Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13, 15, 21-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa et al, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0342890), referred herein as Kanazawa, in view of Zhou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0338869), referred herein as Zhou.
Regarding claim 1, Kanazawa teaches at least one processor, comprising: processing circuitry to (fig 1A; paragraphs 95 and 101):
generate, using at least one machine learning model, a first image corresponding to a foreground of an input image (figs 2A and 2B, input image 206 and first images 210 or 222; paragraph 82, lines 1-9; paragraph 117, lines 8-17; paragraph 127; paragraph 129, lines 1-10; an image corresponding to a foreground of an input image is generated using a machine learning model);
generate, using the at least one machine learning model, one or more second images corresponding to a background of the input image (figs 2A and 2B, input image 206 and second images 214 or 224; paragraph 82, lines 1-9; paragraph 117, lines 8-17; paragraph 128, lines 1-11; paragraph 130; an image corresponding to a background of an input image is generated using a machine learning model); and
cause a display of an animated effect generated using the first image and at least one of the one or more second images (paragraphs 165 and 166; paragraph 167, lines 1-6; an animated effect is generated using the first and second images).
Kanazawa does not explicitly teach that the processor circuitry is further configured to generate a third image including one or more added regions extending beyond at least one boundary of at least one of the first image or the second image; and display the third image.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Zhou teaches a system comprising a processor configured to generate, using at least one machine learning model, a first foreground image, and a second background image, and display an effect using the images (figs 2 and 3; paragraphs 24 and 26; paragraphs 82 and 93), and further configured to generate a third image including one or more added regions extending beyond at least one boundary of at least one of the first image or the second image, and display the third image (fig 15; paragraph 4; paragraph 54; paragraphs 103 and 104; paragraphs 141 and 144; paragraph 152).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the region extension effects processing of Zhou with the effects processing of Kanazawa because the provides a broader range of effects processing while maintaining high image quality and processing efficiency (see, for example, Zhou, paragraph 24, lines 1-8; paragraphs 144 and 155).
Regarding claim 2, Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches the at least one processor of claim 1, wherein the input image is a two-dimensional image (Kanazawa, figs 2A and 2B, two-dimensional input image 206; paragraph 31; pixel images are two-dimensional).
Regarding claim 3, Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches the at least one processor of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: generate a mask associated with the foreground of the first image; and generate one or more replacement pixels for the mask (Kanazawa, paragraph 127; paragraph 128, lines 1-11; paragraph 130; Zhou, paragraphs 58, 60, and 111) using one or more trained neural networks (Kanazawa, paragraphs 96, 103, and 104; Zhou, paragraphs 24, 26, and 51).
Regarding claim 5, Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches the at least one processor of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: determine one or more parameters associated with a user; and select the animated effect based on the one or more parameters (Kanazawa, paragraph 53, lines 1-13; paragraph 54, lines 1-3; paragraphs 74 and 75; Zhou, paragraphs 45 and 72).
Regarding claim 6, Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches the at least one processor of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: identify one or more components associated with the foreground; and extract, from the input image, the one or more components (Kanazawa, figs 2A and 2B; paragraph 127; paragraph 128, lines 1-11; paragraph 129, lines 1-10; paragraph 130; any one of the extracted foreground components; Zhou, paragraphs 26 and 82).
Regarding claim 7, Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches the at least one processor of claim 6, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: generate at least one second image of the one or more second images including one or more second objects related to the one or more components in the foreground (Kanazawa, figs 2A and 2B; paragraphs 127 and 128, lines 1-11; paragraph 129, lines 1-10; paragraph 130; the second images are related to the foreground components; Zhou, fig 15; paragraph 141).
Regarding claim 9, Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches the at least one processor of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is comprised in at least one of: a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing simulation operations to test or validate autonomous machine applications; a system for performing digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for rendering graphical output; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system for generating or presenting virtual reality (VR) content; a system for generating or presenting augmented reality (AR) content; a system for generating or presenting mixed reality (MR) content; a system incorporating one or more Virtual Machines (VMs);a system for performing operations for a conversational AI application; a system for performing operations for a generative AI application; a system for performing operations using a language model; a system for performing one or more operations using a large language model (LLM);a system for performing one or more operations using a vision language model (VLM);a system implemented at least partially in a data center; a system implemented using a robot; a system for performing hardware testing using simulation; a system for performing one or more generative content operations using a language model; a system for synthetic data generation; a collaborative content creation platform for 3D assets; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (Kanazawa, paragraphs 62 and 71; paragraph 114; paragraphs 128 and 130; paragraph 167, lines 1-6; Zhou, paragraphs 34 and 47).
