CTNF 18/808,484 CTNF 86311 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This communication is response to claims filed on 08/19/24 . Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Information Disclosure Statement’s 4. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 08/19/24 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file. Drawing 5. The drawings filed on 08/19/24, 11/04/24 & 01/06/25 are accepted by the examiner. Specification 6. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains a legal phraseology “ comprising ” in line 2. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b). The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. 7. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggested to change the title to “ SELECTING A CANDIDATE NODE TO RE-ESTABLISH A BACKHAUL LINK IN RESPONSE TO A FAILURE ” Appropriate correction is required. Claims Objections 8. Claims 3-6 & 17-20 are objected to because of minor informalities: 9. Claim 3 , in part, recites, “… the channel quality… in line 1. Since it is recited for the first time in the claim, for clarity it is suggested to change “the channel quality” to “ a channel quality”. 10. Claim 17 is also objected for the same reason as claim 3 above. 11. Claims 4-6 & 18-20 are also objected since they are depend upon objected independent claim set forth above. 12. Claim 5 , in part, recites, “… the same base station… in line 1. Since it is recited for the first time in the claim, for clarity it is suggested to change “the same base station” to “ a same base station”. 13. Claim 19 is also objected for the same reason as claim 5 above. 14. Claims 6 & 20 are also objected since they are depend upon objected independent claim set forth above. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 15. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA 16. Claim s 1-10 & 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Seo et al. (hereinafter referred as Seo ) US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0327801 A1 . Regarding claims 1 & 13: Seo discloses a device/method (See FIG. 15 & Para. communication apparatus (i.e., a UE)) for wireless communication, the device comprising: at least one memory (See FIG. 15 & Para. communication apparatus includes memory) ; and at least one processor (See FIG. 15 & Para. communication apparatus includes processor) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the device to: select, at an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, a candidate node for backhaul link re-establishment in response to receiving, from an upstream IAB node (corresponding to RN) , a signaling message indicating a failure in a backhaul link (See Para. 0013, 00158 & 0163-0165; the signaling to control communication on a radio link between the second node and the communication apparatus may be one of a wait message for transmission and reception to and from the second node, a message configuring Discontinuous Transmission /Discontinuous Reception (DTX/DRX) for the second node, and a message commanding the second node to transmit a connection re-establishment request message to a target cell. if the backhaul link handover is failed or the connection re-establishment procedure that the RN performs with respect to the eNB is failed within a predetermined time, the RN may indicate discontinuation of access link transmission to the R-UEs . That is, as a solution to the handover failure or connection re-establishment failure, the RN may transmit a release message to the R-UEs or may indicate disconnection of the access links to the R-UEs using a predetermined timer, so that the R-UEs may perform cell selection ) ; and transmit, at the IAB node, a re-establishment request to the candidate node (See Para. 0163-0165; connection re-establishment command may be signaled from the RN to the R-UE, periodically or in an even-triggered manner. In the latter case, the RN may transmit the connection re-establishment command, upon receipt of a predetermined number of `out-of-sync` messages . when the RN supports a plurality of cells, the R-UE may perform the connection re-establishment procedure to a cell other than the serving cell) . Regarding claim 14: Seo discloses an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (See FIG. 15 & Para. communication apparatus (i.e., a UE)) , comprising: a receiving circuitry (See FIG. 15 & Para. communication apparatus includes RX module) ; a transmitting circuitry (See FIG. 15 & Para. communication apparatus includes TX module) ; and a processor (See FIG. 15 & Para. communication apparatus includes processor) coupled to the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, and wherein the processor is configured to: select a candidate node for backhaul link re-establishment in response to receiving, from an upstream IAB node (corresponding to RN) , a signaling message indicating a failure in a backhaul link (See Para. 0013, 00158 & 0163-0165; the signaling to control communication on a radio link between the second node and the communication apparatus may be one of a wait message for transmission and reception to and from the second node, a message configuring Discontinuous Transmission /Discontinuous Reception (DTX/DRX) for the second node, and a message commanding the second node to transmit a connection re-establishment request message to a target cell. if the backhaul link handover is failed or the connection re-establishment procedure that the RN performs with respect to the eNB is failed within a predetermined time, the RN may indicate discontinuation of access link transmission to the R-UEs . That is, as a solution to the handover failure or connection re-establishment failure, the RN may transmit a release message to the R-UEs or may indicate disconnection of the access links to the R-UEs using a predetermined timer, so that the R-UEs may perform cell selection ) ; and transmit a re-establishment request to the candidate node (See Para. 0163-0165; connection re-establishment command may be signaled from the RN to the R-UE, periodically or in an even-triggered manner. In the latter case, the RN may transmit the connection re-establishment command, upon receipt of a predetermined number of `out-of-sync` messages . when the RN supports a plurality of cells, the R-UE may perform the connection re-establishment procedure to a cell other than the serving cell) . Regarding claim 15: Seo discloses a processor (See FIG. 15 & Para. communication apparatus (i.e., a UE)) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller (See FIG. 15 & Para. communication apparatus includes processor) coupled with at least one memory (See FIG. 15 & Para. communication apparatus includes memory) and configured to cause the processor to: select, at an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, a candidate node for backhaul link re-establishment in response to receiving, from an upstream IAB node (corresponding to RN) , a signaling message indicating a failure in a backhaul link (See Para. 0013, 00158 & 0163-0165; the signaling to control communication on a radio link between the second node and the communication apparatus may be one of a wait