DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 06/09/2024, 07/02/2024, and 09/18/2025. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 12-14, and 17-19 are objected to because of the following informalities: “forth” should be spelled “fourth”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto (JPH0821748A), of record.
With respect to Claim 1, Hashimoto discloses an optical element (10, Figure 3) comprising: a substrate (1, Figure 1) comprising a lower surface (left face of 1, Figure 1) and an upper surface (right face of 1, Figure 1) opposite to the lower surface (left face of 1, Figure 1); a first microstructure layer (one of 1B, Figure 1) on the lower surface (left face of 1, Figure 1) of the substrate (1, Figure 1), the first microstructure layer (one of 1B, Figure 1) comprising a plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) protruding from the substrate (1, Figure 1) toward a side away from the substrate (1, Figure 1); each of the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) comprising a first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) configured for transmitting light (light is refracted and becomes the transmitted light, ¶[0015]); a second microstructure layer (second of 1B, Figure 1) on the upper surface (right face of 1, Figure 1) of the substrate (1, Figure 1), the second microstructure layer (second of 1B, Figure 1) comprising a plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) protruding from the substrate (1, Figure 1) toward a side away (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) from the substrate (1, Figure 1); each of the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) comprising a second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) configured for transmitting light (light is refracted by 1A and becomes the transmitted light, ¶[0015]); and a plurality of light blocking layers (1b, Figure 1), each of the plurality of blocking layers (1b, Figure 1) covering a corresponding surface (see 1b in Figure 1) of one of the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) or a surface of one of the plurality of second protrusions; the light blocking layers (1b, Figure 1) configured for blocking a portion of light incident (4, Figure 1) on the optical element (10, Figure 3) from passing through the optical element (10, Figure 3); wherein the surface (see 1b in Figure 1) of each one of the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) covered by the blocking layer (1b, Figure 1) intersects (see Figure 1) with the corresponding first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) of the same first protrusion (annotated Figures 1 and 2); the surface (see 1b in Figure 1) of each one of the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) covered by the blocking layer (1b, Figure 1) intersects (see Figure 1) with the corresponding second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) of the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2).
With respect to Claim 2, Hashimoto further discloses wherein each one of the first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) extends along a first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) , and the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) are distributed continuously (see Figure 1) along a second direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) intersecting with the first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) on the lower surface (left face of 1, Figure 1); each of the first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) is parallel (see Figure 1) to the first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2); each one of the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) extends along the first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2), and the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) are distributed continuously along the second direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) on the upper surface (right face of 1, Figure 1); each of the second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) is parallel to the first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2).
With respect to Claim 3, Hashimoto further discloses wherein each of the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) is a triangular prism (1A is a triangular prism, Figure 1), and the first protrusion (annotated Figures 1 and 2) further comprises a first side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and a second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1); the first side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and the first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) are connected in sequence; all of the first side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and the first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) are quadrilateral (see first annotated Figure 1); the first side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) is in direct contact with the substrate (1, Figure 1), the corresponding one of the plurality of light blocking layers (1b, Figure 1) covers the second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1); each of the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) is a triangular prism (1A is a triangular prism, Figure 1), and the second protrusion (annotated Figures 1 and 2) further comprises a third side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and a fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1); the third side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and the second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) are connected in sequence (see Figure 1); all of the third side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and the second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) are quadrilateral (see first annotated Figure 1); the third side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) is in direct contact with the substrate (1, Figure 1), the corresponding one of the plurality of light blocking layers (1b, Figure 1) covers the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 8, Hashimoto further discloses wherein the substrate (1, Figure 1) is integrally formed with the first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2); the substrate (1, Figure 1) is integrally formed with the second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claims 4, 7, and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hashimoto (JPH0821748A), of record, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2023/0305297 A1), of record.
With respect to Claim 4, Hashimoto teaches the optical element of claim 3, the first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1), the second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) and the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1).
Hashimoto fails to teach wherein an angle between the first transparent surface and the second side surface ranges from 30° to 150°; an angle between the second transparent surface and the fourth side surface ranges from 30° to 150°.
Hashimoto teaches a display device and Chen teaches a heads-up display device.
Chen teaches wherein an angle between the first transparent surface (one of 15, Figure 1) and the second side surface (1522b, Figure 1) ranges from 30° to 150° (5° to 150°, ¶[0036]); an angle between the second transparent surface (one of 15, Figure 1) and the fourth side surface (1522c, Figure 1) ranges from 30° to 150° (5° to 150°, ¶[0036]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hashimoto having the display device with the teachings of Chen having the specified angles for the purpose of allowing most of the incident light to be transmitted, ¶[0036].
