NON-FINAL ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7 October 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of in the specification.
The abstract of the disclosure is acceptable.
The title of the invention is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the preamble recites “A method for facilitating separation of a set of target materials from a sample, the system comprising”. The term “the system” lacks antecedent basis, and it is unclear whether a method or a system is claimed. Claims 2-9 are rejected for the same reason because they depend from claim 1.
Claim 6 recites that the internal volume is separated “prior to accumulation”, which contradicts claim 5, upon which said claim depends, which requires that the region are not separated during accumulation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-11, 14-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jablonski et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,835,186) in view of Turner (U.S. Patent No. 3,911,918).
Regarding claim 1, Jablonski discloses a method for facilitating separation of a set of target materials from a sample (“providing microbubbles coated with an affinity molecule in a solution, contacting the microbubbles with a species that interacts with the affinity molecule in a solution, thereby generating microbubbles coated with the species, and allowing the microbubbles coated with the species to float to the top of the solution, thereby separating the species from the solution”, col. 2 line 65 – col. 3 line 7), the sample comprising: adding the sample to a container, wherein the sample comprises the set of target materials (the species isolated includes “viruses, cells, cellular components”, col. 16 lines 53-64); adding a set of buoyant particles to the container (“one-tenth volume of microbubble suspension was added to the cell suspension and gently agitated for several minutes at room temperature”, col. 20 lines 21-23), wherein the set of buoyant particles is configured to bind with at least a portion of the set of target materials, thereby producing a set of target-bound materials (“providing microbubbles coated with an affinity molecule in a solution, contacting the microbubbles with a species that interacts with the affinity molecule in a solution, thereby generating microbubbles coated with the species, and allowing the microbubbles coated with the species to float to the top of the solution, thereby separating the species from the solution”, col. 3 lines 1-7); “The coated microbubbles of the invention bind to the target species, including cells, viruses, analytes or other molecules”, col. 16 lines 65-66); enabling an accumulation of the set of target-bound materials within the second region, thereby facilitating the separation (“The coated microbubbles of the invention bind to the target species, including cells, viruses, analytes or other molecules and then rise to the surface of the solution, thus separating themselves from the contacting solution and non-target species”, col. 16 line 65 – col. 17 line 5; “The microbubbles were allowed to float to the surface of the mixture by natural buoyancy over 10 minutes”, col. 20 lines 23-25), but does not disclose with a sealing component, separating an internal volume of the container into at least a first region and a second region.
Turner discloses analogous art related to a flexible container (10, Fig. 1-2) that is divided into regions by a sealing component, with a sealing component separating an internal volume of the container into at least a first region and a second region (“After the blood contained in container 10 has been separated either by sedimentation or in a centrifuging process, these containers can be sealed along an intermediate portion of the transfer conduit portion represented by letter A. The transfer conduit neck portion is sealed by utilizing a conventional heat sealing process. Container is separated into two self-contained storage compartments by making a cut along line A after a heat sealing operation has been performed”, col. 4 line 65 – col. 5 line 6; “a pair of rupturable seals, one at the bottom of said upper compartment and another at the top of said lower compartment”, claim 1). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed the buoyant affinity separation of Jablonski in the sealable flexible container of Turner and to have sealed the container between the accumulated target-bound materials and the remainder of the sample, for the purpose of providing a container capable of storing and separating components into a number of predescribed compartments which can be individually separated into self-contained storage means (col. 2 lines 18-22, Turner).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Jablonski and Turner discloses wherein at least a portion of the container is deformable (“an integrally formed flexible plastic container”, col. 1 lines 56-63, Turner).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jablonski and Turner discloses wherein the set of buoyant particles is associated with a first density, wherein the sample is associated with a second density, wherein the second density is greater than the first density (Jablonski discloses glass microbubbles having “a density of about 0.6 g/cc”, col. 2 lines 15-18, that float “to the top of the solution” of an aqueous sample, col. 2 line 65 – col. 3 line 7, “The coated microbubbles of the invention bind to the target species, including cells, viruses, analytes or other molecules and then rise to the surface of the solution, thus separating themselves from the contacting solution and non-target species”, col. 16 line 65 – col. 17 line 5).