CTNF 18/808,204 CTNF 89733 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 Claims 1, 4, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required. Regarding claim 1: Line 16 recites “accommodation hole do not in communicate”, it appears this should recite “do not communicate”. Regarding claim 4: The second to last line recites “0.393.”, this should recite “0.393”, without the period after “3”. Regarding claim 8: Claim 8 repeats claim 6 verbatim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (“Sano”; US 2013/0307363), in view of Kagami et al. (“Kagami”; US 2012/0248915) . Regarding claim 1: Sano discloses a double-layer interior permanent-magnet rotor (Fig. 1) comprising: a rotor shaft (14) extending in a rotation axis direction (X); a rotor core (12) attached to the rotor shaft and having magnetic poles (24, Fig. 4) each of which has a first outer side accommodation hole (accommodating 26a) and a second outer side accommodation hole (accommodating 26b) which are formed to make a pair on a radially outer side (as shown in Fig. 4), and has a first inner side accommodation hole (accommodating 28 on the left) and a second inner side accommodation hole (accommodating 28 on the right) which are formed to make a pair on more radially inner sides than the first outer side accommodation hole and the second outer side accommodation hole (as shown in Fig. 4); a first outer side magnet (26a) and a second outer side magnet (26b) which are accommodated in the first outer side accommodation hole and the second outer side accommodation hole respectively (Fig. 4); and a first inner side magnet and a second inner side magnet (both 28) which are accommodated in the first inner side accommodation hole and the second inner side accommodation hole respectively (Fig. 4), wherein the first outer side accommodation hole and the second outer side accommodation hole do not in communicate with an outer side of an outer circumference of the rotor core (as shown in Fig. 4), wherein a value of an inner-side open angle at which a first inner side accommodation hole radially outer side wall of the first inner side accommodation hole and a second inner side accommodation hole radially outer side wall of the second inner side accommodation hole open toward a radially outer side is equal to or higher than a prescribed value (inherent, the prescribed value can be any value), the outer-side open angle being an angle at which a first outer side accommodation hole radially outer side wall of the first outer side accommodation hole and a second outer side accommodation hole radially outer side wall of the second outer side accommodation hole open toward the radially outer side (shown in Fig. 4, the angles of the accommodation hole side walls inherently have an angle to the radially outer side). Sano does not explicitly disclose wherein the first inner side accommodation hole and the second inner side accommodation hole have opening parts communicating with the outer side of the outer circumference of the rotor core, and a prescribed value and is equal to or lower than a value of an outer-side open angle to which ten degrees are added. However, Kagami discloses wherein the first inner side accommodation hole (19A) and the second inner side accommodation hole (19B) have opening parts (20A, 20B, shown best in Fig. 6 and 7) communicating with the outer side of the outer circumference of the rotor core (162). And, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie , 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inner side accommodation holes of Sano to have the opening parts of Kagami in order to prevent short circuited magnetic flux (paragraph 0045), and to have the prescribed value to be equal to or lower than a value of an outer-side open angle to which ten degrees are added in order to optimize the magnetic flux of the rotor. Regarding claim 2: Sano discloses the outer-side open angle, but does not explicitly disclose the outer-side open angle is equal to or more than 100 degrees and equal to or less than 130 degrees, and wherein the prescribed value of the inner-side open angle is 96 degrees. However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie , 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have the outer-side open angle and the prescribed value to be within the claimed ranges in order to optimize the magnetic flux of the rotor. Regarding claim 3: Sano discloses the outer-side open angle, but does not explicitly disclose the outer-side open angle is equal to or more than 100 degrees and equal to or less than 140 degrees, and wherein the prescribed value of the inner-side open angle is a value equal to the value of the outer-side open angle from which 10 degrees is subtracted. However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie , 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have the outer-side open angle and the prescribed value to be within the claimed ranges in order to optimize the magnetic flux of the rotor. Regarding claim 4: Sano discloses the outer-side open angle, but does not explicitly disclose the outer-side open angle is equal to or more than 100 degrees and equal to or less than 140 degrees, and wherein the prescribed value of the inner-side open angle is a value obtained by multiplying the value of the outer-side open angle by 0.393.and then adding 51.0 to the multiplication result. However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie , 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have the outer-side open angle and the prescribed value to be within the claimed ranges in order to optimize the magnetic flux of the rotor. Regarding claim 5: Sano discloses one bridge part (between 36 along C in Fig. 4) separating the first outer side accommodation hole and the second outer side accommodation hole in a circumferential direction is present, and wherein two bridge parts (at both sides of 32 in Fig. 4) separating the first inner side accommodation hole and the second inner side accommodation hole in the circumferential direction are present. Regarding claim 7: Sano discloses a method for manufacturing a double-layer interior permanent-magnet rotor that includes: a rotor shaft (14); a rotor core (12) attached to the rotor shaft and having magnetic poles (24, Fig. 4) each of which has a first outer side accommodation hole and a second outer side accommodation hole (both accommodating 28) which are formed to make a pair on a radially outer side and on whose radially outer sides, openings are not formed (as shown in Fig. 4), and has a first inner side accommodation hole (accommodating 26a) and a second inner side accommodation hole (accommodating 26b) which are formed to make a pair on more radially inner sides than the first outer side accommodation hole and the second outer side accommodation hole and on whose radially outer sides; a first outer side magnet and a second outer side magnet which are accommodated in the first outer side accommodation hole and the second outer side accommodation hole respectively (both 28); and a first inner side magnet (26a) and a second inner side magnet (26b) which are accommodated in the first inner side accommodation hole and the second inner side accommodation hole respectively, the method comprising: a step of deciding a basic specification of the double-layer interior permanent-magnet rotor (inherent, as the rotor is manufactured, the basic specification has been decided); a step of producing the rotor shaft (12) based on the basic specification; a step of deciding permanent magnet specifications of the first outer side magnet, the second outer side magnet, the first inner side magnet, and the second inner side magnet respectively based on the basic specification (inherent, as a “basic specification” is already decided); a step of deciding accommodation hole reference shapes of the first outer side accommodation hole, the second outer side accommodation hole, the first inner side accommodation hole, and the second inner side accommodation hole respectively (as the holes are shown in Fig. 4, the shapes have been decided); a step of deciding a value of an outer-side open angle at which a first outer side accommodation hole radially outer side wall of the first outer side accommodation hole and a second outer side accommodation hole radially outer side wall of the second outer side accommodation hole open toward the radially outer side (as there is an angle to the accommodation holes, the angles shown by the lines drawn in annotated Fig. 4 below, all “open angles” inherently have an angle to the radially outer side); a step of deriving, from the value of the outer-side open angle, an inner-side open angle as compared with a comparison target example where openings are formed on radially outer sides of the first outer side accommodation hole and the second outer side accommodation hole, the inner-side open angle being an angle at which a first inner side accommodation hole radially outer side wall of the first inner side accommodation hole and a second inner side accommodation hole radially outer side wall of the second inner side accommodation hole open toward the radially outer side (the inner side open angles being shown by the dashed line in annotated Fig. 4 below, all “open angles” inherently have an angle to the radially outer side); a step of producing the first outer side magnet, the second outer side magnet, the first inner side magnet, and the second inner side magnet based on the permanent magnet specifications (see Fig. 4); a step of producing a plurality of electromagnetic steel sheets based on the accommodation hole reference shapes, the outer-side open angle, and the inner-side open angle (paragraph 0005); a step of assembling the plurality of electromagnetic steel sheets into a multilayer structure (paragraph 0005); and a step of assembling the rotor shaft, the multilayer structure, the first outer side magnet, the second outer side magnet, the first inner side magnet, and the second inner side magnet (as shown in the completed generator of Fig. 1). Sano does not explicitly disclose the first and second inner side accommodating holes having openings formed on radially outer sides and an inner-side open angle effective for reducing stress. However, Kagami discloses wherein the first inner side accommodation hole (19A) and the second inner side accommodation hole (19B) have opening parts (20A, 20B, shown best in Fig. 6 and 7) communicating with the outer side of the outer circumference of the rotor core (162). And, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie , 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the inner side accommodation holes of Sano to have the opening parts of Kagami in order to prevent short circuited magnetic flux (paragraph 0045), and to have an inner-side open