DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto et al. (JP 2017183704 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Sakamoto teaches:
A substrate transfer apparatus comprising:
a transfer arm (3 & F);
a driver configured to move the transfer arm [0019]; and
a controller (5) configured to control the driver [0021],
a first sensor (28) configured to detect pressure in the first and second suction passage (Fig. 5) [0021],
wherein the controller is configured to change a movement speed of the transfer arm by the driver, based on results detected by the first sensor [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092],
wherein the transfer arm includes:
a base portion (1000),
at least one arm portion (22) connected to the base portion to extend from the base portion and configured to surround an outer circumference of a substrate (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5),
a plurality of adsorbers (29) provided in the at least one arm portion and each including a suction port (24) that adsorbs a peripheral edge of a back surface of the substrate (Fig. 5) [0020 & 0022], and
a plurality of suction passages (25) provided in the at least one arm portion (Fig. 5) [0020], wherein the plurality of adsorbers include:
a first adsorber group including a first adsorber and a second adsorber (Fig. 5); and
a second adsorber group including a third adsorber and a fourth adsorber (Fig. 5),
wherein the plurality of suction passages include:
a first suction passage connected to the suction ports of the first adsorber and the second adsorber (Fig. 5) [0020], and
a second suction passage connected to the suction ports of the third adsorber and the fourth adsorber (Fig. 5) [0020].
Sakamoto does not teach:
a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
Regarding Claim 3, Sakamoto teaches:
the controller is configured to change the movement speed of the transfer arm by the driver, based on the results detected by the first sensor, and a movement direction of the transfer arm sensor [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092].
Sakamoto does not teach:
a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
Regarding Claim 4, Sakamoto teaches:
when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of the first to fourth adsorbers, from the results detected by the first sensor, the controller is configured to control the driver to move the transfer arm at a first speed [0046].
Sakamoto does not teach:
a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
Regarding Claim 5, Sakamoto teaches:
when determined that the pressure of one of the first suction passage and the second suction passage is higher than a threshold value set in advance, and the pressure of a remaining one of the first suction passage and the second suction passage is less than or equal to the threshold value, from the results detected by the first sensor, the controller is configured to control the driver to move the transfer arm at a second speed slower than the first speed [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092].
Sakamoto does not teach:
a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
Regarding Claim 6, Sakamoto teaches:
the controller is configured to perform:
in response to the results detected by the first sensor,
controlling the driver to move the transfer arm at a first speed when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of the first adsorber group and the suction ports of the second adsorber group [0008 & 0038 & 0042 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092],
controlling the driver to move the transfer arm at a second speed slower than the first speed when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of the first adsorber group or the suction ports of the second adsorber group [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092], and
controlling the driver not to move the transfer arm when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by one or less of the suction ports of the first adsorber group and the second adsorber group [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092].
Sakamoto does not teach:
a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
Regarding Claim 7, Sakamoto teaches:
the at least one arm portion includes a pair of first and second arm portions extending in the same direction from the base portion (Fig. 5),
the first adsorber is disposed at a front end of the first arm portion (Fig. 5),
the second adsorber is disposed at a front end of the second arm portion (Fig. 5),
the third adsorber is disposed in a side of the first arm portion adjacent to the base portion (Fig. 5), and
the fourth adsorber is disposed in a side of the second arm portion adjacent to the base portion (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Sakamoto teaches:
the at least one arm portion includes a pair of first and second arm portions extending in the same direction from the base portion (Fig. 5),
the first adsorber is disposed at a front end of the first arm portion (Fig. 5),
the second adsorber is disposed in a side of the second arm portion adjacent to the base portion (Fig. 5),
the third adsorber is disposed at a front end of the second arm portion (Fig. 5), and
the fourth adsorber is disposed in a side of the first arm portion adjacent to the base portion (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Sakamoto teaches:
the first suction passage is provided in one main surface side of the transfer arm (Fig. 5), and
the second suction passage includes:
a first portion provided in the one main surface side of the transfer arm (Fig. 5), and
a second portion in communication with the first portion through a through-hole in the transfer arm and provided in another main surface side of the transfer arm (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 10, Sakamoto teaches:
the first suction passage is provided in one main surface side of the transfer arm (Fig. 5), and
the second suction passage includes:
a first portion provided in the one main surface side of the transfer arm (Fig. 5), and
a second portion in communication with the first portion through a through-hole in the transfer arm and provided in another main surface side of the transfer arm (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 11, Sakamoto teaches:
the at least one arm portion includes a pair of first and second arm portions extending in the same direction from the base portion (Fig. 5),
the first adsorber is disposed at a front end of the first arm portion (Fig. 5),
the second adsorber is disposed in a side of the first arm portion adjacent to the base portion (Fig. 5),
the third adsorber is disposed at a front end of the second arm portion (Fig. 5), and
the fourth adsorber is disposed in a side of the second arm portion adjacent to the base portion (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 12, Sakamoto teaches:
the driver is configured to move the transfer arm along at least one of an X-axis extending along a horizontal direction [0019 & 0026], a Y-axis extending along the horizontal direction and orthogonal to the X-axis [0019 & 0026], a Z-axis orthogonal to both the X-axis and the Y-axis and extending along a vertical direction [0019 & 0026], and a θ-direction around the Z-axis [0019 & 0026].
