DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation " radiation source housing" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner is interpreting radiation source housing as the casing of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Del Pos (WO 2015/169348 cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Del Pos figures 1-8 teach a system for washing and disinfecting textiles in a household appliance that comprises:
a tub (22) with a basket (drum not visible) inside the tub, the basket being capable of receiving the textiles;
a driving means (motor not shown) to drive the basket;
a recirculation circuit (52) that comprises a recirculation tube (68 recirculation pipe) and a recirculation pump (60) to recirculate a liquid coming from a bottom of the tub and directed towards an interior of the basket; and
a source of UVC radiation (120 UV source) arranged inside the recirculation tube to disinfect the washing liquid.[pages 10-12]
Del Pos teaches non-chemical approach to disinfection using UV-C light is a well-known disinfection treatment for drinking water and wastewater, widely used and positively perceived by consumers (swimming pools, air purifiers, medical sterilizers). UV-C light (wavelength 264 nm) is germicidal and deactivates the DNA of bacteria, viruses and other pathogens and thus destroys their ability to multiply and cause disease thereby reading on a source of UVC radiation.[page 13]
Regarding claim 2, figures 1-2 and 6 teach the radiation source (120 UV source) is selected from a lamp (124 UV lamp) or LED, wherein the radiation source is located within a casing (128 lamp housing) embedded within the recirculation tube (68 recirculation pipe) and wherein the appliance comprises a cabinet cover (top portion of housing 6).[pages 10-12]
Regarding claim 3, figures 3-5 teach the radiation source (120 source) is located at the bottom of the tub, on a side of the tub, on an agitator of the household appliance, or at any point below the cabinet cover, to disinfect textiles and components of the household appliance in contact with the washing liquid.
Regarding claim 4, figure 6 teaches the radiation source housing (128 lamp housing) comprises a packaging (110 gasket).
Regarding claim 5, Del Pos teaches non-chemical approach to disinfection using UV-C light is a well-known disinfection treatment for drinking water and wastewater, widely used and positively perceived by consumers (swimming pools, air purifiers, medical sterilizers). UV-C light (wavelength 264 nm) is germicidal and deactivates the DNA of bacteria, viruses and other pathogens and thus destroys their ability to multiply and cause disease thereby reading on the radiation source has a wavelength within the range of approximately 100 to 280 nm.[page 13]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 9, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Del Pos (WO 2015/169348 cited in IDS), and in further view of Zattin (EP 2314753 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Del Pos figures 1-8 teach a method of washing and disinfecting textiles in a household appliance having a tub (22) with a basket (drum not visible) inside the tub and a UVC radiation source (120 UV source) arranged within a recirculation tube (68 recirculation pipe) of a recirculation circuit (52).[pages 10-12]
Del Pos is silent to the method comprising: turning on the UVC radiation source; circulating a washing liquid coming from a bottom of the basket towards an interior of the basket through the recirculation circuit to irradiate the liquid through the UVC radiation source; and turning off the radiation source.
Zattin is directed towards method of performing a rinse cycles where example C of FIG 1 the recirculation pump and the UV light source are activated and deactivated four times in each case during the second phase 12. During the second phase 12 the washing tub is always filled with water. In the second phase 12 the laundry is either moved within the washing tub or stays soaked in the water.[0029-31]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide to steps taught in Zattin because irradiation of the water with UV light allows a reduction of bacteria and microorganisms from washed laundry through the disinfection of the water passing in the recirculation circuit by the means of a treatment unit provided with a germicidal UV source.[0030]
Regarding claim 9, Del Pos teaches non-chemical approach to disinfection using UV-C light is a well-known disinfection treatment for drinking water and wastewater, widely used and positively perceived by consumers (swimming pools, air purifiers, medical sterilizers). UV-C light (wavelength 264 nm) is germicidal and deactivates the DNA of bacteria, viruses and other pathogens and thus destroys their ability to multiply and cause disease thereby reading on the radiation is preferably UVC radiation.[page 13]
Regarding claim 17, Zattin teaches the recirculation pump and the UV light source are always activated and deactivated synchronously thereby reading on the turning on of the radiation source is carried out in parallel with turning on a recirculation pump of the recirculation circuit.[0026]
Claim(s) 6, 8, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Del Pos (WO 2015/169348 cited in IDS), and in further view of Wang (CN 203270310 machine translation cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 6, Del Pos teaches the invention comprises both front-loading as well as top-loading machines with a drum rotating around a horizontal axis. It also comprises washing machines with a vertically positioned drum which is rotating around a vertical axis.[page 14] However, Del Pos is silent to an agitator of the appliance is an infuser or a propeller.
Wang is directed towards an impeller washing machine with ultraviolet sterilization where figure 3 teaches an impeller (5) located at the bottom of the washing barrel.[0025]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide to provide the impeller of Wang to impart a washing process on the clothes.[0041]
Regarding claim 8, Del Pos figures 1-8 teach a method of washing and disinfecting textiles in a household appliance that has a wash basket (drum not visible), a cabinet cover (top portion of housing 6), and a UVC radiation source (120 UV source) installed at a bottom of the tub, on a side of the tub, above the agitator, or at any point below the cover.[page 10-12]
Del Pos further teaches the invention comprises both front-loading as well as top-loading machines with a drum rotating around a horizontal axis. It also comprises washing machines with a vertically positioned drum which is rotating around a vertical axis.[page 14]
Del Pos is silent to an agitator and the method comprising filling the wash basket with water; placing the textiles inside the basket; turning on the radiation source to irradiate the textiles; starting washing and rinsing phases of the textiles; turning off the radiation source; and draining the liquid from washing the textiles; wherein the radiation source also irradiates components of the household appliance that are in contact with the washing liquid.