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Jablonski and Turner discloses wherein the internal volume of the container is separated after accumulation of the set of target-bound materials within the second region (“After the blood contained in container 10 has been separated either by sedimentation or in a centrifuging process, these containers can be sealed along an intermediate portion of the transfer conduit portion”, col. 4 line 66 – col. 5 line 10, Turner). In the combination, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sealed the container after the target-bound materials have accumulated.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Jablonski and Turner discloses wherein the set of target-bound materials are accumulated within the second region while the first region and the second region are not separated (the narrow transfer conduit portion allows fluid flow communication between two storage compartments until sealed, col. 1 lines 56-63, Turner).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Jablonski and Turner discloses wherein the second region is superiorly-located relative to the first region (“The coated microbubbles of the invention bind to the target species, including cells, viruses, analytes or other molecules and then rise to the surface of the solution, thus separating themselves from the contacting solution and non-target species”, col. 16 line 65 – col. 17 line 5, Jablonski). In the combination the seal is placed below the floated fraction, so the second region holding the target-bound materials is superiorly located relative to the first region.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Jablonski and Turner discloses further comprising extracting the target-bound materials from the container (“50 to 100% decrease in colony forming units, which were recovered by resuspension and plating”, col. 22 lines 22-37, Jablonski; “they are withdrawn from the transfer conduit neck portion 13 by a hypodermic syringe under aseptic conditions”, col. 5 lines 40-48, Turner).
Regarding claim 10, Jablonski in view of Turner discloses a system for facilitating separation of a set of target materials from a sample, the system comprising: a container, wherein at least a portion of the container is deformable (“an integrally formed flexible plastic container”, col. 1 lines 56-63, Turner), wherein the container is configured to retain: the sample, wherein the sample comprises the set of target materials (the species isolated includes “viruses, cells, cellular components”, col. 16 lines 53-64, Jablonski); and a set of buoyant particles, (“one-tenth volume of microbubble suspension was added to the cell suspension and gently agitated for several minutes at room temperature”, col. 20 lines 21-23, Jablonski) wherein the set of buoyant particles is configured to bind with at least a portion of the set of target materials, thereby producing a set of target-bound materials (“providing microbubbles coated with an affinity molecule in a solution, contacting the microbubbles with a species that interacts with the affinity molecule in a solution, thereby generating microbubbles coated with the species, and allowing the microbubbles coated with the species to float to the top of the solution, thereby separating the species from the solution”, col. 3 lines 1-7, Jablonski); a sealing component configured to separate an internal volume of the container into at least a first region and a second region (“After the blood contained in container 10 has been separated either by sedimentation or in a centrifuging process, these containers can be sealed along an intermediate portion of the transfer conduit portion represented by letter A. The transfer conduit neck portion is sealed by utilizing a conventional heat sealing process. Container is separated into two self-contained storage compartments by making a cut along line A after a heat sealing operation has been performed”, col. 4 line 65 – col. 5 line 6; “a pair of rupturable seals, one at the bottom of said upper compartment and another at the top of said lower compartment”, claim 1); and a fluid handling subsystem configured to apply a force to the container, thereby enabling accumulation of the set of target-bound materials within the second region (“After the blood contained in container 10 has been separated either by sedimentation or in a centrifuging process, these containers can be sealed along an intermediate portion of the transfer conduit portion”, col. 4 line 66 – col. 5 line 10, Turner).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Jablonski and Turner discloses wherein the set of buoyant particles is associated with a first density, wherein the sample is associated with a second density, wherein the second density is greater than the first density (Jablonski discloses glass microbubbles having “a density of about 0.6 g/cc”, col. 2 lines 15-18, that float “to the top of the solution” of an aqueous sample, col. 2 line 65 – col. 3 line 7, “The coated microbubbles of the invention bind to the target species, including cells, viruses, analytes or other molecules and then rise to the surface of the solution, thus separating themselves from the contacting solution and non-target species”, col. 16 line 65 – col. 17 line 5).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Jablonski and Turner discloses wherein the force comprises a centrifugal force (“After the blood contained in container 10 has been separated either by sedimentation or in a centrifuging process, these containers can be sealed along an intermediate portion of the transfer conduit portion”, col. 4 line 66 – col. 5 line 10, Turner).