Regarding claim 10, Kanazawa teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising: extracting one or more foreground components identified in an input image, and generating, based on the input image, a first image including at least a portion of the one or more foreground components (figs 2A and 2B, input image 206, first images 210 or 222; paragraph 82, lines 1-9; paragraph 127, lines 1-9; paragraph 129, lines 1-10; paragraph 130, lines 1-2; foreground components are extracted from an input image, and a first image is generated based on at least a portion of the components);
determining a mask region associated with the one or more foreground components in the input image, generating one or more replacement pixels for the mask region, and generating, based on the input image, at least one second image including the one or more replacement pixels in place of the mask region (figs 2A and 2B, input image 206, second images 214 or 224; paragraph 82, lines 1-9; paragraph 128, lines 1-11; paragraph 130; a mask region is determined that is associated with the foreground components, replacement pixels are generated for the mask, and a second image is generated that includes the replacement pixels);
generating an output configuration including a layered set of the first image and the at least one second image, and generating an animation using the output configuration (paragraphs 165 and 166; paragraph 167, lines 1-6; an animation is generated using the output configuration).
Kanazawa does not explicitly teach a third image having a larger viewable area than the first image and the at least one second image.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Zhou teaches a method to generate, using at least one machine learning model, a first foreground image, and at least one second background image, and display an effect using the images (figs 2 and 3; paragraphs 24 and 26; paragraphs 82 and 93), and to generate a third image having a larger viewable area than the first image and the at least one second image (fig 15; paragraph 4; paragraph 54; paragraphs 103 and 104; paragraphs 141 and 144; paragraph 152).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the region extension effects processing of Zhou with the effects processing of Kanazawa because the provides a broader range of effects processing while maintaining high image quality and processing efficiency (see, for example, Zhou, paragraph 24, lines 1-8; paragraphs 144 and 155).
Regarding claim 11, Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10, further comprising: identifying the one or more foreground components in the input image, based on a context of the input image (Kanazawa, figs 2A and 2B, input image 206, first images 210 or 222; paragraph 82, lines 1-9; paragraph 127, lines 1-9; paragraph 129, lines 1-10; paragraph 130, lines 1-2; Zhou, paragraphs 26 and 82).
Regarding claim 13, Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10, wherein one or more of the input image, the first image, and the at least one second image are two-dimensional images (Kanazawa, figs 2A and 2B, two-dimensional images 206, 210, 214, 222, or 224; paragraph 31; pixel images are two-dimensional).
Regarding claim 15, Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10, wherein the one or more replacement pixels are generated using a trained neural network, and further comprising: receiving one or more prompts associated with the one or more replacement pixels (Kanazawa, paragraphs 96, 103, and 104; paragraph 114; paragraph 128, lines 1-11; paragraph 130; Zhou, paragraph 45; paragraphs 58 and 60).
Regarding claim 21, Kanazawa teaches a system, comprising (fig 1A):
one or more processors to generate an animated effect using a generated first image and one or more generated second images (figs 2A and 2B; paragraphs 166 and 167; an animated effect is generated using a plurality of generated images),
the generated first image corresponding to a foreground of an input image and the one or more generated second images corresponding to a background of the input image (figs 2A and 2B, input image 206, first images 210 or 222, second images 214 or 224; paragraph 82, lines 1-9; paragraph 117, lines 8-17; paragraphs 127 and 128; paragraphs 165 and 166; the first image corresponds to a foreground of the input image, the second images correspond to a background of the input image).
Kanazawa does not explicitly teach that the processors generate a third image, the generated third image corresponding to a canvas image including one or more added regions extending a generated third image viewing area compared to a generated first image viewing area.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Zhou teaches a system comprising a processor configured to generate, using at least one machine learning model, a first foreground image, and a second background image, and display an effect using the images (figs 2 and 3; paragraphs 24 and 26; paragraphs 82 and 93), and further configured to generate a third image, the generated third image corresponding to a canvas image including one or more added regions extending a generated third image viewing area compared to a generated first image viewing area (fig 15; paragraph 4; paragraph 54; paragraphs 103 and 104; paragraphs 141, 142, and 144; paragraph 152).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the region extension effects processing of Zhou with the effects processing of Kanazawa because the provides a broader range of effects processing while maintaining high image quality and processing efficiency (see, for example, Zhou, paragraph 24, lines 1-8; paragraphs 144 and 155).
Regarding claims 22, 23, and 25, the limitations of these claims substantially correspond to the limitations of claims 2, 3, and 5, respectively; thus they are rejected on similar grounds as their corresponding claims.
Claims 4, 8, 12, 14, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa, in view of Zhou, and further in view of Lwowski et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0201077), referred herein as Lwowski.
Regarding claim 4, Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches the at least one processor of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: identify one or more regions of a particular second image of the one or more second images, and generate one or more pixels (Kanazawa, paragraph 127; paragraph 128, lines 1-11; paragraph 130; Zhou, paragraph 45; paragraphs 58 and 60) using one or more trained neural networks (Kanazawa, paragraphs 96, 103, and 104; Zhou, paragraphs 24, 26, and 51).
