DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6,9,13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kraus (US 20220226871 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kraus discloses a crop conditioning system for an agricultural vehicle(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle ), comprising:
a crop conditioning arrangement comprising:
a frame(Kraus, paragraph 30, mainframe),
a first roller rotatably mounted to the frame(Kraus, paragraph 30, the conditioner rolls 12, 14 rotatably mounted to laterally-opposed walls of the mainframe 32),
a second roller movably and rotatably mounted to the frame above the first roller(Kraus’s lower and upper conditioner rolls correspond to the first and second rollers respectively. Moreover, the upper conditioner roll is above the lower conditioner rolls. Kraus, paragraph 30, the upper and lower conditioner rolls 12, 14 are driven to co-rotate relative to the stationary mainframe 32, with the conditioner rolls 12, 14 rotatably mounted to laterally-opposed walls of the mainframe 32 utilizing any suitable arrangement including non-illustrated rolling element bearings to facilitate rotation of the rolls 12, 14), wherein a space between the first roller and second roller defines a gap for receiving crop material(Kraus, paragraph 6, conditioner rolls separated by a roll gap through which forage crop passes when processed by the roller conditioner system),
a biasing member operatively coupled to the second roller to generate a bias force biasing the second roller toward the first roller while crop material moves between the first roller and the second roller(Kraus discloses roller adjustment mechanism that includes an actuator which is similar to the biasing member. The roller adjustment mechanism acts on the upper roller(second roller) to move and adjust the gap between the first and second roller. Kraus, paragraph 26, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 includes at least one actuator 22 (hereafter, a “gap adjustment actuator 22”). Kraus, paragraph 30, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 acts solely upon the upper conditioner roll 12 to adjust the width of the roll gap 16 through movements of the upper conditioner roll 12 relative to the lower conditioner roll 14 ), and
a first sensor operatively coupled to the second roller and configured to detect the gap(Kraus, paragraph 33, a sensor 70 (e.g., a variable differential transformer or a potentiometer) may also be included in the roller conditioner system 10 in embodiments to monitor the width of the roll gap),
a controller that receives input data from the first sensor and outputs control signals to control the crop conditioning arrangement(Kraus, paragraph 42, the controller architecture 24 may determine the appropriate control commands for transmission to the gap adjustment actuator 22 based upon the actuator characteristics and the current width of the roll gap 16 prior to the adjustment, as detected by the sensor), wherein the controller includes:
at least one processor (Kraus, paragraph 23,processor architecture ); and
a memory that stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configure the at least one processor(Kraus, paragraph 70, the systems or devices described herein may also contain memory storing computer-readable instructions (e.g., as any combination of firmware or other software executing on an operating system) that, when executed by a processor or processing system, instruct the system or device to perform one or more functions described herein) to:
determine a status of the crop conditioning arrangement based on the input data, the status being indicative of at least one of a level of crop conditioning by the crop conditioning arrangement or an operating status of the conditioning arrangement(The present specification discloses the level of conditioning or the operating status may be under-conditioning of a crop or over-conditioning of the crop. Similarly, Kraus discloses determining whether the roller conditioner system is under-conditioning or over-conditioning crop plants. Kraus, paragraph 23, the processor architecture may decrease the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently under-conditioning the processed crop plants; or, conversely, increase the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently over-conditioning the processed crop plants); and
generate adjustment data indicative of an adjustment to the second roller of the crop conditioning arrangement in response to the status of the crop conditioning arrangement(Kraus discloses adjusting the gap between rollers to a permissible margin based on determination of under-conditioning or over-conditioning of crop plants. Furthermore, as discussed above, the roller adjustment mechanism acts on the upper roller(second roller) to move and adjust the gap between the first and second roller. Kraus, paragraph 23, the processor architecture may decrease the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently under-conditioning the processed crop plants; or, conversely, increase the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently over-conditioning the processed crop plants. Kraus, paragraph 42, the controller architecture 24 may transmit appropriate commands to the gap adjustment actuator 22 (FIG. 1) to adjust the vertical position of the upper conditioner roll 12, as appropriate, to bring the width of the roll gap 16 into alignment or harmony with the roll gap width target. In embodiments, the controller architecture 24 may command the gap adjustment actuator 22 to adjust the roll gap width to be substantially equivalent to the roll gap width target within a permissible margin of error avoid repeated, excessively minor adjustments or flutter of the roll gap 16. Further, the controller architecture 24 may determine the appropriate control commands for transmission to the gap adjustment actuator 22 based upon the actuator characteristics and the current width of the roll gap 16 prior to the adjustment, as detected by the sensor 70. Kraus, paragraph 30, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 acts solely upon the upper conditioner roll 12 to adjust the width of the roll gap 16 through movements of the upper conditioner roll 12 relative to the lower conditioner roll 14.).
