DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-16, 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garman et al (US7,427,758).
4. As to claim 1, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) a metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67) for an optical sensor (infrared camera, photocell), comprising: a strut (121) configured to structurally support an optical element (123) of the optical sensor (infrared camera, photocell); and a shield (129) secured (mechanically fixed in position) to the strut (121), (column 16, lines 1-13), having (specific coatings inside surface of the radiation shield, since radiation reflecting off the radiation shield should be damped or absorbed as efficiently as possible to reduce stray light load at photocell) defines a surface finish absorptive of electromagnetic radiation (absorb radiation) within an optical spectrum (radiation), (column 9, lines 16-23) and comprising a cross-sectional profile shape (126) selected to minimize reflection of stray electromagnetic energy (stray light load) in an optical spectrum (radiation), (column 9, lines 21-23).
5. As to claim 2, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67) wherein the shield (129) has a shield length substantially coextensive with the elongate length of the strut (121), (column 10, lines 40-column 16, lines 1-13).
6. As to claim 3, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67) wherein the shield (129) encloses the strut (121) along the shield length (129), (column 15, lines 40-67, column 16, lines 1-13).
7. As to claim 4, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67) wherein the surface finish (specific coating), (column 9, lines 15-23 is disposed on an exterior surface of the shield (129) along the shield length (along bottom edge of radiation shield), (column 16, lines 1-5).
8. As to claim 5, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67) wherein the shield (129) is supported on the strut (121) using a single bracket (framework welded or soldered together), (column 15, lines 59-60) defines a single bracket.
9. As to claim 6, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67) wherein the shield (129) is supported on the strut (121), (column 15, lines 40-67, column 16, lines 1-13) using a plurality of brackets (formed framework welded or soldered together), (column 15, lines 59-60) disposed at locations spaced apart along an elongate length of the strut (121), (column 15, lines 40-67, column 16, lines 1-13).
10. As to claim 7, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67), wherein the plurality of brackets (formed framework welded or soldered together), (column 15, lines 59-60) defines brackets.
11. As to claim 8, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67), wherein the plurality of brackets (formed framework welded or soldered together), (column 15, lines 59-60) are configured to flex in a direction (flex in the axial direction) aligned with an axis of the strut (121), (column 15, lines 66-column 16, lines 1-13).
12. As to claim 9, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67) further comprising one or more material layers (122, 130 or titanium, stainless steel, metal) disposed between the strut (121) and the shield (129), (column 15, lines 40-67, column 16, lines 1-27).
13. As to claim 10, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67) wherein the one or more material layers (122, 130 or titanium, stainless steel, metal) comprises a low thermal conductivity material (poor heat conductor, thermal insulator, metal minimize heat transfer), (column 15, lines 40-67, column 16, lines 14-20).
14. As to claim 11, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67) wherein the one or more material layers (122, 130 or titanium, stainless steel, metal) are configured to thermally decouple the strut (121) from the shield (129), (column 15, lines 48-67, column 16, lines 1-13).
15. As to claim 12, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67) wherein the material layers (122, 130 or titanium, stainless steel, metal) comprise at least two adjacent layers of material (122, 130, or titanium, stainless steel, metal) that are separated from each other by a gap, (column 15, lines 40-67, column 16, lines 1-26).
16. As to claim 13, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67) wherein the shield (129) has a cross-section profile shape (circular ring), (column 15, lines 40-46) that is different as compared to a cross-sectional profile (torsionally stiff) of the strut (121), (column 15, lines 66-column 16, lines 1-13).
17. As to claim 14, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120), (column 15, lines 40-67) wherein the shield (129) has a cross-sectional profile shape (circular ring), (column 15, lines 40-46) that is the same shape type as compared to a cross-sectional profile shape (circular shape) of the strut (121), (column 15, lines 66-column 16, lines 1-13).
18. As to claim 15, Garman et al disclose (fig. 2A) the metering structure (34) wherein the shield (40) comprises two or more shield members (40, 41, 43) that are coupled to each other to surround an entire length of the strut (strut), (column 8, lines 15-65).
19. As to claim 16, Garman et al disclose (fig. 2A) the metering structure (34) wherein the two or more shield members (40, 41, 43), (column 8, lines 18-67) structurally support the surface finish (specific coating), (column 9, lines 15-23).
20. As to claim 18, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120) wherein the strut (121) and shield (129) are arranged so that an elongated length of each of the strut (121) and shield (129) is coaxially aligned along a central axis, (column 15, lines 40-67, column 16, lines 1-23).
21. As to claim 19, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120) wherein the strut (121) and shield (129) are arranged so that a central axis of an elongated length of the shield (129) is offset from a central axis of an elongated of the strut (121), (column 15, lines 40-67, column 16, lines 1-23).
22. As to claim 20, Garman et al disclose (fig. 9) the metering structure (120) wherein the shield (129) comprises at least one open end through which the strut (121) protrudes, (column 15, lines 40-67, column 16, lines 1-23).
23. As to claim 21, Garman et al disclose (fig. 1 prior art) the metering structure (34) wherein the electromagnetic radiation (radiation) in the optical spectrum comprises light in the infrared range of the electromagnetic spectrum (infrared radiation), (column 8, lines 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
25. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garman et al (US7,427,758B2) in view of Ohkoshi et al (WO2020166628A1).
26. As to claim 17, Garman et al disclose (fig. 2A) the metering structure (34) comprising the surface finish (specific coating used to damp and/or absorb radiation), on the outer surface of the shield (40), (column 9, lines 15-23). Garman et al fail to disclose the surface finish comprises carbon nanotubes disposed on the outer surface of the shield. Ohkoshi et al disclose (fig. 1A) the surface finish comprises carbon nanotubes (carbon nanotubes) disposed on the outer surface of the shield (shield), (paragraphs [0053]-[0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Garman et al to include the surface finish comprises carbon nanotubes disposed on the outer surface of the shield as taught by Ohkoshi et al in order to have excellent electromagnetic wave absorbing ability; thereby enhancing the overall performance of the metering structure.
Conclusion
/DON J WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878