DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed May 26, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gao (CN 110359209A machine translation) directed towards a UV lamp sterilizing washing machine.
As to claim 7, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the ultraviolet light is activated during both the wash cycle and the rinse cycle) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As to claim 8, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., recurring, periodic on/off cyclic timing pattern within an active phase) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, Gao teaches the controller controls the on and off of the UV lamp is of the conventional technical means in the art thereby suggesting recurring, periodic on/off cyclic timing pattern within an active phase of the radiation source to be an obvious modification.[page 5]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Del Pos (WO 2015/169348 cited in IDS, and further in view of Gao (CN 110359209A machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Del Pos figures 1-8 teach a system for washing and disinfecting textiles in a household appliance that comprises:
a tub (22) with a basket (drum not visible) inside the tub, the basket being capable of receiving the textiles;
a driving means (motor not shown) to drive the basket;
a recirculation circuit (52) that comprises a recirculation tube (68 recirculation pipe) and a recirculation pump (60) to recirculate a liquid coming from a bottom of the tub and directed towards an interior of the basket; and
a source of UVC radiation (120 UV source) arranged inside the recirculation tube to disinfect the washing liquid.[pages 10-12]
Del Pos teaches non-chemical approach to disinfection using UV-C light is a well-known disinfection treatment for drinking water and wastewater, widely used and positively perceived by consumers (swimming pools, air purifiers, medical sterilizers). UV-C light (wavelength 264 nm) is germicidal and deactivates the DNA of bacteria, viruses and other pathogens and thus destroys their ability to multiply and cause disease thereby reading on a source of UVC radiation.[page 13]
Del Pos is silent to UVC radiation source not using a reflective surface.
Gao is directed towards a UV lamp sterilizing washing machine where figures 2 and 5 teach first UV lamp assembly 3-2 to sterilize the circulating water.[page 4]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a UV lamp as taught in Gao to sterilize washing water and laundry.[Abstract]
Regarding claim 2, figures 1-2 and 6 teach the radiation source (120 UV source) is selected from a lamp (124 UV lamp) or LED, wherein the radiation source is located within a casing (128 lamp housing) embedded within the recirculation tube (68 recirculation pipe) and wherein the appliance comprises a cabinet cover (top portion of housing 6).[pages 10-12]
Regarding claim 3, figures 3-5 teach the radiation source (120 source) is located at the bottom of the tub, on a side of the tub, on an agitator of the household appliance, or at any point below the cabinet cover, to disinfect textiles and components of the household appliance in contact with the washing liquid.
Regarding claim 4, figure 6 teaches the radiation source housing (128 lamp housing) comprises a packaging (110 gasket).
Regarding claim 5, Del Pos teaches non-chemical approach to disinfection using UV-C light is a well-known disinfection treatment for drinking water and wastewater, widely used and positively perceived by consumers (swimming pools, air purifiers, medical sterilizers). UV-C light (wavelength 264 nm) is germicidal and deactivates the DNA of bacteria, viruses and other pathogens and thus destroys their ability to multiply and cause disease thereby reading on the radiation source has a wavelength within the range of approximately 100 to 280 nm.[page 13]
Claim(s) 6, 8, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Del Pos (WO 2015/169348 cited in IDS) and Gao (CN 110359209A machine translation), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Wang (CN 203270310 machine translation cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 6, Del Pos teaches the invention comprises both front-loading as well as top-loading machines with a drum rotating around a horizontal axis. It also comprises washing machines with a vertically positioned drum which is rotating around a vertical axis.[page 14] However, Del Pos is silent to an agitator of the appliance is an infuser or a propeller.
Wang is directed towards an impeller washing machine with ultraviolet sterilization where figure 3 teaches an impeller (5) located at the bottom of the washing barrel.[0025]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide to provide the impeller of Wang to impart a washing process on the clothes.[0041]
Regarding claim 8, Del Pos figures 1-8 teach a method of washing and disinfecting textiles in a household appliance that has a wash basket (drum not visible), a cabinet cover (top portion of housing 6), and a UVC radiation source (120 UV source) installed at a bottom of the tub, on a side of the tub, above the agitator, or at any point below the cover.[page 10-12]
Del Pos further teaches the invention comprises both front-loading as well as top-loading machines with a drum rotating around a horizontal axis. It also comprises washing machines with a vertically positioned drum which is rotating around a vertical axis.[page 14]
Del Pos is silent to an agitator and the method comprising filling the wash basket with water; placing the textiles inside the basket; turning on the radiation source to irradiate the textiles; starting washing and rinsing phases of the textiles; turning off the radiation source; and draining the liquid from washing the textiles; wherein the radiation source also irradiates components of the household appliance that are in contact with the washing liquid.