Regarding claim 2, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 1(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle), wherein the status of the crop conditioning arrangement indicates at least one of under-conditioning of a crop, over-conditioning of the crop, optimal conditioning of the crop, gap too big, or gap too small(Kraus, paragraph 23, the processor architecture may decrease the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently under-conditioning the processed crop plants; or, conversely, increase the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently over-conditioning the processed crop plants).
Regarding claim 3, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 1(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle), wherein the controller transmits controls signals including the adjustment data to a user interface in an agricultural vehicle (Kraus, paragraph 26, the processor architecture 24 determines when to command the gap adjustment actuator 22 to effectuate roll gap width adjustments based upon operator input received via an operator interface 26; and, in at least some embodiments, the processor architecture 24 automatically implements roll gap adjustments to maintain the roll gap width at an optimal setting during system operation) and an operator of the agricultural vehicle adjusts the gap according to the adjustment data manually (Kraus, paragraph 24, the processor architecture may display the roll gap width target to the operator, with the operator then manually or remotely adjusting the roll gap width of the roller conditioner system to match the roll gap width target as desired).
Regarding claim 4, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 1(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle), further comprising an actuator operatively coupled to the second roller and the controller is configured to command the actuator to move the second roller to increase or decrease the gap(Kraus, paragraph 42, the controller architecture 24 may transmit appropriate commands to the gap adjustment actuator 22 (FIG. 1) to adjust the vertical position of the upper conditioner roll 12, as appropriate, to bring the width of the roll gap 16 into alignment or harmony with the roll gap width target. Kraus, paragraph 23, the processor architecture may decrease the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently under-conditioning the processed crop plants; or, conversely, increase the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently over-conditioning the processed crop plants).
Regarding claim 5, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 4(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle), wherein the controller transmits controls signals including the adjustment data to a user interface in an agricultural vehicle(Kraus, paragraph 42, an operator may also be permitted to selectively activate or deactivate such a roll gap auto-adjustment process by, for example, interacting with a GUI settings page or screen generated on the display device 60.) and commands the actuator to increase or decrease the gap according to the adjustment data and an operator’s instructions entered on the user interface(Kraus, paragraph 24, the processor architecture may display the roll gap width target to the operator, with the operator then manually or remotely adjusting the roll gap width of the roller conditioner system to match the roll gap width target as desired).
Regarding claim 6, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 4(Kraus, paragraph 24, the processor architecture may display the roll gap width target to the operator, with the operator then manually or remotely adjusting the roll gap width of the roller conditioner system to match the roll gap width target as desired), wherein the controller transmits controls signals including the adjustment data to the actuator and commands the actuator to automatically increase or decrease the gap according to the adjustment data(Kraus, paragraph 26, the processor architecture 24 determines when to command the gap adjustment actuator 22 to effectuate roll gap width adjustments based upon operator input received via an operator interface 26; and, in at least some embodiments, the processor architecture 24 automatically implements roll gap adjustments to maintain the roll gap width at an optimal setting during system operation).
Regarding claim 9, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 1(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle), further comprising an actuator operatively coupled to the biasing member and the controller is configured to command the actuator to adjust the biasing member to increase or decrease the bias force(As discussed above, Kraus discloses roller adjustment mechanism that includes an actuator which is similar to the biasing member. The roller adjustment mechanism acts on the upper roller(second roller) to move and adjust the gap between the first and second roller. Kraus, paragraph 26, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 includes at least one actuator 22 (hereafter, a “gap adjustment actuator 22”), which is controllable to adjust the roll gap width pursuant to commands received from a processing sub-system or processor architecture 24 also contained in the roller conditioner system 10. Kraus, paragraph 30, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 acts solely upon the upper conditioner roll 12 to adjust the width of the roll gap 16 through movements of the upper conditioner roll 12 relative to the lower conditioner roll 14. Kraus, paragraph 31, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 (and, specifically, the gap adjustment actuator 22) acts solely upon the upper conditioner roll 12 to adjust the width of the roll gap 16 through movements of the upper conditioner roll 12 relative to the lower conditioner roll 14 ).