angle effective for reducing stress as reducing stress would optimize the longevity of rotor . PNG media_image1.png 378 476 media_image1.png Greyscale 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano and Kagami as applied to claim s 1, 2 and 3 above, and further in view of Ryu et al. (“Ryu”; US 2018/0159411) . Regarding claims 6 and 8: Sano discloses a double-layer interior permanent-magnet rotary electric machine (Fig. 1) comprising: the double-layer interior permanent-magnet rotor according to claim 1, a stator (2) having a cylindrical stator core arranged on a radially outer side of the rotor core and a stator winding wound around the stator core (paragraphs 0047-0048), but does not explicitly disclose two bearings supporting two ends, in terms of the rotation axis direction, of the rotor shaft in a rotatable manner; two bearing brackets supporting the two bearings respectively in a static manner; and a frame arranged to cover a radially outer side of the stator to support the two bearing brackets. However, Ryu discloses two bearings (10, 3)) supporting two ends (Fig. 1), in terms of the rotation axis direction, of the rotor shaft (5) in a rotatable manner; two bearing brackets (17, 37) supporting the two bearings respectively in a static manner (paragraphs 0047, 0049); and a frame (4, 6) arranged to cover a radially outer side of the stator to support the two bearing brackets (paragraphs 0047, 0049). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shaft of Sano to include the bearings, brackets, and frame of Ryu in order to reduce the friction of the rotating shaft. Regarding claim 9: Sano discloses a double-layer interior permanent-magnet rotary electric machine (Fig. 1) comprising: the double-layer interior permanent-magnet rotor according to claim 2, a stator (2) having a cylindrical stator core arranged on a radially outer side of the rotor core and a stator winding wound around the stator core (paragraphs 0047-0048), but does not explicitly disclose two bearings supporting two ends, in terms of the rotation axis direction, of the rotor shaft in a rotatable manner; two bearing brackets supporting the two bearings respectively in a static manner; and a frame arranged to cover a radially outer side of the stator to support the two bearing brackets. However, Ryu discloses two bearings (10, 3)) supporting two ends (Fig. 1), in terms of the rotation axis direction, of the rotor shaft (5) in a rotatable manner; two bearing brackets (17, 37) supporting the two bearings respectively in a static manner (paragraphs 0047, 0049); and a frame (4, 6) arranged to cover a radially outer side of the stator to support the two bearing brackets (paragraphs 0047, 0049). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shaft of Sano to include the bearings, brackets, and frame of Ryu in order to reduce the friction of the rotating shaft. Regarding claim 10: Sano discloses a double-layer interior permanent-magnet rotary electric machine (Fig. 1) comprising: the double-layer interior permanent-magnet rotor according to claim 3, a stator (2) having a cylindrical stator core arranged on a radially outer side of the rotor core and a stator winding wound around the stator core (paragraphs 0047-0048), but does not explicitly disclose two bearings supporting two ends, in terms of the rotation axis direction, of the rotor shaft in a rotatable manner; two bearing brackets supporting the two bearings respectively in a static manner; and a frame arranged to cover a radially outer side of the stator to support the two bearing brackets. However, Ryu discloses two bearings (10, 3)) supporting two ends (Fig. 1), in terms of the rotation axis direction, of the rotor shaft (5) in a rotatable manner; two bearing brackets (17, 37) supporting the two bearings respectively in a static manner (paragraphs 0047, 0049); and a frame (4, 6) arranged to cover a radially outer side of the stator to support the two bearing brackets (paragraphs 0047, 0049). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shaft of Sano to include the bearings, brackets, and frame of Ryu in order to reduce the friction of the rotating shaft . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schuermans et al. (US 2024/0243627) teaches a similar double-layer rotor as claimed in Fig. 2 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SEAN GUGGER whose telephone number is (571)272-5343. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 9:00am - 5:00pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, T.C. Patel can be reached at 571 272 2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SEAN GUGGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/808,204 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/808,204 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/808,204 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/808,204 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/808,204 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/808,204 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/808,204 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/808,204 Page 10 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/808,204 Page 11 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/808,204 Page 12 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/808,204 Page 13 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/808,204 Page 14 Art Unit: 2834