Regarding Claim 13, Sakamoto teaches:
the controller is configured to perform:
controlling the driver to move the transfer arm along the Z-axis at a first speed [0088 & 0089 & 0090 & 0092], and
controlling the driver to move the transfer arm along one of the X-axis, the Y-axis, and the θ-direction at a second speed slower than the first speed [0088 & 0089 & 0090 & 0092].
Regarding Claim 14, Sakamoto teaches:
A substrate transfer apparatus comprising:
a transfer arm (3 & F);
a driver configured to move the transfer arm [0019]; and
a controller (5) configured to control the driver [0021],
a first sensor (28) configured to detect pressure in each of the plurality of suction passages (Fig. 5) [0021],
wherein the controller is configured to change a movement speed of the transfer arm by the driver based on results detected by the plurality of sensors [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092],
wherein the transfer arm includes:
a base portion (1000),
at least one arm portion (22) connected to the base portion to extend from the base portion and configured to surround an outer circumference of a substrate (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5),
a plurality of adsorbers (29) provided in the at least one arm portion and each including a suction port (24) that adsorbs a peripheral edge of a back surface of the substrate (Fig. 5) [0020 & 0022], and
a plurality of suction passages (25) provided in the at least one arm portion (Fig. 5) [0020],
wherein the plurality of suction passages are connected to the suction ports of the plurality of different adsorbers (Fig. 5) [0020], respectively.
Sakamoto does not teach:
a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
Regarding Claim 16, Sakamoto teaches:
the controller is configured to perform:
in response to the results detected by the first sensor,
controlling the driver to move the transfer arm at a first speed when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of three or more of the plurality of adsorbers [0008 & 0038 & 0042 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092],
controlling the driver to move the transfer arm at a second speed slower than the first speed when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of two of the plurality of adsorbers [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092], and
controlling the driver not to move the transfer arm when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction port of one or less of the plurality of adsorbers [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092].
Sakamoto does not teach:
a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
Regarding Claim 17, Sakamoto teaches:
A substrate transfer method comprising:
providing a substrate transfer apparatus including,
a transfer arm (3 & F) configured to transfer a substrate to each of a plurality of processing modules that processes the substrate [0014 & 0016 & 0023],
wherein the transfer arm includes,
a base portion (1000),
at least one arm portion (22) connected to the base portion to extend from the base portion and configured to surround an outer circumference of a substrate (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5),
a plurality of adsorbers (29) provided in the at least one arm portion and each including a suction port (24) that adsorbs a peripheral edge of a back surface of the substrate (Fig. 5) [0020 & 0022], and
a plurality of suction passages provided in the at least one arm portion,
a plurality of suction passages (25) provided in the at least one arm portion (Fig. 5) [0020]
wherein the plurality of adsorbers include:
a first adsorber group including a first adsorber and a second adsorber (Fig. 5); and
a second adsorber group including a third adsorber and a fourth adsorber (Fig. 5),
wherein the plurality of suction passages include,
a first suction passage connected to the suction ports of the first adsorber and the second adsorber (Fig. 5) [0020], and
a second suction passage connected to the suction ports of the third adsorber and the fourth adsorber (Fig. 5) [0020].
detecting pressure in the suction passages by a first sensor (28) (Fig. 5) [0021]; and
changing a movement speed of the transfer arm based on results detected by the first sensor [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092].