Wang is directed towards an impeller washing machine with ultraviolet sterilization where figure 3 teaches an impeller (5) located at the bottom of the washing barrel.[0025]
Wang teaches in step a putting the clothes to be washed in the washing barrel, washing powder or detergent adding amount, adding water to the set water level to soak the clothes. Step b after soaking into the washing and sterilization program, the washing time is set,
synchronously working the ultraviolet generating device emitting the ultraviolet is irradiated to the barrel wall of the clothes and the washing barrel surface, when the washing is finished through the water flow radially, ultraviolet generating device stops working.[0027-28]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the washing steps of Wang to efficiently clean barrel body and cloth sterilizing and also can prevent barrel body secondary pollution to the clothes.[0020]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to fill the wash basket with water prior to adding textiles to ensure washing powder is dissolved prior to adding the textiles.
As to the limitation of turning on intermittently the radiation source to irradiate the textiles, Gao teaches the controller controls the on and off of the UV lamp is of the conventional technical means in the art thereby suggesting recurring, periodic on/off cyclic timing pattern within an active phase of the radiation source to be an obvious modification.[page 5]
Regarding claim 22, Del Pos teaches non-chemical approach to disinfection using UV-C light is a well-known disinfection treatment for drinking water and wastewater, widely used and positively perceived by consumers (swimming pools, air purifiers, medical sterilizers). UV-C light (wavelength 264 nm) is germicidal and deactivates the DNA of bacteria, viruses and other pathogens and thus destroys their ability to multiply and cause disease thereby reading on the radiation is UVC radiation.[page 13]
Claim(s) 7, 9, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Del Pos (WO 2015/169348 cited in IDS), and in further view of Zattin (EP 2314753 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Del Pos figures 1-8 teach a method of washing and disinfecting textiles in a household appliance having a tub (22) with a basket (drum not visible) inside the tub and a UVC radiation source (120 UV source) arranged within a recirculation tube (68 recirculation pipe) of a recirculation circuit (52).[pages 10-12]
Del Pos is silent to the method comprising: turning on the UVC radiation source; circulating a washing liquid coming from a bottom of the basket towards an interior of the basket through the recirculation circuit to irradiate the liquid through the UVC radiation source; and turning off the radiation source.
Zattin is directed towards method of performing a rinse cycles where example C of FIG 1 the recirculation pump and the UV light source are activated and deactivated four times in each case during the second phase 12. During the second phase 12 the washing tub is always filled with water. In the second phase 12 the laundry is either moved within the washing tub or stays soaked in the water.[0029-31]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide to steps taught in Zattin because irradiation of the water with UV light allows a reduction of bacteria and microorganisms from washed laundry through the disinfection of the water passing in the recirculation circuit by the means of a treatment unit provided with a germicidal UV source.[0030]
Regarding claim 9, Del Pos teaches non-chemical approach to disinfection using UV-C light is a well-known disinfection treatment for drinking water and wastewater, widely used and positively perceived by consumers (swimming pools, air purifiers, medical sterilizers). UV-C light (wavelength 264 nm) is germicidal and deactivates the DNA of bacteria, viruses and other pathogens and thus destroys their ability to multiply and cause disease thereby reading on the radiation is preferably UVC radiation.[page 13]
Regarding claim 17, Zattin teaches the recirculation pump and the UV light source are always activated and deactivated synchronously thereby reading on the turning on of the radiation source is carried out in parallel with turning on a recirculation pump of the recirculation circuit.[0026]
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Del Pos (WO 2015/169348 cited in IDS), and Zattin (EP 2314753 A1), as applied to claim 7, and in further view of Gao (CN 110359209 A machine translation).
Zattin teaches in example C of FIG 1 the recirculation pump and the UV light source are activated and deactivated four times in each case during the second phase 12.[0029] Zattin further teaches longer durations can be used as well, resulting in an improved bacteria reduction. For example, 20 minutes are intended as the time before supplying the conditioner, i.e. 20 minutes only with water and without any conditioner in order to eliminate bacteria and microorganisms contained in the laundry thereby suggesting the intermittent turning on of the radiation source during a rising phase.[0036]
Del Pos in view of Zattin is silent to the intermittent turning on of the radiation source during a washing phase.
