The specification, abstract, drawings and claims of August 19, 2024 are under examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Australia on August 18, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 2023902626 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on November 12, 2024. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
It is noted the non-patent literature citation No. 3 fails to comply with 37 CRF 1.98 as a date of publication has not been provided. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agnico Eagle Fosterville Community News (cited by applicant, Non-Patent Literature Document Citation No. 1 of the IDS of November 12, 2024, copy provided by applicant, pages 5 and 6 of the provided document, which correlate to pages 8 and 9 of the newsletter, and discussion provided in Paragraphs 12 and 13 of applicant’s specification, hereafter Agnico). A search of the Internet Archive’s Wayback Machine would indicate that the document was available at least by July 4, 2022, see https://web.archive.org/web/20220704080846/https://fgmcommunity.com.au/newsletters. Citations are directed to applicant’s specification, unless otherwise noted.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Agnico teaches a method of establishing a continuous roller track leading from a first section of roller track [Para. 12 of specification, “a continuous roller track leading from a horizontally flat portion of roller track”] to a second section of roller track [Para. 12 of specification, “logging table here is shown to be a terminal part of a continuous roller track”], the first section being horizontally disposed [Para. 12, “horizontally flat”] and the second section being laterally inclined to define a logging table [Para. 12, “logging part is at a constant angle of inclination”], the method including fitting between said sections a track inclination adapter comprising a length of roller track having a gradually changing lateral inclination that aligns at a first end with the horizontal first section and at an opposite second end with the laterally inclined second section, thereby to form a continuous roller track for travel of a core tray from the horizontal roller track section to the logging table [Para. 12, “intermediate the inclined table and the flat portion of the track, a portion of the track is gradually elevated and inclined laterally by means of jacking devices placed below and adjacent one lateral edge”]. It appears from applicant’s description of the prior art that the “portion of the track is gradually elevated and inclined laterally by means of jacking devices placed below and adjacent one lateral edge” would meet the claim language of “a track inclination adapter comprising a length of roller track having a gradually changing lateral inclination”.
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Agnico teaches the adapter includes a pair of opposed spaced rails, between which a plurality of rollers is rotatably mounted to define a curve in said continuous roller track when viewed from the first or the second end. The figure below, taken from the newsletter, shows multiple roller tracks, side by side, with the added arrows used to point to rails on two exemplary tracks. Each track would have opposed rails, between which rollers are mounted. Further, as previously discussed, as the portion of roller track is “gradually elevated and inclined laterally”, the rollers would define a curve when viewed from the first or second end.
Figure from Agnico
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Agnico teaches the curving roller track approximates a portion of a helix. A roller track having a portion that is “gradually elevated and inclined laterally” would approximate a portion of a helix.
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Agnico teaches adjusting the rails in height and angle relative to a horizontal plane [Para. 12, “a portion of the track is gradually elevated and inclined laterally”].
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Agnico teaches a method of core tray logging including the steps of: a. providing a logging table [Para. 12, “tray logging table”] having a section of roller track orientated at an angle of lateral inclination for facilitating inspection and logging of drill cores in a core tray disposed on the table [Para. 12, “logging part is at a constant angle of inclination along its length”], b. providing a track inclination adapter comprising a length of roller track having a gradually changing lateral inclination [Para. 12, “a portion of the track is gradually elevated and inclined laterally by means of jacking devices placed below and adjacent one lateral edge”] that at a first end is horizontally disposed [Para. 12, “intermediate the inclined table and the flat portion of the track”], and, at an opposite second end, is laterally inclined for aligning with the section of roller track of the logging table [Para. 12, “intermediate the inclined table and the flat portion of the track”], thereby to form a continuous roller track for travel of a core tray from the horizontal first end to the table [Para. 12, “tray logging table here is shown to be a terminal part of a continuous roller track leading from a horizontally flat portion of roller track”], c. operatively connecting the adapter first end to a section of horizontally disposed roller track and the adapter second end to the section of laterally inclined roller track of the logging table (as the elevated and inclined portion is disclosed as being intermediate the flat portion of the roller track and the inclined table, the portion would be considered operatively connected), and d. propelling a core tray laden with drill cores along the track to the logging table and logging the cores (the tray would be propelled along the track and cores logged during normal and expected operation). It appears from applicant’s description of the prior art that the “portion of the track is gradually elevated and inclined laterally by means of jacking devices placed below and adjacent one lateral edge” would meet the claim language of “a track inclination adapter comprising a length of roller track having a gradually changing lateral inclination ”.
Regarding Claim(s) 6, Agnico teaches (as described above) the adapter includes a pair of opposed rails, between which a plurality of rollers is rotatably mounted to define a curving roller track.
Regarding Claim(s) 7, Agnico teaches the curving roller track approximates a portion of a helix. A roller track having a portion that is “gradually elevated and inclined laterally” would approximate a portion of a helix.
