Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(b)
1. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
2. Regarding Claim 10:
The terms “extensive” and “blurred” in claim 10 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “extensive” and “blurred” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this case the term extensive could refer to a distance in a specific orientation. However, there is no clarification as to what axis of the beam profile is extensive or what extensive may indicate in terms of the distance occupied. Similarly, the term “blurred” could be any spot size not having a diffraction limited focal point. There is no additional information regarding the specific state of blurring or how much larger the blurred spot may be than a perfectly focused beam.
3. Regarding Claim 11:
Claim 11 depends on Claim 10 and is therefore rejected due to dependence on a rejected claim. While Claim 11 does introduce the limitation of the size of the seed spot relative to the pump spot, this provides no additional information regarding the state of blur of the pump spot.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-9, 11-12, & 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roecker et al (“Direct amplification of sub-300 fs pulses in a versatile thin-disk multipass amplifier”), hereinafter Roecker in view of Neuhaus et al (DE 102019131507), hereinafter Neuhaus.
5. Regarding Claim 1:
Roecker teaches a laser system comprising a multipass thin-disk laser amplifier, ([Abstract]: We report on a kW-class ultrafast laser amplifier emitting sub-300 fs pulses with a pulse peak power exceeding 1 GW. It is based on the direct amplification of 260 fs pulses in a versatile thin-disk multipass amplifier). See figures 1-3, & 9. Roecker teaches the multipass amplifier comprises a laser-active medium, ([P. 2, Right hand column, paragraph 4]: A 125 μm thick Yb:YAG disk with a doping of 11 at.% was used as the gain medium in the multipass amplifier stage). See figures 1-9.
Roecker does not explicitly teach a control unit that is configured to keep a thermal load on the laser-active medium substantially constant over a range of a laser output power of the output beam, wherein the thermal load is determined by at least two different power sources.
However, Neuhaus teaches, ([0071]: In the open state, in addition to the position of the seed laser beam and the small signal amplification, the size of the seed laser beam is also determined via the camera (13, 14). From this the thermal lens or at least a change in the thermal lens of the gain medium ( 5 ) determine. In order to keep this thermal lens constant and the resonator ( 4th ) To operate in thermal equilibrium, the pump power is controlled in this embodiment so that the thermal lens remains constant). Neuhaus further teaches, ([0036]: To avoid a change in the state of thermal equilibrium, it is expedient if the disk laser amplifier comprises means for determining the temperature of the laser amplification medium, as well as means for changing the pump power. The temperature is determined e.g. via an IR sensor, or a temperature is calculated indirectly via a previously defined relationship between pump power and extracted power and the pump power is adjusted so that the temperature remains essentially constant). Neuhaus goes on to teach, ([0016]: When amplifying a seed laser pulse that was previously generated with the aid of a laser oscillator, the overall amplification results somewhat from the amplification with a simple transition of the seed laser pulse over the laser amplification medium and the number of revolutions of the laser pulse in the resonator. This can result in deviations in the pulse energy from the target pulse energy when changing the repetition rate and possibly adjusting the length of the amplification time. In order to keep the pulse energy of the amplified laser pulse constant, it is expedient in this case that the disk laser amplifier comprises means for attenuating the seed laser pulse energy before it is coupled into the resonator). Neuhaus continues to teach, ([0039]: The disk laser amplifier expediently additionally comprises means for determining the seed laser pulse energy, the seed laser pulse attenuation then being designed in such a way that changes in the seed laser pulse energy are compensated for). Neuhaus carries on teaching, ([0043]-[0044]: The means for changing the peak power of the coupled-out amplified laser pulse can be implemented, for example, as an electro-optical switch which can be opened at two different switching speeds. When the electro-optical switch is open, laser pulses are coupled out of the resonator. It is then advantageous if one of the switching speeds is slower than the time it takes for a pulse to circulate in the resonator. It is even better if the switching speed is much longer than several, e.g.> 10, revolutions in the resonator.
An electro-optical switch with several switching speeds can comprise several electro-optical switches, each of which, taken individually, has a fixed switching speed, but enables two switching speeds in combination. E.g. these switches can be connected in series. With two electro-optical switches, for example, the slow switch can initially be closed and the fast switch open. The fast switch can then be closed for quick closing of the electro-optical switch for coupling a pulse into the resonator. When the amplified pulse is decoupled, either the fast or the slow switch is opened).
