DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wallace et al. (US 2021/0208665 A1, hereinafter “Wallace”).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Wallace teaches a management method for a network communication device including at least one physical port (figs. 1, 3,), the method comprising: acquiring usage state information including a communication state and a power supply state between the network communication device and at least one further communication device connected to the at least one physical port (figs. 1-3, ¶ [0018], a USB-C device may draw as much as 5 amps at 20 volts. If two USB-C devices, such as laptops, are plugged into each of the first plurality of auxiliary ports 105a, 105b, the total current required to be provided by the power supply 140 may be as much as 10 amps. In this example, the total power supplied would be 200 watts. A USB 2.0 device may consume as much as 5 watts at 1 amp and 5 volts. As additional devices are coupled to other auxiliary ports, the current required is increased with each device. At some point, the power supply will reach its maximum power output.); and generating a power consumption estimate value based on the usage state information (figs. 1-3, ¶ [0018], ¶ [0019], In an exemplary aircraft cabin environment, the data server 130 may be part of a cabin management system (CMS) and may monitor the total power available to the auxiliary ports and how much each individual port is consuming. ¶ [0030], ¶ [0032]).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Wallace teaches the management method according to claim 1, wherein the power consumption estimate value is generated based on qualitative data corresponding to the communication state in which the network communication device and the at least one further communication device communicate with each other (figs. 1-3, ¶ [0022], the combined system power may be estimated by determining which auxiliary ports are in use and the maximum power rating for each port. For example, of three USB 3.0 ports and one USB-C ports are in use, as determined in response to a data connection or the like, the total system power is 9 watts for each of the USB 3.0 ports and 100 watts for the USB-C port, or 127 watts total. ¶ [0026], The first port 310 may be a data transfer capable auxiliary port operative to provide power to the connected device as well as send and receive data from the connected device to a processor, server, or other device coupled to the first port 310. ¶ [0027], The second port 320 may be a charge only port operative to provide an electrical power to a connected device, but unable to transfer data. ¶ [0032], The method may alternatively determine the number and type of auxiliary ports in use and estimate a system power level. the method may determine the type of port in use, such as USB 3.0 and USB-C to determine the various voltages and determine the first current level and the second current level to estimate the total system power), and quantitative data corresponding to the power supply state in which the network communication device supplies power to the at least one further communication device (¶ [0019], Auxiliary ports may be allowed to charge at their max rating as long as the combined system power threshold is not exceeded. When a new device is plugged in the system and if the combined system power threshold is exceeded, the data server 130 may prioritize power deliver to auxiliary ports based on a predetermined ranking. Lowest ranked ports will be throttled to a lower power setting to allow higher priority ports to maintain increased charging rates. ¶ [0026], a fully charged mobile device connected to the first port 310 may not consume any current, while a mobile device with a fully depleted battery may consume the entire 0.9 amperes. ¶ [0029]. ¶ [0032], The method may alternatively determine the number and type of auxiliary ports in use and estimate a system power level. For example, if one USB-C port has a device connected and one USB 3.0 port has a connected device, the method may estimate that the total power consumption is 107.5 watts).
Regarding claim 10, Wallace teaches the management method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining whether the power consumption estimate value is equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value; and in response to the power consumption estimate value being equal to or larger than the predetermined threshold value, decreasing at least one of: a communication speed between the network communication device and the at least one further communication device, or
a power supply amount supplied from the network communication device to the at least one further communication device (fig. 2, ¶ [0023], compare 230 the combined system power to a combined system power threshold. ¶ [0024] If the combined system power exceeds the combined system power threshold, the method is next operative to reduce 240 the maximum power consumption of the second plurality of auxiliary ports. ¶ [0027]).
Regarding claim 11, Wallace teaches the management method according to claim 1, wherein the network communication device is a switching hub device (figs. 1, 3, ¶ [0017], ¶ [0026], The first port 310 may be further operative to form part of a local area network and to route data between auxiliary ports and connected devices).
