DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to communication filed on 8/14/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 21 are pending, of which claims 1, 10, and 16 are in independent form.
Specification
Applicant’s amendment to the specification received on 8/14/2026 is entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 6, 9 – 11, 13 – 16, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al., U.S. Patent 9,092,180 (hereinafter referred to as Anderson) (from Applicant’s IDS) in view of Oberman, “Floating Point Division and Square Root Algorithms and Implementation in the AMD-K7 Microprocessor” (hereinafter referred to as Oberman), further in view of Hammarlund et al., U.S. Patent Application 2003/0126406 (hereinafter referred to as Hammarlund) (from Applicant’s IDS).
Referring to claim 1, Anderson discloses “A method comprising: receiving a first instruction” (Fig. 2b fetching in-flight instructions 202); “storing, in a first register, a first indicator that execution of the first instruction has not yet completed” (column 21 lines 3 – 9 profile data with latency and whether instructions were retired or not. Column 12 lines 56 – 63 latency registers), “wherein the first indicator specifies an expected time for completion of the execution of the first instruction” (column 7 lines 11-13 instructions scheduled according to measured latencies and column 27 lines 20-21 scheduling and predicting the latency of memory access instructions. Column 12 lines 56 – 63 latency registers store a count of cycles, which are later used as an expected time when scheduling and optimizing (as taught at column 24 lines 15 – 24, column 27 lines 16 – 29. As seen at column 28 lines 55 – 64 “it is possible to estimate memory system latency for the load operation”); “executing the first instruction” (Fig. 2b execute the instructions at 240); “receiving a second instruction” (Fig. 2b fetching in-flight instructions 202); “storing, in a second register, a second indicator that execution of the second instruction has not yet completed” (column 21 lines 3 – 9 profile data with latency and whether instructions were retired or not); “and executing the second instruction” (Fig. 2b execute the instructions at 240).
Anderson does not appear to explicitly disclose “determining that the first instruction is not variable latency; determining that the second instruction is variable latency.”
However, Oberman discloses “determining that the first instruction is not variable latency; determining that the second instruction is variable latency” (first paragraph on page 2 teaches division and square root instructions are infrequent, but important. They can degrade system performance. Section 6.2 variable latency of division and square root instructions. It is seen that the infrequent division and square root instructions are of variable latency while other instructions are of not variable latency).
Anderson and Oberman are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, which is instruction latency determinations.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Anderson and Oberman before him or her, to modify the teachings of Anderson to include the teachings of Oberman so that a first instruction is determined to have not variable latency and a second instruction is determined to have variable latency.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a means for scheduling and optimizing the instructions for a best performance (as described by Oberman at section 3.3).
Neither Anderson nor Oberman appears to explicitly disclose “wherein the second indicator does not specify an expected time for completion of the execution of the second instruction.”
However, Hammarlund discloses instructions having different and unknown latencies can be accommodated ([0044]). It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Hammarlund with Anderson/Oberman so that “the second indicator does not specify an expected time for completion of the execution of the second instruction.” In other words, if instruction latency is unknown (as taught by Hammarlund), it would have been obvious to utilize the profile data with latency of Anderson while not specifying an expected completion time.
Anderson, Oberman, and Hammarlund are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, which is instruction latency determinations.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Anderson, Oberman, and Hammarlund before him or her, to modify the teachings of Anderson and Oberman to include the teachings of Hammarlund so that the second indicator does not specify an expected time for completion of the execution of the second instruction.
The motivation for doing so would have been to accommodate both known and unknown latency instructions (as taught by Hammarlund at [0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hammarlund with Anderson and Oberman to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
As per claim 2, Anderson discloses “after the execution of the first instruction, updating the first indicator to specify that execution of the first instruction has completed; and after the execution of the second instruction, updating the second indicator to specify that execution of the second instruction has completed” (column 21 lines 3 – 9 profile data with latency and whether instructions were retired or not).
As per claim 4, Anderson discloses “the second instruction is associated with a
memory access operation” (column 6 lines 48 – 58 the instruction performs a memory operation).
As per claim 5, Oberman discloses “the second instruction is associated with a
mathematical operation” (first paragraph on page 2 teaches division and square root instructions are infrequent, but important. They can degrade system performance. Section 6.2 variable latency of division and square root instructions).
As per claim 6, Oberman discloses “a number of cycles to execute the second
instruction depends on a value of an operand of the second instruction” (4.1.1 operands and rounding errors, determining the minimum number of bits required for the multiplier).
As per claim 9, Anderson discloses “receiving a third instruction; and stalling execution of the third instruction until completion of the execution of the first instruction using the first indicator” (column 2 line 63 - column 3 line 4 stalling instructions, waiting for register dependencies, lack of free physical registers).