Regarding claim 13, Kraus discloses a crop conditioning system for an agricultural vehicle(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle), comprising:
a crop conditioning arrangement comprising:
a frame(Kraus, paragraph 30, mainframe),
a first roller rotatably mounted to the frame(Kraus, paragraph 30, the conditioner rolls 12, 14 rotatably mounted to laterally-opposed walls of the mainframe 32),
a second roller movably and rotatably mounted to the frame above the first roller(Kraus’s lower and upper conditioner rolls correspond to the first and second rollers respectively. Moreover, the upper conditioner roll is above the lower conditioner rolls. Kraus, paragraph 30, the upper and lower conditioner rolls 12, 14 are driven to co-rotate relative to the stationary mainframe 32, with the conditioner rolls 12, 14 rotatably mounted to laterally-opposed walls of the mainframe 32 utilizing any suitable arrangement including non-illustrated rolling element bearings to facilitate rotation of the rolls 12, 14), wherein a space between the first roller and second roller defines a gap for receiving crop material(Kraus, paragraph 6, conditioner rolls separated by a roll gap through which forage crop passes when processed by the roller conditioner system),
a biasing member operatively coupled to the second roller to generate a bias force biasing the second roller toward the first roller while crop material moves between the first roller and the second roller(Kraus discloses roller adjustment mechanism that includes an actuator which is similar to the biasing member. The roller adjustment mechanism acts on the upper roller(second roller) to move and adjust the gap between the first and second roller. Kraus, paragraph 26, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 includes at least one actuator 22 (hereafter, a “gap adjustment actuator 22”). Kraus, paragraph 30, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 acts solely upon the upper conditioner roll 12 to adjust the width of the roll gap 16 through movements of the upper conditioner roll 12 relative to the lower conditioner roll 14), and
a first sensor operatively coupled to the biasing member and configured to detect the bias force(Kraus, paragraph 33, a sensor 70 (e.g., a variable differential transformer or a potentiometer) may also be included in the roller conditioner system 10 in embodiments to monitor the width of the roll gap),
a controller that receives input data from the first sensor and outputs control signals to control the crop conditioning arrangement(Kraus, paragraph 42, the controller architecture 24 may determine the appropriate control commands for transmission to the gap adjustment actuator 22 based upon the actuator characteristics and the current width of the roll gap 16 prior to the adjustment, as detected by the sensor), wherein the controller includes:
at least one processor(Kraus, paragraph 23,processor architecture ); and
a memory that stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configure the at least one processor(Kraus, paragraph 70, the systems or devices described herein may also contain memory storing computer-readable instructions (e.g., as any combination of firmware or other software executing on an operating system) that, when executed by a processor or processing system, instruct the system or device to perform one or more functions described herein) to:
determine a status of the crop conditioning arrangement based on the input data, the status being indicative of at least one of a level of crop conditioning by the crop conditioning arrangement or an operating status of the conditioning arrangement(The present specification discloses the level of conditioning or the operating status may be under-conditioning of a crop or over-conditioning of the crop. Similarly, Kraus discloses determining whether the roller conditioner system is under-conditioning or over-conditioning crop plants. Kraus, paragraph 23, the processor architecture may decrease the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently under-conditioning the processed crop plants; or, conversely, increase the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently over-conditioning the processed crop plants); and
generate adjustment data indicative of an adjustment to the biasing member of the crop conditioning arrangement in response to the status of the crop conditioning arrangement(Kraus discloses adjusting the gap between rollers to a permissible margin based on determination of under-conditioning or over-conditioning of crop plants. Furthermore, as discussed above, the roller adjustment mechanism acts on the upper roller(second roller) to move and adjust the gap between the first and second roller. Kraus, paragraph 23, the processor architecture may decrease the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently under-conditioning the processed crop plants; or, conversely, increase the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently over-conditioning the processed crop plants. Kraus, paragraph 42, the controller architecture 24 may transmit appropriate commands to the gap adjustment actuator 22 (FIG. 1) to adjust the vertical position of the upper conditioner roll 12, as appropriate, to bring the width of the roll gap 16 into alignment or harmony with the roll gap width target. In embodiments, the controller architecture 24 may command the gap adjustment actuator 22 to adjust the roll gap width to be substantially equivalent to the roll gap width target within a permissible margin of error avoid repeated, excessively minor adjustments or flutter of the roll gap 16. Further, the controller architecture 24 may determine the appropriate control commands for transmission to the gap adjustment actuator 22 based upon the actuator characteristics and the current width of the roll gap 16 prior to the adjustment, as detected by the sensor 70. Kraus, paragraph 30, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 acts solely upon the upper conditioner roll 12 to adjust the width of the roll gap 16 through movements of the upper conditioner roll 12 relative to the lower conditioner roll 14).