See figures 1-3.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Roecker with Neuhaus to include a control unit that is configured to keep a thermal load on the laser-active medium substantially constant over a range of a laser output power of the output beam, wherein the thermal load is determined by at least two different power sources, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Roecker with Neuhaus since, such a configuration can maintain a constant thermal lens, which will maintain constant beam parameters, (Neuhaus: [0037]: It is also expedient if the disk laser amplifier comprises means for determining the thermal lens of the laser amplification medium. These can include, for example, a camera system for monitoring the beam size, or a Shack-Hartmann sensor. The means for changing the pump power are then designed in such a way that the pump power is changed in accordance with the thermal lens and so the thermal lens of the laser amplification medium remains essentially constant).
6. Regarding Claim 2:
Roecker teaches the multipass amplifier comprises a multipass disk laser amplifier. See Claim 1.
7. Regarding Claim 3:
Roecker does not explicitly teach, the control unit is configured to keep the thermal load on the laser-active medium constant in a range of ±10%.
However, Neuhaus teaches, ([0036]: To avoid a change in the state of thermal equilibrium, it is expedient if the disk laser amplifier comprises means for determining the temperature of the laser amplification medium, as well as means for changing the pump power. The temperature is determined e.g. via an IR sensor, or a temperature is calculated indirectly via a previously defined relationship between pump power and extracted power and the pump power is adjusted so that the temperature remains essentially constant).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Roecker with Neuhaus to include a control unit configured to keep the thermal load on the laser-active medium constant in a range of ±10%, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Roecker with Neuhaus since, as stated by Neuhaus above, “it is expedient if the disk laser amplifier comprises means for determining the temperature of the laser amplification medium, as well as means for changing the pump power”, “and the pump power is adjusted so that the temperature remains essentially constant”. In addition, such a configuration can maintain a constant thermal lens, which will maintain constant beam parameters, (Neuhaus: [0037]: It is also expedient if the disk laser amplifier comprises means for determining the thermal lens of the laser amplification medium. These can include, for example, a camera system for monitoring the beam size, or a Shack-Hartmann sensor. The means for changing the pump power are then designed in such a way that the pump power is changed in accordance with the thermal lens and so the thermal lens of the laser amplification medium remains essentially constant).
8. Regarding Claim 4:
Roecker does not explicitly teach, the control unit is configured to keep the thermal load on the laser-active medium constant in a range of ±5%.
However, Neuhaus teaches this, see Claim 3.
9. Regarding Claims 5 & 17:
Roecker as modified by Neuhaus teaches the control unit is configured to keep the thermal load on the laser-active medium substantially constant over the range of the laser output power by adapting powers of the at least two power sources contributing to the thermal load of the laser-active medium by manual setting and/or by a mathematical model and/or by an assignment table. See Claims 1 & 3.
10. Regarding Claims 6 & 16:
Roecker as modified by Neuhaus teaches a seed laser and a pump laser are provided as the at least two power sources contributing to the thermal load on the laser-active medium, wherein the seed laser and the pump laser are configured to irradiate the laser-active medium, wherein the control unit is configured to adapt a seed power of the seed laser and a pump power of the pump laser together over the range of the laser output power so that the thermal load on the laser-active medium is substantially constant. See Claims 1 & 3.
11. Regarding Claims 7 & 18:
Roecker as modified by Neuhaus teaches the control unit is configured to keep a beam quality and/or at least one beam parameter of the output beam substantially constant over the range of the laser output power, so that the beam quality and/or the beam parameter has, over the range of the laser output power, a maximum relative fluctuation of ±10%, (Roecker: [P. 3, right hand column, paragraphs 1 & 2]-[P. 4, left hand column, paragraph 1]: The beam quality of the amplified primary output beam was measured to be close to diffraction limited (M2 x = 1.27/ M2 y = 1.20) using a commercial Spiricon M2-200s device. Fig. 3 shows the caustic recorded at maximum output power. The insets show the spatial intensity distributions in the indicated planes of the caustic. The pulse duration of the amplified pulses was optimized to a minimum value of 294 fs (FWHM) at the maximum output power of 528 W by adjusting the integrated grating compressor of the seed laser. To our knowledge, this is the shortest pulse duration obtained from a high-power Yb:YAG amplifier without nonlinear broadening and recompression stages. At this compressor setting, the pulse duration (FWHM) of the seed laser pulses was measured to be 266 