Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024 and 03/25/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “angle is 90 degrees” with regard to the center portion as required by claim 8 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraphs [0055] and [0063] recite “and environmental rating” and should be “ an environmental rating”.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “the hollow core has an inner surface extending from the flange surface to the second end” and should be “the hollow core has an inner surface extending radially below the flange surface to the second end” since the flange surface is at the exterior of the fitting and the hollow core is radially below the flange surface rather than extending from the flange surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 9, and 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the sealed connection” which is unclear of which sealed connection this refers to since claim 1 includes two different sealed connections. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the sealed connection of the flange surface and the gasket and of the fitting and the conduit body” since the specification appear to describe the seal connections between the fitting and the conduit body and the conduit to provide an environmental rating.
Claim 3 recites “an environmental rating” which is unclear of how this limitation is distinct from any other sealed connection and applicant’s specification lacks any sufficient description of an environmental rating other than a sealed connection. For examination purposes, an environmental rating will be interpreted as any sealed connection.
Claim 5 is unclear for the same reasons above for claim 3.
Claim 9 recites “the second end and internal threading” which “internal threading” lacks antecedent basis and unclear if claim 9 or claim 1 was intended to initially introduce internal threading. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the second end and an internal threading” to be initially introduced in claim 9.
Claim 16 recites “the second end and internal threading” which is unclear for the same reasons above for claim 9.
Claim 16 recites “an enhanced engagement” which is unclear if this is a result of the sealed connection between the fitting and the conduit body or a separate feature. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “the sealed connection” since it appears the enhance engagement is a result of the sealed connection in light of applicant’s specification.
Claim 17 is unclear for the same reasons above for claim 3.
Claims 3, 5, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 3, 5, and 17 recite “an environmental rating” which does not appear to further limit the subject matter of the sealed connection.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 12 recites “play” which will be interpreted as movement or adjustment since it appears to be describing movement or adjustment of the shoulder and the center portion relative to the rotational position of the center portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gretz (US 10,811,863 B1).
In regard to claim 1, Gretz discloses a fitting for a conduit system (Fig. 19 shows a fitting 20 for a conduit system at 204), the fitting comprising:
a first end having a first threaded portion (Fig. 4, a first end at 26 and first threaded portion at 44), the first threaded portion configured for connection to a coupling device (Fig. 19, coupling device at nut 36);
a second end having a second threaded portion (Fig. 19, end at 24 and threaded portion at 45), the second threaded portion configured for connection to a conduit body (Fig. 19, conduit body at 32);
a hollow core extending from the first end to the second end (Fig. 19, hollow core from 26 and 24);
a flange surface provided between the first end and the second end (Fig. 19, flange 38 has a flange surface between 26 and 24), the flange surface configured to interact with a gasket and the coupling device to create a sealed connection (Fig. 19, the flange surface of 38 interacts with a gasket 34 such that the nut 36 and flange 38 tightens gasket 34 to provide a sealed connection); and
a shoulder extending from the flange surface to a center portion (See image below, indicated shoulder extends from the flange surface to a center portion similar to the applicant’s invention) and the center portion extending to the second threaded portion (See image below, the enter portion extends to the second threaded portion at 45),
wherein a combination of the shoulder and the center portion allow for play with regard to a rotational position of the center portion while a sealed connection is maintained between the fitting and the conduit body (Fig. 19 and see image below, the shoulder and the center portion allow for play/movement/adjustment relative to the conduit body 32 by the threads at 45 while maintaining a sealed connection by the contact between the end at 24 with a seal 30 that provides the sealed connection between the fitting 20 and conduit body 32).
In regard to claim 2, Gretz discloses the fitting of claim 1, wherein the fitting is configured to form a sealed connection between a rigid or flexible conduit connected to the coupling device and the conduit body (Fig. 19, at 204, 208, and/or 210 define at least a rigid or flexible conduit which connect to 36 and 32).
In regard to claim 3, Gretz discloses the fitting of claim 2, wherein the sealed connection of the flange surface and the gasket and of the fitting and the conduit body establishes an environmental rating (Fig. 19, the sealed connection of the flange surface and the gasket at 34 and of the fitting and the conduit body at 32 establishes at least an environmental rating).
In regard to claim 4, Gretz discloses the fitting of claim 1, wherein the fitting is configured to form a sealed connection between a cable connected to the coupling device and the conduit body (Fig. 19, fitting 20 forms a sealed connection between a cable at 210, 208, or 204 which are connected to 36 and 32 such that they extend through 36 and 32).
In regard to claim 5, Gretz discloses the fitting of claim 4, wherein the sealed connection of the flange surface and the gasket and of the fitting and the conduit body establishes an environmental rating (Fig. 19, the sealed connection of the flange surface and the gasket at 34 and of the fitting and the conduit body at 32 establishes at least an environmental rating).
