vector.”).
Regarding claim 29, Block discloses (Fig. 2B) the Fresnel lens (242) is positioned between the plurality of first emitters 206D, 208A, 206B) and the window (203).
Regarding claim 37, Block discloses (Figure 2D) the optical sensing unit comprises a window and a baffle (211A; col. 8, lines 32-34, “partially blocks” light); and the optical film is positioned between the baffle and the window.
Regarding claim 40, Block discloses (Fig. 2B) the second optical component is a first optical film and the third optical component is a second optical film (see two optical films on either side of center region 209).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792