With respect to Claim 7, Hashimoto teaches the optical element of claim 1 and the blocking layer (1b, Figure 1).
Hashimoto fails to teach wherein the blocking layer is any one of ultraviolet absorber, blocking ink, photoresist or blocking tape.
Chen teaches wherein the blocking layer (152, Figure 2) is any one of ultraviolet absorber, blocking ink, photoresist (patterned photoresist layer on a material layer, ¶[0048]) or blocking tape.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hashimoto having the display device with the teachings of Chen having the blocking layer is any one of ultraviolet absorber, blocking ink, photoresist or blocking tape for the purpose of shaping the material layer to form a concave-convex structure to obtain the microstructure layer, ¶[0048].
With respect to Claim 9, Hashimoto teaches an optical element (10, Figure 3) configured for receiving the image light (3, Figure 1) from the light directing assembly (9, Figure 1) and projecting the image light to a projection media (11, Figure 3); wherein, the optical element (10, Figure 3) comprising: a substrate (1, Figure 1) comprising a lower surface (left face of 1, Figure 1) and an upper surface (right face of 1, Figure 1) opposite to the lower surface (left face of 1, Figure 1); a first microstructure layer (one of 1B, Figure 1) on the lower surface (left face of 1, Figure 1) of the substrate (1, Figure 1), the first microstructure layer (one of 1B, Figure 1) comprising a plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) protruding from the substrate (1, Figure 1) toward a side away (see Figure 1) from the substrate (1, Figure 1); each of the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) comprising a first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) configured for transmitting light (light is refracted becomes the transmitted light, ¶[0015]); a second microstructure layer (second of 1B, Figure 1) on the upper surface (right face of 1, Figure 1) of the substrate (1, Figure 1), the second microstructure layer (second of 1B, Figure 1) comprising a plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) protruding from the substrate (1, Figure 1) toward a side away (see Figure 1) from the substrate (1, Figure 1); each of the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) comprising a second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) configured for transmitting light (light is refracted by 1A and becomes the transmitted light, ¶[0015]); and a plurality of light blocking layers (1b, Figure 1), each of the plurality of blocking layers (1b, Figure 1) covering a corresponding surface (see 1b in Figure 1) of one of the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) or a surface of one of the plurality of second protrusions; the light blocking layers (1b, Figure 1) configured for blocking a portion of light incident (4, Figure 1) on the optical element (10, Figure 3) from passing through the optical element (10, Figure 3); the surface (see 1b in Figure 1) of each one of the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) covered by the blocking layer (1b, Figure 1) intersects with the corresponding first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) of the same first protrusion; the surface (see 1b in Figure 1) of each one of the second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) covered by the blocking layer (1b, Figure 1) intersects with the corresponding second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) of the second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2).
Hashimoto fails to teach a head up display (HUD) comprising: a picture generation unit (PGU) configured for emitting image light; a light directing assembly configured for receiving and directing the image light.
Chen teaches a head up display (HUD) (10a, Figure 1) comprising: a picture generation unit (PGU) (13, Figure 1) configured for emitting image light (L1, Figure 1); a light directing assembly (141, Figure 1) configured for receiving and directing (¶[0020]-[0022]) the image light (L1, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hashimoto having the display device with the teachings of Chen having a head up display (HUD) comprising: a picture generation unit (PGU) configured for emitting image light; a light directing assembly configured for receiving and directing the image light for the purpose of safety and better usability experience, ¶[0015].
With respect to Claim 10, Hashimoto teaches the HUD of claim 9 and the optical element (10, Figure 3).
Hashimoto fails to teach a housing comprising an accommodating cavity and a light exit port; a transparent cover is set at the light exit port, and the optical element is set between the transparent cover and the PGU.
Chen teaches a housing (11, Figure 1) comprising an accommodating cavity (11a, Figure 1) and a light exit port (see annotated Figure 1, below); a transparent cover (12, Figure 1) is set at the light exit port, and the optical element (142, Figure 1) is set between (142 is between 12 and 13 in Figure 1) the transparent cover (12, Figure 1) and the PGU (13, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hashimoto having the display device with the teachings of Chen having a housing comprising an accommodating cavity and a light exit port; a transparent cover is set at the light exit port, and the optical element is set between the transparent cover and the PGU for the purpose of having the image projected clear and complete, ¶[0043].