fs. The FROG traces and the retrieved temporal intensity and phase curves of the seed and the amplified laser pulses are shown in Fig. 4a–c and d–f, respectively. While the FROG measurement of the seed laser pulses indicates a negative pre-chirp with a group delay dispersion (GDD) of approx. −7900 fs2, the measurement of the amplified output pulses indicates a GDD of 413 fs2. The minimum pulse duration of the amplified pulses was estimated to be 272 fs by assuming a flat spectral phase. With this, the ratio between the calculated minimum pulse duration and the measured pulse duration is 92.5%, confirming a well compressed pulse at the exit of the amplifier). Roecker as modified by Neuhaus further teaches, (Roecker: [P. 6, left hand column, paragraph 1]: As shown in Fig. 6, the output power was monitored during approx. 570 min. The result shows that even abrupt interruptions of the pumping power (blue circles) have no damaging effect and the laser resumes with the same performance after switching on the full pumping power again. Although a slow thermal drift is observed within the first four hours of operation, which leads to an increase of the output power from 513 W to 528 W, the M2 was not affected significantly. This was confirmed by two measurements of the M2 which were recorded at the start and before the end of the long-term measurement as indicated by the purple marks in Fig. 6(a). The measured output power during the 330 min long time interval indicated by the red rectangle in Fig. 6(a) is shown in more detail in Fig. 6(b). During this interval the standard deviation (STD) of the power was 1.26 W, while the Peak-to-Valley (PV) deviation was 19 W. Normalized to the average power of 527.8 W, this corresponds to a relative power fluctuation of approx. 0.24% and a relative PV deviation of 3.6%).
See Claim 1.
12. Regarding Claims 8 & 19:
Roecker teaches the beam quality or the at least one beam parameter of the output beam comprises at least one of a waist diameter, a waist position, or M squared.
See Claim 7.
13. Regarding Claim 9:
Roecker teaches a monitoring device for monitoring the beam quality and/or the at least one beam parameter of the amplified output laser beam.
See Claim 7.
14. Regarding Claim 11:
Roecker teaches the pump laser is configured to generate a pump spot on the laser-active medium, wherein a diameter of the pump spot is greater by a factor of 1 to 1.5 than a diameter of a seed spot on the laser-active medium generated by the seed laser, ([P. 2, Right hand column, paragraph 4]: the beam size and divergence of the seed laser beam are adapted to fit to the pump spot diameter of approx. 5.4 mm on the thin-disk and to allow for a free propagation).
15. Regarding Claim 12:
Roecker does not explicitly teach a temperature measurement unit configured to determine the thermal load of the laser-active medium by measuring a temperature of the laser-active medium.
However, Neuhaus teaches, ([0037]: To avoid a change in the state of thermal equilibrium, it is expedient if the disk laser amplifier comprises means for determining the temperature of the laser amplification medium, as well as means for changing the pump power. The temperature is determined e.g. via an IR sensor).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Roecker with Neuhaus to include a temperature measurement unit configured to determine the thermal load of the laser-active medium by measuring a temperature of the laser-active medium, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Roecker with Neuhaus since, such a configuration can “avoid a change in thermal equilibrium” as disclosed by Neuhaus above, In addition, measuring the thermal load on the gain medium in order to maintain a constant thermal lens, which will maintain constant beam parameters is advantageous, (Neuhaus: [0037]: It is also expedient if the disk laser amplifier comprises means for determining the thermal lens of the laser amplification medium. These can include, for example, a camera system for monitoring the beam size, or a Shack-Hartmann sensor. The means for changing the pump power are then designed in such a way that the pump power is changed in accordance with the thermal lens and so the thermal lens of the laser amplification medium remains essentially constant).
16. Regarding Claim 15:
Roecker as modified by Neuhaus teaches, A method for amplifying a seed laser beam in a multipass amplifier comprising a laser-active medium, the method comprising: amplifying the seed laser beam using the multipass amplifier to provide an amplified output beam, and keeping a thermal load on the laser-active medium substantially constant over a range of a laser output power, wherein the thermal load is determined by at least two different power sources, and wherein the thermal load on the laser-active medium is kept constant in a range of ±10%.
See Claims 1 & 3.
17. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roecker et al (“Direct amplification of sub-300 fs pulses in a versatile thin-disk multipass amplifier”), hereinafter Roecker in view of Neuhaus et al (DE 102019131507), hereinafter Neuhaus, as applied to Claims 1 & 6, and further in view of Goodno et al (EP 1708320 A1), Hereinafter Goodno.
18. Regarding Claim 10:
Roecker as modified by Neuhaus does not explicitly teach the pump laser is configured to generate an extensive blurred pump spot on the laser-active medium.