Regarding claim 14, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 13(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle), wherein the controller transmits controls signals including the adjustment data to a user interface in an agricultural vehicle(Kraus, paragraph 26, the processor architecture 24 determines when to command the gap adjustment actuator 22 to effectuate roll gap width adjustments based upon operator input received via an operator interface 26; and, in at least some embodiments, the processor architecture 24 automatically implements roll gap adjustments to maintain the roll gap width at an optimal setting during system operation) and an operator of the agricultural vehicle adjusts the bias force according to the adjustment data manually(Kraus, paragraph 24, the processor architecture may display the roll gap width target to the operator, with the operator then manually or remotely adjusting the roll gap width of the roller conditioner system to match the roll gap width target as desired).
Regarding claim 15, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 13(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle), further comprising an actuator operatively coupled to the biasing member and the controller is configured to command the actuator to increase or decrease the biasing force(As discussed above, Kraus discloses roller adjustment mechanism that includes an actuator which is similar to the biasing member. The roller adjustment mechanism acts on the upper roller(second roller) to move and adjust the gap between the first and second roller. Kraus, paragraph 26, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 includes at least one actuator 22 (hereafter, a “gap adjustment actuator 22”), which is controllable to adjust the roll gap width pursuant to commands received from a processing sub-system or processor architecture 24 also contained in the roller conditioner system 10. Kraus, paragraph 30, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 acts solely upon the upper conditioner roll 12 to adjust the width of the roll gap 16 through movements of the upper conditioner roll 12 relative to the lower conditioner roll 14. Kraus, paragraph 31, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 (and, specifically, the gap adjustment actuator 22) acts solely upon the upper conditioner roll 12 to adjust the width of the roll gap 16 through movements of the upper conditioner roll 12 relative to the lower conditioner roll 14).
Regarding claim 16, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 15(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle), wherein the controller transmits controls signals including the adjustment data to a user interface in an agricultural vehicle(Kraus, paragraph 42, an operator may also be permitted to selectively activate or deactivate such a roll gap auto-adjustment process by, for example, interacting with a GUI settings page or screen generated on the display device 60) and commands the actuator to increase or decrease the bias force according to the adjustment data and an operator’s instructions entered on the user interface(Kraus, paragraph 24, the processor architecture may display the roll gap width target to the operator, with the operator then manually or remotely adjusting the roll gap width of the roller conditioner system to match the roll gap width target as desired).
Regarding claim 17, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 15(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle), wherein the controller transmits controls signals including the adjustment data to the actuator and commands the actuator to automatically increase or decrease the bias force according to the adjustment data(Kraus, paragraph 26, the processor architecture 24 determines when to command the gap adjustment actuator 22 to effectuate roll gap width adjustments based upon operator input received via an operator interface 26; and, in at least some embodiments, the processor architecture 24 automatically implements roll gap adjustments to maintain the roll gap width at an optimal setting during system operation).