Referring to claim 10, Anderson discloses “A device comprising: fetch circuitry configured to receive an instruction; an execution pipeline configured to execute the instruction” (Fig. 2b fetch unit 210 receiving instructions 202 and execution stage 240 with Fig. 2a execution units 241 and ld/st unit 242); “and circuitry coupled to the execution pipeline and the fetch circuitry, wherein the circuitry includes a set of registers” (Column 12 lines 56 – 63 latency registers and Fig. 2b circuitry including counter 510, latencies 283, sample 299. Fig. 3 registers) “and is configured to, based on the instruction:” “cause an indicator to be stored in the set of registers that specifies whether execution of the instruction has completed” (column 21 lines 3 – 9 profile data with latency and whether instructions were retired or not) “such that” “the indicator further specifies an expected time for completion of execution of the instruction” (column 7 lines 11-13 instructions scheduled according to measured latencies and column 27 lines 20-21 scheduling and predicting the latency of memory access instructions. Column 12 lines 56 – 63 latency registers store a count of cycles, which are later used as an expected time when scheduling and optimizing (as taught at column 24 lines 15 – 24, column 27 lines 16 – 29. As seen at column 28 lines 55 – 64 “it is possible to estimate memory system latency for the load operation”).
Anderson does not appear to explicitly disclose circuitry “is configured to, based on the instruction: determine whether the instruction is variable latency” and “when the instruction is not variable latency, the indicator further specifies an expected time for completion of execution of the instruction and, when the instruction is variable latency, the indicator does not specify an expected time for completion of execution of the instruction.”
However, Oberman discloses “determine whether the instruction is variable latency” as well as “when the instruction is not variable latency” and “when the instruction is variable latency” (first paragraph on page 2 teaches division and square root instructions are infrequent, but important. They can degrade system performance. Section 6.2 variable latency of division and square root instructions. It is seen that the infrequent division and square root instructions are of variable latency while other instructions are of not variable latency).
Anderson and Oberman are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, which is instruction latency determinations.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Anderson and Oberman before him or her, to modify the teachings of Anderson to include the teachings of Oberman so that a first instruction is determined to have not variable latency and a second instruction is determined to have variable latency.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a means for scheduling and optimizing the instructions for a best performance (as described by Oberman at section 3.3).
Neither Anderson nor Oberman appears to explicitly disclose “when the instruction is not variable latency, the indicator further specifies an expected time for completion of execution of the instruction and, when the instruction is variable latency, the indicator does not specify an expected time for completion of execution of the instruction.”
However, Hammarlund discloses instructions having different and unknown latencies can be accommodated ([0044]). It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Hammarlund with Anderson/Oberman so that “when the instruction is not variable latency, the indicator further specifies an expected time for completion of execution of the instruction and, when the instruction is variable latency, the indicator does not specify an expected time for completion of execution of the instruction.” In other words, if instruction latency is unknown (as taught by Hammarlund), it would have been obvious to utilize the profile data with latency of Anderson while not specifying an expected completion time.
Anderson, Oberman, and Hammarlund are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, which is instruction latency determinations.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Anderson, Oberman, and Hammarlund before him or her, to modify the teachings of Anderson and Oberman to include the teachings of Hammarlund so that the second indicator does not specify an expected time for completion of the execution of the second instruction.
The motivation for doing so would have been to accommodate both known and unknown latency instructions (as taught by Hammarlund at [0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hammarlund with Anderson and Oberman to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Note, claim 11 recites the corresponding limitations of claim 2. Therefore, the rejection of claim 2 applies to claim 11.
Note, claim 13 recites the corresponding limitations of claim 4. Therefore, the rejection of claim 4 applies to claim 13.
Note, claim 14 recites the corresponding limitations of claim 5. Therefore, the rejection of claim 5 applies to claim 14.
Note, claim 15 recites the corresponding limitations of claim 6. Therefore, the rejection of claim 6 applies to claim 15.
Referring to claim 16, claim 1 recites the corresponding limitations as that of claim 16. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies to claim 16.
Further, Oberman discloses “A device comprising: a first register configured to store an intermediate result of an instruction” (sections 3.2.2, 3.2.4, 3.3 intermediate results and “storage registers required to hold intermediate results”).
As above, Anderson, Oberman, and Hammarlund teach the remaining corresponding claim limitations as seen in the features of claim 10 above.
Note, claim 20 recites the corresponding limitations of claim 4. Therefore, the rejection of claim 4 applies to claim 20.
Note, claim 21 recites the corresponding limitations of claim 5. Therefore, the rejection of claim 5 applies to claim 21.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 8, 12, and 17 – 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on page 8 ‘Deficiencies of Oberman’, that
each independent claim recites that when an instruction is variable latency, an indicator stored for that instruction does not specify an expected time for completion. Oberman's response to variable-latency instructions is the exact opposite, i.e., that the AMD-K7 state machine provides a time-specifying advance completion notification to the scheduler. In other words, even if Oberman could be construed as disclosing the recited second indicator, this indicator expressly specifies a time for completion, which is in direct contrast to the recited feature "not specifying an expected time for completion."
