DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 7,937,075.
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,219,811.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,069,199.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 12-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Simon (US 2004/0203554; Cited in IDS) in view of He (US 2007/0238491; Cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Simon discloses a system (Fig. 1 telematics unit 32) and a computer-implemented method, the system comprising:
a processor (Fig. 1 internal processor 38); and
a memory coupled with the processor (paragraph [0015]), the memory comprising executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to effectuate operations comprising:
identifying a mobile communications device that is in proximity to a vehicle (paragraphs [0006], [0018]; e.g., at step 70 the wireless transceiver is brought into proximity of vehicle 30, for example, by the user possessing the wireless transceiver 10 approaching or getting into the vehicle. Step 71 represents the configuration of the wireless transceiver 10 to recognize the vehicle 30);
determining that the mobile communications device is associated with a stored profile for the vehicle (paragraph [0019]; e.g., the wireless transceiver 10 storing a recognition code from the vehicle, the vehicle stores an access or recognition code received from the wireless transceiver, or both the vehicle and wireless transceiver exchange codes) and (paragraphs [0018], [0024]; e.g., Step 71 represents the configuration of the wireless transceiver 10 to recognize the vehicle 30); and
upon determining that the mobile communications device is associated with the stored profile, automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile (paragraphs [0026]-[0027]; e.g., allowing the in-vehicle speaker and microphones to be enabled as part of a speaker phone system for the wireless transceiver 10 for hands-free operation of wireless phone calls through the telecommunications network).
Simon fails to specifically discloses the stored profile including entries for one or more mobile communications device settings.
However, He discloses the stored profile including entries for one or more mobile communications device settings (paragraphs [0009], [0018]; e.g., the vehicle system 100 allows users to set and select preferred settings for vehicle components 160. Some examples of vehicle components 160 include power seats, automated mirrors, automated steering wheel tilt mechanism, an entertainment system, a hands-free system, a navigation system, a user interface, and other components in the vehicle 102).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Simon in combination of He as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to have the stored profile including entries for one or more vehicle settings for advantages of enhancing a vehicle system that can handle preferred settings of several users in a vehicle and can handle wireless connection with the wireless telephones for those users when in the vehicle (He: paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the change in mobile communications device settings has been overridden in favor of a specified application configured to instead perform a specific function on the mobile communications device; listening for data from the specified application; and when data is detected from the specified application, allowing the specified application to continue performing the specified function; and when data is not detected from the specified application, allowing the vehicle to perform the specified function (He: paragraphs [0028], [0033]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Simon in combination of He as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to determining that the change in mobile communications device settings has been overridden in favor of a specified application configured to instead perform a specific function on the mobile communications device; listening for data from the specified application; and when data is detected from the specified application, allowing the specified application to continue performing the specified function; and when data is not detected from the specified application, allowing the vehicle to perform the specified function for advantages of enhancing a vehicle system that can handle preferred settings of several users in a vehicle and can handle wireless connection with the wireless telephones for those users when in the vehicle.
Regarding claim 3, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 1, wherein automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes transmitting an instruction to the mobile communications device to enable hands-free calling on the mobile communications device (Simon: paragraphs [0026]-[0027]; e.g., allowing the in-vehicle speaker and microphones to be enabled as part of a speaker phone system for the wireless transceiver 10 for hands-free operation of wireless phone calls through the telecommunications network)).
Regarding claim 4, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 1, wherein automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes transmitting an instruction to the mobile communications device to enable routing of a camera feed of the vehicle to a display screen of the mobile communications device (He: paragraphs [0021], [0028], [0033]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Simon in combination of He as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes transmitting an instruction to the mobile communications device to enable routing of a camera feed of the vehicle to a display screen of the mobile communications device for advantages of enhancing a vehicle system that can handle preferred settings of several users in a vehicle and can handle wireless connection with the wireless telephones for those users when in the vehicle.