However, Goodno teaches, ([0022]: Similarly to Fig 2A, the auxiliary pump array 16 may consist of an array of fiber-coupled lasers or laser diodes arranged in an equivalent manner to deposit power in spatially localized regions in the slab. The use of fiber-coupled auxiliary pumps has some advantages in that the high beam quality obtainable from commerically available fiber-coupled laser diodes can eliminate the need for imaging lenses 18, 20, 22, 24, which reduces volume and simplifies the design, assembly, and parts count. Furthemore, as only the output ends of the fiber coupled auxiliary lasers need to be located in close proximity to the gain module, the auxiliary lasers themselves can be located remotely from the gain module which can provide further advantages for purposes of thermal management and packaging). Thus, the pump light exiting any fiber with no optic between the fiber and the gain medium will result in a extensive de-focused pump spot on the active medium. For the purposes of compact prosecution, examiner understands “blurred pump spot” to be anything other than a diffraction limited focal spot corresponding to the M2 of the system and numerical aperture of any optics used to focus the beam.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Roecker as modified by Neuhaus with Goodno to include the pump laser is configured to generate an extensive blurred pump spot on the laser-active medium, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Roecker as modified by Neuhaus with Goodno since, a defocused pump spot equal to or larger than the corresponding coupling face of the gain medium, with a Rayleigh length equal to or greater than the length of the corresponding axis of the gain medium will reduce thermal hot spots, making achieving and regulating thermal equilibrium more efficient.
19. Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roecker et al (“Direct amplification of sub-300 fs pulses in a versatile thin-disk multipass amplifier”), hereinafter Roecker in view of Neuhaus et al (DE 102019131507), hereinafter Neuhaus, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Zayhowski et al (US 5386427 A), Hereinafter Zayhowski.
20. Regarding Claim 13:
Roecker as modified by Neuhaus does not teach the at least two power sources contributing to the thermal load of the laser-active medium comprise a cooling unit configured to cool the laser-active medium and/or a heating element configured to heat the laser-active medium, wherein a cooling power of the cooling unit and a heating power of the heating element have no direct influence on the laser output power of the output beam.
However, Zayhowski teaches, ([Col. 3, Lines 26-38]: There are a number of methods for heating the heat source 14 and cooling the heat sink 12. In FIG. 1, the annular heat source 14 is comprised of an electrically resistive material. A voltage differential, regulated by the controller 16, is applied across the heat source 14, causing a current to flow through the electrically resistive material. The heat produced by the heat source 14 increases as the voltage increases. The cooling rate is again regulated by the controller 16. One method of cooling comprises a thermal-electric cooler. Other methods of heating and cooling are available and are discussed below in conjunction with alternate embodiments of the invention). Zayhowski further teaches, ([Col. 3, Lines 26-38]: FIG. 3 demonstrates how the laser gain medium 46 can also be the thermal-lens material for the purpose of this invention. The laser gain medium 46, disposed along the optical axis A, is pumped by pump 40, producing a resonant beam of light inside the cavity formed between the entrance mirror 42 and exit mirror 44. The center of the gain medium 46, along optical axis A, is normally hotter than the perimeter of the gain medium, which is normally cooled. This causes a pump-induced thermal lensing effect 52 within the gain medium 46. In this embodiment, the heat sink 12 is thermally connected to the gain medium 46 in a circular locus of points on the face of the gain medium 46, centered on the optical axis A. The heat source 14 is thermally connected to the opposite face of the gain medium 46 in an annular locus of points. The controller 16 induces a temperature differential between the heat sink 12 and heat source 14 in such a way that the pump-induced thermal lensing effect 52 in the gain medium 46 is offset by the refractive index gradients induced by the controller 16).
Examiner understands a direct influence on the laser output power to be a direct change in the output power of the seed laser or the pump laser, caused by the heating or cooling element, which would directly change the laser output power, (Spec: [0039]: In addition to the seed power and pump power, external power sources can also be used for thermal load maintenance of the laser-active medium of the laser amplification system. Unlike seed power and pump power, these power sources do not directly influence the laser output power of the laser system, but have a direct influence on the thermal load. For the sake of accuracy, however, it should be noted that an indirect influence on the laser output power is also induced by the change in temperature of the laser-active medium brought about by the thermal load. However, this effect should be neglected).