Sakamoto does not teach:
a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
Regarding Claim 18, Sakamoto teaches:
the changing includes, in response to the results detected by the first sensor [0021],
moving the transfer arm at a first speed when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of the first adsorber group and the suction ports of the second adsorber group [0008 & 0038 & 0042 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092],
moving the transfer arm at a second speed slower than the first speed when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of the first adsorber group or the suction ports of the second adsorber group [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092], and
not moving the transfer arm when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by one or less of the suction ports of the first adsorber group and the second adsorber group [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0086 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092].
Sakamoto does not teach:
a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
Regarding Claim 19, Sakamoto teaches:
a first valve provided in a pipe connecting the driver and the first suction passage and the second suction passage and configured to open and close the pipe [0021]; and
wherein the controller is further configured to close one of the first valve and the second valve corresponding to a suction passage in which the substrate is not adsorbed, based on the results detected by the first sensor [0021 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037].
Sakamoto does not explicitly teach:
a second valve provided in a pipe connecting the driver and the second suction passage and configured to open and close the pipe;
a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second valve provided in a pipe connecting the driver and the second suction passage and configured to open and close the pipe in order to provide a system capable of independently controlling separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer and isolate sources of loss in the system, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
Regarding Claim 20, Sakamoto teaches:
a first suction pump (27) connected to the first suction passage and the second suction passage (Fig. 5) [0020 & 0021]; and
wherein the detecting pressure in the first suction passage and the detecting pressure in the second suction passage comprise operating the first suction pump to generate negative pressure in the suction ports of the first adsorber group [0020 & 0021 & 0084].
Sakamoto does not teach:
a second suction pump connected to the second suction passage, operating the second suction pump to generate negative pressure in the suction ports of the second adsorber group operating the second suction pump to generate negative pressure in the suction ports of the second adsorber group
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second suction pump connected to the second suction passage, operating the second suction pump to generate negative pressure in the suction ports of the second adsorber group operating the second suction pump to generate negative pressure in the suction ports of the second adsorber group in order to provide a system capable of independently controlling separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer and isolate sources of loss in the system, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026/07/15 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 1, especially as it relates to the limitation of “a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage”:
Applicant’s assertion that the inclusion of a second sensor would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art is not persuasive because the applicant has not shown any criticality and/or that the addition of a second sensor would result in a new and unexpected result. Additionally applicant’s argument that the controller of Sakamoto could not accommodate a three-way differentiation is not persuasive as such a limitation has not been included in the claims.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 14, especially as it relates to the limitation of “a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage”:
Applicant’s assertion that the inclusion of a second sensor would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art is not persuasive because the applicant has not shown that the addition of a second sensor would result in a new and unexpected result. Additionally applicant’s argument that the controller of Sakamoto could not accommodate a three-way differentiation is not persuasive as such a limitation has not been included in the claims.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 19, especially as it relates to the limitation of “a second valve provided in a pipe connecting the driver and the second suction passage and configured to open and close the pipe; • a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage“:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second valve provided in a pipe connecting the driver and the second suction passage and configured to open and close the pipe in order to provide a system capable of independently controlling separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer and isolate sources of loss in the system, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B))
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 20, especially as it relates to the limitation of “a second suction pump connected to the second suction passage, operating the second suction pump to generate negative pressure in the suction ports of the second adsorber group operating the second suction pump to generate negative pressure in the suction ports of the second adsorber group”:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second suction pump connected to the second suction passage, operating the second suction pump to generate negative pressure in the suction ports of the second adsorber group operating the second suction pump to generate negative pressure in the suction ports of the second adsorber group in order to provide a system capable of independently controlling separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer and isolate sources of loss in the system, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
Conclusion
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652