DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4-9, & 12-14 are pending on the application, of which claims 1 & 4 are amended, claims 5-8 & 13-14 are withdrawn from consideration, and claims 2-3 and 10-11 are cancelled.
In light of the amendments, the previous objection to claim 1 is withdrawn.
In light of the amendments, the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
In light of the amendments, the previous art rejection is withdrawn in favor of the new ground of rejection presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Jenkins does not render obvious the monitoring of two specific contaminants and determining the completion of a cleaning process However, Jenkins alone is not utilized for such a teaching. Rather, the references taken in combination, would provide such a suggestion to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Uno indicates that starch and PVA are two contaminants that are present when cleaning the tool [0010, 0038, 0041], and two different values can be measured and compared in order to determine that a cleaning process is complete [0053]. Meanwhile, Jenkins provides a teaching of utilizing two different wavelengths for detection of two different contaminants (Col lines 10-15), and Kaiser and Kawasaki suggests the ending of a cleaning process when a fluorescence value is below a threshold. Accordingly, when the references are taken in combination, they would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art the utilization of two different wavelength for excitation of the starch and PVA and determination of the item being cleaned when the fluorescence associated with each wavelength is below a specified amount.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “liquid extraction part” and “fluorescence analysis part” in claim 1-4 & 9-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uno (JP2022034694A) in view of Gheparde (US20090050174A1), Jenkins (US5922606A), Kaiser (US20030102007A1) and Kawasaki (US20200011791A1).
As to claims 1 & 4, Uno discloses a cleaning apparatus for performing a cleaning process on a washing tool for substrate washing by supplying a washing liquid to the washing tool and bringing the washing tool into contact with a cleaning member (abstract), the cleaning apparatus comprising: a liquid extraction part that extracts a washing liquid remaining inside the washing tool or a washing liquid flowing out from the washing tool during the cleaning process (ref 62 or 82, see also [0015-0016, 0036, & 0057]); an analysis part (ref 68) which measures the absorbance of the liquid in a predetermined wavelength [0036, 0040, 0045, & 0057]; and a determination unit (ref 72) which determines, based on the measured absorbance, whether or not the cleaning of the washing tool has been completed [0041 & 0046]. A skilled artisan would reasonably believe that the determination unit is at least some part of a processor. However, assuming arguendo that it is not clear from Uno that the determination unit is a processor, such a feature is known my Gheparde. Uno does not disclose a florescence analysis part or a processor for analyzing the extracted washing liquid and measuring an intensity of the washing liquid for an excitation light of a predetermined wavelength to determine if the cleaning of the washing tool has been completed. Rather Uno is directed towards detection of absorbance for performing the determination of the whether or not the tool is clean. However, the determining the cleanliness of an item based on the spent liquid utilized to clean it via fluorometry is known in the art, as seen by Jenkins.
Gheparde disclose an art related manner of washing an item/tool (abstract), wherein it is known that a controller may control a washing step based on a detective fluorescence [0050].
Jenkins discloses determining cleanliness of an object based on the fluorometric monitoring of a rinse solution used to clean said object (abstract & Col.8 lines 45-48). Specifically, a rinse solution containing impurities from the cleaning of the object is fluorometrically monitored (Col.8 line 52 to Col.9 line 5 & Col.9 lines 20-41). The presence and concentration of a species (e.g., contaminant) within the fluid and the fluid is determined based on the measured emission intensity of fluorescence (Col.4 lines 45-60) and a wavelength utilized is predetermined in order to ensure good relative fluorescence (Col.4 line 65 to Col.5 line 5). Jenkins further indicates that a fluorometer for performing fluorometric analysis has excitation and emission filters (Col. 6 lines 40-46) with a detector being understood to be present in order to detect the fluorescence (see also Col.4 lines 13-15 & 25-37). Thus, the fluorometer reads on a fluorescence analysis part. Jenkins and Uno are related in the field of cleaning for semiconductor devices (Col.1 lines 17-30). Detecting the fluorescence of the liquid and contaminant therein allows for quick and accurate determination of the state of the liquid and the item being cleaned (Col.1 lines 13-15 & Col.3 line 39-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Uno to utilize a fluorometer (i.e., fluorescence analysis part) to analyze the condition of the washing liquid and via measurement of the fluorescence intensity for an excitation light of a predetermined wavelength to obtain quick and accurate determination of the state of the liquid and the item being cleaned (Jenkins Col.1 lines 13-15 & Col.3 line 39-45). The modification would perform the determination of whether the cleaning of the tool is complete based on the fluorescence intensity rather than the absorbance. A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to utilize a controller for determining whether the cleaning cycle needs to be extended based on the fluorescence, as it is known to use a controller to do so (Gheparde [0050]).
Accordingly, Modified Uno the determination of the presence of a target species (i.e., contaminant) is made based on the fluorescence intensity at the emission wavelength in response to the excitation wavelength (Jenkins Col.4 lines 10-50). Jenkins also indicates that separate wavelengths can be utilized for exciting each target species in the fluid (Col.6 lines 10-15), while also envisaging the possibility of utilizing a single wavelength for multiple species via the phrase “preferably”. Thus, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to measure a first intensity and second intensity associated with a first and second wavelength respectively to determine the presence of a contaminant. Further, Uno indicates that the washing tool is a PVA sponge [0010 & 0038], and that the washing of such tools results in starch and PVA eluted from the sponge which act as possible contaminants and cause defects [0010 & 0041]. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to utilize first and second wavelengths associated with the fluorescence wavelengths of starch and PVA. Modified Uno does not explicitly disclose the washing of the tool being completed when a measured value of the fluorescence intensities is below a set value. However, such a feature is known in the field as seen by Kaiser and Kawasaki.
Kaiser discloses a manner for decontaminating sensitive equipment (abstract), such as electrical equipment [0006-0007], wherein it is disclosed that items cleaned in a bath are considered clean once the fluid used for cleaning said items has a fluorescence below a preset value [0167]. Operation of components is controlled via a controller [0150 & 0157-0158]. Kaiser and Uno are related in the decontamination of items for use with electronical equipment.
Kawasaki discloses a cleaning system where cleaning performance can be evaluated. Specifically, Kawasaki discloses that cleaning operations can dilute and dissolve a fluorescent contaminant [0073], such that as a cleaning process continues the concentration of the contaminant, and the fluorescence of the liquid, will decrease until it reaches a value which is considered to be considered clean [0074-0075]. Kawasaki and Uno are related in the monitoring a cleaning process based on liquid extracted from the cleaning operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Uno to determine that the tool is clean when the fluorescence of starch and PVA are below preset values which are indicative of their reduced concentration within the liquid and a clean state of the tool (Kaiser [0167 & Kawasaki [0073-0075]). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a known manner for determining an endpoint for cleaning in place of another, when such is known in the field, with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 9, Modified Uno teaches the cleaning apparatus of claim 1 provided in a substrate washing apparatus, wherein a washing process is performed on a substrate using the washing tool that was subjected to a washing process by the cleaning apparatus (See claim 10. Figs.5-7, & [0026-0031 & 0046]).
As to claim 12, Modified Uno teaches the cleaning apparatus of claim 4, provided in a substrate washing apparatus, wherein a washing process is performed on a substrate using the washing tool that was subjected to a washing process by the cleaning apparatus (See claim 10. Figs.5-7, & [0026-0031 & 0046]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711