DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 22-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12067884. Although the claims are not identical they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang US Patent No. (9,139,310) referred to hereinafter as Wang.
As per claim 22, Wang teaches a system comprising: a charging station configured to, when electrically connected to a battery onboard an electric aircraft, provide a charge to the battery (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17); and a computing device communicatively coupled to the charging station (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17), the computing device configured to: receive, from a battery sensor communicably coupled to the battery, battery data related to the battery, receive an indication of an establishment of an electrical connection between the battery and the charging station (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17); in response receiving the indication, determine a current state of the battery based on the battery data; and provide the current state of the battery to the charging station (see at least abstract, summary, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17).
As per claim 23, Wang teaches a system of claim 22, wherein the current state represents a measure of a health of the battery (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17).
As per claim 24, Wang teaches a system of claim 23, wherein the health of the battery includes a ratio of a current capacity of the battery compared to a capacity at a time of manufacture of the battery (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17).
As per claim 25, Wang teaches a system of claim 22, wherein the charging station is configured to provide power to the battery based on the current state (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17).
As per claim 26, Wang teaches a system of claim 22, wherein the current state includes an expected life of the battery, the computing device further configured to provide the expected life of the battery to the electric aircraft (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17).
As per claim 27, Wang teaches a system of claim 26, wherein the expected life of the battery is provided to the electric aircraft based on a threshold value (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17).
As per claim 28, Wang teaches a system of claim 26, wherein the computing device is further configured to identify a network node, wherein the expected life of the battery is provided to the electric aircraft via the network node (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17).
As per claim 29, Wang teaches a system of claim 28, wherein the network node includes an inter-aircraft network node, a non-aircraft network node, or a wireless communication node.
As per claim 30, Wang teaches a system of claim 28, wherein the network node is a member node of a mesh network (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17).
As per claim 31, Wang teaches a system of claim 22, wherein the current state is determined by processing the battery data through a machine-leaning model (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17).
As per claim 32, Wang teaches a system of claim 31, wherein the machine-leaning model is trained using training data recorded during previous flights of the electric aircraft or other similar electric aircraft (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17).
As per claim 33, Wang teaches a system of claim 22, wherein the battery data includes an internal resistance, a capacity, a state of voltage, a self-discharge, an indication of an ability to accept a charge, a number of charge-discharge cycles, an age, or an average temperature (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17).
As per claim 34, Wang teaches a system of claim 22, wherein the current state includes a state of voltage for the battery (see at least abstract, summary, Col.10 L21-L50, Col.17 L3-26, Col.20 L6-Col.21 L50, Fig. 16, 17).
As per claims 35-41, the limitations of claims 35-41 are similar to the limitations of claims 22-34, therefore they are rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
Please refer to form 892 for cited references.
/MUSSA A SHAAWAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669