The examiner disagrees. First, Oberman is cited for teaching variable latency of division and square root instructions. The previous and current office actions state that “it is seen that the infrequent division and square root instructions are of variable latency while other instructions are of not variable latency.” Further, Oberman describes notifying the scheduler a number of cycles in advance of when the instruction will complete (section 6.2). This is not the same as an indicator for the instruction specifying an expected time for completion. Oberman never describes an expected time for completion of an instruction. Oberman simply teaches notifying the scheduler a number of cycles in advance of when the instruction will complete. Oberman is not cited for teaching storing an indicator regarding completion of instructions. The examiner maintains that Anderson teaches storing indicators regarding expected instruction completion time. Also, Oberman teaches determining whether an instruction is a variable latency instruction or a not variable latency instruction. Further, Oberman discloses an execution pipeline and a state machine sequencing through states after receiving a division or square root instruction (section 3). Thus, it can be seen that Oberman’s notification of when the instruction will complete is based on a state machine and the execution steps of the pipeline. Oberman’s notification is not based on ‘an expected time for completion.’
Applicant argues, on page 8 last paragraph, that
the reference the Examiner relies upon to supply the variable-latency determination simultaneously teaches away from the claimed treatment of variable-latency instructions. A skilled artisan following Oberman's teaching would store a time-specifying notification for variable-latency instructions, not a non-time-specifying indicator as the claims recite.
The examiner disagrees. As above, the examiner does not agree that Oberman teaches away from the claimed treatment of variable-latency instructions. Further, the combination of Hammarlund for the teaching/suggestion of the second indicator not specifying an expected time is not argued at this point in Applicant’s response and therefore the full rejection is not considered when making this argument.
Applicant argues, on page 10 “First” paragraph, that
regarding the recited feature of storing an indicator in a register, the cited passage of Hammarlund does not disclose storing any indicator in any register. The cited passage describes a capability of a replay queue of a system in that it can accommodate instructions of unknown latency. However, it says nothing about what, if anything, is stored in a register for any such instruction, what form such stored information takes, or what it represents. The terms "indicator," "register," and "storing" do not appear in [0044] or any portion of Hammarlund that discusses the handling of instructions with unknown latency. A system-level capability to accommodate unknown-latency instructions is not equivalent to, and does not suggest, storing a specific indicator in a specific register for each such instruction.
The examiner disagrees. This argument equates to a piecemeal analysis of a rejection under 35 USC 103 since Anderson is cited as teaching storing indicators. Applicant’s argument that Hammarlund does not teach this limitation is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues, on page 10 “Second” paragraph, that
The Examiner's implicit reasoning appears to be because Hammarlund accommodates instructions of unknown latency, any indicator stored for such an instruction would necessarily lack an expected completion time. Applicant submits that this reasoning does not follow from the teachings of paragraph [0044]. Indeed, Oberman clearly teaches this is not necessarily the case, as instructions of variable latency can have an indicator that specifies an expected completion time. The Hammarlund passage does not describe any indicator, stored or otherwise, and does not describe how the system represents or tracks the status of unknown-latency instructions internally. That is, Hammarlund is silent on the content or character of any stored indicator (or that such an indicator exists at all), and the silence of the reference cannot be used to teach or suggest the claimed feature.
The examiner disagrees. Again, Applicant re-states the above argument that Oberman teaches instructions of variable latency having an indicator that specifies an expected completion time. The examiner disagrees with this argument for the same reasons as above. Second, Applicant’s argument that Hammarlund is silent on any indicators and/or their content or character is another piecemeal analysis of the rejection under 35 USC 103. Anderson is cited as teaching storing indicators. Applicant’s argument that Hammarlund does not teach this limitation is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Again, the examiner’s position is that "it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Hammarlund with Anderson/Oberman so that "the second indicator does not specify an expected time for completion of the execution of the second instruction. In other words, if instruction latency is unknown (as taught by Hammarlund), it would have been obvious to utilize the profile data with latency of Anderson while not specifying an expected completion time.”
Applicant argues, on page 10 – 11 “Further” paragraph, that Hammarlund does not teach storing an indicator, let alone circuitry configured to cause the indicator to be stored.
As in the previous office action, Anderson is cited as teaching circuitry for storing indicators. Applicant’s argument that Hammarlund does not teach this limitation is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues, on page 11 “Finally” and “But Oberman’s” paragraphs, that
Finally, even if each reference were considered to supply some portion of the claimed subject matter, the proposed combination is internally inconsistent. The Examiner uses Oberman to supply the step of determining that an instruction is variable latency, while relying on Hammarlund to supply the teaching that the indicator for such an instruction does not specify an expected completion time.
But Oberman's own teaching for variable-latency instructions, as discussed in the cited Section 6.2, is to provide a time-specifying advance completion notification, not an indicator that does not specify an expected time for completion as claimed.
The examiner disagrees. As above, Applicant argues Oberman teaching instructions of variable latency having an indicator that specifies an expected completion time. The examiner disagrees with this argument for the same reasons as above.
Again, the examiner’s position is that "it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Hammarlund with Anderson/Oberman so that "the second indicator does not specify an expected time for completion of the execution of the second instruction. In other words, if instruction latency is unknown (as taught by Hammarlund), it would have been obvious to utilize the profile data with latency of Anderson while not specifying an expected completion time.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/STEVEN G SNYDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2184