DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) steps of instructing a first vehicle to start performing a predetermined action while the first vehicle is traveling in a vehicle identification zone, starting a recognition process of recognizing an action performed by the first vehicle while the first vehicle is traveling in the vehicle identification zone and identifying the first vehicle that performs the predetermined action as the target vehicle, which may be performed practically in the human mind as a mental process by speaking to a driver of a first vehicle to start performing a predetermined action while the first vehicle is traveling in a vehicle identification zone, mentally observing an action performed by the first vehicle while the first vehicle is traveling in the vehicle identification zone and mentally making a determination that the first vehicle that performs the predetermined action is the target vehicle. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements of the processing circuitry and starting the recognition process using a sensor are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer and sensor.
The claim(s) does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, the additional elements of the processing circuitry and sensor are at best mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and sensor. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. Thus, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 2-5 also do not include elements that amount to significantly more than just the abstract idea or integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, claims 2-5 are also not patent eligible.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/808332 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
With regards to claim 1, it is met by claim 2 of copending application 18/808332
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/338456 in view of Haag et al. (US 2025/0069497).
With regards to claim 1, most of the limitations are met by claim 1 of copending application 19/338456 except that claim 1 of the instant application specifically recites that the first vehicle is travelling in the vehicle identification zone. However, Haag et al. discloses the concept of identifying the first vehicle as the target vehicle while the first vehicle is traveling in the vehicle identification zone in order to eliminate a waiting time for vehicle identification and increase the potential flow of vehicles at the vehicle identification zone (Para. 0028 lines 1-9, 0031 lines 1-11, 0034 lines 1-10, 0055 lines 1-9, 0057 lines 1-17, “manually guided drive” “light code” “eliminates”). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify copending application 19/338456 to perform the limitations while the vehicle is travelling in a vehicle identification zone as taught by Haag et al. in order to eliminate a waiting time for vehicle identification and increase the potential flow of vehicles.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Haag et al. (US 2025/0069497).
With regards to claim 1, Haag et al. discloses a vehicle identification system for identifying a target vehicle, comprising processing circuitry (Para. 0109 lines 1-19, “processors”) configured to:
instruct a first vehicle to start performing a predetermined action for identifying the target vehicle while the first vehicle is traveling in a vehicle identification zone (Para. 0034 lines 1-10, 0055 lines 1-9, 0057 lines 1-8, “during the manually guided drive” “code” “flash the turn signals” “identification”);
start a recognition process of recognizing an action performed by the first vehicle using a sensor while the first vehicle is travelling in the vehicle identification zone (Para. 0034 lines 1-10, 0055 lines 1-9, 0057 lines 8-12, “during the manually guided drive” “monitors” “recognize the flashing light code”); and
identify the first vehicle that performs the predetermined action as the target vehicle (Para. 0057 lines 12-17, “correctly recognized or detected” “identified”).
With regards to claim 2, Haag et al. discloses the vehicle identification system according to claim 1, wherein
the predetermined action is a predetermined visible action (Para. 0057 lines 1-8, “flash the turn signals according to the code”),
the recognition process includes recognizing a visible action performed by the first vehicle using at least one camera (Para. 0057 lines 8-12, 0093 lines 1-6 and 10-16, 0094 lines 1-6, “camera”), and
the processing circuitry (Para. 0109 lines 1-19, “processors”) is further configured to execute a camera selection process of selecting the at least one camera to be able to recognize the predetermined visible action from start to finish performed by the first vehicle (Para. 0093 lines 10-16, 0119 lines 3-6, 0127 lines 8-14, “motor vehicles located or driving within the region” “sensor system” “environment sensors”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regards to claim 3, Haag et al. (US 2025/0069497) discloses selecting at least one camera to recognize the predetermined visible action performed by the first vehicle, however, there is no mention of the camera selection process including temporarily selecting a temporary camera, executing a determination process of determining whether or not the temporary camera can recognize the predetermined visible action from start to finish performed by the first vehicle, and when it is determined that the temporary camera can recognize the predetermined visible action from start to finish, selecting the temporary camera as the at least one camera. Jenzowsky (US 2021/0284193) discloses the concept of checking whether the relevant cameras are in working order for monitoring, however, there is no mention of selecting the relevant cameras including temporarily selecting a temporary camera, executing a determination process of determining whether or not the temporary camera can recognize the predetermined visible action from start to finish performed by the first vehicle, and when it is determined that the temporary camera can recognize the predetermined visible action from start to finish, selecting the temporary camera as the at least one camera. Thus, while different prior arts disclose parts of the claim, none of the prior arts disclose or have reasonable motivation to combine to disclose all of the limitations of the claim as a whole.
With regards to claims 4 and 5, they are dependent on claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jenzowsky (US 2021/0284193) discloses the concept of instructing a first vehicle to start performing a predetermined action for identifying the target vehicle while the first vehicle is traveling, recognizing the predetermined action, and identifying the first vehicle that performs the predetermined action as the target vehicle.
Applicants are also directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith.
Contact Information
/CAROL W CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672