The masked silhouette regions described in Kanazawa in view of Zhou have edges, and the pixel replacement filling in those regions would include filling in all the way to, and including, the borders of those regions. However, Kanazawa in view of Zhou does not explicitly discuss identifying edge regions and generating border pixels.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lwowski teaches a system comprising circuitry configured to generate, using a neural network machine learning model, a first image corresponding to a foreground of an input image and one or more second images corresponding to a background of the input image, and cause a display of an image effect by compositing the first and second images (fig 2A; paragraph 67; paragraph 73, lines 1-9; paragraph 74, lines 1-10), and further configured to identify edge regions and generate border pixels (paragraph 86; paragraph 87, lines 12-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the edge identification and border pixel generation of Lwowski with the pixel replacement of Kanazawa in view of Zhou because this helps produce finer edges, while accurately blending the fine edges to produce higher quality, more accurate foreground and background composite images, without increasing computational costs associated with the machine learning (see, for example, Lwowski, paragraph 7; paragraph 87, lines 22-31).
Regarding claim 8, Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches the at least one processor of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: generate output data associated with the animated effect, the output data including at least one of: an effect, one or more effect parameters, or identifying information for the first image and at least one of the one or more second images (Kanazawa, paragraph 40, the last 4 lines; paragraph 45, the last 16 lines; paragraphs 46 and 47; Zhou, paragraphs 24 and 26; paragraphs 141 and 144).
Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches utilizing program files (see, for example, Kanazawa, paragraph 110), and the output data may reasonably be interpreted as performing the functions of the claimed configuration file. However, Kanazawa in view of Zhou does not explicitly discuss that the output data is a configuration file.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lwowski teaches a system comprising circuitry configured to generate, using a neural network machine learning model, a first image corresponding to a foreground of an input image and one or more second images corresponding to a background of the input image, and cause a display of an image effect by compositing the first and second images (fig 2A; paragraph 67; paragraph 73, lines 1-9; paragraph 74, lines 1-10), and further configured to generate and utilize a configuration file including effect parameters or identifying information (paragraph 96, lines 9-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the configuration file of Lwowski with the output data of Kanazawa in view of Zhou because this helps the training of the machine learning models such that higher quality image output can be provided, while minimizing any potential increase in computational costs associated with the machine learning (see, for example, Lwowski, paragraph 7; paragraph 96, lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 12, Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10, further comprising: determining one or more settings associated with a user request, and selecting at least one of the animation or properties of the animation, based on the one or more settings (Kanazawa, paragraph 53, lines 1-13; paragraph 54, lines 1-3; paragraphs 74 and 75; paragraph 167; Zhou, paragraphs 45 and 72).
Kanazawa in view of Zhou does not explicitly teach that the user requests access to one or more resources.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lwowski teaches a method comprising generating, using a neural network machine learning model, a first image corresponding to a foreground of an input image and one or more second images corresponding to a background of the input image, and causing a display of an image effect by compositing the first and second images (fig 2A; paragraph 67; paragraph 73, lines 1-9; paragraph 74, lines 1-10), wherein a user requests access to one or more resources to determine settings and properties of the image processing (paragraph 71, lines 1-8; paragraph 72, lines 6-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the user access request of Lwowski with the user request of Kanazawa in view of Zhou because this improves the security of the resources being processed by authorizing only those users who have proper access to the resources, which is particularly important in client-server architectures such as those in Kanazawa (see, for example Lwowski, paragraph 71, lines 1-8 and the last 5 lines; paragraph 72, lines 1-6 and the last 4 lines).
Regarding claim 14, Kanazawa in view of Zhou teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10, further comprising: identifying one or more regions of a specific second image of the at least one second image, generating one or more pixels of the specific second image, and generating, based on the input image, the particular second image including the one or more pixels (Kanazawa, paragraph 127; paragraph 128, lines 1-11; paragraph 130; Zhou, Zhou, paragraph 45; paragraphs 58 and 60).
The masked silhouette regions described in Kanazawa in view of Zhou have edges, and the pixel replacement filling in those regions would include filling in all the way to, and including, the borders of those regions. However, Kanazawa in view of Zhou does not explicitly discuss identifying edges and generating border pixels extending beyond the one or more edges.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lwowski teaches a method comprising generating, using a neural network machine learning model, a first image corresponding to a foreground of an input image and one or more second images corresponding to a background of the input image, and causing a display of an image effect by compositing the first and second images (fig 2A; paragraph 67; paragraph 73, lines 1-9; paragraph 74, lines 1-10), and further comprising identifying one or more edges and generating border pixels extending beyond the one or more edges (paragraph 86; paragraph 87, lines 12-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the edge identification and border pixel generation of Lwowski with the pixel replacement of Kanazawa in view of Zhou because this helps produce finer edges, while accurately blending the fine edges to produce higher quality, more accurate foreground and background composite images, without increasing computational costs associated with the machine learning (see, for example, Lwowski, paragraph 7; paragraph 87, lines 22-31).
Regarding claim 24, the limitations of this claim substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 4; thus they are rejected on similar grounds.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection presented above. The Examiner agrees that the previously cited art does not teach the newly amended claim limitations; however, the Examiner respectfully submits that Zhou teaches these limitations.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wu et al. (Cartoon Animation Outpainting With Region-Guided Motion Inference); IEEE; March 2024.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID T. WELCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2613
/DAVID T WELCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613