Regarding claim 5, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 1, wherein automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes transmitting an instruction to the mobile communications device to enable routing of a camera feed of the mobile communications device to a display screen of the vehicle (Simon: paragraphs [0016], [0022]) and (He: paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 6, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 1, wherein automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes transmitting an instruction to the mobile communications device to enable voice commands on the mobile communications device (Simon: paragraphs [0019], [0027]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 1, wherein automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes transmitting an instruction to the mobile communications device to change to a specified mode selected based on the identity of the mobile communications device (He: paragraphs [0028], [0033]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Simon in combination of He as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes transmitting an instruction to the mobile communications device to change to a specified mode selected based on the identity of the mobile communications device for advantages of enhancing a vehicle system that can handle preferred settings of several users in a vehicle and can handle wireless connection with the wireless telephones for those users when in the vehicle.
Regarding claim 9, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 1, wherein automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes automatically redirecting one or more vehicle controls to a virtual keyboard on a mobile communications device display screen (Simon: paragraphs [0016], [0022]).
Regarding claim 10, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 1, wherein automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes automatically enabling a voice input mode entry configured to receive verbal commands from a driver of the vehicle (Simon: paragraphs [0019], [0027]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 12, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the operations effectuated by the processor further include identifying a current driver of the vehicle (He: paragraphs [0010], [0024]; e.g., One of the wireless telephones 104 may belong to the current driver).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Simon in combination of He as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to have the operations effectuated by the processor further include identifying a current driver of the vehicle for advantages of enhancing a vehicle system that can handle preferred settings of several users in a vehicle and can handle wireless connection with the wireless telephones for those users when in the vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 12, wherein automatically changing the one or more settings of the mobile communications device is performed based on the identified mobile communications device, based on the identity of the current driver, and based on the stored profile (He: paragraphs [0021], [0028], [0033]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Simon in combination of He as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to have automatically changing the one or more settings of the mobile communications device is performed based on the identified mobile communications device, based on the identity of the current driver, and based on the stored profile for advantages of enhancing a vehicle system that can handle preferred settings of several users in a vehicle and can handle wireless connection with the wireless telephones for those users when in the vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the operations effectuated by the processor further include automatically changing at least one setting on the vehicle (Simon: paragraphs [0026]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 15, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 14, wherein automatically changing the at least one setting of the vehicle is performed based on the identified mobile communications device, based on the identity of the current driver, and based on the stored profile (He: paragraphs [0029], [0027], [0029]).
Claims 16-19 are drawn to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer executable instructions that when executed by a computing device comprising code means for generating steps of claims 1 and 3-5. Therefore, the same rationale applied to claims 1, 3-5 apply. In addition, Simon in combination with He inherently discloses a computer program product, i.e., given that Simon/He discloses a process, the process would be implemented by a processor that requires a computer program product, e.g., a RAM, to function.
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Simon in combination with He, in view of Zeinstra (US 2006/0168627).
Regarding claim 7, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 1, fails to specifically disclose wherein automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes transmitting an instruction to the mobile communications device to enable text-to-speech on the mobile communications device.
However, Zeinstra discloses wherein automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes transmitting an instruction to the mobile communications device to enable text-to-speech on the mobile communications device (paragraphs [0016], [0028], [0031]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Simon in combination of He and Zeinstra as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes transmitting an instruction to the mobile communications device to enable text-to-speech on the mobile communications device in order to enhance hands free use of a wireless communication device and for configuring a wireless communication system in a vehicle (Zeinstra: paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 11, Simon in combination with He discloses the system of claim 1, fails to specifically disclose wherein automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes automatically enabling text-to-speech playback of written messages.
However, Zeinstra discloses wherein automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes automatically enabling text-to-speech playback of written messages (paragraphs [0016], [0028], [0031]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Simon in combination of He and Zeinstra as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to automatically changing one or more settings of the mobile communications device using at least one of the mobile communications device settings in the stored profile includes automatically enabling text-to-speech playback of written messages in order to enhance hands free use of a wireless communication device and for configuring a wireless communication system in a vehicle (Zeinstra: paragraph [0001]).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648