In regard to claim 6, Gretz discloses the fitting of claim 1, wherein the center portion is cylindrical and straight (See image above for claim 1, the center portion has a cylindrical and straight section).
In regard to claim 7, Gretz discloses the fitting of claim 1, wherein the center portion includes an angle (See image above for claim 1, the center portion has at least an angle of 0 degrees or 180 degrees relative to the longitudinal bore axis of the fitting body 22).
In regard to claim 8, Gretz discloses the fitting of claim 7, wherein the angle is 90 degrees (See image above for claim 1, the center portion is at least at a 90 degree angle relative to the flange surface or the flange 38).
In regard to claim 9, Gretz discloses the fitting of claim 1, wherein the second end and an internal threading of the conduit body are concentric about an axis (Fig. 19, the second end at 24 and an internal threading of 32 are concentric about a longitudinal axis of the fitting body 22), and a sealed connection is maintained between the fitting and the conduit body for any rotational position of the fitting with respect to the internal threading about the axis (Fig. 19, a sealed connection is maintained by seal 30 for any rotational position of the fitting 20 with respect to the internal threading of 32).
In regard to claim 10, Gretz discloses the fitting of claim 1, wherein the hollow core has an inner surface extending radially below the flange surface to the second end (Fig. 19, longitudinal bore of 22, the hollow core has an inner surface extending radially below the flange surface of 38 to the second end at 24), and wherein the inner surface includes striations (Figs. 15 and 19, the part 28 is included in the inner surface of 22 which 28 has parallel flat surfaces that define striations. See https://dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/english/striation which defines striation as at least a line or a mark.).
In regard to claim 11, Gretz discloses the fitting of claim 1, wherein the shoulder comprises a taper from the flange surface to the center portion (See image below, the shoulder has a taper between the flange surface and the center portion), and wherein the taper includes a linear taper, a radius, or a curved profile (See image below, the taper has at least a radius or curved profile).
In regard to claim 12, Gretz discloses a conduit system (Fig. 19 shows a conduit system), comprising:
one of a rigid conduit, a flexible conduit, or a cable (Fig. 19, at least a rigid or flexible conduit or cable at 204, 208, and/or 210);
a conduit body (Fig. 19, 32 defines a conduit body); and
a fitting, the fitting comprising:
a first end having a first threaded portion, the first threaded portion configured for connection to a coupling device;
a second end having a second threaded portion, the second threaded portion configured for connection to the conduit body;
a hollow core extending from the first end to the second end;
a flange surface provided between the first end and the second end, the flange surface configured to interact with a gasket and the coupling device to create a sealed connection; and
a shoulder extending from the flange surface to a center portion and the center portion extending to the second threaded portion,
wherein a combination of the shoulder and the center portion allow for play with regard to a rotational position of the center portion while a sealed connection is maintained between the fitting and the conduit body (See claim 1 above for the same reasons with regard to the recitation “a fitting, the fitting comprising…and the conduit body”).
In regard to claim 13, Gretz discloses the conduit system of claim 12, wherein the fitting is configured to form a sealed connection between the rigid conduit, the flexible conduit, or the cable and the conduit body (See claim 2 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 14, Gretz discloses the conduit system of claim 12, wherein the rigid or flexible conduit is a metallic conduit, a non-metallic conduit (Fig. 19, the rigid or flexible conduit at 204, 208, and/or 210 is at least metallic or non-metallic), a coated conduit or a portion of a conduit (Fig. 19, the conduit at 204, 208, and/or 210 is at least a portion of a conduit).
In regard to claim 15, Gretz discloses the conduit system of claim 12, wherein the center portion is cylindrical and straight or wherein the center portion includes an angle (See claims 6 and 7 for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 16, Gretz discloses the conduit system of claim 12, wherein the second end of the fitting and an internal threading of the conduit body are concentric about an axis, and the sealed connection is maintained between the fitting and the conduit body for any rotational position of the fitting with respect to the internal threading about the axis (See claim 9 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 17, Gretz discloses the conduit system of claim 16, wherein the sealed connection of the flange surface and the gasket and of the fitting and the conduit body establishes an environmental rating (See claim 3 above for the same reasons).
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rosan et al. (US 3,395,934), Montena (US 2012/0315780 A1), Kitagawa (US 7,641,239 B2), White (US 5,887,908), and Mendoza et al. (US 6,286,877 B1) disclose a fitting having first and second threads, a gasket, and coupling device.
Mueller et al. (US 2015/0323108 A1) discloses a conduit having an inner surface that includes a polygonal cross-section as striations.
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679