5. Claims 1, 3, 4, 12, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takashi (JP 2011239013 A).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 13, Takashi teaches a management method for a network communication device including at least one physical port (figs. 1-5, Page 8, functions of the above-described embodiments can be realized by a computer program), the method comprising: acquiring usage state information including a communication state and a power supply state between the network communication device and at least one further communication device connected to the at least one physical port (figs. 1-5, Page 2: The data storage unit 16 stores measurement information including information on the communication speed, power consumption of the wireless communication device 10, and power consumption of the wireless communication control device 20 for each wireless communication method. Page 4: For each wireless communication method that can be used in the wireless communication device 10 by the communication management function, the control unit measures the communication state measured by transmitting / receiving specified data and the slave device (wireless communication device 10) and the master device (wireless communication control). Measurement information such as power consumption of the apparatus 20) is requested and acquired from the wireless communication apparatus 10, and displayed on the display unit. Page 9, The acquisition step is a first acquisition in which data communication is performed between devices for each wireless communication unit, and power consumption and a communication state at the time of the data communication are acquired for each wireless communication method and stored in a predetermined storage area); and generating a power consumption estimate value based on the usage state information (figs. 1-5, Page 6, The control unit 21A of the wireless communication control device 20 measures the communication speed at the time of data reception of the prescribed data, the power consumption at the time of data reception, the communication speed at the time of data transmission, and the power consumption at the time of data transmission, and the measured information Is stored in the power consumption data section 29. The information stored in the power consumption data unit 29 indicates the power consumption of the apparatus for each communication standard for each communication standard).
Regarding claim 3, Takashi teaches the management method according to claim 1, wherein the power consumption estimate value is generated using a data table including a relationship between the communication state and power consumption of the network communication device (figs. 3 and 5).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Takashi teaches the management method according to claim 1, further comprising: storing the power consumption estimate value in a storage device; calculating historical information by combining the power consumption estimate value and a previous power consumption estimate value stored in advance in the storage device; and transmitting, to an external device or to the at least one further communication device, the historical information (Page 5: When the control unit 11 of the wireless communication device 10 receives the power consumption information from the wireless communication control device 20, the communication speed and the power consumption information of the wireless communication device 10 acquired by transmitting and receiving the prescribed data by the current wireless communication method. Is read from the data storage unit 16, measurement information is generated based on the received information and the read information, and stored in the data storage unit 16. Page 6: the control unit 11A of the wireless communication device 10 acquires a communication speed in transmission / reception of prescribed data of each wireless communication standard with which the wireless communication device 10 can communicate, and corresponds to the communication speed. The power consumption information is read from the power consumption data unit 19 and temporarily stored in the data storage unit 16 together with the communication speed information. Page 9, The acquisition step is a first acquisition in which data communication is performed between devices for each wireless communication unit, and power consumption and a communication state at the time of the data communication are acquired for each wireless communication method and stored in a predetermined storage area… The transmission step transmits information on a communication state for each wireless communication method acquired in the second acquisition step and power consumption information corresponding to the communication state).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallace in view of Dong (CN 116192638 A).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Wallace teaches the management method according to claim 1, wherein the power consumption estimate value is generated using a relationship between the communication state and power consumption of the network communication device (fig. 2).
Wallace does not explicitly teach wherein the power consumption estimate value is generated using a data table including a relationship between the communication state and power consumption of the network communication device.
Dong teaches wherein the power consumption estimate value is generated using a data table including a relationship between the communication state and power consumption of the network communication device (page 7, tables 1-4).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to generate the power consumption estimate value using a data table including a relationship between the communication state and power consumption of the network communication device to further improve industrial applicability.
10. Claims 3, 4, 8, 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallace in view of Takashi.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Wallace teaches the management method according to claim 1, wherein the power consumption estimate value is generated using a relationship between the communication state and power consumption of the network communication device (fig. 2).
Wallace does not explicitly teach wherein the power consumption estimate value is generated using a data table including a relationship between the communication state and power consumption of the network communication device.
Takashi teaches wherein the power consumption estimate value is generated using a data table including a relationship between the communication state and power consumption of the network communication device (figs. 3 and 5).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to generate the power consumption estimate value using a data table including a relationship between the communication state and power consumption of the network communication device to further improve industrial applicability.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Wallace teaches the management method according to claim 1.
Wallace does not explicitly teach further comprising: storing the power consumption estimate value in a storage device; calculating historical information by combining the power consumption estimate value and a previous power consumption estimate value stored in advance in the storage device; and transmitting, to an external device or to the at least one further communication device, the historical information.
