DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 11-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Imai et al, US Patent Publication 2017/0001162.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Imai teaches a nanocellulose-slurry dewatering system (CNF, see example 1 and 17) comprising:
a nanocellulose slurry feed sub-system (CNF-1 [0130], wherein said nanocellulose slurry comprises nanocellulose and water [0130;
an inlet for a dispersion/drying agent (adding polymer dispersant into the mixture composition [0130] (inlet is implied by the teaching of adding the dispersant into the composition prior o the use of an extruder [0130]) ;
a twin-screw extruder in flow communication with said nanocellulose slurry feed sub-system [0130] (screw extruder reads on two rotor mixer as well as it is a mixing device with a pair of rotors), wherein said twin-screw extruder is configured for intimately mixing said nanocellulose slurry and said dispersion/drying agent [0130], and wherein said twin-screw extruder is configured with one or more extruder vents to remove at least a portion of said water from said nanocellulose slurry (vent holes in the extruder to remove water [0130]);
an extruder outlet for recovering a nanocellulose-dispersion concentrate comprising said nanocellulose and said dispersion/drying agent (ejected in strand form is an implicit teaching of an outlet [0130]); and
an optional milling device configured to generate a powder containing said nanocellulose-dispersion concentrate (optional limitation).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Imai remains as applied above and further teaches that said nanocellulose slurry feed sub-system is configured with an internal rotating agitator and/or wiping blade to mix said nanocellulose slurry ([0130] teaches stirred and mixed]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Imai remains as applied above and further teaches that said nanocellulose-slurry dewatering system comprises a mixing unit configured for mixing said nanocellulose slurry with said dispersion/drying agent (stirred and mixed to uniform [0130].
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Imai remains as applied above and further teaches that said nanocellulose-slurry dewatering system comprises a nanocellulose slurry pre-concentration unit configured to remove at least a portion of said water from said nanocellulose slurry prior to water removal in said extruder (Example 17 states that the slurry is filtered into a state containing 20% water prior to the extruder [0130]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Imai remain as applied above and teach the act of using a filter to reduce the water content prior to the extruder [0130].
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Imai remain as applied above and teaches the act of inserting the dispersant into the mixture in the pre concentration unit at the same time through the discloser of how to contact the cellulose with the dispersant in [0081-0083] and the teaching of mixing the mixture that is filtered down to 20% at the same instance as the addition of the dispersant in example 17 [0130]. While the language is not explicit, the teachings provide an implied teaching of the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al, US Patent Publication 2017/0001162 in view of Harris et al, US Patent Publication 2019/0008749.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Imai remain as applied above and teach the act of using a filter to reduce the water content prior to the extruder [0130], but is silent on the use of a centrifuge.
In the same field of endeavor of making nanocellulose products [0062], Harris teaches that the dewatering steps can be done through filtration or through a centrifuge [0185].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a centrifuge instead of a filter as it has been shown that this would be a simple substitution fo one known element in the art to arrive at the same end result in an obvious manner.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al, US Patent Publication 2017/0001162 in view of Riebel et al, US Patent Publication 2009/0281203.
Regarding claims 8-9 and 18-19, Imai remain as applied above and teach the use of any known screw extruder [0070 and 0130], but is silent on the if the screw extruder is co-rotating or counter rotating.
In order to show that these are the two main options of screw extruders that would have been available to the average artisan at the time of the invention, the Riebel reference is presented.
In the same field of endeavor of preparing nanocellulose based compounds and products [0055], Riebel teaches that the mixing actions of the materials can be performed in either a counter rotating or co rating twin screw extruder as long as there are vent holes to allow moisture to escape [0095 and 0113]
Claim(s) 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al, US Patent Publication 2017/0001162 in view of Tilton, US Patent Publication 2017/0321380.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Imai remain as applied above and teaches further processing of the products and pellets made from extruded composition, but doesn’t say what those further steps could be, leaving it up to the average artisan to descried additional process steps of the nanocellulose based composition.
In the same field of endeavor of using nanocellulose materials [0143] to be processed in an extruder [0189] to form a preform, Tilton further teaches that the extruded preform is then further treated for additional processing [0117] which includes the act of milling [0192].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a post extrusion milling step as taught by Tilton as a possible further processing stage in the open ended treatment system of Imai as it would have been a simple and known option to the average artisan for additional steps in a conventional manner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,065,782. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations are almost exact only directed to the method of using the system and the instant claims are directed to the system itself.
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748