CTNF 18/808,245 CTNF 100899 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 1 and 7 objected to because of the following informalities: Grammar error in lines 9 and 10 "which presentation region corresponds", this is unclear. Examiner is interpreting this as either "wherein the presentation regions corresponds" or "which presentation region corresponds", both having the same meaning for the following purpose of examination .. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graf (DE 102023118550 A1) in view of Regensburger (GB 2379111 A), Pan (WO 2019/095649 A1) and I Eun (KR 20160103897 A) . Regarding claim 1, Graf teaches A method for operating a display system for smartglasses in a motor vehicle (paragraphs [0001], [0002]) , the method comprising: ascertaining a spatial image representation of a rear vehicle environment with the aid of an environment capture device (paragraphs [0003], [0011], [0041], [0052]) comprising a camera system for providing a camera image representation (paragraphs [0033], [0035], [0052]) ; communicating at least one portion of the spatial image representation of the rear vehicle environment as object information to the smartglasses (paragraph [0011]) ; and performing contact-analog presentation of display images on a display surface of the smartglasses (paragraphs [0003], [0041], [0057]) in a presentation region at a vehicle-fixed position (paragraph [0011]) , which presentation region corresponds to a vehicle mirror position (paragraphs [0013], [0015], [0049] - "For this purpose, an upper region of the front windshield 5 is used as the display region 6 corresponding to a conventional rearview mirror") . Graf fails to teach a 3D capture device for providing a distance profile ; wherein the display images are created stereoscopically depending on the spatial image representation of the rear vehicle environment with aid of a graphics engine implemented in the smartglasses in order to enable a spatial presentation of environment objects of the rear vehicle environment. However, Regensburger teaches a 3D capture device for providing a distance profile (paragraph 2 of pg. 6, paragraph 3 of pg. 7); Regensburger is considered analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of vehicle assistance systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Graf with Regensburger and include a method for capturing a distance profile in order to improve obtaining three-dimensional environmental information. Graf in view of Regensburger fails to explicitly teach wherein the display images are created stereoscopically depending on the spatial image representation of the rear vehicle environment with aid of a graphics engine implemented in the smartglasses in order to enable a spatial presentation of environment objects of the rear vehicle environment. However, Pan teaches wherein the display images are created stereoscopically depending on the spatial image representation of the rear vehicle environment (Abstract, paragraph 6 of pg. 2) . Pan is considered analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of rearview vehicle assistance systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pan with Graf in view of Regensburger and specify the implementation of using stereoscopic images in order to improve a driver’s perception of the rear of the vehicle (last paragraph before drawings section on pg. 4). Graf in view of Regensburger and Pan fail to teach a graphics engine implemented in the smartglasses in order to enable a spatial presentation of environment objects of the rear vehicle environment However I Eun teaches teach a graphics engine implemented in the smartglasses in order to enable a spatial presentation of environment objects (paragraph 1 of pg. 6, paragraph). I Eun is considered analogous to the claimed inventio as it is in the same field of augmented reality. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of I Eun with Graf in view of Regensburger and Pan in order to improve the interaction between a human user and the augmented reality environment. Regarding claim 2, Graf in view of Regensburger, Pan and I Eun teaches the method according to claim 1. Regensburger further teaches wherein ascertaining the spatial image representation of the rear vehicle environment is carried out by methods of sensor data fusion (paragraph 3-4 of pg. 6, paragraph 1 of pg. 10) of the camera image representation and the distance profile (paragraph 1 of pg. 8). Regarding claim 3, Graf in view of Regensburger, Pan and I Eun teaches the method according to claim 1. Graf further teaches wherein the image representation of the rear vehicle environment is presented in mirror-inverted fashion (paragraph [0019]) . Regarding claim 4, Graf in view of Regensburger, Pan and I Eun teaches the method according to claim1. Graf further teaches wherein: a glasses pose is provided in a vehicle-fixed assistance system (paragraphs [0005], [0022]), a portion of the spatial image representation of the rear vehicle environment is ascertained (paragraph [0016], [0022], [0023]) as object information which is perceptible in the smartglasses according to the glasses pose in a case of a driver’s viewing direction (paragraphs [0016] [0022]) , and the portion of the spatial image representation of the rear vehicle environment is communicated to the smartglasses (paragraphs [0016], [0022], [0026]) in order to display the portion of the spatial image representation of the rear vehicle environment there in a contact-analog manner (paragraphs [0021], [0022]) . Regarding claim 5, Graf in view of Regensburger, Pan and I Eun teaches the method according to claim 1. Graf further teaches wherein the display images for display on the display surfaces of the smartglasses are created from the spatial