Regarding claim 20, Kraus discloses a crop conditioning system for an agricultural vehicle(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle), comprising:
a crop conditioning arrangement comprising:
a frame(Kraus, paragraph 30, mainframe),
a first roller rotatably mounted to the frame(Kraus, paragraph 30, the conditioner rolls 12, 14 rotatably mounted to laterally-opposed walls of the mainframe 32),
a second roller movably and rotatably mounted to the frame above the first roller(Kraus’s lower and upper conditioner rolls correspond to the first and second rollers respectively. Moreover, the upper conditioner roll is above the lower conditioner rolls. Kraus, paragraph 30, the upper and lower conditioner rolls 12, 14 are driven to co-rotate relative to the stationary mainframe 32, with the conditioner rolls 12, 14 rotatably mounted to laterally-opposed walls of the mainframe 32 utilizing any suitable arrangement including non-illustrated rolling element bearings to facilitate rotation of the rolls 12, 14), wherein a space between the first roller and second roller defines a gap for receiving crop material(Kraus, paragraph 6, conditioner rolls separated by a roll gap through which forage crop passes when processed by the roller conditioner system),
a biasing member operatively coupled to the second roller to generate a bias force biasing the second roller toward the first roller while crop material moves between the first roller and the second roller(Kraus discloses roller adjustment mechanism that includes an actuator which is similar to the biasing member. The roller adjustment mechanism acts on the upper roller(second roller) to move and adjust the gap between the first and second roller. Kraus, paragraph 26, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 includes at least one actuator 22 (hereafter, a “gap adjustment actuator 22”). Kraus, paragraph 30, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 acts solely upon the upper conditioner roll 12 to adjust the width of the roll gap 16 through movements of the upper conditioner roll 12 relative to the lower conditioner roll 14),
a first sensor operatively coupled to the second roller and configured to detect the gap and (Kraus, paragraph 33, a sensor 70 (e.g., a variable differential transformer or a potentiometer) may also be included in the roller conditioner system 10 in embodiments to monitor the width of the roll gap), and
an actuator operatively coupled to the second roller(Kraus, paragraph 42, the controller architecture 24 may transmit appropriate commands to the gap adjustment actuator 22 (FIG. 1) to adjust the vertical position of the upper conditioner roll 12, as appropriate, to bring the width of the roll gap 16 into alignment or harmony with the roll gap width target. Kraus, paragraph 23, the processor architecture may decrease the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently under-conditioning the processed crop plants; or, conversely, increase the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently over-conditioning the processed crop plants),
a controller that receives input data from the first sensor(Kraus, paragraph 33, a sensor 70 (e.g., a variable differential transformer or a potentiometer) may also be included in the roller conditioner system 10 in embodiments to monitor the width of the roll gap)
wherein the controller includes:
at least one processor(Kraus, paragraph 23,processor architecture ); and
a memory that stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configure the at least one processor(Kraus, paragraph 70, the systems or devices described herein may also contain memory storing computer-readable instructions (e.g., as any combination of firmware or other software executing on an operating system) that, when executed by a processor or processing system, instruct the system or device to perform one or more functions described herein) to:
determine a status of the crop conditioning arrangement based on the input data, the status being indicative of at least one of a level of crop conditioning by the crop conditioning arrangement or an operating status of the conditioning arrangement(The present specification discloses the level of conditioning or the operating status may be under-conditioning of a crop or over-conditioning of the crop. Similarly, Kraus discloses determining whether the roller conditioner system is under-conditioning or over-conditioning crop plants. Kraus, paragraph 23, the processor architecture may decrease the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently under-conditioning the processed crop plants; or, conversely, increase the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently over-conditioning the processed crop plants);
generate adjustment data indicative of an adjustment to the second roller of the crop conditioning arrangement in response to the status of the crop conditioning arrangement(Kraus discloses adjusting the gap between rollers to a permissible margin based on determination of under-conditioning or over-conditioning of crop plants. Furthermore, as discussed above, the roller adjustment mechanism acts on the upper roller(second roller) to move and adjust the gap between the first and second roller. Kraus, paragraph 23, the processor architecture may decrease the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently under-conditioning the processed crop plants; or, conversely, increase the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently over-conditioning the processed crop plants. Kraus, paragraph 42, the controller architecture 24 may transmit appropriate commands to the gap adjustment actuator 22 (FIG. 1) to adjust the vertical position of the upper conditioner roll 12, as appropriate, to bring the width of the roll gap 16 into alignment or harmony with the roll gap width target. In embodiments, the controller architecture 24 may command the gap adjustment actuator 22 to adjust the roll gap width to be substantially equivalent to the roll gap width target within a permissible margin of error avoid repeated, excessively minor adjustments or flutter of the roll gap 16. Further, the controller architecture 24 may determine the appropriate control commands for transmission to the gap adjustment actuator 22 based upon the actuator characteristics and the current width of the roll gap 16 prior to the adjustment, as detected by the sensor 70. Kraus, paragraph 30, the roller adjustment mechanism 20 acts solely upon the upper conditioner roll 12 to adjust the width of the roll gap 16 through movements of the upper conditioner roll 12 relative to the lower conditioner roll 14); and
command the actuator to move the second roller to increase or decrease the gap according to the adjustment data(Kraus, paragraph 42, the controller architecture 24 may transmit appropriate commands to the gap adjustment actuator 22 (FIG. 1) to adjust the vertical position of the upper conditioner roll 12, as appropriate, to bring the width of the roll gap 16 into alignment or harmony with the roll gap width target. Kraus, paragraph 23, the processor architecture may decrease the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently under-conditioning the processed crop plants; or, conversely, increase the roll gap width target if determining that the roller conditioner system is presently over-conditioning the processed crop plants).