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Agnico teaches a drill core logging table assembly including a core logging table [Para. 12, “tray logging table”] having a section of laterally inclined roller track defining a plane on which a core tray is supportable for logging [Para. 12, “logging part is at a constant angle of inclination along its length”], and a roller track adapter comprising a section of roller track having a first end for aligning with the laterally inclined roller track of the table, and a second end that is horizontally disposed, configured for aligning with a horizontal roller track section, said roller track adapter section having a continuously and progressively increasing lateral inclination from end to end [Para. 12, “a portion of the track is gradually elevated and inclined laterally”], whereby a continuous roller track is established for travel of a core tray from the horizontal track section to the table [Para. 12, “tray logging table here is shown to be a terminal part of a continuous roller track leading from a horizontally flat portion of roller track”]. It appears from applicant’s description of the prior art that the “portion of the track is gradually elevated and inclined laterally by means of jacking devices placed below and adjacent one lateral edge” would meet the claim language of “said roller track adapter section having a continuously and progressively increasing lateral inclination from end to end”.
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Agnico teaches (as described above) the adapter includes a pair of opposed rails, between which a plurality of rollers is rotatably mounted to define a curving roller track when viewed end-on.
Regarding Claim(s) 10, Agnico teaches the curving roller track approximates a portion of a helix. A roller track having a portion that is “gradually elevated and inclined laterally” would approximate a portion of a helix.
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Agnico teaches an adapter configured for transitioning from a first roller track section having a horizontal orientation [Para. 12, “leading from a horizontally flat portion of roller track”] to a drill core logging table on which a second roller track section having a lateral inclination is mounted [Para. 12, “tray logging table here is shown to be a terminal part of a continuous roller track”, “logging part is at a constant angle of inclination along its length”], so that a laden core tray is transferable by rolling it from the first section to the second, the adapter including a third roller track section having a first end for aligning with the first section and a second end for aligning with the second section [Para. 12, “intermediate the inclined table and the flat portion of the track, a portion of the track is gradually elevated and inclined laterally by means of jacking devices placed below and adjacent one lateral edge”], and being operably locatable between and connectable to said first and second sections (as the portion is disclosed as being intermediate the inclined table and the flat portion, it would be considered to be operably located), the third roller track section having a continuously and progressively increasing lateral inclination from end to end [Para. 12, “a portion of the track is gradually elevated and inclined laterally”], thereby establishing a continuous roller track along which a core tray may travel from the first track section to the second section. It appears from applicant’s description of the prior art that the “portion of the track is gradually elevated and inclined laterally by means of jacking devices placed below and adjacent one lateral edge” would meet the claim language of “the third roller track section having a continuously and progressively increasing lateral inclination from end to end”.
Regarding Claim(s) 12, Agnico teaches the third roller track section has a shape approximating a part of a helix. A roller track having a portion that is “gradually elevated and inclined laterally” would approximate a part of a helix.
Regarding Claim(s) 13, Agnico teaches a drill core logging facility including a roller track system comprising a roller track [Para. 12, “continuous roller track”] that leads continuously from a receiving bay [Para. 12, “flat portion of roller track”] to an inspection station [Para. 12, “tray logging table”] configured for inspection of drill cores in a core tray [Para. 12, “tray logging table here is shown to be a terminal part of a continuous roller track leading from a horizontally flat portion of roller track”] , wherein the track is configured to support a core tray in a horizontal first plane [Para. 12, “horizontally flat portion of roller track”], and the inspection station is configured to support the tray in a second plane that differs from the first plane by being laterally inclined [Para. 12, “logging part is at a constant angle of inclination along its length”], wherein the roller track system includes an adapter section insertable to be installed intermediate the receiving bay and the inspection station [Para. 12, “intermediate the inclined table and the flat portion of the track, a portion of the track is gradually elevated and inclined laterally by means of jacking devices placed below and adjacent one lateral edge”], the adapter section transitioning the roller track from supporting a tray passing across it in the first plane to supporting it in the second plane, by virtue of including rollers having continuously and progressively changing lateral inclination from a first end of the adapter section coinciding with the first plane, to a second end coinciding with the second plane. The intermediate portion is disclosed as “gradually elevated and inclined laterally”, which is considered as being “continuously and progressively changing lateral inclination”. The adapter would include rollers as a “continuous roller track” is disclosed. Further, a “receiving bay” is considered disclosed in Agnico, as seen in the upper figure on page 9 of the newsletter, showing numbered entrances.
Regarding Claim(s) 14, Agnico teaches the second plane corresponds to a laterally inclined plane of the track at the inspection station [Para. 12, “logging part is at a constant angle of inclination along its length”], whereby visual inspection of drill cores on the core tray is facilitated [Para. 12, “inspecting the core samples”].
Regarding Claim(s) 15, Agnico teaches the adapter section includes a pair of opposed rails, between which a plurality of rollers is rotatably mounted to define a curving roller track (as described above) which approximates a portion of a helix. A roller track having a portion that is “gradually elevated and inclined laterally” would approximate a part of a helix
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 8863933 is the issued patent of US Pub 20140021013. USPN 11598760 is the issued patent of US Pub 20210231631.
/WILLIAM R HARP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653