DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “printing station configured to imprint….”, “a first sensor configured to detect”, “the first printer configured to dispense…” in claim 21, “cutting station is configured to cut….” in claim 23, “a second sensor configured to detect….” in claim 24, “a feed assembly configured to control….” in claim 25, “a third sensor configured to detect…..” in claim 26, “the second printer is configured…..” in claims 33 and 34, “a horizontal printer adjuster configured to change…..” in claim 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 22, 24-34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holmes (US Patent 5,269,120).
With respect to claim 21, Holmes teaches a system comprising a printing station (30) configured to impart indicia on a plurality of clips (note: “a plurality of clips is not a positively recited feature, however Holmes does at least teach a plurality of closures 20 that function as a plurality of clips) formed in a strip (Figures 2a, 3), the printing station comprising:
a first sensor (322) configured to detect a portion of a first clip of the plurality of clips (Column 8, Line 66-Column 9, Line 8) and configured to transmit a first signal to a print controller (60, Figures 10, 11);
the print controller (60) configured to activate a first printer (302); and
the first printer (30, 302) configured to dispense ink on a first surface of a second clip of the plurality of clips in response to an activation command received from the print controller (Abstract, Column 4, Lines 7-14, Lines 42-47, Lines 52-59, Column 15, Line 22-65).
With respect to claim 22, it is noted the limitation, “the printing station receives a free loop of the strip that hangs with a sag between a cutting station and the printing station” and specifically, “a free loop of strip”, is not positively recited. Thus, the dependent claims further defining the structure of a free loop of strip does not have any patentable significance to the apparatus claims as presently written. Therefore, Holmes et al teaches all the structure of the apparatus as positively recited.
With respect to claim 24, Holmes teaches a second sensor (320) configured to detect a length of the free loop and transmit a second signal to a process controller (note “a free loop”, is not positively recited. Thus, the dependent claims further defining the structure of a free loop does not have any patentable significance to the apparatus claims as presently written. Therefore, Holmes et al. teaches all the structure of the apparatus as positively recited and Holmes at least teaches sensor 320 senses the suspension of a foil).
With respect to claim 25, Holmes teaches a feed assembly (304) configured to control a speed of the strip relative to the first printer based on the second signal (Column 8, Lines 27-38, Column 9, Lines 19-22, Column 14, Lines 45-54).
With respect to claim 26, Holmes a third sensor (430) configured to detect the speed and transmit a third signal to the print controller.
With respect to claim 27, Holmes teaches the first sensor (322) is positioned downstream from the first printer (302) with respect to a machine direction (Figures 12A, 12B).
With respect to claim 29, Holmes teaches a support platen disposed under the strip (plate with holes and rectangular cutout in Figure 12C).
With respect to claim 30, Holmes teaches the support platen comprises a channel that has a smaller width proximate (plate with holes and rectangular cutout in Figure 12C) the first printer (302) than away from the first printer (Figures 12A,12B).
With respect to claim 31, Holmes teaches the first sensor (322) is mounted under an opening in the support platen (plate with holes and rectangular cutout in Figure 12C and Figure 12B).
With respect to claim 32, Holmes teaches a second printer (30 provides multiple print heads 30, Column 7, Lines 59-61).
With respect to claim 33, Holmes teaches the second printer (30 provides multiple print heads 30, Column 7, Lines 59-61) is configured to dispense ink on the first surface of the second clip of the plurality of clips (Abstract, Column 4, Lines 7-14, Lines 42-47, Lines 52-59, Column 15, Line 22-65).
With respect to claim 34, Holmes teaches the second printer (30 provides multiple print heads 30, Column 7, Lines 59-61) is configured to dispense ink on a second surface, that is opposite the first surface, of the second clip of the plurality of clips (note: “a plurality of clips is not a positively recited feature, however Holmes does at least teach a plurality of closures 20 that function as a plurality of clips and Holmes teaches a structure of a printer that can print surfaces, Abstract, Column 4, Lines 7-14, Lines 42-47, Lines 52-59, Column 15, Line 22-65 ).