Takashi teaches storing the power consumption estimate value in a storage device; calculating historical information by combining the power consumption estimate value and a previous power consumption estimate value stored in advance in the storage device; and transmitting, to an external device or to the at least one further communication device, the historical information (Page 5: When the control unit 11 of the wireless communication device 10 receives the power consumption information from the wireless communication control device 20, the communication speed and the power consumption information of the wireless communication device 10 acquired by transmitting and receiving the prescribed data by the current wireless communication method. Is read from the data storage unit 16, measurement information is generated based on the received information and the read information, and stored in the data storage unit 16. Page 6, The information stored in the power consumption data unit 29 indicates the power consumption of the apparatus for each communication standard for each communication standard, as in the information stored in the power consumption data unit 19 (see FIG. 5)… The control unit 11A of the wireless communication device 10 acquires a communication speed in transmission / reception of prescribed data of each wireless communication standard with which the wireless communication device 10 can communicate, and corresponds to the communication speed. The power consumption information is read from the power consumption data unit 19 and temporarily stored in the data storage unit 16 together with the communication speed information. Page 9, The acquisition step is a first acquisition in which data communication is performed between devices for each wireless communication unit, and power consumption and a communication state at the time of the data communication are acquired for each wireless communication method and stored in a predetermined storage area… The transmission step transmits information on a communication state for each wireless communication method acquired in the second acquisition step and power consumption information corresponding to the communication state. )
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to store the power consumption estimate value in a storage device, to calculate historical information by combining the power consumption estimate value and a previous power consumption estimate value stored in advance in the storage device, and to transmit, to an external device or to the at least one further communication device, the historical information in the system of Wallace to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Wallace teaches the management method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one physical port includes a first physical port and a second physical port different from the first physical port (figs. 1 and 3, ¶ [0018], ¶ [0019], In an exemplary aircraft cabin environment, the data server 130 may be part of a cabin management system (CMS) and may monitor the total power available to the auxiliary ports and how much each individual port is consuming).
Wallace does not explicitly teach the power consumption estimate value is generated using a first data table including a relationship between a communication state at the first physical port and power consumption of the network communication device, and the power consumption estimate is generated using a second data table, different from the first data table, and including a relationship between a communication state at the second physical port and power consumption of the network communication device.
Takashi teaches wherein the at least one physical port includes a first physical port and a second physical port different from the first physical port (figs. 1, 3, 5), and the power consumption estimate value is generated using a first data table including a relationship between a communication state at the first physical port and power consumption of the network communication device (figs. 3 and 5), and the power consumption estimate value is generated using a relationship between a communication state at the second physical port and power consumption of the network communication device (figs. 3 and 5). Takashi teaches one table including a relationship between a communication state at each (first and/or second) physical port and power consumption of the network communication device (figs. 3 and 5), where the relationship can be arranged in different rows (fig. 3) or diff columns (fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, generate the power consumption estimate value using different tables including (a relationship between a communication state at the first/second physical port and power consumption of the network communication device) (i.e., to arrange the relationship (between a communication state at each (first and/or second) physical port and power consumption of the network communication device) in separate/two data tables in the system of Wallace to further improve industrial applicability.
11. Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi.
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Takashi teaches the management method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one physical port includes a first physical port and a second physical port different from the first physical port (figs. 1, 3, 5), and the power consumption estimate value is generated using a first data table including a relationship between a communication state at the first physical port and power consumption of the network communication device (figs. 3 and 5), and the power consumption estimate value is generated using a relationship between a communication state at the second physical port and power consumption of the network communication device (figs. 3 and 5).
Takashi does not explicitly teach a second data table, different from the first data table, and including a relationship between a communication state at the second physical port and power consumption of the network communication device.
However, Takashi teaches one table including a relationship between a communication state at each (first and/or second) physical port and power consumption of the network communication device (figs. 3 and 5), where the relationship can be arranged in different rows (fig. 3) or diff columns (fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to arrange the relationship (between a communication state at each (first and/or second) physical port and power consumption of the network communication device) in two/separate data tables in the system of Takashi. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice.
12. Claims 5-7 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallace in view of Katsurai et al. (WO 2024062627 A1, hereinafter “Katsurai”).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Wallace teaches the management method according to claim 1.
Wallace does not explicitly teach further comprising: obtaining standby state information indicating a standby state of the network communication device; and generating the power consumption estimate value based on the usage state information and the standby state information.
Katsurai teaches obtaining standby state information indicating a standby state of the network communication device; and generating the power consumption estimate value based on the usage state information and the standby state information (page 3, Let Po be the power supplied from the external power supply 300… Power consumption in active mode is assumed to be Pa. Power consumption in sleep mode is assumed to be Ps. Let Ta be the operating time in active mode. Let Ts be the operating time in sleep mode… (Pa×Ta+Ps×Ts)/(Ta+Ts)<Po (Conditional expression A). The left side of conditional equation A indicates the average power consumption, and the right side indicates the supply power.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to obtain standby state information indicating a standby state of the network communication device, and to generate the power consumption estimate value based on the usage state information and the standby state information in the system of Wallace to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Wallace in view of Katsurai teaches the management method according to claim 5.