message for transmission and reception to and from the second node, a message configuring Discontinuous Transmission /Discontinuous Reception (DTX/DRX) for the second node, and a message commanding the second node to transmit a connection re-establishment request message to a target cell. if the backhaul link handover is failed or the connection re-establishment procedure that the RN performs with respect to the eNB is failed within a predetermined time, the RN may indicate discontinuation of access link transmission to the R-UEs . That is, as a solution to the handover failure or connection re-establishment failure, the RN may transmit a release message to the R-UEs or may indicate disconnection of the access links to the R-UEs using a predetermined timer, so that the R-UEs may perform cell selection ) ; and transmit, at the IAB node, a re-establishment request to the candidate node (See Para. 0163-0165; connection re-establishment command may be signaled from the RN to the R-UE, periodically or in an even-triggered manner. In the latter case, the RN may transmit the connection re-establishment command, upon receipt of a predetermined number of `out-of-sync` messages . when the RN supports a plurality of cells, the R-UE may perform the connection re-establishment procedure to a cell other than the serving cell) . Regarding claims 2 & 16: Seo discloses a device/processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to select the candidate node in response to an expiry of a timer (See Para. 00158; if the backhaul link handover is failed or the connection re-establishment procedure that the RN performs with respect to the eNB is failed within a predetermined time. the RN may transmit a release message to the R-UEs or may indicate disconnection of the access links to the R-UEs using a predetermined timer ) . Regarding claims 3 & 17: Seo discloses a device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to determine that the channel quality between the candidate node and the IAB node is equal to or greater than a threshold for backhaul link selection (See Para. 0012 & Para. 0170; the RN may determine the quality of the radio link between the RN and the eNB (S1430 ). For example, the RN may determine whether the quality of the eNB-RN radio link has dropped to or below a predetermined threshold by performing the afore-described RLF-related operation. The RN may detect an RLF with respect to the eNB) . Regarding claims 4 & 18: Seo discloses a device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to receive a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling message from a base station, wherein the RRC signaling message comprises the threshold for backhaul link selection (See Para. 0012 & Para. 014 & 0170; predetermined threshold via RRC) . Regarding claims 5 & 19: Seo discloses a device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to select the candidate node from one or more candidate nodes for backhaul link, wherein the one or more candidate nodes and the IAB node are connected to the same base station (See Para. 0164-0165; n the case where the RN signals the connection re-establishment command to the R-UE, a cell to which a connection is to be re-established should be determined. This cell may be another eNB or another RN that can serve the R-UE. Or, when the RN supports a plurality of cells, the R-UE may perform the connection re-establishment procedure to a cell other than the serving cell) . Regarding claims 6 & 20: Seo discloses a device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to: determine one or more candidate nodes for backhaul link, wherein the one or more candidate nodes and the IAB node are connected to different base stations; and randomly select the candidate node from the one or more candidate nodes for backhaul link (See Para. 0164-0165; in the case where the RN signals the connection re-establishment command to the R-UE, a cell to which a connection is to be re-established should be determined. This cell may be another eNB or another RN that can serve the R-UE. Or, when the RN supports a plurality of cells, the R-UE may perform the connection re-establishment procedure to a cell other than the serving cell) . Regarding claim 7: Seo discloses a device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to initiate a timer in response to the transmission of the re-establishment request (See Para. 0166; if the R-UE fails in the connection re-establishment procedure within a predetermined time, the RN may indicate discontinuation of access link transmission to the R-UE) . Regarding claim 8: Seo discloses a device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to stop the timer in response to a successful link establishment between the IAB node and the candidate node (See Para. 0146; Upon receipt of as many consecutive "in-sync" indications as a predetermined value N311 while the T310 timer is running, the UE stops the T310 timer ) . Regarding claim 9: Seo discloses a device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to: in response to an expiry of the timer: transmit, to a downstream IAB node, a signaling message indicating the failure in the backhaul link; and enter into an idle mode (See Para. 0143 & 0154; When the RRC connection is released between the UE and the eNB, this state is called the RRC_IDLE state ) . Regarding claim 10: Seo discloses a device, wherein the signaling message comprises a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling message, a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) signaling message, or a physical layer signaling message (See Para. 0143-0144; RRC signaling and Physical layer signaling) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 17. Claim s 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 18. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. A. Xu et al. 2024/0214799 A1 (Title: Layer 2 security ) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038) . B. Ali et al. 2026/0100751 A1 (Title: Network-controlled repeater operation during beam recovery) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016). C. Fujishiro et al. 2023/0180327 A1 (Title: Communication control method) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160) . 19. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEWALE A AMBAYE whose telephone number is (571)270-1076. The examiner can normally be reached on M.F 6a.m.-2p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571)272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/808,484 Page 2 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/808,484 Page 3 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/808,484 Page 4 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/808,484 Page 5 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/808,484 Page 6 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/808,484 Page 7 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/808,484 Page 8 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/808,484 Page 9 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/808,484 Page 10 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/808,484 Page 11 Art Unit: 2469