With respect to Claim 11, Hashimoto further teaches wherein each one of the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) extends along a first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2), and the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) are distributed continuously (see Figure 1) along a second direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) intersecting with the first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) on the lower surface (left face of 1, Figure 1); each of the first transparent surfaces (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) is parallel to the first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2); each one of the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) extends along the first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) , and the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) are distributed continuously (see Figure 1) along the second direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) on the upper surface (right face of 1, Figure 1); each of the second transparent surfaces (1a, Figure 1) is parallel to the first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2).
With respect to Claim 12, Hashimoto further teaches wherein each of the first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) is a triangular prism (1A is a triangular prism, Figure 1), and the first protrusion further comprises a first side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and a second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1); the first side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and the first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) are connected in sequence ((see second annotated Figure 1); all of the first side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and the first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) are quadrilateral (see first annotated Figure 1); the first side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) is in direct contact with the substrate (1, Figure 1), the corresponding one of the plurality of light blocking layers (1b, Figure 1) covers the second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1); each of the second protrusions (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) is a triangular prism (1A is a triangular prism, Figure 1), and the second protrusion protrusions (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) further comprises a third side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and a fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1); the third side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and the second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) are connected in sequence (see second annotated Figure 1); all of the third side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and the second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) are quadrilateral (see first annotated Figure 1); the third side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) is in direct contact with the substrate (1, Figure 1), the corresponding one of the plurality of light blocking layers (1b, Figure 1) covers the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 13, Hashimoto teaches the HUD of claim 12, the first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1), the second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1), and the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1).
Hashimoto fails to teach wherein an angle between the first transparent surface and the second side surface ranges from 30° to 150°; an angle between the second transparent surface and the fourth side surface ranges from 30° to 150°.
Chen teaches wherein an angle between the first transparent surface (one of 15, Figure 1) and the second side surface (1522b, Figure 1) ranges from 30° to 150° (5° to 150°, ¶[0036]); an angle between the second transparent surface (one of 15, Figure 1) and the fourth side surface (1522c, Figure 1) ranges from 30° to 150° (5° to 150°, ¶[0036]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hashimoto having the display device with the teachings of Chen having the specified angles for the purpose of allowing most of the incident light to be transmitted, ¶[0036].
With respect to Claim 14, Hashimoto teaches the HUD of claim 12, the first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) and the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1).
Hashimoto fails to teach wherein the HUD is configured that an angle between ambient light and the fourth side surface ranges from 5° to 150°, and an angle between the image light and the first transparent surface ranges from 5° to 150°
Chen teaches wherein the HUD is configured that an angle between ambient light (L2, Figure 1) and the fourth side surface (1522c, Figure 1) ranges from 5° to 150° (5° to 150°, ¶[0036]), and an angle between the image light (L1, Figure 1) and the first transparent surface ranges from 5° to 150° (5° to 150°, ¶[0036]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hashimoto having the display device with the teachings of Chen having the specified angles for the purpose of allowing most of the incident light to be transmitted, ¶[0036].
With respect to Claim 15, Hashimoto teaches wherein, the optical element (10, Figure 3) comprising: a substrate (1, Figure 1) comprising a lower surface (left face of 1, Figure 1) and an upper surface (right face of 1, Figure 1) opposite to the lower surface (left face of 1, Figure 1); a first microstructure layer (one of 1B, Figure 1) on the lower surface (left face of 1, Figure 1) of the substrate (1, Figure 1), the first microstructure layer (one of 1B, Figure 1) comprising a plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) protruding from the substrate (1, Figure 1) toward a side away from the substrate (1, Figure 1); each of the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) comprising a first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) configured for transmitting light (light is refracted and becomes the transmitted light, ¶[0015]); a second microstructure layer (second of 1B, Figure 1) on the upper surface (right face of 1, Figure 1) of the substrate (1, Figure 1), the second microstructure layer (second of 1B, Figure 1) comprising a plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) protruding from the substrate (1, Figure 1) toward a side away from the substrate (1, Figure 1); each of the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) comprising a second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) configured for transmitting light (light is refracted by 1A and becomes the transmitted light, ¶[0015]); and a plurality of light blocking layers (1b, Figure 1), each of the plurality of blocking layers (1b, Figure 1) covering a corresponding surface (see 1b in Figure 1) of one of the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) or a surface of one of the plurality of second protrusions; the light blocking layers (1b, Figure 1) configured for blocking a portion of light incident (4, Figure 1) on the optical element (10, Figure 3) from passing through the optical element (10, Figure 3); the surface of each one of the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) covered by the blocking layer (1b, Figure 1) intersects with (see annotated Figure 1) the corresponding first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) of the same first protrusion (annotated Figures 1 and 2); the surface of each one of the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) covered by the blocking layer (1b, Figure 1) intersects with (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) the corresponding second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) of the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2).