Wallace does not explicitly teach wherein the power consumption estimate value is generated based on conversion information indicating a relationship between the usage state information and the standby state information, and power consumption of the network communication device.
Katsurai teaches wherein the power consumption estimate value is generated based on conversion information indicating a relationship between the usage state information and the standby state information, and power consumption of the network communication device (page 3, Let Po be the power supplied from the external power supply 300… Power consumption in active mode is assumed to be Pa. Power consumption in sleep mode is assumed to be Ps. Let Ta be the operating time in active mode. Let Ts be the operating time in sleep mode…(Pa×Ta+Ps×Ts)/(Ta+Ts)<Po (Conditional expression A). The left side of conditional equation A indicates the average power consumption, and the right side indicates the supply power… assume that Ta:Ts=N:M is notified from the OLT 200 as the setting value. If the set value satisfies conditional expression A, the sleep control unit 120 switches the operation mode to the notified set value. On the other hand, if the setting value does not satisfy conditional expression A, the operation mode is switched to a default setting value that satisfies conditional expression A).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to generate the power consumption estimate value based on conversion information indicating a relationship between the usage state information and the standby state information, and power consumption of the network communication device in the system of Wallace in view of Katsurai. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice.
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Wallace in view of Katsurai teaches the management method according to claim 6.
Wallace does not explicitly teach updating the conversion information based on a predetermined condition.
Katsurai teaches updating the conversion information based on a predetermined condition (Page 3: assume that Ta:Ts=N:M is notified from the OLT 200 as the setting value. If the set value satisfies conditional expression A, the sleep control unit 120 switches the operation mode to the notified set value. On the other hand, if the setting value does not satisfy conditional expression A, the operation mode is switched to a default setting value that satisfies conditional expression A).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to update the conversion information based on a predetermined condition in the system of Wallace in view of Katsurai. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice.
13. Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallace in view of Tokuchi (US 2019/0258531 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Wallace teaches the management method according to claim 1.
Wallace does not explicitly teach further comprising: determining whether the power consumption estimate value satisfies a predetermined condition; and in response to the power consumption estimate value satisfying the predetermined condition, transmitting, to an external device or to the at least one further communication device, warning instruction information alerting that the power consumption estimate value satisfies the predetermined condition.
Tokuchi teaches determining whether the power consumption estimate value satisfies a predetermined condition (¶ [0303] The total sum of electric power may include electric power consumed by the relay apparatus 10C, and comparison may be performed between the total sum and the threshold); and in response to the power consumption estimate value satisfying the predetermined condition, transmitting, to an external device or to the at least one further communication device, warning instruction information alerting that the power consumption estimate value satisfies the predetermined condition (¶ [0301], the controller 26C transmits, as warning processing, information indicating that electric power exceeds the threshold to a terminal apparatus 12 that is linked with a user who is trying to set the cooperative function C. ¶ [0319]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, transmitting, in response to the power consumption estimate value satisfying the predetermined condition, to an external device or to the at least one further communication device, warning instruction information alerting that the power consumption estimate value satisfies the predetermined condition in the system of Wallace to further enhance system efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 12, Wallace teaches a management method for a network communication device including at least one physical port (figs. 1, 3), the method comprising: acquiring usage state information including a communication state and a power supply state between the network communication device and at least one further communication device connected to the at least one physical port (figs. 1-3, ¶ [0018], a USB-C device may draw as much as 5 amps at 20 volts. If two USB-C devices, such as laptops, are plugged into each of the first plurality of auxiliary ports 105a, 105b, the total current required to be provided by the power supply 140 may be as much as 10 amps. In this example, the total power supplied would be 200 watts. A USB 2.0 device may consume as much as 5 watts at 1 amp and 5 volts. As additional devices are coupled to other auxiliary ports, the current required is increased with each device. At some point, the power supply will reach its maximum power output.); and generating a power consumption estimate value based on the usage state information (figs. 1-3, ¶ [0018], ¶ [0019], In an exemplary aircraft cabin environment, the data server 130 may be part of a cabin management system (CMS) and may monitor the total power available to the auxiliary ports and how much each individual port is consuming. ¶ [0030], ¶ [0032]).
Wallace does not explicitly teach a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer executing the program to perform a management method.
Tokuchi teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer executing the program to perform a management method (¶ [0371]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer executing the program to perform the management method of Wallace to further improve industrial applicability.
Conclusion
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477