Claim Objections
2. Claim 1 is objected to because “An” should be “A. Appropriate correction is required.
3. Claim 1 is objected to because the limitation “the one or more struts” lacks proper antecedent basis. Only “a strut” has been previously set forth in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adams (US 2007/0187910 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Adams discloses a human-wearable conveyance restraint system comprising: a conveyance interface (16) configured to connect the human-wearable conveyance restraint system to a conveyance (conveyance not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “configured to connect”); a strut (8/14) coupled with the conveyance interface and configured to hold the conveyance at a range of distances (see “lengthen or shorten” in [0011]) from a human wearing the conveyance restraint system; and a tether (2) connected to the one or more struts and configured to connect the human-wearable conveyance restraint system to a human.
Regarding claim 5, Adams discloses the human-wearable conveyance restraint system of claim 1, wherein the strut is configured to transfer a pushing force form the human to the conveyance (see Figures).
7. Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weiss (US 2011/0062196 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Weiss discloses a human-wearable conveyance restraint system comprising: a conveyance interface (70) configured to connect the human-wearable conveyance restraint system to a conveyance (conveyance not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “configured to connect”); a strut (20/30/40) coupled with the conveyance interface and configured to hold the conveyance at a range of distances (see [0050]) from a human wearing the conveyance restraint system; and a tether (60) connected to the one or more struts and configured to connect the human-wearable conveyance restraint system to a human.
Regarding claim 2, Weiss discloses the human-wearable conveyance restraint system of claim 1 further including: a baseplate (50) connected to the tether and the one or more struts.
Regarding claim 4, Weiss discloses the human-wearable conveyance restraint system of claim 1, wherein the conveyance interface includes a clamp (70) coupled with an articulation device (120) that is connected to the strut (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Weiss discloses the human-wearable conveyance restraint system of claim 1, wherein the strut is configured to transfer a pushing force form the human to the conveyance (see Figure 1 and visualize user walking backwards or turned around with the strut held at their front side). This functional limitation does not impart any specific additional structure not found in Weiss.
8. Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bellinson (US 6,098,993 A).
Regarding claim 1, Bellinson discloses a human-wearable conveyance restraint system comprising: a conveyance interface (42) configured to connect the human-wearable conveyance restraint system to a conveyance (conveyance not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “configured to connect”); a strut (28,30) coupled with the conveyance interface and configured to hold the conveyance at a range of distances (see col. 3 lines 5-14) from a human wearing the conveyance restraint system; and a tether (24) connected to the one or more struts and configured to connect the human-wearable conveyance restraint system to a human.
Regarding claim 2, Bellinson discloses the human-wearable conveyance restraint system of claim 1 further including: a baseplate (see Figures 1 and 2) connected to the tether and the one or more struts.
Regarding claim 4, Bellsinson discloses the human-wearable conveyance restraint system of claim 1, wherein the conveyance interface includes a clamp (42) coupled with an articulation device (48) that is connected to the strut (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Bellinson discloses the human-wearable conveyance restraint system of claim 1, wherein the strut is configured to transfer a pushing force form the human to the conveyance (see Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams (US 2007/0187910 A1) in view of Pinon (US 7,007,956 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Adams discloses the human-wearable conveyance restraint system of claim 1 but fails to further disclose: a baseplate connected to the tether and the one or more struts. Adams discloses the strut (8) being attached to the tether (2) at a mounting (38) which is mounted to the tether (see [0017]) but Adams is silent as to just how the mounting is mounted to the tether. Pinon teaches that it was already known for a mounting to be mounted to a tether using a base plate (20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have mounted the mounting of Adams to the ether using a baseplate, where such mounting was already known to be suitable for such use, as shown by Pinon.
Regarding claim 3, Adams as modified above would include the human-wearable conveyance restraint system of claim 2, wherein Adams discloses the strut includes a ball (36), and wherein the baseplate includes a socket (38) into which the ball is inserted (see [0017]).
Conclusion
11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 11/11/25