Zayhowski discloses no change in the output power of the pump or seed laser resulting from the cooling or heating of the gain medium. Indeed, maintaining thermal equilibrium via the use of heating or cooling elements is used to reduce or control thermal lensing in order to stabilize the output power and beam quality without directly changing the pump or seed power, thus the only influence is indirect.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Roecker as modified by Neuhaus with Zayhowski to include the at least two power sources contributing to the thermal load of the laser-active medium comprise a cooling unit configured to cool the laser-active medium and/or a heating element configured to heat the laser-active medium, wherein a cooling power of the cooling unit and a heating power of the heating element have no direct influence on the laser output power of the output beam, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Roecker as modified by Neuhaus with Zayhowski since, ([Col. 1, Lines 17-24]: In the process of pumping the gain medium of a laser, heat is generated. This heat results in a nonuniform temperature distribution within the gain medium and a phenomenon called thermal lensing occurs. Thermal lensing is an optical distortion caused by the combination of a nonuniform temperature distribution and a temperature dependent index of refraction, thermal expansion, or both). Thus, by heating or cooling sections of the gain medium, thermal equilibrium can be maintained, reducing or eliminating the effects of thermal lensing on desired beam parameters.
21. Regarding Claim 14:
Roecker as modified by Zayhowski does not teach the control unit is configured to: adapt, at a constant seed power and a changing pump power, the heating power of the heating element and/or the cooling power of the cooling unit so that the thermal load on the laser-active medium is substantially constant over the range of the laser output power.
However, Neuhaus teaches, ([0036]: To avoid a change in the state of thermal equilibrium, it is expedient if the disk laser amplifier comprises means for determining the temperature of the laser amplification medium, as well as means for changing the pump power. The temperature is determined e.g. via an IR sensor, or a temperature is calculated indirectly via a previously defined relationship between pump power and extracted power and the pump power is adjusted so that the temperature remains essentially constant).
Roecker as modified by Zayhowski does not teach adapting, at a constant pump power and a changing seed power, the heating power of the heating element and/or the cooling power of the cooling unit so that the thermal load on the laser-active medium is substantially constant over the range of the laser output power.
However, Neuhaus teaches, ([0016]: When amplifying a seed laser pulse that was previously generated with the aid of a laser oscillator, the overall amplification results somewhat from the amplification with a simple transition of the seed laser pulse over the laser amplification medium and the number of revolutions of the laser pulse in the resonator. This can result in deviations in the pulse energy from the target pulse energy when changing the repetition rate and possibly adjusting the length of the amplification time. In order to keep the pulse energy of the amplified laser pulse constant, it is expedient in this case that the disk laser amplifier comprises means for attenuating the seed laser pulse energy before it is coupled into the resonator). Neuhaus further teaches, ([0018]: It is favorable if the means for attenuating the seed laser pulse energy are designed in such a way that the ratio of target pulse energy to the attenuated seed laser pulse energy is equal to one from the small-signal amplification ( 6th ) calculated overall gain).
Roecker as modified by Zayhowski does not teach adapting, at a maximum pump power and the changing seed power, an effective pump power effectively irradiating the laser-active medium by targeted outcoupling of a pump power by using an auxiliary resonator and/or an absorber so that the thermal load on the laser-active medium is substantially constant over the range of the laser output power.
However, Neuhaus teaches, ([0039]: The disk laser amplifier expediently additionally comprises means for determining the seed laser pulse energy, the seed laser pulse attenuation then being designed in such a way that changes in the seed laser pulse energy are compensated for). Neuhaus further teaches, ([0040]: It is advantageous if the disk laser amplifier additionally comprises an auxiliary resonator which oscillates automatically when a certain fluorescence power is exceeded. For this purpose, the decoupling rate of the auxiliary resonator must be selected to be so high that the auxiliary resonator does not start to oscillate during normal operation of the disk laser amplifier).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Roecker as modified by Zayhowski with Neuhaus to include varying or maintaining seed power, pump power, heating or cooling so that the thermal load on the laser-active medium is substantially constant over the range of the laser output power., since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Roecker as modified by Zayhowski with Neuhaus since, maintaining a constant thermal load on the gain medium will maintain a constant thermal lens, maintaining constant beam parameters, which is advantageous, (Neuhaus: [0037]: It is also expedient if the disk laser amplifier comprises means for determining the thermal lens of the laser amplification medium. These can include, for example, a camera system for monitoring the beam size, or a Shack-Hartmann sensor. The means for changing the pump power are then designed in such a way that the pump power is changed in accordance with the thermal lens and so the thermal lens of the laser amplification medium remains essentially constant).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20120212804 A1: Discloses a laser system with a multipass disk amplifier.
/J.W.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645