Hashimoto fails to teach a vehicle comprising: a body and a head up display (HUD) setting on the body; the HUD comprising: a picture generation unit (PGU) configured for emitting image light; a light directing assembly configured for receiving and directing the image light.
Chen teaches a vehicle (100a, Figure 1) comprising: a body (20, Figure 1) and a head up display (HUD) (10a, Figure 1) setting on the body (20, Figure 1); the HUD (10a, Figure 1) comprising: a picture generation unit (PGU) (13, Figure 1) configured for emitting image light (L1, Figure 1); a light directing assembly (141, Figure 1) configured for receiving and directing (¶[0020]-[0022]) the image light (L1, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hashimoto having the display device with the teachings of Chen having a vehicle comprising: a body and a head up display (HUD) setting on the body; the HUD comprising: a picture generation unit (PGU) configured for emitting image light; a light directing assembly configured for receiving and directing the image light for the purpose of safety and better usability experience, ¶[0015].
With respect to Claim 16, Hashimoto further teaches wherein each one of the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) extends along a first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2), and the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) are distributed continuously (see Figure 1) along a second direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) intersecting with the first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) on the lower surface (left face of 1, Figure 1); each of the first transparent surfaces (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) is parallel to the first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2); each one of the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) extends along the first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) , and the plurality of second protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) are distributed continuously (see Figure 1) along the second direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) on the upper surface (right face of 1, Figure 1); each of the second transparent surfaces (1a, Figure 1) is parallel to the first direction (see annotated Figures 1 and 2).
With respect to Claim 17, Hashimoto further teaches wherein each of the plurality of first protrusions (annotated Figures 1 and 2) is a triangular prism (1A is a triangular prism, Figure 1), and the first protrusion further comprises a first side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and a second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1); the first side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and the first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) are connected in sequence (see second annotated Figure 1); all of the first side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and the first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) are quadrilateral (see first annotated Figure 1); the first side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) is in direct contact with the substrate (1, Figure 1), the corresponding one of the plurality of light blocking layers (1b, Figure 1) covers the second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1); each of the plurality of second protrusions (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) is a triangular prism (1A is a triangular prism, Figure 1), and the second protrusion protrusions (see annotated Figures 1 and 2) further comprises a third side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and a fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1); the third side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and the second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) are connected in sequence (see second annotated Figure 1); all of the third side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) and the second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) are quadrilateral (see first annotated Figure 1); the third side surface (see second annotated Figure 1) is in direct contact with the substrate (1, Figure 1), the corresponding one of the plurality of light blocking layers (1b, Figure 1) covers the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 18, Hashimoto teaches the vehicle of claim 17, the first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1), the second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1) and the fourth side surface.
Hashimoto fails to teach wherein an angle between the first transparent surface and the second side surface ranges from 30° to 150°; an angle between the second transparent surface and the fourth side surface ranges from 30° to 150°.
Chen teaches wherein an angle between the first transparent surface (one of 15, Figure 1) and the second side surface (1522b, Figure 1) ranges from 30° to 150° (5° to 150°, ¶[0036]); an angle between the second transparent surface (one of 15, Figure 1) and the fourth side surface (1522c, Figure 1) ranges from 30° to 150° (5° to 150°, ¶[0036]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hashimoto having the display device with the teachings of Chen having the specified angles for the purpose of allowing most of the incident light to be transmitted, ¶[0036].
With respect to Claim 19, Hashimoto teaches the HUD of claim 17, the first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1) and the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1).
Hashimoto fails to teach wherein the HUD is configured that an angle between ambient light and the fourth side surface ranges from 5° to 150°, and an angle between the image light and the first transparent surface ranges from 5° to 150°
Chen teaches wherein the HUD is configured that an angle between ambient light (L2, Figure 1) and the fourth side surface (1522c, Figure 1) ranges from 5° to 150° (5° to 150°, ¶[0036]), and an angle between the image light (L1, Figure 1) and the first transparent surface ranges from 5° to 150° (5° to 150°, ¶[0036]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hashimoto having the display device with the teachings of Chen having the specified angles for the purpose of allowing most of the incident light to be transmitted, ¶[0036].