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Jablonski and Turner discloses wherein the second region is superiorly-located relative to the first region (“The coated microbubbles of the invention bind to the target species, including cells, viruses, analytes or other molecules and then rise to the surface of the solution, thus separating themselves from the contacting solution and non-target species”, col. 16 line 65 – col. 17 line 5, Jablonski). In the combination the seal is placed below the floated fraction, so the second region holding the target-bound materials is superiorly located relative to the first region.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Jablonski and Turner discloses wherein the container further comprises a draining component, wherein the draining component is configured to enable a draining process from the container (“Each of the storage compartments 11, 12 is provided at their outer ends, i.e., their upper and lower ends with port means 14, 15, respectively, which have removable caps C and are operable for receiving spike means (not shown) utilized to drain the storage compartments”, col. 2 line 66 – col. 3 line 7, Turner).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Jablonski and Turner discloses wherein the draining process is configured to be implemented after separation of the internal volume of the container (col. 5 lines 23-48, red cells are withdrawn after separation, Turner).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Jablonski and Turner discloses wherein the sealing component is configured to permanently separate the internal volume of the container after separation of the set of target materials from the sample (“Container 10 is separated into two self-contained storage compartments by making a cut along line A after a heat sealing operation has been performed”, col. 5 lines 4-6, Turner).
Claims 6, 7, 12, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jablonski in view of Turner, as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Rogers (U.S. Patent No. 4,416,778).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Jablonski and Turner does not disclose wherein the internal volume of the container is separated prior to accumulation of the set of target-bound materials within the second region.
Rogers discloses a flexible multi-chamber container system wherein the internal volume of the container is separated prior to accumulation of the set of target-bound materials within the second region (col. 3 lines 16-47). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of combined Jablosnki and Turner to have the container separated prior to accumulation of separated components as taught by Rogers for the purpose of avoiding disturbing the density continuum established in the bag (col. 9 lines 22-40, Rogers).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Jablonski and Turner does not disclose wherein the sealing component comprises a valve.
Rogers discloses a flexible multi-chamber container system in which the sealing component is a valve (claim 1). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the heat seal at the neck of the method of the combination of Jablonski and Turner with the valve of Rogers, for the purpose of isolating the two regions or to establish communication between those two chambers (col. 9 line 66 – col. 10 line 11, Rogers).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Jablonski and Turner does not disclose wherein the sealing component is operable between a closed configuration and an open configuration.
Rogers disclose wherein the sealing component is operable between a closed configuration and an open configuration (claim 1). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the heat seal at the neck of the system of the combination of Jablonski and Turner with the valve of Rogers, for the purpose of isolating the two regions or to establish communication between those two chambers (col. 9 line 66 – col. 10 line 11, Rogers).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Jablonski, Turner, and Rogers discloses wherein the set of target-bound materials is accumulated within the second region while the sealing component is in the open configuration (“After the blood contained in container 10 has been separated either by sedimentation or in a centrifuging process, these containers can be sealed along an intermediate portion of the transfer conduit portion”, col. 4 line 66 – col. 5 line 10, Turner). In the combination, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sealed the container after the target-bound materials have accumulated.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Jablonski, Turner, and Rogers discloses wherein the fluid handling subsystem comprises an automated fluid handling subsystem (“Thus the FIG. 8 valve means 82 functions as both a static seal and a dynamic seal which opens and closes automatically at the proper times in the described process.”, col. 10 lines 44-47, Rogers).
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jablonski in view of Turner, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Steplewski et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,182,192, hereinafter Steplewski).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Jablonski and Turner does not disclose wherein the deformable bag is a leukophoresis bag.
Steplewski discloses wherein the deformable bag is a leukophoresis bag (col. 11 lines 19-47). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system of combined Jablonski and Turner with a leukophoresis bag taught by Steplewski for the purpose of binding autologous peripheral blood mononuclear cells to monoclonal antibodies (col. 11 lines 19-47, Steplewski).
Conclusion
/Shuyi S. Liu/Examiner, Art Unit 1774