Wang is directed towards an impeller washing machine with ultraviolet sterilization where figure 3 teaches an impeller (5) located at the bottom of the washing barrel.[0025]
Wang teaches in step a putting the clothes to be washed in the washing barrel, washing powder or detergent adding amount, adding water to the set water level to soak the clothes. Step b after soaking into the washing and sterilization program, the washing time is set,
synchronously working the ultraviolet generating device emitting the ultraviolet is irradiated to the barrel wall of the clothes and the washing barrel surface, when the washing is finished through the water flow radially, ultraviolet generating device stops working.[0027-28]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the washing steps of Wang to efficiently clean barrel body and cloth sterilizing and also can prevent barrel body secondary pollution to the clothes.[0020]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to fill the wash basket with water prior to adding textiles to ensure washing powder is dissolved prior to adding the textiles.
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches when the washing is finished through the water flow
radially, ultraviolet generating device stops working thereby reading on the radiation source is turned on continuously during the washing phase until a beginning of the rinsing phase, and is turned off during the rinsing phase.[0012]
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches washing for 5-20 minutes, ultraviolet emitting device is working, the ultraviolet is radially penetrating water to the clothes and washing beck wall surface until the whole washing process is finished, the ultraviolet emitting device stops working thereby reading on the radiation source is turned on continuously during the washing phase until a beginning of the rinsing phase.[0042] Wang teaches during rinsing, typically the number of rinsing can be user-defined for 1-3 times according to the dirty degree of the clothes and barrel body, also can be the first rinsing, at the same time starting the ultraviolet generating device, after the first time rinsing ultraviolet generating device stops working thereby reading on the radiation source is turned on intermittently during the rinsing phase until an end of said phase.[0043]
Claim(s) 12-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Del Pos (WO 2015/169348 cited in IDS) and Wang (CN 203270310 machine translation cited in IDS), as applied to claim 8, and in further view of Zattin (EP 2314753 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches washing for 5-20 minutes, ultraviolet emitting device is working, the ultraviolet is radially penetrating water to the clothes and washing beck wall surface until the whole washing process is finished, the ultraviolet emitting device stops working thereby reading on the radiation source is turned on continuously during the washing phase.[0042]
Del Pos in view of Wang is silent to the radiation source is turned on continuously during the rinsing phases.
Zattin is directed towards method of performing a rinse cycles where during example A of FIG 1 the recirculation pump and the UV light source are activated during the whole second phase 12.[0027]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide to steps taught in Zattin because irradiation of the water with UV light allows a reduction of bacteria and microorganisms from washed laundry through the disinfection of the water passing in the recirculation circuit by the means of a treatment unit provided with a germicidal UV source.[0030]
Regarding claim 13, Zattin example A of Fig. 1 teaches the recirculation pump and the UV light source are activated during the whole second phase 12 thereby reading on the radiation source is turned on continuously during the rinsing phase until an end thereof.[0027] Zattin further teaches the ultraviolet light source and the recirculation pump are activated and/or deactivated synchronously as an efficient way to save energy thereby suggesting the radiation source is turned on intermittently during the washing phase until a start of the rinsing phase to be an obvious modification.[0014]
Regarding claim 14, Zattin teaches in example C of FIG 1 the recirculation pump and the UV light source are activated and deactivated four times in each case during the second phase 12 thereby reading on the radiation source is turned on intermittently during the rinsing phase.[0029] Zattin further teaches the ultraviolet light source and the recirculation pump are activated and/or deactivated synchronously as an efficient way to save energy thereby suggesting the radiation source is turned on intermittently during the washing phase to be an obvious modification.[0014]
Regarding claim 15, teaches the ultraviolet light source and the recirculation pump are activated and/or deactivated synchronously as an efficient way to save energy thereby suggesting the radiation source is turned on intermittently during the washing phase to be an obvious modification.[0014] Wang teaches after step b the ultraviolet generating device stops working prior to entering step c the rinsing process thereby suggesting the radiation source is turned off during the rinsing phase.[0012-13]
Regarding claim 16, Zattin teaches in example C of FIG 1 the recirculation pump and the UV light source are activated and deactivated four times in each case during the second phase 12.[0029] Zattin further teaches longer durations can be used as well, resulting in an improved bacteria reduction. For example, 20 minutes are intended as the time before supplying the conditioner, i.e. 20 minutes only with water and without any conditioner in order to eliminate bacteria and microorganisms contained in the laundry thereby suggesting the intermittent turning on of the radiation source is carried out at intervals from one minute to approximately fifty minutes and turns off from one minute to approximately fifty minutes to be an obvious modification through routine experimentation and optimization.[0036](MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claim 18, Zattin teaches in example C of FIG 1 the recirculation pump and the UV light source are activated and deactivated four times in each case during the second phase 12 thereby reading on the radiation source is turned on intermittently during at least one of: the washing phase and the rinsing phase.[0029]
Regarding claim 19, Zattin teaches in example C of FIG 1 the recirculation pump and the UV light source are activated and deactivated four times in each case during the second phase 12.[0029] Zattin further teaches longer durations can be used as well, resulting in an improved bacteria reduction. For example, 20 minutes are intended as the time before supplying the conditioner, i.e. 20 minutes only with water and without any conditioner in order to eliminate bacteria and microorganisms contained in the laundry thereby suggesting the intermittent turning on of the radiation source is carried out at intervals from one minute to approximately fifty minutes and turns off from one minute to approximately fifty minutes to be an obvious modification through routine experimentation and optimization.[0036](MPEP 2144.05)
Conclusion
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711