With respect to Claim 20, Hashimoto teaches the HUD of claim 15 and the optical element.
Hashimoto fails to teach wherein the HUD further comprising a housing comprising an accommodating cavity and a light exit port; a transparent cover is set at the light exit port, and the optical element is set between the transparent cover and the PGU.
Chen teaches wherein the HUD (10a, Figure 1) further comprising a housing (11, Figure 1) comprising an accommodating cavity (11a, Figure 1) and a light exit port (see annotated Figure 1, below); a transparent cover (12, Figure 1) is set at the light exit port, and the optical element (142, Figure 1) is set between (142 is between 12 and 13 in Figure 1) the transparent cover (12, Figure 1) and the PGU (13, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hashimoto having the optical element with the teachings of Chen having a housing comprising an accommodating cavity and a light exit port; a transparent cover is set at the light exit port, and the optical element is set between the transparent cover and the PGU for the purpose of having the image projected clear and complete, ¶[0043].
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hashimoto (JPH0821748A), of record, in view of Chen (US 2023/305297 A1), of record, as applied to claim 3, above, and in further view of Balakoff et al., (Balakoff hereafter) (US 2013/0295312 A1) and Hara (US 6,704,080 B2).
With respect to Claim 5, Hashimoto in view of Chen teach the optical element of claim 3, the first transparent surface (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1), the second side surface (see second annotated Figure 1), the second transparent surface (1a, Figure 1), and the fourth side surface (see second annotated Figure 1).
Hashimoto in view of Chen fails to teach a surface roughness of the transparent surface is less than 0.05µm.
Hashimoto in view of Chen teaches the optical element and Balakoff teaches protection film that can be used with the optical element.
Balakoff teaches a surface roughness of the transparent surface (21, Figure 1) is less than 0.05µm (0 micron and 0.762 micron, ¶[0018]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hashimoto in view of Chen having the optical element with the teachings of Balakoff having a surface roughness of the transparent surface is less than 0.05µm, further modifying first and second transparent surfaces for the purpose of scatter suppression.
Hashimoto in view of Chen and Balakoff fail to teach a surface roughness of the side surface ranges from 0.2µm to 30µm.
Hashimoto in view of Chen and Balakoff teach the optical element and Hara teaches a semi-transmitting reflective plate that can be used with the optical element.
Hara teaches a surface roughness (0.1 to 1.0 μm, column 2, lines 51-63) of the side surface (3, Figure 1) ranges from 0.2µm to 30µm (0.1 to 1.0 μm).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hashimoto in view of Chen and Balakoff having the display device with the teachings of Hara having a surface roughness of the side surface ranges from 0.2µm to 30µm, further modifying the second and fourth side surfaces for the purpose of high transmission efficiency.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hashimoto (JPH0821748A), of record, in view of Chen (US 2023/305297 A1), of record, as applied to claim 1, above, and in further view of Shimizu et al., (Shimizu hereafter) (JP2011179971 A).
With respect to Claim 6, Hashimoto in view of Chen teach the optical element of claim 1, the first transparent surfaces (one of the inclined surfaces, Figure 1, of Hashimoto) and the second transparent surfaces (1a, Figure 1, of Hashimoto).
Hashimoto in view of Chen fail to teach wherein a parallelism error between the first transparent surfaces and the second transparent surfaces is equal to or less than 0.2°.
Hashimoto in view of Chen teach the optical element and Shimizu teaches a thin-film substrate that can be used with the optical element.
Shimizu teaches wherein a parallelism error (front and back surfaces of the substrate K, Figure 2, 0.001°, ¶[0063]) between the first transparent surfaces (front surface of the substrate K, ¶[0063]) and the second transparent surfaces (back surface of the substrate K, ¶[0063]) is equal to or less than 0.2° (front and back surfaces of the substrate K, Figure 2, 0.001°, ¶[0063]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hashimoto in view of Chen having the display device with the teachings of Shimizu having a parallelism error between the first transparent surfaces and the second transparent surfaces is equal to or less than 0.2° for the purpose of having a smaller error in analysis of light, ¶[0063].
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BRANDI N THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872