Kraus fails to disclose a crop conditioning system with a second sensor operatively coupled to the biasing member and configured to detect the bias force; a controller with second sensor and outputs control signals to control the crop conditioning arrangement.
However, Rotole, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about control systems and methods for operating a work vehicle for conditioning crop material, discloses a crop conditioning system with a second sensor operatively coupled to the biasing member and configured to detect the bias force(Rotole, paragraph 108, sensor 187 may detect the biasing force provided by the biasing member 154, and a corresponding signal may be provided to the processor 202); a controller with second sensor and outputs control signals to control the crop conditioning arrangement(Rotole, paragraph 31, the disclosed control system may be used for generating such control signals for a plurality of windrowing and/or conditioning arrangements that are mounted on a windrower. Rotole, paragraph 73, the sensors may detect an actual (current) position or other setting of the conditioning arrangement 146).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kraus with Rotole to incorporate a sensor that measures the force of a biasing member. By determining the force of the biasing member, it is possible to dynamically adjust bias-adjustment actuator’s fluid pressure based on magnitude of force to prevent over-conditioning or under-conditioning of crop.(Rotole, paragraph 63, the bias-adjustment actuator 177 may actuate to change the length of the biasing member 154 when the conditioning arrangement 146 is in the neutral position to thereby vary the biasing force provided by the biasing member 154. In cases of a hydraulic biasing member, the bias-adjustment actuator 177 may change a fluid pressure for changing the biasing force).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 10, 11, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraus (US 20220226871 A1) in view of Rotole (US 20180325031 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 1(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle),
Kraus fails to disclose a crop conditioning system further comprising a second sensor operatively coupled to the biasing member configured to detect the bias force.
However, Rotole, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about control systems and methods for operating a work vehicle for conditioning crop material, discloses a crop conditioning system further comprising a second sensor operatively coupled to the biasing member configured to detect the bias force(Rotole, paragraph 108, sensor 187 may detect the biasing force provided by the biasing member 154, and a corresponding signal may be provided to the processor 202).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kraus with Rotole to incorporate a sensor that measures the force of a biasing member. By determining the force of the biasing member, it is possible to dynamically adjust bias-adjustment actuator’s fluid pressure based on magnitude of force to prevent over-conditioning or under-conditioning of crop.(Rotole, paragraph 63, the bias-adjustment actuator 177 may actuate to change the length of the biasing member 154 when the conditioning arrangement 146 is in the neutral position to thereby vary the biasing force provided by the biasing member 154. In cases of a hydraulic biasing member, the bias-adjustment actuator 177 may change a fluid pressure for changing the biasing force).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kraus and Rotole teaches the crop conditioning system of claim 7(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle; Rotole, paragraph 108, sensor 187 may detect the biasing force provided by the biasing member 154, and a corresponding signal may be provided to the processor 202 ), wherein the controller further receives input data from the second sensor to determine the status of the crop conditioning arrangement(Rotole disclose a sensor to determine the condition(status) of a crop conditioning arrangement, which corresponds to the status of the crop conditioning arrangement. Furthermore, Kraus teaches determining the width between rollers that can determine under-conditioning or over-conditioning. Rotole, paragraph 73, the sensor system 184 may include one or more sensors that, for example, detect conditions related to the conditioning arrangement 146. Kraus, paragraph 33, a sensor 70 (e.g., a variable differential transformer or a potentiometer) may also be included in the roller conditioner system 10 in embodiments to monitor the width of the roll gap 16 b. Kraus, paragraph 17, Under-conditioning of a processed crop can occur if the roll gap is set at an excessive width, resulting in inadequate crop stem rupturing and a sub-optimal (sluggish) dry down rate).