image representation (paragraphs [0017], [0027], [0029], [0038]). I Eun further teaches with aid of a 3D graphics engine (paragraph 1 of pg. 6, paragraph) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graf in view of Regensburger . Regarding claim 6, Graf teaches A display system for operating smartglasses in a motor vehicle (paragraphs [0001], [0002]) , the display system comprising: an environment capture device comprising a camera system configured to capture or to determine a camera image representation of a rear vehicle environment (paragraphs [0033], [0035]) , and comprising a control unit configured to determine a spatial image representation based on the camera image representation (paragraph [0014], [0033], [0035]) ; and a communication unit configured to communicate at least one portion of the spatial image representation of the rear vehicle environment as object information to the smartglasses (paragraphs [0016], [0022]) . Graf fails to teach a 3D capture device configured to capture a distance profile of the rear vehicle environment and determine a spatial image representation based on the camera image representation and the distance profile. However, Regensburger teaches a 3D capture device configured to capture a distance profile of the rear vehicle environment (paragraph 2 of pg. 6, paragraph 3 of pg. 7 – doesn’t specifically state it captures rear of the vehicle, but capturing the “environment of a road vehicle” includes the rear of the vehicle) and determine a spatial image representation based on the camera image representation and the distance profile (paragraph 1 of pg. 8, paragraph 1 of pg. 10) . Regensburger is considered analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of vehicle assistance systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Graf with Regensburger and include a method for capturing a distance profile in order to improve obtaining three-dimensional environmental information . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graf in view of Regensburger and in further view of Pan and I Eun . Regarding claim 7, Graf in view of Regensburger teaches the display system according to claim 6. Graf further teaches present the display images in contact-analog fashion on the display surfaces of the smartglasses (paragraphs [0003], [0041], [0057]) in a presentation region at a vehicle-fixed position (paragraph [0011]) , which presentation region corresponds to a vehicle mirror position (paragraphs [0013], [0015], [0049] - "For this purpose, an upper region of the front windshield 5 is used as the display region 6 corresponding to a conventional rearview mirror") , the display images are created depending on the spatial image representation of the rear vehicle environment (paragraphs [0017], [0027], [0029], [0038]) . Graf in view of Regensburger fails to teach the smartglasses are configured to generate display images for stereoscopic presentation on display surfaces of the smartglasses based on the spatial image representation aid of a graphics engine or a game engine implemented in the smartglasses in order to enable a spatial or stereoscopic presentation of environment objects of the rear vehicle environment. However, Pan teaches the smartglasses are configured to generate display images for stereoscopic presentation on display surfaces of the smartglasses (Abstract, paragraph 6 of pg. 2) . Pan is considered analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of rearview vehicle assistance systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Pan with Graf in view of Regensburger and specify the implementation of using stereoscopic images in order to improve a driver’s perception of the rear of the vehicle (last paragraph before drawings section on pg. 4). Graf in view of Regensburger and Pan fail to teach aid of a graphics engine or a game engine implemented in the smartglasses in order to enable a spatial or stereoscopic presentation of environment objects of the rear vehicle environment. However, I Eun teaches aid of a graphics engine or a game engine implemented in the smartglasses in order to enable a spatial presentation of environment objects (paragraph 1 of pg. 6, paragraph) . I Eun is considered analogous to the claimed inventio as it is in the same field of augmented reality. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of I Eun with Graf in view of Regensburger and Pan in order to improve the interaction between a human user and the augmented reality environment . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. J. Pan, V. Appia, J. Villarreal, L. Weaver and D. -K. Kwon, "Rear-Stitched View Panorama: A Low-Power Embedded Implementation for Smart Rear-View Mirrors on Vehicles," 2017 IEEE Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition Workshops (CVPRW), Honolulu, HI, USA, 2017, pp. 1184-1193, doi: 10.1109/CVPRW.2017.157 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Aidan W McCoy whose telephone number is (571)272-5935. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM-5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tammy Goddard can be reached at (571)272-7773. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AIDAN W MCCOY/Examiner, Art Unit 2611 /TAMMY GODDARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/808,245 Page 2 Art Unit: 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/808,245 Page 3 Art Unit: 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/808,245 Page 4 Art Unit: 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/808,245 Page 5 Art Unit: 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/808,245 Page 6 Art Unit: 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/808,245 Page 7 Art Unit: 2611 Application/Control Number: 18/808,245 Page 8 Art Unit: 2611