Gao teaches the controller controls the on and off of the UV lamp is of the conventional technical means in the art thereby suggesting the radiation source is turned on intermittently during the washing phase until the beginning of the rinsing phase, and is turned off during the rinsing phase until the end of said phase, or is turned on intermittently during the washing phase until the beginning of the rinsing phase and is turned on during the rinsing phase until the end of said phase, or is turned on intermittently during the washing and rinsing phases, or is turned on during the washing phase until the beginning of the rinsing phase and is turned on intermittently during the rinsing phase until the end of said phase to be an obvious modification.[page 5]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a UV lamp as taught in Gao to sterilize washing water and laundry.[Abstract]
Regarding claim 21, Zattin teaches in example C of FIG 1 the recirculation pump and the UV light source are activated and deactivated four times in each case during the second phase 12.[0029] Zattin further teaches longer durations can be used as well, resulting in an improved bacteria reduction. For example, 20 minutes are intended as the time before supplying the conditioner, i.e. 20 minutes only with water and without any conditioner in order to eliminate bacteria and microorganisms contained in the laundry thereby suggesting the intermittent turning on of the radiation source is carried out at intervals from one minute to approximately fifty minutes and turns off from one minute to approximately fifty minutes to be an obvious modification through routine experimentation and optimization.[0036](MPEP 2144.05)
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Del Pos (WO 2015/169348 cited in IDS), Gao (CN 110359209A machine translation), and Wang (CN 203270310 machine translation cited in IDS), as applied to claim 8, and in further view of Zattin (EP 2314753 A1) .
Regarding claim 23, Del Pos teaches non-chemical approach to disinfection using UV-C light is a well-known disinfection treatment for drinking water and wastewater, widely used and positively perceived by consumers (swimming pools, air purifiers, medical sterilizers). UV-C light (wavelength 264 nm) is germicidal and deactivates the DNA of bacteria, viruses and other pathogens and thus destroys their ability to multiply and cause disease thereby reading on the radiation is UVC radiation.[page 13]
Del Pos is silent to intermittently operating the radiation source during a washing and/ or rinsing phase.
Zattin teaches in example C of FIG 1 the recirculation pump and the UV light source are activated and deactivated four times in each case during the second phase 12.[0029] Zattin further teaches longer durations can be used as well, resulting in an improved bacteria reduction. For example, 20 minutes are intended as the time before supplying the conditioner, i.e. 20 minutes only with water and without any conditioner in order to eliminate bacteria and microorganisms contained in the laundry thereby suggesting the intermittent turning on of the radiation during a rinsing phase.[0036]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide to steps taught in Zattin because irradiation of the water with UV light allows a reduction of bacteria and microorganisms from washed laundry through the disinfection of the water passing in the recirculation circuit by the means of a treatment unit provided with a germicidal UV source.[0030]
Gao teaches the controller controls the on and off of the UV lamp is of the conventional technical means in the art thereby suggesting the radiation source is turned on intermittently during the washing phase until the beginning of the rinsing phase, and is turned off during the rinsing phase until the end of said phase, or is turned on intermittently during the washing phase until the beginning of the rinsing phase and is turned on during the rinsing phase until the end of said phase, or is turned on intermittently during the washing and rinsing phases, or is turned on during the washing phase until the beginning of the rinsing phase and is turned on intermittently during the rinsing phase until the end of said phase to be an obvious modification.[page 5]
Regarding claim 24, Zattin teaches in example C of FIG 1 the recirculation pump and the UV light source are activated and deactivated four times in each case during the second phase 12.[0029] Zattin further teaches longer durations can be used as well, resulting in an improved bacteria reduction. For example, 20 minutes are intended as the time before supplying the conditioner, i.e. 20 minutes only with water and without any conditioner in order to eliminate bacteria and microorganisms contained in the laundry thereby suggesting the intermittent turning on of the radiation source is carried out at intervals from one minute to approximately fifty minutes and turns off from one minute to approximately fifty minutes to be an obvious modification through routine experimentation and optimization.[0036](MPEP 2144.05)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Xiong (CN 106367928 A) directed towards a pulsator washing machine with a UV generating module on the circulating pipe.
Celotto (CN 102325935A machine translation directed towards a washing machine with a UV source.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711