Regarding claim 10, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 1(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle), wherein the biasing member is one of a spring, hydraulic cylinder, or gas cylinder(Rotole, paragraph 54, the biasing member 154 may be of any suitable type, such as a mechanical spring, a hydraulic biasing member, etc).
Regarding claim 11, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 4(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle), wherein the actuator is one of an electric actuator, a gas cylinder, or a hydraulic cylinder(Rotole, paragraph 60, the actuator system 174 may include at least one actuator, such as an electric motor, a hydraulic actuator, or a pneumatic actuator of a known type ).
Regarding claim 18, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 13(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle),
Kraus fails to disclose a crop conditioning system further comprising a second sensor operatively coupled to the first roller and the second roller and configured to detect the gap.
However, Rotole, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about control systems and methods for operating a work vehicle for conditioning crop material, discloses a crop conditioning system further comprising a second sensor operatively coupled to the first roller and the second roller and configured to detect the gap(Rotole, paragraph 108, sensor 187 may detect the biasing force provided by the biasing member 154, and a corresponding signal may be provided to the processor 202).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kraus with Rotole to incorporate a sensor that measures the force of a biasing member. By determining the force of the biasing member, it is possible to dynamically adjust bias-adjustment actuator’s fluid pressure based on magnitude of force to prevent over-conditioning or under-conditioning of crop.(Rotole, paragraph 63, the bias-adjustment actuator 177 may actuate to change the length of the biasing member 154 when the conditioning arrangement 146 is in the neutral position to thereby vary the biasing force provided by the biasing member 154. In cases of a hydraulic biasing member, the bias-adjustment actuator 177 may change a fluid pressure for changing the biasing force).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kraus and Rotole teaches the crop conditioning system of claim 18(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle; Rotole, paragraph 108, sensor 187 may detect the biasing force provided by the biasing member 154, and a corresponding signal may be provided to the processor 202), wherein the controller further receives input data from the second sensor to determine the status of the crop conditioning arrangement(Rotole disclose a sensor to determine the condition(status) of a crop conditioning arrangement, which corresponds to the status of the crop conditioning arrangement. Furthermore, Kraus teaches determining the width between rollers that can determine under-conditioning or over-conditioning. Rotole, paragraph 73, the sensor system 184 may include one or more sensors that, for example, detect conditions related to the conditioning arrangement 146. Kraus, paragraph 33, a sensor 70 (e.g., a variable differential transformer or a potentiometer) may also be included in the roller conditioner system 10 in embodiments to monitor the width of the roll gap 16 b. Kraus, paragraph 17, Under-conditioning of a processed crop can occur if the roll gap is set at an excessive width, resulting in inadequate crop stem rupturing and a sub-optimal (sluggish) dry down rate).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraus (US 20220226871 A1) in view of Digman (US 20220210975 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kraus discloses the crop conditioning system of claim 1(Kraus, paragraph 6, a roller conditioner system, which is utilized in conjunction with an agricultural vehicle),
Kraus fails to disclose a crop conditioning system wherein the first sensor is a load cell or a strain gauge.
However, Digman, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about an agricultural system discloses a crop conditioning system wherein the first sensor is a load cell or a strain gauge( Digman discloses about sensors that can determine the gap between upper(second ) and lower(first ) roller. Digman further discloses the sensors can be a load cell device. Digman, paragraph 32, sensor(s) 222 detect the distance (that is, the roller gap) between the lower roller and the upper roller 232B (an actual condition of mower-conditioner 211) and can be positioned at any suitable location. Digman, paragraph 74, sensor 226 is formed here as a load cell device 226 integrated as a mounting strut spanning the distance between a topside surface of swath gate 234B and mounting bracket 1071.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kraus with Digman to incorporate a load cell sensor to determine the gap between upper and lower roller. By determining the gap and the load applied on the rollers based on the load cell sensor, it is possible to accurately measure the mass and yield of crop passing through the mower-conditioner. (Digman, paragraph 35, sensor 226 can be configured to measure the force or load of crop material striking the swath gate 234B of mower-conditioner 211 in order to calculate the mass of crop passing through mower-conditioner 211 and thereby to determine the crop yield and also to create a yield map).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure.
Steidinger (US 20230038553 A1) discloses a controller that is operably coupled to a conditioner such as a roll actuator and that adjusts the conditioner based on conditioner adjustment signal.
Conclusion
/BESUFEKAD LEMMA TESSEMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665