With respect to claim 36, Holmes teaches the first printer (30, 302) comprises a vertical printer slider.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmes (US Patent 5,269,120) in view of Nursey (GB2178392).
With respect to claim 23, Holmes et al. teaches the claimed invention however does not explicitly disclose the cutting station is configured to: cut a first portion of a web material into at least the first clip (note: a web of material is not positively recited. Thus, the dependent claims further defining the structure of a web of material does not have any patentable significance to the apparatus claims as presently written. Therefore, since Holmes teaches all the structure of the apparatus as positively recited); and index the first portion after cutting to sequentially cut a second portion of the web material into at least the second clip, wherein cut portions of the web material exit the cutting station in the free loop.
Nursey teaches a cutting station (8) is configured to: cut a first portion of a web material into at least the first clip; and index the first portion after cutting to sequentially cut a second portion of the web material into at least the second clip (note: a web of material is not positively recited. Thus, the dependent claims further defining the structure of a web of material does not have any patentable significance to the apparatus claims as presently written. Therefore, since Holmes teaches all the structure of the apparatus as positively recited), wherein cut portions of the web material exit the cutting station in the free loop (Abstract, Page 1, Lines 63-79).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Holmes to provide a cutting station as taught by Nursey for the purpose of effectively cutting the medium.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmes (US Patent 5,269,120).
With respect to claim 28, Holmes teaches the claimed invention with the exception of the first sensor is positioned upstream from the first printer with respect to a machine direction.
However, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and In re Kuhle, 526, 188 USPQ 7(CCPA 1975).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have recognized to provide the first sensor is positioned upstream from the first printer with respect to a machine direction for the purpose of effectively sensing the clips in multiple locations.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmes (US Patent 5,269,120) in view of Lin et al. (CN 210733610).
With respect to claim 37, Holmes teaches the claimed invention with the exception of the first printer comprises a horizontal printer adjuster.
Lin et al. teaches a printer (7) comprises a horizontal printer adjuster (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the printer taught by Holmes to provide a horizontal printer adjuster as taught by Lin et al. for the purpose of providing a versatile printer.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmes (US Patent 5,269,120) in view of Mao (CN 203766120).
With respect to claim 38, Holmes teaches the claimed invention with the exception of an ink curing unit.
Mao teaches a printer (20) with an ink curing unit (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the printer taught by Holmes to provide an ink curing unit as taught by Mao for the purpose of effectively drying the ink without smearing on the medium.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 35 and 39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 35, the prior art does not teach or render obvious a horizontal printer adjuster configured to change a horizontal position of both the first printer and the second printer in tandem.
With respect to claim 39, the prior art does not teach or render obvious ink curing unit comprises at least one of a vertical lamp slider or a horizontal lamp adjuster.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments, that Holmes teaches the edge detector 322 is positioned directly opposite its print head 302 at a single closure 20 and thus, Holmes detects the same clip that is being printed and therefore Holmes does not describe a printing station in which a sensor detects a portion of one clip and sends signals to a controller to activate printing at a different clip of a connected strip, the examiner disagrees. Specifically, it would appear that the controller/sensor would not only store/input information with regard to the current printing on the clip that is positioned opposite with respect to the printhead as shown in Figure 12B and also the next and subsequent clips in the plurality of clips. Additionally, in Column 15, Claim 1 of Holmes teaches moving a second closure to the printhead and printing a symbol of the second closure simultaneously while being advanced. Therefore, the printing/advancing on the second closure/additional closures only happen based on memory that is stored from the controller/sensor. Holmes teaches all the structure including a controller as recited, Holmes thereby teaches the claim language. Therefore, the examiner is not persuaded of any error in the above rejections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marissa Ferguson-Samreth/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852